DETAILED ACTION
Prosecution Reopened
In view of the Appeal Brief filed on 05/15/2026, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. Rejection set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
{ 4 }
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0038673 (Fukushima) in view of US 2018/0218419 (Govindaraj).
Regarding claim 1, Fukushima teaches a vehicle (Fig. 1 shows drive system 30 for vehicle) [0058] comprising: an electric machine (Fig. 1 shows electric machine 61 as part of EPU 50) [0061] for propelling the vehicle (EPU 50 comprising electric machine 61 propels the vehicle) [0061]; a battery (Fig. 1 shows battery 31) for supplying electric power to the electric machine (battery 31 supplying electric power to the electric machine 61) [0060]; and an electromagnetic interference filter (Fig. 1 shows EMI filter 150), connected between the electric machine (Fig. 1 shows EPU 50 comprising electric machine 61) and battery (Fig. 1 shows battery 31) [0067], including a housing (Fig. 4 shows housing 90), a capacitor (Fig. 1 shows EMI filter 150 comprising capacitors) [0068] disposed within and insulated from the housing (Fig. 4 shows housing 90 comprising capacitors of EMI filter 150 on circuit board 510 having an insulating board and wiring pattern) [0094, 0097, 0127], a ground busbar attached to the housing (ground busbar flanges 94 and 95 are attached to the housing 90) [0113], and an insulating cover at least partially covering a top surface of the capacitor without covering the ground busbar (Fig. 7 shows lid 99 being a cover member at least partially covering a top surface of EMI filter 150 on circuit board 510 comprising capacitor, lid 99 having heat insulating property and not covering ground busbar flanges 94 and 95 as shown in Fig. 7) [0097, 0389].
However, Fukushima does not teach a resistor having a first terminal connected to a terminal of the capacitor and a second terminal connected to the ground busbar.
However, Govindaraj teaches a resistor having a first terminal connected to a terminal of the capacitor and a second terminal connected to the ground busbar (Fig. 7 shows resistor Remi having a first terminal connected to a terminal of the capacitor Cemi and a second terminal connected to ground busbar) [0078].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a resistor having a first terminal connected to a terminal of the capacitor and a second terminal connected to the ground busbar as taught by Govindaraj in order to prevent surge current in the circuit thereby protecting the circuitry from damage.
Regarding claim 2, Fukushima teaches wherein the insulating cover defines a notch, and the ground busbar defines a protrusion configured to engage the notch (Fig. 14 shows earth busbar 604 engages to the inverter housing 90 via a component support portion 500 i.e. protrusion engage to notch) [0142-0144].
Regarding claim 7, Fukushima teaches wherein the housing is made of conductive material (Fig. 4 shows housing 90 made of conductive material) [0081], and the electromagnetic interference
filter further includes an insulation layer disposed between the capacitor and housing (EMI filter 150 in boards 510 further includes an insulation layer disposed between the capacitor and housing 90) [0094, 0127, 0208].
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0038673 (Fukushima) in view of US 2018/0218419 (Govindaraj) further in view of US 2018/0138155 (Kim).
Regarding claim 3, Fukushima and Govindaraj does not teach wherein the ground busbar further defines a recess on the protrusion configured to accommodate a portion of the resistor.
However, Kim teaches wherein the ground busbar further defines a recess on the protrusion configured to accommodate a portion of the resistor (EMI shielding layer 280 electrically connected to a ground of semiconductor package 200 or external ground wherein the semiconductor package 200 comprising resistor which is accommodated by recess on the protrusion 121, 122) [0066-0069].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the ground busbar further defines a recess on the protrusion configured to accommodate a portion of the resistor as taught by Kim in order to protect the resistor from damage while also connecting the resistor to the ground.
Regarding claim 4, Fukushima and Govindaraj does not teach wherein the terminal of the capacitor protrudes away from the top surface, and the insulating cover defines a cutout configured to accommodate the terminal of the capacitor.
However, Kim teaches wherein the terminal of the capacitor protrudes away from the top surface (Fig. 8A shows terminal of the semiconductors 121-122 i.e. capacitor protrudes away from the top surface of EMI shielding layer 180), and the insulating cover defines a cutout configured to accommodate the terminal of the capacitor (the insulating cover defines a cutout configured to accommodate the terminal of the capacitor) [0051-52].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the terminal of the capacitor protrudes away from the top surface, and the insulating cover defines a cutout configured to accommodate the terminal of the capacitor as taught by Kim in order to protect the capacitor from outside environmental factors.
Regarding claim 5, Fukushima and Govindaraj does not teach wherein the insulating cover defines a channel between the terminal of the capacitor and ground busbar and configured to accommodate the resistor.
However, Kim teaches wherein the insulating cover defines a channel between the terminal of the capacitor and ground busbar and configured to accommodate the resistor (Fig. 8A shows the insulating cover i.e. EMI shielding layer 180 define a channel between the terminal of the capacitor and ground busbar and configured to accommodate the resistor i.e. semiconductors 121-122 further seen in Fig. 9A passive components 932 and 931) [0047-48. 0084].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the insulating cover defines a channel between the terminal of the capacitor and ground busbar and configured to accommodate the resistor as taught by Kim in order to accommodate all the circuitry components in the insulated cover thereby protecting the circuitry from outside temperature and environmental conditions.
Regarding claim 6, Fukushima and Govindaraj does not teach wherein a depth of the channel is less than a depth of the insulating cover.
However, Kim teaches wherein a depth of the channel is less than a depth of the insulating cover (Fig. 8A shows depth of the channel between the terminal of the capacitor and ground busbar and configured to accommodate the resistor i.e. semiconductors 121-122 is less than depth of the insulating cover).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a depth of the channel is less than a depth of the insulating cover as taught by Kim since the insulating cover is bigger than the channel within comprising capacitor, resistor and ground.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0038673 (Fukushima) in view of US 2018/0218419 (Govindaraj) further in view of US 2006/0068856 (Zhu).
Regarding claim 8, Fukushima and Govindaraj does not teach wherein the resistor is a surface mount resistor.
However, Zhu teaches wherein the resistor is a surface mount resistor [0099].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the resistor as a surface mount resistor as taught by Zhu in order to ensure that the resistor can be mounted and removed with ease as is necessary in the circuitry to produce optimal filtration.
Claim(s) 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0038673 (Fukushima) in view of US 2018/0138155 (Kim).
Regarding claim 10, Fukushima teaches wherein the electromagnetic interference filter includes a Y-capacitor and a ground busbar (EMI filter 150 includes a Y-capacitor and a ground busbar) [0067-0068] each mounted to the housing (EMI filter 150 is on circuit board 510 which is mounted to the housing 90) [0096-0097], a non-conductive cap plate covering the Y-capacitor (lid 99 covering the Y-capacitor of EMI filter 150 on circuit board 510) [0094-0096].
However, Fukushima does not teach a surface mount resistor embedded in the non-conductive cap plate and in contact with a terminal of the capacitor and the ground busbar.
However, Kim teaches a surface mount resistor embedded in the non-conductive cap plate and in contact with a terminal of the capacitor and the ground busbar (surface mount resistor 931 of the EMI shield is embedded in the non-conductive cap plate i.e. encapsulant 940 in contact with capacitor and ground busbar 931 as shown in Fig. 9A-C) [0084, 0091-93].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a surface mount resistor embedded in the non-conductive cap plate and in contact with a terminal of the capacitor and the ground busbar as taught by Kim in order to have the surface mount resistor can be mounted and removed with ease as is necessary in the circuitry to produce optimal filtration.
Regarding claim 11, Fukushima does not teach wherein the non-conductive cap plate is plastic.
However, Kim teaches wherein the non-conductive cap plate is plastic (encapsulant 940 comprise polymer) [0098].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the non-conductive cap plate is plastic as taught by Kim in order to protect the circuitry from outside environmental conditions and heat.
Regarding claim 12, Fukushima teaches wherein the electromagnetic interference filter further includes a DC busbar connected with the Y-capacitor (EMI filter 150 includes a Y-capacitor and a DC busbar) [0067-0068].
Regarding claim 13, Fukushima does not teach wherein the non-conductive cap plate defines a slot configured to accommodate the surface mount resistor.
However, Kim teaches wherein the non-conductive cap plate defines a slot configured to accommodate the surface mount resistor (surface mount resistor 931 of the EMI shield is embedded in the non-conductive cap plate i.e. encapsulant 940 in contact with capacitor and ground busbar 931 as shown in Fig. 9A-C) [0084, 0091-93].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a surface mount resistor embedded in the non-conductive cap plate and in contact with a terminal of the capacitor and the ground busbar as taught by Kim in order to have the surface mount resistor can be mounted and removed with ease as is necessary in the circuitry to produce optimal filtration.
Regarding claim 14, Fukushima teaches an automotive component (Fig. 1 shows drive system 30 for vehicle) [0058] comprising: an inverter system controller including a housing (Fig. 4 shows inverter 80 including a housing 90) and having disposed within the housing a Y-capacitor defining a terminal [0068], a ground busbar (EMI filter 150 comprising Y-capacitor and ground busbar is on circuit board 510 which is mounted to the housing 90) [0096-0097], that lacks a printed circuit board (Fig. 1 shows drive system 30 which lacks a printed circuit board).
However, Fukushima does not teach a surface mount resistor embedded in the non-conductive cap plate and in contact with a terminal of the capacitor and the ground busbar.
However, Kim teaches a surface mount resistor embedded in the non-conductive cap plate and in contact with a terminal of the capacitor and the ground busbar (surface mount resistor 931 of the EMI shield is embedded in the non-conductive cap plate i.e. encapsulant 940 in contact with capacitor and ground busbar 931 as shown in Fig. 9A-C) [0084, 0091-93].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a surface mount resistor embedded in the non-conductive cap plate and in contact with a terminal of the capacitor and the ground busbar as taught by Kim in order to have the surface mount resistor can be mounted and removed with ease as is necessary in the circuitry to produce optimal filtration.
Regarding claim 15, Fukushima teaches further comprising a non-conductive cap plate covering the Y-capacitor (lid 99 covering the Y-capacitor of EMI filter 150 on circuit board 510) [0094- 0096].
However, Fukushima does not teach wherein the surface mount resistor is embedded in the non- conductive cap plate.
However, Kim teaches a surface mount resistor embedded in the non-conductive cap plate (surface mount resistor 931 of the EMI shield is embedded in the non-conductive cap plate i.e. encapsulant 940 in contact with capacitor and ground busbar 931 as shown in Fig. 9A-C) [0084, 0091-93].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a surface mount resistor embedded in the non-conductive cap plate and in contact with a terminal of the capacitor and the ground busbar as taught by Kim in order to have the surface mount resistor can be mounted and removed with ease as is necessary in the circuitry to produce optimal filtration.
Regarding claim 16, Fukushima does not teach wherein the non-conductive cap plate defines a slot configured to accommodate the surface mount resistor.
However, Kim teaches wherein the non-conductive cap plate defines a slot configured to accommodate the surface mount resistor (surface mount resistor 931 of the EMI shield is embedded in the non-conductive cap plate i.e. encapsulant 940 in contact with capacitor and ground busbar 931 as shown in Fig. 9A-C) [0084, 0091-93].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a surface mount resistor embedded in the non-conductive cap plate and in contact with a terminal of the capacitor and the ground busbar as taught by Kim in order to have the surface mount resistor can be mounted and removed with ease as is necessary in the circuitry to produce optimal filtration.
Regarding claim 17, Fukushima teaches wherein the Y-capacitor and ground busbar are mounted to the housing (EMI filter 150 includes a Y-capacitor and a ground busbar mounted to the housing 90) [0067-0068, 0096-0097].
Regarding claim 18, Fukushima teaches further comprising a DC busbar disposed within the housing and connected with the Y-capacitor (EMI filter 150 includes a Y-capacitor and a DC busbar disposed in the housing 90) [0067-0068, 0097].
Conclusion
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836