DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/23/2024 and 02/26/2024 have been considered by the examiner and initialed copies of the IDS are hereby attached.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“electronic device” in claims 1-2 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brisimitzakis et al. (US 20170160392 A1), hereinafter Brisimitzakis.
Regarding claim 1, Brisimitzakis discloses
A motorcycle radar system (see Figs. 2 and 3, Radar Sensor System 300, further see paragraph 0063, “Although a bicycle is shown in FIGS. 2A and 2B as an example, embodiments also include bicycle computing device 206 and radar unit 208 being mounted or affixed to any suitable type of human-powered or motor-driven vehicle instead of bicycle 202. For example, mobile electronic device 206 and radar unit 208 may be mounted to a unicycle, a tricycle, a scooter, a motorcycle, a car, a forklift, etc.”), comprising:
a radar sensor (see Fig. 3, radar unit 308, further see paragraph 0084, “For example, sensor array 356 may include one or more radar sensors and/or transducers (which may utilize, e.g., radar, Light detection and ranging (Lidar), and/or ultrasonic sensors). Sensor array 356 may include one or more radar sensors that are configured to transmit radar signals (e.g., RF signals) in various directions across a particular range of angles, to receive reflected radar signals from one or more individual radar sensors, and to output radar sensor signals using the reflected radar signals. These radar sensor signals may include, for example, analog signals that represent unprocessed measurements associated with each individual radar sensor's radar transmission and a time of return for its respective reflected radar signal. In some embodiments, the radar sensor signals may then be processed by processor 352 to determine the actual relative speed and location of one or more targets and included as part of a target data transmission.”) configured to:
detachably couple to a motorcycle (see paragraph 0037, “The radar unit, including at least one radar sensor, is mountable to a bicycle being ridden by the user and the mobile electronic device is also mountable to the same bicycle in a position in which its display is viewable by the cyclist, to the user's wrist, or to an accessory (e.g., sunglasses) worn by the user on his head.”, where the radar sensor being “mountable” means that it is also detachable; further see paragraph 0064, “Furthermore, mobile electronic device 206 and radar unit 208 are shown in FIG. 2A as being separate components. However, in some embodiments, mobile electronic device 206 and radar unit 208 may be integrated as a single component. In such a case, each of mobile electronic device 206 and radar unit 208 may be suitably mounted such that target data may be appropriately collected and information such as situational awareness indicators may be conveyed to the cyclist”, further see paragraph 0065, “The radar unit 208 may be mounted to a front, rear, or side portion of the bicycle 202 such that the sensor field and/or the camera's field of view may be directed in front of the bicycle, behind the bicycle, the right side of the bicycle, the left side of the bicycle, or any combination thereof.”, furthermore the term “detachably couple” is a broad term and simply implies that the radar sensor can be removed from the motorcycle by some means and as it is a standalone device, it can indeed by removed by some kind of force);
transmit and receive radar signals (see paragraph 0021, “For instance, the radar sensor system may include a radar unit (or radar housing) containing a radar sensor and a mobile electronic device having a processor configured to present situational awareness indicators informing or alerting a cyclist of one or more targets, such as moving vehicles, pedestrians, cyclists, and/or other obstacles, determined to be in proximity to his or her cycle (e.g., bicycle, unicycle, tricycle, or other human force-powered vehicle). The radar sensor may be configured to transmit a radar signal, receive a reflection of the transmitted radar signal, and output a radar sensor signal corresponding to the received reflection.”); and
process the received radar signals to generate radar data corresponding to one or more vehicles proximate the motorcycle (see paragraph 0022, “The radar sensor may face an area proximate to (front, behind, left, right, or any combination thereof) the cycle to which the radar sensor system is mounted where radar signals may be output and reflections of the outputted radar signals from target(s) may be received (i.e., the sensor field of the radar sensor). The radar unit can detect one or more targets (e.g., vehicles, objects, pedestrians, animals, and so forth) in range of the bicycle based on reflections (radar beam returns) received by the radar sensor from one or more targets located within a sensor field of the radar sensor.”);
a wireless interface coupled with the radar sensor, the wireless interface configured to transmit the generated radar data (see Fig. 3, wireless link 301, further see paragraph 0076, “In embodiments in which mobile electronic device 306 and radar unit 308 are implemented as separate devices, mobile electronic device 306 and radar unit 308 may be configured to communicate with one another via one or more wired and/or wireless links (e.g., link 301). This communication may include, for example, live video data and/or target data transmissions from radar unit 308 to mobile electronic device 306. To provide another example, this communication may include the transmission of one or more commands from mobile electronic device 306 to radar unit 308.”); and
an electronic device including a display, the electronic device configured to receive the radar data from the wireless interface and present information on the display (see paragraph 0128, “In an embodiment, FIGS. 4A-4C correspond to example displays shown by a mobile electronic device (e.g., mobile electronic device 306, as shown in FIG. 3) based on target data received from a radar unit (e.g., radar unit 308, as shown in FIG. 3).”) including a top view of the motorcycle and the one or more vehicles proximate the motorcycle (see Fig. 4C where a top view of the vehicle is displayed, further see paragraph 0140, “In some implementations, the processor 104 is configured to cause the display device 120 to present an indication of each target within its road lane, as shown in FIG. 4C. For example, display screen 480 includes the tracking bars 403A and 403B, dots 406, 408, and 410, and other similar icons and user interface functionality as display screens 400 and 440. However, display screen 480 includes a top-down view of the road, lane dividing line, and targets traveling on the road behind the bicycle such that an indication of the tracked location of several targets relative to the bicycle is presented with the respective road lane for each target.”, further see paragraph 0063, “For example, mobile electronic device 206 and radar unit 208 may be mounted to a unicycle, a tricycle, a scooter, a motorcycle, a car, a forklift, etc.”).
Regarding claim 2, Brisimitzakis further discloses
The system of claim 1, wherein the radar sensor is configured to determine a relative speed, direction, and/or size of one or more of the vehicles based on the received radar data and the electronic device is configured to display at least one of the relative speed, direction, and size of the one or more vehicles (see Fig. 4C, where the radar data is used to display on screen a relative direction of vehicles, further see paragraph 0146, “Method 500 may include one or more processors transmitting target data including the velocity and/or location for the one or more targets from the analysis of the radar sensor signals (block 506). This target data may be received, for example, by a mobile electronic device (e.g., mobile electronic device 306, as shown in FIG. 3), which interprets this information and presents it to a user on a display in any suitable manner. In various embodiments, upon receiving the target data, this information may be presented in accordance with the screenshots shown and described with reference to FIGS. 4A-4C.”).
Regarding claim 3, Brisimitzakis further discloses
The system of claim 2, wherein the top view indicates vehicles moving towards the motorcycle in a first color and vehicles moving away from the motorcycle in a second color (see paragraph 0033, “For example, the processor may be configured to cause the left and right edges of the display or navigational information (turn arrow) presented on the display to change color and/or brightness to indicate an approaching vehicle or other target, the position of which is determined based on target data, located in a rear (or any other) sensor field of the radar sensor or field of view of the camera. The color and/or brightness change may be greater (increased) if a target determined to be located in the sensor field of the radar sensor or field of view of the camera is determined to be traveling faster than (approaching) the bicycle on which the radar unit and mobile electronic device are mounted than targets determined to be located in the sensor field that are determined to be traveling at the same or slower speed than the bicycle.”, where an approaching vehicle is in a first color and the color is “changed” for a vehicle traveling at a slower speed than the bicycle (i.e. motorcycle) which is tantamount to “moving away from the motorcycle”).
Regarding claim 4, Brisimitzakis further discloses
The system of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is selected from the group consisting of a navigation device, a smartphone, a smartwatch, a wearable device, a display, a helmet-mounted display, and a head-up display (see paragraph 0040, “However, the mobile electronic device 102 can also comprise a sport watch, a golf computer, a smart phone providing fitness or sporting applications (apps), a hand-held GPS device, and so forth. It is contemplated that the techniques may be implemented in any mobile electronic device that includes navigation functionality. Thus, the mobile electronic device 102 may also be configured as a portable navigation device (PND), a mobile phone, a hand-held portable computer, a tablet, a personal digital assistant, a multimedia device, a media player, a gaming device, combinations thereof, and so forth.”).
Regarding claim 5, Brisimitzakis further discloses
The system of claim 1, further including road lights communicatively coupled to the radar sensor, wherein the road lights are configured to emit light based on the number of vehicles proximate the motorcycle (see paragraph 0030, “The processor may be configured to cause a change in the brightness or color of an edge of a display device or navigational information (turn arrow) presented on the display of the mobile electronic device to indicate the presence of one or more targets proximate to the bicycle in an area of interest corresponding to the radar sensor's sensor field and/or the camera's field of view. Information relating to the targets may be provided in target data communicated by a transceiver of the radar unit to the processor of the mobile electronic device. For example, the processor of the mobile electronic device can cause at least one edge of the display or presented navigational information (turn arrow) to change color (e.g., change to red, yellow, or green) to indicate an awareness level (i.e., a suggested level of awareness of the cyclist's surroundings that the cyclist may wish to employ) associated with a target determined to be present (detected) proximate to the bicycle based on the target data corresponding to targets proximate to the user's bicycle.”, where under the broadest reasonable interpretation of “based on the number of vehicles proximate the motorcycle”, the detection of the presence of one vehicle fulfills the BRI of this limitation, where one vehicle’s presence proximate to the motorcycle would trigger the “road lights” (where the light on the display is indeed “a road light”).
Regarding claim 7, Brisimitzakis further discloses
The system of claim 1, further including a camera configured for attachment to the motorcycle and communicatively coupled to the radar sensor, wherein the camera is configured to generate and transmit video data (see paragraph 0088, “Camera 358 may be configured to capture image data and/or video data over one or more consecutive frames, including capturing live video data, of objects in the field of view of camera 358. In an embodiment, camera 358 may selectively capture image and/or video data in response to various commands received from mobile electronic device 306 and/or upon various trigger conditions being satisfied, as further discussed herein. In an embodiment, camera 358 may be housed within or otherwise integrated as part of radar unit 308, and strategically mounted within radar unit 308 such that, when radar unit 308 is mounted in a bicycle, camera 358 may capture image and/or video data of the road and/or other objects in the field of view behind the bicycle to which radar unit 308 is mounted.”).
Regarding claim 8, Brisimitzakis further discloses
The system of claim 7, wherein the radar sensor is configured to receive the video data and compare the video data to the radar data (see paragraph 0073, “Furthermore, in various embodiments, the processor in radar unit 208 may perform particular functions associated with the analysis of the video and/or image data provided by the camera in radar unit 208 periodically, continuously, or upon receipt of a suitable command received from mobile electronic device 206. For example, to conserve battery power, radar unit 208 may by default analyze radar sensor signals to generate target data identifying the radar sensor as the data source used to calculate the conveyed information such as relative target position and velocity. Once the target data indicates that a target has “disappeared,” mobile electronic device 206 may transmit one or more commands to radar unit 208 to activate the camera to begin capturing live video data and/or image data that may be analyzed by the processor in the radar unit 208 to calculate new target data that is transmitted to mobile electronic device 206. Of course, radar unit 208 may determine if and when to perform these functions independently (without receiving commands from the mobile electronic device 206). Further details associated with such embodiments are discussed below.”, further see paragraph 0123, “Such embodiments may be particularly useful, for example, to provide a third source of threat assessment should the analysis of the radar sensor signals and the video data both fail to indicate the presence of a target.”).
Regarding claim 9, Brisimitzakis further discloses
The system of claim 1, wherein the top view includes a location of a lane line relative to the motorcycle (see Fig. 4C, further see paragraph 0140, “In some implementations, the processor 104 is configured to cause the display device 120 to present an indication of each target within its road lane, as shown in FIG. 4C. For example, display screen 480 includes the tracking bars 403A and 403B, dots 406, 408, and 410, and other similar icons and user interface functionality as display screens 400 and 440. However, display screen 480 includes a top-down view of the road, lane dividing line, and targets traveling on the road behind the bicycle such that an indication of the tracked location of several targets relative to the bicycle is presented with the respective road lane for each target.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brisimitzakis et al. (US 20170160392 A1) in view of Makinen et al. (US 20200191952 A1), hereinafter Makinen.
Regarding claim 6, Brisimitzakis discloses [Note: what Brisimitzakis fails to disclose is strike-through]
The system of claim 5,
Makinen discloses,
wherein the road lights include a first road light configured to emit a first color outwardly from a rear of the motorcycle (see paragraph 0064, “Further, the front main unit 101 may contain forward-facing onboard LEDs with one color mapping (e.g., green or yellow), and the rear main unit 101 may contain rear-facing onboard LEDs with a different color mapping (e.g., red or blue). The forward-facing and rear-facing LEDs may provide a visual warning and may vary in intensity or magnitude depending on the danger level. For example, different numbers of LEDs may be illuminated, or LEDs may emit light with varying intensities or colors based on a danger level for the user of the main unit. In some cases, onboard LEDs may provide a visual warning to the user. Additionally, or alternatively, the onboard LEDs may provide a visual warning to other vehicles or pedestrians.”, where the illumination of the light is “outwardly”), a second road light configured to emit a second color outwardly from a first side of the motorcycle, and/or a third road light configured to emit the second color outwardly from a second side of the motorcycle (see paragraph 0064, “Further, the front main unit 101 may contain forward-facing onboard LEDs with one color mapping (e.g., green or yellow), and the rear main unit 101 may contain rear-facing onboard LEDs with a different color mapping (e.g., red or blue). The forward-facing and rear-facing LEDs may provide a visual warning and may vary in intensity or magnitude depending on the danger level. For example, different numbers of LEDs may be illuminated, or LEDs may emit light with varying intensities or colors based on a danger level for the user of the main unit. In some cases, onboard LEDs may provide a visual warning to the user. Additionally, or alternatively, the onboard LEDs may provide a visual warning to other vehicles or pedestrians.”, where the illumination of the light is “outwardly”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Makinen into the invention of Brisimitzakis. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose a radar sensors mounted on a vehicle for object proximity detection. The combination would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to assist in collision avoidance (see paragraph 0089 of Makinen).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brisimitzakis et al. (US 20170160392 A1) in view of Adams et al. (US 20210339699 A1), hereinafter Adams.
Regarding claim 10, Brisimitzakis discloses [Note: what Brisimitzakis fails to disclose is strike-through]
The system of claim 1, further including a housing for retaining the radar sensor and wireless interface (see paragraph 0021, “In some embodiments, the radar sensor system may be implemented as two or more separate components, while in other embodiments the radar sensor system may be integrated as a single component. For instance, the radar sensor system may include a radar unit (or radar housing) containing a radar sensor and a mobile electronic device having a processor configured to present situational awareness indicators informing or alerting a cyclist of one or more targets, such as moving vehicles, pedestrians, cyclists, and/or other obstacles, determined to be in proximity to his or her cycle (e.g., bicycle, unicycle, tricycle, or other human force-powered vehicle).”),
Adams discloses,
a housing for retaining the radar sensor (see paragraph 0257, “The sensor pod of any one of paragraphs DDDD-KKKK, the sensing surface comprising a lens, a shield, a windscreen, a casing, or a radome.”, where the sensor pod is the housing for the radar sensor and include a radome surface), wherein the housing includes a radome (see paragraph 0257, “The sensor pod of any one of paragraphs DDDD-KKKK, the sensing surface comprising a lens, a shield, a windscreen, a casing, or a radome.”, where the sensor pod is the housing for the radar sensor and include a radome surface) with a horizontal field of view of at least 150 degrees (see paragraph 0208, “OO: The vehicle of paragraph NN, wherein the sensor pod has an effective field of view of greater than 270 degrees.”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Adams into the invention of Brisimitzakis. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose a radar sensors mounted on a vehicle for object proximity detection. The combination would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to protect the radar sensor and provide a greater field of view for blind spot detection (see paragraph 0023 of Adams).
Regarding claim 11, Brisimitzakis discloses [Note: what Brisimitzakis fails to disclose is strike-through]
A motorcycle radar system (see Figs. 2 and 3, Radar Sensor System 300, further see paragraph 0063, “Although a bicycle is shown in FIGS. 2A and 2B as an example, embodiments also include bicycle computing device 206 and radar unit 208 being mounted or affixed to any suitable type of human-powered or motor-driven vehicle instead of bicycle 202. For example, mobile electronic device 206 and radar unit 208 may be mounted to a unicycle, a tricycle, a scooter, a motorcycle, a car, a forklift, etc.”), comprising:
a radar sensor (see Fig. 3, radar unit 308, further see paragraph 0084, “For example, sensor array 356 may include one or more radar sensors and/or transducers (which may utilize, e.g., radar, Light detection and ranging (Lidar), and/or ultrasonic sensors). Sensor array 356 may include one or more radar sensors that are configured to transmit radar signals (e.g., RF signals) in various directions across a particular range of angles, to receive reflected radar signals from one or more individual radar sensors, and to output radar sensor signals using the reflected radar signals. These radar sensor signals may include, for example, analog signals that represent unprocessed measurements associated with each individual radar sensor's radar transmission and a time of return for its respective reflected radar signal. In some embodiments, the radar sensor signals may then be processed by processor 352 to determine the actual relative speed and location of one or more targets and included as part of a target data transmission.”) configured to:
detachably couple to a motorcycle (see paragraph 0037, “The radar unit, including at least one radar sensor, is mountable to a bicycle being ridden by the user and the mobile electronic device is also mountable to the same bicycle in a position in which its display is viewable by the cyclist, to the user's wrist, or to an accessory (e.g., sunglasses) worn by the user on his head.”, where the radar sensor being “mountable” means that it is also detachable; further see paragraph 0064, “Furthermore, mobile electronic device 206 and radar unit 208 are shown in FIG. 2A as being separate components. However, in some embodiments, mobile electronic device 206 and radar unit 208 may be integrated as a single component. In such a case, each of mobile electronic device 206 and radar unit 208 may be suitably mounted such that target data may be appropriately collected and information such as situational awareness indicators may be conveyed to the cyclist”, further see paragraph 0065, “The radar unit 208 may be mounted to a front, rear, or side portion of the bicycle 202 such that the sensor field and/or the camera's field of view may be directed in front of the bicycle, behind the bicycle, the right side of the bicycle, the left side of the bicycle, or any combination thereof.”, furthermore the term “detachably couple” is a broad term and simply implies that the radar sensor can be removed from the motorcycle by some means and as it is a standalone device, it can indeed by removed by some kind of force);
transmit and receive radar signals (see paragraph 0021, “For instance, the radar sensor system may include a radar unit (or radar housing) containing a radar sensor and a mobile electronic device having a processor configured to present situational awareness indicators informing or alerting a cyclist of one or more targets, such as moving vehicles, pedestrians, cyclists, and/or other obstacles, determined to be in proximity to his or her cycle (e.g., bicycle, unicycle, tricycle, or other human force-powered vehicle). The radar sensor may be configured to transmit a radar signal, receive a reflection of the transmitted radar signal, and output a radar sensor signal corresponding to the received reflection.”); and
process the received radar signals to generate radar data corresponding to one or more vehicles proximate the motorcycle (see paragraph 0022, “The radar sensor may face an area proximate to (front, behind, left, right, or any combination thereof) the cycle to which the radar sensor system is mounted where radar signals may be output and reflections of the outputted radar signals from target(s) may be received (i.e., the sensor field of the radar sensor). The radar unit can detect one or more targets (e.g., vehicles, objects, pedestrians, animals, and so forth) in range of the bicycle based on reflections (radar beam returns) received by the radar sensor from one or more targets located within a sensor field of the radar sensor.”), the generated radar data including relative speed information for the one or more vehicles (see Fig. 4C, where the radar data is used to display on screen a relative direction of vehicles, further see paragraph 0146, “Method 500 may include one or more processors transmitting target data including the velocity and/or location for the one or more targets from the analysis of the radar sensor signals (block 506). This target data may be received, for example, by a mobile electronic device (e.g., mobile electronic device 306, as shown in FIG. 3), which interprets this information and presents it to a user on a display in any suitable manner. In various embodiments, upon receiving the target data, this information may be presented in accordance with the screenshots shown and described with reference to FIGS. 4A-4C.”);
a wireless interface coupled with the radar sensor, the wireless interface configured to transmit the generated radar data (see Fig. 3, wireless link 301, further see paragraph 0076, “In embodiments in which mobile electronic device 306 and radar unit 308 are implemented as separate devices, mobile electronic device 306 and radar unit 308 may be configured to communicate with one another via one or more wired and/or wireless links (e.g., link 301). This communication may include, for example, live video data and/or target data transmissions from radar unit 308 to mobile electronic device 306. To provide another example, this communication may include the transmission of one or more commands from mobile electronic device 306 to radar unit 308.”);
a housing for retaining the radar sensor and wireless interface (see paragraph 0021, “In some embodiments, the radar sensor system may be implemented as two or more separate components, while in other embodiments the radar sensor system may be integrated as a single component. For instance, the radar sensor system may include a radar unit (or radar housing) containing a radar sensor and a mobile electronic device having a processor configured to present situational awareness indicators informing or alerting a cyclist of one or more targets, such as moving vehicles, pedestrians, cyclists, and/or other obstacles, determined to be in proximity to his or her cycle (e.g., bicycle, unicycle, tricycle, or other human force-powered vehicle).”,
an electronic device including a display, the electronic device configured to receive the radar data from the wireless interface and present information on the display (see paragraph 0128, “In an embodiment, FIGS. 4A-4C correspond to example displays shown by a mobile electronic device (e.g., mobile electronic device 306, as shown in FIG. 3) based on target data received from a radar unit (e.g., radar unit 308, as shown in FIG. 3).”) including a top view of the motorcycle and the one or more vehicles proximate the motorcycle (see Fig. 4C where a top view of the vehicle is displayed, further see paragraph 0140, “In some implementations, the processor 104 is configured to cause the display device 120 to present an indication of each target within its road lane, as shown in FIG. 4C. For example, display screen 480 includes the tracking bars 403A and 403B, dots 406, 408, and 410, and other similar icons and user interface functionality as display screens 400 and 440. However, display screen 480 includes a top-down view of the road, lane dividing line, and targets traveling on the road behind the bicycle such that an indication of the tracked location of several targets relative to the bicycle is presented with the respective road lane for each target.”, further see paragraph 0063, “For example, mobile electronic device 206 and radar unit 208 may be mounted to a unicycle, a tricycle, a scooter, a motorcycle, a car, a forklift, etc.”), wherein the top view indicates vehicles moving towards the motorcycle in a first color and vehicles moving away from the motorcycle in a second color (see paragraph 0033, “For example, the processor may be configured to cause the left and right edges of the display or navigational information (turn arrow) presented on the display to change color and/or brightness to indicate an approaching vehicle or other target, the position of which is determined based on target data, located in a rear (or any other) sensor field of the radar sensor or field of view of the camera. The color and/or brightness change may be greater (increased) if a target determined to be located in the sensor field of the radar sensor or field of view of the camera is determined to be traveling faster than (approaching) the bicycle on which the radar unit and mobile electronic device are mounted than targets determined to be located in the sensor field that are determined to be traveling at the same or slower speed than the bicycle.”, where an approaching vehicle is in a first color and the color is “changed” for a vehicle traveling at a slower speed than the bicycle (i.e. motorcycle) which is tantamount to “moving away from the motorcycle”).
Adams discloses,
a housing for retaining the radar sensor (see paragraph 0257, “The sensor pod of any one of paragraphs DDDD-KKKK, the sensing surface comprising a lens, a shield, a windscreen, a casing, or a radome.”, where the sensor pod is the housing for the radar sensor and include a radome surface), wherein the housing includes a radome (see paragraph 0257, “The sensor pod of any one of paragraphs DDDD-KKKK, the sensing surface comprising a lens, a shield, a windscreen, a casing, or a radome.”, where the sensor pod is the housing for the radar sensor and include a radome surface) with a horizontal field of view of at least 150 degrees (see paragraph 0208, “OO: The vehicle of paragraph NN, wherein the sensor pod has an effective field of view of greater than 270 degrees.”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Adams into the invention of Brisimitzakis. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose a radar sensors mounted on a vehicle for object proximity detection. The combination would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to protect the radar sensor and provide a greater field of view for blind spot detection (see paragraph 0023 of Adams).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
WESCOTT (US 20200361370 A1) is considered close pertinent art to the claimed invention as it discloses a vehicle visual signaling device. Regarding claim 1, WESCOTT discloses [Note: what WESCOTT fails to disclose is strike-through],
A motorcycle radar system (see Fig. 3B, vehicle visual signaling device (VVSD) 10 is a “radar system”), comprising:
a radar sensor (see Fig. 3B, radar sensor comprising radar transmitter and receiver, 304 and 306, further see paragraph 0052, “In an exemplary embodiment, the partition 302 may serve as a mounting platform and reflective housing for the LEDs 220 and radar transmitter/receivers 304 and 306.”) configured to:
detachably couple to a motorcycle (see paragraph 0077, “Turning now to FIGS. 3A and 3B, FIGS. 3A and 3B may show a VVSD 10. In an exemplary embodiment, the components of the design may be mounted in a housing structure/shell 300. In some embodiments, the components may be mounted using a temporary or a permanent fastener, such as tape, double-sided tape, adhesive, screws, or other fasteners, such as would be understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art.”, further see Fig. 4C);
transmit and receive radar signals (see paragraph 0065, “According to an exemplary embodiment, it may be contemplated that the VVSD 10 may make use of a radar system. It may be contemplated that, generally, there are four basic components to a radar system: a transmitter, antennas, a receiver, and a display. In the following embodiments, the transmitter may be configured to produce a signal that is sent out and received by the antennas, which is then passed to the receiver. The receiver may then be programmed to analyze the return signal, and then send said return signal to the display, allowing the return signal to be perceived by a human”); and
process the received radar signals to generate radar data corresponding to one or more vehicles proximate the motorcycle (see paragraph 0065, “According to an exemplary embodiment, it may be contemplated that the VVSD 10 may make use of a radar system. It may be contemplated that, generally, there are four basic components to a radar system: a transmitter, antennas, a receiver, and a display. In the following embodiments, the transmitter may be configured to produce a signal that is sent out and received by the antennas, which is then passed to the receiver. The receiver may then be programmed to analyze the return signal, and then send said return signal to the display, allowing the return signal to be perceived by a human”);
an electronic device including a display, the electronic device configured to receive the radar data (see paragraph 0065, “According to an exemplary embodiment, it may be contemplated that the VVSD 10 may make use of a radar system. It may be contemplated that, generally, there are four basic components to a radar system: a transmitter, antennas, a receiver, and a display. In the following embodiments, the transmitter may be configured to produce a signal that is sent out and received by the antennas, which is then passed to the receiver. The receiver may then be programmed to analyze the return signal, and then send said return signal to the display, allowing the return signal to be perceived by a human.”)
PARK (US 20170101056 A1) is considered close pertinent art to the claimed invention as it discloses a radar system mounted in a vehicle for object prolixity detection.
MANKOWSKI et al. (US 20230098779 A1) is considered close pertinent art to the claimed invention as it discloses a vehicular warning system using different colors (see paragraph 0061, “Similar to the haptic devices 113 being controlled as a function of distance, the controller 115 may be configured to control the one or more visual notification devices (e.g. the light/notification devices 119) in a distance-based manner. Hence, for example, the light/notification devices 119 may be controlled to provide a visual notification when an object is detected in a backwards direction and/or by the third object sensor 111-3, and when the distance to the object is decreasing and/or the velocity is increasing, and the like, the light/notification devices 119, and/or the one or more visual notification devices may be controlled to different frequencies, colors, patterns, and the like (e.g. to simulate lights from a police vehicle, and the like).”).
LAVI et al. (US 20210221368 A1) is considered close pertinent art to the claimed invention as it discloses a vehicular warning system using different colors (see paragraph 0215, One exemplary threat type is a backward collision threat of a vehicle, other than the motorcycle 10, colliding with the motorcycle 10 from the rear-end side. In such cases, the warning notification can be generated upon the processing module 110 determining, e.g. using the time-to-collision determined at block 420, being a time expected to pass until the other vehicle collides with the motorcycle 10, is lower than a pre-determined threshold time. In such case, the riding assistance system 200 can activate the brake light and/or turn lights of the motorcycle 10, optionally at a certain pattern and/or color, so that a driver of the vehicle that poses a threat to the motorcycle (by colliding therewith) will be notified of it being a threat.”, where a brake light is on the rear of the vehicle and emits a first color “outwardly”).
/NAZRA NUR WAHEED/Examiner, Art Unit 3648