DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined below.
Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 USC 112(b) or 35 USC 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 5
The claim appears to be missing language and only recites “wherein the drive shaft.”
In the instance(s) above, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine the metes and bounds of the claims, thus rendering the claimed invention vague and indefinite. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over US20090192734 (“Mackin”) in view of US6053047 (“Dister”).
Claim 20
Mackin discloses an agricultural system (abstract), comprising:
an agricultural harvester (abstract, Fig. 1);
a header coupled to the agricultural harvester, the header having a frame, a drive shaft, a plurality of row units, and a plurality of slip clutches, the drive shaft being configured to transmit power to each row unit, of the plurality of row units, through a separate slip clutch, of the plurality of slip clutches (Fig. 1, 0003 corn head, 0022 drive shaft, 0018 row units, 0019 A first plurality of slip clutches such as 50 and 52 are coupled to and between row units 20, 22, 24 and drive shaft 36.);
a vibration sensor mounted on the frame of the header, configured to generate a sensor signal indicative of sensed vibrations (0020 The corn head further includes one or more vibration sensors 58, 60, 62, 64 and 66 coupled to the toolbar or the mainframe in various alternative locations.);
a signal processing system configured to convert the sensor signal to a digital signal, and bandpass filter the digital signal to obtain a filtered signal (0022 Referring now to FIG. 2, a single vibration sensor, for example, the centrally located sensor 62 fixed to the toolbar 40 of FIG. 1 detects vibrations which are conveyed to an adjustable band pass filter 72 by way of an analog to digital converter 70. The band passed vibrations are then examined by comparator 74 to determine if the magnitude is sufficient to indicate a slipping clutch event.);
a slip detection system configured to generate a slip status output indicative of whether the slip clutch, of the plurality of slip clutches, is slipping based on a signal indicating frequency (0022 The pass band of the filter 72 is centered about this predominant frequency which is an integral multiple of the shaft rotational speed. If the magnitude of a passed frequency exceeds a predetermined threshold as indicated by comparator 74, an audio and/or visual indication is provided by annunciator 76. Annunciator 76 is generic to any electronic signaling device which can provide an indication of a slipping clutch event.).
Mackin fails to explicitly disclose wherein the signal processing system is configured to demodulate the filtered signal to obtain a demodulated signal, and transform the demodulated signal to a frequency domain signal; and the signal indicating frequency is a frequency domain signal. However, Mackin does disclose using the band pass filter and examining magnitude of the frequencies in the signal (0022), which are conventionally done in the frequency domain. Furthermore, Dister teaches a system of examining frequencies of vibration of a machine (abstract), including wherein:
the signal processing system is configured to demodulate the filtered signal to obtain a demodulated signal, and transform the demodulated signal to a frequency domain signal (Fig. 5, col. 9 lines 10-30 The digital vibration data 100 enters the processor 90 and passes through a band pass filter 102 which removes frequencies outside the scope of interest and within the dynamic range of the processor 90 to form a filtered signal 104. The filtered signal 104 passes through a rectifier 106, for example a diode, which forms a rectified signal 108. The rectified signal 108 passes through a low pass filter 110 which removes the high frequencies to form a relatively low frequency signal 112. The low frequency signal 112 is passed through a capacitor 114 to produce a demodulated signal 116. A fast Fourier transform (FFT) is performed on the demodulated signal 116 by FFT operator 118 to produce a vibration spectrum 120. The FFT operator 118 includes commercially available fast Fourier transform software such as included in MATLAB by The Math Works. The FFTs of the vibration signal data are discretized over N number of points to facilitate processing. In the preferred embodiment, N=2,048, however, it will be appreciated that the FFTs of each signal may be discretized over any suitable number of points. The vibration spectrum 120 can be analyzed by the host computer 66 to determine the health of the motor 14.); and
the signal indicating frequency is a frequency domain signal (Fig. 5, col. 9 lines 10-30 The digital vibration data 100 enters the processor 90 and passes through a band pass filter 102 which removes frequencies outside the scope of interest and within the dynamic range of the processor 90 to form a filtered signal 104. The filtered signal 104 passes through a rectifier 106, for example a diode, which forms a rectified signal 108. The rectified signal 108 passes through a low pass filter 110 which removes the high frequencies to form a relatively low frequency signal 112. The low frequency signal 112 is passed through a capacitor 114 to produce a demodulated signal 116. A fast Fourier transform (FFT) is performed on the demodulated signal 116 by FFT operator 118 to produce a vibration spectrum 120. The FFT operator 118 includes commercially available fast Fourier transform software such as included in MATLAB by The Math Works. The FFTs of the vibration signal data are discretized over N number of points to facilitate processing. In the preferred embodiment, N=2,048, however, it will be appreciated that the FFTs of each signal may be discretized over any suitable number of points. The vibration spectrum 120 can be analyzed by the host computer 66 to determine the health of the motor 14.).
Mackin and Dister both disclose signal processing systems of determining frequencies of vibration of components in a machine. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant's invention to modify the system in Mackin to include the teaching of Dister with a reasonable expectation of success in order to process the signals into a form better suited for analysis of the vibrations and detection of anomalies (Dister col. 9 lines 10-30).
Claims 1-7, 12, 13, 15-17 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Mackin in view of Dister and “Advanced Digital Signal Processing and Noise Reduction (“Vaseghi”).
Claim 1
Mackin discloses a computer implemented method (abstract), comprising:
receiving a sensor signal from a vibration sensor mounted on a frame of an agricultural header that has a drive shaft that transmits power to a row unit through a slip clutch (Fig. 1, 0003 corn head, 0022 drive shaft, 0018 row units, 0019 A first plurality of slip clutches such as 50 and 52 are coupled to and between row units 20, 22, 24 and drive shaft 36, 0020 The corn head further includes one or more vibration sensors 58, 60, 62, 64 and 66 coupled to the toolbar or the mainframe in various alternative locations.);
converting the sensor signal to a digital signal (0022 Referring now to FIG. 2, a single vibration sensor, for example, the centrally located sensor 62 fixed to the toolbar 40 of FIG. 1 detects vibrations which are conveyed to an adjustable band pass filter 72 by way of an analog to digital converter 70. The band passed vibrations are then examined by comparator 74 to determine if the magnitude is sufficient to indicate a slipping clutch event.);
applying a bandpass filter to the digital signal to obtain a filtered signal (0022 Referring now to FIG. 2, a single vibration sensor, for example, the centrally located sensor 62 fixed to the toolbar 40 of FIG. 1 detects vibrations which are conveyed to an adjustable band pass filter 72 by way of an analog to digital converter 70. The band passed vibrations are then examined by comparator 74 to determine if the magnitude is sufficient to indicate a slipping clutch event.);
obtaining an input frequency indicative of a frequency at which vibrations are induced on the frame of the agricultural header when the slip clutch is slipping (0021 Each vibration sensor may be implemented as an accelerometer or knock sensor that generates a signal indicating the frequency and amplitude of the vibrations of the frame of the corn head where the sensor is mounted. In particular, each vibration sensor 58, 60, 62, 64 and 66 is particularly configured to transmit signals at the frequencies generated by the vibrations of the slip clutches as they slip.);
comparing a frequency parameter, within a range of the input frequency, to a threshold parameter value to obtain a comparison result (0022 The vibrations are not sinusoidal, but are generally periodic having a repetition rate at a fundamental frequency with overtones of diminishing magnitude. The predominant or fundamental frequency is a product of the rotational speed of the clutch and the number of interengaging teeth. The rotational speed of the clutch is determined by sensor 68 which monitors drive shaft rotational speed. If the drive shaft 36 speed as sensed by sensor 68 is not the same as the rotational speed of the clutches, appropriate scaling will be required. Various types of slip clutches having teeth, lobes or detents (collectively called “lobes” herein) that engage each other on slip clutches similarly generate a predominant frequency. The pass band of the filter 72 is centered about this predominant frequency which is an integral multiple of the shaft rotational speed. If the magnitude of a passed frequency exceeds a predetermined threshold as indicated by comparator 74, an audio and/or visual indication is provided by annunciator 76. Annunciator 76 is generic to any electronic signaling device which can provide an indication of a slipping clutch event.); and
generating a slip status output indicative of whether the slip clutch is slipping based on the comparison result (0022 The vibrations are not sinusoidal, but are generally periodic having a repetition rate at a fundamental frequency with overtones of diminishing magnitude. The predominant or fundamental frequency is a product of the rotational speed of the clutch and the number of interengaging teeth. The rotational speed of the clutch is determined by sensor 68 which monitors drive shaft rotational speed. If the drive shaft 36 speed as sensed by sensor 68 is not the same as the rotational speed of the clutches, appropriate scaling will be required. Various types of slip clutches having teeth, lobes or detents (collectively called “lobes” herein) that engage each other on slip clutches similarly generate a predominant frequency. The pass band of the filter 72 is centered about this predominant frequency which is an integral multiple of the shaft rotational speed. If the magnitude of a passed frequency exceeds a predetermined threshold as indicated by comparator 74, an audio and/or visual indication is provided by annunciator 76. Annunciator 76 is generic to any electronic signaling device which can provide an indication of a slipping clutch event.).
Mackin fails to explicitly disclose demodulating the filtered signal to obtain a demodulated signal; transforming the demodulated signal to a frequency domain signal; and wherein the signal indicating frequency is a frequency domain signal. However, Mackin does disclose using the band pass filter and examining magnitude of the frequencies in the signal (0022), which are conventionally done in the frequency domain. Furthermore, Dister teaches a system of examining frequencies of vibration of a machine (abstract), including wherein:
demodulating the filtered signal to obtain a demodulated signal (Fig. 5, col. 9 lines 10-30 The digital vibration data 100 enters the processor 90 and passes through a band pass filter 102 which removes frequencies outside the scope of interest and within the dynamic range of the processor 90 to form a filtered signal 104. The filtered signal 104 passes through a rectifier 106, for example a diode, which forms a rectified signal 108. The rectified signal 108 passes through a low pass filter 110 which removes the high frequencies to form a relatively low frequency signal 112. The low frequency signal 112 is passed through a capacitor 114 to produce a demodulated signal 116. A fast Fourier transform (FFT) is performed on the demodulated signal 116 by FFT operator 118 to produce a vibration spectrum 120. The FFT operator 118 includes commercially available fast Fourier transform software such as included in MATLAB by The Math Works. The FFTs of the vibration signal data are discretized over N number of points to facilitate processing. In the preferred embodiment, N=2,048, however, it will be appreciated that the FFTs of each signal may be discretized over any suitable number of points. The vibration spectrum 120 can be analyzed by the host computer 66 to determine the health of the motor 14.);
transforming the demodulated signal to a frequency domain signal (Fig. 5, col. 9 lines 10-30 The digital vibration data 100 enters the processor 90 and passes through a band pass filter 102 which removes frequencies outside the scope of interest and within the dynamic range of the processor 90 to form a filtered signal 104. The filtered signal 104 passes through a rectifier 106, for example a diode, which forms a rectified signal 108. The rectified signal 108 passes through a low pass filter 110 which removes the high frequencies to form a relatively low frequency signal 112. The low frequency signal 112 is passed through a capacitor 114 to produce a demodulated signal 116. A fast Fourier transform (FFT) is performed on the demodulated signal 116 by FFT operator 118 to produce a vibration spectrum 120. The FFT operator 118 includes commercially available fast Fourier transform software such as included in MATLAB by The Math Works. The FFTs of the vibration signal data are discretized over N number of points to facilitate processing. In the preferred embodiment, N=2,048, however, it will be appreciated that the FFTs of each signal may be discretized over any suitable number of points. The vibration spectrum 120 can be analyzed by the host computer 66 to determine the health of the motor 14.); and
wherein the signal indicating frequency is a frequency domain signal (Fig. 5, col. 9 lines 10-30 The digital vibration data 100 enters the processor 90 and passes through a band pass filter 102 which removes frequencies outside the scope of interest and within the dynamic range of the processor 90 to form a filtered signal 104. The filtered signal 104 passes through a rectifier 106, for example a diode, which forms a rectified signal 108. The rectified signal 108 passes through a low pass filter 110 which removes the high frequencies to form a relatively low frequency signal 112. The low frequency signal 112 is passed through a capacitor 114 to produce a demodulated signal 116. A fast Fourier transform (FFT) is performed on the demodulated signal 116 by FFT operator 118 to produce a vibration spectrum 120. The FFT operator 118 includes commercially available fast Fourier transform software such as included in MATLAB by The Math Works. The FFTs of the vibration signal data are discretized over N number of points to facilitate processing. In the preferred embodiment, N=2,048, however, it will be appreciated that the FFTs of each signal may be discretized over any suitable number of points. The vibration spectrum 120 can be analyzed by the host computer 66 to determine the health of the motor 14.).
See prior art rejection of claim 20 for obviousness and reasons to combine.
Additionally, Mackin fails to disclose wherein the frequency parameter is a power of the frequency domain signal. However, Mackin does disclose using magnitude (upon which signal power is based) of a specific frequency compared to a threshold (0022). Furthermore, Vaseghi teaches, in the field of signal processing:
wherein the frequency parameter is a power of the frequency domain signal (p. 242-243 Fig. 9.1, The power spectrum of a signal gives the distribution of the signal power among various frequencies and shows the existence, and also the relative power, of repetitive patterns and/or random structures in a signal...reveal spectral features that may be used to characterize a signal).
Mackin already discloses generating a slip status output indicative of whether the slip clutch is slipping based on comparing the magnitude of a frequency of vibration with a threshold frequency of vibration. Further, magnitude of a particular frequency and power are closely related - in frequency analysis, magnitude refers to the absolute value of the signal's amplitude and indicates the strength of each frequency component, while power is the product of the signal's magnitude and the square of its frequency component, indicating the energy level of the signal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have acknowledged that the use of signal power instead of merely magnitude of the frequency as a basis for comparison to a threshold would have been advantageous and obvious, as the signal power may give a more descriptive representation of the physical system compared with magnitude. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant's invention to modify the system in Mackin to include the teaching of Vaseghi with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a more descriptive and helpful mathematical representation of the physical system, thereby enhancing the precision or accuracy of the slip status output based on the comparison with the threshold.
Claim 2
Mackin discloses wherein obtaining an input frequency comprises:
sensing a speed of rotation of the drive shaft (0022 The pass band of the filter 72 is centered about this predominant frequency which is an integral multiple of the shaft rotational speed.); and
computing the input frequency based on the sensed speed of rotation of the drive shaft (0022 The pass band of the filter 72 is centered about this predominant frequency which is an integral multiple of the shaft rotational speed.).
Claim 3
Mackin discloses wherein obtaining an input frequency comprises:
obtaining a slip clutch configuration indicative of a configuration of the slip clutch (0022 The predominant or fundamental frequency is a product of the rotational speed of the clutch and the number of interengaging teeth. The rotational speed of the clutch is determined by sensor 68 which monitors drive shaft rotational speed. If the drive shaft 36 speed as sensed by sensor 68 is not the same as the rotational speed of the clutches, appropriate scaling will be required. Various types of slip clutches having teeth, lobes or detents (collectively called “lobes” herein) that engage each other on slip clutches similarly generate a predominant frequency.); and
computing the input frequency based on the configuration of the slip clutch (0022 The predominant or fundamental frequency is a product of the rotational speed of the clutch and the number of interengaging teeth. The rotational speed of the clutch is determined by sensor 68 which monitors drive shaft rotational speed. If the drive shaft 36 speed as sensed by sensor 68 is not the same as the rotational speed of the clutches, appropriate scaling will be required. Various types of slip clutches having teeth, lobes or detents (collectively called “lobes” herein) that engage each other on slip clutches similarly generate a predominant frequency.).
Claim 4
Mackin discloses wherein obtaining a slip clutch configuration comprises:
obtaining a physical configuration of the slip clutch, the physical configuration determining a rate at which vibrations are induced on the frame when the slip clutch is slipping, given a frequency of rotation of the drive shaft (0022 There are many sources of vibrations in the corn head frame. Unless otherwise eliminated or reduced, the vibrations caused by these other sources could prevent the processing unit from determining when a slip clutch was slipping. The slip clutches vibrate (and therefore generate vibrations in the corn head frame 18) at certain frequencies determined by physical characteristics of the clutch. The slip clutches may be of a “star” type having a pair of plates each having a radially extending pattern of teeth (alternate ridges and grooves) spring biased into engagement. Upon experiencing excess torque, the springs yield and the teeth “chatter” against one another. The vibrations are not sinusoidal, but are generally periodic having a repetition rate at a fundamental frequency with overtones of diminishing magnitude. The predominant or fundamental frequency is a product of the rotational speed of the clutch and the number of interengaging teeth. The rotational speed of the clutch is determined by sensor 68 which monitors drive shaft rotational speed. If the drive shaft 36 speed as sensed by sensor 68 is not the same as the rotational speed of the clutches, appropriate scaling will be required. Various types of slip clutches having teeth, lobes or detents (collectively called “lobes” herein) that engage each other on slip clutches similarly generate a predominant frequency.).
Claim 5
Mackin discloses:
wherein the drive shaft (0022 drive shaft).
Claim 6
Mackin discloses wherein obtaining an input frequency comprises:
obtaining an expected range of frequencies of rotation of the drive shaft (claim 10 a drive shaft speed sensor for providing a drive shaft rotational speed output, said processing unit utilizing the rotational speed output to band pass filter the sensed signals in a frequency range spanning an integral multiple of the rotational speed.); and
computing a set of input frequencies based on the expected range of frequencies of rotation of the drive shaft (claim 10 a drive shaft speed sensor for providing a drive shaft rotational speed output, said processing unit utilizing the rotational speed output to band pass filter the sensed signals in a frequency range spanning an integral multiple of the rotational speed.).
Claim 7
Mackin in view of Dister and Vaseghi teaches:
wherein comparing a power of the frequency domain signal to a threshold power value to obtain a comparison result comprises: comparing a power of the frequency domain signal, within a range of the set of input frequencies, to a threshold power value to obtain the comparison result (see prior art rejection of claim 1. Additionally, see Mackin: claim 10 drive shaft speed sensor for providing a drive shaft rotational speed output, said processing unit utilizing the rotational speed output to band pass filter the sensed signals in a frequency range spanning an integral multiple of the rotational speed., 0022 The pass band of the filter 72 is centered about this predominant frequency which is an integral multiple of the shaft rotational speed. If the magnitude of a passed frequency exceeds a predetermined threshold as indicated by comparator 74, an audio and/or visual indication is provided by annunciator 76.).
Claim 12
Mackin discloses:
identifying the slip clutch that is slipping based on a frequency parameter (0022 The pass band of the filter 72 is centered about this predominant frequency which is an integral multiple of the shaft rotational speed. If the magnitude of a passed frequency exceeds a predetermined threshold as indicated by comparator 74, an audio and/or visual indication is provided by annunciator 76. Annunciator 76 is generic to any electronic signaling device which can provide an indication of a slipping clutch event.).
Mackin fails to disclose wherein the frequency parameter is the power of the frequency domain signal. However, Mackin does disclose determining clutch slip based on magnitude of a frequency (0022), wherein magnitude is related to the power of the frequency domain signal. Furthermore, Vaseghi teaches, in the field of signal processing:
wherein the frequency parameter is a power of the frequency domain signal (p. 242-243 Fig. 9.1, The power spectrum of a signal gives the distribution of the signal power among various frequencies and shows the existence, and also the relative power, of repetitive patterns and/or random structures in a signal...reveal spectral features that may be used to characterize a signal).
See prior art rejection of claim 1 for obviousness and reasons to combine.
Claim(s) 13, 15, 16 and 17
Claim(s) 13, 15, 16 and 17 recite(s) subject matter similar to that/those of claim(s) 1 with 20, 2, 3, and 3 with 4, respectively, and is/are rejected under the same grounds.
Claims 8, 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Mackin in view of Dister and Vaseghi, in further view of US11117578 (“Park”).
Claim 8
Mackin fails to disclose determining validity of the slip status output based on a validity criterion; and generating a control signal based on the validity of the slip status output. However, Mackin does disclose generating the slip status output (0022). Furthermore, Park teaches a vehicle with determination of slip status of a clutch (col. 9 lines 35-60), including:
determining validity of the slip status output based on a validity criterion (col. 9 lines 35-60 Subsequently, the re-confirming of the cruise control release condition (S80) is performed by the following clutch damage protection formula of the operating state (for example, the slip) of the clutch 400 confirmed by the clutch sensor 105 and the current temperature value of the clutch 400 detected by the clutch temperature sensor 106.... As a result, the cruise controller 300 is fed back to the operating of the cruise (S70) if the clutch 400 is in the slip state but the clutch temperature is less than the clutch damage temperature threshold (C) in the re-confirming of the cruise control release condition (S80).); and
generating a control signal based on the validity of the slip status output (col. 9 lines 35-60 Subsequently, the re-confirming of the cruise control release condition (S80) is performed by the following clutch damage protection formula of the operating state (for example, the slip) of the clutch 400 confirmed by the clutch sensor 105 and the current temperature value of the clutch 400 detected by the clutch temperature sensor 106.... As a result, the cruise controller 300 is fed back to the operating of the cruise (S70) if the clutch 400 is in the slip state but the clutch temperature is less than the clutch damage temperature threshold (C) in the re-confirming of the cruise control release condition (S80).).
Mackin and Park both disclose clutch slip status monitoring systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant's invention to modify the system in Mackin to include the teaching of Park with a reasonable expectation of success in order to prevent unnecessary control based on slip status in the situation that the accuracy of the slip status is not confirmed.
Claim 10
Mackin discloses:
generating a control signal comprises: generating the control signal to control an operator interface based on the slip status output (0025 When a slip clutch of a row unit or chopping unit slips, the vibrations the clutch conducts into the elongated tool bar are attenuated based upon their distance from the sensor 60. Microprocessor 78 receives the signal from sensor 60 and compares at 106 the magnitude of the received signal with reference magnitudes stored in its internal memory 108. It identifies at 110 the slip clutch that is slipping as the slip clutch corresponding to the closest match in actual magnitude versus reference magnitude and signals the operator using the display 82. In a preferred embodiment, microprocessor 78 indicates to the user which slip clutch is slipping (e.g. “the third row unit” or “the fifth chopping unit”.).
Claim(s) 19
Claim(s) 19 recite(s) subject matter similar to that/those of claim(s) 8 and is/are rejected under the same grounds.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Mackin in view of Dister and Vaseghi, in further view of US20190332958 (“Subhankar”).
Claim 18
Mackin discloses:
a gear assembly, having a gear ratio, coupled to transmit power from the drive shaft to the row unit (0019 Drive shaft 36 is an elongate member extending the entire width of the corn head and is driven in rotation by gearboxes 46 and 48 located on each side of the corn head. The gearboxes 46, in turn, are coupled by a series of conventional mechanical or hydraulic drive elements (not shown) to engine 49 of the vehicle or base unit 12 to be driven thereby.).
Mackin fails to disclose the input frequency calculation processor being configured to compute the input frequency based on the gear ratio of the gear assembly. However, Mackin does disclose determining an input frequency and the gear assembly (0019, 0022). Furthermore, Subhankar teaches a system of determining vibrations from a machine (abstract), including:
the input frequency calculation processor being configured to compute the input frequency based on the gear ratio of the gear assembly (0035, 0036 if the gear ratio of HSIS to HSS is 3, the fundamental frequency values will be HSS 1×=24 Hz and HSIS 1×=8 Hz.).
Mackin and Subhankar both disclose systems of detecting vibrations in a machine. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant's invention to modify the system in Mackin to include the teaching of Subhankar with a reasonable expectation of success in order to determine a more accurate frequency representing the system to more accurately determine the slip status.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 11 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim(s) and any intervening claim(s). The closest prior art of record is US20090192734 and US6053047, which both disclose determination of vibrations in machines. However, the aforementioned claims recite subject matter directed towards at least the following subject matter: wherein determining validity of the slip status output comprises: detecting a characteristic of engagement of the drive shaft; and determining the validity of the slip status output based on the characteristic of engagement of the drive shaft; as well as generating a control signal comprises: generating the control signal to control header functionality or harvester functionality based on the slip status output; as well as wherein the input frequency calculation processor is configured to automatically adjust the input frequency by determining whether a frequency of rotation of the drive shaft is sensed, and wherein the threshold comparison processor is configured to automatically adjust the threshold power value based on whether the frequency of rotation of the drive shaft is sensed. While relevant to the claims, the prior art does not provide an adequate basis for rejection of the claims under 35 USC 102 or 103 because the prior art found does not sufficiently teach nor suggest the limitations as claimed, hence the allowability of the claims. Examiner notes that amendment to the claims resulting in a change of scope may result in requirement of an updated search.
Contact Information
/KRISHNAN RAMESH/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663