DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is response to the application filed 1/28/2025 havingclaims 21-40 pending and presented for examination, claims 1-20 are cancelled.
Priority
2. Application filed on 02/23/2024 is a CON of PCT/CN2022/111533 08/10/2022
FOREIGN APPLICATIONS CHINA 202110982180.8 08/25/2021 CHINA 202111277521.8 10/30/2021 are acknowledged.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 02/23/2024 and these drawings are accepted.
4. Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/28/2025, 1/16/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
4. The Oath/Declaration filed on 02/23/2024 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-26, 30-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and/or 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US Publication US 20210212160 A1 VELEV et al(Hereinafter “VELEV ").
As per claim 21, VELEV teaches a method, applied to a first communication apparatus, wherein the method comprises: sending a first message, wherein the first message requests to establish a first protocol data unit (PDU) session for the first communication apparatus (para 0246, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, CCNF sending a first message wherein the message includes session for the first communication apparatus SMF2 ), the first message further comprises an identifier of a second communication apparatus and an identifier of a second PDU session, the second PDU session is a PDU session of the second communication apparatus ( para 0009, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, message includes UE identifier and session identifier from the second PDU session from UE, the second PDU session is a PDU session of the second communication apparatus ), and a first network device selects a second network device based on the identifier of the second communication apparatus and the identifier of the second PDU session, or the first network device establishes an association relationship between the first PDU session and the second PDU session based on the identifier of the second communication apparatus and the identifier of the second PDU session( para 0009, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, a SMF2 selects a second network device based on the identifier of the second communication apparatus and the identifier of the second PDU session); and receiving a second message from the first network device, wherein the second message comprises information for accepting establishment of the first PDU session ( ( para 0246, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, receiving a second message from the SMF2 wherein the second message comprises information for accepting establishment of the first PDU session by activating).
As per claim 22, VELEV teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the first message further comprises a session establishment request message, and wherein: the identifier of the second communication apparatus and the identifier of the second PDU session are comprised in the session establishment request message; the identifier of the second communication apparatus and the identifier of the second PDU session are comprised in the first message and are not comprised in the session establishment request message; or the identifier of the second communication apparatus and the identifier of the second PDU session are comprised in the session establishment request message and are comprised in bearer space other than the session establishment request message in the first message (para 0246, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, the identifier of the second communication apparatus and the identifier of the second PDU session are comprised in the first message and are not comprised in the session establishment request message).
As per claim 23, VELEV teaches the method of claim 21, wherein: the first message comprises a first parameter, and the first parameter indicates that the first PDU session that the first communication apparatus requests to establish is a PDU session having an association relationship (( para 0246, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, based on the parameter received such as the session and user id, PDU session that the first communication apparatus requests to establish is a PDU session having an association relationship).
As per claim 24, VELEV teaches the method of claim 21, wherein: the second message further comprises a second parameter, the second parameter indicates a manner of performing data processing on a PDU session, the manner of performing data processing comprises transferring service data between the first PDU session and the second PDU session, or transmitting service data in the first PDU session and the second PDU session ((( para 0246, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, transferring service data between the first PDU session and the second PDU session, or transmitting service data in the first PDU session and the second PDU session); and data processing is performable between PDU sessions having an association relationship(( para 0246, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, based on the parameter received such as the session and user id, PDU session that the first communication apparatus requests to establish is a PDU session having an association relationship)..
As per claim 25, VELEV teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the method further comprises: receiving the identifier of the second communication apparatus and the identifier of the second PDU session from the second communication apparatus (( para 0246, 0173-0175], receiving the identifier of the second communication apparatus and the identifier of the second PDU session from the second communication apparatus).
As per claim 26, VELEV teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the method further comprises: receiving information about a first service from the second communication apparatus, wherein the first service is a service that is to be transferred from the second communication apparatus to a target communication apparatus, and the target communication apparatus comprises the first communication apparatus, or comprises the second communication apparatus and the first communication apparatus ((( para 0246, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, be transferred from the second communication apparatus to a target communication apparatus, and the target communication apparatus comprises the first communication apparatus).
As per claim 30, VELEV teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the method further comprises: receiving a connection parameter from the second communication apparatus, wherein the connection parameter comprises slice information that corresponds to the second PDU session or a data network name (DNN) that corresponds to the second PDU session (para 0246], receiving a connection parameter from the second communication apparatus, wherein the connection parameter comprises slice information that corresponds to the second PDU session).
As per claim 31, VELEV teaches a method, applied to a first network device, wherein the method comprises: receiving a first message, wherein the first message requests to establish a first protocol data unit (PDU) session for a first communication apparatus ( para 0009, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, receiving at SMF2 a first message, wherein the first message requests to establish a first protocol data unit (PDU) session for a first communication apparatus), the first message further comprises an identifier of a second communication apparatus and an identifier of a second PDU session, and the second PDU session is a PDU session of the second communication apparatus ( para 0009, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, wherein the first message comprises an identifier of a second communication apparatus and an identifier of a second PDU session associated with a user device and connection request and the second PDU session is a PDU session of the second communication apparatus).; and selecting a second network device for the first PDU session based on the identifier of the second communication apparatus and the identifier of the second PDU session, wherein the second network device is a network device serving the second PDU session (( para 0246, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, selecting another network device UPF2 based on the identifier of the second communication apparatus and the identifier of the second PDU session for establishing a connection request and wherein the second network device is a network device serving the second PDU session ).
As per claim 32, VELEV teaches the method of claim 31, wherein the method further comprises: sending a second message to the first communication apparatus, wherein the second message comprises information for accepting establishment of the first PDU session (para 0246, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, sending a second message to the first communication apparatus, wherein the second message comprises information for accepting establishment of the first PDU session).
As per claim 33, VELEV teaches the method of claim 31, wherein the first message comprises a first parameter, and the first parameter indicates that the first PDU session that the first communication apparatus requests to establish is a PDU session having an association relationship(( para 0246, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, based on the parameter received such as the session and user id, PDU session that the first communication apparatus requests to establish is a PDU session having an association relationship)..
As per claim 34, VELEV teaches a first communication apparatus, comprising: one or more processors; and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store one or more computer programs, the one or more computer programs comprise computer-executable instructions, and when the computer-executable instructions are run, the first communication apparatus executes the following steps: sending a first message, wherein the first message requests to establish a first protocol data unit (PDU) session for the first communication apparatus(para 0009, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, CCNF sending a first message wherein the message includes session for the first communication apparatus SMF2 ),, the first message further comprises an identifier of a second communication apparatus and an identifier of a second PDU session, the second PDU session is a PDU session of the second communication apparatus( para 0009, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, message includes UE identifier and session identifier from the second PDU session from UE, the second PDU session is a PDU session of the second communication apparatus ), and a first network device selects a second network device based on the identifier of the second communication apparatus and the identifier of the second PDU session, or the first network device establishes an association relationship between the first PDU session and the second PDU session based on the identifier of the second communication apparatus and the identifier of the second PDU session( para 0009, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, a SMF2 selects a second network device based on the identifier of the second communication apparatus and the identifier of the second PDU session); and receiving a second message from the first network device, wherein the second message comprises information for accepting establishment of the first PDU session ( para 0009, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, receiving a second message from the SMF2 wherein the second message comprises information for accepting establishment of the first PDU session by activating).
As per claim 35, VELEV teaches the first communication apparatus of claim 34, wherein the first message further comprises a session establishment request message, wherein the identifier of the second communication apparatus and the identifier of the second PDU session are comprised in the session establishment request message; the identifier of the second communication apparatus and the identifier of the second PDU session are comprised in the first message and are not comprised in the session establishment request message; or the identifier of the second communication apparatus and the identifier of the second PDU session are comprised in the session establishment request message and are comprised in bearer space other than the session establishment request message in the first message(para 0246, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, the identifier of the second communication apparatus and the identifier of the second PDU session are comprised in the first message and are not comprised in the session establishment request message)..
As per claim 36, VELEV teaches the first communication apparatus of claim 34, wherein the first message comprises a first parameter, and the first parameter indicates that the first PDU session that the first communication apparatus requests to establish is a PDU session having an association relationship(( para 0009, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, based on the parameter received such as the session and user id, PDU session that the first communication apparatus requests to establish is a PDU session having an association relationship)..
As per claim 37, VELEV teaches the first communication apparatus of claim 34, wherein: the second message further comprises a second parameter, the second parameter indicates a manner of performing data processing on a PDU session, the manner of performing data processing comprises transferring service data between the first PDU session and the second PDU session, or transmitting service data in the first PDU session and the second PDU session(( para 0246, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, transferring service data between the first PDU session and the second PDU session, or transmitting service data in the first PDU session and the second PDU session);; and data processing is performable between PDU sessions having an association relationship( para 0246, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, based on the parameter received such as the session and user id, PDU session that the first communication apparatus requests to establish is a PDU session having an association relationship)..
As per claim 38, VELEV teaches a first network device, comprising: one or more processors; and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store one or more computer programs, the one or more computer programs comprise computer-executable instructions, and when the computer-executable instructions are run, the first network device executes the following steps: receiving a first message, wherein the first message requests to establish a first protocol data unit (PDU) session for a first communication apparatus( para 0009, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, receiving at SMF2 a first message, wherein the first message requests to establish a first protocol data unit (PDU) session for a first communication apparatus), the first message further comprises an identifier of a second communication apparatus and an identifier of a second PDU session, and the second PDU session is a PDU session of the second communication apparatus( para 0009, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, wherein the first message comprises an identifier of a second communication apparatus and an identifier of a second PDU session associated with a user device and connection request and the second PDU session is a PDU session of the second communication apparatus); and selecting a second network device for the first PDU session based on the identifier of the second communication apparatus and the identifier of the second PDU session, wherein the second network device is a network device serving the second PDU session( para 0009, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, selecting another network device UPF2 based on the identifier of the second communication apparatus and the identifier of the second PDU session for establishing a connection request and wherein the second network device is a network device serving the second PDU session )..
As per claim 39, VELEV teaches the first network device of claim 38, wherein when the computer-executable instructions are run, the first network device further executes the following steps: sending a second message to the first communication apparatus, wherein the second message comprises information for accepting establishment of the first PDU session (para 0173-0175], fig 11,12, sending a second message to the first communication apparatus, wherein the second message comprises information for accepting establishment of the first PDU session).
As per claim 40, VELEV teaches the first network device of claim 38, wherein the first message comprises a first parameter, and the first parameter indicates that the first PDU session that the first communication apparatus requests to establish is a PDU session having an association relationship(( para 0009, 0173-0175], fig 11,12, based on the parameter received such as the session and user id, PDU session that the first communication apparatus requests to establish is a PDU session having an association relationship)..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VELEV further view of US PG Pub US 20220104308 A1 to Talebi et al (hereinafter Talebi ).
As per claim 27, VELEV teaches the method of claim 26, Talebi teaches wherein: the second message comprises quality of service (QOS) flow information that is configured by the second network device for the first communication apparatus, and wherein the first service is transmitted based on the QoS flow information (para 0149], comprises quality of service (QOS) flow information that is configured by the second network device for the first communication apparatus and QoS flow ID, QFI, may be employed to identify the QoS flow). 20220104308
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of VELEV by quality of service (QOS) flow information that is configured by the second network device for the first communication apparatus, and wherein the first service is transmitted based on the QoS flow information as suggested by Talebi , this modification would benefit VELEV for efficient data transfer process in a mobile communication system.
As per claim 28, VELEV teaches the method of claim 26, wherein the method further comprises: receiving a third message from the first network device, wherein the third message comprises QoS flow information that is configured by the second network device for the first communication apparatus, and wherein the first service is transmitted based on the QoS flow information ((para 0153], rules for QoS control and charging for the traffic routed to the local data network and wherein the first service is transmitted based on the QoS flow information).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 27.
As per claim 29, VELEV teaches the method of claim 28, wherein the QoS flow information comprises an identifier of a QoS flow, and the identifier of the QoS flow is the same as or different from an identifier of a QoS flow of the first service transmitted by the second communication apparatus (para 0149], the identifier of the QoS flow is the same as or different from an identifier of a QoS flow of the first service transmitted by the second communication apparatus).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 27.
Conclusion
Prior arts made of record, not relied upon: US Patent Publication US 20230074899 A1; US Patent Publication US 20200092685 A1, US Patent Publication US 20220330352 A1
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANEZ EBRAHIM whose telephone number is (571)270-7153. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8 AM to 5 PM If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on (571) 272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANEZ C EBRAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467