DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 11629301 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patented claim 1 anticipates present claim 1.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. US 11629301 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patented claim 3 anticipates present claim 3.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 11629301 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patented claim 4 anticipates present claim 4.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. US 11629301 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patented claim 5 anticipates present claim 5.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. US 11629301 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patented claim 6 anticipates present claim 6.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. US 11629301 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patented claim 7 anticipates present claim 8.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. US 11629301 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patented claim 8 anticipates present claim 9.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. US 11629301 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patented claim 9 anticipates present claim 10.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. US 11629301 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patented claim 10 anticipates present claim 11.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. US 11629301 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patented claim 11 anticipates present claim 12.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. US 11629301 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patented claim 12 anticipates present claim 13.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. US 11629301 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patented claim 13 anticipates present claim 14.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. US 11629301 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patented claim 15 anticipates present claim 15.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 11629301 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because a conveyor driven by a chain is well-known and common knowledge.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7, 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vonplon (US 20100196199 A1) in view of Rehmat (US 20170275542 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Vonplon discloses a human biosolids treatment system comprising:
a source of human biosolids (para. 2);
a dryer configured to dry the human biosolids to a predetermined moisture content to create dried biosolid output (para. 13) (note: the dryer settings, e.g., temperature, and moisture content of the biosolids before drying, predetermines the moisture content of the biosolid output);
a source of wet biosolids (Fig. 1; 12);
a mixer (14) configured to mix the dried biosolid output and the wet biosolids and output a mixed biosolid feed;
a variable feed conveyor (40, 52, and/or 116) (it can convey feed of different types so it’s a variable feed conveyor); and
a controller (inherently disclosed);
wherein the variable feed conveyor is configured to variably recirculate the mixed biosolid feed to the dryer (Fig. 1);
wherein the controller modulates the recirculation rate (mass flow rate) into the dryer in response to a dryer exit temperature and/or a moisture sensor that corresponds to a target moisture content of the dried biosolids (moisture sensors are used to adjust the amount of wet and dried biosolids entering the mixer, which affects the mass flow into the dryer; the moisture level of the mixture out of the mixer corresponds to the moisture level of the dried biosolids out of the dryer 20) (paras. 18).
Vonplon fails to disclose:
where the controller is programmed;
a gasifier, wherein the mixed biosolid feed is the sole fuel for the gasifier; and
wherein the gasifier is configured to convert the mixed biosolid feed into usable thermal energy for system use and at least one of low carbon ash and high carbon activated biochar.
Vonplon teaches using a programmable controller (para. 27). It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Vonplon where the controller is programmed, since programmable controllers are cheap, ubiquitous, and allow for easy customization of the controller functions.
Rehmat teaches a waste treatment system, comprising:
a gasifier (abstract),
wherein the waste feed is the sole fuel for the gasifier (para. 37); and
wherein the gasifier is configured to convert the mixed biosolid feed into usable thermal energy for system use and at least one of low carbon ash (inorganic components of the waste) and high carbon activated biochar (paras. 8, 38) (note: the gasifier is also capable of producing high carbon activated biochar since Rehmat discloses a gasifier that can gasify human biosolids).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Vonplon to include a gasifier, wherein the mixed biosolid feed is the sole fuel for the gasifier; and wherein the gasifier is configured to convert the mixed biosolid feed into usable thermal energy for system use and at least one of low carbon ash and high carbon activated biochar. The motivation to combine is so that the biosolids can be converted into a useful fuel.
Regarding claim 2, modified Vonplon discloses the biosolids treatment system of claim 1, wherein the dryer creates low carbon ash and the gasifier creates high carbon activated biochar and Class A biosolids (modified Vonplon discloses these products because it discloses all of the elements necessary to produce the products).
Regarding claim 5, modified Vonplon discloses the biosolids treatment system of claim 1, wherein the system is configured to control carbon content of the biochar. The carbon content is what remains after the water and gases are expelled from the biosolid feed. The amount of water expelled can be controlled by the conveyor of the dryer, and the volume of gases released is controlled by the drying and gasification temperatures.
Regarding claim 6, modified Vonplon discloses the biosolids treatment system of claim 1, wherein the biochar is used to filter air emissions from the system prior to discharge to atmosphere (the biochar is capable of being used to filter air emissions) (note: this is an intended use claim and is not given patentable weight).
Regarding claim 7, modified Vonplon discloses the biosolids treatment system of claim 1, wherein the biochar is mixed with the human biosolids as exclusive fuel for the gasifier. The system is capable of treating biochar mixed with human biosolids as exclusive fuel for the gasifier.
Regarding claim 10, modified Vonplon discloses the biosolids treatment system of claim 1, wherein the treatment system is capable of using different moisture content biosolid fuel sources. The system discloses all of the elements recited in claim 1; therefore, it is capable of using different moisture content biosolid fuel sources.
Regarding claim 11, modified Vonplon discloses the biosolids treatment system of claim 1, wherein the treatment system is configured to use comingled materials generated by a wastewater treatment facility (WWTF) including grit and screenings, fats/oils/grease (FOG), anaerobically digested biosolids, biosolids post thermal hydrolysis treatment, primary/secondary waste activate sludge, non-activated sludge in varying percent of composition as fuel sources for the gasifier without need for supplemental fuel. The system discloses all of the elements recited in claim 1; therefore, it is capable of using different moisture content biosolid fuel sources.
Claim(s) 3, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vonplon (US 20100196199 A1) in view of Rehmat (US 20170275542 A1), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Srinivasachar (US 20100178624 A1)
Regarding claim 3, modified Vonplon discloses the biosolids treatment system of claim 1, except wherein the treatment system includes a blended air intake to temper flue gas entering a dryer, wherein the blended air controls a target temperature in the dryer.
However, Srinivasachar teaches a system for producing carbon-rich products, wherein a treatment system includes a blended air intake to temper flue gas entering a dryer, wherein the blended air controls a target temperature in the dryer (para. 180).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Vonplon wherein the treatment system includes a blended air intake to temper flue gas entering a dryer, wherein the blended air controls a target temperature in the dryer. The motivation to combine is to provide another source of hot gases for the dryer, and where the temperature and humidity of the hot gases can be adjusted as desired.
Regarding claim 4, modified Vonplon discloses the biosolids treatment system of claim 1, wherein the treatment system includes a fan to recirculate moist dryer exhaust to temper flue gas entering a dryer, wherein blended air controls a target temperature in the dryer and reduces NOx emissions.
However, Srinivasachar teaches a system for producing carbon-rich products, wherein the treatment system includes a fan to recirculate moist dryer exhaust to temper flue gas entering a dryer (see para. 206 and Fig. 5), wherein blended air controls a target temperature in the dryer and reduces NOx emissions (this is intended use language and is given limited patentable weight; moreover, this intended use would inherently be present if the first limitation in this claim is present).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Vonplon wherein the treatment system includes a fan to recirculate moist dryer exhaust to temper flue gas entering a dryer, wherein blended air controls a target temperature in the dryer and reduces NOx emissions. The motivation to combine is to provide another source of hot gases for the dryer, and where the temperature and humidity of the hot gases can be adjusted as desired.
Claim(s) 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vonplon (US 20100196199 A1) in view of Rehmat (US 20170275542 A1), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Hansen (US 20120308441 A1).
Regarding claims 8, 9, modified Vonplon discloses the biosolids treatment system of claim 1, except further including a water quench that cools the low carbon ash or the high carbon biochar prior to leaving the gasifier (as recited in claim 8), or further including a water quench that serves as an air lock to the gasifier enabling a negative pressure draft to be controlled within the gasifier (as recited in claim 9)
However, Hansen teaches a water quench that cools the carbon ash/ char prior to leaving the gasifier (para. 66), and further includes a water quench that serves as an air lock to the gasifier enabling a negative pressure draft to be controlled within the gasifier (paras. 26, 42).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Vonplon to further include a water quench that cools the low carbon ash or the high carbon biochar prior to leaving the gasifier (as recited in claim 8), and to further include a water quench that serves as an air lock to the gasifier enabling a negative pressure draft to be controlled within the gasifier (as recited in claim 9). The motivation to combine is to cool the ash/biochar so it can be used for downstream purposes.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vonplon (US 20100196199 A1) in view of Rehmat (US 20170275542 A1), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Mcintosh (AU 8617598 A).
Regarding claim 15, modified Vonplon discloses the biosolids treatment system of claim 1, except further comprising an oxidizer located between the gasifier and dryer. However, Mcintosh teaches a gasification system comprising an oxidizer (4, 104) located between the gasifier (10) and dryer (2).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Vonplon to include an oxidizer located between the gasifier and dryer, so that there is an additional source of hot gases for the dryer.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vonplon (US 20100196199 A1) in view of Rehmat (US 20170275542 A1), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Sessions (US 1878896 A).
Regarding claim 16-18, modified Vonplon discloses the biosolids treatment system of claim 1, except wherein the variable feed conveyor is driven by a chain (as recited in claim 16), wherein the chain is cooled by cooling rails that extend along a length of the chain (as recited in claim 17), and wherein the cooling rails comprise a duct with an inlet and outlet (as recited in claim 18).
However, Sessions teaches a feed conveyor for furnace, wherein the variable feed conveyor is driven by a chain (16), wherein the chain is cooled by cooling rails (28, 28a) that extend along a length of the chain, and wherein the cooling rails comprise a duct (30, 35) with an inlet and outlet.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Vonplon wherein the variable feed conveyor is driven by a chain, wherein the chain is cooled by cooling rails that extend along a length of the chain, and wherein the cooling rails comprise a duct with an inlet and outlet. The motivation to combine is so that dryer (Vonplon; 20, 102) can supply the biosolids with a liquid cooled chain. Having a liquid cooled chain would prolong the lifespan of the conveyor of the dryer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JASON LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762