DETAILED ACTION
The previous Non-final Office Action has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation “the cantilevered blade beam is configured to bend as the pair of contact beams contact and slide along the opposing surfaces of the cantilevered blade beam.” is unclear.
The examiner interprets as “the cantilevered blade beam is configured to bend the pair contact beams as the pair of contact beams contact and slide along the opposing surfaces of the cantilevered blade beam.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Antonini (WO 2019/217521).
Regarding claim 15, Antonini discloses a board-to-board array connector (Fig. 22), comprising:
a receptacle assembly (110), the receptacle assembly comprising a receptacle housing (111) and a plurality of receptacle interface assemblies (155, Fig. 21), and
a plug assembly (11), the plug assembly comprising a plug housing (12) and a plurality of plug interface assemblies (55), a plug interface assembly among the plurality of plug interface assemblies comprising a plug contact blade having a cantilevered blade beam (45), wherein:
[AltContent: ]a receptacle interface assembly among the plurality of receptacle interface assemblies comprising a receptacle shield body (131) having a compliant extension contact comprises a cantilevered shield arm (136).
[AltContent: textbox (Shield clearance area)][AltContent: textbox (Shield paddle)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Compliant arm)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Mount end)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Compliant extension contact)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 16, Antonini discloses the cantilevered shield arm is cantilevered toward a contact end of the receptacle shield body and extends toward a mount end of the receptacle shield body.
Regarding claim 17, Antonini discloses the cantilevered shield arm comprises a compliant arm and a shield paddle.
Regarding claim 18, Antonini discloses the shield paddle is separated from the receptacle shield body by a shield clearance area.
Regarding claim 19, Antonini discloses the shield paddle is configured to bend from a position further toward a center of the receptacle shield body to a position further away from the center of the receptacle shield body.
Regarding claim 21, Antonini discloses the receptacle shield body comprises an electrically-conductive, metallic material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-13, 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antonini (WO 2019/217521) in view of Sochor (US 4,140,361).
Regarding claim 1, Antonini discloses a board-to-board array connector (Fig. 22), comprising:
a receptacle assembly (110), the receptacle assembly comprising a receptacle housing (111) and a plurality of receptacle interface assemblies (155, Fig. 21), a receptacle interface assembly among the plurality of receptacle interface assemblies comprising a receptacle contact (145), and
a plug assembly (11), the plug assembly comprising a plug housing (12) and a plurality of plug interface assemblies (55), a plug interface assembly among the plurality of plug interface assemblies comprising a plug contact blade having a cantilevered blade beam (45).
Anotonini substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the receptacle contact comprising a pair of contact beams contacts opposing surface of the cantilever blade beam.
Sochor teaches a receptacle contact (53) comprising a pair of contact beams (55) contacts opposing surface of the cantilever blade beam (54) (see Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide a pair of contact beams into Antonini’s receptacle contact, as taught by Sochor for increasing contact force.
Regarding claim 2, in the modified board-to-board array connector, Antonini in view of Sochor discloses the cantilevered blade beam of the plug contact blade is centrally positioned within the plug contact blade.
Regarding claim 3, in the modified board-to-board array connector, Antonini in view of Sochor discloses the cantilevered blade beam of the plug contact blade is cantilevered toward a contact blade end of the cantilevered blade beam and extends toward a mount end of the cantilevered blade beam.
Regarding claim 6, in the modified board-to-board array connector, Antonini in view of Sochor discloses disclose the cantilevered blade beam is configured to bend the pair of contact beams as the pair of contact beams contact and slide along the opposing surfaces of the cantilevered blade beam.
Regarding claim 7, in the modified board-to-board array connector, Antonini discloses the receptacle interface assembly among the plurality of receptacle interface assemblies comprises (Fig. 19):
a receptacle shield body (131); and
a receptacle body insulator (155),
wherein the receptacle body insulator electrically isolates the receptacle contact from the receptacle shield body.
Regarding claim 8, in the modified board-to-board array connector, Antonini discloses the receptacle body insulator comprises chamfered corners.
[AltContent: textbox (Chamfer corner)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 9, in the modified board-to-board array connector, Antonini discloses the plug interface assembly among the plurality of plug interface assemblies comprises (Fig. 8):
a plug shield body (31); and
a plug body insulator (55),
wherein the plug body insulator electrically isolates the plug contact from the plug shield body.
Regarding claim 10, in the modified board-to-board array connector, Antonini discloses the receptacle interface assembly among the plurality of receptacle interface assemblies further comprises a receptacle shield body (131), the receptacle shield body comprises a plurality of compliant extension contacts (136) at a contact end of the receptacle shield body, and a compliant extension contact among the plurality of compliant extension contacts comprises a cantilevered shield arm (Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 11, in the modified board-to-board array connector, Antonini discloses the cantilevered shield arm is cantilevered toward a contact end of the receptacle shield body and extends toward a mount end of the receptacle shield body.
Regarding claim 12, in the modified board-to-board array connector, Antonini discloses the cantilevered shield arm comprises a compliant arm and a shield paddle.
Regarding claim 13, in the modified board-to-board array connector, Antonini discloses the shield paddle is separated from the receptacle shield body by a shield clearance area.
Regarding claim 22, in the modified board-to-board array connector, Antonini discloses based on how far the receptacle assembly is inserted into the plug assembly, the pair of contact beams is configured to contact different locations of the opposing surfaces of the cantilevered blade beam.
Regarding claim 23, in the modified board-to-board array connector, Antonini discloses the receptacle shield body comprises an electrically-conductive, metallic material.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antonini (WO 2019/217521) in view of Sochor (US 4,140,361).
Antonini substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the shield paddle is arrange in opposite direction so that the shield paddle is configured to bend from a position further toward a center of the receptacle shield body to a position further away from the center of the receptacle shield body.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to rearrange the shield paddle such as it is bending in the claimed direction, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 6-19, 21-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/TRUC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834