DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/23/2024, and 03/22/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “6” has been used to designate both “voltage tap” and “opening”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation of claim 11, wherein the mounting aid rests over an entire surface on the first power bus (51) and/or the second power bus (52) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isaji et al. (US 20250357591 A1), and further in view of Fujii et al. (US 20200194767 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Isaji teaches a method for forming an electrically conductively formed connection ([0074]: describes the method of assembling battery pack 10, including electrical connection of components of the battery pack)
between a first power bus (51) (second connection portion 52C of the external connection positive bus bar 52 connected to positive terminal) which is electrically conductively connectable or connected to a voltage tap (6) of a terminally arranged battery cell (31) of a plurality of electrically conductively interconnected battery cells (3) ([0045,0048, 0052, 0057-0059, 0066-0068]; Figs. 15-17; assembled battery 30 includes a plurality of stacked single batteries 31 having electrode terminal 33; external connection positive bus bar 52 includes second connection portion 52C. The single batteries 31 have electrode terminals 33 that are interconnected by internal connection bus bars 41, with total positive terminal 33P1 forming the terminal at the end of the series-connected battery assembly. Total positive terminal 33P1 is electrically connected to external connection positive terminal 45P through positive terminal first relay bus bar 46P1, control board 44, positive terminal second relay bus bar 46P2, fuse 47, and positive terminal third relay bus bar 46P3. Second connection portion 52C is electrically connected to terminal 45P by connection bolt B2 ([0081]). Thus, 52C is electrically connected to the terminal/electrode side of the battery through the disclosed conductive path)
and a second power bus (52) (positive terminal third relay bus bar 46P3 connected to control board 44) electrically conductively connectable or connected to a control unit (7) of a battery module (1), (Figs. 15-17; [0056, 0058-0059, 0074]; positive terminal third relay bus bar 46P3 forms external connection positive terminal 45P at its right end, and 46P3 is part of the electrical path including control board 44. In particular, [0059] discloses the electrical path from total positive terminal 33P1 through first relay bus bar 46P1, control board 44, second relay bus bar 46P2, fuse 47, and third relay bus bar 46P3. Thus, 46P3 is electrically conductively connected to control board 44 through the intervening components of the disclosed circuit)
wherein the plurality of battery cells (3), the control unit (7) as well as the first power bus (51) and the second power bus (52) are accommodated in a housing (2) (case 20) of the battery module (1), ([0039, 0051, 0056, 0062-0063], Figs. 1, 4, 5, and 15; case 20 that accommodates all components, case 20 includes lower case 21 and upper case 22 and accommodates assembled battery 30 and bus bar module 40. Bus bar module 40 includes internal connection bus bars 41 and control board 44, and external connection positive bus bar 52 is supported by housing body 51A of external connection connector 50 associated with upper case 22)
wherein an opening (6) is provided in the housing (2), ([0068, 0070, 0073]; Fig. 7; opening 26 is provided in upper wall 22A of upper case 22.)
Isaji further teaches a connecting element (12), wherein via the connecting element (12), a mechanical connection (8) between the first power bus (51) and the second power bus (52) is formed such that an electrically conductive connection is formed between the first power bus (51) and the second power bus (52) ([0068,0070-0073, 0081], Fig. 17).
Specifically, Isaji teaches a connection structure associated with opening 26 includes auxiliary cover 27 and the aligned terminal/fastening arrangement at opening 26. Auxiliary cover 27 is positioned over opening 26 and fixed to upper wall 22A by closure bolts B3, while second connection portion 52C and terminal 45P are positioned in alignment at the opening to permit fastening thereof; this structure is used for positioning/supporting the connection at the housing opening. Isaji further teaches that connection bolt B2 is received through the aligned bolt hole of second connection portion 52C and the bolt hole of external connection positive terminal 45P and is fastened to nut N. Thus, B2 corresponds to the connecting element provided at the connection structure associated with opening 26. Isaji further teaches in Paragraph [0081] that this fastening thereby electrically connects external connection positive bus bar 52 and external connection positive terminal 45P. Accordingly, B2 provides both the mechanical fastening and electrically conductive connection between the mapped first and second power buses.
Isaji does not teach a limitation wherein a mounting aid (10) is inserted into the opening (6), and furthermore a connecting element (12) is accommodated in the mounting aid (10).
However, Fujii teaches that an insulating tool 70 is fitted into the head 44b of the bus bar fixing bolt 44, and the bus bar fixing bolt 44 is rotated in a loosening direction by the insulating tool 70 ([0044; Fig. 7B). Fujii further teaches that bus bar fixing bolt 44 is removed to release the connection between the bus bar unit 40 and the battery modules 21, 22, thereby permitting access to the electrical connection portions and maintenance thereof ([0044-0047]). Thus, Fujii teaches a removable insulating tool which receives/accommodates a portion of a connecting element for loosening the connecting element during maintenance. In light of the instant specification [0027], the mounting aid can preferably be removed from the opening after a mechanical connection has been made between first and second bus bars. Thereby mounting aid is considered as a removable component.
Further, Fujii, and Isaji are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of battery pack and, more particularly, electrically conductive bus bar connection and fastening structure within battery pack.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Isaji’s connection structure associated with opening 26-auxiliary cover 27 to employ Fujii’s removable insulating tool as a mounting aid inserted through the opening and configured to receive/accommodate connection bolt B2, in order to facilitate loosening and removal of the connecting element and thereby facilitate maintenance of the electrical connection, as taught by Fujii ([0044-0047]).
Regarding claim 2, Isaji, as modified by Fujii, teaches all limitation of claim 1 as stated above. Isaji further teaches a limitation wherein the opening (6) is arranged continuously through the housing (2) ([0070, 0073], Figs. 11, 17; opening 26 is formed through upper wall 22A of upper case 22 and communicate between the interior and exterior of the case, whereby second connection portion 52C is exposed to the outside through opening 26).
Regarding claim 3, Isaji, as modified by Fujii, teaches all limitation of claim 1 as stated above. Fujii further teaches a limitation wherein the mounting aid (10) is inserted into the opening (6) such that the mounting aid (10) rests on the first power bus (51) and/or the second power bus (52) (Fig. 7).
Specifically, Fujii discloses in Fig. 7(B) that insulating tool 70 is fitted into head 44b of bus bar fixing bolt 44 at plate member 43 in order to loosen bolt 44 and thereby release the electrical connection for maintenance ([0044-0047], Figs. 3, 7). As illustrated in Figs. 3, and 7, plate member 43 is associated with and electrically connects conductive components including bus bar 41 and terminal portion 53. Thus, insulating tool 70 is positioned at and supported by the conductive bus-bar connection structure through plate member 43.
Therefore, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, when modifying Isaji in view of Fujii above to employ the tool 70, to use said insulating tool of Fujii and apply it to the bus bars of Isaji such that the insulating tool/mounting aid rests on the conductive bus-bar connection structure, including the power bus, to provide stable positioning and support of the mounting aid while loosening the connecting element for maintenance of the electrical connection, as taught by Fujii ([0044-0047], Figs. 3, 7).
Regarding claim 4, Isaji, as modified by Fujii, teaches all limitation of claim 1 as stated above. Fujii further teaches a limitation wherein the mounting aid (10) is configured as a mounting sleeve (11).
Specifically, Fujii discloses in Fig. 7(B) that insulating tool 70 is fitted onto/into the head 44b of the bus bar fixing bolt 44 to engage and rotate the bolt. Thus, the portion of insulating tool 70 receiving bolt head 44b necessarily has a sleeve/socket configuration adapted to receive and engage the bolt head ([0044; Fig. 7B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the insulating tool/mounting aid of modified Isaji as a sleeve-shaped mounting aid adapted to receive and engage the connection element, thereby permitting the connecting element to be loosened for maintenance of the electrical connection, as taught by Fujii ([0044-0047).
Regarding claim 5, Isaji, as modified by Fujii, teaches all limitation of claim 1 as stated above. Modified Isaji further teaches a limitation wherein the connecting element (12) is configured as a screwing element (13), which engages in a thread (9) to form the mechanical connection (8).
As discussed with respect to claim 1, Isaji teaches connection bolt B2 passes through second connection portion 52C of external connection positive bus bar 52 and external connection positive terminal 45P and is fastened to nut N, thereby mechanically fastening the conductive components. Isaji, however, does not teach that connection bolt B2 is configured as the claimed screwing element which engages in a thread.
However, Fujii teaches terminal portion 53 formed of a conductive nut member including a screw hole 541 into which a shaft portion 44a of the bus bar fixing bolt 44 is screwed. Accordingly, Fujii teaches a bus bar fixing bolt 44a that is screwed into screw hole 541 formed in conductive terminal portion 53 to provide a secure mechanical fastening between electrically conductive components ([0038], Fig. 3); thus bolt 44 constitutes a screwing element and the internal threading of screw hole 541 corresponds to the claimed thread.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Isaji’s connection bolt B2 as a screwing element engaging a thread, as taught by Fujii to provide a secure mechanical fastening between electrically conductive components ([0038]). In addition, a bolt having a threaded engagement is known in the art, as taught by Fujii, such that substituting Fujii’s threaded bolt arrangement for Isaji’s bolt arrangement would have been obvious to obtain a secure mechanical fastening between electrically conductive components. See MPEP 2143 (I)(B).
Regarding claim 7, Isaji, as modified by Fujii teaches all limitation of claim 5 as stated above. Modified Isaji further teaches a limitation wherein the first power bus (51) and/or the second power bus (52) form the thread (9).
As discussed with respect to claim 5, Isaji, as modified by Fujii, teaches the screwing element engaging a thread. Isaji, however, does not teach that the first power bus (51) and/or the second power bus (52) itself form the thread (9).
However, Fujii teaches that the bus bar 41 is connected to terminal portion 53 by bus bar fixing bolt 44, wherein terminal portion 53 itself includes screw hole 541 into which bolt 44 is screwed to provide a secure mechanical fastening between electrically conductive components ([0038], Fig. 3). Thus, Fujii teaches forming the receiving thread directly in the conductive component, such that conductive component itself receives and threadedly engages the fastening bolt rather than relying on a separate nut.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to similarly form a threaded receiving hole directly in one of Isaji’s bus bars, for threaded engagement with connection bolt B2 to provide a secure mechanical fastening between electrically conductive components as taught toward by Fujii ([0038], Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Isaji teaches a battery module comprising ([0037]):
a plurality of battery cells (3) and a control unit (7) as well as a first power bus (51) and a second power bus (52), accommodated in a housing (2) of the battery module (1) ([0039, 0051, 0056, 0062-0063], Figs. 1, 4, 5, and 15; case 20 that accommodates all components case 20 includes lower case 21 and upper case 22 and accommodates assembled battery 30 and bus bar module 40. Bus bar module 40 includes internal connection bus bars 41 and control board 44, and external connection positive bus bar 52 is supported by housing body 51A of external connection connector 50 associated with upper case 22),
wherein the first power bus (51) is electrically conductively connectable or connected to a voltage tap (6) of a terminally arranged battery cell (31) of the plurality of electrically conductively connected battery cells (3), ([0045,0048, 0052, 0057-0059, 0066-0068]; Figs. 15-17; assembled battery 30 includes a plurality of stacked single batteries 31 having electrode terminal 33; external connection positive bus bar 52 includes second connection portion 52C. The single batteries 31 have electrode terminals 33 that are interconnected by internal connection bus bars 41, with total positive terminal 33P1 forming the terminal at the end of the series-connected battery assembly. Total positive terminal 33P1 is electrically connected to external connection positive terminal 45P through positive terminal first relay bus bar 46P1, control board 44, positive terminal second relay bus bar 46P2, fuse 47, and positive terminal third relay bus bar 46P3. Second connection portion 52C is electrically connected to terminal 45P by connection bolt B2 ([0081]). Thus, 52C is electrically connected to the terminal/electrode side of the battery through the disclosed conductive path)
and the second power bus (52) is electrically conductively connectable or connected to the control unit (7) of the battery module (1), (Figs. 15-17; [0056, 0058-0059, 0074]; positive terminal third relay bus bar 46P3 forms external connection positive terminal 45P at its right end, and 46P3 is part of the electrical path including control board 44. In particular, [0059] discloses the electrical path from total positive terminal 33P1 through first relay bus bar 46P1, control board 44, second relay bus bar 46P2, fuse 47, and third relay bus bar 46P3. Thus, 46P3 is electrically conductively connected to control board 44 through the intervening components of the disclosed circuit)
wherein an opening (6) is provided in the housing (2), ([0068, 0070, 0073]; Fig. 7; opening 26 is provided in upper wall 22A of upper case 2.)
Isaji further teaches a connecting element (12) forms a mechanical connection (8) between the first power bus (51) and the second power bus (52) such that an electrically conductively formed connection is formed between the first power bus (51) and the second power bus (52) ([0068,0070-0073, 0081], Fig. 17).
Specifically, Isaji teaches a connection structure associated with opening 26 includes auxiliary cover 27 and the aligned terminal/fastening arrangement at opening 26. Auxiliary cover 27 is positioned over opening 26 and fixed to upper wall 22A by closure bolts B3, while second connection portion 52C and terminal 45P are positioned in alignment at the opening to permit fastening thereof; this structure is used for positioning/supporting the connection at the housing opening. Isaji further teaches that connection bolt B2 is received through the aligned bolt hole of second connection portion 52C and the bolt hole of external connection positive terminal 45P and is fastened to nut N. Thus, B2 corresponds to the connecting element provided at the connection structure associated with opening 26. Isaji further teaches in Paragraph [0081] that this fastening thereby electrically connects external connection positive bus bar 52 and external connection positive terminal 45P. Accordingly, B2 provides both the mechanical fastening and electrically conductive connection between the mapped first and second power buses.
Isaji does not teach a limitation wherein the opening (6) is configured to receive a mounting aid (10).
However, Fujii teaches that an insulating tool 70 is fitted into the head 44b of the bus bar fixing bolt 44, and the bus bar fixing bolt 44 is rotated in a loosening direction by the insulating tool 70 ([0044; Fig. 7B). Fujii further teaches that bus bar fixing bolt 44 is removed to release the connection between the bus bar unit 40 and the battery modules 21, 22, thereby permitting access to the electrical connection portions and maintenance thereof ([0044-0047]). Thus, Fujii teaches a removable insulating tool which receives/accommodates a portion of a connecting element for loosening the connecting element during maintenance. In light of specification [0027], the mounting aid can preferably be removed from the opening after a mechanical connection has been made between first and second bus bars. Thereby mounting aid can be a removable component.
Further, Fujii, and Isaji are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of battery pack and, more particularly, electrically conductive bus bar connection and fastening structure within battery pack.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Isaji’s connection structure associated with opening 260-auxiliary cover 27 to employ Fujii’s removable insulating tool as a mounting aid inserted through the opening and configured to receive/accommodate connection bolt B2, in order to facilitate loosening and removal of the connecting element and thereby facilitate maintenance of the electrical connection, as taught by Fujii ([0044-0047]).
Regarding claim 11, Isaji, as modified by Fujii, teaches all limitation of claim 3 as stated above. Fujii further teaches a limitation wherein the mounting aid (10) rests over an entire surface on the first power bus (51) and/or the second power bus (52) ([0044], Figs. 7, 3).
Specifically, as discussed with respect to claim 3, Fujii teaches positioning insulating tool 70 at the bus-bar fastening structure and fitting insulating tool 70 into head 44b of the bus bar fixing bolt 44 for loosening the bolt and performing maintenance of the electrical connections ([0044-0047), Fig. 7).
Changes in size and shape are design choices within the ambit of a person having ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A-B)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the contacting surface of the mounting aid to rest over the available surface of the power bus when positioned at the bus-bar fastening structure, because providing surface contact between the mounting aid and the power bus would expectedly provide stable support and positioning of the mounting aid while the connecting element is being loosened or tightened during maintenance.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isaji, as modified by Fujii, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Trautmann et al. (US 20230411874 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Isaji, as modified by Fujii teaches all limitation of claim 5 as stated above. Isaji does not teach a limitation wherein a cap nut (91) forms the thread (9), wherein the first power bus (51) and the second power bus (52) are arranged between the cap nut (91) and the mounting aid (10).
Isaji teaches nut N provides the thread engaged by modified connection bolt B2, ([0072], Fig. 17 of Isaji); Isaji, however, does not disclose that nut N is a cap nut.
However, Trautmann teaches that it is known in the art to configure a nut as a cap nut. Specifically, Trautmann teaches captive nuts having an internal thread for being screwed onto an external thread, wherein the captive nuts may have a cap in which the internal thread ends in the form of a blind hole thread. More particularly, the captive nuts may be cap nuts ([0019]).
Further, modified Isaji, and Trautmann are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of battery module.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Isaji’s nut N as a cap nut, as taught by Trautmann, as a known configuration of a threaded nut. Substituting known Trautmann’s cap nut for Isaji’s nut would have been obvious to obtain a secure connection. See MPEP 2143 (I)(B).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isaji, as modified by Fujii, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Cheong et al. (US 20220006160 A1).
Regarding claim 8 and claim 9, Isaji, as modified by Fujii, teaches all limitation of claim 5 as stated above. Modified Isaji does not teach a limitation a first securing element (141) of the mounting aid (10) and a second securing element (151) of the first power bus (51) and/or the second power bus (52) interlock in a manner that does not exceed a permissible tightening torque (17); and further wherein the first securing element (141) is configured as a securing pin (142) and the second securing element (151) is configured as a recess (152).
However, Isaji teaches that housing body 51A has a lance 51A1 that is fitted into and locked to the locking hole 52A1 of the first connection portion 52A, thereby providing an interlocking arrangement ([0067], Fig. 17). The lance 51A1 corresponds to the claimed securing pin because it is a projection member that enters and engages another component, while the locking hole 52A1 corresponds to claimed recess because it is an opening formed in the bus bar that receives the lance 51A1. Thus, lance 51A1 and locking hole 52A1 interlock to secure bus bar relative to the housing ([0067], Fig. 17).
Cheong further teaches that it is known in the art that torque generated during screw locking may cause relative rotation and damage ([0004]).
Further, modified Isaji, and Cheong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of battery pack.
Therefore , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ Isaji’s pin and recess interlocking arrangement between the mounting structure and the power bus in the modified assembly, in order to secure bus bar relative to the housing, and resist relative movement during tightening of the connection elements, thereby reducing the possibility of damage caused by tightening torque, as taught by Isaji ([0067]) and Cheong ([0004]).
Conclusion
/LILI RASSOULI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/JESSIE WALLS-MURRAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728