2. It would be of great assistance to the office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
i. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
ii. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
iii. Filing date.
iv. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
v. Title of invention.
vi. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
3. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages, paragraph and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
4. Claim interpretation: When multiple limitations are connected with “OR”, one of the limitations doesn’t have any patentable weight since both of the limitations are optional.
CLAIM OBJECTION
5. Claims 5 & 10 & 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Interpreting the claims in light of the specification, examiner finds the claimed invention is patentably distinct from the prior art of record. The prior art does not expressly teach or render obvious the invention as recited in the claim 5 & 10 & 15.
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9 & 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steele et al (Pub No. 2012/0264378) and further in view of Choi et al (Pub No. 2023/0163866).
Regarding claim 1, Steele et al discloses an apparatus for perform power control on a wireless communication device (Fig. 3: power control on RF device), comprising: a power estimator, configured to generate an estimated power value by querying power mapping information according to scenario information (Fig. 6: estimate output power based on characteristic correlation-608 & Para. 55-56: measuring the transmit power to map actual power at the output level); a power meter, configured to generate a measured power value based on measurement of power supplied to partial circuits of the wireless communication device (Para. 56 & 46: Measuring the actual power level at the power amplifier & Fig. 7); a calibration unit, coupled to the power estimator and the power meter, configured to generate a calibrated power value according to the measured power value (Para. 51 & 67 & 71: calibrated power value based on measured power), and accordingly to update the power mapping information based on the calibrated power value and the scenario information (Para. 71 & 75: Calibrate and map transmit power & Para. 53-54: power control and desire power updated) & (Abstract); and a control unit, coupled to the power estimator (Fig. 7: Power control-324 with power sensor-320), configured to perform power control on the partial circuits of the wireless communication device according to the estimated power value (Para. 46 & 63 & 70: Power control based on power estimate feedback).
Steele et al does not explicitly discloses generate a calibrated power value according to the estimated power value and the measured power value.
In a similar field of endeavor, Choi et al discloses generate a calibrated power value according to the estimated power value and the measured power value (Para. 8 & 30 & 37: In calibration mode, generate power output based on detection of output power and estimation of the output power).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the device output power estimation system of Choi’s disclosure with the power amplification calibration system, as taught by Steele. Doing so would have resulted in effectively controlling power in the device to increase power gain and compensate transmission loss in the device and conserve power for the device.
Regarding claim 2 & 7 & 12, Steele et al, remains as applied above and continue to discloses a scenario determination unit, coupled to the power estimator, configured to determine the scenario information according to operational-related data collected within the wireless communication device information (Para. 63-64: characteristic correlation- scenario determination and adjust gain setting data and estimate power based on characteristic correlation).
Regarding claim 3 & 8 & 13, Steele et al discloses the scenario determination unit is configured to determine the scenario information according to the operational-related data collected during a transmission time interval (Para. 46: Closed loop power control and transmit power and actual power detection at the time of PA & 63-64: characteristic correlation- scenario determination and adjust gain setting data and estimate power device during transmit time).
Regarding claim 4 & 9 & 14, Steele et al discloses the power meter is configured to generate the measured power value according to one or more samples of measurement of power supplied to the partial circuits of the wireless communication device during the TTI (Fig. 6: estimate output power-608 & Para. 55-56: measuring the transmit power of the device during transmit time).
Regarding claim 6, Steele et al discloses a method of performing power control on a wireless communication device, comprising: generating an estimated power value by querying power mapping information according to scenario information (Fig. 6: estimate output power based on characteristic correlation-608 & Para. 55-56: measuring the transmit power to map actual power at the output level); generating a measured power value based on measurement of power supplied to partial circuits of the wireless communication device (Para. 56 & 46: Measuring the actual power level at the power amplifier & Fig. 7); generating a calibrated power value according to the measured power value (Para. 51 & 67 & 71: calibrated power value based on measured power), and accordingly updating the power mapping information based on the calibrated power value and the scenario information (Para. 71 & 75: Calibrate and map transmit power & Para. 53-54: power control and desire power updated) & (Abstract); and performing power control on the partial circuits of the wireless communication device according to the estimated power value (Para. 46 & 63 & 70: Power control based on power estimate feedback).
Steele et al does not explicitly discloses generate a calibrated power value according to the estimated power value and the measured power value.
In a similar field of endeavor, Choi et al discloses generate a calibrated power value according to the estimated power value and the measured power value (Para. 8 & 30 & 37: In calibration mode, generate power output based on detection of output power and estimation of the output power).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the device output power estimation system of Choi’s disclosure with the power amplification calibration system, as taught by Steele. Doing so would have resulted in effectively controlling power in the device to increase power gain and compensate transmission loss in the device and conserve power for the device.
Regarding claim 11, Claim 11 corresponds to claim 1 and is analyzed accordingly.
Conclusion
/MD K TALUKDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648