Detailed Action
This communication is in response to the Application filed on 2/23/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Independent Claims 1, 12 are Device, Method, and System claims, respectively.
Apparent priority: 2/8/2023
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/23/2025, 10/4/2024, 8/30/2024, and 2/23/2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (U.S. Patent Number US 20230186936 A1), in view of VILKAMO (U.S. Patent Number US 20190132674 A1).
Regarding independent Claim 1, YANG teaches
1. An electronic device comprising: a communication module, comprising communication circuitry, configured to perform wireless communication with a network; (see YANG [0033] “FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating an electronic device 101 in a network environment 100 according to various embodiments. Referring to FIG. 1, the electronic device 101 in the network environment 100 may communicate with an electronic device 102 via a first network 198 (e.g., a short-range wireless communication network), or at least one of an electronic device 104 or a server 108 via a second network 199 (e.g., a long-range wireless communication network). According to an embodiment, the electronic device 101 may communicate with the electronic device 104 via the server 108. According to an embodiment, the electronic device 101 may include a processor 120, memory 130, an input module 150, a sound output module 155, a display module 160, an audio module 170, a sensor module 176, an interface 177, a connection terminal 178, a haptic module 179, a camera module 180, a power management module 188, a battery 189, a communication module 190, a subscriber identification module (SIM) 196, or an antenna module 197. In some embodiments, at least one of the components (e.g., the connection terminal 178) may be omitted from the electronic device 101, or one or more other components may be added in the electronic device 101. In some embodiments, some of the components (e.g., the sensor module 176, the camera module 180, or the antenna module 197) may be implemented as a single component (e.g., the display module 160).”)
at least one microphone configured to collect a sound signal; at least one speaker configured to output the sound signal; (see YANG Abstract “An audio apparatus includes: a sensor; a plurality of microphones; and at least one processor configured to: obtain a speech presence probability from a sensor signal obtained using the sensor; and cancel, using the obtained speech presence probability, noise from a speech signal received from at least one of the plurality of microphones.’) memory; at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry, operatively connected to the at least one microphone and the at least one speaker, wherein the memory stores instructions executed by at least one processor and, when executed, cause the electronic device to: (see YANG [0034] The processor 120 may execute, for example, software (e.g., a program 140) to control at least one other component (e.g., a hardware or software component) of the electronic device 101 coupled with the processor 120, and may perform various data processing or computation. According to one embodiment, as at least part of the data processing or computation, the processor 120 may store a command or data received from another component (e.g., the sensor module 176 or the communication module 190) in volatile memory 132, process the command or the data stored in the volatile memory 132, and store resulting data in non-volatile memory 134. According to an embodiment, the processor 120 may include a main processor 121 (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU) or an application processor (AP)), or an auxiliary processor 123 (e.g., a graphics processing unit (GPU), a neural processing unit (NPU), an image signal processor (ISP), a sensor hub processor, or a communication processor (CP)) that is operable independently from, or in conjunction with, the main processor 121. For example, when the electronic device 101 includes the main processor 121 and the auxiliary processor 123, the auxiliary processor 123 may be adapted to consume less power than the main processor 121, or to be specific to a specified function. The auxiliary processor 123 may be implemented as separate from, or as part of the main processor 121.”) perform a call connection with an external electronic device through a network using the communication module; (see YANG [0039] “The sound output module 155 may output sound signals to the outside of the electronic device 101. The sound output module 155 may include, for example, a speaker or a receiver. The speaker may be used for general purposes, such as playing multimedia or playing record. The receiver may be used for receiving incoming calls. According to an embodiment, the receiver may be implemented as separate from, or as part of the speaker.”) process a first sound signal corresponding to a sound signal input from the external electronic device and received through the network, and output the processed first sound signal through the at least one speaker; (see YANG [0016] The audio device may further include a communication module, and the speech signal may be transmitted to an external electronic device by the communication module after cancellation of the noise therefrom.”) (see YANG [0039] “The sound output module 155 may output sound signals to the outside of the electronic device 101. The sound output module 155 may include, for example, a speaker or a receiver. The speaker may be used for general purposes, such as playing multimedia or playing record. The receiver may be used for receiving incoming calls. According to an embodiment, the receiver may be implemented as separate from, or as part of the speaker.”) detect the first sound signal output through the at least one speaker, through the microphone to generate a second sound signal; (see YANG [0039] “The sound output module 155 may output sound signals to the outside of the electronic device 101. The sound output module 155 may include, for example, a speaker or a receiver. The speaker may be used for general purposes, such as playing multimedia or playing record. The receiver may be used for receiving incoming calls. According to an embodiment, the receiver may be implemented as separate from, or as part of the speaker.”) (see Yang [0041] “The audio module 170 may convert a sound into an electrical signal and vice versa. According to an embodiment, the audio module 170 may obtain the sound via the input module 150, or output the sound via the sound output module 155 or a headphone of an external electronic device (e.g., an electronic device 102) directly (e.g., wiredly) or wirelessly coupled with the electronic device 101.”)
YANG does not specifically teach compare an energy level of a frequency band equal to or lower than a reference frequency in the first sound signal with an energy level of a frequency band equal to or lower than the reference frequency in the second sound signal; based on a result of the comparison, determine spatial information corresponding to a space in which the electronic device is located; However, VILKAMO does teach this limitation (see VILKAMO [0105] The at least one audio signal may be associated with spatial metadata. The spatial metadata associated with the at least one audio signal may contain directional information with respect to the SPAC device. The SPAC device 141 may comprise a metadata generator 147 configured to generate this metadata from the microphone array 145 signals. For example the audio signals from the microphone array may be analysed using array signal processing methods taking benefit of the differences in relative positions of the microphones in the array of microphones. The metadata may contain a parameter defining at least one direction associated with the at least one audio signal and be generated based on relative phase/time differences and/or the relative energies of the microphone signals. As with all discussed signal properties, these properties may and typically are analysed in frequency bands. For example the SPAC metadata related to the microphone-array signals may have one direction at each time-frequency instance. The metadata generator 147 may obtain frequency-band signals from the microphone array 145 using a short-time Fourier transform or any other suitable filter bank. The frequency-band signals may be analysed in frequency groups approximating perceptually determined frequency bands (e.g. Bark bands, Equivalent rectangular bands (ERB), or similar). The frequency bands, or the frequency-band groups can be analysed in time frames or otherwise adaptively in time. The aforementioned time-frequency considerations apply to all embodiments in the scope. From these time and frequency divided audio signals the metadata generator 147 may generate the direction/spatial metadata representing perceptually relevant qualities of the sound field. The metadata may contain directional information pointing to an approximate direction towards an area of directions from where a large proportion of the sound arrives at that time and for that frequency band. Furthermore the metadata generator 147 may be configured to determine other parameters such as a direct to total energy ratio associated with the identified direction, and the overall energy which is a parameter required by the consequent merging processes. In the example shown 1 direction is identified for each band. However in some embodiments the number of determined directions may be more than one. For any time period (or instance) the spatial analyser may be configured to identify or determine: a SPAC direction relative to the microphone array 145 for each frequency band; an associated ratio of the energy of the SPAC direction (or modelled audio source) to the total energy of the microphone audio signals and the total energy parameters. The directions and the energy levels may vary between measurements as they will reflect the ambience of the audio scene.”) and based on the determined spatial information, determine at least one parameter for processing a third sound signal corresponding to a voice input through the microphone. (see VILKAMO [0215] “Furthermore it is understood that at least some elements of the following capture and render apparatus may be implemented within a distributed computing system such as known as the ‘cloud’. In some embodiments the spatial audio capture device is implemented within a mobile device. The spatial audio capture device is thus configured to capture spatial audio, which, when rendered to a listener, enables the listener to experience the sound field as if they were present in the location of the spatial audio capture device. The audio object (external microphone) in some embodiments is configured to capture high quality close-up audio signals (for example from a key person's voice, or a musical instrument). When mixed to the spatial audio field, the attributes of the key source such as gain, timbre and spatial position may be adjusted in order to provide the listener with, for example, increased engagement and intelligibility.”)
YANG and VILKAMO are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of YANG to incorporate compare an energy level of a frequency band equal to or lower than a reference frequency in the first sound signal with an energy level of a frequency band equal to or lower than the reference frequency in the second sound signal; based on a result of the comparison, determine spatial information corresponding to a space in which the electronic device is located; and based on the determined spatial information, determine at least one parameter for processing a third sound signal corresponding to a voice input through the microphone of VILKAMO . This allows for high spatial reproduction at the receiver end accuracy as recognized by VILKAMO [0211].
Regarding Independent Claim 12, claim 12 is a method claim with limitations similar to that of Claim 1 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to Claim 2, YANG in view of VILKAMO teaches 2. The electronic device of claim 1,
Furthermore, VILKAMO teaches wherein the memory stores instructions cause the electronic device to: identify a difference between an average energy level of all frequency bands of the first sound signal and an average energy level of all frequency bands of the second sound signal; based on the identified difference, determine use state information of the electronic device; and based on the determined use state information, determine a parameter for processing the third sound signal. (See VILKAMO [0105] The at least one audio signal may be associated with spatial metadata. The spatial metadata associated with the at least one audio signal may contain directional information with respect to the SPAC device. The SPAC device 141 may comprise a metadata generator 147 configured to generate this metadata from the microphone array 145 signals. For example the audio signals from the microphone array may be analysed using array signal processing methods taking benefit of the differences in relative positions of the microphones in the array of microphones. The metadata may contain a parameter defining at least one direction associated with the at least one audio signal and be generated based on relative phase/time differences and/or the relative energies of the microphone signals. As with all discussed signal properties, these properties may and typically are analysed in frequency bands. For example the SPAC metadata related to the microphone-array signals may have one direction at each time-frequency instance. The metadata generator 147 may obtain frequency-band signals from the microphone array 145 using a short-time Fourier transform or any other suitable filter bank. The frequency-band signals may be analysed in frequency groups approximating perceptually determined frequency bands (e.g. Bark bands, Equivalent rectangular bands (ERB), or similar). The frequency bands, or the frequency-band groups can be analysed in time frames or otherwise adaptively in time. The aforementioned time-frequency considerations apply to all embodiments in the scope. From these time and frequency divided audio signals the metadata generator 147 may generate the direction/spatial metadata representing perceptually relevant qualities of the sound field. The metadata may contain directional information pointing to an approximate direction towards an area of directions from where a large proportion of the sound arrives at that time and for that frequency band. Furthermore the metadata generator 147 may be configured to determine other parameters such as a direct to total energy ratio associated with the identified direction, and the overall energy which is a parameter required by the consequent merging processes. In the example shown 1 direction is identified for each band. However in some embodiments the number of determined directions may be more than one. For any time period (or instance) the spatial analyser may be configured to identify or determine: a SPAC direction relative to the microphone array 145 for each frequency band; an associated ratio of the energy of the SPAC direction (or modelled audio source) to the total energy of the microphone audio signals and the total energy parameters. The directions and the energy levels may vary between measurements as they will reflect the ambience of the audio scene.”)
YANG in view of VILKAMO are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of combination of YANG and VILKAMO to incorporate the memory stores instructions cause the electronic device to: identify a difference between an average energy level of all frequency bands of the first sound signal and an average energy level of all frequency bands of the second sound signal; based on the identified difference, determine use state information of the electronic device; and based on the determined use state information, determine a parameter for processing the third sound signal of VILKAMO. This allows for high spatial reproduction at the receiver end accuracy as recognized by VILKAMO [0211].
As to Claim 3 YANG in view of VILKAMO teaches 3. The electronic device of claim 2,
Furthermore, VILKAMO teaches wherein the use state information of the electronic device comprises a state in which the electronic device is held or a state in which the electronic device is mounted on the floor. (see VILKAMO [0112] In some embodiments the audio and metadata generator 151 is configured to receive the spatial audio signals and associated metadata from the SPAC device 141. The audio and metadata generator 151 may furthermore be configured to receive at least one audio object signal. The at least one audio object signal may be from an external microphone 181. The external microphone may be an example of a ‘close’ audio source capture apparatus and may in some embodiments be a boom microphone or similar ‘neighbouring’ or close microphone capture system. The following examples are described with respect to a Lavalier microphone and thus feature a Lavalier audio signal. However some examples may be extended to any type of microphone external or separate to the SPAC device array of microphones. The following methods may be applicable to any external/additional microphones be they Lavalier microphones, hand held microphones, mounted microphones, or whatever. The external microphones can be worn/carried by persons or mounted as close-up microphones for instruments or a microphone in some relevant location which the designer wishes to capture accurately. The external microphone may in some embodiments be a microphone array. The external microphone typically comprises a small microphone on a lanyard or a microphone otherwise close to the mouth. For other sound sources, such as musical instruments, the audio signal may be provided either by a Lavalier microphone or by an internal microphone system of the instrument (e.g., pick-up microphones in the case of an electric guitar).”)
YANG in view of VILKAMO are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of combination of YANG and VILKAMO to incorporate wherein the use state information of the electronic device comprises a state in which the electronic device is held or a state in which the electronic device is mounted on the floor of VILKAMO . This allows for high spatial reproduction at the receiver end accuracy as recognized by VILKAMO [0211].
As to Claim 4 YANG in view of VILKAMO teaches 4. The electronic device of claim 2,
Furthermore, VILKAMO teaches further comprising a sensor module including at least one sensor configured to detect movement of the electronic device, wherein the memory stores instructions cause the electronic device to determine the use state information based on sensor data obtained from the sensor module. (See VILKAMO [0216] In some embodiments the audio signals generated by the object inserter may be passed to a render apparatus comprising a head tracker. The head tracker may be any suitable means for generating a positional or rotational input, for example a sensor attached to a set of headphones or integrated to a head-mounted display configured to monitor the orientation of the listener, with respect to a defined or reference orientation and provide a value or input which can be used by the render apparatus. The head tracker may be implemented by at least one gyroscope and/or digital compass.”)
YANG in view of VILKAMO are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of combination of YANG and VILKAMO to incorporate a sensor module including at least one sensor configured to detect movement of the electronic device, wherein the memory stores instructions cause the electronic device to determine the use state information based on sensor data obtained from the sensor module of VILKAMO . This allows for high spatial reproduction at the receiver end accuracy as recognized by VILKAMO [0211].
As to Claim 5 YANG in view of VILKAMO teaches 5. The electronic device of claim 1,
Furthermore, VILKAMO teaches wherein the memory stores a correction table in which the energy level of the frequency band equal to or lower than the reference frequency in the first sound signal, and the difference between the average energy level of all frequency bands of the first sound signal and the average energy level of all frequency bands of the second sound signal are mapped to the spatial information and the use state information. (see VILKAMO [0044] The scene 200 includes multiple sound-producing objects that produce the audio
YANG in view of VILKAMO are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of combination of YANG and VILKAMO to incorporate the memory stores a correction table in which the energy level of the frequency band equal to or lower than the reference frequency in the first sound signal, and the difference between the average energy level of all frequency bands of the first sound signal and the average energy level of all frequency bands of the second sound signal are mapped to the spatial information and the use state information of VILKAMO . This allows for high spatial reproduction at the receiver end accuracy as recognized by VILKAMO [0211].
As to Claim 6 YANG in view of VILKAMO teaches 6. The electronic device of claim 5,
Furthermore, VILKAMO teaches wherein the correction table further comprises the parameter mapped to the spatial information and the use state information. (See VILKAMO [0105] The at least one audio signal may be associated with spatial metadata. The spatial metadata associated with the at least one audio signal may contain directional information with respect to the SPAC device. The SPAC device 141 may comprise a metadata generator 147 configured to generate this metadata from the microphone array 145 signals. For example the audio signals from the microphone array may be analysed using array signal processing methods taking benefit of the differences in relative positions of the microphones in the array of microphones. The metadata may contain a parameter defining at least one direction associated with the at least one audio signal and be generated based on relative phase/time differences and/or the relative energies of the microphone signals. As with all discussed signal properties, these properties may and typically are analysed in frequency bands. For example the SPAC metadata related to the microphone-array signals may have one direction at each time-frequency instance. The metadata generator 147 may obtain frequency-band signals from the microphone array 145 using a short-time Fourier transform or any other suitable filter bank. The frequency-band signals may be analysed in frequency groups approximating perceptually determined frequency bands (e.g. Bark bands, Equivalent rectangular bands (ERB), or similar). The frequency bands, or the frequency-band groups can be analysed in time frames or otherwise adaptively in time. The aforementioned time-frequency considerations apply to all embodiments in the scope. From these time and frequency divided audio signals the metadata generator 147 may generate the direction/spatial metadata representing perceptually relevant qualities of the sound field. The metadata may contain directional information pointing to an approximate direction towards an area of directions from where a large proportion of the sound arrives at that time and for that frequency band. Furthermore the metadata generator 147 may be configured to determine other parameters such as a direct to total energy ratio associated with the identified direction, and the overall energy which is a parameter required by the consequent merging processes. In the example shown 1 direction is identified for each band. However in some embodiments the number of determined directions may be more than one. For any time period (or instance) the spatial analyser may be configured to identify or determine: a SPAC direction relative to the microphone array 145 for each frequency band; an associated ratio of the energy of the SPAC direction (or modelled audio source) to the total energy of the microphone audio signals and the total energy parameters. The directions and the energy levels may vary between measurements as they will reflect the ambience of the audio scene.”)
YANG in view of VILKAMO are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of combination of YANG and VILKAMO to incorporate the correction table further comprises the parameter mapped to the spatial information and the use state information of VILKAMO. This allows for high spatial reproduction at the receiver end accuracy as recognized by VILKAMO [0211].
As to Claim 7 YANG in view of VILKAMO teaches 7. The electronic device of claim 1,
Furthermore, YANG teaches wherein the at least one parameter comprises a filter value applied to a filter configured to filter the voice signal and a gain applied to an amplifier that amplifies the third sound signal. (See VILKAMO [0105] The at least one audio signal may be associated with spatial metadata. The spatial metadata associated with the at least one audio signal may contain directional information with respect to the SPAC device. The SPAC device 141 may comprise a metadata generator 147 configured to generate this metadata from the microphone array 145 signals. For example the audio signals from the microphone array may be analysed using array signal processing methods taking benefit of the differences in relative positions of the microphones in the array of microphones. The metadata may contain a parameter defining at least one direction associated with the at least one audio signal and be generated based on relative phase/time differences and/or the relative energies of the microphone signals. As with all discussed signal properties, these properties may and typically are analysed in frequency bands. For example the SPAC metadata related to the microphone-array signals may have one direction at each time-frequency instance. The metadata generator 147 may obtain frequency-band signals from the microphone array 145 using a short-time Fourier transform or any other suitable filter bank. The frequency-band signals may be analysed in frequency groups approximating perceptually determined frequency bands (e.g. Bark bands, Equivalent rectangular bands (ERB), or similar). The frequency bands, or the frequency-band groups can be analysed in time frames or otherwise adaptively in time. The aforementioned time-frequency considerations apply to all embodiments in the scope. From these time and frequency divided audio signals the metadata generator 147 may generate the direction/spatial metadata representing perceptually relevant qualities of the sound field. The metadata may contain directional information pointing to an approximate direction towards an area of directions from where a large proportion of the sound arrives at that time and for that frequency band. Furthermore the metadata generator 147 may be configured to determine other parameters such as a direct to total energy ratio associated with the identified direction, and the overall energy which is a parameter required by the consequent merging processes. In the example shown 1 direction is identified for each band. However in some embodiments the number of determined directions may be more than one. For any time period (or instance) the spatial analyser may be configured to identify or determine: a SPAC direction relative to the microphone array 145 for each frequency band; an associated ratio of the energy of the SPAC direction (or modelled audio source) to the total energy of the microphone audio signals and the total energy parameters. The directions and the energy levels may vary between measurements as they will reflect the ambience of the audio scene.”)
YANG in view of VILKAMO are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of combination of YANG and VILKAMO to incorporate the at least one parameter comprises a filter value applied to a filter configured to filter the voice signal and a gain applied to an amplifier that amplifies the third sound signal of VILKAMO. This allows for high spatial reproduction at the receiver end accuracy as recognized by VILKAMO [0211].
As to Claim 8 YANG in view of VILKAMO teaches 8. The electronic device of claim 1,
Furthermore, Vilkamo teaches, wherein the memory stores instructions cause the electronic device to determine parameters corresponding to the at least one microphone, respectively, by comparing a sound signal input from each of the at least one microphone with the first sound signal. (See VILKAMO [0105] The at least one audio signal may be associated with spatial metadata. The spatial metadata associated with the at least one audio signal may contain directional information with respect to the SPAC device. The SPAC device 141 may comprise a metadata generator 147 configured to generate this metadata from the microphone array 145 signals. For example the audio signals from the microphone array may be analysed using array signal processing methods taking benefit of the differences in relative positions of the microphones in the array of microphones. The metadata may contain a parameter defining at least one direction associated with the at least one audio signal and be generated based on relative phase/time differences and/or the relative energies of the microphone signals. As with all discussed signal properties, these properties may and typically are analysed in frequency bands. For example the SPAC metadata related to the microphone-array signals may have one direction at each time-frequency instance. The metadata generator 147 may obtain frequency-band signals from the microphone array 145 using a short-time Fourier transform or any other suitable filter bank. The frequency-band signals may be analysed in frequency groups approximating perceptually determined frequency bands (e.g. Bark bands, Equivalent rectangular bands (ERB), or similar). The frequency bands, or the frequency-band groups can be analysed in time frames or otherwise adaptively in time. The aforementioned time-frequency considerations apply to all embodiments in the scope. From these time and frequency divided audio signals the metadata generator 147 may generate the direction/spatial metadata representing perceptually relevant qualities of the sound field. The metadata may contain directional information pointing to an approximate direction towards an area of directions from where a large proportion of the sound arrives at that time and for that frequency band. Furthermore the metadata generator 147 may be configured to determine other parameters such as a direct to total energy ratio associated with the identified direction, and the overall energy which is a parameter required by the consequent merging processes. In the example shown 1 direction is identified for each band. However in some embodiments the number of determined directions may be more than one. For any time period (or instance) the spatial analyser may be configured to identify or determine: a SPAC direction relative to the microphone array 145 for each frequency band; an associated ratio of the energy of the SPAC direction (or modelled audio source) to the total energy of the microphone audio signals and the total energy parameters. The directions and the energy levels may vary between measurements as they will reflect the ambience of the audio scene.”)
YANG in view of VILKAMO are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of combination of YANG and VILKAMO to incorporate the memory stores instructions cause the electronic device to determine parameters corresponding to the at least one microphone, respectively, by comparing a sound signal input from each of the at least one microphone with the first sound signal of VILKAMO . This allows for high spatial reproduction at the receiver end accuracy as recognized by VILKAMO [0211].
As to Claim 9 YANG in view of VILKAMO teaches 9. The electronic device of claim 1,
Furthermore, YANG teaches wherein the memory stores instructions cause the electronic device to: cancel an echo component of the third sound signal based on the first sound signal; and process the third sound signal from which the echo component has been cancelled, using the determined at least one parameter. (see YANG [0071] According to various embodiments, the echo cancellation module 330 may include acoustic echo cancelers (acoustic echo canceler (AEC)) 332, 334, and 336. The echo cancellation module 330 may include a plurality of acoustic echo cancellers 332, 334, and 336. According to various embodiments, the plurality of acoustic echo cancellers 332, 334, and 336 may be connected to microphones 310-1, 310-2, and 310-3, respectively. The acoustic echo cancellers 332, 334, and 336 may be, for example, modules that perform processing so as to prevent speech of a user from being heard again via the microphones 310-1, 310-2, and 310-3 in a bidirectional communication device.”)
As to Claim 10 YANG in view of VILKAMO teaches 10. The electronic device of one claim 1,
Furthermore, Vilkamo teaches wherein the memory stores instructions cause the electronic device to, based on a difference between an energy level of all frequency bands of the third sound signal, having been processed by applying the parameter, and an energy level of all frequency bands of a pre-stored default signal having a value greater than a reference value, determine that an error has occurred in the microphone. (see VILKAMO [0105] The at least one audio signal may be associated with spatial metadata. The spatial metadata associated with the at least one audio signal may contain directional information with respect to the SPAC device. The SPAC device 141 may comprise a metadata generator 147 configured to generate this metadata from the microphone array 145 signals. For example the audio signals from the microphone array may be analysed using array signal processing methods taking benefit of the differences in relative positions of the microphones in the array of microphones. The metadata may contain a parameter defining at least one direction associated with the at least one audio signal and be generated based on relative phase/time differences and/or the relative energies of the microphone signals. As with all discussed signal properties, these properties may and typically are analysed in frequency bands. For example the SPAC metadata related to the microphone-array signals may have one direction at each time-frequency instance. The metadata generator 147 may obtain frequency-band signals from the microphone array 145 using a short-time Fourier transform or any other suitable filter bank. The frequency-band signals may be analysed in frequency groups approximating perceptually determined frequency bands (e.g. Bark bands, Equivalent rectangular bands (ERB), or similar). The frequency bands, or the frequency-band groups can be analysed in time frames or otherwise adaptively in time. The aforementioned time-frequency considerations apply to all embodiments in the scope. From these time and frequency divided audio signals the metadata generator 147 may generate the direction/spatial metadata representing perceptually relevant qualities of the sound field. The metadata may contain directional information pointing to an approximate direction towards an area of directions from where a large proportion of the sound arrives at that time and for that frequency band. Furthermore the metadata generator 147 may be configured to determine other parameters such as a direct to total energy ratio associated with the identified direction, and the overall energy which is a parameter required by the consequent merging processes. In the example shown 1 direction is identified for each band. However in some embodiments the number of determined directions may be more than one. For any time period (or instance) the spatial analyser may be configured to identify or determine: a SPAC direction relative to the microphone array 145 for each frequency band; an associated ratio of the energy of the SPAC direction (or modelled audio source) to the total energy of the microphone audio signals and the total energy parameters. The directions and the energy levels may vary between measurements as they will reflect the ambience of the audio scene.”) (See VILKAMO [0117] The combined at least one audio signals may then be output. For example, the audio signals may be stored for later processing or passed to the audio renderer.”)
YANG in view of VILKAMO are in the same field of endeavor of signal processing, therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of combination of YANG and VILKAMO to incorporate the memory stores instructions cause the electronic device to, based on a difference between an energy level of all frequency bands of the third sound signal, having been processed by applying the parameter, and an energy level of all frequency bands of a pre-stored default signal having a value greater than a reference value, determine that an error has occurred in the microphone of VILKAMO . This allows for high spatial reproduction at the receiver end accuracy as recognized by VILKAMO [0211].
As to Claim 11 YANG in view of VILKAMO teaches 11. The electronic device of claim 1,
Furthermore, YANG teaches wherein the memory stores instructions cause the electronic device to, in a speaker phone call mode, detect a first sound signal output through the at least one speaker, through the microphone, and generate the second sound signal. (see YANG [0004] “As various applications that use earphones have been developed, interest in the functions and performances of the earphones and related requirements have been increased. As an application that needs to receive speech via earphones may include a call application, a speech recognition application, and a voice recording application.”)
As to dependent Claim 13, Claim 13 is a parallel Method claim with limitations similar to that of Claim 2 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to dependent Claim 14, Claim 14 is a parallel Method claim with limitations similar to that of Claim 3 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to dependent Claim 15, Claim 15 is a parallel Method claim with limitations similar to that of Claim 4 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to dependent Claim 16, Claim 16 is a parallel Method claim with limitations similar to that of Claim 5 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to dependent Claim 17, Claim 17 is a parallel Method claim with limitations similar to that of Claim 6 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to dependent Claim 18, Claim 18 is a parallel Method claim with limitations similar to that of Claim 7 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to dependent Claim 19, Claim 19 is a parallel Method claim with limitations similar to that of Claim 9 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to dependent Claim 20, Claim 20 is a parallel Method claim with limitations similar to that of Claim 10 and is rejected under the same rational.
Conclusion
/KRISTEN MICHELLE MASTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2659
/PIERRE LOUIS DESIR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2659