Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 24 recites "the player spots" whereas it should be “the plurality of player spots”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 26 recites "the player spots" whereas it should be “the plurality of player spots”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a display device" in line 21. However, there was disclosure of “a display device” previously before in line 5. It is not clear if these are the same element or distinct elements. For clarity, when multiple terms have the same name but are intended to be distinct elements, clearly distinct labels, such as "first element" and "second element" should be used to make the distinct nature clear. Conversely, if the terms are to the same element, a consistent name should be used with “said” or “the” when referring back.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the player spots" in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears as if it supposed to be “the plurality of player spots” but the Examiner is not positive that that is the case.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the player spots" in lines 24 and 37. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears as if it supposed to be “the plurality of player spots” but the Examiner is not positive that that is the case.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a display device" in line 38. However, there was disclosure of “a display device” previously before in line 5. It is not clear if these are the same element or distinct elements. For clarity, when multiple terms have the same name but are intended to be distinct elements, clearly distinct labels, such as "first element" and "second element" should be used to make the distinct nature clear. Conversely, if the terms are to the same element, a consistent name should be used with “said” or “the” when referring back.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "a display device" in line 27. However, there was disclosure of “a display device” previously before in line 5. It is not clear if these are the same element or distinct elements. For clarity, when multiple terms have the same name but are intended to be distinct elements, clearly distinct labels, such as "first element" and "second element" should be used to make the distinct nature clear. Conversely, if the terms are to the same element, a consistent name should be used with “said” or “the” when referring back.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the player spots" in line 26. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears as if it supposed to be “the plurality of player spots” but the Examiner is not positive that that is the case.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the player spots" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears as if it supposed to be “the plurality of player spots” but the Examiner is not positive that that is the case.
All dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of the claim(s) from which they depend and are similarly rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 (What is the statutory category?):
Claims 1-20 are drawn to at least one of the four statutory categories of invention (ie: process, machine, manufacture, or composition).
Step 2A; Prong I (Does the claim recite an abstract idea?):
Claim 1 recites:
A gaming system comprising:
a processor; and
a memory device storing a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
cause a display, by a display device, of a play of a tournament comprising a plurality of plays of a keno game, wherein each of the plurality of plays of the keno game for the play of the tournament comprises:
a display, by the display device, of a keno card comprising a plurality of spots,
a display, by the display device, of indications of each of a plurality of player spots selected from the plurality of spots of the keno card,
a display, by the display device, of indications of each of a plurality of drawn spots selected from the plurality of spots of the keno card, wherein the quantity of drawn spots comprise a first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots and a second quantity of non-guaranteed matching drawn spots, the first quantity being at least one, the second quantity being at least one, and
a display, by the display device, of an amount based on the drawn spots that match the player spots; and
cause a display, by a display device, of an indication of an outcome of the play of the tournament.Claim 10 recites:A gaming system comprising:
a processor; and
a memory device storing a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
cause a display, by a display device, of a play of a tournament comprising a first quantity of plays of a keno game and a second quantity of plays of the keno game, wherein the first quantity is at least one, wherein the second quantity is at least one, wherein each of the first quantity of plays of the keno game for the play of the tournament comprises:
a display, by the display device, of a keno card comprising a plurality of spots,
a display, by the display device, of indications of each of a plurality of player spots selected from the plurality of spots of the keno card,
a display, by the display device, of indications of each of a plurality of drawn spots selected from the plurality of spots of the keno card, wherein the quantity of drawn spots comprise a first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots and a second quantity of non-guaranteed matching drawn spots, the first quantity being at least one, the second quantity being at least one, and
a display, by the display device, of an amount based on the drawn spots that match the player spots, and wherein each of the second quantity of plays of the keno game for the play of the tournament comprises:
a display, by the display device, of the keno card comprising the plurality of spots,
a display, by the display device, of indications of each of a plurality of player spots selected from the plurality of spots of the keno card,
a display, by the display device, of indications of each of a plurality of drawn spots selected from the plurality of spots of the keno card, wherein all of the quantity of drawn spots comprise non-guaranteed matching drawn spots, and
a display, by the display device, of an amount based on the drawn spots that match the player spots; and
cause a display, by a display device, of an indication of an outcome of the play of the tournament.
Claim 17 recites:A gaming system comprising:
a processor; and
a memory device storing a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
cause a display, by a display device, of a play of a tournament comprising a plurality of plays of a keno game, wherein one of the plays of the keno game for the play of the tournament comprises:
a display, by the display device, of a keno card comprising a plurality of spots,
a display, by the display device, of indications of each of a plurality of player spots selected from the plurality of spots of the keno card,
a display, by the display device, of indications of each of a plurality of drawn spots selected from the plurality of spots of the keno card, wherein the quantity of drawn spots comprise a first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots and a second quantity of non-guaranteed matching drawn spots, the first quantity being at least one, the second quantity being at least one, wherein the display is after shuffling of an order of the guaranteed matching drawn spots for the play of the keno game and the non-guaranteed matching drawn spots for the play of the keno game, and wherein the display comprises no indications that any of the drawn spots for the play of the keno game are the guaranteed matching drawn spots for the play of the keno game,
a display, by the display device, of an amount based on the drawn spots that match the player spots; and
cause a display, by a display device, of an indication of an outcome of the play of the tournament.
[the Examiner submits that the foregoing underlined elements recite certain method of organizing human activity because they describe “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)”]
According to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Guidelines, Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, Managing Personal Behavior or Relationships or Interactions Between People (e.g. social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) "encompasses both activity of a single person (for example a person following a set of instructions) and activity that involves multiple people (such as a commercial or legal interaction). Thus, some interactions between a person and a computer (for example a method of anonymous loan shopping that a person conducts using a mobile phone) may fall within this grouping." (Emphasis added)
To further elaborate on the Examiner’s interpretation regarding the claimed invention being directed towards certain methods of organizing human activity, the Examiner believes the invention describe managing interactions between people and machine (ie: a gaming machine) in which rules or instructions for the gaming machine is being implemented (ie: providing a tournament-based keno game.)
Step 2A; Prong II (Does the claim recite a practical application?):
The Examiner submits that the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for the same reasons discussed above with respect to the conclusion that the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The dependent claims merely include limitations that either further define the abstract idea (and thus don’t make the abstract idea any less abstract) or amount to no more than instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer, or use a computer as tool to perform the abstract idea.
Taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For example, there is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology.
The abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application for the following reasons. The claim elements of claims 1, 10, and 17 above that are not underlined constitute additional limitations.
The Examiner submits that the following additional limitation merely uses a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea: processor, memory, and display device.
The Examiner finds that there are concepts regarding the application that simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality. For example:
Fields et al., US 20200134967 discloses that Keno is a well-known game and has been played in gaming establishments for many years (paragraph 2);
Anderson, US 20140309012 discloses that number matching games such as Keno, Bingo and lottery are well known (paragraph 6);
Elmqvist, US 20140194180, discloses that keno games are well-known in the art and played in a conventional manner (paragraph 33);
Daley et al., US 20230089842, discloses that in a conventional keno game, the return to player (RTP) and volatility of the game may be essentially fixed. For example, a keno game may provide a pay table that establishes the payout for certain numbers of hits. Given a random selection of drawn numbers, the RTP is determined by the pay table (paragraph 15);
Hardy et al., US 20080146346, discloses that a random number generator (RNG) is well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art determining outcomes of game play when playing a game (paragraph 186);
The above helps to suggest that the claimed components are no more than generic well-known components.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually.
For example, there is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology; there is no additional element that applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception; the additional elements merely recite the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea; the additional elements do no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Step 2B (Are there additional elements that are “something more” than an abstract idea?):
Dependent Claims 2-9, 11-16, and 18-20 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for the same reasons discussed above with respect to the conclusion that the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kane et al., US 20060082056 (Kane).
Regarding Claim 1.
Kane discloses a gaming system comprising:
a processor (para 88); and
a memory device storing a plurality of instructions (para 87) that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
cause a display, by a display device, of a play of a tournament comprising a plurality of plays of a keno game (Abstract, para 11, 17, 37, 71, 77, 99-100, 144, 255-256. A keno tournament is disclosed in which multiple keno games can be played.), wherein each of the plurality of plays of the keno game for the play of the tournament comprises:
a display, by the display device, of a keno card comprising a plurality of spots (para 9-10, 71, 73-75. Keno comprises a plurality of spots.),
a display, by the display device, of indications of each of a plurality of player spots selected from the plurality of spots of the keno card (para 9-11, 17, 73, 100, 119, 142, 144, 255-256. In Keno, numbers are selected in which they are drawn against to determine if there are matches.)
a display, by the display device, of indications of each of a plurality of drawn spots selected from the plurality of spots of the keno card, wherein the quantity of drawn spots comprise a first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots and a second quantity of non-guaranteed matching drawn spots, the first quantity being at least one, the second quantity being at least one (para 11, 36-37, 40, 42, 56, 71, 74-77, 117-118, 142, 144, 255-256. Drawn numbers and made and a determination is made to determine if there are any matches. In this case, when a drawn number matches, this is interpreted as a guaranteed matching drawn spots whereas drawn numbers that do not match are interpreted as non-guaranteed matching drawn spots.), and
a display, by the display device, of an amount based on the drawn spots that match the player spots (para 12, 24, 29, 42-43, 45, 80, 128. Players can be provided with awards based on matched drawn spots.); and
cause a display, by a display device, of an indication of an outcome of the play of the tournament (para 42, 56, 71, 74-77, 128, 257. Results of keno tournament is provided.).
Regarding Claim 2.
Kane discloses the gaming system of Claim 1, wherein the plurality of instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to, for each of the plurality of plays of the keno game for the play of the tournament, cause the display, by the display device, of the drawn spots for that play of the keno game after shuffling an order of the guaranteed matching drawn spots for that play of the keno game and the non-guaranteed matching drawn spots for that play of the keno game (para 33, 36-37, 42, 56, 142, 161. A random number generator is used for drawing numbers for Keno. This is interpreted as shuffling of numbers for determining the guaranteed and the non-guaranteed matching drawn spots. In other words, when numbers are drawn that match player selected numbers, those are determined as guaranteed matching drawn spots, whereas numbers that are drawn that do not match the player-selected numbers are determined as non-guaranteed matching drawn spots.).
Regarding Claim 3.
Kane discloses the gaming system of Claim 1, wherein the plurality of plays of the keno game for the play of the tournament are all of the plays of the keno game for the play of the tournament (Abstract, para 11, 17, 37, 71, 77, 99-100, 144, 255-256).
Regarding Claim 4.
Kane discloses the gaming system of Claim 1, wherein the plurality of plays of the keno game for the play of the tournament are less than all of the plays of the keno game for the play of the tournament, and for at least one additional play of the keno game for the play of the tournament, the plurality of instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to, for each additional play of the keno game for the play of the tournament, cause:
a display, by the display device, of the keno card comprising the plurality of spots (para 9-10, 71, 73-75.),
a display, by the display device, of indications of each of a plurality of player spots selected from the plurality of spots of the keno card (para 9-11, 17, 73, 100, 119, 142, 144, 255-256),
a display, by the display device, of indications of each of a plurality of drawn spots selected from the plurality of spots of the keno card, wherein all of the plurality of drawn spots comprise non-guaranteed matching drawn spots (para 11, 36-37, 40, 42, 56, 71, 74-77, 117-118, 142, 144, 255-256.), and
a display, by the display device, of an amount based on the drawn spots that match the player spots (para 12, 24, 29, 42-43, 45, 80, 128.).
Regarding Claim 5.
Kane discloses the gaming system of Claim 1, wherein the plurality of instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to, for each of the plurality of plays of the keno game for the play of the tournament, cause the display, by the display device, of no indications that any of the drawn spots for that play of the keno game are the guaranteed matching drawn spots for that play of the keno game (para 9-11, 36-37, 40, 42, 56, 71, 74-77, 117-118, 142, 144, 255-256. Results of the drawings would indicate which numbers drawn match the player-selected numbers as well as number that do not match the player selected numbers. Keno game play provides indication of drawn numbers in order to determine which numbers match and do not match against player-selected numbers, or in this case, guaranteed and non-guaranteed matching drawn spots respectively.).
Regarding Claim 6.
Kane discloses the gaming system of Claim 1, wherein the plurality of instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to, for one of the plurality of plays of the keno game for the play of the tournament, cause the first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots for that play of the keno game to be at least equal to a quantity of drawn spots needed for an amount greater than zero to be won for that play of the keno game (para 12, 24, 29, 42-43, 45, 80, 128. Players being provided prizes based upon an amount of drawn numbers matching their selected numbers is interpreted as the first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots for that play of the keno game to be at least equal to a quantity of drawn spots needed for an amount greater than zero to be won for that play of the keno game.)
Regarding Claim 7.
Kane discloses the gaming system of Claim 1, wherein the plurality of instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to, for one of the plurality of plays of the keno game for the play of the tournament, cause the first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots for that play of the keno game to be less than a quantity of drawn spots needed for an amount greater than zero to be won for that play of the keno game (para 12, 24, 29, 42-43, 45, 80, 128. Players not being provided prize based upon an amount of drawn numbers matching their selected numbers is interpreted as not meeting a minimum threshold for being awarded a prize and is therefore interpreted as the first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots for that play of the keno game to be less than a quantity of drawn spots needed for an amount greater than zero to be won for that play of the keno game.)
Regarding Claim 8.
Kane discloses the gaming system of Claim 1, wherein the plurality of instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to, for each of the plurality of plays of the keno game for the play of the tournament, cause the first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots for that play of the keno game to be at least equal to a quantity of drawn spots needed for an amount greater than zero to be won for that play of the keno game (para 12, 24, 29, 42-43, 45, 80, 128. Players being provided prizes based upon an amount of drawn numbers matching their selected numbers is interpreted as the first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots for that play of the keno game to be at least equal to a quantity of drawn spots needed for an amount greater than zero to be won for that play of the keno game.)
Regarding Claim 9.
Kane discloses the gaming system of Claim 1, wherein the plurality of instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to, for each of the plurality of plays of the keno game for the play of the tournament, cause the first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots for that play of the keno game to be less than a quantity of drawn spots needed for an amount greater than zero to be won for that play of the keno game (para 12, 24, 29, 42-43, 45, 80, 128. Players being provided prizes based upon an amount of drawn numbers matching their selected numbers is interpreted as the first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots for that play of the keno game to be less than a quantity of drawn spots needed for an amount greater than zero to be won for that play of the keno game.)
Regarding Claim 10.
Kane discloses a gaming system comprising:
a processor (para 88); and
a memory device storing a plurality of instructions (para 87) that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
cause a display, by a display device, of a play of a tournament comprising a first quantity of plays of a keno game and a second quantity of plays of the keno game, wherein the first quantity is at least one, wherein the second quantity is at least one (Abstract, para 11, 17, 37, 71, 77, 99-100, 144, 255-256. A keno tournament is disclosed in which multiple keno games can be played having different quantities to them.), wherein each of the first quantity of plays of the keno game for the play of the tournament comprises:
a display, by the display device, of a keno card comprising a plurality of spots (para 9-10, 71, 73-75. Keno comprises a plurality of spots.),
a display, by the display device, of indications of each of a plurality of player spots selected from the plurality of spots of the keno card (para 9-11, 17, 73, 100, 119, 142, 144, 255-256. In Keno, numbers are selected in which they are drawn against to determine if there are matches.)
a display, by the display device, of indications of each of a plurality of drawn spots selected from the plurality of spots of the keno card, wherein the quantity of drawn spots comprise a first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots and a second quantity of non-guaranteed matching drawn spots, the first quantity being at least one, the second quantity being at least one (para 11, 36-37, 40, 42, 56, 71, 74-77, 117-118, 142, 144, 255-256. Drawn numbers and made and a determination is made to determine if there are any matches. In this case, when a drawn number matches, this is interpreted as a guaranteed matching drawn spots whereas drawn numbers that do not match are interpreted as non-guaranteed matching drawn spots.), and
a display, by the display device, of an amount based on the drawn spots that match the player spots (para 12, 24, 29, 42-43, 45, 80, 128. Players can be provided with awards based on matched drawn spots.) and
wherein each of the second quantity of plays of the keno game for the play of the tournament comprises:
a display, by the display device, of the keno card comprising the plurality of spots (para 9-10, 71, 73-75. Keno comprises a plurality of spots.),
a display, by the display device, of indications of each of a plurality of player spots selected from the plurality of spots of the keno card (para 9-11, 17, 73, 100, 119, 142, 144, 255-256. In Keno, numbers are selected in which they are drawn against to determine if there are matches.),
a display, by the display device, of indications of each of a plurality of drawn spots selected from the plurality of spots of the keno card, wherein all of the quantity of drawn spots comprise non-guaranteed matching drawn spots (para 11, 36-37, 40, 42, 56, 71, 74-77, 117-118, 142, 144, 255-256. Drawn numbers and made and a determination is made to determine if there are any matches. In this case, when a drawn number fails to match, this is interpreted as as non-guaranteed matching drawn spots.), and
a display, by the display device, of an amount based on the drawn spots that match the player spots (para 12, 24, 29, 42-43, 45, 80, 128. Players can be provided with awards based on matched drawn spots.); and
cause a display, by a display device, of an indication of an outcome of the play of the tournament (para 42, 56, 71, 74-77, 128, 257. Results of keno tournament is provided.).
Regarding Claim 11.
Kane discloses the gaming system of Claim 10, wherein the plurality of instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to, for each of the first quantity of plays of the keno game for the play of the tournament, cause the display, by the display device, of the drawn spots for that play of the keno game after shuffling an order of the guaranteed matching drawn spots for that play of the keno game and the non-guaranteed matching drawn spots for that play of the keno game (para 33, 36-37, 42, 56, 142, 161. A random number generator is used for drawing numbers for Keno. This is interpreted as shuffling of numbers for determining the guaranteed and the non-guaranteed matching drawn spots. In other words, when numbers are drawn that match player selected numbers, those are determined as guaranteed matching drawn spots, whereas numbers that are drawn that do not match the player-selected numbers are determined as non-guaranteed matching drawn spots.).
Regarding Claim 12.
Kane discloses the gaming system of Claim 10, wherein the plurality of instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to, for each of the first quantity of plays of the keno game for the play of the tournament, cause the display, by the display device, of no indications that any of the drawn spots for that play of the keno game are the guaranteed matching drawn spots for that play of the keno game (para 9-11, 36-37, 40, 42, 56, 71, 74-77, 117-118, 142, 144, 255-256. Results of the drawings would indicate which numbers drawn match the player-selected numbers as well as number that do not match the player selected numbers. Keno game play provides indication of drawn numbers in order to determine which numbers match and do not match against player-selected numbers, or in this case, guaranteed and non-guaranteed matching drawn spots respectively.).
Regarding Claim 13.
Kane discloses the gaming system of Claim 10, wherein the plurality of instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to, for one of the first quantity of plays of the keno game for the play of the tournament, cause the first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots for that play of the keno game to be at least equal to a quantity of drawn spots needed for an amount greater than zero to be won for that play of the keno game (para 12, 24, 29, 42-43, 45, 80, 128. Players being provided prizes based upon an amount of drawn numbers matching their selected numbers is interpreted as the first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots for that play of the keno game to be at least equal to a quantity of drawn spots needed for an amount greater than zero to be won for that play of the keno game.)
Regarding Claim 14.
Kane discloses the gaming system of Claim 10, wherein the plurality of instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to, for one of the first quantity of plays of the keno game for the play of the tournament, cause the first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots for that play of the keno game to be less than a quantity of drawn spots needed for an amount greater than zero to be won for that play of the keno game (para 12, 24, 29, 42-43, 45, 80, 128. Players not being provided prize based upon an amount of drawn numbers matching their selected numbers is interpreted as not meeting a minimum threshold for being awarded a prize and is therefore interpreted as the first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots for that play of the keno game to be less than a quantity of drawn spots needed for an amount greater than zero to be won for that play of the keno game.)
Regarding Claim 15.
Kane discloses the gaming system of Claim 10, wherein the plurality of instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to, for each of the first quantity of plays of the keno game for the play of the tournament, cause the first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots for that play of the keno game to be at least equal to a quantity of drawn spots needed for an amount greater than zero to be won for that play of the keno g game (para 12, 24, 29, 42-43, 45, 80, 128. Players being provided prizes based upon an amount of drawn numbers matching their selected numbers is interpreted as the first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots for that play of the keno game to be at least equal to a quantity of drawn spots needed for an amount greater than zero to be won for that play of the keno game.)
Regarding Claim 16.
Kane discloses the gaming system of Claim 10, wherein the plurality of instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to, for each of the first quantity of plays of the keno game for the play of the tournament, cause the first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots for that play of the keno game to be less than a quantity of drawn spots needed for an amount greater than zero to be won for that play of the keno game (para 12, 24, 29, 42-43, 45, 80, 128. Players being provided prizes based upon an amount of drawn numbers matching their selected numbers is interpreted as the first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots for that play of the keno game to be less than a quantity of drawn spots needed for an amount greater than zero to be won for that play of the keno game.).
Regarding Claim 17.
Kane discloses a gaming system comprising:
a processor (para 88); and
a memory device storing a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
cause a display, by a display device, of a play of a tournament comprising a plurality of plays of a keno game (Abstract, para 11, 17, 37, 71, 77, 99-100, 144, 255-256. A keno tournament is disclosed in which multiple keno games can be played.), wherein one of the plays of the keno game for the play of the tournament comprises:
a display, by the display device, of a keno card comprising a plurality of spots (para 9-10, 71, 73-75. Keno comprises a plurality of spots.),
a display, by the display device, of indications of each of a plurality of player spots selected from the plurality of spots of the keno card (para 9-11, 17, 73, 100, 119, 142, 144, 255-256. In Keno, numbers are selected in which they are drawn against to determine if there are matches.)
a display, by the display device, of indications of each of a plurality of drawn spots selected from the plurality of spots of the keno card, wherein the quantity of drawn spots comprise a first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots and a second quantity of non-guaranteed matching drawn spots, the first quantity being at least one, the second quantity being at least one (para 11, 36-37, 40, 42, 56, 71, 74-77, 117-118, 142, 144, 255-256. Drawn numbers and made and a determination is made to determine if there are any matches. In this case, when a drawn number matches, this is interpreted as a guaranteed matching drawn spots whereas drawn numbers that do not match are interpreted as non-guaranteed matching drawn spots.), wherein the display is after shuffling of an order of the guaranteed matching drawn spots for the play of the keno game and the non-guaranteed matching drawn spots for the play of the keno game (para 33, 36-37, 42, 56, 142, 161. A random number generator is used for drawing numbers for Keno. This is interpreted as shuffling of numbers for determining the guaranteed and the non-guaranteed matching drawn spots. In other words, when numbers are drawn that match player selected numbers, those are determined as guaranteed matching drawn spots, whereas numbers that are drawn that do not match the player-selected numbers are determined as non-guaranteed matching drawn spots.), and
wherein the display comprises no indications that any of the drawn spots for the play of the keno game are the guaranteed matching drawn spots for the play of the keno game (para 9-11, 36-37, 40, 42, 56, 71, 74-77, 117-118, 142, 144, 255-256. Results of the drawings would indicate which numbers drawn match the player-selected numbers as well as number that do not match the player selected numbers. Keno game play provides indication of drawn numbers in order to determine which numbers match and do not match against player-selected numbers, or in this case, guaranteed and non-guaranteed matching drawn spots respectively.),
a display, by the display device, of an amount based on the drawn spots that match the player spots; and
cause a display, by a display device, of an indication of an outcome of the play of the tournament.
Regarding Claim 18.
Kane discloses the gaming system of Claim 17, wherein for an additional one of the plays of the keno game for the play of the tournament, the plurality of instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to cause:
a display, by the display device, of the keno card comprising the plurality of spots (para 9-10, 71, 73-75.),
a display, by the display device, of indications of each of a plurality of player spots selected from the plurality of spots of the keno card (para 9-11, 17, 73, 100, 119, 142, 144, 255-256),
a display, by the display device, of indications of each of a plurality of drawn spots selected from the plurality of spots of the keno card, wherein all of the quantity of drawn spots comprise non-guaranteed matching drawn spots (para 11, 36-37, 40, 42, 56, 71, 74-77, 117-118, 142, 144, 255-256.), and
a display, by the display device, of an amount based on the drawn spots that match the player spots (para 12, 24, 29, 42-43, 45, 80, 128.).
Regarding Claim 19.
Kane discloses the gaming system of Claim 17, wherein the plurality of instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to, for the play of the keno game for the play of the tournament, cause the first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots for the play of the keno game to be at least equal to a quantity of drawn spots needed for an amount greater than zero to be won for the play of the keno game (para 12, 24, 29, 42-43, 45, 80, 128. Players being provided prizes based upon an amount of drawn numbers matching their selected numbers is interpreted as the first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots for that play of the keno game to be at least equal to a quantity of drawn spots needed for an amount greater than zero to be won for that play of the keno game.)
Regarding Claim 20.
Kane discloses the gaming system of Claim 17, wherein the plurality of instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to, for the play of the keno game for the play of the tournament, cause the first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots for the play of the keno game to be less than a quantity of drawn spots needed for an amount greater than zero to be won for the play of the keno game (para 12, 24, 29, 42-43, 45, 80, 128. Players not being provided prize based upon an amount of drawn numbers matching their selected numbers is interpreted as not meeting a minimum threshold for being awarded a prize and is therefore interpreted as the first quantity of guaranteed matching drawn spots for that play of the keno game to be less than a quantity of drawn spots needed for an amount greater than zero to be won for that play of the keno game.)
Conclusion
/JEFFREY K WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715