DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 8 and 9 are amended. Claims 1-9 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuoka (JP 2021118465A).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 9, Matsuoka discloses a method of displaying an image for a projector (100a and 100b of fig. 1) comprising:
displaying a control point image (illustrated in fig. 11) representing two or more control points (P00 to P44) to be used for shape correction of a projection image of a projector (pg. 11 7th para., the deformation process is the amount of deformation in the geometric correction process executed by the output device 110);
displaying a first image representing that a first control point (GUI has a selection area 1301 of fig. 12) as one of the two or more control points is selected at a position of the first control point when the first control point is selected (illustrated in fig. 12); and
displaying a second image (moving area 1302 of fig. 12) representing two or more control points to be selected by a user subsequently to the first control point out of the two or more control points (pg. 11 7th para., user can select the grid points to be adjusted (target grid points) from the projected grid point patterns and set the parameters (deformation information) of the projection image deformation processing by moving the target grid points)
while displaying the first image at the position of the first control point (illustrated in fig. 12).
Regarding claim 2, Matsuoka discloses further comprising:
receiving an operation of selecting any one of two or more directions different from each other (pg. 11 9th para., FIG. 12 is a schematic view showing the GUI of the position adjustment application displayed on the display unit 240. The GUI has a selection area 1301 for selecting a grid point to be adjusted by the user, and a movement area 1302 for designating a movement destination of the selected grid point.); and
selecting the control point corresponding to the one direction out of the two or more control points to be selected (illustrated in fig. 12).
Regarding claim 3, Matsuoka discloses wherein the two or more directions different from each other include a first direction (the grid point (denoted as “(0,1)” illustrated in fig. 12 can be moved in any direction; shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 12 below), the two or more control points to be selected include a second control point which is adjacent to the first control point (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 12 below) and which is located at a side of the first direction with respect to the first control point, and the selecting the control point corresponding to the one direction includes selecting the second control point when the one direction coincides with the first direction (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 12 below).
Regarding claim 4, Matsuoka discloses wherein the two or more directions different from each other include a second direction different from the first direction, the two or more control points to be selected include a third control point (grid point denoted in selection area 1301 (1,1) of fig. 12) which is adjacent to the first control point (0,1), and which is located at a side of the second direction with respect to the first control point (illustrated in fig. 12 above), and the selecting the control point corresponding to the one direction further includes selecting the third control point when the one direction coincides with the second direction (illustrated in fig. 12).
Regarding claim 5, Matsuoka discloses further comprising: displaying a third image (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 12 below) representing the first direction along a line segment connecting the first control point and the second control point to each other (shown below).
Regarding claim 6, Matsuoka discloses wherein the displaying the third image displays the third image in a range equal to or shorter than a predetermined distance centering on the second control point, and the predetermined distance is equal to or shorter than a half of a distance between the first control point and the second control point (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 12).
Regarding claim 7, Matsuoka discloses wherein a display configuration of the first image is made different from a display configuration of the second image (shown above in the examiners illustration of fig. 12).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANELL L OWENS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2882 21 August 2026
/TOAN TON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2882