Priority
The claim to priority to 63/486,863, filed on February 24, 2023 is acknowledged in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on August 8, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “two or more pieces of material” (claims 4-5) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “107” has been used to designate both “locking pin” and “fitting” (Fig. 1). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it uses phraseology which can be implied, i.e. “the present disclosure describes” and “Other…are also described”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a support structure configured to provide support for one or more orbital welding components” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-10, 12-15, 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kunze (US Pub. 2022/0080536) (new cited).
Regarding claims 1, 13 and 20, Kunze discloses a device for welding using a device, an insulating means body and a method for producing said device comprising: a support structure (Fig. 1, below the outer plate 7) configured to provide support for one or more orbital welding components (Fig. 1a); an orbital wed head body (1, Fig. 1) attached to the support structure, the orbital weld head body (1) comprising a thermal conductive material, the orbital weld head body including: at least one cooling bar (4, Fig. 1b and 2a-2b) that spans at least a portion of the length of the orbital weld head body (1), the cooling bar including one or more internal cooling channels (9, Fig. 1b-1c and 2a-2b) to route coolant through the cooling bar (4) of the orbital weld head body (1); and at least one pressurize fluid input line (9, Fig. 1a and 2a-2b) that attaches to the internal cooling channels (9) of the cooling bar (4) and conducts a fluid coolant to the internal cooling channels (9) of the cooling bar (4) (Fig. 1a-b; 2a-2b; Par. 28-35).
Regarding claim 2, Kunze discloses the internal cooling channel (9) extends up at a first side of the cooling bar (4) and follows down opposite, second side of the cooling bar (Fig. 1c and 2a-2b)
Regarding claim 3, Kunze discloses a removable cassette (7) that is detachably connected to the support structure (below outer plate 7) (Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 4, Kunze discloses the removable cassette (7) includes an orbital weld head (6) configured to orbitally weld two pieces of material together (Fig. 1a; Abstract).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Kunze discloses a second cooling bar (back 4) that spans at least a portion of the length of the orbital weld head body (1), the second cooling bar (back 4) including one or more internal cooling channels (9) to route coolant through the second cooling bar of the orbital weld head body; a second pressurize fluid input (9) that attaches to the internal cooling channels of the second cooling bar and conducts a fluid coolant to the internal cooling channels (9) of the second cooling bar (Fig. 1a-b; 2a-2b; Par. 28-35).
Regarding claim 8, Kunze discloses the cooling bar and the second cooling bar (front and back 4) are secured to the support structure (Fig. 1, below the outer plate 7) with a plurality of different fastening mechanism (front and back 4) (Fig. 1a-1b and 2a-2b).
Regarding claims 9 and 15, Kunze discloses an orbital weld head (6) is positioned between the cooling bar and the second cooling bar (4) (Fig. 1a-1b and 2a-2b).
Regarding claims 10 and 18, Kunze discloses the orbital weld head (6), the cooling bar, and the second cooling bar (front and back 4) are covered by structural plates (7) (Fig. 1a-1b and 2a-2b).
Regarding claim 12, Kunze discloses the thermal conductivity of the orbital weld head body (Fig. 1a) exceeds a minimum thermal conductivity threshold value.
Regarding claim 17, Kunze discloses the cooling bar and the second cooling bar (front and back 4) are both part of a removable cassette (7) that is detachably attached to the support structure (Fig. 1, below the outer plate 7) Fig. 1a-1b and 2a-2b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunze (US Pub. 2022/0080536) in view of Wolf et al. (US Pub. 2006/0157536) (new cited).
Regarding claim 5, Kunze discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including the orbital weld head (6) configured to orbitally weld two pieces of material together (Fig. 1a; Abstract) except the two or more pieces of material that are to be orbitally welded together are formed from copper. Wolf et al. discloses the orbital weld head (fixture 10 with welding head assembly 5) configured to orbitally weld two pieces (60, 60’) of material together are formed from copper (Fig. 1A-1B; Abstract; Par. 25-26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Kune, the two or more pieces of material that are to be orbitally welded together are formed from copper, as taught by Wolf et al., for the purpose of suitable to the user application to weld the two cooper tube together since it is the intended use.
Regarding claim 16, Kunze discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including the orbital weld head (6) configured to orbitally weld two pieces of material together (Fig. 1a; Abstract) except the orbital weld head is configured to orbitally weld copper using at least 100 amps. Wolf et al. discloses the orbital weld head (fixture 10 with welding head assembly 5) is configured to orbitally weld copper (60, 60’). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Kune, the two or more pieces of material that are to be orbitally welded together are formed from copper, as taught by Wolf et al., for the purpose of suitable to the user application to weld the two cooper tube together since it is the intended use. With respect of the limitation “using at least 100 amps”, Wolf et al. discloses the fixture capable of welding 60 of different sizes (Par. 33). In this case, Kunze in view of Wolf teaches the orbital welding the copper tube (60, 60’) compared to using of at least 100 amps, and having a specific power using of at least 100 amps is not inventive according to the courts. Varying the power of using of at least 100 amps is recognized as a result-effective variable which is result of a routine experimentation. In this case using of at least 100 amps to control heat of the two copper tube in order to maintain the heated temperature of the work piece, is recognized in the art to be a result effective variable.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunze (US Pub. 2022/0080536) in view of Miao et al. (CN 219053311) (new cited).
Regarding claim 7, Kunze discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including the pressurized fluid input line (9 of the front cooling bar 4) and the second pressurized fluid line (9 of the back cooling bar 4), the fluid coolant provides to both of the internal cooling channels (9) of the cooling bar (front 4) and the internal cooling channels of the second cooling bar (back 4) (Fig. 1a-1b and 2a-2b) except a fluid diverter connected to the pressurized fluid input line. Miao et al. discloses a diverter (Fig. 4 below) connected to the fluid input line. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Kune, a fluid diverter connected to the pressurized fluid input line, as taught by Miao et al., for the purpose of splitting the cooling water to cool the heat exchanger.
Claim(s) 11 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunze (US Pub. 2022/0080536) in view of Miller (US Pub. 2014/0262155) (new cited).
Regarding claims 11 and 19, Kunze discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above except the orbital weld head includes at least one insulative layer formed from a thermally insulating material. Miller discloses the orbital weld head includes at least one insulative layer (115) formed from a thermally insulating material (Fig. 1 and 4; Par. 51). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Kune, the orbital weld head includes at least one insulative layer formed from a thermally insulating material, as taught by Miller, for the purpose of providing an insulating layer for thermally isolate the coolant line.
Conclusion
/HUNG D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
HUNG D. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3761