DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Skarby, US 20150214724.
Regarding claim 1, Skarby discloses (figs.1-2) a hybrid switch assembly for use in a circuit interrupter (3), the hybrid switch assembly comprising:
a line side node (1) configured to be connected to a power source;
a load side node (2) configured to be connected to a load;
a mechanical branch (8) connected between the line side node (1) and the load side node (2), the mechanical branch (8) comprising:
a first pair of separable contacts (9), the first pair of separable contacts (9) being designated as MEC+ separable contacts (9); and
a second pair of separable contacts (9) positioned in series with the first pair of separable contacts (9), the second pair of separable contacts (9) being designated as MEC- separable contacts (9);
a power electronics, PE, branch (10) connected between the line side node (1) and the load side node (2) in parallel with the mechanical branch (8), the PE branch (10) comprising:
a first PE module (11) configured to conduct current in a first direction, the first PE module (11) being designated as a PE+ module (11); and
a second PE module (11) configured to conduct current in a second direction oriented opposite the first direction, the second PE module (11) being designated as a PE- module (11); and
a control power circuit (4) configured to selectively actuate each of the PE+ module (11) and the PE- module (11) between a conducting state and a nonconducting state,
where the MEC+ separable contacts (9) form a first hybrid interrupting arrangement with the PE+ module (11) and are connected in parallel with the PE- module (11), and
where the MEC- separable contacts (9) form a second hybrid interrupting arrangement with the PE- module (11) and are connected in parallel with the PE+ module (11).
Regarding claim 2, Skarby further comprising: a common node (16) electrically connected to the MEC+ separable contacts (9), the MEC- separable contacts (9), the PE+ module (11), and the PE- module (11),
where the common node (16) is positioned between the MEC+ separable contacts (9) and the MEC- separable contacts (9), and
where the common node (16) is positioned between the PE+ module (11) and the PE- module (11) [see fig.10].
Regarding claim 3, Skarby further discloses where the PE+ module (11) and the MEC- separable contacts (11) are connected in parallel between the line side node (1) and the common node (16), and
where the PE- module (11) and the MEC+ separable contacts (9) are connected in parallel between the common node (16) and the load side node (2).
Regarding claim 4, Skarby further discloses where the MEC+ separable contacts (9) and the MEC- separable contacts (9) are configured to stay closed and the PE branch (10) is configured to remain powered off when current through the hybrid switch assembly is within a normal operating range of the circuit interrupter (3),
where the hybrid switch assembly is configured such that, when current is flowing in the first direction:
the MEC- separable contacts (9) are configured to open, the control power circuit is configured to power on the PE+ module (11) and to keep the PE- module powered off after the MEC- separable contacts (9) have opened, in order to commutate current to the PE+ module (11),
the control power circuit (4) is configured to power off the PE+ module (11) after commutation of current to the PE+ module (10) is complete, and the MEC+ separable contacts (9) are configured to open after the PE+ module (11) is powered off.
Regarding claim 5. Skarby further discloses where the hybrid switch assembly is configured such that, when current is flowing in the second direction:
the MEC+ separable contacts (9) are configured to open, the control power circuit (4) is configured to power on the PE- module (11) and to keep the PE+ module (11) powered off after the MEC+ separable contacts (9) have opened, in order to commutate current to the PE- module (11), the control power circuit (4) is configured to power off the PE- module (11) after commutation of current to the PE- module (11) is complete, and the MEC- separable contacts (9) are configured to open after the PE- module (11) is powered off.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skarby in view of Purgat, WO 2023151872.
Regarding claim 6, Skarby discloses the claimed invention, but silent on wherein the PE+ module comprises a first n-channel MOSFET whose drain terminal is connected to the line side node and whose source terminal is connected to the common node, and
wherein the PE- module comprises a second n-channel MOSFET whose drain terminal is connected to the load side node and whose source terminal is connected to the common node.
Purgat discloses (figs.1-3) a hybrid circuit breaker (1) where a PE+ module comprises a first n-channel MOSFET (11) whose drain terminal is connected to a line side node (3) and whose source terminal is connected to a common node (17), and
where a PE- module comprises a second n-channel MOSFET (11) whose drain terminal is connected to a load side node (4) and whose source terminal is connected to the common node (17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power electronics of Skarby with the substitution of the power electronics of Purgat, thereby offering superior efficiency, high-speed switching of heavy loads and low consumption, due to almost no gate current and minimal heat generation.
Regarding claim 7, Skarby and Purgat further disclose where a gate terminal of the first n-channel MOSFET (11) and a gate terminal of the second n-channel MOSFET (11) are configured to receive input from a control power circuit (13).
Claims 8-12 and 15-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant’s admitted prior art (AAPA) in view of Skarby.
Regarding claim 8, AAPA discloses (figs.1-2) a hybrid circuit interrupter (1) structured to be connected between a power source (2) and a load (3), the hybrid circuit interrupter (1) comprising:
a current sensor (12) structured to sense current flowing through the hybrid circuit interrupter (1);
a voltage sensor (13) structured to sense voltage in the hybrid circuit interrupter (1);
a controller (6) configured to receive data from the current sensor (12) and the voltage sensor (13);
an operating mechanism (8) configured to be actuated by the controller (6); and
a hybrid switch assembly (10), the hybrid switch assembly (10) comprising:
a line side node configured to be connected to the power source (2);
a load side node configured to be connected to the load (3);
a mechanical branch (14) connected between the line side node and the load side node, the mechanical branch (14) comprising:
a first pair of separable contacts (15), the first pair of separable contacts (15) being designated as MEC+ separable contacts (15);
a power electronics, PE, branch (16) connected between the line side node and the load side node in parallel with the mechanical branch (14), the PE branch (16) comprising:
a first PE module (17) configured to conduct current in a first direction, the first PE module (17) being designated as a PE+ module (17); and
a second PE module (18) configured to conduct current in a second direction oriented opposite the first direction, the second PE module (18) being designated as a PE- module (18).
AAPA fails to explicitly disclose a second pair of separable contacts positioned in series with a first pair of separable contacts, and
a control power circuit in communication with the controller and configured to selectively actuate each of the PE+ module and the PE- module between a conducting state and a nonconducting state, wherein the MEC+ separable contacts form a first hybrid interrupting arrangement with the PE+ module and are connected in parallel with the PE- module, and wherein the MEC- separable contacts form a second hybrid interrupting arrangement with the PE- module and are connected in parallel with the PE+ module.
Skarby discloses (figs.1-2) a hybrid switch assembly for use in a circuit interrupter (3), comprising:
a second pair of separable contacts (9) positioned in series with a first pair of separable contacts (9), and
a control power circuit (4) in communication with a controller (6) and configured to selectively actuate each of a PE+ module (11) and a PE- module (11) between a conducting state and a non-conducting state,
where a MEC+ separable contacts (9) form a first hybrid interrupting arrangement with the PE+ module (11) and are connected in parallel with the PE- module (11), and
where the MEC- separable contacts (9) form a second hybrid interrupting arrangement with the PE- module (11)and are connected in parallel with the PE+ module (11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hybrid circuit interrupter of AAPA with the teaching of the hybrid interrupter of Skarby, thereby providing selective tripping of the modules allowing for switching the individual breaker modules individually from one another such that a total counter voltage is adjustable by the number of breaker modules that are tripped.
Regarding claim 9, AAPA and Skarby further disclose where the hybrid switch comprising a common node (Skarby, 16) electrically connected to the MEC+ separable contacts (9), the MEC- separable contacts (9), the PE+ module (11), and the PE- module (11),
where the common node (16) is positioned between the MEC+ separable contacts (9) and the MEC- separable contacts (9), and
where the common node (16) is positioned between the PE+ module (11) and the PE- module (11) [see fig.10].
Regarding claim 10, AAPA and Skarby further disclose where the PE+ module (Skarby, 11) and the MEC- separable contacts (11) are connected in parallel between the line side node (1) and the common node (16), and
where the PE- module (11) and the MEC+ separable contacts (9) are connected in parallel between the common node (16) and the load side node (2).
Regarding claim 11, AAPA and Skarby further disclose where the MEC+ separable contacts (Skarby, 9) and the MEC- separable contacts (9) are configured to stay closed and the PE branch (10) is configured to remain powered off when current through the hybrid circuit interrupter is within a normal operating range of the circuit interrupter (3),
where the hybrid circuit interrupter is configured such that, when current is flowing in the first direction:
the controller (6) is configured to actuate an operating mechanism (26) to open the MEC- separable contacts (9),
the controller (6) is configured to instruct the control power circuit (4) to power on the PE+ module (11) and to keep the PE- module (11) powered off after the MEC- separable contacts (9) have opened, in order to commutate current to the PE+ module (11),
the controller (6) is configured to instruct the control power circuit (4) to power off the PE+ module (11) after commutation of current to the PE+ module (11) is complete, and
the controller (6) is configured to actuate the operating mechanism (26) to open the MEC+ separable contacts (9) after the PE+ module (11) is powered off.
Regarding claim 12, AAPA and Skarby further disclose where the hybrid circuit interrupter is configured such that, when current is flowing in the second direction:
the controller (Skarby, 6) is configured to actuate the operating mechanism (26) to open the MEC+ separable contacts (11),
the controller (6) is configured to instruct the control power circuit (4) to power on the PE- module (11) and to keep the PE+ module (11) powered off after the MEC+ separable contacts (9) have opened, in order to commutate current to the PE- module (11),
the controller (6) is configured to instruct the control power circuit (4) to power off the PE- module (11) after commutation of current to the PE- module (11) is complete, and
the controller (6) is configured to actuate the operating mechanism (26) to open the MEC- separable contacts (9) after the PE- module (11) is powered off.
Regarding claim 15, AAPA (figs.1-2) would necessarily perform a method of interrupting current flowing between a power source (2) and a load (3), the method comprising:
providing a hybrid circuit interrupter (1) electrically connected between the power source (2) and the load (3), the hybrid circuit interrupter (1) including a hybrid switch assembly (10), and
a controller (6), where the hybrid switch assembly (10) includes a mechanical branch (14) and a power electronics, PE, branch (16) connected in parallel with the mechanical branch (14), the mechanical branch (14) including a first pair of separable contacts (15) designated as MEC+ separable contacts (15) and
when a current reaches a fault level threshold:
determining with the controller (6) whether the current is in a positive voltage half-cycle or in a negative voltage half-cycle; and
initiating with the controller (6) a positive voltage interruption sequence when the current is in the positive voltage half-cycle and initiating a negative voltage interruption sequence when the current is in the negative voltage half-cycle,
where the PE branch (16) includes a first PE module (17) designated as a PE+ module (17) that is configured to conduct current in a first direction and a second PE module (18) designated as a PE- module (18) configured to conduct current in a second direction,
where the MEC+ separable contacts (15) form a first hybrid interrupting arrangement with the PE+ module (17) and are connected in parallel with the PE-module (18).
AAPA fails to disclose the claimed method of interrupting the circuit, wherein,
a second pair of separable contacts designated as MEC- separable contacts, the MEC+ separable contacts and the MEC- separable contacts being positioned in series;
maintaining the MEC+ separable contacts and the MEC- separable contacts in a closed state and keeping the PE branch powered off when the current is within a normal operating range of the circuit interrupter; and
wherein the MEC- separable contacts form a second hybrid interrupting arrangement with the PE- module and are connected in parallel with the PE+ module.
Skarby (figs.1-2) would necessarily perform a method of a hybrid switch assembly for use in a circuit interrupter (3), comprising:
a second pair of separable contacts (9) designated as MEC-separable contacts (9), a MEC+ separable contacts (9) and the MEC- separable contacts (9) being positioned in series;
maintaining the MEC+ separable contacts (9) and the MEC- separable contacts (9) in a closed state and keeping a PE branch (10) powered off when a current is within a normal operating range of the circuit interrupter (3); and
where the MEC- separable contacts (9) form a second hybrid interrupting arrangement with the PE- module (11) and are connected in parallel with the PE+ module (11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of hybrid circuit interrupter of AAPA with the teaching of the method of the hybrid interrupter of Skarby, thereby providing selective tripping of the modules allowing for switching the individual breaker modules individually from one another such that a total counter voltage is adjustable by the number of breaker modules that are tripped.
Regarding claim 16, AAPA and Skarby would further perform the method,
where the MEC+ separable contacts (Skarby, 9) and the MEC- separable contacts (9) share a common node (16) positioned between the MEC+ separable contacts (9) and the MEC- separable contacts (9), and
where the common node (16) connects a mechanical branch (8) to a PE branch (10) between the PE+ module (11) and the PE- module (11).
Regarding claim 17, AAPA and Skarby would further perform the method,
wherein the hybrid switch assembly includes a line side node (1) configured to be connected to the power source and a load side node (2) configured to be connected to the load, and
where the PE+ module (11) and the MEC- separable contacts (9) are connected in parallel between the line side node (1) and the common node (16), and
where the PE- module (11) and the MEC+ separable contacts (9) are connected in parallel between the common node (16) and the load side node (2).
Regarding claim 19, AAPA and Skarby would further perform the method, where the positive voltage interruption sequence comprises:
opening the MEC-separable contacts (Skarby, 9) with an operating mechanism (26) of the hybrid circuit interrupter (1);
checking arc voltage that forms across a voltage gap of the MEC-separable contacts (9) with the controller (6);
powering on the PE+ module (11) using the controller (6) once the arc voltage across the voltage gap of the MEC- separable contacts (9) is above a commutation threshold;
checking the current with the controller (6) to determine whether the arc voltage across the MEC-separable contacts (9) is extinguished;
powering off the PE+ module (11) using the controller (6) once the arc voltage across the MEC- separable contacts (9) is extinguished;
opening the MEC+ separable contacts (11) with the operating mechanism (26); and
verifying with the controller (6) that the current has ceased to flow.
Regarding claim 20, AAPA and Skarby would further perform the method, where the negative voltage interruption sequence comprises:
opening the MEC+ separable contacts (Skarby, 9) with the operating mechanism (26);
checking arc voltage that forms across a voltage gap of the MEC+ separable contacts (9) with the controller (6);
powering on the PE-module (11) using the controller (6) once the arc voltage across the voltage gap of the MEC+ separable contacts (9) is above a commutation threshold;
checking the current with the controller (6) to determine whether the arc voltage across the MEC+ separable contacts (9) is extinguished;
powering off the PE-module (11) using the controller (6) once the arc voltage across the MEC+ separable contacts (11) is extinguished;
opening the MEC- separable contacts (9) with the operating mechanism (26); and
verifying with the controller (6) that the current has ceased to flow.
Claims 13-14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant’s admitted prior art (AAPA) and Skarby and further in view of Purgat.
Regarding claim 13, AAPA and Skarby disclose the claimed invention, but silent on wherein the PE+ module comprises a first n-channel MOSFET whose drain terminal is connected to the line side node and whose source terminal is connected to the common node, and
wherein the PE- module comprises a second n-channel MOSFET whose drain terminal is connected to the load side node and whose source terminal is connected to the common node.
Purgat discloses (figs.1-3) a hybrid circuit interrupter (1) where a PE+ module comprises a first n-channel MOSFET (11) whose drain terminal is connected to a line side node (3) and whose source terminal is connected to a common node (17), and
where a PE- module comprises a second n-channel MOSFET (11) whose drain terminal is connected to a load side node (4) and whose source terminal is connected to the common node (17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the power electronics of AAPA with the substitution of the power electronics of Purgat, thereby offering superior efficiency, high-speed switching of heavy loads and low consumption, due to almost no gate current and minimal heat generation.
Regarding claim 14, AAPA, Skarby and Purgat further disclose where a gate terminal of the first n-channel MOSFET (11) and a gate terminal of the second n-channel MOSFET (11) are configured to receive input from a control power circuit (13).
Regarding claim 18, AAPA and Skarby fail to perform the method,
wherein the PE+ module comprises a first n-channel MOSFET whose drain terminal is connected to the line side node and whose source terminal is connected to the common node, and
wherein the PE- module comprises a second n-channel MOSFET whose drain terminal is connected to the load side node and whose source terminal is connected to the common node.
Purgat (figs.1-3) would necessarily perform a method of a hybrid circuit interrupter (1) where a PE+ module comprises a first n-channel MOSFET (11) whose drain terminal is connected to a line side node (3) and whose source terminal is connected to a common node (17), and
where a PE- module comprises a second n-channel MOSFET (11) whose drain terminal is connected to a load side node (4) and whose source terminal is connected to the common node (17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the power electronics of AAPA with the substitution of the power electronics of Purgat, thereby offering superior efficiency, high-speed switching of heavy loads and low consumption, due to almost no gate current and minimal heat generation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lagree et al, Qi et al, Billingsley et al, Demetriades et al, Lee et al, Potter et al, and Manahan et al are examples hybrid switch assemblies configured similar to the present invention.
/WILLIAM A BOLTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833