DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-9 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims 1 and 15 recitations of “and a plurality of channels formed therein” are unclear, as it is unknown whether the recitations of “therein” are intended to refer to the previously recited “first panel”/“second panel”/”expandable structure”, “fold lines”, or “plurality of slots”. Exactly what structure/configuration is sought? Please review/revise/clarify.
Claim 6 is unclear, as it depends from claim 4, which has been cancelled. Exactly what structure/configuration is sought? Please review/revise/clarify.
The claim 7 second recitation of “distinct from the card-receiving slots” is unclear, as it is unknown whether Applicant intends to invoke the earlier recited “card-receiving slots” within the first accordion panel, or instead, the “card-receiving slots” within the second accordion panel. Exactly what structure/configuration is sought? Please review/revise/clarify.
The claim 7 recitation of “The first and second accordion panels…” is unclear, as Applicant’s use of a capitalized “The” suggests that a new claim has been started. Note that each claim should only contain one capitalized word, located at the beginning of the claim. Exactly what structure/configuration is sought? Please review/revise/clarify.
Claims 2-3, 5, 8-9, 14 and 16-19 are rejected as depending (directly or indirectly) from rejected independent claims 1,7 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 4,372,086 to Hanlon (“Hanlon”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 4,315,376 to Eichenauer (“Eichenauer”).
Regarding claim 1, Hanlon discloses a foldable (col. 1, lines 36-39) display (e.g. display construction 10, as shown in figs. 1 and 6) comprising: i) a first panel (e.g. display panel 16, as shown in figs. 1 and 6) having a plurality of fold lines (e.g. vertical fold lines 40, as shown in fig. 6), and a plurality of channels (e.g. vertical slots 45, as shown in fig. 6) formed therein (fig. 6); ii) a second panel (e.g. display panel 14, as shown in figs. 1 and 6) having a plurality of fold lines (e.g. vertical fold lines 32, as shown in fig. 1), and a plurality of channels (e.g. vertical slots 43, as shown in fig. 6) formed therein (fig. 6); iii) the first and second panels (16 and 14, respectively) connected to one another (compare figs. 1 and 6) by engaging (col. 3, lines 12-21) the plurality of channels (45) on the first panel (16) with the plurality of channels (43) on the second panel (14); and iv) wherein the foldable display (10) can move (note that the instant claim is drawn to a foldable display apparatus- not a method of operation thereof) between a first position (e.g. folded condition discussed at col. 1, lines 36-39), wherein the first and second panels (16 and 14, respectively) are folded flat onto one another (see the configuration shown in fig. 2; note that by way of stretching outward or compressing inward distal ends of the display panels 16 and 14, at least portions of said respective display panels 16 and 14 may be caused to fold flat onto/against one another), and a second position (e.g. condition shown in figs. 1-2), wherein the first and second panels (16 and 14, respectively) are unfolded (figs. 1-2) into an interlocked (figs. 1-2) accordion fold configuration (figs. 1-2).
Hanlon does not disclose: i) said first panel (16) having a plurality of slots formed therein; ii) said second panel (14) having a plurality of slots formed therein thereon; and iii) wherein the plurality of slots contained within the first and second panels (16 and 14, respectively) are configured to receive, retain and display a greeting card therein.
Eichenauer teaches the concept of providing: i) a panel (primary sheet 14, as shown in fig. 2) having slots (e.g. card receiving slots 26, as shown in fig. 2) formed therein (fig. 2); and ii) wherein the plurality of slots (26) contained within (fig. 2) the panel (14) is configured to receive, retain and display a greeting card (12, as shown in fig. 1 and discussed at col. 4, lines 4-12) therein (fig. 1).
Given that Hanlon and Eichenauer each concern display assemblies containing a series of interlocking panels, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Eichenauer card receiving slots 26 upon the Hanlon display panels 16 and 14 as desired, in order to provide the benefit of yielding a resultant Hanlon assembly that is capable of displaying greeting cards thereon as desired.
Regarding claim 2, Hanlon in view of Eichenauer discloses the foldable display of claim 1, further comprising a base panel (e.g. Hanlon display panel 12, as shown in figs. 1 and 6), the first and second panels (Hanlon 16 and 14, respectively) attached to (Hanlon figs. 1-3) the base panel (Hanlon 12).
Regarding claim 3, Hanlon in view of Eichenauer discloses the foldable display of claim 2, wherein when the foldable display (Hanlon 10) is in the first position (aforementioned folded condition discussed at Hanlon col. 1, lines 36-39), the first and second panels (Hanlon 16 and 14, respectively) are sandwiched between (compare Hanlon figs. 1 and 6 with figs. 2-3; note the manner in which display panel 12 is intertwined/sandwiched between panels 16 and 14) two sides (e.g. front and rear sides; see Hanlon figs. 1-3 and 6) of the base panel (Hanlon 12).
Regarding claim 5, Hanlon in view of Eichenauer discloses the foldable display of claim 2 further comprising two stabilizing discs (e.g. Hanlon shelves 44 and 46, as shown in fig. 1; note that in manufacturing contexts, a “disc” can refer to non-circular flat objects, such as a custom heart-shaped or star-shaped musical compact disc) which connect (Hanlon figs. 1-3 and 6) the first and second panels (Hanlon 16 and 14, respectively) to the base panel (Hanlon 12).
Regarding claim 6, Hanlon in view of Eichenauer discloses the foldable display of claim 4, wherein the foldable display (Hanlon 10) can display at least six greeting cards (Eichenauer 12, as shown in fig. 1) thereon (see the combination set forth in the rejection of claim 1, supra, in which Eichenauer card receiving slots 26 are disposed on the Hanlon display panels 16 and 14 as desired; also see Eichenauer fig. 2, exhibiting the inclusion of at least 6 card receiving slots 26 upon an assembly).
Regarding claim 7, Hanlon discloses a foldable (col. 1, lines 36-39) display (e.g. display construction 10, as shown in figs. 1 and 6) comprising: i) a foldable (figs. 1 and 6) planar (figs. 1 and 6) base panel (e.g. display panel 12, as shown in figs. 1 and 6); ii) a first accordion panel (e.g. display panel 16, as shown in figs. 1 and 6) having a plurality of fold lines (e.g. vertical fold lines 40, as shown in fig. 6), and a plurality of downward-facing (fig. 6) channels (e.g. vertical slots 45, as shown in fig. 6); and iii) a second accordion panel (e.g. display panel 14, as shown in figs. 1 and 6) having a plurality of fold lines (e.g. vertical fold lines 32, as shown in fig. 1), and a plurality of upward-facing (fig. 6) channels (e.g. vertical slots 43, as shown in fig. 6); iv) The first and second accordion panels (16 and 14, respectively) being intertwined (figs. 1-2 and 6) by inserting (compare figs. 1 and 6) the downward-facing channels (45) into (compare figs. 1 and 6) the upward-facing channels (43); v) wherein the foldable display (10) can articulate (note that the instant claim is drawn to a foldable display apparatus- not a method of operation thereof) between a first position (e.g. folded condition discussed at col. 1, lines 36-39), where the plurality of interconnected foldable panels (16 and 14, together) lie flat (see the configuration shown in fig. 2; note that by way of stretching outward or compressing inward distal ends of the display panels 16 and 14, at least portions of said respective display panels 16 and 14 may be caused to fold flat onto/against one another) and are nested between (compare figs. 1 and 6 with figs. 2-3; note the manner in which display panel 12 is intertwined/nested with panels 16 and 14) two sides (e.g. front and rear sides; see figs. 1-3 and 6) of the foldable planar base panel (12), and a second position (e.g. condition shown in figs. 1-3), wherein the plurality of interconnected foldable panels (16 and 14, together) expand (note that the instant claim is drawn to a foldable display apparatus- not a method of operation thereof) upward and outward from (figs. 1 and 6) the foldable planar base panel (12) and form two interconnected accordion folds (figs. 1-2; note the presence of at least two accordion folds within the assembly).
Hanlon does not disclose: i) said first accordion panel (16) having a plurality of card-receiving slots distinct from the downward-facing channels (45); ii) said second accordion panel (14) having a plurality of card-receiving slots distinct from the upward-facing channels (43); and iii) wherein one or more greeting cards can be retained within a portion of the one or more slots formed in the plurality of interconnected foldable panels (16 and 14, together).
Eichenauer teaches the concept of providing: i) a panel (primary sheet 14, as shown in fig. 2) having a plurality of card-receiving slots (e.g. card receiving slots 26, as shown in fig. 2) distinct from (fig. 2) downward-facing and upward-facing channels (e.g. slots 38 and 24, as shown in fig. 2); and ii) wherein one or more greeting cards (12, as shown in fig. 1 and discussed at col. 4, lines 4-12) can be retained within a portion (fig. 2) of the one or more slots (26) formed in (fig. 2) the panels (14).
For the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1, supra, it would have been obvious to apply Eichenauer card receiving slots 26 upon the Hanlon display panels 16 and 14 as desired.
Regarding claim 8, Hanlon in view of Eichenauer discloses the foldable display of claim 7 further comprising at least one stabilizing disc (e.g. Hanlon shelves 44 and 46, as shown in fig. 1; note that in manufacturing contexts, a “disc” can refer to non-circular flat objects, such as a custom heart-shaped or star-shaped musical compact disc) which attaches (Hanlon figs. 1-3 and 6) the plurality of interconnected foldable panels (Hanlon 16 and 14, together) to the foldable planar base panel (Hanlon 12).
Regarding claim 9, Hanlon in view of Eichenauer discloses the foldable card holder of claim 7, wherein when the plurality of interconnected foldable panels (Hanlon 16 and 14, together) are in the second position (aforementioned condition shown in Hanlon figs. 1-3), they create a plurality of diamond- or rhombus-shaped structures (compare Hanlon figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 14, Hanlon in view of Eichenauer discloses the foldable display of claim 7, wherein one (e.g. Hanlon 16, alone, as shown in figs. 1-3 and 6) of the plurality of interconnected foldable panels (Hanlon 16 and 14, together) is attached to (e.g. at least indirectly attached, as shown in Hanlon figs. 1-3 and 6) a first end (e.g. distal left end, as shown in Hanlon figs. 1-3 and 6) of the foldable planar base panel (Hanlon 12) and another (e.g. Hanlon 14, alone, as shown in figs. 1-3 and 6) of the plurality of interconnected foldable panels (Hanlon 16 and 14, together) is attached to (Hanlon figs. 1-3 and 6) a second end (e.g. distal right end, as shown in Hanlon figs. 1-3 and 6) of the foldable planar base panel (Hanlon 12).
Regarding claim 15, Hanlon discloses a foldable (col. 1, lines 36-39) display (e.g. display construction 10, as shown in figs. 1 and 6) comprising: i) a base panel (e.g. display panel 12, as shown in figs. 1 and 6); ii) an expandable structure (e.g. display panel 16 and display panel 14, together, as shown in figs. 1 and 6) attached to (figs. 1 and 6) the base panel (12), the expandable structure (16 and 14, together) comprising a first accordion fold panel (e.g. display panel 16, as shown in figs. 1 and 6) and a second accordion fold panel (e.g. display panel 14, as shown in figs. 1 and 6), the expandable structure (16 and 14, together), and a plurality of channels (e.g. vertical slots 45 and 43, as shown in fig. 6) formed therein (fig. 6); iii) wherein the base panel (12) and the expandable structure (16 and 14, together) can articulate (note that the instant claim is drawn to a foldable display apparatus- not a method of operation thereof) between a first position (e.g. folded condition discussed at col. 1, lines 36-39), wherein the expandable structure (16 and 14, together) is folded in on itself (see the configuration shown in fig. 2; note that by way of stretching outward or compressing inward distal ends of the display panels 16 and 14, at least portions of said respective display panels 16 and 14 may be caused to fold flat onto/against one another) and sandwiched between (compare figs. 1 and 6 with figs. 2-3; note the manner in which display panel 12 is intertwined/sandwiched between panels 16 and 14) two portions (e.g. front and rear sides; see figs. 1-3 and 6) of the base panel (12), and a second position (e.g. condition shown in figs. 1-3), wherein the expandable structure (16 and 14, together) moves (note that the instant claim is drawn to a foldable display apparatus- not a method of operation thereof) upward and outward from (figs. 1 and 6) the base panel (12).
Hanlon does not disclose the expandable structure (16 and 14) having a plurality of slots formed therein.
Eichenauer teaches the concept of providing a panel (primary sheet 14, as shown in fig. 2) having a plurality of slots (e.g. card receiving slots 26, as shown in fig. 2) formed therein (fig. 2).
For the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1, supra, it would have been obvious to apply Eichenauer card receiving slots 26 upon the Hanlon display panels 16 and 14 as desired.
Regarding claim 16, Hanlon in view of Eichenauer discloses the foldable display of claim 15, wherein when the base panel (Hanlon 12) and expandable structure (Hanlon 16 and 14, together) are in the second position (aforementioned condition shown in Hanlon figs. 1-3), one or more greeting cards (Eichenauer 12) may be inserted into (Eichenauer fig. 1) a pair of the plurality of slots (Eichenauer 26) formed on (see the combination set forth in the rejection of claim 15, supra) the expandable structure (Hanlon 16 and 14, together) and be retained therein (Eichenauer fig. 1; also see the combination set forth in the rejection of claim 15, supra).
Regarding claim 17, Hanlon in view of Eichenauer discloses the foldable display of claim 15 further comprising at least one stabilizing disc (e.g. Hanlon shelves 44 and 46, as shown in fig. 1; note that in manufacturing contexts, a “disc” can refer to non-circular flat objects, such as a custom heart-shaped or star-shaped musical compact disc) which attaches (Hanlon figs. 1-3 and 6) the expandable structure (Hanlon 16 and 14, together) to the base panel (Hanlon 12).
Regarding claim 18, Hanlon in view of Eichenauer discloses the foldable display of claim 15, wherein the first accordion panel (Hanlon 16) is attached to (e.g. at least indirectly attached, as shown in Hanlon figs. 1-3 and 6) a first end (e.g. distal left end, as shown in Hanlon figs. 1-3 and 6) of the base panel (Hanlon 12), and the second accordion panel (Hanlon 14) is attached to (Hanlon figs. 1-3 and 6) a second end (e.g. distal right end, as shown in Hanlon figs. 1-3 and 6) of the base panel (Hanlon 12).
Regarding claim 19, Hanlon in view of Eichenauer discloses the foldable display of claim 15, wherein the expandable structure (Hanlon 16 and 14, together) forms a plurality of diamond- or rhombus-shaped structures (compare Hanlon figs. 1-3) when in the second position (aforementioned condition shown in Hanlon figs. 1-3).
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s claim amendments, a further search of the pertinent areas of prior art was executed. Within said search the aforementioned Eichenauer reference was identified. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on a new combination of references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN V LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637