DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 7-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2007/0202807) in view of Tang (WO 2015/120795 A1).
-Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a method for pairing a first computing device (first Bluetooth device 200, FIG. 2) and a second computing device under a communication protocol (second Bluetooth device 300, FIG. 2), the second computing device including a K-card (second RFID tag 330, FIG. 2), the method comprising: when the K-card contacts, producing, by the K-card, a sequence of imitated touches on the touchscreen, wherein the imitated-touch sequence is encoded with a data sequence, the data sequence including one or more parameters for establishing a connection between the first and second computing devices under the communication protocol (The second RFID Tag 330 stores bonding information of the second Bluetooth device 200, i.e. a Bluetooth device address ("BD_ADDR") and a PIN code The BD_ADDR and the PIN Code are unique values assigned to the second Bluetooth module 320, paragraph 38), the one or more parameters including an identifier of the second computing device for informing the first computing device to pair with the second computing device (Bluetooth device address ("BD_ADDR"), paragraph 38); whereby the first computing device receives the bonding information; decoding, by the first computing device, the imitated-touch sequence to recover the data sequence such that the data sequence is securely transmitted from the K-card to the first computing device (The first Bluetooth device 200 reads RFID information from an RFID Tag within an RFID effective range, paragraph 39); determining, by the first computing device, whether the second computing device is permitted to pair with the first computing device (After reading the RFID information, the first Bluetooth device 200 extracts BD_ADDR and PIN Code of the second Bluetooth device 300 from the RFID information, paragraph 40); and responsive to finding that the second computing device is permitted to pair with the first computing device, establishing, by the first computing device, the connection between the first and second computing devices under the communication protocol according to the one or more parameters extracted from the recovered data sequence, thereby enabling a user to conveniently pair the first and second computing devices by taking an action of contacting the K-card with the device (Then the first Bluetooth device 200 performs a pairing procedure in a preset communication security level using the extracted BD_ADDR and PIN Code of the second Bluetooth device 300, paragraph 40).
Kim is silent to teaching that the first computing device including a touchscreen, the second computing device configured to generate imitated touches; sensing, by the touchscreen, touches made thereon. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Tang.
In the same field of endeavor, Tang teaches the first computing device including a touchscreen, the second computing device configured to generate imitated touches (Step 103: The device to be paired generates a first shared code according to the pressed area, FIG. 1 and corresponding text); sensing, by the touchscreen, touches made thereon (the device to be paired receives the pressing instruction reported by the contact contacted by the user with the touch screen, step 102, FIG. 1 and corresponding text).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kim with the teaching of Tang in order to provide improved security.
-Regarding claim 5, the combination further discloses whether the second computing device is permitted to connect to the first computing device is determined at least according to the one or more parameters provided by the second computing device (Tang, first shared code, step 103, FIG. 1; Kim, bonding information, paragraph 38).
-Regarding claim 7, the combination further discloses periodically generating, by the K-card, the imitated-touch sequence such that when the K-card contacts the touchscreen, the imitated-touch sequence is automatically produced (Kim, in step 403, the first Bluetooth device 200 extracts BD_ADDR and PIN Code of the second Bluetooth device 300 from the RFID information, paragraph 41).
-Regarding claim 8, the combination further discloses the imitated-touch sequence comprises a starting sequence for enabling the first computing device to detect arrival of the imitated-touch sequence obtained through the touchscreen (Tang, when a pressing instruction of a contact is received, according to the divided regions, determining a pressing region to which the contact belongs (102), FIG. 1 and corresponding text).
-Regarding claim 9, the combination further discloses the one or more parameters further include a passcode for authorizing the second computing device to logon the first computing device (Tang, first shared code, step 103, FIG. 1; Kim, bonding information, paragraph 38).
-Regarding claim 10, the combination further discloses the one or more parameters further include a cryptographic key for enabling secure communication between the first and second computing devices under the communication protocol (Tang, first shared code, step 103, FIG. 1; Kim, bonding information, paragraph 38).
-Regarding claim 11, the combination further discloses the first computing device is a mobile computing device and the second computing device is a peripheral device of the mobile computing device (Kim, paragraph 31).
-Regarding claim 12, the combination further discloses the first computing device is a wireless network router equipped with a touchscreen-based input/output device, and the second computing device is a mobile computing device (Kim, paragraph 31).
-Regarding claim 13, the combination further discloses the first computing device is a public computing server equipped with a touchscreen-based input/output device, and the second computing device is a mobile computing device (Kim, paragraph 31).
-Regarding claim 14, the combination further discloses the communication protocol is a Bluetooth protocol (Kim, Bluetooth, paragraph 32).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2007/0202807) in view of Tang (WO 2015/120795 A1) and further in view of Cohen (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2014/0335789).
-Regarding claim 6, the combination is silent to teaching that displaying, by the first computing device, a message or a computer-generated icon on the touchscreen for indicating success of pairing after the connection between the first and second computing devices is established. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Cohen.
In the same field of endeavor, Cohen teaches displaying, by the first computing device, a message or a computer-generated icon on the touchscreen for indicating success of pairing after the connection between the first and second computing devices is established (paragraph 122).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the combination with the teaching of Cohen in order to provide user friendly notifications.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2007/0202807) in view of Tang (WO 2015/120795 A1) and further in view of Sanchez (U.S. PG-PUB NO. 2022/0051216).
-Regarding claim 15, the combination is silent to teaching that the communication protocol is a WiFi protocol. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by Sanchez.
In the same field of endeavor, Sanchez teaches the communication protocol is a WiFi protocol (paragraph 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the combination with the teaching of Sanchez in order to provide easily modified or adaptable to meet the evolving needs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PING Y HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664