DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-9, 12-17, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. PGPub 2021/0232963 A1 by Gimeno-Segovia et al.
Regarding claim 1, Gimeno-Segovia teaches a quantum computing apparatus (Fig. 3), comprising: a plurality of source modules each configured to generate resource states (e.g., physical qubits 309, which are also represented schematically as inputs 311a, 311b, 311c, . . . , 311N); a plurality of optical circuits (fusion array 321, e.g., for the case of photonic qubits, the fusion gates can include photon detectors coupled to one or more waveguides, beam splitters, interferometers, switches, polarizers, polarization rotators and the like, see at least ¶[0070]); and a plurality of optical connections (by way of optical fibers, e.g., the qubits from the resource states can then be routed appropriately (via integrated waveguides, optical fiber, or any other suitable photonic routing technology) to the qubit fusion system 305 of FIG. 3, see at least ¶[0102]) configured to operatively couple the plurality of source modules to the plurality of optical circuits by directing the resource states from a subset of the plurality of source modules to a subset of the plurality of optical circuits (including qubit entangling system 303 and qubit fusion system 305, which further comprise optical devices including photo source system shown in Fig. 4 and interferometers, phase shifters, photon detectors shown in Fig. 6) such that the plurality of optical circuits is configured to generate and measure a multimode entangled state (e.g, entangled states of multiple photonic qubits can be created by coupling modes of two (or more) qubits as illustrated and described in Fig. 15) that implements a quantum error correction code (¶[0091]).
Regarding claim 2, Gimeno-Segovia further teaches the plurality of source modules, the plurality of optical circuits, and the plurality of optical connections are configured into a plurality of tiles, wherein each tile of the plurality of tiles comprises: a subset of the plurality of source modules; a subset of the plurality of optical circuits; and a subset of the plurality of optical connections (as illustrated in Figs. 5, 6, each two qubits and their fusion site may be considered a single tile in the apparatus; here the tiles are interpreted to define abstract boundaries, instead of distinct, individual physical slabs).
Regarding claim 5, Gimeno-Segovia further teaches the plurality of optical connections are optical fibers (¶[0102] as stated above).
Regarding claim 6, Gimeno-Segovia further teaches the subset of the plurality of optical connections are configured to minimize a connection length of the plurality of optical connections (optical fibers are linear and therefore configured to have a minimal length absent any delayed qubits generated by a fiber loop of additional optical length, ¶[0100], Fig. 8C).
Regarding claims 7, 8, Gimeno-Segovia further teaches implementing surface code (¶[0058], [0094]) or color code (¶[0094]).
Regarding claim 9, Gimeno-Segovia further teaches a subset of the plurality of tiles are identical (each containing the same optical devices including photo source system shown in Fig. 4 and interferometers, phase shifters, photon detectors shown in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, Gimeno-Segovia further teaches the resource states are two-mode entangled continuous-variable states (the resource states 315 may be the result of quantum entanglement of two qubits 309, i.e., entangled states of multiple photonic qubits is created by coupling modes of two qubits as shown in Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 13, Gimeno-Segovia further teaches the multi-mode entangled state has a three-dimensional lattice structure in one temporal dimension and two spatial dimensions (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 14. Gimeno-Segovia teaches a method, comprising: generating resource states (e.g., physical qubits 309, which are also represented schematically as inputs 311a, 311b, 311c, . . . , 311N) from a plurality of source modules; operatively connecting the plurality of source modules to a plurality of optical circuits (fusion array 321, e.g., for the case of photonic qubits, the fusion gates can include photon detectors coupled to one or more waveguides, beam splitters, interferometers, switches, polarizers, polarization rotators and the like, see at least ¶[0070]) by directing the resource states of a subset of the source modules to a subset of the plurality of optical circuits through a plurality of optical connections (by way of optical fibers, e.g., the qubits from the resource states can then be routed appropriately (via integrated waveguides, optical fiber, or any other suitable photonic routing technology); generating, by the plurality of optical circuits, a multimode entangled state (e.g, entangled states of multiple photonic qubits can be created by coupling modes of two (or more) qubits as illustrated and described in Fig. 15) from the resource states; and implementing a quantum error correction code (¶[0091]) by measuring the multimode entangled state.
Regarding claim 15, Gimeno-Segovia further teaches the plurality of source modules, the plurality of optical circuits, and the plurality of optical connections are configured into a plurality of tiles, wherein each tile of the plurality of tiles comprises: a subset of the plurality of source modules; a subset of the plurality of optical circuits; and a subset of the plurality of optical connections (as illustrated in Figs. 5, 6, each two qubits and their fusion site may be considered a single tile in the apparatus; here the tiles are interpreted to define abstract boundaries, instead of distinct, individual physical slabs).
Regarding claim 16, Gimeno-Segovia further teaches configuring the subset of the plurality of source modules, the subset of the plurality of optical circuits, and the subset of the plurality of optical connections such that each tile of the plurality of tiles generates a subset of macronodes of the multimode entangled state (FIG. 11B shows a schematic diagram 1110 (also referred to as a circuit diagram or circuit notation) for coupling of two modes. The modes are drawn as horizontal lines 1112,1114, and the mode coupler 1116 is indicated by a vertical line that is terminated with nodes (solid dots) to identify the modes being coupled).
Regarding claim 17, Gimeno-Segovia further teaches the generating of the multimode entangled state comprises stitching the resource states in two spatial domains and one temporal domain into a three-dimensional (3D) multimode entangled state (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 19, Gimeno-Segovia further teaches the subset of the plurality of optical connections are configured to minimize a connection length of the plurality of optical connections (optical fibers are linear and therefore configured to have a minimal length absent any delayed qubits generated by a fiber loop of additional optical length, ¶[0100], Fig. 8C).
Regarding claim 20, Gimeno-Segovia further teaches implementing surface code (¶[0058], [0094]) or color code (¶[0094]).
Claim(s) 1-6, 10, 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Generation of large-scale continuous-variable cluster states multiplexed both in time and frequency domains” by Du et al. (cited by applicant via EP24159402 Written Opinion). Regarding claim 1, Du teaches a quantum computing apparatus, comprising: a plurality of source modules each configured to generate resource states; (see non-degenerate optical parametric amplifiers (NOPA), i.e. respective plurality of source modules, in Figure 3, and Figure 7(b), and see page 7, last paragraph: "The input state[...] and the signal mode S1 (comes from NOPA at t1 time) are coupled via 8S1, then two observables[ ...] can be measured, thus the first quantum teleportation is completed."); a plurality of optical circuits; and (see respective plurality in Figures 4 and 7(b)) a plurality of optical connections configured to operatively couple the plurality of source modules to the plurality of optical circuits by directing the resource states from a subset of the plurality of source modules to a subset of the plurality of optical circuits (see balanced beamsplitters (8S3 and 8S4) used to couple the signal and idler fields from two different "NOPA + delay" systems in Figure 3) such that the plurality of optical circuits is configured to generate and measure a multimode entangled state that implements a quantum error correction code (see the 3D cluster state achieving universal MBQC in page 8, paragraph 2: "The generated 3D cluster state can achieve universal MBQC by using the macronode protocol [...]", wherein the generated 3D CV cluster state is a multimode entangled state, and see implementing a quantum error correction code in page 9, paragraph 4: "[...] the 3D cluster state generated from our scheme has two layers, which means it is easier to realize more single-mode and two-mode Gaussian quantum operations and it also has more advantages in fault-tolerant and error correction of MBQC [...]", wherein in MBQC, the cluster state itself encodes quantum error correction properties, and when specific measurements are performed on the cluster state, error syndromes are detected and corrected in real-time).
Claim 14 recites a method of using the quantum computing apparatus that is inherent to the recited apparatus in claim 1 and is therefore also rejected as being anticipated by Du.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Du further teaches the plurality of source modules, the plurality of optical circuits, and the plurality of optical connections are configured into a plurality of tiles, wherein each tile of the plurality of tiles comprises: a subset of the plurality of source modules; a subset of the plurality of optical circuits; and a subset of the plurality of optical connections (see tile in Figure 4(b), see respective plurality in Figure 4(a)).
Regarding claims 3, 4 and 18, Du further teaches the subset of the plurality of optical connections includes a first plurality of connections configured to connect one or more of the subset of the plurality of source modules and/or one or more of the subset of the plurality of optical circuits to source modules and/or optical circuits of another tile and a second plurality of optical connections configured to connect the subset of source modules and the subset of optical circuits within each tile, wherein a number of the first plurality of connections is less than a number of the second plurality of connections (see figure 4(a) (i.e. first plurality of connections) and (b) (i.e. second plurality of optical connections)).
Regarding claim 5, Du further teaches using optical fibers (e.g. using fiber delays) in Figures 1 and 3), claim 7 (see Figure 4(a)).
Regarding claims 6, 19, Du further teaches the subset of the plurality of optical connections are configured to minimize a connection length of the plurality of optical connections (.
Regarding claim 10, Du further teaches a subset of the plurality of tiles are located along an edge of the apparatus such that one or more of the second plurality of connections of the subset of the plurality of unit cells terminate at one or more optical absorbers (see one or more optical absorbers implicitly disclosed in D1 (Figure 4(a)) because the controlled measurement approach in D1 needs to manage boundary conditions, i.e. managing boundary conditions can be inferred from D1's controlled connectivity and multiplexing).
Regarding claims 13, 17, Du further teaches the multi-mode entangled state has a three-dimensional lattice structure in one temporal dimension and two spatial dimensions (see Figures 3 and 4(a) wherein the lattice extends in one temporal dimension (time steps) and two spatial dimensions (the bilayer square lattice structure formed by the NOPA systems and beamsplitters)).
Regarding claim 16, Du further teaches configuring the subset of the plurality of source modules, the subset of the plurality of optical circuits, and the subset of the plurality of optical connections such that each tile of the plurality of tiles generates a subset of macronodes of the multimode entangled state (see respective macronodes in page 8, last paragraph - page 9, first paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gimeno-Segovia.
Regarding claim 3, Gimeno-Segovia further teaches the subset of the plurality of optical connections includes a first plurality of connections (waveguides 621, 623, 625, 627) configured to connect one or more of the subset of the plurality of source modules (that generate qubit 1 and qubit 2) and/or one or more of the subset of the plurality of optical circuits (of the entangling and fusion systems), i.e., connecting to the source modules/optical circuits of the same tile, but not to source modules and/or optical circuits of another tile. However, Gimeno-Segovia suggests that, in another embodiment illustrated in Fig. 14, different sets of optical waveguides (1401, 1403, 1405, 1407) in distinct, separate layers of material may be coupled by interlayer optical couplers (1414, 1416) that allow transfer of light propagating between the distinct, separate layers of material, which, in turn, enables a compact multi-channel optical coupler. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine features of different embodiments in Gimeno-Segovia’s invention, such that the waveguides connect to source modules/optical circuits of different tiles, as suggested in Fig. 14, for the advantage of compact design.
Regarding claim 18, Gimeno-Segovia further teaches the subset of the plurality of optical connections includes a first plurality of connections (waveguides 621, 623, 625, 627) configured to connect one or more of the subset of the plurality of source modules (that generate qubit 1 and qubit 2) and/or one or more of the subset of the plurality of optical circuits (of the entangling and fusion systems), i.e., connecting to the source modules/optical circuits of the same tile, but not to source modules and/or optical circuits of another tile. However, Gimeno-Segovia suggests that, in another embodiment illustrated in Fig. 14, different sets of optical waveguides (1401, 1403, 1405, 1407) in distinct, separate layers of material may be coupled by interlayer optical couplers (1414, 1416) that allow transfer of light propagating between the distinct, separate layers of material, which, in turn, enables a compact multi-channel optical coupler. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine features of different embodiments in Gimeno-Segovia’s invention, such that the waveguides connect to source modules/optical circuits of different tiles, as suggested in Fig. 14, for the advantage of compact design.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Relevant prior art of record fails to further teach or suggest a plurality of tiles, each of which comprising a subset of the plurality of source modules, a subset of the plurality of optical circuits, and a subset of the plurality of optical connections, wherein a subset of the plurality of tiles located along an edge of the apparatus includes fewer source modules and/or optical circuits than other tiles, when considered in view of the rest of the limitations of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USP11126062 disclose a method of generating entangled photonic states.
/CHARLIE Y PENG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874