DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/585,334 filed on 05/18/2026 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Gupta et al. (U.S 20230013720, Jan. 19, 2023) in view of Kim (U.S 20230120144, Apr. 20, 2023).
Regarding Claim 1, Gupta discloses determining that the use of the wireless network slice by the wireless communication devices would be unauthorized, and in response, serving the wireless communication devices using the wireless network slice(page 4, par(0044), line 1-10, detecting, by an AMF server, one of a User Equipment (UE) has a PDU session for an emergency service and the UE is establishing a PDU session for the emergency service, detecting, by the AMF server, a network slice allowed Network Slice Selection Identifier (NSSAI)(network slice for unauthorized devices), includes in response detecting one of the UE has the PDU session for the emergency service and the UE is establishing the PDU session for the emergency service performing, by the AMF server, and send a configuration update command to the UE);
and identifying a characteristic of the wireless network slice based on serving the wireless communication devices using the wireless network slice (page 11, par(0134-0135), line 1-10, the UE is establishing the PDU session for the emergency service and detecting the network slice, the emergency service based PDU session controller is configured to determine that the PDU session for the emergency service is completed, the emergency service based PDU session controller is configured to de-register with the UE in response to determining that the PDU session for the emergency service is completed, the emergency service based PDU session controller is configured to send a deregistration request message with the rejection cause value (identifying the characteristics) to the UE(selecting the wireless network slice based on the serving device UE for the emergency service to establish the PDU session)).
Gupta discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except receiving requests from wireless communication devices to use a wireless network slice.
Kim is the same field of invention teaches receiving requests from wireless communication devices to use a wireless network slice (page 17, par (0283), line 1-10, provide a service to the UE in association with other existing network nodes, a plurality of slice instances provides a service to the UE in association with each other (wherein serving the wireless communication devices)).
Gupta and Kim are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on receiving requests from wireless communication devices to use a wireless network slice the teaching of Gupta to include the provide a service to the UE in association with other existing network nodes, a plurality of slice instances provides a service to the UE in association with each other teaching of Kim because it is providing information from external applications to the network, translates information, provides control plane parameters, and manages packet flow description.
Regarding Claim 2, Gupta discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except wirelessly broadcasting slice information related to the wireless network slice; and where in the wireless communication devices request the wireless network slice responsive to the wireless broadcast.
Kim is the same field of invention teaches wirelessly broadcasting slice information related to the wireless network slice(page 1, par (0010), line 1-10, a UE to perform communication related to a network slice.); and where in the wireless communication devices request the wireless network slice responsive to the wireless broadcast(page 1, par (0010), line 1-10, transmitting a first registration request message including information on a first network slice to which the UE is to access to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) node; receiving a response message including candidate network slice information from the AMF node; and displaying, on the display of the UE).
Regarding Claim 3, Gupta discloses wirelessly broadcasting slice information related to a high-throughput service provided by the wireless network slice; and wherein the wireless communication devices request the wireless network slice responsive to the slice information(page 4, par(0044), line 1-10, detecting, by an AMF server, one of a User Equipment (UE) has a PDU session for an emergency service and the UE is establishing a PDU session for the emergency service, detecting, by the AMF server, a network slice allowed Network Slice Selection Identifier (NSSAI)(network slice for unauthorized devices),.
Regarding Claim 4, Gupta discloses wirelessly broadcasting slice information related to a low-latency service provided by the wireless network slice (page 2, par (0016), line 1-10, the first edge data network can transfer an application context to the second edge data network for allowing the UE to access of a service with a low latency).
Regarding Claim 5, Gupta discloses wirelessly broadcasting slice information related to a high-definition service provided by the wireless network slice (page 2, par (0016), line 1-10, the UE is allowed to access the services related to the S-NSSAI, the UE establish a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session related to the S-NSSAI and access the services through the PDU session).
Regarding Claim 6, Gupta discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except wirelessly broadcasting slice information related to a gaming service provided by the wireless network slice; and wherein the wireless communication devices request the wireless network slice responsive to the slice information.
Kim is the same field of invention teaches wirelessly broadcasting slice information related to a gaming service provided by the wireless network slice; and wherein the wireless communication devices request the wireless network slice responsive to the slice information (page 27, par (0414), line 1-10, the permission candidate network slice information indicate that access to a service related to a network slice included in the permission candidate network slice information, if information indicating that access to a specific slice is not permitted right now is included in the response message or update message, the terminal displays an object informing of information).
Regarding Claim 7, Gupta discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except wirelessly broadcasting slice information related to a telepresence service provided by the wireless network slice; and wherein the wireless communication devices request the wireless network slice responsive to the slice information.
Kim is the same field of invention teaches wirelessly broadcasting slice information related to a telepresence service provided by the wireless network slice; and wherein the wireless communication devices request the wireless network slice responsive to the slice information (page 27, par (0414), line 1-10, the permission candidate network slice information indicate that access to a service related to a network slice included in the permission candidate network slice information, if information indicating that access to a specific slice).
Regarding Claim 8, Gupta discloses identifying the characteristic of the wireless network slice comprises identifying one or more types of the wireless communication devices (page 11, par(0134-0135), line 1-10, the UE is establishing the PDU session for the emergency service and detecting the network slice, the emergency service based PDU session controller is configured to determine that the PDU session for the emergency service is completed, the emergency service based PDU session controller is configured to de-register with the UE in response to determining that the PDU session for the emergency service is completed).
Regarding Claim 9, Gupta discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except identifying the characteristic of the wireless network slice comprises identifying one or more user applications in the wireless communication devices.
Kim is the same field of invention teaches identifying the characteristic of the wireless network slice comprises identifying one or more user applications in the wireless communication devices (page 19, par (0324), line 1-10, the network slice quota related function of the UE include a function for the UE to understand quota related information received from the network, the network slice quota related function of the terminal includes a function that can identify the user's input, transmit a message including the information to the network, in order for the te1minal to re-evaluate the permission of the network slice related to Qouta).
Regarding Claim 10, Gupta discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except identifying the characteristic of the wireless network slice comprises identifying one or more operating systems in the wireless communication devices.
Kim is the same field of invention teaches identifying the characteristic of the wireless network slice comprises identifying one or more operating systems in the wireless communication devices (page 19, par (0324), line 1-10, the network slice quota related function of the UE includes a function for the UE to understand quota related information received from the network, the network slice quota related function of the terminal includes a function that can identify the user's).
Regarding Claim 11, Gupta discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except identifying the characteristic of the wireless network slice comprises identifying one or more destination network addresses used by the wireless communication devices.
Kim is the same field of invention teaches identifying the characteristic of the wireless network slice comprises identifying one or more destination network addresses used by the wireless communication devices (page 27, par (0414), line 1-10, the permission candidate network slice information indicates that access to a service related to a network slice included in the permission candidate network slice information, if information indicating that access to a specific slice).
Regarding Claim 12, Gupta discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except identifying the characteristic of the wireless network slice comprises identifying one or more uniform resource indicators used by the wireless communication devices.
Kim is the same field of invention teaches identifying the characteristic of the wireless network slice comprises identifying one or more uniform resource indicators used by the wireless communication devices (page 19, par (0324), line 1-10, the network slice quota related function of the UE include a function for the UE to understand quota related information received from the network, the network slice quota related function of the terminal includes a function that can identify the user's input, transmit a message including the information to the network, in order for the te1minal to re-evaluate the permission of the network slice related to Quota (resources)).
Regarding Claim 13, Gupta discloses identifying the characteristic of the wireless network slice comprises identifying one or more geographic locations of the wireless communication devices (page 10, par (0119), line 1-5, UE moves from the first geographical location and reaches a second geographical location while playing the online video, where a second edge data network (target edge data network) is more closer to the UE than the first edge data network).
Regarding Claim 14, Gupta discloses no other wireless communication devices are authorized to use the wireless network slice (page 4, par(0044), line 1-10, detecting, by an AMF server, one of a User Equipment (UE) has a PDU session for an emergency service and the UE is establishing a PDU session for the emergency service, detecting, by the AMF server, a network slice allowed Network Slice Selection Identifier (NSSAI)(network slice for unauthorized devices).
Regarding Claim 15, Gupta discloses a method, the method comprising wirelessly broadcasting slice information related to a wireless network slice and receiving requests from wireless communication devices to use the wireless network slice(page 4, par(0044), line 1-10, detecting, by an AMF server, one of a User Equipment (UE) has a PDU session for an emergency service and the UE is establishing a PDU session for the emergency service, detecting, by the AMF server, a network slice allowed Network Slice Selection Identifier (NSSAI)(network slice for unauthorized devices), includes in response detecting one of the UE has the PDU session for the emergency service and the UE is establishing the PDU session for the emergency service performing, by the AMF server, and send a configuration update command to the UE);
determining that the use of the wireless network slice by the wireless communication devices would be unauthorized, and in response, serving the wireless communication devices using the wireless network slice(page 4, par(0044), line 1-10, detecting, by an AMF server, one of a User Equipment (UE) has a PDU session for an emergency service and the UE is establishing a PDU session for the emergency service, detecting, by the AMF server, a network slice allowed Network Slice Selection Identifier (NSSAI)(network slice for unauthorized devices), includes in response detecting one of the UE has the PDU session for the emergency service and the UE is establishing the PDU session for the emergency service performing, by the AMF server, and send a configuration update command to the UE);
and identifying a characteristic of the wireless network slice based on serving the wireless communication devices using the wireless network slice(page 11, par(0134-0135), line 1-10, the UE is establishing the PDU session for the emergency service and detecting the network slice, the emergency service based PDU session controller is configured to determine that the PDU session for the emergency service is completed, the emergency service based PDU session controller is configured to de-register with the UE in response to determining that the PDU session for the emergency service is completed, the emergency service based PDU session controller is configured to send a deregistration request message with the rejection cause value (identifying the characteristics) to the UE(selecting the wireless network slice based on the serving device UE for the emergency service to establish the PDU session)),
Gupta discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except wherein the wireless communication devices request the wireless network slice responsive to the wireless broadcast; wherein the characteristic of the wireless network slice comprises at least one of types of the wireless communication devices, user applications in the wireless communication devices, operating systems in the wireless communication devices, destination network addresses used by the wireless communication devices, uniform resource indicators used by the wireless communication devices, or geographic locations of the wireless communication devices.
Kim is the same field of invention teaches the wireless communication devices request the wireless network slice responsive to the wireless broadcast(Kim, page 1, par (0010), line 1-10, transmitting a first registration request message including information on a first network slice to which the UE is to access to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) node; receiving a response message including candidate network slice information from the AMF node; and displaying, on the display of the UE); wherein the characteristic of the wireless network slice comprises at least one of types of the wireless communication devices, user applications in the wireless communication devices, operating systems in the wireless communication devices, destination network addresses used by the wireless communication devices, uniform resource indicators used by the wireless communication devices, or geographic locations of the wireless communication devices(Kim, page 27, par (0414), line 1-10, the permission candidate network slice information indicates that access to a service related to a network slice included in the permission candidate network slice information, if information indicating that access to a specific slice).
Gupta and Kim are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on receiving requests from wireless communication devices to use a wireless network slice the teaching of Gupta to include the provide a service to the UE in association with other existing network nodes, a plurality of slice instances provides a service to the UE in association with each other teaching of Kim because it is providing information from external applications to the network, translates information, provides control plane parameters, and manages packet flow description.
16. (CURRENTLY AMENDED) A data communication system comprising control circuitry and communication circuitry; the control circuitry configured to determine that the use of a wireless network slice by wireless communication devices would be unauthorized, and in response, direct communication circuitry to serve the wireless communication devices using the wireless network slice(page 4, par(0044), line 1-10, detecting, by an AMF server, one of a User Equipment (UE) has a PDU session for an emergency service and the UE is establishing a PDU session for the emergency service, detecting, by the AMF server, a network slice allowed Network Slice Selection Identifier (NSSAI)(network slice for unauthorized devices), includes in response detecting one of the UE has the PDU session for the emergency service and the UE is establishing the PDU session for the emergency service performing, by the AMF server, and send a configuration update command to the UE);
and the control circuitry further configured to identify a characteristic of the wireless network slice based on the service of the wireless communication devices using the wireless network slice(page 11, par(0134-0135), line 1-10, the UE is establishing the PDU session for the emergency service and detecting the network slice, the emergency service based PDU session controller is configured to determine that the PDU session for the emergency service is completed, the emergency service based PDU session controller is configured to de-register with the UE in response to determining that the PDU session for the emergency service is completed, the emergency service based PDU session controller is configured to send a deregistration request message with the rejection cause value (identifying the characteristics) to the UE(selecting the wireless network slice based on the serving device UE for the emergency service to establish the PDU session)).
Gupta discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the communication circuitry configured to serve the wireless communication devices using the wireless network slice responsive to the control circuitry.
Kim is the same field of invention teaches the communication circuitry configured to serve the wireless communication devices using the wireless network slice responsive to the control circuitry (page 17, par (0283), line 1-10, provide a service to the UE in association with other existing network nodes, a plurality of slice instances provides a service to the UE in association with each other (wherein serving the wireless communication devices)).
Gupta and Kim are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on receiving requests from wireless communication devices to use a wireless network slice the teaching of Gupta to include the provide a service to the UE in association with other existing network nodes, a plurality of slice instances provides a service to the UE in association with each other teaching of Kim because it is providing information from external applications to the network, translates information, provides control plane parameters, and manages packet flow description.
Regarding Claim 17, Gupta discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the communication circuitry is further configured to wirelessly broadcast slice information related to the wireless network slice; and the wireless communication devices request the wireless network slice responsive to the wireless broadcast.
Kim is the same field of invention teaches the communication circuitry is further configured to wirelessly broadcast slice information related to the wireless network slice; and the wireless communication devices request the wireless network slice responsive to the wireless broadcast(page 1, par (0010), line 1-10, a UE to perform communication related to a network slice.); and where in the wireless communication devices request the wireless network slice responsive to the wireless broadcast(page 1, par (0010), line 1-10, transmitting a first registration request message including information on a first network slice to which the UE is to access to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) node; receiving a response message including candidate network slice information from the AMF node; and displaying, on the display of the UE).
Regarding Claim 18, Gupta discloses the control circuitry is configured to identify one or more types of the wireless communication devices to identify the characteristic of the wireless network slice comprises(page 11, par(0134-0135), line 1-10, the UE is establishing the PDU session for the emergency service and detecting the network slice, the emergency service based PDU session controller is configured to determine that the PDU session for the emergency service is completed, the emergency service based PDU session controller is configured to de-register with the UE in response to determining that the PDU session for the emergency service is completed).
Regarding Claim 19, Gupta discloses the control circuitry is configured to identify one or more user applications in the wireless communication devices to identify the characteristic of the wireless network slice comprises(page 11, par(0134-0135), line 1-10, the UE is establishing the PDU session for the emergency service and detecting the network slice, the emergency service based PDU session controller is configured to determine that the PDU session for the emergency service is completed, the emergency service based PDU session controller is configured to de-register with the UE in response to determining that the PDU session for the emergency service is completed).
Regarding Claim 20, Gupta discloses communication devices are authorized to use the wireless network slice(page 4, par(0044), line 1-10, detecting, by an AMF server, one of a User Equipment (UE) has a PDU session for an emergency service and the UE is establishing a PDU session for the emergency service, detecting, by the AMF server, a network slice allowed Network Slice Selection Identifier (NSSAI)(network slice for unauthorized devices).
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. However, the new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of over Gupta et al. (U.S 20230013720, Jan. 19, 2023) and Kim (U.S 20230120144, Apr. 20, 2023).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464