DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Kitada fails to explicitly disclose wherein the portion of the protective layer extending to the first surface and the second surface extends continuously without an opening on the first surface and the second surface. The examiner disagrees with applicant. Fig. 1-2 of Kitada clearly show the portion (4a) of glass layer without openings therein. Furthermore, [0060] discloses “This is because the glass layer extensions 4a ensure the protection of the ceramic body 1 near the outer edges of the baked external electrodes 3 in the formation of Ni plated external electrodes 5 and Sn plated external electrodes 6 as will be described later in this case”, and it is noted that for the glass layer 4a to provide the protection disclosed said layer would be continuous. All claims stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-11, 13-14, 16-18, & 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (US 2020/0066452) in view of Kitada et al. (US 2016/0090661).
In regards to claim 1,
Cha ‘452 discloses a multilayer ceramic capacitor, comprising:
a ceramic main body (110 – fig. 4; [0076-0077]) including a first surface and a second surface facing each other in a first direction, a third surface and a fourth surface facing each other in a second direction and connecting the first surface and the second surface, and a fifth surface and a sixth surface facing each other in a third direction and connecting the first surface and the second surface (fig. 4; [0080]);
an internal electrode (121/122 – fig. 4; [0077])) disposed inside the ceramic main body;
a connection electrode (131a/132a – fig. 4; [0111]) covering the third surface,
wherein the connection electrode comprises a first connection electrode that at least partially covers the third surface (fig. 4),
wherein the internal electrode includes a plurality of internal electrodes disposed inside the ceramic main body (fig. 4),
wherein the plurality of internal electrodes includes a plurality of first internal electrodes (121) that extend from the third surface of the ceramic main body (fig. 4), and
wherein adjacent internal electrodes among the plurality of internal electrodes are electrically insulated from each other (fig. 4). Cha ‘452 fails to disclose a protective layer disposed on the third surface and the fourth surface of the ceramic main body; the connection electrode covering the protective layer, wherein the protective layer includes a first protective layer disposed on the third surface and a second protective layer disposed on the fourth surface, and has one or more openings positioned on the third surface and the fourth surface, the first connection electrode at least partially covers the first protective layer, wherein the first protective layer comprises a portion that protrudes further than the first connection electrode in a direction toward the fourth surface on the first and second surfaces of the ceramic main body, wherein the first protective layer further comprises a portion extending to the first surface and the second surface, and the second protective layer comprises a portion extending to the first surface and the second surface, wherein the portions of the first protective layer and the second protective layer extending to the first surface and the second surface extend continuously without an opening on the first surface and the second surface.
Kitada ‘661 discloses a multilayer ceramic capacitor, comprising:
a ceramic main body (1 – fig. 1; [0057]) including a first surface and a second surface facing each other in a first direction, a third surface and a fourth surface facing each other in a second direction and connecting the first surface and the second surface, and a fifth surface and a sixth surface facing each other in a third direction and connecting the first surface and the second surface (fig. 1);
an internal electrode (2 – fig. 1; [0057])) disposed inside the ceramic main body;
a protective layer (4 – fig. 1; [0059]) disposed on the third surface and the fourth surface of the ceramic main body; and
a connection electrode (3 – fig. 1; [0058]) covering the protective layer,
wherein the protective layer includes a first protective layer disposed on the third surface and a second protective layer disposed on the fourth surface (fig. 1), and has one or more openings positioned on the third surface and the fourth surface (fig. 1 – portion that 2 extends through),
wherein the connection electrode comprises a first connection electrode that at least partially covers the first protective layer (fig. 1),
wherein the first protective layer comprises a portion (4a – fig. 1; [0060]) that protrudes further than the first connection electrode in a direction toward the fourth surface on the first and second surfaces of the ceramic main body (fig. 1),
wherein the internal electrode includes a plurality of internal electrodes disposed inside the ceramic main body (fig. 1),
wherein the plurality of internal electrodes includes a plurality of first internal electrodes that extend from the third surface of the ceramic main body (fig. 1),
wherein the first protective layer further comprises a portion extending to the first surface and the second surface, and the second protective layer comprises a portion extending to the first surface and the second surface (fig. 1).
wherein the portions of the first protective layer and the second protective layer extending to the first surface and the second surface extend continuously without an opening on the first surface and the second surface (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a protective layer as taught by Kitada ‘661 with the capacitor of Cha ‘452 to obtain a capacitor with improved short circuit protection.
In regards to claim 3,
Cha ‘452 as modified by Kitada ‘661 further discloses wherein: the plurality of internal electrodes are connected to the connection electrode through the one or more openings (fig. 1 of Kitada ‘661).
In regards to claim 4,
Cha ‘452 as modified by Kitada ‘661 further discloses wherein: the protective layer comprises silicon (Si) oxide (table 2 of Kitada ‘661).
In regards to claim 5,
Cha ‘452 as modified by Kitada ‘661 further discloses wherein: the protective layer has an electrical conductivity of less than 10-7S/cm (table 2-3 of Kitada ‘661).
In regards to claim 6,
Cha ‘452 as modified by Kitada ‘661 further discloses wherein: the protective layer further comprises sodium oxide (Na2O) (table 2-3 of Kitada ‘661).
In regards to claim 7,
Cha ‘452 as modified by Kitada ‘661 further discloses wherein: the protective layer further comprises copper (II) oxide (CuO) (table 2-3 of Kitada ‘661).
In regards to claim 8,
Cha ‘452 as modified by Kitada ‘661 further discloses wherein: the connection electrode comprises particles of the same material as the protective layer ([0059] of Kitada ‘661).
In regards to claim 9,
Cha ‘452 as modified by Kitada ‘661 further discloses wherein: the connection electrode further comprises a second connection electrode (132a) that at least partially covers the second protective layer (fig. 4 of Cha ‘452), and
the second protective layer further comprises a portion that protrudes further than the second connection electrode in a direction toward the third surface on the first and second surfaces of the ceramic main body (fig. 1 of Kitada ‘661).
In regards to claim 10,
Cha ‘452 as modified by Kitada ‘661 further discloses further comprising: a first plating electrode (131b- fig. 4; [0111] of Cha ‘452) that at least partially covers the first connection electrode and a second plating electrode (132b- fig. 4; [0111] of Cha ‘452) that at least partially covers the second connection electrode,
wherein the first protective layer further comprises a portion that protrudes further than the first plating electrode in the direction toward the fourth surface on the first and second surfaces of the ceramic main body (fig. 1; [0060-0062] of Kitada ‘661), and
the second protective layer further comprises a portion that protrudes further than the second plating electrode in the direction toward the third surface on the first and second surfaces of the ceramic main body (fig. 1; [0060-0062] of Kitada ‘661).
In regards to claim 11,
Cha ‘452 as modified by Kitada ‘661 further discloses wherein: the first protective layer and the second protective layer further comprises a portion in contact with the ceramic main body (fig. 1 of Kitada ‘661).
In regards to claim 13,
Cha ‘452 as modified by Kitada ‘661 further discloses wherein: the protective layer includes glass including sodium (Na), copper (II) (Cu), and silicon (Si) (table 2-3 of Kitada ‘661).
In regards to claim 14,
Cha ‘452 discloses a multilayer ceramic capacitor, comprising:
a ceramic main body (110 – fig. 4; [0076-0077]) including a first surface and a second surface facing each other in a first direction, a third surface and a fourth surface facing each other in a second direction and connecting the first surface and the second surface, and a fifth surface and a sixth surface facing each other in a third direction and connecting the first surface and the second surface (fig. 4; [0080]);
an internal electrode (121/122 – fig. 4; [0077])) disposed inside the ceramic main body; wherein the internal electrode includes a plurality of internal electrodes disposed inside the ceramic main body (fig. 4),
wherein the plurality of internal electrodes includes a plurality of first internal electrodes (121) that extend from the third surface of the ceramic main body, and
wherein adjacent internal electrodes among the plurality of internal electrodes are electrically insulated from each other (fig. 4),
a connection electrode (131a/132a – fig. 4; [0111]) covering the third surface,
wherein the connection electrode includes a portion in contact with at least one internal electrode (fig. 4). Cha ‘452 fails to disclose a protective layer disposed on a portion of the third surface and a portion of the fourth surface of the ceramic main body; and the connection electrode covering the protective layer, wherein the connection electrode includes the portion in contact with at least one internal electrode through a portion where the protective layer is not positioned on the third and fourth surfaces of the ceramic main body, wherein the protective layer comprises a portion that protrudes further than the connection electrode on the first and second surfaces of the ceramic main body, wherein the protective layer further comprises a portion extending onto the first surface and the second surface, wherein the portion of the protective layer extending to the first surface and the second surface extends continuously without an opening on the first surface and the second surface.
Kitada ‘661 discloses a ceramic main body (1 – fig. 1; [0057]) including a first surface and a second surface facing each other in a first direction, a third surface and a fourth surface facing each other in a second direction and connecting the first surface and the second surface, and a fifth surface and a sixth surface facing each other in a third direction and connecting the first surface and the second surface (fig. 1);
an internal electrode (2 – fig. 1; [0057])) disposed inside the ceramic main body;
wherein the internal electrode includes a plurality of internal electrodes disposed inside the ceramic main body (fig. 1),
wherein the plurality of internal electrodes includes a plurality of first internal electrodes that extend from the third surface of the ceramic main body (fig. 1), and
a protective layer (4 – fig. 1; [0059]) disposed on a portion of the third surface and a portion of the fourth surface of the ceramic main body; and
a connection electrode (3 – fig. 1; [0058]) covering the protective layer,
wherein the connection electrode includes a portion in contact with at least one internal electrode through a portion where the protective layer is not positioned on the third and fourth surfaces of the ceramic main body (fig. 1),
wherein the protective layer comprises a portion (4a – fig. 1; [0060]) that protrudes further than the connection electrode on the first and second surfaces of the ceramic main body, wherein the protective layer further comprises a portion extending onto the first surface and the second surface (fig. 1),
wherein the portion of the protective layer extending to the first surface and the second surface extends continuously without an opening on the first surface and the second surface (fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a protective layer as taught by Kitada ‘661 with the capacitor of Cha ‘452 to obtain a capacitor with improved short circuit protection.
In regards to claim 16,
Cha ‘452 as modified by Kitada ‘661 further discloses wherein: an opening is disposed in the portion where the protective layer is not positioned on the third and fourth surfaces of the ceramic main body (fig. 1 of Kitada ‘661),
an end of the protective layer continuously extends on the first or second surface to another end of the protective layer positioned on one side of the opening (fig. 1-2; [0060] of Kitada ‘661).
In regards to claim 17,
Cha ‘452 as modified by Kitada ‘661 further discloses wherein: the protective layer comprises a first protective layer extending along the first surface, the third surface and the second surface, and a second protective layer extending along the first surface, the fourth surface and the second surface (fig. 1 of Kitada ‘661),
the connection electrode comprises a first connection electrode covering the first protective layer and a second connection electrode covering the second protective layer (fig. 4 of Cha ‘452 & fig. 1 of Kitada ‘661),
the first protective layer further comprises a portion that protrudes further than the first connection electrode in a direction toward the fourth surface on the first and second surfaces (fig. 1 of Kitada ‘661),
the second protective layer further comprises a portion that protrudes further than the second connection electrode in a direction toward the third surface on the first and second surfaces (fig. 1 of Kitada ‘661).
In regards to claim 18,
Cha ‘452 as modified by Kitada ‘661 further discloses further comprising: a first plating electrode (131b- fig. 4; [0111] of Cha ‘452) covering the first connection electrode and a second plating electrode (132b- fig. 4; [0111] of Cha ‘452) covering the second connection electrode,
wherein the first protective layer further comprises a portion that protrudes further than the first plating electrode in a direction toward the fourth surface on the first and second surfaces (fig. 1; [0060-0062] of Kitada ‘661),
the second protective layer further comprises a portion that protrudes further than the second plating electrode in a direction toward the third surface on the first and second surfaces (fig. 1; [0060-0062] of Kitada ‘661).
In regards to claim 21,
Cha ‘452 as modified by Kitada ‘661 further discloses wherein: the protective layer includes glass including sodium (Na), copper (II) (Cu), and silicon (Si) (table 2-3 of Kitada ‘661), and
the first connection electrode comprises a portion that protrudes further than the first plating electrode in a direction toward the fourth surface on the first and second surfaces (fig. 4 of Cha ‘452).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848