Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 08/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/28/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi (JP 2003346865A).
Regarding claim 1, Kawaguchi discloses a fuel cell power generator using a two-component propulsion system fuel and an oxidant [0001] (an integrated fuel cell and combustion system): the fuel cell 10 comprises an anode 10a and a cathode 10c [0010] and an electrolyte [0024] (a fuel cell having an anode, a cathode, and an electrolyte). Kawaguchi further discloses in paragraph [0018], a thruster 3 connected to a fuel tank and an oxidizer tank 2 through respective fuel and oxidizer lines, see FIG 1. Thruster 3 reacts to the fuel and the oxidizer to generate and inject high temperature gas to obtain thrust [0018]. Kawaguchi identifies the liquid fuel and liquid oxidizer as a “two liquid propellant” [0018]. Thus, the disclosed thruster 3 is a bipropellant thruster because it receives and reacts two separate propellant components, i.e., a fuel and an oxidizer, to produce thrust.
Furthermore, Kawaguchi discloses a fuel cell power generation for a spacecraft having a fuel tank 1, an oxidizer tank 2, a thruster 3 and a fuel cell 10. Paragraph [0018] discloses that fuel tank 1 and oxidizer tank 2 are connected to thruster 3 by fuel line 1a and oxidizer line 2a [0007-0008] and in this way generated high temperature gas and injected to obtain thrust [0018]. With this description, Kawaguchi teaches an embodiment that is known in the art as a combustion system because is a system that is made to have a propulsion function [0018] (a combustion system having a bipropellant thruster; a fuel source connected to the anode and the combustion system; and an oxidizer source connected to the cathode and the combustion system).
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1, Kawaguchi teaches that the liquid fuel (fuel sources) supplies is monomethylhydrazine, or ammonia [0008,0018 and 0025].
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 1, Kawaguchi teaches that the liquid oxidant (oxidizer source) supplies is nitrous oxide, or hydrogen peroxide [0008].
Regarding claim 4, Kawaguchi discloses a fuel cell power generation for a spacecraft having a fuel tank 1, an oxidizer tank 2, a thruster 3 and a fuel cell 10. Paragraph [0018] discloses that fuel tank 1 and oxidizer tank 2 are connected to thruster 3 by fuel line 1a and oxidizer line 2a [0007-0008, 0018] (a combustion system) and using a manifold system and the respective flow rates are remotely controlled, see FIG 1 [0021]. (A manifold system is by definition a system that includes valves (e.g. supply valve) and lines (e.g. fuel line) for control the distribution of flows paths of the gas fuel and for the gas oxidant line).
Regarding claim 13, as applied to claim 12, Kawaguchi teaches that the anode electrode 10a and the cathode electrode 10c of the fuel cell power generator contain an added catalyst for improving the reaction activity [0013].
Regarding claim 14, as applied to claim 1, Kawaguchi discloses that the object of the present invention can be widely used as a power source for a spacecraft such as a planetary probe or the like equipped with a propulsion engine, or a satellite, the added weight is small, and the weight of the spacecraft mission equipment can be reduced. The object is to provide a fuel cell power generator [0007], that have a two-component propulsion system (fuel and an oxidant) [0001] and discloses that the “two-component propulsion system” fuel is normally mounted with a margin to absorb the orbital injection error. According to this, the system disclosed by Kawaguchi is a bipropellant orbital maneuvering thruster.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi (JP 2003346865A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schwarz et al (US 20060105224 A1).
Regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 1, Kawaguchi teaches a fuel cell power generation for a spacecraft having a fuel tank 1, an oxidizer tank 2, a thruster 3 and a fuel cell 10 [0018]. Also, Kawaguchi in paragraph [0020-002202] describes the supply lines and the connection with the fuel cell 10.
Kawaguchi is silent about the system comprising an exhaust storage unit.
In the same field of endeavor, fuel cell, Schwarz discloses a fuel cell system with a cathode and anode side having an inlet and outlet for both streams [0001]. Schwarz further discloses that the fuel cell comprises a vessel for collecting and storing the anode exhaust gas [0012]. According to this the function of the vessel is to be an exhaust storage unit.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the fuel cell and oxidizer arrangement of Kawaguchi to incorporate the exhaust storage vessel taught by Schwarz. Schwarz discloses that if the higher purge volumetric flows are required or desired in the fuel cell system, a vessel for collecting anode exhaust gas can be used [0012] and Kawaguchi does mention a storage device pressure vessel that increase the weight of the space equipment power source [0006]. Both references disclose a fuel cell with the objective of obtaining a better weight of the space equipment power source (see [0006] of Kawaguchi and [0012] of Schwarz). The modification of including an exhaust storage unit would be a known arrangement for their known function inside the fuel cell prior art.
Kawaguchi in view of Schwarz is silent about the exhaust storage unit that is connected downstream to the fuel cell. However, Schwarz in FIG 1 shows the vessel connected to a side of the fuel cell.
The particular placement of an element was held to be obvious when shifting the location of an element would not have modified the operation of device. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ7 (CCPA 1975)
It has generally been recognized that to shift location of parts when the operation of the device is not otherwise changed is within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019,86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time to rearrange the vessel for storage the exhaust, since it have been held that a mere rearrangement of element without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to rearrange the vessel for the purpose of storage the exit exhaust gas of the fuel cell with a predictable result.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi (JP 2003346865A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Browall et al (US 20030224232 A1).
Regarding claim 6, as applied to claim 1, Kawaguchi discloses a fuel cell 10 that comprises a cathode 10c for reacting the cation with a liquid oxidant [0012].
Kawaguchi is silent about the ceramic cathode composed of lanthanum strontium manganite oxide, lanthanum strontium cobalt ferrite, or chromite.
In the same field of endeavor, fuel cell, Browall disclose methods for manufacturing fuel cells [0001]. Browall describe the parts that comprise a solide oxide fuel cells, for example the solid electrolyte layer and the electrode (anode and cathode) [0002]. Browall further teaches that the cathode usually comprises a ceramic material that is doped for high electrical conductivity, such as strontium-doped lanthanum manganite (also referred to herein as lanthanum strontium manganite) and is maintained in an oxidizing atmosphere, such as air or other gas comprising oxygen [0002].
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the cathode of Kawaguchi in view of Browall. Browall teaches that the cathode comprises pores to allow flow of gas within each electrode in order to maintain a local environment suitable for the electrochemical reactions taking place therein [0002]. Browall further teaches that when the cathode comprises disposing a mixture comprising at least one perovskite-structured ceramic material and an electrolyte material. The incorporation of electrolyte material into the cathode materials has been shown to improve electrode performance, particularly at lower temperatures, by increasing the number of available active sites [0018]. Browall discloses a known material for its known purpose of improving the electrode performance without changing the basic structure of Kawaguchi.
Claim(s) 7-8 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kawaguchi (JP 2003346865A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ruhl (4770955).
Regarding claim 7 and 8, as applied to claim 1, Kawaguchi discloses a fuel cell 10 that comprises an anode 10a for separating the aqueous solution containing the liquid fuel into cations and electrons, and the cations for the anode [0011].
Kawaguchi is silent about the material selection for the anode (e.g., nickel, NiO, TiO2, La2O3, CeO2, MgO, Y2O3, Ru, Cu-Co, or Co) and mixing the same with yttria-stabilized zirconia (YSZ)
In the same field of endeavor, fuel cell, Ruhl discloses a fuel cell 1 that includes an anode 4, cathode 5, separators 2 and 3 and an electrolyte 6 [Col. 2, ln 49-52]. Ruhl further teaches that the anode 4 compressed metallic powder blended with a stable oxide powder such as zirconia and is preferred a low-cost metallic powder, for example nickel powder [Col. 4, ln 13-18].
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the anode of Kawaguchi in view of Ruhl. Ruhl disclose a known material for an anode of a fuel cell and disclose that with the selection of this known material the inhibit excessive sintering of the metallic powder during fuel cell operations and a lower cost metallic powder [Col. 4, ln 15-18]. Ruhl teaches a known material for its known purpose without changing the basic structure and function of the fuel cell taught by Kawaguchi.
Regarding claim 10, as applied to claim 1, Kawaguchi is silent about the system comprising more than one additional fuel cells that are connected in series or in parallel.
In the same field of endeavor, fuel cell, Ruhl disclose a fuel cell assembly that includes a plurality of series-connected fuel cells each including an electrically conductive separator, a compressed or sintered oxide powder cathode contacting the separator, a solid electrolyte contacting the cathode and a compressed or sintered powder anode contacting the electrolyte [abs].
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the fuel cell power generator of Kawaguchi in view of Ruhl. Ruhl disclose that with this arrangement of stack fuel cells connected in series through the separators is for achieve the desired power output at an acceptably high voltage [Col. 1, ln 39-42 and Col. 2, ln 11-12]. Both references are directed to make an equipment (fuel cell) that generated power (see Col. 2, ln 11-12 of Ruhl and see paragraph 0007 of Kawaguchi). According to this, the connection of the fuel cells being in series or in parallel is a known arrangement for a fuel cell.
Regarding claim 11, as applied to claim 1, Kawaguchi teaches that the fuel cell comprises an anode and a cathode, wherein the anode electrode 10a and the cathode electrode 10c contain an added catalyst for improving the reaction activity [0013]. In FIG. 4 these catalytic electrodes 10a and 10c are deposited onto two opposing surfaces of the electrolyte.
Kawaguchi is silent about the fuel cell includes a thin wafer of solid-state electrolyte.
In the same field of endeavor, fuel cell, Ruhl disclose a fuel cell and fuel cell assembly [Col. 1, ln 37]. This fuel cell includes an electrolyte 5. Ruhl further disclose that the electrolyte 5 may be a thin wafer [Col. 4, ln 2].
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the electrolyte of Kawaguchi in view of the thin wafer selection of Ruhl to obtain a solid-state electrolyte. Ruhl demonstrates a known physical configuration to implement an electrolyte in the fuel cell. Applying that known configuration to the fuel cell of Kawaguchi would have been a predictable use of a known technique.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kawaguchi (JP 2003346865A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of NPL: Doping of scandia-stabilized zirconia electrolytes for fuel cell by Zhigachev (2021).
Regarding claim 9, as applied to claim 1, Kawaguchi in FIG 2 to 4 shows the case of a fuel cell using a cation exchange membrane 11a as an electrolyte [0024] and the use of an alkaline aqueous solution as an electrolyte [0042].
Kawaguchi is silent about the electrolyte being a solid-state electrolyte composed of ceramic Scandia doped zirconia.
In the same field of endeavor, electrolytes for fuel cell, Zhigachev disclose a review that briefly covers the types of ceramic electrolytes used in intermediate-temperature SOFCs and focuses on scandia-stabilized zirconia (ScSZ) electrolytes and shows that ScSZ is a promising material for IT-SOFCs [abs, sec 1 pag 32491]. According to Zhigachev, with the use of scandia-stabilized zirconia in the electrolyte an efficient IT-SOFCs with attractive power characteristics can be obtained due to the high ionic conductivity, chemical inertness towards electrodes and resistance to aging [Sec 5, pag 32501] .
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the electrolyte of Kawaguchi in view of Zhigachev. Both references include the use of an electrolyte for a fuel cell. Zhigachev teaches that zirconia electrolytes are the most frequently used material in high-temperature SOFCs because of their superior chemical and thermal stability, near-unity ionic transference number, and low cost compared to other SOFC electrolytes and also discloses that among zirconia-based materials, YSZ is the most widely used electrolyte for high-temperature SOFCs because it exhibits sufficiently high ionic conductivity at high temperatures, wherein ScSZ is an alternative zirconia-based electrolyte for IT-SOFC applications [Sec 2, pag 32492]. Zhigachecv disclosed a known material for the solid electrolyte with a known structure for its known purpose without changing the basic structure and function of the fuel cell of Kawaguchi.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi (JP 2003346865A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang (CN 111224143A).
Regarding claim 12, as applied to claim 1, Kawaguchi is silent about the fuel cell having a tubular shaped housing that encloses the cathode, the electrolyte, and the anode, as well as a cathode gas inlet, a cathode gas outlet, an anode gas inlet and an anode gas outlet.
In the same field of endeavor, fuel cell structure, Wang discloses a tubular solid oxide fuel cell structure which is divided into several layers in the axial direction, each layer contains a complete tubular fuel cell unit, and each fuel cell unit includes an outer shell layer from outside to inside, Anode electrode, electrolyte layer, cathode electrode [0007].
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the fuel cell housing of Kawaguchi in view of Wang. Wang teaches that the tubular fuel cell housing is a traditional structure known in the art [0002]. Incorporating this known tubular configuration into a fuel cell structure of Kawaguchi would have been an obvious design modification to provide a tubular arrangement accommodating the fuel cell components and separate gas flow channels for the anode and cathode, yielding a predictable fuel cell structure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Droppers (US 20160200457), Ruhl et al (US 6361892), Yoshida et al (5217822).
/NICOLAS JENNIEL ROSA BERRIOS/ Examiner, Art Unit 1741 10/20/2026
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741