DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 7 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/26/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 & 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 15 recites, “a light-blocking coating layer is formed on at least a part of at least one of side surfaces”, but should read -- a light-blocking coating layer is formed on at least a part of at least one
Claim 5, line 3 recites, “at least one second cover member (273b)” but should read -- at least one second cover member
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Venugopal (US 20210093237 A1 - Cited by Applicant)
In regard to claim 20, Venugopal discloses a wearable device (FIG. 1, component 100) comprising a rear plate (FIG. 2, component 110) comprising multiple insert areas (paragraph [0125]; FIG. 5A, component 546) and multiple cover members disposed in the multiple insert areas (FIG. 5, components 545, 550, & 563).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 5, 8, & 13 - 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venugopal (US 20210093237 A1 - Cited by Applicant) in view of Al-Ali (US 20210290120 A1 - Cited by Applicant).
In regard to claim 1, Venugopal discloses a wearable electronic device (FIG. 1A, component 100) comprising a housing (FIG. 1A, components 105 & 110), a display (paragraph [0058]) disposed on a first surface of the housing (FIG. 1A, component 105), a rear plate (FIG. 1B, component 107) disposed on a surface of the housing opposite the first surface (FIG. 1A, component 110), and a sensor module (FIG. 10, component 1010) comprising a plurality of sensors including at least one temperature or heat sensor and one optical sensor (paragraph [0157]
). The rear plate comprises a first rear plate (FIG. 7, component 707) comprising insert areas that contain sensing elements such as emitters and detectors (paragraph [0125]; FIG. 7, components 705 & 735), a second rear plate configured to surround at least part of the first rear plate (see annotated FIG. 6B below), and cover members disposed to close the insert areas (FIG. 5A & 5B, components 750, 763, & 745). The wearable device additionally includes a first coating area comprising an optical mask or light-blocking coating layer on non-window portions of the back cover (FIG. 1, component 107; paragraph [0065]).
While Venugopal further discloses that the temperature sensor can be positioned substantially anywhere on the electronic device (paragraph [0157]), they do not specify that the temperature sensor is surrounded by the insert areas and cover members.
However, Al-Ali teaches a wearable device that includes a temperature sensor (FIG. 20A, component 610; paragraph [0297]) that is housed within a first insert area (FIG. 20D, see circular space with surrounding wall, component 626) and covered by a cover member (FIG. 20B, component 602a; paragraph [0301]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have modified the wearable device disclosed by Venugopal which includes a temperature sensor that can be positioned substantially anywhere on the electronic device (paragraph [0157]), with the teaching of Al-Ali that the temperature sensor is positioned such that it is surrounded by the insert areas and cover members because Venugopal already discloses that the temperature sensor that can be positioned substantially anywhere on the electronic device such that modifying the wearable device with the teaching of Al-Ali would be considered a simple rearrangement of parts.
In regard to claim 2, Venugopal discloses the invention of claim 1. In addition to Venugopal disclosing a light-blocking coating layer that is included on non-window portions of the back cover (FIG. 1, component 107; paragraph [0065]), Venugopal discloses a second coating area comprising a light-blocking coating layer to form an optical barrier at the openings and/or sides of the windows of insert areas (paragraph [0102]).
In regard to claims 3 & 4, Venugopal discloses the invention of claim 1. Venugopal further discloses that a first insert area is formed at a central part of the first rear plate (FIG. 5A & 5B, space under component 563) and at least one second insert area formed around the first insert area (FIG. 5A & 5B, space under components 525, 535, 545, & 550 form a ring around component 563; FIG. 5C, component 546). Venugopal discloses that an optical sensor is disposed in the second insert area, specifically behind window component 550. Venugopal further discloses that a sensor can be included behind the first insert area (paragraph [0099]) and Al-Ali further teaches that the temperature sensor (FIG. 20A, component 610) is located in the first insert area of the central part of the wearable device (FIG. 20D, see circular space with surrounding wall, component 626).
In regard to claim 5, Venugopal discloses the wearable device of claim 3, wherein the cover members or windows include a first cover member disposed on the first insert area (FIG. 5C, component 563 over the center opening (component 546) on component 507) and at least one second cover member (FIG. 5C, components 545 and 550; paragraph [0097]) disposed on the at least one second insert area (FIG. 5C, component 546 surrounding central opening).
In regard to claim 8, Venugopal discloses that the invention of claim 5 where the optical sensor comprises at least one light-emitting element (FIG. 7, components 705b and 705c) and at least one photoelectric conversion element or detector (FIG. 7, components 730 and 735). Venugopal further discloses that selectively opaque or transparent components and coatings are used to reduce unwanted crosstalk between different optical paths (paragraph [0151]), including parts of the second cover members (FIG. 5, components 545 and 550; paragraph [0109]).
In regard to claim 13, Venugopal discloses the claimed invention of claim 1. Venugopal further discloses that each insert area includes a first portion (See annotated FIG. 5B below) formed to surround a side surface of each of the cover members (See annotated FIG. 5B below, components 550, 563, & 545) and a second portion extending from the first portion (See annotated FIG. 5B below) where the width of the first portion is greater than the width of the second portion and an optical sensor is disposed within the second portion (paragraph [0097]).
In regard to claim 14, Venugopal discloses the invention of claim 1 and further discloses that the first rear plate and cover members form a curved surface (FIG. 5B).
In regard to claim 15, Venugopal discloses a wearable electronic device comprising a housing with a display on a first surface of the housing (paragraph [0008]; FIG. 1A, component 105) and a rear plate (FIG. 1A, component 110), a sensor module disposed in the housing (FIG. 10, component 1010). Venugopal further discloses that the rear plate comprises a first rear plate (FIG. 7, component 707) comprising insert areas that contain sensing elements such as emitters and detectors (paragraph [0125]; FIG. 7, components 705 & 735), a second rear plate configured to surround at least part of the first rear plate (see annotated FIG. 6B below) where the second rear plate is opaque (paragraph [0009]), and cover members disposed to close the insert areas (FIG. 5A & 5B, components 750, 763, & 745). Venugopal additionally discloses that the sensor module comprises at least one optical and temperature sensor (paragraph [0157]) where the optical sensors are disposed in spaces surrounded by the insert areas (paragraph [0125]). Venugopal further discloses that the wearable device includes a first coating area comprising an optical mask or light-blocking coating layer on non-window portions of the back cover (FIG. 1, component 107; paragraph [0065]).
While Venugopal further discloses that the temperature sensor can be positioned substantially anywhere on the electronic device (paragraph [0157]), they do not specify that the temperature sensor is surrounded by the insert areas and cover members.
However, Al-Ali teaches a wearable device that includes a temperature sensor (FIG. 20A, component 610; paragraph [0297]) that is housed within a first insert area (FIG. 20D, see circular space with surrounding wall, component 626) and covered by a cover member (FIG. 20B, component 602a; paragraph [0301]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have modified the wearable device disclosed by Venugopal which includes a temperature sensor that can be positioned substantially anywhere on the electronic device (paragraph [0157]), with the teaching of Al-Ali that the temperature sensor is positioned such that it is surrounded by the insert areas and cover members because Venugopal already discloses that the temperature sensor that can be positioned substantially anywhere on the electronic device such that modifying the wearable device with the teaching of Al-Ali would be considered a simple rearrangement of parts.
In regard to claim 16, Venugopal discloses the invention of claim 15. Venugopal further discloses that a first insert area is formed at a central part of the first rear plate (FIG. 5A & 5B, space under component 563) and at least one second insert area formed around the first insert area (FIG. 5A & 5B, space under components 525, 535, 545, & 550 form a ring around component 563; FIG. 5C, component 546). Venugopal discloses that an optical sensor is disposed in the second insert area, specifically behind window component 550. Venugopal further discloses that a sensor can be included behind the first insert area (paragraph [0099]). Venugopal further discloses that a sensor can be included behind the first insert area (paragraph [0099]) and Al-Ali further teaches that the temperature sensor (FIG. 20A, component 610) is located in the first insert area of the central part of the wearable device (FIG. 20D, see circular space with surrounding wall, component 626). Venugopal additionally discloses that the cover members or windows include a first cover member disposed on the first insert area (FIG. 5C, component 563 over the center opening (component 546) on component 507) and at least one second cover member (FIG. 5C, components 545 and 550; paragraph [0097]) disposed on the at least one second insert area (FIG. 5C, component 546 surrounding central opening).
Claims 6 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venugopal (US 20210093237 A1 - Cited by Applicant) in view of Al-Ali (US 20210290120 A1 - Cited by Applicant) as applied to claims 5 and 16 above, and further in view of Si (WO 2022127628 A1 - Cited by Applicant).
In regard to claim 6, Venugopal discloses the wearable device of claim 5. While Venugopal discloses that the wearable device includes a temperature sensor to measure heat utilizing any suitable thermal sensing technology, they do not specify that temperature is based on heat conducted through the rear plate or that a second coating area is formed on a side surface of the first cover member that comprises a thermal conductive coating layer.
However, Si teaches an electronic device and method for measuring body temperature that includes a temperature sensor (FIG. 7, component 214) positioned within an insert area (FIG. 7, see space inside casing (component 210)) where heat is conducted through the rear plate (FIG. 7, component 212) using a heat conducting cover member (FIG. 7, component 250) with high thermal conductivity configured to conduct heat from a user’s skin to the temperature sensor (Page 44 of Description, paragraph 6). Si further teaches that a thermally conductive coating layer (FIG. 7, component 216) is utilized to seal the connection between the opening of the rear plate (FIG. 7, component 212) and the side surface of the heat conducting cover member (FIG. 7, component 250; Page 44 of Description, paragraph 11)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wearable device disclosed by Venugopal that includes a temperature sensor within a first insert area with the teaching of Si that a heat conducting cover member can be used to conduct heat through the rear plate of a wearable device such that temperature of a user can be measured and that a thermally conductive coating layer can be used to seal the connection between the opening of the rear plate (FIG. 7, component 212) and the side surface of the heat conducting cover member because Venugopal already discloses that temperature can be measured utilizing any suitable thermal sensing technology such that modifying Venugopal with the teachings of Si would be considered simple substitution of one known element for another, in this case the temperature sensor configurations, to obtain the predictable results of measuring a user’s temperature.
In regard to claim 17, Venugopal discloses the wearable device of claim 16. While Venugopal discloses that the wearable device includes a temperature sensor to measure heat utilizing any suitable thermal sensing technology, they do not specify that temperature is based on heat conducted through the rear plate or that a second coating area is formed on a side surface of the first cover member that comprises a thermal conductive coating layer.
However, Si teaches an electronic device and method for measuring body temperature that includes a temperature sensor (FIG. 7, component 214) positioned within an insert area (FIG. 7, see space inside casing (component 210)) where heat is conducted through the rear plate (FIG. 7, component 212) using a heat conducting cover member (FIG. 7, component 250) with high thermal conductivity configured to conduct heat from a user’s skin to the temperature sensor (Page 44 of Description, paragraph 6). Si further teaches that a thermally conductive coating layer (FIG. 7, component 216) is utilized to seal the connection between the opening of the rear plate (FIG. 7, component 212) and the side surface of the heat conducting cover member (FIG. 7, component 250; Page 44 of Description, paragraph 11)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wearable device disclosed by Venugopal that includes a temperature sensor within a first insert area with the teaching of Si that a heat conducting cover member can be used to conduct heat through the rear plate of a wearable device such that temperature of a user can be measured and that a thermally conductive coating layer can be used to seal the connection between the opening of the rear plate (FIG. 7, component 212) and the side surface of the heat conducting cover member because Venugopal already discloses that temperature can be measured utilizing any suitable thermal sensing technology such that modifying Venugopal with the teachings of Si would be considered simple substitution of one known element for another, in this case the temperature sensor configurations, to obtain the predictable results of measuring a user’s temperature.
Claims 9, 10, & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venugopal (US 20210093237 A1 - Cited by Applicant) in view of Al-Ali (US 20210290120 A1 - Cited by Applicant) as applied to claims 5 & 15 above, and further in view of Clements (US 20230099638 A1).
In regard to claim 9, Venugopal discloses the invention of claim 1 and further discloses that the wearable device includes a first auxiliary circuit board on which the optical sensor is disposed (FIG. 4, components 430 and 435 are mounted on a printed circuit board (paragraph [0093]). While Venugopal additionally discloses that the wearable device includes a temperature sensor to measure heat utilizing any suitable thermal sensing technology (paragraph [0157]), they do not specify that a second auxiliary circuit board is disposed between the first rear plate and the first auxiliary circuit board or that the second auxiliary circuit board comprises a surface which faces the cover members and on which the temperature sensor is disposed.
However, Clements teaches a wearable system with a temperature sensing system configured to measure skin temperature (Abstract) that includes a stacked circuit board configuration (FIG. 6A) where a first and second auxiliary circuit board (FIG. 6A, components 430 & 440) are included such that the second auxiliary circuit board (FIG. 6A, component 440) is disposed between the first rear plate (FIG. 6A, bottom of housing, component 410) and the first auxiliary circuit board (FIG. 6A, component 430). Clements further teaches that the second auxiliary circuit board includes a temperature sensor (FIG. 6A, component 442; paragraph [0069] & [0088]). Clements additionally discusses that an optical sensor can be included on the circuit board arrangement in the housing. While Clements teaches that the second auxiliary circuit board (FIG. 6A, component 440) includes an optical sensor configured to emit light and detect light (paragraph [0069], they additionally teach that the placement of circuit boards and distribution of components between the circuit boards can be adjusted such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that placing the optical sensor on the first auxiliary circuit board (FIG. 6A, component 430) would be considered a simple rearrangement of parts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wearable device disclosed by Venugopal with the teaching of Clements that includes a stacked circuit board configuration with optical and temperature sensors because Venugopal discusses that biological parameters including those measured using electromagnetic radiation and temperature can be measured utilizing any suitable optical or thermal sensing technology (paragraph [0157]) such that modifying the wearable device disclosed by Venugopal with the teachings of Clements would be considered simple substitution of one known element, in this case the circuit boards and sensors disclosed by Venugopal, for another, in this case the circuit board and sensor arrangement taught by Clements, to obtain the predictable result of measuring biological parameters of a user.
In regard to claim 10, Venugopal as modified discloses the invention of claim 9. Clements further teaches that a first temperature sensor is disposed on a surface of the second auxiliary circuit board (FIG. 6A, component 440) that faces the cover member (FIG. 6A, component 450), where the first temperature sensor is an integrated thermopile within the barrier at the base of the second auxiliary circuit board (paragraph [0088]; FIG. 6A, component 610). Clements further teaches a second temperature sensor disposed on a surface of the first auxiliary circuit board (FIG. 6A, component 432). While the second temperature sensor (FIG. 6A, component 432) is shown facing away from the second auxiliary circuit board (FIG. 6A, component 432), Clements additionally teaches that the components of the wearable device including the temperature sensors may be distributed in different configurations across the auxiliary circuit boards such that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the position of second temperature sensor could be modified such that the second temperature sensor faces the second auxiliary circuit board (paragraph [0069]) as a simple rearrangement of parts.
In regard to claim 18, Venugopal discloses the invention of claim 15 and further discloses that the wearable device includes a first auxiliary circuit board on which the optical sensor is disposed (FIG. 4, components 430 and 435 are mounted on a printed circuit board (paragraph [0093]). While Venugopal additionally discloses that the wearable device includes a temperature sensor to measure heat utilizing any suitable thermal sensing technology (paragraph [0157]), they do not specify that a second auxiliary circuit board is disposed between the first rear plate and the first auxiliary circuit board or that the second auxiliary circuit board comprises a surface which faces the cover members and on which at least one temperature sensor is disposed.
However, Clements teaches a wearable system with a temperature sensing system configured to measure skin temperature (Abstract) that includes a stacked circuit board configuration (FIG. 6A) where a first and second auxiliary circuit board (FIG. 6A, components 430 & 440) are included such that the second auxiliary circuit board (FIG. 6A, component 440) is disposed between the first rear plate (FIG. 6A, bottom of housing, component 410) and the first auxiliary circuit board (FIG. 6A, component 430). Clements further teaches that the second auxiliary circuit board includes a temperature sensor (FIG. 6A, component 442; paragraph [0069] & [0088]). Clements additionally discusses that an optical sensor can be included on the circuit board arrangement in the housing. While Clements teaches that the second auxiliary circuit board (FIG. 6A, component 440) includes an optical sensor configured to emit light and detect light (paragraph [0069], they additionally teach that the placement of circuit boards and distribution of components between the circuit boards can be adjusted such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that placing the optical sensor on the first auxiliary circuit board (FIG. 6A, component 430) would be considered a simple rearrangement of parts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wearable device disclosed by Venugopal with the teaching of Clements that includes a stacked circuit board configuration with optical and temperature sensors because Venugopal discusses that biological parameters including those measured using electromagnetic radiation and temperature can be measured utilizing any suitable optical or thermal sensing technology (paragraph [0157]) such that modifying the wearable device disclosed by Venugopal with the teachings of Clements would be considered simple substitution of one known element, in this case the circuit boards and sensors disclosed by Venugopal, for another, in this case the circuit board and sensor arrangement taught by Clements, to obtain the predictable result of measuring biological parameters of a user.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venugopal (US 20210093237 A1 - Cited by Applicant) in view of Al-Ali (US 20210290120 A1 - Cited by Applicant) and further in view of Clements (US 20230099638 A1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Rothkopf (US 20160378070 A1).
In regard to claim 11, Venugopal as modified discloses the invention of claim 10. Venugopal further discloses that the rear plate is at least partially opaque (paragraph [0102]). While Venugopal additionally discloses that the electronic device may include a sensor system (FIG. 10, component 1010) including one or more sensors positioned substantially anywhere on the electronic device for measuring substantially any type of characteristic including a health monitoring sensor using any suitable sensing technology (paragraph [0157]), they do not specify that the sensor module comprises an electrode structure configured to measure biometric information of a user on an inner surface of the rear plate.
However, Rothkopf teaches a wearable device with a biosensor module (FIG. 7, component 710) within a housing (FIG. 7, component 601) where the biosensor module includes one or more optical sensors and one or more electrodes configured to measure a physiological condition or property of the user (paragraph [0148]). Rothkopf further teaches that the electrode structure is on the inner surface of a rear plate (FIG. 16, component 608), which facilitates the attachment of the biosensor module (FIG. 7, component 710) to the insert area of the housing (FIG. 7, component 601; paragraph [0148]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wearable device disclosed by Venugopal as modified with the teaching of Rothkopf that includes an electrode structure for measuring biometric information because Venugopal indicates that the wearable device includes one or more sensors positioned substantially anywhere on the electronic device for measuring substantially any type of characteristic including a health monitoring sensor using any suitable sensing technology (paragraph [0157]), such that modifying Venugopal with the teaching of Rothkopf would be considered combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of measuring a characteristic or biometric information of a user.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venugopal (US 20210093237 A1 - Cited by Applicant) in view of Al-Ali (US 20210290120 A1 - Cited by Applicant) in view of Clements (US 20230099638 A1) in view of Rothkopf (US 20160378070 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Ha (US 20210318715 A1).
In regard to claim 12, Venugopal as modified discloses the invention of claim 11. Clements further teaches a printed circuit board (FIG. 7, component 420) between the display (FIG. 1E, component 152) at the front face of the device (paragraph [0035]) and the first auxiliary circuit board (FIG. 6A, component 430). While Venugopal, Clements, and Rothkopf all discuss multiple electronics components including circuit boards and sensors, they do not specify that the wearable device further comprises a bridge connector disposed between the rear plate and sensor module or that the bridge connector is electrically connected to the electrode structure and printed circuit board.
However, Ha teaches a wearable electronic device (FIG. 2, component 10) that includes a bridge connector (FIG. 5, components 52 & 48) that form signal paths to convey signals between the contacts of the substrate (FIG. 5, component 44) which includes sensors (FIG. 5, component 56) embedded in the substrate (paragraphs [0045] - [0046]). Ha further teaches that the bridge connector is disposed between the sensor module (FIG. 5, component 56) and the rear plate (FIG. 2, bottom of component 12; Examiner notes that FIG. 5, component 14 shows the display and the bottom of the housing would be located under the structures labeled in FIG. 5) and provides electrical connection between components including sensor electrodes (paragraph [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Venugopal as modified with the teachings of Ha that a wearable device can comprise a bridge connector between the rear plate and sensor module and electrically connect to other components including an electrode structure and printed circuit board because it would be considered combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable results of electrically connecting components of a wearable electronic device to one another.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venugopal (US 20210093237 A1 - Cited by Applicant) in view of Al-Ali (US 20210290120 A1 - Cited by Applicant) in view of Clements (US 20230099638 A1) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Ha (US 20210318715 A1).
In regard to claim 19, Venugopal as modified discloses the invention of claim 18. Clements further teaches a printed circuit board (FIG. 7, component 420) between the display (FIG. 1E, component 152) at the front face of the device (paragraph [0035]) and the first auxiliary circuit board (FIG. 6A, component 430). While Venugopal and Clements both discuss multiple electronics components including circuit boards and sensors, they do not specify that the wearable device further comprises a bridge connector disposed between the rear plate and sensor module or that the bridge connector is electrically connected to an electrode structure and printed circuit board.
However, Ha teaches a wearable electronic device (FIG. 2, component 10) that includes a bridge connector (FIG. 5, components 52 & 48) that form signal paths to convey signals between the contacts of the substrate (FIG. 5, component 44) which includes sensors (FIG. 5, component 56) embedded in the substrate (paragraphs [0045] - [0046]). Ha further teaches that the bridge connector is disposed between the sensor module (FIG. 5, component 56) and the rear plate (FIG. 2, bottom of component 12; Examiner notes that FIG. 5, component 14 shows the display and the bottom of the housing would be located under the structures labeled in FIG. 5) and provides electrical connection between components including sensor electrodes (paragraph [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Venugopal as modified with the teachings of Ha that a wearable device can comprise a bridge connector between the rear plate and sensor module and electrically connect to other components including an electrode structure and printed circuit board because it would be considered combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable results of electrically connecting components of a wearable electronic device to one another.
Conclusion
/ERIC F WINAKUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/S.C.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3791