DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions and Claim Status
Applicant's election with traverse of Group 2 in the reply filed on 7/16/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue burden to consider all the claims. This is not found persuasive because a search of a peptide or composition can raise different issues under 35 USC 101 as compared to a method. Further, enablement considerations are not necessarily the same for a method of administering to a subject as compared to a peptide. Also, a search of a peptide would not necessarily lead to art reading on administration of that peptide.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 7/16/26.
Claims 7-11 are being examined.
Priority
The priority information is found in the filing receipt of 4/10/24.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
37 CFR 1.831(c) states that where a sequence is presented in a drawing, reference must be made to the sequence by use of the sequence identifier in the description of the drawings or the drawing. In the instant case, Figure 5a recites numerous sequences but the description of the drawing (page 5 of the substitute specification) does not recite any sequence identifiers.
The substitute specification of 2/23/24 (Substitute Specification_Clean) does not include page numbers as required by 37 CFR 1.52(b)(5).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 recites ‘the microorganism’. For consistency with claim 8, the claim should recite ‘wherein the microorganism’.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites ‘growth of microorganisms’ and claims 8-9 refer to ‘the microorganism’. It is unclear if the intent is more than one type of microorganism (use of the plural ‘microorganisms’ in claim 7) or if the intent is multiple copies of the same type of microorganism. As such, the intended subject of claim 7 and dependent claims is unclear. Although unclear, since the specification refers to preventing (page 2 lines 8-9 of the substitute specification and embodiment 3) the claims have been interpreted such that the subject does not need to have a specific infection.
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for ‘A method comprising administering to a subject with a Streptococcus pyogenes infection an antimicrobial composition comprising a peptide wherein the peptide comprises the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO:1’, does not reasonably provide enablement for treating any and all microorganisms or treating using materials that are not publicly available. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The factors to be considered in determining whether a disclosure meets the enablement requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, have been described in In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (Fed. Cir., 1988). The court in Wands states, “Enablement is not precluded by the necessity for some experimentation, such as routine screening. However, experimentation needed to practice the invention must not be undue experimentation. The key word is ‘undue’, not ‘experimentation’” (Wands, 8 USPQ2sd 1404). Clearly, enablement of a claimed invention cannot be predicated on the basis of quantity of experimentation required to make or use the invention. “Whether undue experimentation is needed is not a single, simple factual determination, but rather is a conclusion reached by weighing many factual considerations” (Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1404). Among these factors are: (1) the nature of the invention; (2) the breadth of the claims; (3) the state of the prior art; (4) the predictability or unpredictability of the art; (5) the relative skill of those in the art; (6) the amount of direction or guidance presented; (7) the presence or absence of working examples; and (8) the quantity of experimentation necessary.
While all of these factors are considered, a sufficient amount for a prima facie case is discussed below.
(1) The nature of the invention and (2) The breadth of the claims:
Instant claim 7 recites ‘inhibiting growth or microorganisms’ where microorganisms would include bacteria, fungi and protozoa. Since the plural ‘microorganisms’ is used it would appear that all claims including the dependent claims include inhibiting any microorganism.
Claim 7 recites ‘GM-080’.
(3) The state of the prior art and (4) the predictability or unpredictability of the art:
The specification states that a particular peptide is selective for different bacteria and that whether it has bacteriostatic ability needs to be confirmed (page 13 2nd paragraph).
The specification teach that AMP-01240 is not capable of inhibiting growth of Streptococcus pyogenes (page 13 first paragraph). Thus, it is unpredictable for any given agent to necessarily be effective against a broad range of microorganisms.
(5) The relative skill of those in the art:
The level of skill in the art is high.
(6) The amount of direction or guidance presented and (7) the presence or absence of working examples:
The specification teach that AMP-01240 is not capable of inhibiting growth of Streptococcus pyogenes (page 13 first paragraph).
The specification states that a particular peptide is selective for different bacteria and that whether it has bacteriostatic ability needs to be confirmed (page 13 2nd paragraph).
The relevant data appears to relate to a single peptide or strain and a single microorganism.
Office practice related to deposit of biological material is directed by 37 CFR 1.801-1.809 and MPEP 2402-2411.05.
Claim 7 and dependents claims refer to a deposit number. It appears that the biological material (GM-080) can be used to practice the claimed invention. As such the biological material must be readily available or obtainable by a repeatable method set forth in the specification, or otherwise readily available to the public. If it is not so obtainable or available, the requirements of 35 USC 112, first paragraph, may be satisfied by a deposit of the biological material. It is not clear if the biological materials are both known and readily available to the public. The mere reference to a deposit or the biological material itself in any document or publication does not necessarily mean that the deposited biological material is readily available. Further, the 5th paragraph of MPEP 2404.01 recognizes that even if one is able to obtain the material in question that such information did not establish that such material would continue to be accessible to the public.
Further, if a deposit is made under the terms of the Budapest Treaty, then a statement, affidavit, or declaration by Applicants, or a statement by an attorney of record over his or her signature and registration number, or someone empowered to make such a statement, stating that the instant invention will be irrevocably and without restriction released to the public upon the issuance of a patent, would satisfy the deposit requirement made herein.
Deposits made under the Budapest Treaty for patent purposes in the US must include a statement of unrestricted release (see MPEP 2410.01 last paragraph). Ex parte Hildebrand, 15 USPQ2d 1662 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1990) is cited as an authority for this requirement :
The indication that a deposit has been made under conditions prescribed by the Budapest Treaty satisfy all conditions for a deposit with the sole exception for the requirement that all restrictions on access be removed on grant of the patent. Ex parte Hildebrand, 15 USPQ2d 1662 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1990).
In the absence of this statement then a properly made Budapest Treaty deposit is not proper under US patent law.
Further, section 2411.05 of the MPEP states
37 CFR 1.809(d) sets forth the requirements for the content of the specification with
respect to a deposited biological material. Specifically, the specification shall contain the
accession number for the deposit, the date of the deposit, the name and address of the
depository, and a description of the deposited biological material sufficient to specifically
identify it and to permit examination.
In the instant case, the last page of the specification refers to a deposit but does not include the date and address. As such, the requirements of 37 CFR 1.809(d) have not necessarily been met.
MPEP 2404.01 states:
“There are many factors that may be used as indicia that a biological material is known and readily available to the public. Relevant factors include commercial availability, references to the biological material in printed publications, declarations of accessibility by those working in the field, evidence of predictable isolation techniques, or an existing deposit made in accordance with these rules. Each factor alone may or may not be sufficient to demonstrate that the biological material is known and readily available. Those applicants that rely on evidence of accessibility other than a deposit take the risk that the patent may no longer be enforceable if the biological material necessary to satisfy the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112 ceases to be accessible.” In the instant case, the relevant factors do not support that the biological material is known and readily available to the public.
(8) The quantity of experimentation necessary:
Experimentation and guidance is required in numerous areas particularly related to testing against a wide range of possible microorganisms. The specification teach that AMP-01240 is not capable of inhibiting growth of Streptococcus pyogenes (page 13 first paragraph). The specification states that a particular peptide is selective for different bacteria and that whether it has bacteriostatic ability needs to be confirmed (page 13 2nd paragraph). Taken together, such experimentation and guidance is necessary because the prior art cited above teach that the state of the art is highly unpredictable. Accordingly one would be burdened with undue experimentation to determine which subjects would be suitable. Considering the state of the art as discussed by the references above, particularly with regards to the high unpredictability in the art as evidenced therein, and the lack of guidance provided in the specification, one of ordinary skill in the art would be burdened with undue experimentation to practice the invention commensurate in the scope of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahmed et al. (‘Efficacy of probiotic in perennial allergic rhinitis under five year children: A randomized controlled trial’ Pak J Med Sci 2019 v35(6) pages 1538-1543; ‘Ahmed’) as evidenced by Rampal et al. (‘20th Malaysian Society of Allergy & Immunology (MSAI) Virtual Congress: Allergy & Immunology 2021’ The Medical Journal of Malaysia 2021 v76(supplement 2) 44 total pages with the last page numbered 37; ‘Rampal’).
Ahmed teach that the probiotic Lactobacillus paracasei LP-33 was administered to subjects specifically children aged 6 to 60 months (abstract and methods on page 1539).
Rampal is cited as a universal fact (MPEP 2124) specifically to show alternate names for Lactobacillus paracasei LP-33. Rampal teach that Lactobacillus paracasei LP-33 is also known as GM-080 (page 20).
In relation to the administration of Lactobacillus paracasei GM-080 of claims 7-11, Ahmed teach that the probiotic Lactobacillus paracasei LP-33 was administered to subjects specifically children aged 6 to 60 months (abstract and methods on page 1539). Rampal teach that Lactobacillus paracasei LP-33 is also known as GM-080 (page 20). Although unclear (see 112 rejection above), since the specification refers to preventing (page 2 lines 8-9 of the substitute specification and embodiment 3) the claims have been interpreted such that the subject does not have to have a specific infection.
In relation to claims 8-9, although unclear (see 112 rejection above), since the specification refers to preventing (page 2 lines 8-9 of the substitute specification and embodiment 3) the claims have been interpreted such that the subject does not have to have a specific infection.
In relation to claim 10, Ahmed teach a specific formulation of a tablet (page 1539 3rd paragraph of 2nd column).
In relation to claim 11, Ahmed teach that the probiotic Lactobacillus paracasei LP-33 was administered to subjects specifically children aged 6 to 60 months (abstract and methods on page 1539). Rampal teach that Lactobacillus paracasei LP-33 is also known as GM-080 (page 20). Since GM-080 was administered it would be capable of the function as claimed. Ahmed teach probiotics as living microorganisms (page 1539 2nd complete paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed et al. (‘Efficacy of probiotic in perennial allergic rhinitis under five year children: A randomized controlled trial’ Pak J Med Sci 2019 v35(6) pages 1538-1543; ‘Ahmed’) and Rampal et al. (‘20th Malaysian Society of Allergy & Immunology (MSAI) Virtual Congress: Allergy & Immunology 2021’ The Medical Journal of Malaysia 2021 v76(supplement 2) 44 total pages with the last page numbered 37; ‘Rampal’) and Juhn et al. (‘Streptococcus pyogenes upper respiratory infection and atopic conditions other than asthma: a retrospective cohort study’ Prim Care Respir J 2012 v12(2) pages 153-158).
Ahmed teach that the probiotic Lactobacillus paracasei LP-33 was administered to subjects specifically children aged 6 to 60 months (abstract and methods on page 1539). Ahmed teach that the probiotic was beneficial in treating allergic rhinitis without causing any major side effect (abstract). Ahmed recognizes that allergic rhinitis is an inflammatory disorder (introduction first paragraph).
Ahmed does not teach a subject with a Streptococcus pyogenes infection.
Rampal is cited as a universal fact (MPEP 2124) specifically to show alternate names for Lactobacillus paracasei LP-33. Rampal teach that Lactobacillus paracasei LP-33 is also known as GM-080 (page 20).
Juhn teach that allergic rhinitis is associated with an increased risk of S. pyogenes infections (abstract). Juhn teach that S. pyogenes are a major cause of morbidity and mortality worldwide especially among children (first paragraph of introduction).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Ahmed because Ahmed teach that the probiotic Lactobacillus paracasei LP-33 was administered to subjects specifically children (abstract and methods on page 1539) and that the probiotic was beneficial in treating allergic rhinitis without causing any major side effect (abstract). Based on the beneficial effects, one would have been motivated to administer to specific subjects. Since Juhn teach that allergic rhinitis is associated with an increased risk of S. pyogenes infections (abstract) one would have been motivated to administer (or continue to administer) to subjects with allergic rhinitis with S. pyogenes infections. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Ahmed teach that the probiotic was beneficial in treating allergic rhinitis without causing any major side effect (abstract).
In relation to the administration of Lactobacillus paracasei GM-080 of claims 7-11, Ahmed teach that the probiotic Lactobacillus paracasei LP-33 was administered to subjects specifically children aged 6 to 60 months (abstract and methods on page 1539). Rampal teach that Lactobacillus paracasei LP-33 is also known as GM-080 (page 20). Although unclear (see 112 rejection above), since the specification refers to preventing (page 2 lines 8-9 of the substitute specification and embodiment 3) the claims have been interpreted such that the subject does not have to have a specific infection.
In relation to claims 8-9, although unclear (see 112 rejection above), since the specification refers to preventing (page 2 lines 8-9 of the substitute specification and embodiment 3) the claims have been interpreted such that the subject does not have to have a specific infection. Further, Juhn teach that allergic rhinitis is associated with an increased risk of S. pyogenes infections (abstract) so one would have been motivated to administer to such subjects.
In relation to claim 10, Ahmed teach a specific formulation of a tablet (page 1539 3rd paragraph of 2nd column).
In relation to claim 11, Ahmed teach that the probiotic Lactobacillus paracasei LP-33 was administered to subjects specifically children aged 6 to 60 months (abstract and methods on page 1539). Rampal teach that Lactobacillus paracasei LP-33 is also known as GM-080 (page 20). Since GM-080 was administered it would be capable of the function as claimed. Ahmed teach probiotics as living microorganisms (page 1539 2nd complete paragraph).
Double Patenting
Claims 7-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 6994848. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
6994848 recites methods of treating an allergy related disease including rhinitis (claims 8 and 14) where Lactobacillus paracasei GM-080 is administered to a subject (claim 1).
In relation to the administration of Lactobacillus paracasei GM-080 of claims 7-11, 6994848 recites methods of treating an allergy related disease including rhinitis (claims 8 and 14) where Lactobacillus paracasei GM-080 is administered to a subject (claim 1). Although unclear (see 112 rejection above), since the specification refers to preventing (page 2 lines 8-9 of the substitute specification and embodiment 3) the claims have been interpreted such that the subject does not have to have a specific infection.
In relation to claims 8-9, although unclear (see 112 rejection above), since the specification refers to preventing (page 2 lines 8-9 of the substitute specification and embodiment 3) the claims have been interpreted such that the subject does not have to have a specific infection.
In relation to claims 10-11, 6994848 teach live microorganisms (claim 17). Since GM-080 is taught it would be capable of the function as claimed.
Claims 7-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 6994848 in view of Ahmed et al. (‘Efficacy of probiotic in perennial allergic rhinitis under five year children: A randomized controlled trial’ Pak J Med Sci 2019 v35(6) pages 1538-1543; ‘Ahmed’) and Rampal et al. (‘20th Malaysian Society of Allergy & Immunology (MSAI) Virtual Congress: Allergy & Immunology 2021’ The Medical Journal of Malaysia 2021 v76(supplement 2) 44 total pages with the last page numbered 37; ‘Rampal’) and Juhn et al. (‘Streptococcus pyogenes upper respiratory infection and atopic conditions other than asthma: a retrospective cohort study’ Prim Care Respir J 2012 v12(2) pages 153-158).
6994848 recites methods of treating an allergy related disease including rhinitis (claims 8 and 14) where Lactobacillus paracasei GM-080 is administered to a subject (claim 1).
6994848 does not teach a subject with a Streptococcus pyogenes infection.
Ahmed teach that the probiotic Lactobacillus paracasei LP-33 was administered to subjects specifically children aged 6 to 60 months (abstract and methods on page 1539). Ahmed teach that the probiotic was beneficial in treating allergic rhinitis without causing any major side effect (abstract). Ahmed recognizes that allergic rhinitis is an inflammatory disorder (introduction first paragraph).
Rampal is cited as a universal fact (MPEP 2124) specifically to show alternate names for Lactobacillus paracasei LP-33. Rampal teach that Lactobacillus paracasei LP-33 is also known as GM-080 (page 20).
Juhn teach that allergic rhinitis is associated with an increased risk of S. pyogenes infections (abstract). Juhn teach that S. pyogenes are a major cause of morbidity and mortality worldwide especially among children (first paragraph of introduction).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of 6994848 because 6994848 teach administering GM-080 specifically to those with allergic rhinitis. Since Ahmed teach that the probiotic Lactobacillus paracasei LP-33 (the same as GM-080) was administered to subjects specifically children (abstract and methods on page 1539) and that the probiotic was beneficial in treating allergic rhinitis without causing any major side effect (abstract), one would have been motivated to administer to specific subjects based on the beneficial effects. Since Juhn teach that allergic rhinitis is associated with an increased risk of S. pyogenes infections (abstract) one would have been motivated to administer (or continue to administer) to subjects with allergic rhinitis who also have a S. pyogenes infection. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Ahmed teach that the probiotic was beneficial in treating allergic rhinitis without causing any major side effect (abstract).
In relation to the administration of Lactobacillus paracasei GM-080 of claims 7-11, 6994848 recites methods of treating an allergy related disease including rhinitis (claims 8 and 14) where Lactobacillus paracasei GM-080 is administered to a subject (claim 1). Although unclear (see 112 rejection above), since the specification refers to preventing (page 2 lines 8-9 of the substitute specification and embodiment 3) the claims have been interpreted such that the subject does not have to have a specific infection. Ahmed teach that the probiotic Lactobacillus paracasei LP-33 was administered to subjects specifically children aged 6 to 60 months (abstract and methods on page 1539). Rampal teach that Lactobacillus paracasei LP-33 is also known as GM-080 (page 20). Although unclear (see 112 rejection above), since the specification refers to preventing (page 2 lines 8-9 of the substitute specification and embodiment 3) the claims have been interpreted such that the subject does not have to have a specific infection.
In relation to claims 8-9, although unclear (see 112 rejection above), since the specification refers to preventing (page 2 lines 8-9 of the substitute specification and embodiment 3) the claims have been interpreted such that the subject does not have to have a specific infection. Further, Juhn teach that allergic rhinitis is associated with an increased risk of S. pyogenes infections (abstract) so one would have been motivated to administer to such subjects.
In relation to claim 10, Ahmed teach a specific formulation of a tablet (page 1539 3rd paragraph of 2nd column).
In relation to claim 11, Ahmed teach that the probiotic Lactobacillus paracasei LP-33 was administered to subjects specifically children aged 6 to 60 months (abstract and methods on page 1539). Rampal teach that Lactobacillus paracasei LP-33 is also known as GM-080 (page 20). Since GM-080 was administered it would be capable of the function as claimed. 6994848 teach live microorganisms (claim 17). Ahmed teach probiotics as living microorganisms (page 1539 2nd complete paragraph).
Conclusion
RONALD T. NIEBAUER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/RONALD T NIEBAUER/Examiner, Art Unit 1658