DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/05/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent application No. 18/301,656 (hereinafter 656’ application). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all elements of claims 1-20 of the present application correspond to elements of claims 1-20 of the 656’application. Claims 1-20 of the present application would have been obvious over claims 1-20 of the 656’ application because each element of the claims of the present application is anticipated by the claims of 656’ application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,630,918 B2 (hereinafter 918’ patent). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all elements of claims 1-20 of the present application correspond to elements of claims 1-20 of the 918’ patent. Claims 1-20 of the present application would have been obvious over claims 1-20 of the 918’ patent because each element of the claims of the present application is anticipated by the claims of 918’ patent.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,599,872 B2 (hereinafter 872’ patent). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all elements of claims 1-20 of the present application correspond to elements of claims 1-16 of the 872’ patent. Claims 1-20 of the present application would have been obvious over claims 1-16 of the 872’ patent because each element of the claims of the present application is anticipated by the claims of 872’ patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen US 10,296,918 B1 in view of Schuette et al. US 2014/0059355 A1 [hereinafter Schuette] and further in view of Yan US 8,600,872 B1.
As per claims 1, 8 and 15, Cohen teaches a compromised data exchange system, comprising: a network interface; one or more processors; and a memory coupled with the one or more processors, the memory storing instructions thereon that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to:
receive personally identifying information (PII) data from an at-risk entity [column 5, lines 7-34];
the compromised data comprise data scraped from one or more unauthorized data sources [column 8, lines 24-54];
access compromised data from a database [column 5, lines 7-34],
determine that at least a portion of the PII data matches a portion of the compromised data [column 8, lines 24-54];
assign a risk assessment score to the at least a portion of the PII data [column 9, line 44-column 10, line 30]; and
provide the risk assessment score to the at-risk entity [column 9, line 44-column 10, line 30].
In the same field of endeavor, Schuette teaches a data protections system wherein the compromised data is encrypted [paragraphs 0038-0040]; encrypt the PII data using a same set of encryption keys as the compromised data [paragraphs 0038-0040]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the application to employ the teachings of Schuette within the system of Cohen in order to enhance the security of the system by securing PII data using cryptography.
In the same field of endeavor, Yan teaches a compromised data exchange system comprising a processor: to receive from an at-risk entity, personally identifying information (PII) [column 6, line 57-column 7, line 14]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the application to employ the teachings of Yan within the system of Cohen and Schuette in order to enhance the security of the system by providing collecting from at-risk entity PII data for risk mitigation.
As per claim 2, the combination of Cohen, Schuette and Yan teach the claim limitations as indicated above. Yan further teaches the system wherein: the at-risk entity comprises a consumer [column 6, line 57-column 7, line 14]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the application to employ the teachings of Yan within the system of Cohen and Schuette in order to enhance the security of the system by providing collecting from at-risk entity PII data for risk mitigation.
As per claim 3, Cohen further teaches the system wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: the compromised data is disassociated [column 9, line 44-column 10, line 30].
As per claim 4, Schuette further teaches the system wherein: each data field within the compromised data is encrypted using a different encryption key [paragraphs 0038-0040]; encrypt the PII data using a same set of encryption keys as the compromised data [paragraphs 0038-0040]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the application to employ the teachings of Schuette within the system of Cohen in order to enhance the security of the system by securing PII data using cryptography.
As per claim 5, Cohen further teaches the system wherein: each item of the compromised data is stored with a breach identifier that corresponds with a data exposure event in which the item of the compromised data was exposed [column 9, line 44-column 10, line 30].
As per claim 6, Cohen teaches the system wherein: at least one item of data within the at least a portion of the PII data matches multiple items of data within the compromised data [column 9, line 44-column 10, line 30].
As per claim 9, Schuette further teaches the method wherein: the PII data received from the at-risk entity is encrypted and the method further comprises decrypting the PII data prior to encrypting the PII data using a same set of encryption keys as the compromised data [paragraphs 0038-0040]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the application to employ the teachings of Schuette within the system of Cohen in order to enhance the security of the system by securing PII data using cryptography.
As per claim 10, Cohen further teaches the method wherein: accessing the compromised data from the database comprises retrieving the compromised data from one or more compromised entities [column 9, line 44-column 10, line 30].
As per claim 11, Cohen further teaches the method further comprising: each item of the compromised data comprises a date of an associated data breach, a size of the associated data breach, and a code indicating how the item of the compromised data was lost or stolen [column 9, line 44-column 10, line 30].
As per claim 12, Cohen further teaches the method further comprising: searching data from multiple data sources to identity whether any of the PII data matches data from one or more of the multiple data sources, wherein the risk score is assigned based, at least in part, on whether any of the PII data matches data from one or more of the multiple data sources [column 9, line 44-column 10, line 30].
As per claim 13, Cohen further teaches the method wherein: at least one data source of the multiple data sources comprises a website that is not indexed on search engines [column 9, line 44-column 10, line 30].
As per claim 14, Cohen further teaches the method further comprising: sending the PII data to one or more compromised entities [column 9, line 44-column 10, line 30].
As per claim 16, Schuette further teaches the medium wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: receive disassociated and encrypted PII data from a compromised entity, re-encrypt the disassociated and encrypted PII data to produce a portion of the compromised data and store the portion of the compromised data in the database [paragraphs 0038-0040]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the application to employ the teachings of Schuette within the system of Cohen in order to enhance the security of the system by securing PII data using cryptography.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and by overcoming the Double Patenting rejections indicated above.
Conclusion
BEEMNET W. DADA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2435
/BEEMNET W DADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435