DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a response to communications dated 02/23/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 10, 12, 14 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As per claim 10,
Line 1, “DCI (i.e., downlink control information)” should be changed to --DCI (downlink control information)--.
Line 2, “the action of receiving a first DCI” should be changed to --the receiving of the first DCI--.
As per claim 12, line 1, first occurrence of the acronym “DCI” should be spelled out.
As per claim 14, line 1, first occurrence of the acronym “RRC” should be spelled out. Moreover; “the action of receiving” should be changed to --the receiving--.
As per claim 17, line 1, first occurrence of the acronyms “SpCell,” “PCell, and “PSCell” should be spelled out.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2025/0374134) (hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, in accordance with Kim reference entirety, Kim discloses a first node (FIG. 15; Wireless Device 1502 or FIG. 17; Wireless device) for wireless communications (FIG. 15 or FIG. 17), comprising:
a first processor (FIG. 15; 1518&1520&1522),
triggering (transmits) a first timing request (random access preamble for acquiring the TA value/reference signal/RRC messages) (Abstract: “… the wireless device transmits, via the candidate cell, the random access preamble for acquiring the TA value of the candidate cel.” Or para [0188]: “The UE may initiate the random access procedure to … acquire uplink timing (e.g., when uplink synchronization status is non-synchronize). … .” Or para [0272]: “sending a random access preamble to the serving cell … .” Or FIG. 32 and para [0527]: “… the wireless device may transmit a reference signal (e.g., PRACH occasion, preamble or SRS) to the candidate target cell of a candidate DU … candidate DU may determine and/or estimate a TA to be used by the wireless device for future uplink transmission in the candidate target cell … .”); and
canceling the first timing request (random access preamble for acquiring the TA value/reference signal/RRC messages) when any condition in a first condition set is satisfied (para [0538]: “… the wireless device may receive a second L1/L2 signal/command … indicating to perform LTM and/or cell switch to the candidate cell … Switching the PCell from the serving cell in the serving DU to the candidate target cell may comprise at least one of: … stopping applying RRC configuration parameters of the service cell of the serving DU, resetting/reconfiguring MAC entity … stopping receiving RRC messages/MIB/SSBs/SIBs/PDCCHs/PDSCHs from Cell 0.”);
wherein the first timing request (random access preamble for acquiring the TA value/reference signal/RRC messages) is used to determine a transmission timing (TA value) for uplink (UL) on a first cell (candidate cell/candidate target cell) (Abstract: “… The wireless device receives, from the base station, a downlink control information (DCI) indicating the candidate cell and to transmit a random access preamble for acquiring the TA value of the candidate cell. Based on the DCI, the wireless device transmits, via the candidate cell, the random access preamble for acquiring the TA value of the candidate cell … .” Or FIG. 32 and para [0527]: “… the wireless device may transmit a reference signal (e.g., PRACH occasion, preamble or SRS) to the candidate target cell of a candidate DU … candidate DU may determine and/or estimate a TA to be used by the wireless device for future uplink transmission in the candidate target cell … .” Or para [0631]: based on determining a TA value not being valid);
the first condition set comprises at least one of a first condition or a second condition or a third condition; (examiner notes the use of alternative language “at least one of” and “or”, thus all 3 options are not required to be shown for rejection purposes)
the first condition includes receiving a first signaling (uplink transmission occasion/PRACH occasion), the first signaling (uplink transmission occasion/PRACH occasion) indicating a timing advance (TA) for the first cell (target cell/candidate target cell) (para [0527]: “uplink transmission occasion” or “PRACH occasion”);
the second condition includes transmitting a first timing request signal (random access preamble for acquiring the TA value/reference signal/RRC messages) on the first cell (candidate cell/candidate target cell), the first timing request signal (random access preamble for acquiring the TA value/reference signal/RRC messages) being a physical layer signal in UL (Abstract: “LTM configuration comprises an LTM candidate configuration of a candidate cell and a value of a time alignment timer for determining whether a timing advance (TA) value of the candidate cell is valid … random access preamble for acquiring the TA value of the candidate cell.” Or para [0524]: "In an example, in FIG. 32, according to example disclosure in the present disclosure (e.g., in FIG. 30) and before the early TA procedure, the base station may transmit to the wireless device an RRC reconfiguration messages comprising one or more LTM configurations. For example, each of the one or more LTM configurations is associated with or indicate a respective candidate target cell for LTM. A LTM configuration, of the one or more LTM configurations, may comprise cell group configuration IE of the base station, and/or SpCell configuration IE of the candidate target cell (e.g., a candidate target PCell/SCells of the base station).");
the third condition includes receiving a second signaling (RAR and/or TAC MAC CE), the second signaling (RAR and/or TAC MAC CE) indicating a second cell (candidate DU), the second cell (candidate DU) being different from the first cell (serving DU) (para [0530]: "... The wireless device may maintain the candidate target cell as a non-serving cell. The response (e.g., RAR and/or the TAC MAC CE) may indicate (e.g., one or more bitfields of the MAC CE) whether the TA value in the response (e.g., RAR and/or the TAC MAC CE) is for a serving cell (or a TAG associated the serving cell), e.g., of the serving DU, or for a non-serving cell (e.g., candidate target cell) of the candidate DU.").
Regarding claim 2, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Kim also discloses the first processor, receiving a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message (FIG. 32; RRC configurations), the first RRC message (RRC configuration messages) comprising configuration information (LTM configurations) for at least one candidate cell (candidate target cell); wherein the at least one candidate cell (candidate target cell) is/are configured for at least one serving cell of the first node (base station); the first cell is a candidate cell (candidate target cell) of the at least one candidate cell (para [0530]: "FIG. 32, according to example disclosure in the present disclosure (e.g., in FIG. 30) and before the early TA procedure, the base station may transmit to the wireless device an RRC reconfiguration messages comprising one or more LTM configurations. For example, each of the one or more LTM configurations is associated with or indicate a respective candidate target cell for LTM. A LTM configuration, of the one or more LTM configurations, may comprise cell group configuration IE of the base station, and/or SpCell configuration IE of the candidate target cell (e.g., a candidate target PCell/SCells of the base station).").
Regarding claim 3, in addition to features recited in base claim 2 (see rationales discussed above), Kim also discloses the first RRC message (RRC reconfiguration messages) comprises at least one RRCReconfiguration message; the at least one serving cell is a Special Cell (SpCell) (para [0530]: "FIG. 32, according to example disclosure in the present disclosure (e.g., in FIG. 30) and before the early TA procedure, the base station may transmit to the wireless device an RRC reconfiguration messages comprising one or more LTM configurations. For example, each of the one or more LTM configurations is associated with or indicate a respective candidate target cell for LTM. A LTM configuration, of the one or more LTM configurations, may comprise cell group configuration IE of the base station, and/or SpCell configuration IE of the candidate target cell (e.g., a candidate target PCell/SCells of the base station).").
Regarding claim 4, in addition to features recited in base claim 2 (see rationales discussed above), Kim also discloses each of the at least one candidate cell is a L1/L2 Triggered Mobility (LTM) candidate cell; or at least one of the at least one candidate cell is a Conditional Handover (CHO) candidate cell; or, at least one of the at least one candidate cell is a Conditional PSCell Change (CPC) candidate cell (para [0525]: "In an example, in FIG. 32, according to example disclosure in the present disclosure (e.g., in FIG. 30) and before the early TA procedure, the base station may configure to the wireless device a LTM (e.g., for PCell switching/changing, mobility, etc.) procedure different from a normal HO procedure (e.g., as shown in FIG. 20 and/or a CHO procedure (e.g., as shown in FIG. 23, by comprising a LTM configuration in a RRC reconfiguration message." Moreover CPCA (Conditional PSCell change/addition) and CHO (conditional handover) are also further discussed in para [0041] and thereinafter).
Regarding claim 5, in addition to features recited in base claim 2 (see rationales discussed above), Kim also discloses the first RRC message (RRC reconfiguration message) comprises an air interface resource (RACH resources/ information required to access the target cell) for a timing request for one or more of the at least one candidate cell (target cell); the air interface resource for a timing request for one cell comprises an index (timing adjustment indication) of a timing request signal for the timing request for the cell; the air interface resource for a timing request for one cell comprises a SSB associated with a timing request signal for the timing request for the cell (para [0415]: "... RRC reconfiguration message to the wireless device, containing the information required to access the target cell: at least the target cell ID, the new C-RNTI, the target base station security algorithm identifiers for the selected security algorithms. The RRC reconfiguration may be able to include a set of dedicated RACH resources, the association between RACH resources and SSB(s), the association between RACH resources and wireless device-specific CSI-RS configuration (s), common RACH resources, and system information of the target cell, etc." In addition, para [0416]: "... the RRC reconfiguration may include timing adjustment indication and optionally preallocated uplink grant for accessing the target base station ... ." Furthermore; para [0675]: "... The RRC reconfiguration message may comprise a LTM configuration parameters. The LTM configuration parameters may comprise the parameter the wireless device may receive an indication of a TA value of the candidate target cell. For example, the RRC reconfiguration message may comprise the indication of the TA value. the LTM configuration parameters may comprise the indication of the TA value.").
Regarding claim 6, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Kim also discloses the first signaling (reference signal) indicates the first cell (candidate target cell/candidate DU) and the first signaling (reference signal) indicates a timing advance (TA) (FIG. 32 and para [0527]: “… the wireless device may transmit a reference signal (e.g., PRACH occasion, preamble or SRS) to the candidate target cell of a candidate DU … candidate DU may determine and/or estimate a TA to be used by the wireless device for future uplink transmission in the candidate target cell).
Regarding claim 7, in addition to features recited in base claim 2 (see rationales discussed above), Kim also discloses the first signaling (reference signal) is used to determine application (future uplink transmission) of configuration information (PRACH occasion) for the first cell (candidate target cell/candidate DU) (para [0527]: "... the wireless device may transmit a reference signal (e.g., PRACH occasion, preamble or SRS) to the candidate target cell of a candidate DU. For example, the wireless device may transmit the reference signal to the candidate target cell based on receiving a first L1/L2 signal as shown in FIG. 32. the wireless device may transmit the reference signal to the candidate target cell without receiving the first L1/L2 signal (e.g., based on determining, by the wireless device, to transmit the reference signal). The candidate DU may monitor uplink transmission occasion (e.g., the PRACH occasion) for receiving the reference signal, from the wireless device. The candidate DU may determine and/or estimate a TA to be used by the wireless device for future uplink transmission in the candidate target cell, e.g., after the wireless device successfully completes a handover based on the LTM to the candidate target cell.").
Regarding claim 8, in addition to features recited in base claim 2 (see rationales discussed above), Kim also discloses the second signaling (RAR and/or the TAC MAC CE) is used to determine application (TA value) of configuration information (response) for a second cell (candidate DU); the second cell (candidate DU) is one of the at least one candidate cell (candidate DU and serving DU) (para [0530]: "... The wireless device may maintain the candidate target cell as a non-serving cell. The response (e.g., RAR and/or the TAC MAC CE) may indicate (e.g., one or more bitfields of the MAC CE) whether the TA value in the response (e.g., RAR and/or the TAC MAC CE) is for a serving cell (or a TAG associated the serving cell), e.g., of the serving DU, or for a non-serving cell (e.g., candidate target cell) of the candidate DU.").
Regarding claim 9, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Kim also discloses the first timing request (random access preamble for acquiring the TA value/reference signal/RRC messages) is used to trigger transmission of the first timing request signal (random access preamble for acquiring the TA value/reference signal/RRC messages) (Abstract: “… the wireless device transmits, via the candidate cell, the random access preamble for acquiring the TA value of the candidate cel.” Or para [0188]: “The UE may initiate the random access procedure to … acquire uplink timing (e.g., when uplink synchronization status is non-synchronize). … .” Or para [0272]: “sending a random access preamble to the serving cell … .” Or FIG. 32 and para [0527]: “… the wireless device may transmit a reference signal (e.g., PRACH occasion, preamble or SRS) to the candidate target cell of a candidate DU … candidate DU may determine and/or estimate a TA to be used by the wireless device for future uplink transmission in the candidate target cell … .”)
Regarding claim 10, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Kim also discloses the first processor, receiving a first DCI (i.e., downlink control information), the first DCI indicating the first cell; wherein the action of receiving a first DCI is used to trigger the first timing request (para [0212]: "... Depending on the purpose and/or content of a DCI, the base station may transmit the DCis with one or more DCI formats ... ." Moreover; para [0600]: "... The timing advance command may be received as an MAC CE and/or DCI. The timing advance command may indicate a timing advance offset value of a cell where the one or more uplink radio resources in a Non-RRC_CONNECTED state.").
Regarding claim 11, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Kim also discloses a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) of the first DCI is scrambled by a first C-RNTI; the first C-RNTI is a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) of the first node in a SpCell (para [0211]: “A base station may attach one or more cyclic redundancy check (CRC) parity bits to a DCI … Coding Scheme Cell RNTI (MCS-C-RNTI), and/or the like.”).
Regarding claim 12, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Kim also discloses the first DCI indicates an air interface resource for the first timing request; the air interface resource for the first timing request comprises an index of a timing request signal for the first timing request; the air interface resource for the first timing request comprises an SSB associated with a timing request signal for the first timing request (para [0415]: "... RRC reconfiguration message to the wireless device, containing the information required to access the target cell: at least the target cell ID, the new C-RNTI, the target base station security algorithm identifiers for the selected security algorithms. The RRC reconfiguration may be able to include a set of dedicated RACH resources, the association between RACH resources and SSB(s), the association between RACH resources and wireless device-specific CSI-RS configuration (s), common RACH resources, and system information of the target cell, etc." In addition, para [0416]: "... the RRC reconfiguration may include timing adjustment indication and optionally preallocated uplink grant for accessing the target base station ... ." Furthermore; para [0675]: "... The RRC reconfiguration message may comprise a LTM configuration parameters. The LTM configuration parameters may comprise the parameter the wireless device may receive an indication of a TA value of the candidate target cell. For example, the RRC reconfiguration message may comprise the indication of the TA value. the LTM configuration parameters may comprise the indication of the TA value.").
Regarding claim 13, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Kim also discloses the first processor, where a first timer is expired; wherein the first timer being expired is used to trigger the first timing request; a running state of the first timer is used to determine whether Layer 1 (L1) of the first cell is synchronized (Timing Advance Timer is discussed in para [0600] to include whether TAT associated with certain cell group is running or expires).
Regarding claim 14, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Kim also discloses the first processor, transmitting a first measurement report (FIG. 32; L1 measurements) after the action of receiving the first RRC message (FIG. 32; RRC reconfiguration); wherein the first measurement report (L1 measurements) is a signaling at a protocol layer below RRC sublayer (para [0522]: "... the network (e.g., a base station, a source base station) may configure the wireless device to perform measurement reporting (possibly including the configuration of measurement gaps) for a plurality of neighbor cells ( e.g., Cell 1 from a candidate DU, Cell 2 from a serving DU, etc.). The measurement reporting is a L3 measurement reporting, that is different from L1 measurement reporting (e.g., L1 CSI reporting). The wireless device may transmit one or more measurement reports to the source base station (or source PCell, cell O in FIG. 32).").
Regarding claim 15, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Kim also discloses the first processor, transmitting the first timing request signal on the first cell, the first timing request signal being a physical layer signal in UL (Abstract: “… the wireless device transmits, via the candidate cell, the random access preamble for acquiring the TA value of the candidate cel.” Or para [0188]: “The UE may initiate the random access procedure to … acquire uplink timing (e.g., when uplink synchronization status is non-synchronize). … .” Or para [0272]: “sending a random access preamble to the serving cell … .” Or FIG. 32 and para [0527]: “… the wireless device may transmit a reference signal (e.g., PRACH occasion, preamble or SRS) to the candidate target cell of a candidate DU … candidate DU may determine and/or estimate a TA to be used by the wireless device for future uplink transmission in the candidate target cell … .”); wherein the second condition is satisfied (Abstract: “LTM configuration comprises an LTM candidate configuration of a candidate cell and a value of a time alignment timer for determining whether a timing advance (TA) value of the candidate cell is valid … random access preamble for acquiring the TA value of the candidate cell.” Or para [0524]: "In an example, in FIG. 32, according to example disclosure in the present disclosure (e.g., in FIG. 30) and before the early TA procedure, the base station may transmit to the wireless device an RRC reconfiguration messages comprising one or more LTM configurations. For example, each of the one or more LTM configurations is associated with or indicate a respective candidate target cell for LTM. A LTM configuration, of the one or more LTM configurations, may comprise cell group configuration IE of the base station, and/or SpCell configuration IE of the candidate target cell (e.g., a candidate target PCell/SCells of the base station).")
Regarding claim 16, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Kim also discloses the first timing request signal is a Preamble (para [0527]: "In the example of FIG. 32, the wireless device may transmit a reference signal (e.g., PRACH occasion, preamble or SRS) to the candidate target cell of a candidate DU.").
Regarding claim 17, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Kim also discloses the first cell is a candidate cell for a serving cell of the first node; the serving cell is a SpCell of the first node; the SpCell is a PCell, or the SpCell is a PSCell (para [0524]: "In an example, in FIG. 32, according to example disclosure in the present disclosure (e.g., in FIG. 30) and before the early TA procedure, the base station may transmit to the wireless device an RRC reconfiguration messages comprising one or more LTM configurations. For example, each of the one or more LTM configurations is associated with or indicate a respective candidate target cell for LTM. A LTM configuration, of the one or more LTM configurations, may comprise cell group configuration IE of the base station, and/or SpCell configuration IE of the candidate target cell (e.g., a candidate target PCell/SCells of the base station).").
Regarding claim 18, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Kim also discloses the first timing request is a timing request procedure (para [0527]: “… the wireless device may transmit a reference signal (e.g., PRACH occasion, preamble or SRS) to the candidate target cell of a candidate DU … The candidate DU may determine and/or estimate a TA to be used by the wireless device for future uplink transmission in the candidate target cell.” The transmitting of the reference signal for an estimation of a timing advance is correspond to “a timing process procedure”); the timing request procedure is a random access procedure (moreover; paras [0528] and [0529], RA response or RAR as the DU can or can not transmit a response to the wireless device are also discussed. The RA and RAR are commonly known as the steps in random access procedure).
As per claim 19, the claim appears to call for a method having limitations variously and essentially mirrored functional limitations of device (first node) claim 1. Thus, it is anticipated by Kim for the same rationales applied to the device of claim 1 as above discussed.
As per claim 20, the claim call for a device (second node) having limitations variously and essentially the same or similar to those in a device (first node) of claim 1. Thus, it is anticipated by Kim for the same rationales applied to the device of claim 1 as above discussed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. (US 2025/0358696).
Hong (US 2025/0071648).
Abraham et al. (US 2024/0147334).
Guo et al. (US 2023/0388871).
Leng et al. (US 2023/0362986).
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/FRANK DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 January 29, 2026