DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/585,334 filed on 02/23/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S 20230120144, Apr. 20, 2023) in view of WU (US 20240056907, Feb. 15, 2024).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses in response, serving the wireless communication devices using the wireless network slice (page 17, par (0283), line 1-10, provide a service to the UE in association with other existing network nodes, a plurality of slice instances provides a service to the UE in association with each other(wherein serving the wireless communication devices));
and identifying a characteristic of the wireless network slice responsive to serving the wireless communication devices using the wireless network slice(page 19, par (0324), line 1-10, the UE include a function for the UE to understand quota related information received from the network, the network slice quota related function of the terminal includes a function that can identify the user's input, a function to transmit a message including the information to the network, in order for the terminal to evaluate the permission of the network slice related to Qouta (identifying the characteristic of the network slice like quota function to serving the devices)).
Kim discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except receiving requests from wireless communication devices to use a wireless network slice; determining that the use of the wireless network slice by the wireless communication devices would be unauthorized.
WU is the same field of invention teaches receiving requests from wireless communication devices to use a wireless network slice (page 8, par (0118), line 1-10, a service-based interface provide unified access authentication services for interface, the network slice specific authentication and authorization function (NSSAAF) authenticates and authorizes the UE (wireless communication devices) to access slices);
determining that the use of the wireless network slice by the wireless communication devices would be unauthorized (page 8, par (0118), line 1-10, the network slice specific authentication and authorization function (NSSAAF) authenticates and authorizes the UE (wireless communication devices) to access slices, preventing unauthorized the UE from accessing slice services).
Kim and WU are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on determining that the use of the wireless network slice by the wireless communication devices would be unauthorized the teaching of Kim to include the network slice specific authentication and authorization function (NSSAAF) authenticates and authorizes the UE teaching of WU because it is providing service registration, discovery, and authorization, and maintains available network function (NF) instance information.
Regarding Claim 2, Kim discloses wirelessly broadcasting slice information related to the wireless network slice(page 1, par (0010), line 1-10, a UE to perform communication related to a network slice.); and where in the wireless communication devices request the wireless network slice responsive to the wireless broadcast(page 1, par (0010), line 1-10, transmitting a first registration request message including information on a first network slice to which the UE is to access to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) node; receiving a response message including candidate network slice information from the AMF node; and displaying, on the display of the UE).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim discloses wirelessly broadcasting slice information related to a high-throughput service provided by the wireless network slice; and wherein the wireless communication devices request the wireless network slice responsive to the slice information(page 1, par (0010), line 1-10, transmitting a first registration request message including information on a first network slice to which the UE is to access to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) node; receiving a response message including candidate network slice information from the AMF node; and displaying, on the display of the UE(wherein responsive to the slice information to access the AMF)).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim discloses wirelessly broadcasting slice information related to a low-latency service provided by the wireless network slice (page 1, par (0004-0005), line 1-10, the NR targets a single technical framework addressing all usage scenarios, requirements and deployment scenarios including low latency communications (URLLC), etc. The NR communication based on network slices has been introduced); and wherein the wireless communication devices request the wireless network slice responsive to the slice information (page 1, par (0004-0005), line 1-10, The NR targets a single technical framework addressing all usage scenarios, requirements and deployment scenarios including low latency communications (URLLC), etc. The NR communication based on network slices has been introduced, see par (0317), the update of information related to the network slice (e.g., the network slice requested by the UE) has occurred in relation to the network slice quota.).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim discloses wirelessly broadcasting slice information related to a high-definition service provided by the wireless network slice(page 1, par (0010), line 1-10, receiving a response message including candidate network slice information from the AMF node); and wherein the wireless communication devices request the wireless network slice responsive to the slice information(page 1, par (0010), line 1-10, receiving a response message including candidate network slice information from the AMF node; and displaying, on the display of the UE, information indicating that the first network slice cannot be accessed, based on the information on the candidate network slice).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim discloses wirelessly broadcasting slice information related to a gaming service provided by the wireless network slice; and wherein the wireless communication devices request the wireless network slice responsive to the slice information(page 27, par (0414), line 1-10, the permission candidate network slice information indicate that access to a service related to a network slice included in the permission candidate network slice information, if information indicating that access to a specific slice is not permitted right now is included in the response message or update message, the terminal displays an object informing of information).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim discloses wirelessly broadcasting slice information related to a telepresence service provided by the wireless network slice; and wherein the wireless communication devices request the wireless network slice responsive to the slice information(page 27, par (0414), line 1-10, the permission candidate network slice information indicate that access to a service related to a network slice included in the permission candidate network slice information, if information indicating that access to a specific slice).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim discloses identifying the characteristic of the wireless network slice comprises identifying one or more types of the wireless communication devices (page 19, par (0324), line 1-10, the network slice quota related function of
the UE include a function for the UE to understand quota related information
received from the network, the network slice quota related function of the terminal includes a function that can identify the user's).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim discloses identifying the characteristic of the wireless network slice comprises identifying one or more user applications in the wireless communication devices(page 19, par (0324), line 1-10, the network slice quota related function of the UE include a function for the UE to understand quota related information received from the network, the network slice quota related function of the terminal includes a function that can identify the user's input, transmit a message including the information to the network, in order for the te1minal to re-evaluate the permission of the network slice related to Qouta).
Regarding Claim 10, Kim discloses identifying the characteristic of the wireless network slice comprises identifying one or more operating systems in the wireless communication devices (page 19, par (0324), line 1-10, the network slice quota related function of the UE includes a function for the UE to understand quota related information received from the network, the network slice quota related function of the terminal includes a function that can identify the user's).
Regarding Claim 11, Kim discloses identifying the characteristic of the wireless network slice comprises identifying one or more destination network addresses used by the wireless communication devices (page 27, par (0414), line 1-10, the permission candidate network slice information indicates that access to a service related to a network slice included in the permission candidate network slice information, if information indicating that access to a specific slice).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim discloses identifying the characteristic of the wireless network slice comprises identifying one or more uniform resource indicators used by the wireless communication devices(page 19, par (0324), line 1-10, the network slice quota related function of the UE include a function for the UE to understand quota related information received from the network, the network slice quota related function of the terminal includes a function that can identify the user's input, transmit a message including the information to the network, in order for the te1minal to re-evaluate the permission of the network slice related to Quota (resources)).
Regarding Claim 13, Kim discloses identifying the characteristic of the wireless network slice comprises identifying one or more geographic locations of the wireless communication devices (page 16, par (0247), line 1-5, When the parameter
includes location information related to a cell in which the UE is camping, a cell identifier).
Regarding Claim 14, Kim discloses no other wireless communication devices are authorized to use the wireless network slice (page 20, par (0338), line 1-5, a network slice included in the permission candidate network slice information related to services/applications performed on an unauthorized, that is, rejected network slice, on the display in different forms).
Regarding Claim 15, Kim discloses the method comprising: wirelessly broadcasting slice information related to a wireless network slice and receiving requests from wireless communication devices to use the wireless network slice(page 1, par (0010), line 1-10, a UE to perform communication related to a network slice.), wherein the wireless communication devices request the wireless network slice responsive to the wireless broadcast(page 1, par (0010), line 1-10, transmitting a first registration request message including information on a first network slice to which the UE is to access to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) node; receiving a response message including candidate network slice information from the AMF node; and displaying, on the display of the UE); and in response, serving the wireless communication devices using the wireless network slice(page 17, par (0283), line 1-10, provide a service to the UE in association with other existing network nodes, a plurality of slice instances provide a service to the UE in association with each other); and identifying a characteristic of the wireless network slice responsive to serving the wireless communication devices using the wireless network slice(page 19, par (0324), line 1-10, the UE include a function for the UE to understand quota related information received from the network, the network slice quota related function of the terminal includes a function that can identify the user's input, a function to transmit a message including the information to the network, in order for the terminal to evaluate the permission of the network slice related to Qouta (identifying the characteristic of the network slice like quota function to serving the devices)), wherein the characteristic of the wireless network slice comprises at least one of types of the wireless communication devices(page 19, par (0324), line 1-10, the network slice quota related function of the UE include a function for the UE to understand quota related information received from the network, the network slice quota related function of the terminal includes a function that can identify the user's), user applications in the wireless communication devices, operating systems in the wireless communication devices(page 19, par (0324), line 1-10, the network slice quota related function of the UE include a function for the UE to understand quota related information received from the network, the network slice quota related function of the terminal includes a function that can identify the user's input, transmit a message including the information to the network, in order for the te1minal to re-evaluate the permission of the network slice related to Qouta), destination network addresses used by the wireless communication devices, uniform resource indicators used by the wireless communication devices(page 19, par (0324), line 1-10, the network slice quota related function of the UE include a function for the UE to understand quota related information received from the network, the network slice quota related function of the terminal includes a function that can identify the user's input, transmit a message including the information to the network, in order for the te1minal to re-evaluate the permission of the network slice related to Quota (resources)), and geographic locations of the wireless communication devices(page 16, par (0247), line 1-5, When the parameter includes location information related to a cell in which the UE is camping, a cell identifier).
Kim discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except determining that the usage of the wireless network slice by the wireless communication devices would be unauthorized.
WU is the same field of invention teaches determining that the usage of the wireless network slice by the wireless communication devices would be unauthorized (page 8, par (0118), line 1-10, the network slice specific authentication and authorization function (NSSAAF) authenticates and authorizes the UE (wireless communication devices) to access slices, preventing unauthorized the UE from accessing slice services).
Kim and WU are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on determining that the use of the wireless network slice by the wireless communication devices would be unauthorized the teaching of Kim to include the network slice specific authentication and authorization function (NSSAAF) authenticates and authorizes the UE teaching of WU because it is providing service registration, discovery, and authorization, and maintains available network function (NF) instance information.
Regarding Claim 16, Kim discloses in response, to direct communication circuitry to serve the wireless communication devices using the wireless network slice(page 17, par (0283), line 1-10, provide a service to the UE in association with other existing network nodes, a plurality of slice instances provide a service to the UE in association with each other); communication circuitry to serve the wireless communication devices using the wireless network slice responsive to the control circuitry(page 1, par (0010), line 1-10, transmitting a first registration request message including information on a first network slice to which the UE is to access to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) node; receiving a response message including candidate network slice information from the AMF node; and displaying, on the display of the UE(wherein responsive to the slice information to access the AMF));
and the control circuitry to identify a characteristic of the wireless network slice based on the service of the wireless communication devices using the wireless network slice(page 19, par (0324), line 1-10, the UE include a function for the UE to understand quota related information received from the network, the network slice quota related function of the terminal includes a function that can identify the user's input, a function to transmit a message including the information to the network, in order for the terminal to evaluate the permission of the network slice related to Qouta (identifying the characteristic of the network slice like quota function to serving the devices)).
Kim discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except a data communication system comprising control circuitry to determine that the use of a wireless network slice by wireless communication devices would be unauthorized.
WU is the same field of invention teaches a data communication system comprising control circuitry to determine that the use of a wireless network slice(page 8, par (0118), line 1-10, a service-based interface provide unified access authentication services for interface, the network slice specific authentication and authorization function (NSSAAF) authenticates and authorizes the UE (wireless communication devices) to access slices) by wireless communication devices would be unauthorized(page 8, par (0118), line 1-10, the network slice specific authentication and authorization function (NSSAAF) authenticates and authorizes the UE (wireless communication devices) to access slices, preventing unauthorized the UE from accessing slice services).
Kim and WU are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on determining that the use of the wireless network slice by the wireless communication devices would be unauthorized the teaching of Kim to include the network slice specific authentication and authorization function (NSSAAF) authenticates and authorizes the UE teaching of WU because it is providing service registration, discovery, and authorization, and maintains available network function (NF) instance information.
Regarding Claim 17, Kim discloses wirelessly broadcasting slice information related to the wireless network slice(page 1, par (0010), line 1-10, a UE to perform communication related to a network slice.); and wherein the wireless communication devices request the wireless network slice responsive to the wireless broadcast(page 1, par (0010), line 1-10, transmitting a first registration request message including information on a first network slice to which the UE is to access to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) node; receiving a response message including candidate network slice information from the AMF node; and displaying, on the display of the UE).
Regarding Claim 18, Kim discloses identifying the characteristic of the wireless network slice comprises identifying one or more types of the wireless communication devices (page 19, par (0324), line 1-10, the network slice quota related function of the UE includes a function for the UE to understand quota related information received from the network, the network slice quota related function of the terminal includes a function that can identify the user's).
Regarding Claim 19, Kim discloses identifying the characteristic of the wireless network slice comprises identifying one or more user applications in the wireless communication devices(page 19, par (0324), line 1-10, the network slice quota related function of the UE include a function for the UE to understand quota related information received from the network, the network slice quota related function of the terminal includes a function that can identify the user's input, transmit a message including the information to the network, in order for the te1minal to re-evaluate the permission of the network slice related to Qouta).
Regarding Claim 20, Kim discloses no other wireless communication devices are authorized to use the wireless network slice (page 20, par (0338), line 1-5, a network slice included in the permission candidate network slice information related to services/applications performed on an unauthorized, that is, rejected network slice, on the display in different forms).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are:
CHUN (US 20230074413, Mar.9, 2023) teaches Communication Related to Network Slice.
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464