This office action is in response to application filed on 02/23/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/30/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-10, 13, 15-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al (EP3742857A1) (hereinafter "Xie") in view of Wang et al (EP4240084A1) (hereinafter "Wang").
Regarding claim 1, Xie discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories; and ([0137] Referring to FIG. 6, the terminal device 600 includes a transceiver 601, a processor 602, and a memory 603.)
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE to ([0137] Referring to FIG. 6, the terminal device 600 includes a transceiver 601, a processor 602, and a memory 603.):
receive, for a cell group with a shared downlink carrier, at least one downlink communication conveying a set of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) for a set of cells of the cell group; and ([0075] Step 310: The network device sends the first indication information to the terminal device. [0077] Optionally, the first indication information carries information about the at least one SSB group, and the random access mode corresponding to each SSB group is predetermined in a protocol, or is notified by the network device to the terminal device by using other indication information. [0078] Optionally, the first indication information carries the information about the at least one SSB group and information about the random access mode corresponding to each SSB group. [0081] In a cell, the network device broadcasts a plurality of SSBs. These SSBs may correspond to different beams, or may correspond to a same beam. For one terminal device in the cell, the terminal device searches for an SSB during downlink synchronization, and the terminal device may search for the plurality of SSBs.).
Xie fails to disclose a user equipment, comprising: transmit, for a cell of the cell group, an initial access message based on an SSB of the set of SSBs.
However, Wang discloses a user equipment, comprising: transmit, for a cell of the cell group, an initial access message based on an SSB of the set of SSBs ([0343] Step S703: If the reference signal strength is less than the first SUL threshold, the UE initiates random access over a first SUL corresponding to the first SUL identifier.).
Xie and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of random access techniques and uplink carrier selection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Xie with Wang to create a user equipment, comprising: transmit, for a cell of the cell group, an initial access message based on an SSB of the set of SSBs.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to select an appropriate uplink carrier.
Regarding claim 9, Xie fails to disclose the UE, wherein an offset value, for random access response or connected mode operation, is based on at least one of: a radio resource control configuration, a received information element, or a default value.
However, Wang discloses the UE, wherein an offset value, for random access response or connected mode operation, is based on at least one of:
a radio resource control configuration ([0116] The network device 100 sends SUL configuration information to the user equipment, where the SUL configuration information may include: frequency domain information of an uplink resource, common configuration information of the uplink resource, and the like. The frequency domain information of the uplink resource may include: uplink carrier frequency channel number information, uplink subcarrier offset information, and the like. The common configuration information of the uplink resource may include: random access channel (random access channel, RACH) configuration information, physical uplink shared channel (physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH) configuration information, physical uplink control channel (physical uplink control channel, PUCCH) configuration information, sounding reference signal (sounding reference signal, SRS) configuration information, power control configuration information, and the like. The RACH configuration information may include: a time-domain (a subframe, a slot, a symbol, a periodicity, and/or the like) resource, a frequency-domain (resource block information, whether frequency hopping is performed, and/or the like) resource, and a code division multiplexing (an orthogonal cover code, a cyclic shift, and/or the like) resource that are of a physical random access channel (physical random access channel, PRACH).),
a received information element, or (The examiner does not select this because of the "at least one of" statement.)
a default value (The examiner does not select this because of the "at least one of" statement.).
Xie and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of random access techniques and uplink carrier selection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Xie with Wang to create the UE, wherein an offset value, for random access response or connected mode operation, is based on at least one of: a radio resource control configuration, a received information element, or a default value.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to select an appropriate uplink carrier.
Regarding claim 10, Xie discloses the UE, wherein a mapping of uplink carriers to cells of the cell group is based on received information identifying a set of configured UE parameters or measurements ([0068] In addition, the first indication information may indicate the at least one SSB group in an explicit indication manner or an implicit indication manner. Specifically, the first indication information may directly indicate a number of an SSB included in each SSB group, or indicate, in a bitmap (bitmap) form, an SSB included in each SSB group.).
Regarding claim 13, Xie fails to disclose the UE, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: communicate with a network node to complete a random access procedure for a physical random access channel in a particular cell selected from the cell group based on the set of SSBs.
However, Wang discloses the UE, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
communicate with a network node to complete a random access procedure for a physical random access channel in a particular cell selected from the cell group based on the set of SSBs ([0187] After receiving the SUL configuration information, the UE obtains a total quantity of configured SUL cells, and may select an SUL based on a remainder between a value of the SSB index and the total quantity of SUL cells, to initiate random access.).
Xie and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of random access techniques and uplink carrier selection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Xie with Wang to create the UE, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: communicate with a network node to complete a random access procedure for a physical random access channel in a particular cell selected from the cell group based on the set of SSBs.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to select an appropriate uplink carrier.
Regarding claim 15, Xie discloses the UE, wherein a control resource set for random access by the UE is a shared control resource set ([0003] In this way, both the LTE system and the NR system exist in the uplink frequency band in LTE system, that is, the NR system and the LTE system share one uplink frequency band.).
Regarding claim 16, Xie discloses a network node for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories; and ([0137] Referring to FIG. 6, the terminal device 600 includes a transceiver 601, a processor 602, and a memory 603.)
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the network node to ([0137] Referring to FIG. 6, the terminal device 600 includes a transceiver 601, a processor 602, and a memory 603.):
transmit, for a cell group with a shared downlink carrier, at least one downlink communication conveying a set of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) for a set of cells of the cell group; and ([0075] Step 310: The network device sends the first indication information to the terminal device. [0077] Optionally, the first indication information carries information about the at least one SSB group, and the random access mode corresponding to each SSB group is predetermined in a protocol, or is notified by the network device to the terminal device by using other indication information. [0078] Optionally, the first indication information carries the information about the at least one SSB group and information about the random access mode corresponding to each SSB group. [0081] In a cell, the network device broadcasts a plurality of SSBs. These SSBs may correspond to different beams, or may correspond to a same beam. For one terminal device in the cell, the terminal device searches for an SSB during downlink synchronization, and the terminal device may search for the plurality of SSBs.).
Xie fails to disclose a network node, comprising: receive, for a cell of the cell group, an initial access message based on an SSB of the set of SSBs.
However, Wang discloses a network node, comprising: receive, for a cell of the cell group, an initial access message based on an SSB of the set of SSBs ([0343] Step S703: If the reference signal strength is less than the first SUL threshold, the UE initiates random access over a first SUL corresponding to the first SUL identifier.).
Xie and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of random access techniques and uplink carrier selection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Xie with Wang to create a network node, comprising: receive, for a cell of the cell group, an initial access message based on an SSB of the set of SSBs.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to select an appropriate uplink carrier.
Regarding claim 20, Xie discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, for a cell group with a shared downlink carrier, at least one downlink communication conveying a set of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) for a set of cells of the cell group; and ([0075] Step 310: The network device sends the first indication information to the terminal device. [0077] Optionally, the first indication information carries information about the at least one SSB group, and the random access mode corresponding to each SSB group is predetermined in a protocol, or is notified by the network device to the terminal device by using other indication information. [0078] Optionally, the first indication information carries the information about the at least one SSB group and information about the random access mode corresponding to each SSB group. [0081] In a cell, the network device broadcasts a plurality of SSBs. These SSBs may correspond to different beams, or may correspond to a same beam. For one terminal device in the cell, the terminal device searches for an SSB during downlink synchronization, and the terminal device may search for the plurality of SSBs.).
Xie fails to disclose a method, comprising: transmitting, for a cell of the cell group, an initial access message based on an SSB of the set of SSBs.
However, Wang discloses a method, comprising: transmitting, for a cell of the cell group, an initial access message based on an SSB of the set of SSBs ([0343] Step S703: If the reference signal strength is less than the first SUL threshold, the UE initiates random access over a first SUL corresponding to the first SUL identifier.).
Xie and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of random access techniques and uplink carrier selection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Xie with Wang to create a method, comprising: transmitting, for a cell of the cell group, an initial access message based on an SSB of the set of SSBs.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to select an appropriate uplink carrier.
Claims 2-3, 6, 11-12, 14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie in view of Wang, and further in view of Liu et al (US20200351950A1) (hereinafter "Liu").
Regarding claim 2, Xie, as modified by Wang, fails to disclose the UE, wherein the set of SSBs is received from a single cell, of the cell group, and includes a master information block (MIB) and a scheduling single system information block (SIB) with a per-cell configuration for the set of cells.
However, Liu discloses the UE, wherein the set of SSBs is received from a single cell, of the cell group, and includes a master information block (MIB) and a scheduling single system information block (SIB) with a per-cell configuration for the set of cells ([0158] An SSB in the embodiments of this application may include but is not limited to one or more of the following: a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH). The PSS and the SSS may be used to determine a physical cell identifier (PCID) of an NR carrier, and may also be used by the terminal device to obtain downlink time-frequency synchronization, The PBCH may be used to transmit a master information block (MIB) of an NR carrier, and may also be used by the terminal device to obtain a downlink system frame number and an SSB index. The MIB may be used to configure a time-frequency resource location of a control channel that schedules a system information block (SIB), so that the terminal device can obtain another system message based on the MIB, for example, remaining minimum system information (RMSI). [0191] Optionally, the SUL configuration information in the embodiments of this application may be carried in a SIB or RMSI, or certainly, may be carried in another message.).
Xie, as modified by Wang, and Liu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of utilizing a supplementary uplink resource to perform random access.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Xie, as modified by Wang, with Liu to create the UE, wherein the set of SSBs is received from a single cell, of the cell group, and includes a master information block (MIB) and a scheduling single system information block (SIB) with a per-cell configuration for the set of cells.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve random access efficiency of a communications system.
Regarding claim 3, Xie, as modified by Wang, fails to disclose the UE, wherein the set of SSBs is received from a plurality of cells, of the cell group, wherein a first SSB, of the set of SSBs, is multiplexed with a second SSB, of the set of SSBs, and wherein each SSB includes a respective master information block (MIB) and a respective scheduling system information block (SIB) for a respective cell of the cell group.
However, Liu discloses the UE, wherein the set of SSBs is received from a plurality of cells, of the cell group, wherein a first SSB, of the set of SSBs, is multiplexed with a second SSB, of the set of SSBs, and wherein each SSB includes a respective master information block (MIB) and a respective scheduling system information block (SIB) for a respective cell of the cell group ([0186] Step S201: Receive SUL configuration information, where the SUL configuration information includes at least one first supplementary uplink SUL resource and at least one SUL selection threshold that are corresponding to a first SSB. [0190] Optionally, the SUL configuration information may further include an SUL resource and an SUL selection threshold that are corresponding to another SSB, or if the SUL configuration information includes only the SUL resource and the SUL selection threshold that are corresponding to the first SSB, the terminal device may further receive SUL configuration information corresponding to another SSB that is sent by the first network device or another network device.).
Xie, as modified by Wang, and Liu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of utilizing a supplementary uplink resource to perform random access.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Xie, as modified by Wang, with Liu to create the UE, wherein the set of SSBs is received from a plurality of cells, of the cell group, wherein a first SSB, of the set of SSBs, is multiplexed with a second SSB, of the set of SSBs, and wherein each SSB includes a respective master information block (MIB) and a respective scheduling system information block (SIB) for a respective cell of the cell group.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve random access efficiency of a communications system.
Regarding claim 6, Xie, as modified by Wang, fails to disclose the UE, wherein the set of SSBs includes information identifying a single downlink frequency configuration.
However, Liu discloses the UE, wherein the set of SSBs includes information identifying a single downlink frequency configuration ([0204] Optionally, the identifier may be index information, or may be other indication information that may be used to uniquely indicate an SSB and/or the first SUL resource (for example, frequency channel number information of the first SUL resource and/or the configuration information of the downlink reference signal corresponding to the first SUL resource, where the downlink reference signal configuration information may include but is not limited to at least one of the following: frequency channel number information of a carrier (or a resource) on which the downlink reference signal is located, bandwidth information, a PCID of the carrier on which the downlink reference signal is located, transmit power information of the downlink reference signal, and information about a path loss adjustment value caused by a frequency-domain deviation between the downlink reference signal and an SUL resource; and the downlink reference signal may also be understood as an LTE downlink carrier on a frequency band on which the first SUL resource is located, that is, frequency channel number information of an LTE carrier, bandwidth information, a PCID, and information about a path loss adjustment value caused by a frequency-domain deviation between the LTE carrier and an SUL resource).).
Xie, as modified by Wang, and Liu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of utilizing a supplementary uplink resource to perform random access.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Xie, as modified by Wang, with Liu to create the UE, wherein the set of SSBs includes information identifying a single downlink frequency configuration.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve random access efficiency of a communications system.
Regarding claim 11, Xie, as modified by Wang, fails to disclose the UE, wherein an uplink configuration of the UE is based at least in part on a single aggregated set of configuration parameters or a plurality of individual sets of configuration parameters.
However, Liu discloses the UE, wherein an uplink configuration of the UE is based at least in part on a single aggregated set of configuration parameters or a plurality of individual sets of configuration parameters ([0326] When carrier aggregation is performed in a plurality of serving cells, usually a primary serving cell or a primary component carrier is configured for the terminal device, and a PUCCH resource is configured on an uplink carrier of the primary component carrier, for users to jointly feed back ACKs/NACKs of downlink data of one serving cell or a plurality of aggregated serving cells.).
Xie, as modified by Wang, and Liu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of utilizing a supplementary uplink resource to perform random access.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Xie, as modified by Wang, with Liu to create the UE, wherein an uplink configuration of the UE is based at least in part on a single aggregated set of configuration parameters or a plurality of individual sets of configuration parameters.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve random access efficiency of a communications system.
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses the UE, wherein uplink carrier information, for cell selection or random access, is based on a frequency information type of information element, and ([0179]: During initial access, the UE may blindly detect that the SSBs implement downlink time-frequency synchronization, and may obtain the SSB indexes of the SSBs. The UE selects an SUL from the plurality of SULs based on the SSB indexes to initiate random access.).
Xie, as modified by Wang, fails to disclose the UE, wherein a cell selection, from the cell group, is based on a received cell selection parameter or a set of measurements.
However, Liu discloses the UE, wherein a cell selection, from the cell group, is based on a received cell selection parameter or a set of measurements ([0320] Optionally, if the downlink measurement value of the current cell (for example, the NR cell 1) is less than a selection threshold corresponding to the current cell, and the downlink measurement value of the neighboring cell (for example, the NR cell is greater than a selection threshold corresponding to the neighboring cell, it is determined that the carrier resource used for random access includes the one SUL resource (for example, the SUL2 resource) corresponding to the neighboring cell (for example, the NR cell 2).).
Xie, as modified by Wang, and Liu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of utilizing a supplementary uplink resource to perform random access.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Xie, as modified by Wang, with Liu to create the UE, wherein a cell selection, from the cell group, is based on a received cell selection parameter or a set of measurements.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve random access efficiency of a communications system.
Regarding claim 14, Xie, as modified by Wang, fails to disclose the UE, wherein a control resource set including a physical downlink control channel is shared by the set of cells of the cell group.
However, Liu discloses the UE, wherein a control resource set including a physical downlink control channel is shared by the set of cells of the cell group ([0180] Optionally, one NR uplink resource, one NR downlink resource, and one NR SUL resource may be one NR carrier resource (serving cell). Further, one NR uplink resource, one NR downlink resource, and a plurality of NR SUL resources may also be one NR carrier resource (serving cell).).
Xie, as modified by Wang, and Liu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of utilizing a supplementary uplink resource to perform random access.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Xie, as modified by Wang, with Liu to create the UE, wherein a control resource set including a physical downlink control channel is shared by the set of cells of the cell group.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve random access efficiency of a communications system.
Regarding claim 17, Xie, as modified by Wang, fails to disclose the network node, wherein the set of SSBs is transmitted from a single cell, of the cell group, and includes a master information block (MIB) and a scheduling single system information block (SIB) with a per-cell configuration for the set of cells.
However, Liu discloses the network node, wherein the set of SSBs is transmitted from a single cell, of the cell group, and includes a master information block (MIB) and a scheduling single system information block (SIB) with a per-cell configuration for the set of cells ([0158] An SSB in the embodiments of this application may include but is not limited to one or more of the following: a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH). The PSS and the SSS may be used to determine a physical cell identifier (PCID) of an NR carrier, and may also be used by the terminal device to obtain downlink time-frequency synchronization, The PBCH may be used to transmit a master information block (MIB) of an NR carrier, and may also be used by the terminal device to obtain a downlink system frame number and an SSB index. The MIB may be used to configure a time-frequency resource location of a control channel that schedules a system information block (SIB), so that the terminal device can obtain another system message based on the MIB, for example, remaining minimum system information (RMSI). [0191] Optionally, the SUL configuration information in the embodiments of this application may be carried in a SIB or RMSI, or certainly, may be carried in another message.).
Xie, as modified by Wang, and Liu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of utilizing a supplementary uplink resource to perform random access.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Xie, as modified by Wang, with Liu to create the network node, wherein the set of SSBs is transmitted from a single cell, of the cell group, and includes a master information block (MIB) and a scheduling single system information block (SIB) with a per-cell configuration for the set of cells.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve random access efficiency of a communications system.
Regarding claim 18, Xie, as modified by Wang, fails to disclose the network node, wherein the set of SSBs is transmitted from a plurality of cells, of the cell group, wherein a first SSB, of the set of SSBs, is multiplexed with a second SSB, of the set of SSBs, and wherein each SSB includes a respective master information block (MIB) and a respective scheduling system information block (SIB) for a respective cell of the cell group.
However, Liu discloses the network node, wherein the set of SSBs is transmitted from a plurality of cells, of the cell group, wherein a first SSB, of the set of SSBs, is multiplexed with a second SSB, of the set of SSBs, and wherein each SSB includes a respective master information block (MIB) and a respective scheduling system information block (SIB) for a respective cell of the cell group ([0186] Step S201: Receive SUL configuration information, where the SUL configuration information includes at least one first supplementary uplink SUL resource and at least one SUL selection threshold that are corresponding to a first SSB. [0190] Optionally, the SUL configuration information may further include an SUL resource and an SUL selection threshold that are corresponding to another SSB, or if the SUL configuration information includes only the SUL resource and the SUL selection threshold that are corresponding to the first SSB, the terminal device may further receive SUL configuration information corresponding to another SSB that is sent by the first network device or another network device.).
Xie, as modified by Wang, and Liu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of utilizing a supplementary uplink resource to perform random access.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Xie, as modified by Wang, with Liu to create the network node, wherein the set of SSBs is transmitted from a plurality of cells, of the cell group, wherein a first SSB, of the set of SSBs, is multiplexed with a second SSB, of the set of SSBs, and wherein each SSB includes a respective master information block (MIB) and a respective scheduling system information block (SIB) for a respective cell of the cell group.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve random access efficiency of a communications system.
Claims 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie in view of Wang, and further in view of Pezeshki et al (US20210235402A1) (hereinafter "Pezeshki").
Regarding claim 4, Xie, as modified by Wang, fails to disclose the UE, wherein the first SSB and the second SSB are punctured to multiplex the set of SSBs across as set of common resources.
However, Pezeshki discloses the UE, wherein the first SSB and the second SSB are punctured to multiplex the set of SSBs across as set of common resources ([0047] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 310, BS 110 may configure SSB communications. For example, BS 110 may configure spatial division multiplexing (which may be termed spatial multiplexing) for a set of SSB communications (e.g., two or more SSB communications). In this case, to perform beam sweeping across a set of beams {1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6}, BS 110 may configure multiple subsets of spatially multiplexed SSB communications. For example, BS 110 may configure beam sweeping a first set of SSB communications using a first set of beams {1, 4}, a second set of SSB communications using a second set of beams {2, 5}, and a third set of SSB communications using a third set of beams {3, 6}.).
Xie, as modified by Wang, and Pezeshki are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multiplexing synchronization signal block transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Xie, as modified by Wang, with Pezeshki to create the UE, wherein the first SSB and the second SSB are punctured to multiplex the set of SSBs across as set of common resources.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to decrease the measurement overhead for the UE.
Regarding claim 19, Xie, as modified by Wang, fails to disclose the network node, wherein the first SSB and the second SSB are punctured to multiplex the set of SSBs across as set of common resources.
However, Pezeshki discloses the network node, wherein the first SSB and the second SSB are punctured to multiplex the set of SSBs across as set of common resources ([0047] As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 310, BS 110 may configure SSB communications. For example, BS 110 may configure spatial division multiplexing (which may be termed spatial multiplexing) for a set of SSB communications (e.g., two or more SSB communications). In this case, to perform beam sweeping across a set of beams {1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6}, BS 110 may configure multiple subsets of spatially multiplexed SSB communications. For example, BS 110 may configure beam sweeping a first set of SSB communications using a first set of beams {1, 4}, a second set of SSB communications using a second set of beams {2, 5}, and a third set of SSB communications using a third set of beams {3, 6}.).
Xie, as modified by Wang, and Pezeshki are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for multiplexing synchronization signal block transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Xie, as modified by Wang, with Pezeshki to create the network node, wherein the first SSB and the second SSB are punctured to multiplex the set of SSBs across as set of common resources.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to decrease the measurement overhead for the UE.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie in view of Wang, and further in view of Kim et al (US20230051098A1) (hereinafter "Kim").
Regarding claim 5, Xie, as modified by Wang, fails to disclose the UE, wherein a system information block (SIB) of the set of SSBs includes information identifying at least one serving cell configuration.
However, Kim discloses the UE, wherein a system information block (SIB) of the set of SSBs includes information identifying at least one serving cell configuration ([0090] In the NR communication system, the base station may transmit only some SSBs among all SSBs. In this case, the terminal may receive an SIB1 including serving cell configuration common SIB information from the base station.).
Xie, as modified by Wang, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of beam management.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Xie, as modified by Wang, with Kim to create the UE, wherein a system information block (SIB) of the set of SSBs includes information identifying at least one serving cell configuration.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to limit power consumption.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie in view of Wang, and further in view of Ang et al (US20200053811A1) (hereinafter "Ang").
Regarding claim 7, Xie, as modified by Wang, fails to disclose the UE, wherein the set of SSBs includes information identifying at least one initial downlink bandwidth part configured for a group of UEs.
However, Ang discloses the UE, wherein the set of SSBs includes information identifying at least one initial downlink bandwidth part configured for a group of UEs ([0124] The base station 105-b may periodically broadcast SSB/PBCH transmissions 510 using resources within the SSB search space. ... At 515, the UE 115-b may acquire the SSB/PBCH and identify an initial downlink BWP (also referred to as RMSI CORESET bandwidth, or BWP0 in various examples herein) to be monitored from RMSI.).
Xie, as modified by Wang, and Ang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for configuration of channel bandwidth.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Xie, as modified by Wang, with Ang to create the UE, wherein the set of SSBs includes information identifying at least one initial downlink bandwidth part configured for a group of UEs.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to enhance the efficiency of a wireless communications system.
Regarding claim 8, Xie, as modified by Wang, fails to disclose the UE, wherein a cell ordering, for random access response or connected mode operation, is based on a value of a channel number indicator or a value of a frequency of a smallest resource block index in an uplink bandwidth part.
However, Ang discloses the UE, wherein a cell ordering, for random access response or connected mode operation, is based on a value of a channel number indicator or a value of a frequency of a smallest resource block index in an uplink bandwidth part ([0109] In some cases, the base station 105-a may transmit to and/or receive from one or more UEs 115 via one or more bandwidth parts (BWPs). Each BWP may include a number of resource blocks that is less than or equal to the number of resource blocks of the radio frequency (RF) carrier, and may be located in any part of the carrier resource blocks.).
Xie, as modified by Wang, and Ang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for configuration of channel bandwidth.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Xie, as modified by Wang, with Ang to create the UE, wherein a cell ordering, for random access response or connected mode operation, is based on a value of a channel number indicator or a value of a frequency of a smallest resource block index in an uplink bandwidth part.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to enhance the efficiency of a wireless communications system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al (US20230021160A1) discloses methods for transmitting and receiving multiple synchronization signal blocks in a wide band.
Zhang et al (US20210195513A1) discloses a method supporting inter-cell mobility, involves receiving a measurement report from an user equipment and determining reference information.
Orsino et al (CN111713070A) discloses a wireless device configured to selectively operate in one BWP of two or more previously configured bandwidth part, wherein each BWP is a different subset of available bandwidth for uplink and/or downlink operations.
/D LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419