DETAILED ACTION
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: Claim 34 lines 3-5 recite …determining, by at least one computing device configured by executing code stored in non-transitory processor readable media, leg length and/or offset of a hip joint in a first pelvic image…. Leg length and offset of a hip joint are only discussed in paragraph 37 of the specification which discloses that measurements for femoral offset and leg length can be corrected and the correction can be based on changes in pelvic surgical tilt and axial rotation. Therefore is no disclosure for the computing device to determine the leg length and/or offset of the hip joint in a first pelvic image. Claim 35 lines 4-5 recite …presenting, by the at least one computing device via a graphical user interface, at least one of the altered leg length and the altered offset of the hip joint. There is no disclosure in the specification of the graphical user interface showing at least one of the altered leg length or the altered offset of the hip joint.
Double Patenting
Claims 22-24, 26-28, 34, 36, and 40-42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent 11,925,420. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the invention of claims 22-24, 26-28, 34, 36, and 40-42 of the current application and the invention of claims 1-23 of the patent lies in the fact that the invention of claims 1-23 of the patent includes more elements and is thus more specific. Thus the invention of claims 1-23 of the patent is in effect a "species" of the "generic" invention of claims 22-24, 26-28, 34, 36, and 40-42 of the current application. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the species. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claims 22-24, 26-28, 34, 36, and 40-42 are anticipated by claims 1-23, claims 22-24, 26-28, 34, 36, and 40-42 are not patentably distinct from claims 1-23.
Claims 22-24 and 26-28 of the currently application are anticipated by claims 11, 14-16, 21, and 22 of the patent
Claim 34 is anticipated by claim 11 of the patent (claim 34 is interpreted as the determined offset of the hip joint)
Claims 36 and 40-42 are anticipated by claims 1 and 4-6 of the patent
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 34 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schipper (U.S. Publication 2022/0249248).
Schipper discloses a method comprising:
(claim 34) determining by at least one computing device
(claim 34) offset of a hip joint, i.e. pelvic tilt, in a first pelvic image
(claim 34) wherein the first pelvic image is a two-dimensional anterior-posterior image (paragraphs 88-89 and 107-110; for example see Figures 16A-16C)
(claim 34) processing by at least one computing device
(claim 34) a second pelvic image presenting a 2-D lateral view of at least part of the pelvis (paragraphs 88-89 and 107-110; for example see Figure 17)
(claim 34) the first pelvic image presenting a 2-D anterior-posterior view (paragraphs 88-89; for example see Figures 11, 15, 20, and 28)
(claim 34) measuring as a function of a plurality of identified anatomical landmarks at least one of
(claim 34) distances in the first and second pelvic image
(claim 34) angles in the first and second pelvic image
(claim 34) areas in the first and second pelvic image (for example see Figures 16-18; for example see paragraphs 107-110)
(claim 34) during a surgical procedure automatically determining by the at least one computing device
(claim 34) pelvic axial rotation at the time of the first pelvic image as a function of the at least one of the distance, angle, or area of the first pelvic image and at least one of the distance, angle , or area of the second pelvic image, i.e. calculating the pelvic axial rotation based on the differences of the distance, angle, and or areas of the landmarks in the first and second pelvic image (for example see paragraphs 7, 50, and 60)
(claim 34) during a surgical procedure providing via a graphical user interface
(claim 34) information associated with the determined pelvic axial rotation (for example see paragraphs 9 and 51; pelvic tilt is a form of pelvic rotation)
(claim 35) the at least one computing device altering the offset of the hip as a function of the axial rotation, i.e. determining the position of the hip joint with a proposed hip implant (for example see paragraphs 111-118; for example see Figures 18-19)
(claim 35) the at least one computing device presenting on a graphical user interface the altered offset of the hip (for example see Figures 18-19)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22-33 and 36-47 are allowable over the prior art. However, some of the claims are rejected under non-statutory double patenting as discussed above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 22-33 and 36-47:
Regarding claims 22 and 36:
Schipper (U.S. Publication 2022/0249248) discloses a method comprising:
(claim 22) processing by at least one computing device
(claim 22) a second pelvic image presenting a 2-D lateral view of at least part of the pelvis (paragraphs 88-89)
(claim 22) a first pelvic image presenting a 2-D anterior-posterior view (paragraphs 88-89; for example see Figures 11, 15, 20, and 28)
(claim 22) measuring as a function of a plurality of identified anatomical landmarks at least one of
(claim 22) distances in the first and second pelvic image
(claim 22) angles in the first and second pelvic image
(claim 22) areas in the first and second pelvic image (for example see Figures 16-18; for example see paragraphs 107-110)
(claim 22) during a surgical procedure automatically determining by the at least one computing device
(claim 22) pelvic axial rotation at the time of the first pelvic image as a function of the at least one of the distance, angle, or area of the first pelvic image and at least one of the distance, angle , or area of the second pelvic image, i.e. calculating the pelvic axial rotation based on the differences of the distance, angle, and or areas of the landmarks in the first and second pelvic image (for example see paragraphs 7, 50, and 60)
(claim 22) during a surgical procedure providing via a graphical user interface
(claim 22) information associated with the determined pelvic axial rotation (for example see paragraphs 9 and 51; pelvic tilt is a form of pelvic rotation)
Regarding claims 36, Schipper discloses a system comprising at least one computing device configured to execute code to do the method steps discussed above.
Schipper fails to disclose the invention wherein the at least one computing device determines inclination of an implant in the first pelvic image.
The examiner was unable to find a reference or a combination of references that disclose and/or teach the limitations of the claims as presented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for cited references the examiner felt were relevant to the application.
/NICHOLAS W WOODALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775