DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Reasons for allowance will be provided in the event the application becomes in condition for allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 12, 30, 32, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maejima (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2017/0336748).
Regarding claim 1, Maejima (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2017/0336748) discloses:
A sheet characteristic detection system that detects a sheet characteristic, comprising:
a sheet characteristic detection device that includes a plurality of media sensors corresponding to a plurality of different sheet characteristics (paragraphs [0068], [0134], [0138], paper size sensor and paper thickness sensor); and
a hardware processor that is capable of changing a type of the sheet characteristic to be detected by the plurality of media sensors (see, for example, Figure 14, paragraphs [0193]-[0199], while the paper size continues to be detected, the system can opt to not measure thickness of the sheet if it is unnecessary to do so)
Regarding claim 2, Maejima additionally discloses:
the hardware processor can change a combination of the sheet characteristics to be detected by the plurality of media sensors (see, for example, Figure 14, paragraphs [0193]-[0199], while the paper size continues to be detected, the system can opt to not measure thickness of the sheet if it is unnecessary to do so)
Regarding claim 3, Maejima additionally discloses:
wherein the plurality of media sensors are capable of detecting information corresponding to a plurality of sheet characteristics among the size, the rigidity, the resistance, the moisture content, the surface property, and the thickness of the sheet (paragraphs [0068], [0134], [0138], paper size sensor and paper thickness sensor detect size and thickness of the sheet)
Regarding claim 12, Maejima additionally discloses:
wherein the hardware processor causes the media sensor to detect information corresponding to at least two or more sheet characteristics among a size, rigidity, resistance, a moisture content, a surface property, and a thickness of the sheet when the sheet characteristic detection device is connected to an image forming device (paragraphs [0068], [0134], [0138], paper size sensor and paper thickness sensor detect size and thickness of the sheet; the sensors are integrated into a printing/image forming apparatus – see paragraph [0034])
Regarding claim 30, the device of claim 30 is analogous to the disclosed system of claim 1. Therefore, claim 30 is rejected for reasons analogous to those described in regards to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 32, arguments analogous to claim 1 are applicable. The computer readable medium is explicitly taught as described in claim 19 of the Maejima reference.
Regarding claim 34, Maejima discloses:
An image forming system comprising:
an image forming device that forms an image on a sheet (the sensors are integrated into a printing/image forming apparatus – see paragraph [0034]); and
a sheet characteristic detection device that detects a sheet characteristic, wherein the sheet characteristic detection device includes:
a sheet characteristic detection device that includes a plurality of media sensors corresponding to a plurality of different sheet characteristics (paragraphs [0068], [0134], [0138], paper size sensor and paper thickness sensor); and
a hardware processor that is capable of changing a type of the sheet characteristic to be detected by the plurality of media sensors (see, for example, Figure 14, paragraphs [0193]-[0199], while the paper size continues to be detected, the system can opt to not measure thickness of the sheet if it is unnecessary to do so)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7, 25-29, 31, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maejima (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2017/0336748) in view of Nakamura (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2014/0044468).
Regarding claim 4, Maejima discloses the system of the parent claim (claim 1).
Maejima additionally discloses:
wherein the hardware processor changes a type of the sheet characteristic to be detected according to a selected function (see, for example, Figure 14, paragraphs [0193]-[0199], while the paper size continues to be detected, the system can opt to not measure thickness of the sheet if it is unnecessary to do so)
Even assuming arguendo Maejima does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the hardware processor changes a type of the sheet characteristic to be detected according to a selected function
Nakamura (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2014/0044468) discloses:
wherein the hardware processor changes a type of the sheet characteristic to be detected according to a selected function (paragraphs [0062]-[0063], depending on the stored relation for the particular post processing, the target changes for comparison of the sheet size)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Nakamura with the system of Maejima such that the system would have been configured to change a type of the sheet characteristic to be detected according to a selected function as described in Nakamura. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of “determin[ing] whether post-processing can be performed based on the feeding sheet size, the calculated sheet size, and a sheet size for which the…post processing can be performed” (paragraph [0062] of the Nakamura reference) and thereby enhance efficiency of operations.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Maejima and Nakamura discloses the system of the parent claim (claim 4).
Maejima does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the hardware processor changes the type of the sheet characteristic to be detected according to a type of a post-processing function set in a job.
Nakamura discloses:
wherein the hardware processor changes the type of the sheet characteristic to be detected according to a type of a post-processing function set in a job (paragraphs [0062]-[0063], depending on the stored relation for the particular post processing, the target changes for comparison of the sheet size)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Nakamura with the system of Maejima such that the system would have been configured to change the type of the sheet characteristic to be detected according to a type of a post-processing function set in a job as described in Nakamura. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of “determin[ing] whether post-processing can be performed based on the feeding sheet size, the calculated sheet size, and a sheet size for which the…post processing can be performed” (paragraph [0062] of the Nakamura reference) and thereby enhance efficiency of operations.
Regarding claim 6, Maejima discloses the system of the parent claim (claim 1).
Maejima does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the hardware processor changes the type of the sheet characteristic to be detected by the plurality of media sensors according to at least one of: a type of a device connected to the sheet characteristic detection device in the sheet characteristic detection system; and a connection position of the sheet characteristic detection device in the sheet characteristic detection system.
Nakamura discloses:
wherein the hardware processor changes the type of the sheet characteristic to be detected by the plurality of media sensors according to at least one of: a type of a device connected to the sheet characteristic detection device in the sheet characteristic detection system (paragraphs [0062]-[0063], depending on the stored relation for the particular post processing, the target changes for comparison of the sheet size); and a connection position of the sheet characteristic detection device in the sheet characteristic detection system.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Nakamura with the system of Maejima such that the system would have been configured to change the type of the sheet characteristic to be detected by the plurality of media sensors according to a type of a device connected to the sheet characteristic detection device in the sheet characteristic detection system as described in Nakamura. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of “determin[ing] whether post-processing can be performed based on the feeding sheet size, the calculated sheet size, and a sheet size for which the…post processing can be performed” (paragraph [0062] of the Nakamura reference) and thereby enhance efficiency of operations.
Regarding claim 7, Maejima discloses the system of the parent claim (claim 1).
Maejima does not explicitly disclose:
the hardware processor changes a type of the sheet characteristic to be detected by the plurality of media sensors according to a type of a post-processing device connected to the sheet characteristic detection device
Nakamura discloses:
the hardware processor changes a type of the sheet characteristic to be detected by the plurality of media sensors according to a type of a post-processing device connected to the sheet characteristic detection device (paragraphs [0062]-[0063], depending on the stored relation for the particular post processing, the target changes for comparison of the sheet size);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Nakamura with the system of Maejima such that the system would have been configured to change a type of the sheet characteristic to be detected by the plurality of media sensors according to a type of a post-processing device connected to the sheet characteristic detection device as described in Nakamura. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of “determin[ing] whether post-processing can be performed based on the feeding sheet size, the calculated sheet size, and a sheet size for which the…post processing can be performed” (paragraph [0062] of the Nakamura reference) and thereby enhance efficiency of operations.
Regarding claim 25, Maejima discloses:
A sheet characteristic detection system that detects a sheet characteristic, comprising:
a sheet characteristic detection device that includes a media sensor capable of detecting information corresponding to the sheet characteristic (paragraphs [0068], [0134], [0138], paper size sensor and paper thickness sensor);
Maejima does not explicitly disclose:
a hardware processor that determines a detection content of the sheet characteristic to be detected by the media sensor according to at least one of a type of a device connected to the sheet characteristic detection device in the sheet characteristic detection system, a connection position of the sheet characteristic detection device in the sheet characteristic detection system, and a selected function.
Nakamura discloses:
a hardware processor that determines a detection content of the sheet characteristic to be detected by the media sensor according to at least one of a type of a device connected to the sheet characteristic detection device in the sheet characteristic detection system, a connection position of the sheet characteristic detection device in the sheet characteristic detection system, and a selected function (paragraphs [0062]-[0063], depending on the stored relation for the particular post processing, the target changes for comparison of the sheet size)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Nakamura with the system of Maejima such that the system would have been configured to change a type of the sheet characteristic to be detected according to a selected function as described in Nakamura. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of “determin[ing] whether post-processing can be performed based on the feeding sheet size, the calculated sheet size, and a sheet size for which the…post processing can be performed” (paragraph [0062] of the Nakamura reference) and thereby enhance efficiency of operations.
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Maejima and Nakamura disclose the system of the parent claim (claim 25).
Maejima additionally discloses:
the hardware processor can determine a type of the sheet characteristic to be detected, a detection range of the sheet characteristic to be detected, or detection processing as the detection content of the sheet characteristic (see, for example, Figure 14, paragraphs [0193]-[0199], while the paper size continues to be detected, the system can opt to not measure thickness of the sheet if it is unnecessary to do so)
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Maejima and Nakamura disclose the system of the parent claim (claim 25).
Maejima additionally discloses:
the sheet characteristic detection device includes a plurality of media sensors (paragraphs [0068], [0134], [0138], paper size sensor and paper thickness sensor); corresponding to a plurality of different sheet characteristics, and the hardware processor is capable of changing a type of the sheet characteristic to be detected (see, for example, Figure 14, paragraphs [0193]-[0199], while the paper size continues to be detected, the system can opt to not measure thickness of the sheet if it is unnecessary to do so)
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Maejima and Nakamura disclose the system of the parent claim (claim 27).
Maejima additionally discloses:
the hardware processor is capable of changing a combination of the sheet characteristics to be detected by the plurality of media sensors (see, for example, Figure 14, paragraphs [0193]-[0199], while the paper size continues to be detected, the system can opt to not measure thickness of the sheet if it is unnecessary to do so)
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Maejima and Nakamura disclose the system of the parent claim (claim 25).
Maejima additionally discloses:
a device connected to the sheet characteristic detection device is a device in which the media sensor included in the sheet characteristic detection device can be disposed (the sensors are integrated into a printing/image forming apparatus – see paragraph [0034])
Regarding claim 31, the device of claim 30 is analogous to the disclosed system of claim 25. Therefore, claim 31 is rejected for reasons analogous to those described in regards to claim 25 above.
Regarding claim 33, arguments analogous to claim 25 are applicable. The computer readable medium is explicitly taught as described in claim 19 of the Maejima reference.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maejima in view of Nakamura in further view of Kobayashi et al. (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2023/0234803).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Maejima and Nakamura discloses the system of the parent claim (claim 7).
As previously noted, Maejima discloses:
wherein the hardware processor causes the media sensor to detect at least one of a size, rigidity, and a thickness of the sheet (paragraphs [0068], [0134], [0138], paper size sensor and paper thickness sensor detect size and thickness of the sheet)
The combination of Maejima and Nakamura does not explicitly disclose:
when the sheet characteristic detection device is connected to a cutter that cuts the sheet.
Kobayashi (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2023/0234803) discloses:
wherein the hardware processor causes the media sensor to detect at least one of a size, rigidity, and a thickness of the sheet (paragraph [0049], the controller uses the sensor to detect the length of the paper) when the sheet characteristic detection device is connected to a cutter that cuts the sheet (paragraph [0055]-[0057], the determined length is used to compute the cutting position)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Kobayashi with the combination of Maejima and Nakamura such that the system would have been configured to detect size when the sheet characteristic detection device is connected to a cutter that cuts the sheet as described in Kobayashi. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of “cutting a printing medium to a desired size” (paragraph [0004] of the Kobayashi reference).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Maejima, Nakamura, and Kobayashi disclose the system of the parent claim (claim 8).
The combination of Maejima and Nakamura does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the hardware processor adjusts at least one of a cutting position and a cutting time of the sheet in the cutter based on a detection result of the sheet characteristic detection device.
Kobayashi discloses:
wherein the hardware processor adjusts at least one of a cutting position and a cutting time of the sheet in the cutter based on a detection result of the sheet characteristic detection device (paragraph [0055]-[0057], the determined length is used to compute the cutting position)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Kobayashi with the combination of Maejima and Nakamura such that the system would have been configured to adjust a cutting position of the sheet in the cutter based on a detection result of the sheet characteristic detection device as described in Kobayashi. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of “cutting a printing medium to a desired size” (paragraph [0004] of the Kobayashi reference).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maejima in view of Nakamura in further view of Monden (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2023/0297018).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Maejima and Nakamura discloses the system of the parent claim (claim 7).
Maejima discloses:
wherein the hardware processor causes the media sensor to detect at least one of rigidity, a thickness, and a moisture content of the sheet (paragraphs [0068], [0134], [0138], paper size sensor and paper thickness sensor detect size and thickness of the sheet)
Maejima does not explicitly disclose:
when the sheet characteristic detection device is connected to a device capable of performing binding processing or punching processing.
Monden (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2023/0297018) discloses:
wherein the hardware processor causes the media sensor to detect at least one of rigidity, a thickness, and a moisture content of the sheet when the sheet characteristic detection device is connected to a device capable of performing binding processing or punching processing (paragraphs [0095], the moisture content of the sheet is determined; paragraph [0096] the device performing a punching job)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Monden with the combination of Maejima and Nakamura such that the media sensor to detect at least one of rigidity, a thickness, and a moisture content of the sheet when the sheet characteristic detection device is connected to a device capable of performing punching processing as described in Monden. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of “enabl[ing] punching processing to be performed at an appropriate position in a conveyed sheet regardless of the surface property of the sheet (paragraph [0006] of the Monden reference).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maejima in view of Nakamura in further view of Ogushi (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2022/0076087)
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Maejima and Nakamura discloses the system of the parent claim (claim 7).
Maejima discloses:
wherein the hardware processor causes the media sensor to detect at least one of rigidity, a thickness, and a moisture content of the sheet (paragraphs [0068], [0134], [0138], paper size sensor and paper thickness sensor detect size and thickness of the sheet)
Maejima does not explicitly disclose:
when the sheet characteristic detection device is connected to a folding processing device.
Ogushi (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2022/0076087) discloses:
wherein the hardware processor causes the media sensor to detect at least one of rigidity, a thickness, and a moisture content of the sheet when the sheet characteristic detection device is connected to a folding processing device (paragraph [0086], sheet rigidity is detected in the context of a folding job)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Ogushi with the combination of Maejima and Nakamura such that the system would have been configured to detect at least one of rigidity, a thickness, and a moisture content of the sheet when the sheet characteristic detection device is connected to a folding processing device as described. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of ensuring that “the quality of the post-processing operation…is secured” (paragraph [0086] of the Ogushi reference).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maejima in view of Monden.
Regarding claim 13, Maejima discloses the system of the parent claim (claim 1).
Maejima discloses:
wherein the hardware processor causes the media sensor to detect information corresponding to at least one of a size, rigidity, resistance, a surface property, and a thickness of the sheet when the sheet characteristic detection device is connected to an image forming device (paragraphs [0068], [0134], [0138], paper size sensor and paper thickness sensor detect size and thickness of the sheet)
Maejima does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the hardware processor causes the media sensor to detect information corresponding to a moisture content of the sheet
Monden discloses:
wherein the hardware processor causes the media sensor to detect information corresponding to a moisture content of the sheet (paragraphs [0095], the moisture content of the sheet is determined)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Monden with the combination of Maejima and Nakamura such that the media sensor would detect information corresponding to a moisture content of the sheet as described in Monden. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable of “enabl[ing] punching processing to be performed at an appropriate position in a conveyed sheet regardless of the surface property of the sheet (paragraph [0006] of the Monden reference).
Claim(s) 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maejima in view of Shin et al. (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2023/0022271).
Regarding claim 23, Maejima discloses the system of the parent claim (claim 1).
Maejima does not explicitly discloses:
wherein the hardware processor changes a type of the sheet characteristic to be detected according to whether the sheet fed from the sheet feeding device is a first sheet or a second or subsequent sheet fed in a job.
Shin et al. (U.S.P.G. Pub. No. 2023/0022271):
wherein the hardware processor changes a type of the sheet characteristic to be detected according to whether the sheet fed from the sheet feeding device is a first sheet or a second or subsequent sheet fed in a job (paragraph [0078], for the first page of the job, the thickness is detected but only the registration sensor is used afterwards)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Shin with the system of Maejima such that the system would change a type of the sheet characteristic to be detected according to whether the sheet fed from the sheet feeding device is a first sheet or a second or subsequent sheet fed in a job as described in Shin. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable allowing a sensor “to perform [a] plurality of functions such as determining the type of print paper and performing the registration job, thereby reducing manufacturing costs” (paragraph [0079] of the Shin reference) while still maximizing throughput.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Maejima and Shin disclose the system of the parent claim (claim 23).
Maejima does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the hardware processor detects all types of sheet characteristics corresponding to the plurality of media sensors when the sheet fed is the first sheet, and detects only some types of sheet characteristics when the sheet fed is the second or subsequent sheet.
Shin discloses:
wherein the hardware processor detects all types of sheet characteristics corresponding to the plurality of media sensors when the sheet fed is the first sheet, and detects only some types of sheet characteristics when the sheet fed is the second or subsequent sheet (paragraph [0078], for the first sheet, the sensor performs both detection functions, but for subsequent sheets, the sensor only senses registration)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Shin with the system of Maejima such that the system would detects all types of sheet characteristics corresponding to the plurality of media sensors when the sheet fed is the first sheet, and detect only some types of sheet characteristics when the sheet fed is the second or subsequent sheet as described in Shin. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to implement a system capable allowing a sensor “to perform [a] plurality of functions such as determining the type of print paper and performing the registration job, thereby reducing manufacturing costs” (paragraph [0079] of the Shin reference) while still maximizing throughput.
Conclusion
/JOHN R WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682