This office action is in response to remarks filed on 06/22/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1-7, 13, 14, and 16-20 are amended.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1-7, 13, 14, and 16-20 have been considered based on amendments.
Applicant's request to list the prior art made of record and not relied upon on Form PTO-892 has been acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 16, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Maaref et al (US20250133575A1) (hereinafter "Maaref").
Regarding claim 1, Maaref discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories; and ([0019] The device includes a memory storing instructions and a processor.)
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE to ([0019] The device includes a memory storing instructions and a processor.):
receive, for a cell group with a shared downlink carrier, at least one downlink communication via the shared downlink carrier conveying a set of multiple synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) for a set of multiple distinct cells ([0043] links of different types (e.g., TN/NTN)) of the cell group ([0043] Aspects of the present application enable links of different types (e.g., TN/NTN) to share the same carrier bandwidth. This allows spectrum resources to be used more efficiently, as physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) and/or PUSCHs from TN and NTN may overlap on time/frequency/code resources in a shared carrier and the mobile terminal can still try to decode both sets of data using joint reception techniques, given that the PDSCHs may be received, at a user equipment (UE), with a high SNR differential. [0277] In contrast to a conventional cell, wherein carrier resources are exclusively dedicated for a terrestrial system (wherein the gNB is fixed on the ground) or a non-terrestrial system (wherein the gNB is aboard an NTN platform, e.g., satellite/HAPS/drone), aspects of the present application introduce a shared TN/NTN serving cell/carrier, wherein carrier/spectrum resources are shared between TN and NTN links.), each SSB of the set of multiple SSBs corresponding to a respective cell of the set of multiple distinct cells; and ([0203] In NR, synchronization signals/PBCH blocks (SSBs) are cell-specific, in the sense that the SSBs carry the physical layer cell ID (PCID) of the cell. … Within the frequency span of a given carrier, multiple SSBs in different frequency locations can be transmitted. The multiple SSBs do not need to carry the same PCID. However, a cell-defining SSB (CD-SSB) has a unique location within the carrier. [0398] In case of a shared carrier, TN and NTN can operate in different frequency resources of the shared carrier (see FIG. 25A) at the cost of some performance degradation in terms of latency and lack of flexibility in assigning resources to the UE. For example, the TN and the NTN may be configured to operate on non-overlapping UL or DL BWPs.)
transmit, for a cell of the cell group, an initial access message based on an SSB of the set of multiple SSBs ([0052] The method further includes detecting, in the shared downlink carrier, a reference signal for a synchronization signal block associated with a link of the first type or a link of the second link type, the reference signal having a received power, comparing the received power of the reference signal to the corresponding link-type specific threshold and responsive to a result of the comparing, carrying out an initial access procedure, using the corresponding link-type-specific random access channel configuration. [0284] The UE 110 may carry out initial access on the TN UL carrier or on the shared UL carrier (see FIG. 20) using the corresponding RACH configuration responsive to the UE 110 detecting a TN SSB on the shared DL carrier with a reference signal received power above a certain threshold. Alternatively, the UE 110 may carry out initial access on the NTN UL carrier or on the shared UL carrier (see FIG. 20) using the corresponding RACH configuration responsive to the UE 110 detecting an NTN SSB on the shared DL carrier with a reference signal received power above a certain threshold. The reference signal received power threshold may be a link-specific threshold or carrier-specific threshold or common threshold across link types or carrier types.).
Regarding claim 2, Maaref discloses the UE, wherein the set of multiple SSBs is received from a single cell, of the cell group, and includes a master information block (MIB) and a scheduling single system information block (SIB) with a per-cell configuration for the set of multiple distinct cells ([0228] The multi-carrier TN/NTN cell system information received (step 602) via MIB or SIB1 (e.g., in an RMSI) may provide, to the given UE, a separate RACH configuration for each different carrier or carrier type. For example, a first RACH configuration may be provided for carriers of the TN type and a second RACH configuration may be provided for carriers of the NTN type. The multi-carrier TN/NTN cell system information may also provide an indication that the multi-carrier serving cell operates in a UL carrier aggregation mode or a supplementary UL mode.).
Regarding claim 16, Maaref discloses a network node for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories; and ([0019] The device includes a memory storing instructions and a processor.)
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the network node to ([0019] The device includes a memory storing instructions and a processor.):
transmit, for a cell group with a shared downlink carrier, at least one downlink communication via the shared downlink carrier conveying a set of multiple synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) for a set of multiple distinct cells of the cell group ([0043] Aspects of the present application enable links of different types (e.g., TN/NTN) to share the same carrier bandwidth. This allows spectrum resources to be used more efficiently, as physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) and/or PUSCHs from TN and NTN may overlap on time/frequency/code resources in a shared carrier and the mobile terminal can still try to decode both sets of data using joint reception techniques, given that the PDSCHs may be received, at a user equipment (UE), with a high SNR differential. [0277] In contrast to a conventional cell, wherein carrier resources are exclusively dedicated for a terrestrial system (wherein the gNB is fixed on the ground) or a non-terrestrial system (wherein the gNB is aboard an NTN platform, e.g., satellite/HAPS/drone), aspects of the present application introduce a shared TN/NTN serving cell/carrier, wherein carrier/spectrum resources are shared between TN and NTN links.),
each SSB of the set of multiple SSBs corresponding to a respective cell of the set of multiple distinct cells; and ([0203] In NR, synchronization signals/PBCH blocks (SSBs) are cell-specific, in the sense that the SSBs carry the physical layer cell ID (PCID) of the cell. … Within the frequency span of a given carrier, multiple SSBs in different frequency locations can be transmitted. The multiple SSBs do not need to carry the same PCID. However, a cell-defining SSB (CD-SSB) has a unique location within the carrier. [0398] In case of a shared carrier, TN and NTN can operate in different frequency resources of the shared carrier (see FIG. 25A) at the cost of some performance degradation in terms of latency and lack of flexibility in assigning resources to the UE. For example, the TN and the NTN may be configured to operate on non-overlapping UL or DL BWPs.)
receive, for a cell of the cell group, an initial access message based on an SSB of the set of multiple SSBs ([0052] The method further includes detecting, in the shared downlink carrier, a reference signal for a synchronization signal block associated with a link of the first type or a link of the second link type, the reference signal having a received power, comparing the received power of the reference signal to the corresponding link-type specific threshold and responsive to a result of the comparing, carrying out an initial access procedure, using the corresponding link-type-specific random access channel configuration. [0284] The UE 110 may carry out initial access on the TN UL carrier or on the shared UL carrier (see FIG. 20) using the corresponding RACH configuration responsive to the UE 110 detecting a TN SSB on the shared DL carrier with a reference signal received power above a certain threshold. Alternatively, the UE 110 may carry out initial access on the NTN UL carrier or on the shared UL carrier (see FIG. 20) using the corresponding RACH configuration responsive to the UE 110 detecting an NTN SSB on the shared DL carrier with a reference signal received power above a certain threshold. The reference signal received power threshold may be a link-specific threshold or carrier-specific threshold or common threshold across link types or carrier types.).
Regarding claim 17, Maaref discloses the network node, wherein the set of SSBs is transmitted from a single cell, of the cell group, and includes a master information block (MIB) and a scheduling single system information block (SIB) with a per-cell configuration for the set of multiple distinct cells ([[0228] The multi-carrier TN/NTN cell system information received (step 602) via MIB or SIB1 (e.g., in an RMSI) may provide, to the given UE, a separate RACH configuration for each different carrier or carrier type. For example, a first RACH configuration may be provided for carriers of the TN type and a second RACH configuration may be provided for carriers of the NTN type. The multi-carrier TN/NTN cell system information may also provide an indication that the multi-carrier serving cell operates in a UL carrier aggregation mode or a supplementary UL mode.).
Regarding claim 20, Maaref discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, for a cell group with a shared downlink carrier, at least one downlink communication via the shared downlink carrier conveying a set of multiple synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) for a set of multiple distinct cells of the cell group, each SSB of the set of multiple SSBs corresponding to a respective cell of the set of multiple distinct cells; and ([0043] Aspects of the present application enable links of different types (e.g., TN/NTN) to share the same carrier bandwidth. This allows spectrum resources to be used more efficiently, as physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) and/or PUSCHs from TN and NTN may overlap on time/frequency/code resources in a shared carrier and the mobile terminal can still try to decode both sets of data using joint reception techniques, given that the PDSCHs may be received, at a user equipment (UE), with a high SNR differential. [0277] In contrast to a conventional cell, wherein carrier resources are exclusively dedicated for a terrestrial system (wherein the gNB is fixed on the ground) or a non-terrestrial system (wherein the gNB is aboard an NTN platform, e.g., satellite/HAPS/drone), aspects of the present application introduce a shared TN/NTN serving cell/carrier, wherein carrier/spectrum resources are shared between TN and NTN links.)
transmitting, for a cell of the cell group, an initial access message based on an SSB of the set of multiple SSBs ([0052] The method further includes detecting, in the shared downlink carrier, a reference signal for a synchronization signal block associated with a link of the first type or a link of the second link type, the reference signal having a received power, comparing the received power of the reference signal to the corresponding link-type specific threshold and responsive to a result of the comparing, carrying out an initial access procedure, using the corresponding link-type-specific random access channel configuration. [0284] The UE 110 may carry out initial access on the TN UL carrier or on the shared UL carrier (see FIG. 20) using the corresponding RACH configuration responsive to the UE 110 detecting a TN SSB on the shared DL carrier with a reference signal received power above a certain threshold. Alternatively, the UE 110 may carry out initial access on the NTN UL carrier or on the shared UL carrier (see FIG. 20) using the corresponding RACH configuration responsive to the UE 110 detecting an NTN SSB on the shared DL carrier with a reference signal received power above a certain threshold. The reference signal received power threshold may be a link-specific threshold or carrier-specific threshold or common threshold across link types or carrier types.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6, 11, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maaref in view of Liu et al (US20200351950A1) (hereinafter "Liu").
Regarding claim 3, Maaref fails to disclose the UE, wherein the set of multiple SSBs is received from a plurality of cells, of the cell group, wherein a first SSB, of the set of multiple SSBs, is multiplexed with a second SSB, of the set of multiple SSBs, and wherein each SSB includes a respective master information block (MIB) and a respective scheduling system information block (SIB) for a respective cell of the cell group.
However, Liu discloses the UE, wherein the set of multiple SSBs is received from a plurality of cells, of the cell group, wherein a first SSB, of the set of multiple SSBs, is multiplexed with a second SSB, of the set of multiple SSBs, and wherein each SSB includes a respective master information block (MIB) and a respective scheduling system information block (SIB) for a respective cell of the cell group ([0186] Step S201: Receive SUL configuration information, where the SUL configuration information includes at least one first supplementary uplink SUL resource and at least one SUL selection threshold that are corresponding to a first SSB. [0190] Optionally, the SUL configuration information may further include an SUL resource and an SUL selection threshold that are corresponding to another SSB, or if the SUL configuration information includes only the SUL resource and the SUL selection threshold that are corresponding to the first SSB, the terminal device may further receive SUL configuration information corresponding to another SSB that is sent by the first network device or another network device.).
Maaref and Liu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of utilizing a supplementary uplink resource to perform random access.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maaref with Liu to create the UE, wherein the set of multiple SSBs is received from a plurality of cells, of the cell group, wherein a first SSB, of the set of multiple SSBs, is multiplexed with a second SSB, of the set of multiple SSBs, and wherein each SSB includes a respective master information block (MIB) and a respective scheduling system information block (SIB) for a respective cell of the cell group.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve random access efficiency of a communications system.
Regarding claim 6, Maaref fails to disclose the UE, wherein the set of multiple SSBs includes information identifying a single downlink frequency configuration.
However, Liu discloses the UE, wherein the set of multiple SSBs includes information identifying a single downlink frequency configuration ([0204] Optionally, the identifier may be index information, or may be other indication information that may be used to uniquely indicate an SSB and/or the first SUL resource (for example, frequency channel number information of the first SUL resource and/or the configuration information of the downlink reference signal corresponding to the first SUL resource, where the downlink reference signal configuration information may include but is not limited to at least one of the following: frequency channel number information of a carrier (or a resource) on which the downlink reference signal is located, bandwidth information, a PCID of the carrier on which the downlink reference signal is located, transmit power information of the downlink reference signal, and information about a path loss adjustment value caused by a frequency-domain deviation between the downlink reference signal and an SUL resource; and the downlink reference signal may also be understood as an LTE downlink carrier on a frequency band on which the first SUL resource is located, that is, frequency channel number information of an LTE carrier, bandwidth information, a PCID, and information about a path loss adjustment value caused by a frequency-domain deviation between the LTE carrier and an SUL resource).).
Maaref and Liu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of utilizing a supplementary uplink resource to perform random access.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maaref with Liu to create the UE, wherein the set of multiple SSBs includes information identifying a single downlink frequency configuration.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve random access efficiency of a communications system.
Regarding claim 11, Maaref fails to disclose the UE, wherein an uplink configuration of the UE is based at least in part on a single aggregated set of configuration parameters or a plurality of individual sets of configuration parameters.
However, Liu discloses the UE, wherein an uplink configuration of the UE is based at least in part on a single aggregated set of configuration parameters or a plurality of individual sets of configuration parameters ([0326] When carrier aggregation is performed in a plurality of serving cells, usually a primary serving cell or a primary component carrier is configured for the terminal device, and a PUCCH resource is configured on an uplink carrier of the primary component carrier, for users to jointly feed back ACKs/NACKs of downlink data of one serving cell or a plurality of aggregated serving cells.).
Maaref and Liu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of utilizing a supplementary uplink resource to perform random access.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maaref with Liu to create the UE, wherein an uplink configuration of the UE is based at least in part on a single aggregated set of configuration parameters or a plurality of individual sets of configuration parameters.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve random access efficiency of a communications system.
Regarding claim 14, Maaref fails to disclose the UE, wherein a control resource set including a physical downlink control channel is shared by the set of multiple distinct cells of the cell group.
However, Liu discloses the UE, wherein a control resource set including a physical downlink control channel is shared by the set of multiple distinct cells of the cell group ([0180] Optionally, one NR uplink resource, one NR downlink resource, and one NR SUL resource may be one NR carrier resource (serving cell). Further, one NR uplink resource, one NR downlink resource, and a plurality of NR SUL resources may also be one NR carrier resource (serving cell).).
Maaref and Liu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of utilizing a supplementary uplink resource to perform random access.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maaref with Liu to create the UE, wherein a control resource set including a physical downlink control channel is shared by the set of multiple distinct cells of the cell group.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve random access efficiency of a communications system.
Regarding claim 18, Maaref fails to disclose the network node, wherein the set of multiple SSBs is transmitted from a plurality of cells, of the cell group, wherein a first SSB, of the set of multiple SSBs, is multiplexed with a second SSB, of the set of multiple SSBs, and wherein each SSB includes a respective master information block (MIB) and a respective scheduling system information block (SIB) for a respective cell of the cell group.
However, Liu discloses the network node, wherein the set of multiple SSBs is transmitted from a plurality of cells, of the cell group, wherein a first SSB, of the set of multiple SSBs, is multiplexed with a second SSB, of the set of multiple SSBs, and wherein each SSB includes a respective master information block (MIB) and a respective scheduling system information block (SIB) for a respective cell of the cell group ([0186] Step S201: Receive SUL configuration information, where the SUL configuration information includes at least one first supplementary uplink SUL resource and at least one SUL selection threshold that are corresponding to a first SSB. [0190] Optionally, the SUL configuration information may further include an SUL resource and an SUL selection threshold that are corresponding to another SSB, or if the SUL configuration information includes only the SUL resource and the SUL selection threshold that are corresponding to the first SSB, the terminal device may further receive SUL configuration information corresponding to another SSB that is sent by the first network device or another network device.).
Maaref and Liu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of utilizing a supplementary uplink resource to perform random access.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maaref with Liu to create the network node, wherein the set of multiple SSBs is transmitted from a plurality of cells, of the cell group, wherein a first SSB, of the set of multiple SSBs, is multiplexed with a second SSB, of the set of multiple SSBs, and wherein each SSB includes a respective master information block (MIB) and a respective scheduling system information block (SIB) for a respective cell of the cell group.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve random access efficiency of a communications system.
Claims 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maaref in view of Pezeshki et al (US20210235402A1) (hereinafter "Pezeshki").
Regarding claim 4, Maaref fails to disclose the UE, wherein the first SSB and the second SSB are punctured to multiplex the set of multiple SSBs across as set of common resources.
However, Pezeshki discloses the UE, wherein the first SSB and the second SSB are punctured to multiplex the set of multiple SSBs across as set of common resources ([0047] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 310, BS 110 may configure SSB communications. For example, BS 110 may configure spatial division multiplexing (which may be termed spatial multiplexing) for a set of SSB communications (e.g., two or more SSB communications). In this case, to perform beam sweeping across a set of beams {1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6}, BS 110 may configure multiple subsets of spatially multiplexed SSB communications. For example, BS 110 may configure beam sweeping a first set of SSB communications using a first set of beams {1, 4}, a second set of SSB communications using a second set of beams {2, 5}, and a third set of SSB communications using a third set of beams {3, 6}.).
Maaref and Pezeshki are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multiplexing synchronization signal block transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maaref with Pezeshki to create the UE, wherein the first SSB and the second SSB are punctured to multiplex the set of multiple SSBs across as set of common resources.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to decrease the measurement overhead for the UE.
Regarding claim 19, Maaref fails to disclose the network node, wherein the first SSB and the second SSB are punctured to multiplex the set of multiple SSBs across as set of common resources.
However, Pezeshki discloses the network node, wherein the first SSB and the second SSB are punctured to multiplex the set of multiple SSBs across as set of common resources ([0047] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 310, BS 110 may configure SSB communications. For example, BS 110 may configure spatial division multiplexing (which may be termed spatial multiplexing) for a set of SSB communications (e.g., two or more SSB communications). In this case, to perform beam sweeping across a set of beams {1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6}, BS 110 may configure multiple subsets of spatially multiplexed SSB communications. For example, BS 110 may configure beam sweeping a first set of SSB communications using a first set of beams {1, 4}, a second set of SSB communications using a second set of beams {2, 5}, and a third set of SSB communications using a third set of beams {3, 6}.).
Maaref and Pezeshki are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multiplexing synchronization signal block transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maaref with Pezeshki to create the network node, wherein the first SSB and the second SSB are punctured to multiplex the set of multiple SSBs across as set of common resources.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to decrease the measurement overhead for the UE.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maaref in view of Kim et al (US20230051098A1) (hereinafter "Kim").
Regarding claim 5, Maaref fails to disclose the UE, wherein a system information block (SIB) of the set of multiple SSBs includes information identifying at least one serving cell configuration.
However, Kim discloses the UE, wherein a system information block (SIB) of the set of multiple SSBs includes information identifying at least one serving cell configuration ([0090] In the NR communication system, the base station may transmit only some SSBs among all SSBs. In this case, the terminal may receive an SIB1 including serving cell configuration common SIB information from the base station.).
Maaref and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of beam management.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maaref with Kim to create the UE, wherein a system information block (SIB) of the set of multiple SSBs includes information identifying at least one serving cell configuration.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to limit power consumption.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maaref in view of Ang et al (US20200053811A1) (hereinafter "Ang").
Regarding claim 7, Maaref fails to disclose the UE, wherein the set of multiple SSBs includes information identifying at least one initial downlink bandwidth part configured for a group of UEs.
However, Ang discloses the UE, wherein the set of multiple SSBs includes information identifying at least one initial downlink bandwidth part configured for a group of UEs ([0124] The base station 105-b may periodically broadcast SSB/PBCH transmissions 510 using resources within the SSB search space. ... At 515, the UE 115-b may acquire the SSB/PBCH and identify an initial downlink BWP (also referred to as RMSI CORESET bandwidth, or BWP0 in various examples herein) to be monitored from RMSI.).
Maaref and Ang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for configuration of channel bandwidth.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maaref with Ang to create the UE, wherein the set of multiple SSBs includes information identifying at least one initial downlink bandwidth part configured for a group of UEs.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to enhance the efficiency of a wireless communications system.
Regarding claim 8, Maaref fails to disclose the UE, wherein a cell ordering, for random access response or connected mode operation, is based on a value of a channel number indicator or a value of a frequency of a smallest resource block index in an uplink bandwidth part.
However, Ang discloses the UE, wherein a cell ordering, for random access response or connected mode operation, is based on a value of a channel number indicator or a value of a frequency of a smallest resource block index in an uplink bandwidth part ([0109] In some cases, the base station 105-a may transmit to and/or receive from one or more UEs 115 via one or more bandwidth parts (BWPs). Each BWP may include a number of resource blocks that is less than or equal to the number of resource blocks of the radio frequency (RF) carrier, and may be located in any part of the carrier resource blocks.).
Maaref and Ang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for configuration of channel bandwidth.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maaref with Ang to create the UE, wherein a cell ordering, for random access response or connected mode operation, is based on a value of a channel number indicator or a value of a frequency of a smallest resource block index in an uplink bandwidth part.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to enhance the efficiency of a wireless communications system.
Claims 9, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maaref in view of Wang et al (EP4240084A1) (hereinafter "Wang").
Regarding claim 9, Maaref fails to disclose the UE, wherein an offset value, for random access response or connected mode operation, is based on at least one of: a radio resource control configuration, a received information element, or a default value.
However, Wang discloses the UE, wherein an offset value, for random access response or connected mode operation, is based on at least one of:
a radio resource control configuration ([0116] The network device 100 sends SUL configuration information to the user equipment, where the SUL configuration information may include: frequency domain information of an uplink resource, common configuration information of the uplink resource, and the like. The frequency domain information of the uplink resource may include: uplink carrier frequency channel number information, uplink subcarrier offset information, and the like. The common configuration information of the uplink resource may include: random access channel (random access channel, RACH) configuration information, physical uplink shared channel (physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH) configuration information, physical uplink control channel (physical uplink control channel, PUCCH) configuration information, sounding reference signal (sounding reference signal, SRS) configuration information, power control configuration information, and the like. The RACH configuration information may include: a time-domain (a subframe, a slot, a symbol, a periodicity, and/or the like) resource, a frequency-domain (resource block information, whether frequency hopping is performed, and/or the like) resource, and a code division multiplexing (an orthogonal cover code, a cyclic shift, and/or the like) resource that are of a physical random access channel (physical random access channel, PRACH).),
a received information element, or (The examiner does not select this because of the "at least one of" statement.)
a default value (The examiner does not select this because of the "at least one of" statement.).
Maaref and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of random access techniques and uplink carrier selection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maaref with Wang to create the UE, wherein an offset value, for random access response or connected mode operation, is based on at least one of: a radio resource control configuration, a received information element, or a default value.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to select an appropriate uplink carrier.
Regarding claim 12, Maaref, as modified by Liu, discloses the UE, wherein a cell selection, from the cell group, is based on a received cell selection parameter or a set of measurements ([0320] Optionally, if the downlink measurement value of the current cell (for example, the NR cell 1) is less than a selection threshold corresponding to the current cell, and the downlink measurement value of the neighboring cell (for example, the NR cell is greater than a selection threshold corresponding to the neighboring cell, it is determined that the carrier resource used for random access includes the one SUL resource (for example, the SUL2 resource) corresponding to the neighboring cell (for example, the NR cell 2).).
Maaref, as modified by Liu, fails to disclose the UE, wherein uplink carrier information, for cell selection or random access, is based on a frequency information type of information element.
However, Wang discloses the UE, wherein uplink carrier information, for cell selection or random access, is based on a frequency information type of information element ([0179]: During initial access, the UE may blindly detect that the SSBs implement downlink time-frequency synchronization, and may obtain the SSB indexes of the SSBs. The UE selects an SUL from the plurality of SULs based on the SSB indexes to initiate random access.).
Maaref, as modified by Liu, and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of random access techniques and uplink carrier selection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maaref, as modified by Liu, with Wang to create the UE, wherein uplink carrier information, for cell selection or random access, is based on a frequency information type of information element.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to select an appropriate uplink carrier.
Regarding claim 13, Maaref fails to disclose the UE, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: communicate with a network node to complete a random access procedure for a physical random access channel in a particular cell selected from the cell group based on the set of multiple SSBs.
However, Wang discloses the UE, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
communicate with a network node to complete a random access procedure for a physical random access channel in a particular cell selected from the cell group based on the set of multiple SSBs ([0187] After receiving the SUL configuration information, the UE obtains a total quantity of configured SUL cells, and may select an SUL based on a remainder between a value of the SSB index and the total quantity of SUL cells, to initiate random access.).
Maaref and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of random access techniques and uplink carrier selection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maaref with Wang to create the UE, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: communicate with a network node to complete a random access procedure for a physical random access channel in a particular cell selected from the cell group based on the set of multiple SSBs.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to select an appropriate uplink carrier.
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maaref in view of Xie et al (EP3742857A1) (hereinafter "Xie").
Regarding claim 10, Maaref fails to disclose the UE, wherein a mapping of uplink carriers to cells of the cell group is based on received information identifying a set of configured UE parameters or measurements.
However, Xie discloses the UE, wherein a mapping of uplink carriers to cells of the cell group is based on received information identifying a set of configured UE parameters or measurements ([0068] In addition, the first indication information may indicate the at least one SSB group in an explicit indication manner or an implicit indication manner. Specifically, the first indication information may directly indicate a number of an SSB included in each SSB group, or indicate, in a bitmap (bitmap) form, an SSB included in each SSB group.).
Maaref and Xie are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of allowing carriers of different types to share the same carrier bandwidth.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maaref with Xie to create the UE, wherein a mapping of uplink carriers to cells of the cell group is based on received information identifying a set of configured UE parameters or measurements.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to enable efficient utilization of spectrum resources and dynamic allocation of large bandwidth from different carriers.
Regarding claim 15, Maaref fails to disclose the UE, wherein a control resource set for random access by the UE is a shared control resource set.
However, Xie discloses the UE, wherein a control resource set for random access by the UE is a shared control resource set ([0003] In this way, both the LTE system and the NR system exist in the uplink frequency band in LTE system, that is, the NR system and the LTE system share one uplink frequency band.).
Maaref and Xie are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of allowing carriers of different types to share the same carrier bandwidth.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Maaref with Xie to create the UE, wherein a control resource set for random access by the UE is a shared control resource set.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to enable efficient utilization of spectrum resources and dynamic allocation of large bandwidth from different carriers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 16, and 20, and associated dependent claims have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419