DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the subject matter of claim 6 and 18 is not present in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of claim 6 and 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shangle et al. 10794412 in view of Nelson (Patent No. 8,087,859).
Re: claim 1, Shangle et al. teaches a barrier assembly (Fig. 4) configured to at least partially span an opening of a cargo compartment, the barrier assembly comprising: a track (Fig. 2 - 2) configured to attach to a side wall of the cargo compartment (Col. 2 – lines 56-67), the track comprising a first terminal end and a second terminal end (Fig. 2 – 2); a hinge (8) that is coupled to the track and that is operable to transit along the track and to releasably lock into any of a plurality of hinge positions between the first terminal end and the second terminal end (See Figs. 4, 5, and 7); a panel (6) having a first side edge (Annotated Fig. 2 – first edge) and a second side edge (Annotated Fig. 2 – second edge), which is opposite the first side edge; the first side edge coupled to the hinge (See Fig. 4 - @ element 10). Shangle et al. fails to teach the second side edge comprising a releasable fastener.
However, Nelson teaches a panel (Fig. 1 - 100) with the second side edge (edge at element 114) comprising a releasable fastener (114).
Shangle et al. and Nelson are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of cargo securement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Shangle et al.’s panel with those of Nelson’s panel and fastener in order to provide the advantage of a system that is more diverse in securement. (i.e. The half panels of Nelson can be used to separate multiple zones in a cargo compartment over being restricted to sectioning by the full width of the container with Shangle et al.’s panel.)
Re: claim 2, Shangle et al. teaches wherein the track (Fig. 2 - 2) comprises a rail (32) along which the hinge (8) is slidable when transitioning among the plurality of hinge positions (See Figs. 5 to 7), and wherein the track (2) comprises a series of recesses (4) that extends between the first terminal end (Top of Fig. 2) and the second terminal end (Bottom of Fig. 2) and that engages the hinge (8) to retain the hinge in a respective hinge position of the plurality of hinge positions (See Fig. 4).
Re: claim 3, Shangle et al. teaches wherein: the hinge (8) comprises a hinge plate (Annotated Fig. 1 – hinge plate), which is attached to the panel (6), and a slider bracket (Annotated Fig. 3 – slider), which slidably attaches to the rail (32); and the hinge plate is, via a first knuckle (Annotated Fig. 1 – knuckle), pivotably coupled (10) to the slider bracket (slider).
Re: claim 4, Shangle et al. teaches wherein: a pawl (Fig. 4 – 12) is pivotably coupled (14) to the slider bracket (Annotated Fig. 3 – slider) and comprises a head (16) configured to mate with any recess of the series of recesses (4); and the first knuckle comprises a camming surface (22) that, when the hinge plate pivots relative to the slider bracket (See Fig. 4 and 5), engages the pawl (See Fig. 5).
Re: claim 5, Shangle et al. teaches wherein the hinge (8) comprises a spring (Fig. 4 – 18) that biases the pawl (12), and wherein the camming surface (22) engaging the pawl (12) counteracts a force (See Fig. 5) associated with the spring (18).
Re: claim 6, Shangle et al. teaches wherein the hinge plate is co-planar with a first plane (Annotated Fig. 5 – first plane) and the slider bracket is co-planar with a second plane (Annotated Fig. 5 – second plane), which intersects with the first plane at an angle (angle); and wherein engagement of the camming surface (22) with the pawl (12) retains the head in a position disengaged from any of the recesses (See Fig. 5) when the angle is between 55 degrees and 140 degrees (Col. 4 – lines 29-41 – this citing states that the pawl is completely released when the angle is at least 5-30 degrees).
Re: claim 7, Shangle et al. teaches a panel (6) as applied in claim 1. Shangle et al. is silent on wherein the panel comprises a composite polymer material.
However, Nelson teaches wherein the panel (100) comprises a composite polymer material (Col. 10 - lines 6-29).
Shangle et al. and Nelson are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of cargo securement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Shangle et al.’s panel with those of Nelson’s panel material in order to provide the advantage of a system that is more diverse in securement (i.e. the material that Nelson’s panel is made of has the ability to flex and bend such that a snug fit is made onto the materials being secured).
Re: claim 8, Shangle et al. in view of Nelson teaches claim 1. Nelson as applied in claim 1 further teaches wherein the releasable fastener (Fig. 3 – 114) comprises an adjustable-length strap (110 & 115).
Re: claim 9, Shangle et al. in view of Nelson teaches claim 8. Nelson as applied in claim 8 further teaches wherein the strap comprises one of a male connector or a female connector (Col. 6 – lines 7-10 & Fig. 3 - 116).
Re: claim 10, Shangle et al. in view of Nelson teaches claim 1. Nelson as applied in claim 1 further teaches wherein the barrier assembly comprises an anchor (142) that is attachable to the side wall, and wherein the releasable fastener (114) is attachable to the anchor (142) (Col. 8 – lines 23-29).
Re: claim 11, Shangle et al. in view of Nelson teaches claim 1. Nelson as applied in claim 1 further teaches wherein the releasable fastener (114) is attachable to a second panel (Fig. 1 – 100’) (Col. 8 – lines 23-29).
Re: claim 12, Shangle et al. in view of Nelson teaches claim 1. Nelson as applied in claim 1 further teaches wherein the releasable fastener (114) is attachable to an opposing wall that is opposite the side wall (Col. 8 – lines 23-29).
Re: claim 13, Shangle et al. teaches a cargo compartment (Fig. 7) comprising: a first side wall (left 101); a second side wall (right 101) that is opposite the first side wall and is spaced apart from the first side wall by a distance (See Fig. 7); and a barrier assembly (Fig. 4) configured to at least partially span the distance, the barrier assembly comprising: a track (2) configured to attach to the first side wall (left 101) of the cargo compartment, the track comprising a first terminal end (Top of Fig. 7) and a second terminal end (Bottom of Fig. 7); a hinge (8) that is coupled to the track (See Fig. 3) and that is operable to transit along the track (See Figs. 6-7) and to selectively lock into any of a plurality of hinge positions between the first terminal end and the second terminal end (Via element 4, see also Figs. 4-7); a panel (6) having a first side edge (Annotated Fig. 2 – first edge) and a second side edge (Annotated Fig. 2 – second edge), which is opposite the first side edge; the first side edge coupled to the hinge (8). Shangle et al. fails to teach the second side edge comprising a releasable fastener.
However, Nelson teaches a panel (Fig. 1 - 100) with the second side edge (edge at element 114) comprising a releasable fastener (114).
Shangle et al. and Nelson are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of cargo securement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Shangle et al.’s panel with those of Nelson’s panel and fastener in order to provide the advantage of a system that is more diverse in securement. (i.e. The half panels of Nelson can be used to separate multiple zones in a cargo compartment over being restricted to sectioning by the full width of the container with Shangle et al.’s panel.)
Re: claim 14, Shangle et al. teaches wherein the track (Fig. 2 - 2) comprises a rail (32) along which the hinge (8) is slidable when transitioning among the plurality of hinge positions (See Figs. 5 to 7), and wherein the track (2) comprises a series of recesses (4) that extends between the first terminal end (Top of Fig. 2) and the second terminal end (Bottom of Fig. 2) and that engages the hinge (8) to retain the hinge in a respective hinge position of the plurality of hinge positions (See Fig. 4).
Re: claim 15, Shangle et al. teaches wherein: the hinge (8) comprises a hinge plate (Annotated Fig. 1 – hinge plate), which is attached to the panel (6), and a slider bracket (Annotated Fig. 3 – slider), which slidably attaches to the rail (32); and the hinge plate is, via a first knuckle (Annotated Fig. 1 – knuckle), pivotably coupled (10) to the slider bracket (slider).
Re: claim 16, Shangle et al. teaches wherein: a pawl (Fig. 4 – 12) is pivotably coupled (14) to the slider bracket (Annotated Fig. 3 – slider) and comprises a head (16) configured to mate with any recess of the series of recesses (4); and the first knuckle comprises a camming surface (22) that, when the hinge plate pivots relative to the slider bracket (See Fig. 4 and 5), engages the pawl (See Fig. 5).
Re: claim 17, Shangle et al. teaches wherein the hinge (8) comprises a spring (Fig. 4 – 18) that biases the pawl (12), and wherein the camming surface (22) engaging the pawl (12) counteracts a force (See Fig. 5) associated with the spring (18).
Re: claim 18, Shangle et al. teaches wherein the hinge plate is co-planar with a first plane (Annotated Fig. 5 – first plane) and the slider bracket is co-planar with a second plane (Annotated Fig. 5 – second plane), which intersects with the first plane at an angle (angle); and wherein engagement of the camming surface (22) with the pawl (12) retains the head in a position disengaged from any of the recesses (See Fig. 5) when the angle is between 55 degrees and 140 degrees (Col. 4 – lines 29-41 – this citing states that the pawl is completely released when the angle is at least 5-30 degrees).
Re: claim 19, Shangle et al. in view of Nelson teaches claim 13. Nelson as applied in claim 13 further teaches wherein the releasable fastener (Fig. 3 - 114) comprises an adjustable-length strap (110 & 115).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shangle et al. (Patent No. 10,794,412).
Re: claim 20, Shangle et al. teaches a method comprising: pivoting (Annotated Fig. 5 – angle), relative to a side wall (101) of a cargo container and in a first direction, a panel (6) that is attached by a hinge (8) to a track (2), which is attached to the side wall (101); after the panel (6) has been pivoted in the first direction by a threshold amount (Col. 4 – lines 29-41), which unlocks the hinge from the track, sliding the hinge along the track (See Figs. 4-5); and pivoting, relative to the side wall of the cargo container and in a second direction opposite to the first direction, the panel to lock the hinge relative to the track (See Fig. 4).
Conclusion
/PHILIP C ADAMS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612