DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “internal structure of the upper housing shell” in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The instant disclosure lacks a written description of “at least one shell stop extending outward from the sidewalls and configured to engage an internal structure of the upper housing shell”. There is no description on how the motor body including the at least one shell stop is interacting with an internal structure of the upper housing shell. It is unclear if the reinforcing ribs in figure 12 are the internal structure.
It is also not clear from disclosure how the reinforcing ribs 144 and connecting wall 146 interacts with the motor body 159.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
There is no antecedent basis for “the second subassembly”.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
The preamble of Claim 20 refers to a method of claim 15. However, claim 15 is directed to the drug delivery device. Therefore, the dependency is incorrect and does not further define the preamble claimed subject matter.
For examination purposes, the examiner will interpret this claim be dependent from claim 16.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Besson (US 20220160964 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Besson discloses a drug delivery device (100,300; figs 1-45) comprising:
an upper housing shell 46,320;
a lower housing shell 28,322;
a syringe 16 comprising a barrel 52, a stopper 54, and a needle 56, at least a portion of the syringe positioned within the lower housing shell (figs 2A,22);
a drive assembly 40 comprising a plunger body 80,82,304 configured to move the stopper within the barrel upon actuation of the drive assembly;
a cassette body 26,314 configured to receive the syringe; and
a motor body 42,302 configured to engage the cassette body, wherein the upper housing shell (46,320; figs 20 and 40) comprises:
a pair of spaced apart reinforcing ribs extending along a longitudinal axis of the upper housing shell; and
a connecting wall extending between and connecting the reinforcing ribs.
Regarding claim 14, Besson discloses the connecting wall extending from a proximal end of the upper housing shell (see figure 40 showing ribs extending from proximal end).
Regarding claim 15, Besson discloses the connecting wall terminates at a location between the proximal end of the upper housing shell and distal ends of the reinforcing ribs (see figure 40 for alternate interpretation).
Claims 16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Besson (US 20220134018 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Besson discloses a method of assembling a drug delivery device, the method comprising:
inserting a syringe 16 into a first subassembly 12, the first subassembly 12 comprising a cassette body 26;
removing a safety pin from a motor body 42 of a second subassembly 14 (fig 14; [0127]); and
bringing the second subassembly 14 into engagement with the first subassembly such that [0127]:
at least one cassette clip 328 of the motor body 42 ([0142-0143], (figs 26, 29-32)) engages at least one opening of the cassette body 314; and
an outer lip of the second subassembly 14,46 engages an inner lip of the first subassembly 12.
Regarding claim 18, Besson discloses wherein the motor body 302 (figs 27-28) comprises a pair of sidewalls 326 and at least one shell stop at 334,328,332 extending outward from the sidewalls 326, wherein the at least one shell stop 334 is configured to engage an upper housing shell 320 of the second subassembly 14,46 [0142,0148].
Regarding claim 19, Besson discloses wherein the at least one shell stop at 334,328,332 includes a cantilevered end and a radiused edge [0142].
Regarding claim 20, Besson discloses wherein an upper housing shell 320 of the second subassembly 14,46 (figs 26 and 44) comprises:
a pair of spaced-apart reinforcing ribs; and
a connecting wall extending between and connecting the reinforcing ribs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Besson (US 20220134018 A1) in view of Appy et al (US 20210196894 A1).
Besson discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, it fails to disclose applying a label to the first subassembly and the second subassembly.
Appy teaches a drug delivery device where a tamper label 1016 was placed outside the housing 1012 (fig 61) between an end cap 1050 and body 1012. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Besson by applying a label to the first and second subassemblies since it is well known in the art to place a tamper label on a drug delivery device as taught old and well known by Appy for tamper prevention.
/Cris L. Rodriguez/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3783