DETAILED ACTION
The United States Patent & Trademark Office appreciates the application that is submitted by the inventor/assignee. The United States Patent & Trademark Office reviewed the following application and has made the following comments below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/23/2024 is considered and attached.
Priority
This application claims benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) of:
JP2023-040498, filed in Japan on 03/15/2023.
Specification - Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following tittle is suggested: Determine a state of traffic light based on arrangement pattern of light bulbs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-10 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirabayashi et al. (Hirabayashi, Manato, et al. "Traffic light recognition using high-definition map features." Robotics and Autonomous Systems 111, published 2019, hereinafter Hirabayashi) in view of Onome et al. (JP-2007004256-A, cited in IDS, a translated copy is attached, hereinafter Onome).
CLAIM 1
In regards to Claim 1, Hirabayashi teaches an image processing apparatus comprising a controller (Hirabayashi, page 65, section 3.4. Deep learning based detector. Hirabayashi teaches implementing neural networks, implying the usage of a computing device with processor configured to perform his method) that determines a light color of a traffic light from a camera image (Hirabayashi, abstract: “This paper presents an innovative, yet reliable method to recognize the state of traffic lights in images”); (i) perform image recognition of the camera image to identify a signal region in which the traffic light exists in the camera image; (Hirabayashi, page 64, section 3.2 ROI extraction, see reconstructed text below. Hirabayashi teaches combining 2d image and 3d point cloud to detect a ROI indicates position of a traffic
light)
Hirabayashi does not explicitly disclose (ii) set a plurality of different spatial intervals between detectors that detect pixels in the signal region having respective color components of respective lights included in the traffic light;
Onome is in the same field of art of traffic light recognition. Further, Nishimura teaches (ii) set a plurality of different spatial intervals between detectors that detect pixels in the signal region having respective color components of respective lights included in the traffic light; (The Examiner notes there are two interpretations for “spatial intervals between detectors”, which will be visualized below:
The spacings between one detector with an adjacent detector. For example, spacings between red and yellow, and yellow and green; the spacings are normally identical)
The spacings between one detector and other detectors. For example, spacings between red and yellow, and red and green; the spacings in this case are different based on standard layout of traffic light)
[AltContent: oval]
(Onome, ¶ [0032-0042 and 0049]: “When performing template matching, recognition is difficult unless the size of the traffic light template and the size of the traffic light when photographed as an image are approximately the same … In this embodiment, the size of the image of the traffic light 33 is calculated based on the straight-line distance D1' from the photographing device 3 to the traffic light, thereby adjusting the size of the template and improving the processing ability of traffic light recognition”; Onome teaches a template whose size can be adjusted, which fits both interpretations of the limitation since a template with different sizes has different spacings; the template has three circles corresponds to positions of red, yellow and green lights)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hirabayashi by incorporating the adaptive template that is taught by Onome, to make a system to recognize traffic light using adaptive template; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since among its several aspects, the present invention recognizes there is a need to improve performance of the task recognizing traffic light (Onome, ¶ [0032]: “In this embodiment, the size of the image of the traffic light is calculated based on the straight-line distance D1' from the photographing device to the traffic light, thereby adjusting the size of the template and improving the processing ability of traffic light recognition”).
Hirabayashi, modified by Onome, teaches (iii) generate a plurality of feature maps indicating a feature amount for an arrangement pattern of each of the respective color components based on detections of the signal region by the detectors using the plurality of different spatial intervals (Hirabayashi, page 65, section 3.3 Morphology processing: “images in RGB color space are converted to HSV color space. HSV color space is more closely related to human chromatic sensation than RGB color space; thus, this conversion makes deter mining color value thresholds easier. A mask image is generated using H, S, and V threshold conditions set for each traffic light’s color to extract regions that include a colored light” Hirabayashi disclose generating a ROI image and a mask image, then overlaying the mask image over ROI image to extract the color region that is lightning; the ROI image indicates arrangement of light bulbs, see FIG. 1 below); and
(iv) determine the light color of the traffic light based on the plurality of feature maps. (Hirabayashi, page 65, section 3.3 Morphology processing: “This mask image is overlaid on the input ROI to obtain the pixel values that are assumed to represent a traffic light. This recognition process infers the color state of a target traffic light by searching the most dominant color in the pixel values”)
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
CLAIM 2
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Hirabayashi and Onome teaches the apparatus of claim 1. In addition, the combination of Hirabayashi and Onome teaches the plurality of different spatial intervals are set to detect the pixels having the respective color components of a green light and a yellow light and the pixels having the respective color components of a yellow light and a red light (Onome, ¶ [0031 and 0049]: “The traffic indicator recognition means 5 recognizes the traffic lights 33 from the captured image and identifies the signal state (red, green, yellow) … In template matching, the entire recognition frame 30 is scanned while the template is shifted by one pixel at a time, and the correlation of the brightness distribution, for example, is calculated. When the correlation value is the highest, it is recognized that a signal exists at a position on the image where the template is located. The red, blue, or yellow is identified by determining that the position of the three circles (or ellipses) with the highest luminance level is lit”. The Examiner notes blue and green are used interchangeably in Onome), wherein
the green light, the yellow light and the red light are arranged in a longitudinal direction of the signal region. (Onome, Fig. 6, 7 and 9; see modified fig. 7 below)
CLAIM 3
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Hirabayashi and Onome teaches the apparatus of claim 2. In addition, the combination of Hirabayashi and Onome teaches the plurality of feature maps are generated for a plurality of lighting states (Hirabayashi, page 65, section 3.3. Morphology processing: “images in RGB color space are converted to HSV color space. HSV color space is more closely related to human chromatic sensation than RGB color space; thus, this conversion makes determining color value thresholds easier. A mask image is generated using H, S, and V threshold conditions set for each traffic light’s color to extract regions that include a colored light.” A ROI image and a mask image for each color are generated) using (The ROI image generation use the result of traffic light recognition) the plurality of different spatial intervals to detect the pixels having the respective color components in each of the plurality of lighting states. (Onome, ¶ [0032-0042 and 0049]. Onome teaches using template matching, with an adaptive template, for traffic light recognition; the template has 3 circles corresponds to red, yellow, and green light detection)
CLAIM 8
In regards to Claim 8, Hirabayashi teaches an image processing method executed by an image processing apparatus (Hirabayashi, page 65, section 3.4. Deep learning based detector. Hirabayashi teaches implementing neural networks, implying the usage of a computing device with processor configured to perform his method) that determines a light color of a traffic light from a camera image (Hirabayashi, abstract: “This paper presents an innovative, yet reliable method to recognize the state of traffic lights in images”); (i) perform image recognition of the camera image to identify a signal region in which the traffic light exists in the camera image; (Hirabayashi, page 64, section 3.2 ROI extraction, see reconstructed text below. Hirabayashi teaches combining 2d image and 3d point cloud to detect a ROI indicates position of a traffic light)
Hirabayashi does not explicitly disclose (ii) set a plurality of different spatial intervals between detectors that detect pixels in the signal region having respective color components of respective lights included in the traffic light;
Onome is in the same field of art of traffic light recognition. Further, Nishimura teaches (ii) set a plurality of different spatial intervals between detectors that detect pixels in the signal region having respective color components of respective lights included in the traffic light; (The Examiner notes there are two interpretations for “spatial intervals between detectors”, which will be visualized below:
The spacings between one detector with an adjacent detector. For example, spacings between red and yellow, and yellow and green; the spacings are normally identical)
[AltContent: oval]The spacings between one detector and other detectors. For example, spacings between red and yellow, and red and green; the spacings in this case are different based on standard layout of traffic light)
(Onome, ¶ [0032-0042 and 0049]: “When performing template matching, recognition is difficult unless the size of the traffic light template and the size of the traffic light when photographed as an image are approximately the same … In this embodiment, the size of the image of the traffic light 33 is calculated based on the straight-line distance D1' from the photographing device 3 to the traffic light, thereby adjusting the size of the template and improving the processing ability of traffic light recognition”; Onome teaches a template whose size can be adjusted, which fits both interpretations of the limitation since a template with different sizes has different spacings; the template has three circles corresponds to positions of red, yellow and green lights)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hirabayashi by incorporating the adaptive template that is taught by Onome, to make a system to recognize traffic light using adaptive template; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since among its several aspects, the present invention recognizes there is a need to improve performance of the task recognizing traffic light (Onome, ¶ [0032]: “In this embodiment, the size of the image of the traffic light is calculated based on the straight-line distance D1' from the photographing device to the traffic light, thereby adjusting the size of the template and improving the processing ability of traffic light recognition”).
Hirabayashi, modified by Onome, teaches (iii) generate a plurality of feature maps indicating a feature amount for an arrangement pattern of each of the respective color components based on detections of the signal region by the detectors using the plurality of different spatial intervals (Hirabayashi, page 65, section 3.3 Morphology processing: “images in RGB color space are converted to HSV color space. HSV color space is more closely related to human chromatic sensation than RGB color space; thus, this conversion makes deter mining color value thresholds easier. A mask image is generated using H, S, and V threshold conditions set for each traffic light’s color to extract regions that include a colored light” Hirabayashi disclose generating a ROI image and a mask image, then overlaying the mask image over ROI image to extract the color region that is lightning; the ROI image indicates arrangement of light bulbs, see FIG. 1 below); and
(iv) determine the light color of the traffic light based on the plurality of feature maps. (Hirabayashi, page 65, section 3.3 Morphology processing: “This mask image is overlaid on the input ROI to obtain the pixel values that are assumed to represent a traffic light. This recognition process infers the color state of a target traffic light by searching the most dominant color in the pixel values”)
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
CLAIM 9
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Hirabayashi and Onome teaches the method of claim 8. In addition, the combination of Hirabayashi and Onome teaches the plurality of different spatial intervals are set to detect the pixels having the respective color components of a green light and a yellow light and the pixels having the respective color components of a yellow light and a red light (Onome, ¶ [0031 and 0049]: “The traffic indicator recognition means 5 recognizes the traffic lights 33 from the captured image and identifies the signal state (red, green, yellow) … In template matching, the entire recognition frame 30 is scanned while the template is shifted by one pixel at a time, and the correlation of the brightness distribution, for example, is calculated. When the correlation value is the highest, it is recognized that a signal exists at a position on the image where the template is located. The red, blue, or yellow is identified by determining that the position of the three circles (or ellipses) with the highest luminance level is lit”. The Examiner notes blue and green are used interchangeably in Onome), wherein
the green light, the yellow light and the red light are arranged in a longitudinal direction of the signal region. (Onome, Fig. 6, 7 and 9; see modified fig. 7 below)
CLAIM 10
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Hirabayashi and Onome teaches the method of claim 9. In addition, the combination of Hirabayashi and Onome teaches the plurality of feature maps are generated for a plurality of lighting states (Hirabayashi, page 65, section 3.3. Morphology processing: “images in RGB color space are converted to HSV color space. HSV color space is more closely related to human chromatic sensation than RGB color space; thus, this conversion makes determining color value thresholds easier. A mask image is generated using H, S, and V threshold conditions set for each traffic light’s color to extract regions that include a colored light.” A ROI image and a mask image for each color are generated) using (The ROI image generation use the result of traffic light recognition) the plurality of different spatial intervals to detect the pixels having the respective color components in each of the plurality of lighting states. (Onome, ¶ [0032-0042 and 0049]. Onome teaches using template matching, with an adaptive template, for traffic light recognition; the template has 3 circles corresponds to red, yellow, and green light detection)
CLAIM 12
In regards to Claim 12, Hirabayashi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having stored therein a program that causes a computer (Hirabayashi, page 65, section 3.4. Deep learning based detector. Hirabayashi teaches implementing neural networks, implying the usage of a computing device with processor and memory storage) of an image processing apparatus to execute a process that determines a light color of a traffic light from a camera image (Hirabayashi, abstract: “This paper presents an innovative, yet reliable method to recognize the state of traffic lights in images”); (i) perform image recognition of the camera image to identify a signal region in which the traffic light exists in the camera image; (Hirabayashi, page 64, section 3.2 ROI extraction, see reconstructed text below. Hirabayashi teaches combining 2d image and 3d point cloud to detect a ROI indicates
position of a traffic light)
Hirabayashi does not explicitly disclose an image processing apparatus; (ii) set a plurality of different spatial intervals between detectors that detect pixels in the signal region having respective color components of respective lights included in the traffic light;
Onome is in the same field of art of traffic light recognition. Further, Nishimura teaches an image processing apparatus (Onome, ¶ [0023]: “the image processing apparatus according to this embodiment”); (ii) set a plurality of different spatial intervals between detectors that detect pixels in the signal region having respective color components of respective lights included in the traffic light; (The Examiner notes there are two interpretations for “spatial intervals between detectors”, which will be visualized below:
The spacings between one detector with an adjacent detector. For example, spacings between red and yellow, and yellow and green; the spacings are normally identical)
The spacings between one detector and other detectors. For example, spacings between red and yellow, and red and green; the spacings in this case are different based on standard layout of traffic light)
[AltContent: oval]
(Onome, ¶ [0032-0042 and 0049]: “When performing template matching, recognition is difficult unless the size of the traffic light template and the size of the traffic light when photographed as an image are approximately the same … In this embodiment, the size of the image of the traffic light 33 is calculated based on the straight-line distance D1' from the photographing device 3 to the traffic light, thereby adjusting the size of the template and improving the processing ability of traffic light recognition”; Onome teaches a template whose size can be adjusted, which fits both interpretations of the limitation a template with different sizes has different spacings; the template has three circles corresponds to positions of red, yellow and green lights)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hirabayashi by incorporating the adaptive template that is taught by Onome, to make a system to recognize traffic light using adaptive template; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since among its several aspects, the present invention recognizes there is a need to improve performance of the task recognizing traffic light (Onome, ¶ [0032]: “In this embodiment, the size of the image of the traffic light is calculated based on the straight-line distance D1' from the photographing device to the traffic light, thereby adjusting the size of the template and improving the processing ability of traffic light recognition”).
Hirabayashi, modified by Onome, teaches (iii) generate a plurality of feature maps indicating a feature amount for an arrangement pattern of each of the respective color components based on detections of the signal region by the detectors using the plurality of different spatial intervals (Hirabayashi, page 65, section 3.3 Morphology processing: “images in RGB color space are converted to HSV color space. HSV color space is more closely related to human chromatic sensation than RGB color space; thus, this conversion makes deter mining color value thresholds easier. A mask image is generated using H, S, and V threshold conditions set for each traffic light’s color to extract regions that include a colored light” Hirabayashi disclose generating a ROI image and a mask image, then overlaying the mask image over ROI image to extract the color region that is lightning; the ROI image indicates arrangement of light bulbs, see FIG. 1 below); and
(iv) determine the light color of the traffic light based on the plurality of feature maps. (Hirabayashi, page 65, section 3.3 Morphology processing: “This mask image is overlaid on the input ROI to obtain the pixel values that are assumed to represent a traffic light. This recognition process infers the color state of a target traffic light by searching the most dominant color in the pixel values”)
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
CLAIM 13
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Hirabayashi and Onome teaches the medium of claim 12. In addition, the combination of Hirabayashi and Onome teaches the plurality of different spatial intervals are set to detect the pixels having the respective color components of a green light and a yellow light and the pixels having the respective color components of a yellow light and a red light (Onome, ¶ [0031 and 0049]: “The traffic indicator recognition means 5 recognizes the traffic lights 33 from the captured image and identifies the signal state (red, green, yellow) … In template matching, the entire recognition frame 30 is scanned while the template is shifted by one pixel at a time, and the correlation of the brightness distribution, for example, is calculated. When the correlation value is the highest, it is recognized that a signal exists at a position on the image where the template is located. The red, blue, or yellow is identified by determining that the position of the three circles (or ellipses) with the highest luminance level is lit”. The Examiner notes blue and green are used interchangeably in Onome), wherein
the green light, the yellow light and the red light are arranged in a longitudinal direction of the signal region. (Onome, Fig. 6, 7 and 9; see modified fig. 7 below)
CLAIM 14
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Hirabayashi and Onome teaches the medium of claim 13. In addition, the combination of Hirabayashi and Onome teaches the plurality of feature maps are generated for a plurality of lighting states (Hirabayashi, page 65, section 3.3. Morphology processing: “images in RGB color space are converted to HSV color space. HSV color space is more closely related to human chromatic sensation than RGB color space; thus, this conversion makes determining color value thresholds easier. A mask image is generated using H, S, and V threshold conditions set for each traffic light’s color to extract regions that include a colored light.” A ROI image and a mask image for each color are generated) using (The ROI image generation use the result of traffic light recognition) the plurality of different spatial intervals to detect the pixels having the respective color components in each of the plurality of lighting states. (Onome, ¶ [0032-0042 and 0049]. Onome teaches using template matching, with an adaptive template, for traffic light recognition; the template has 3 circles corresponds to red, yellow, and green light detection)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 11 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior arts for Claim 4-7, 11 and 15 are:
Hirabayashi et al. (Hirabayashi, Manato, et al. "Traffic light recognition using high-definition map features." Robotics and Autonomous Systems 111), which directed to a traffic light recognition system. The system is divided into 2 stages: (I) The extraction of the regions that include a traffic light from a camera image and (II) Color state recognition using the extracted regions. The color state recognition stage involves using plurality of feature maps (ROI image and mask image)
Onome et al. (JP-2007004256-A, cited in IDS), which directed to a traffic light recognition system with an adaptive template. The adaptive template has size that can be adjusted depend on distance between vehicle and the traffic light
While both Hirabayashi and Onome teach recognizing traffic light. Neither Hirabayashi, or Onome, nor the combination teaches
“among the generated feature maps, the plurality of feature maps generated using the plurality of different spatial intervals at which different color components are detected are superimposed to form one feature map, and the light color of the traffic light is determined based on the plurality of feature maps corresponding to the plurality of lighting states.”
OR
“the signal region is a region of 25 × 25 pixels, the feature amount is a detected amount of pixels having the respective color components in a region of 3×3 pixels, the plurality of different spatial intervals to detect the pixels having the respective color components of the respective lights are one pixel, three pixels, and five pixels.”
Pertinent Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Charette et al. (De Charette, Raoul, and Fawzi Nashashibi. "Real time visual traffic lights recognition based on spot light detection and adaptive traffic lights templates." IEEE, 2009) which is directed to a real-time traffic light recognition system which has a generic “adaptive template” to recognize different kinds of traffic lights from various countries.
Conclusion
/NHUT HUY PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2674
/ONEAL R MISTRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2674