DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 18, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
As explained in MPEP 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chiu et al. (2018/0309271).
In reference to claim 15, Chiu et al. disclose a jaw assembly for a tool (100), the jaw assembly comprising:
a first jaw (i.e. left 1) comprising a first array of teeth (formed from upper teeth 121 and lower teeth 121, see Figures 1 and 2); and
a second jaw (i.e. right 1) comprising a second array of teeth (formed from upper teeth 121 and lower teeth 121, see Figures 1 and 2);
wherein the first array of teeth includes a first set of teeth (i.e. lower teeth 121) that are both wider and deeper than a majority of the teeth (i.e. upper teeth 121) that form the first array of teeth (Figures 1 and 2); and
wherein the second array of teeth includes a second set of teeth (i.e. lower teeth 121) that are both wider and deeper than a majority of the teeth (i.e. upper teeth 121) that form the second array of teeth (Figures 1 and 2).
In reference to claim 16 and 17, Chiu et al. disclose that apexes (i.e. tips) of each tooth of the first array of teeth lay in a first plane (i.e. a horizontal plane in Figure 2 for left/first jaw 1) and apexes (i.e. tips) of each tooth of the second array of teeth lies in a second plane (i.e. another horizontal plane, similar to the horizontal plane in Figure 2 but for right/second jaw 1), wherein the first and second planes are substantially parallel to each other over a range of distances defining a span of the jaw assembly (Figure 1).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11911880.
In reference to claim 1, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 11911880 discloses a tool comprising:
a first jaw comprising a first array of teeth (see claim 1); and
a second jaw comprising a second array of teeth (see claim 1);
wherein ridges of the teeth of the first array of teeth extend parallel to each other and ridges of the teeth of the second array of teeth extend parallel to each other (see claim 1);
wherein the first jaw is movable relative to second jaw to define an adjustable span between the first jaw and the second jaw to grip a working media between the first jaw and the second jaw (see claim 1);
wherein the first and second arrays of teeth comprise a narrower set of teeth having a first width and a wider set of teeth having a second width (see claim 1);
wherein the first width is less than the second width (see claim 1);
wherein a plurality of teeth of the narrower set of teeth are disposed between a first tooth of the wider set of teeth and a second tooth of the wider set of teeth (see claim 1).
In reference to claim 2, U.S. Patent No. 11911880 discloses that the narrower set of teeth have a first depth and the wider set of teeth have a second depth; wherein the first depth is less than the second depth (see claim 1).
In reference to claim 3, U.S. Patent No. 11911880 discloses that the first array of teeth further comprise a set of teeth having a third depth, wherein the third depth is a same depth as the first depth (see claims 2 and 3).
In reference to claim 4, U.S. Patent No. 11911880 discloses that the first array of teeth further comprise a set of teeth having a third width, wherein the third width is between the first width and the second width (see claims 2 and 3).
In reference to claim 5, U.S. Patent No. 11911880 discloses that a first apex of the first tooth of the wider set of teeth and a second apex of the second tooth of the wider set of teeth lie in a same plane as apexes of the plurality of teeth of the narrower set of teeth (see claim 4).
In reference to claim 6, U.S. Patent No. 11911880 discloses that the wider set of teeth and the narrower set of teeth are centered on the first and second jaws such that a halfway point on each of the ridges of the wider set of teeth lies in a same plane as a halfway point on each of the ridges of the narrower set of teeth, and such that the wider set of teeth extend equally beyond both ends of the narrower set of teeth (claim 5).
In reference to claim 7, U.S. Patent No. 11911880 discloses that the first and second jaws are configured to grip a cylindrical media extending through the first and second jaws by at least: the ridges of two teeth of the narrower set of teeth of each jaw contacting the cylindrical media with a first bite span, or ends of two teeth of the wider set of teeth of each of the first or second jaws contacting the cylindrical media with a second bite span wider than the first bite span (claim 6).
In reference to claim 8, U.S. Patent No. 11911880 discloses that apexes of each tooth of the first array of teeth lay in a first plane and apexes of each tooth of the second array of teeth lay in a second plane (claim 8).
In reference to claim 9, U.S. Patent No. 11911880 discloses that the first and second planes are substantially parallel to each other over a range of distances defining the span (claim 9).
In reference to claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 11911880 discloses that the first jaw moves in a linear direction relative to the second jaw slide to adjust the span (claim 10).
In reference to claim 11, U.S. Patent No. 11911880 discloses that the first jaw pivots relative to the second jaw to adjust the span (claim 11).
In reference to claim 12, U.S. Patent No. 11911880 discloses that the hand tool comprises adjustable pliers wherein the first jaw and the second jaw can slide and pivot relative to each other to adjust the span (claim 12).
In reference to claim 13, U.S. Patent No. 11911880 discloses that the first jaw and the second jaw are V-shaped (claim 13).
In reference to claim 14, U.S. Patent No. 11911880 discloses that at least three teeth of the narrower set of teeth are disposed between the first tooth of the wider set of teeth and the second tooth of the wider set of teeth (claim 14).
In reference to claim 18, U.S. Patent No. 11911880 discloses a hand tool comprising:
a handle section (claims 1, 15 and 18); and
a jaw assembly operably coupled to the handle section, the jaw assembly comprising a first jaw and a second jaw (claims 1, 15 and 18);
wherein the first jaw comprises a first array of teeth and the second jaw comprises a second array of teeth (claims 1, 15 and 18);
wherein a span defined between the first jaw and the second jaw is adjustable (claims 1, 15 and 18);
wherein first ridges of the first array of teeth are substantially aligned with a first plane and second ridges of the second array of teeth are substantially aligned with a second plane (claim 8);
wherein the first plane and the second plane are substantially parallel to each other (claim 9);
wherein each of the first array of teeth and the second array of teeth comprise: a first set of teeth having a first width and a first depth, and a second set of teeth that extend beyond the first width of the first set of teeth and have a second depth deeper than the first depth (claims 1, 15 and 18); and
wherein at least two teeth of the first set of teeth are disposed between two teeth of the second set of teeth (claims 1, 15 and 18).
In reference to claim 19, U.S. Patent No. 11911880 discloses that each of the first and second arrays of teeth are configured such that: the first set of teeth grip a cylindrical object perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the handle section with a first bite span, and the second set of teeth grip the cylindrical object with a second bite span larger than the first bite span when the cylindrical object is angled away from perpendicular (claims 6 and 19).
In reference to claim 20, U.S. Patent No. 11911880 discloses a third set of teeth disposed outside the two teeth of the second set of teeth, wherein the third set of teeth has a width that is wider than the first set of teeth and narrower than the second set of teeth (claim 20).
Claim 10, is also rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11911880 and in view of Watson et al. (2016/0129565).
In further reference to claim 10, assuming arguendo that U.S. Patent No. 11911880 lacks,
the first jaw moves in a linear direction relative to the second jaw slide to adjust the span, than Watson et al. is used for such a teaching.
Watson et al. teach that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a wrench (Figure 12) having a first jaw (134) that moves in a linear direction (i.e. along 130, Figure 13) relative to a second jaw (122) slide to adjust a span (mouth between the opposing jaws, Figure 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the device, of U.S. Patent No. 11911880, with the known technique of providing a first jaw that moves in the linear direction relative to the second jaw slide to adjust the span, as taught by Watson et al., and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device that can be operated as a pipe wrench (paragraph 48) thereby more effectively gripping cylindrical objects.
Claims 1-4 are also rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11511398.
In further reference to claim 1, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 11511398 discloses a tool comprising:
a first jaw comprising a first array of teeth (see claims 1 and 10); and
a second jaw comprising a second array of teeth (see claims 1 and 10);
wherein ridges of the teeth of the first array of teeth extend parallel to each other and ridges of the teeth of the second array of teeth extend parallel to each other (see claims 1 and 10);
wherein the first jaw is movable relative to second jaw to define an adjustable span between the first jaw and the second jaw to grip a working media between the first jaw and the second jaw (see claims 1 and 10);
wherein the first and second arrays of teeth comprise a narrower set of teeth having a first width and a wider set of teeth having a second width (see claims 1 and 10);
wherein the first width is less than the second width (see claims 1 and 10);
wherein a plurality of teeth of the narrower set of teeth are disposed between a first tooth of the wider set of teeth and a second tooth of the wider set of teeth (see claims 2 and 10).
In further reference to claim 2, U.S. Patent No. 11511398 discloses that the narrower set of teeth have a first depth and the wider set of teeth have a second depth; wherein the first depth is less than the second depth (see claims 1 and 10).
In further reference to claim 3, U.S. Patent No. 11511398 discloses that the first array of teeth further comprise a set of teeth having a third depth, wherein the third depth is a same depth as the first depth (see claims 1 and 10).
In further reference to claim 4, U.S. Patent No. 11511398 discloses that the first array of teeth further comprise a set of teeth having a third width, wherein the third width is between the first width and the second width (see claims 1 and 10).
Claim 18, is also rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11511398 in view of Chiu et al. (2018/0309271).
In further reference to claim 18, U.S. Patent No. 11511398 discloses a hand tool comprising:
a handle section (claims 1 and 10); and
a jaw assembly operably coupled to the handle section, the jaw assembly comprising a first jaw and a second jaw (claims 1 and 10);
wherein the first jaw comprises a first array of teeth and the second jaw comprises a second array of teeth (claims 1 and 10);
wherein a span defined between the first jaw and the second jaw is adjustable (claims 1 and 10);
wherein each of the first array of teeth and the second array of teeth comprise: a first set of teeth having a first width and a first depth, and a second set of teeth that extend beyond the first width of the first set of teeth and have a second depth deeper than the first depth (claims 1 and 10); and
wherein at least two teeth of the first set of teeth are disposed between two teeth of the second set of teeth (claims 1 and 10).
U.S. Patent No. 11511398 lacks,
wherein first ridges of the first array of teeth are substantially aligned with a first plane and second ridges of the second array of teeth are substantially aligned with a second plane; wherein the first plane and the second plane are substantially parallel to each other.
However, Chiu et al. teach that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a similar tool (100) comprising first ridges (tips) of first array of teeth (121) are substantially aligned with a first plane (i.e. a horizontal plane in Figure 2 for left/first jaw 1) and second ridges of second array of teeth (121) are substantially aligned with a second plane (i.e. another horizontal plane, similar to the horizontal plane in Figure 2 but for right/second jaw 1); wherein the first plane and the second plane are substantially parallel to each other (Figures 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the first and second ridges, of U.S. Patent No. 11511398, with the known technique of providing first ridges aligned with a first plane and second ridges aligned with a second plane; wherein the first plane and the second plane are substantially parallel to each other, as taught by Chiu et al., and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device clamping device that more effectively engages with a workpiece (paragraph 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-14 and 18-20 would be allowable after the applicant overcome the above made Double Patenting rejections by submitting proper terminal disclaimers for U.S. Patents 11911880 and 11511398
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance: The present invention pertains to a tool. It is the examiner's opinion that the art of record considered as a whole, alone or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious of providing; the first width is less than the second width; wherein a plurality of teeth of the narrower set of teeth are disposed between a first tooth of the wider set of teeth and a second tooth of the wider set of teeth (as in claim 1), nor renders obvious of providing; at least two teeth of the first set of teeth are disposed between two teeth of the second set of teeth (as in claim 18), together in combination with the rest of the limitations of the independent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Azkona (6199459) discloses a hand tool comprising: a handle section (1a a. and 1b), a working end (11 and 12) operably coupled to the handle section and a jaw assembly (11 and 12) disposed at the working end, the jaw assembly comprising a movable jaw (11) and a fixed jaw (12), wherein a span defined between the movable jaw and the fixed jaw is adjustable (within element 2), wherein each of the movable jaw and the fixed jaw includes an array of teeth defined by ridges that extend substantially parallel to each other (Figure 1), wherein the array of teeth on each of the fixed jaw and the movable jaw includes a first set of teeth having a first width and a first depth (see figure below), and a second set of teeth having a second width and a second depth (see the depth of each tooth in the second set as being greater than the depth of each tooth in the first set), wherein the first depth is less than the second depth.
Hsieh (2006/0086212) teaches that it is known in the art to provide a jaws (26 and 28) with teeth having varying widths (see Figure 3 and paragraph 21).
/ROBERT J SCRUGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723