DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1):
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of Kirby et al. (US 2020/0357516 A1):
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claim 1 further in view of LV (CN 107832807 A) with SEARCH machine translation:
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of HU et al. (CN 109191476 A) with SEARCH machine translation:
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of JAGANATHAN et al. (US 2023/0004749 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data: provisional application No. 62/821,766, filed on Mar. 21, 2019 further in view of PRASAD et al. (US 2013/0156305 A1):
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of JAGANATHAN et al. (US 2023/0004749 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data: provisional application No. 62/821,766, filed on Mar. 21, 2019 as applied in claim 5 further in view of Loskutoff et al. (US 4,791,068):
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of JAGANATHAN et al. (US 2023/0004749 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data: provisional application No. 62/821,766, filed on Mar. 21, 2019 as applied in claim 5 further in view of Zemenchik (US 2020/0107490 A1):
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of JAGANATHAN et al. (US 2023/0004749 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data: provisional application No. 62/821,766, filed on Mar. 21, 2019 as applied in claim 5 further in view of Yuan (US 2017/0365053 A1):
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of Funka-Lea et al. (US 2019/0261945 A1):
Claim(s) 10,11,17,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of Funka-Lea et al. (US 2019/0261945 A1) as applied in claim 9 further in view of Giner et al. (US 2021/0279880 A1):
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of Funka-Lea et al. (US 2019/0261945 A1) as applied in claim 9 further in view of Giner et al. (US 2021/0279880 A1) as applied in claims 10,11,17,19 further in view of Kerr et al. (US 2004/0148197 A1):
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of Funka-Lea et al. (US 2019/0261945 A1) as applied in claim 9 further in view of Giner et al. (US 2021/0279880 A1) as applied in claims 10,11,17,19 further in view of Roth et al. (US 11,816,185 B1):
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of Funka-Lea et al. (US 2019/0261945 A1) as applied in claim 9 further in view of Giner et al. (US 2021/0279880 A1) as applied in claims 10,11,17,19 further in view of Vaconcelos et al. (US 2021/0012769 A1):
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of Funka-Lea et al. (US 2019/0261945 A1) as applied in claim 9 further in view of Giner et al. (US 2021/0279880 A1) as applied in claims 10,11,17,19 further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2019/0147250 A1), herein referred to as Zhang II:
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of Funka-Lea et al. (US 2019/0261945 A1) as applied in claim 9 further in view of Giner et al. (US 2021/0279880 A1) as applied in claims 10,11,17,19 further in view of Moustafa et al. (US 2022/0126864 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data: Provisional application No. 62/826,955, filed on Mar. 29, 2019:
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of Funka-Lea et al. (US 2019/0261945 A1) as applied in claim 9 further in view of Giner et al. (US 2021/0279880 A1) as applied in claims 10,11,17,19 further in view of Zhang et al. (WO 2020/007277 A1), herein referred to as Zhang III, with SEARCH machine translation:
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of Funka-Lea et al. (US 2019/0261945 A1) as applied in claim 9 further in view of Giner et al. (US 2021/0279880 A1) as applied in claims 10,11,17,19 further in view of FENG et al. (CN 109741343 A) with SEARCH machine translation:
Response to Amendment
The amendment was received 7/6/2026. Claims 1-20 pending.
Response to Arguments
I. Double Patenting
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, pages 7,8, filed 7/6/2026, with respect to double patenting have been fully considered and are persuasive. The double patenting rejection of claims 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18,19,20 has been withdrawn.
II. Example Embodiment
Applicant's arguments filed 7/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive:
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., remarks, page 8, 5th S: “comparing the same sizes”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicants state there are “technical improvements” and “advantages” in pages 9,10,11. The disclosed “technical improvements” and “advantages” at applicant’s disclosure’s paragraphs [0072][0075][0082] are appreciated.
III. Rejections Under 35 USC 103
Applicant's arguments, page 11 filed 7/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive:
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., page 11, 5th paragraph: “comparing the same sizes”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., page 12, 2nd paragraph, 1st S: “a pixel size…is…indicating1 a number of pixels in each patch”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicants state in page 12, 2nd para, 2nd S:
Zhou does not disclose that that a pixel size of each image in the training data (N) is greater than double the value of a patch size indicating a number of pixels in each patch (M). The 1,000 training samples mentioned in Paragraph [0031] of Zhou is not a pixel size of each image in the training data. Therefore, amended claim 1 is patentable over Zhou.
In response, the claimed wherein clause: “where…a pixel size of each image in the training data” “is not… a limitation in a claim… where the clause gave ‘meaning and purpose to the manipulative2 steps’ ” via:
MPEP 2103 Patent Examination Process [R-07.2022]
C. Review the Claims, 4th para:
The subject matter of a properly construed claim is defined by the terms that limit the scope of the claim when given their broadest reasonable interpretation. It is this subject matter that must be examined. As a general matter, grammar and the plain meaning of terms as understood by one having ordinary skill in the art used in a claim will dictate whether, and to what extent, the language limits the claim scope. See MPEP § 2111.01 for more information on the plain meaning of claim language. Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. The following types of claim language may raise a question as to its limiting effect:
(A) statements of intended use or field of use, including statements of purpose or intended use in the preamble,
(B) "adapted to" or "adapted for" clauses,
(C) "wherein" or "whereby" clauses (e.g., “where…a pixel size of each image in the training data”),
(D) contingent limitations,
(E) printed matter, or
(F) terms with associated functional language.
This list of examples is not intended to be exhaustive. The determination of whether particular language is a limitation in a claim depends on the specific facts of the case. See, e.g., Griffin v. Bertina, 285 F.3d 1029, 1034, 62 USPQ2d 1431 (Fed. Cir. 2002)(finding that a "wherein" clause limited a process claim where the clause gave "meaning and purpose to the manipulative steps"). For more information about these types of claim language and how to determine whether they have a limiting effect on claim scope, see MPEP §§ 2111.02 through 2111.05.
Applicants state in page 12, 3rd and 4th paragraphs:
The Patent Office cited to Zhang as teaching random selection of two integer
coordinates for an origin. However, Zhang is merely directed to image processing
including compressive sensing reconstruction based on an extreme learning machine to
train a reconstruction matrix. Zhang does not suggest "a patch size indicating a number of pixels in each patch, where3 the selected patch size is smaller than a pixel size of each image in the training data [[size]], the pixel size of each image in the training data [[size]] has a value of N, the patch size has a value of M, and the value of N is greater than double the value of M," as recited by amended claim 1.
The Patent Office cited to Znamenskiy as teaching cell segmentation and
classification. However, like Zhou and Zhang, Znamenskiy also fails to disclose "a patch
size indicating a number of pixels in each patch, where4 the selected patch size is smaller than a pixel size of each image in the training data [[size]], the pixel size of each image in the training data [[size]] has a value of N, the patch size has a value of M, and the value of N is greater than double the value of M," as recited by amended claim 1.
In response, the examiner is likewise relying on Zhou (US 2022/0262105 A1 with 62/876,502) to teach “indicating a number of pixels in each patch” via 62/876,502 paragraph [0033] 1st 2nd & 3rd Ss:
[0033] At 104, process 100 can, for each training sample, identify a patch of the image corresponding to the training sample. In some embodiments, a patch of the image can be any suitable portion or subset of the image. In some embodiments, the patch can be of any suitable size (e.g., 20 pixels x 20 pixels, 30 pixels x 30 pixels, 20 pixels x 10 pixels, and/or any other suitable size). Note that, in some embodiments, a size of the patch can be selected randomly, such that patches corresponding to different training samples are of different sizes. In some embodiments, process 100 can identify the patch of the image in any suitable manner. For example, in some embodiments, process 100 can identify a random location within the image and can generate the patch by cropping the image centered at the identified random location to a size of the patch. Note that, in some embodiments, the identified patch is referred to as X herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1):
Re 1. (Currently Amended), Zhou teaches via the Provisional A computer-implemented method of training a segmentation model, the method (likewise) comprising6:7
receiving8 training (“input” [0023]) data9 for the (“image”, pg. 5, 1st txt blk) segmentation model, the received (input) training data having a (“different” [0033]) training data size , and the segmentation model including deep learning (“Transfer learning” [0003]) parameters (“associated with training the network” [0073], last S: fig. 2) adjusted (comprised by “updated” [0068] penult S) by comparing (resulting in a “segmentation error” [0068] 2nd to last S) segmentation (pixel) classifications (comprising “segmentation classes” [0068] 3rd S) produced by the segmentation model to corresponding specified (cropped-“ground truth” [0068] 6th S) segmentation classification masks (704,706 “in any other suitable manner” [0051] penult S: fig. 5:108: fig. 7:
),
wherein the training data is digital data stored in memory (or likewise “server 302 can store any suitable datasets used for training, validating, or testing a network for generating source models…in a server…memory and/or storage 404” [0087] 2nd S & [0093] & [0094]);
selecting (“randomly” [0033])indicating a number of pixels in each patch (or likewise selecting a 5x5 sub-patch via machine translation: “[0033] At 104, process 100 can, for each training sample, identify a patch of the image corresponding to the training sample. In some embodiments, a patch of the image can be any suitable portion or subset of the image. In some embodiments, the patch can be of any suitable size (e.g., 20 pixels x 20 pixels, 30 pixels x 30 pixels, 20 pixels x 10 pixels, and/or any other suitable size) … [0047]… in some embodiments, any suitable number of windows (e.g., one thousand, two thousand, and/or any other suitable number) of a particular size (e.g., 5 pixels x 5 pixels, 10 pixels x 10 pixels, 2 pixels x 20 pixels, and/or any other suitable size) can be randomly selected from the patch”) , 10 11 12;
selecting (“from a training dataset” [0023])two random integers;
croppingan origin according to the selected (“from a training dataset” [0023]) two random integers;
trainingst txt blk) using the cropped training patch (by cropping) to13 adjust (weighted) connections (i.e., “updating14 weights” [0023]) within the (“neural network”15 [0057]) segmentation model , wherein the training includes a combination (“appended to an end of the decoder network” [0068 3rd S) of cell segmentation and classification with multiple16 (via “region(s)” [0020] 2nd to last S) cell17 type18 (&) annotation19 labels (being as labeled “region(s) represented”20 [0020] 2nd to last S) ; and
repeating (“with different training samples”, pg. 20 [0064])two random integers, cropping of a training patch (“by cropping” [0033]), and training of the segmentation model to21 train the segmentation model (resulting in “the trained encoder-decoder network”, pg. 5, 1st txt blk) with a (“sizes” [0033[) plurality of randomly selected cropped training patches (“by cropping” [0033]), where each randomly selected cropped training patch (“by cropping” [0033]) is cropped from the training (“input” [0023]) data using an origin based22 on different random integers, 23 st S) 24 (or likewise “[0096] Memory and/or storage 404 can be any suitable memory and/or storage for storing programs, data, and/or any other suitable information in some embodiments.”).
Zhou does not teach the difference25 in claim 1 of:
a) two random integers…
b) an origin…
c) two random integers…
d) cell (segmentation and classification)26 … (multiple) (A) cell27 (&) (B) type28 (&) (C) annotation29 (labels)…
e) two random integers…
f) an origin based30 on different random integers.
Zhang teaches the difference [a) b) c) e) f)] in claim 1 of:
a) two random integers (via “randomly selecting” “integer” “coordinates” of 0 to 99, pg. 2 [0010]:
…)
b) an origin (implicit given said “coordinates”: “top left corner…origin”, pg. 2 [0009]: (0,99))…
c) two random integers (via “second…randomly selecting” “integer value” “coordinates” “of 100”, pg. 5 [0057]:
)…
e) two random integers (via “randomly selecting coordinates31 of 100 integer values”, pg. 9. claim 1)…
f) an origin (implicit given said “coordinates”: “top left corner…origin”, pg. 2 [0009]: (0,99) based32 on different random integers (resulting in “cutting 100 square image block of 32 * 32”, pg. 5 [0057], after “randomly selecting coordinates of 100 integer”, pg. 5, [0057]).
Since Zhou teaches a reconstructed image destruction via “reconstructed image” “loss”33,. Pg. 18 [0060], one of skill in the art of re-building can make Zhou’s be as Zhang’s predictably recognizing the change to “effectively improve the reconstruction quality of”, Zhou [0001], the reconstructed image destruction:
Zhou of the combination of Zhou,Zhang does not teach the last difference [d)] of claim 1:
d) cell (segmentation and classification)34 … (multiple)3536 (A) cell37 (&)3839 (B) type40 (&) (C) annotation41 (labels)42:
(A) (multiple) cell (labels) &
(B) (multiple) type (labels) &
(C) (multiple) annotation (labels)
under the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1.
ZNAMENSKIY teaches an annotation problem in the prior art (“Disadvantage” [0006]) and the last difference d) of claim 1:
d) cell (segmentation and classification)43 (“of an already segmented object” [0031]: segmented cell) … (multiple)4445 (A) cell46 (&)4748 (B) type49 (&) (C) annotation50 (labels)51:
(A) (multiple) cell (“type” “change label” [0137] last S) (labels) &
(B) (multiple) (“cell” [0137] last S) type (“change label”) (labels) &
(C) (multiple) annotation (“change label” [0137] last S) (labels)
under the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1.
Since Zhou of the combination of Zhou,Zhang teaches intensive annotation [0004] and labeling multiple training regions or patterns but not using the labeling/annotation, one of skill in the art of labeling can make Zhou’s of the combination of Zhou,Zhang be as ZNAMENSKIY’s seeing in the change “the user correcting a label”, ZNAMENSKIY [0031] penult S, and “to use said corrected annotation as training feedback52 in the machine learning algorithm” ZNAMENSKIY [0053] last S, so that subsequent or ongoing training operations of the deep learning machine can be altered53 (improved) or corrected and thus “superfluous… annotation… may be avoided”, ZNAMENSKIY [0023] last 2 Ss, thus addressing the annotation problem as recognized by Zhou and ZNAMENSKIY:
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of Kirby et al. (US 2020/0357516 A1):
Re 2. (Original), Zhou of the combination of Zhou,Zhang,ZNAMENSKIY teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the training (resulting in “the trained encoder-decoder network”, pg. 5, 1st txt blk) is repeated (“with different training samples”, pg. 20 [0064]) until the plurality of randomly selected cropped training patches (“by cropping” [0033]) reaches (via a “convergence”, pg. 20 [0064]) a specified training (“sample”, pg. 9 [00330) patch count threshold, where the specified training patch count threshold is indicative that the (weighted) connections within the (“image”, pg. 5, 1st txt blk) segmentation (neural network) model has been sufficiently adjusted (i.e., “updating54 weights” [0023], incorporating more sufficient information) to generate correct output classifications (“reducing false positives” pg. 7 [0025]) according to the (input) training data.
Zhou of the combination of Zhou, Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY does not teach the difference of claim 2: “a specified… count threshold, where the specified …count threshold is indicative that”.
Kirby teaches the difference of claim 2:
a specified … count threshold (or “class”55 “threshold” represented as fig. 4:412: “CONFIDENCE > THRESHOLD”), where the specified … (class-)count threshold is indicative that (“a count that is at least a threshold number (e.g., at least 100 image patches belonged to a particular class)” [0045] last S.
Since Zhou of the combination of Zhou, Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY teaches an image patch, one of skill in image patches can make Zhou’s of the combination of Zhou, Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY be as Kirby’s predictably recognizing the change “to excel in image recognition tasks, without requiring time-intensive selective feature extraction by humans”, Kirby [0010] last S.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claim 1 further in view of LV (CN 107832807 A) with SEARCH machine translation:
Re 3. (previously presented), Zhou of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY teaches The method of claim 1, wherein (“randomly” [0033]) selecting the patch size includes setting the patch size according to available memory in a graphic processor unit (GPU).
Zhou of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY does not teach the difference of claim 3 of:
available (memory)56 in a graphic processor unit (GPU).
LV teach the difference of claim 3 of:
available (memory)57 in a graphic processor unit (GPU) (or likewise “based on the available memory space of the size of the sample image and the graphics processor, GPU, determining the size of each sub-image”, pg. 4, 4th txt blk).
Since Zhou suggests (i.e., the reason to combine references) taking advantage of deep learning (i.e., convolutional neural networks (CNNs)) and suggests (i.e., the reason to combine references) different possibilities for selecting a size of a patch for machine learning training via:
[0012] Embodiments described herein therefore provide enhanced solutions to improve upon conventionally known image representation and learning techniques by leveraging machine learning to generate the source models which are suitable for transfer learning to application specific models without requiring the manual annotation of medical images.
[0048] At 104, process 100 can, for each training sample, identify a patch of the image corresponding to the training sample. In some embodiments, a patch of the image can be any suitable portion or subset of the image. In some embodiments, the patch can be of any suitable size (e.g., 20 pixels×20 pixels, 30 pixels×30 pixels, 20 pixels×10 pixels, and/or any other suitable size). Note that, in some embodiments, a size of the patch can be selected randomly, such that patches corresponding to different training samples are of different sizes. In some embodiments, process 100 can identify the patch of the image in any suitable manner. For example, in some embodiments, process 100 can identify a random location within the image and can generate the patch by cropping the image centered at the identified random location to a size of the patch. Note that, in some embodiments, the identified patch is referred to as X herein.
, one of skill in the art of machine learning training can make Zhou’s of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY be as LV’s seeing in the change “GPU display memory space not only reduces the single training takes, when improving the working performance of the GPU, it also ensures the image boundary information is not lost, so that all the image information can be used for training. improves the accuracy of the training.”, LV, pg. 3, 3rd txt blk.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of HU et al. (CN 109191476 A) with SEARCH machine translation:
Re 4. (Original), Zhou of the combination of Zhou,Zhang,ZNAMENSKIY teaches The method of claim 1, wherein training the segmentation (neural network) model includes using (“any suitable number”, pg. 9 [0031]) (A) thirty or (B) less training images.
Zhou of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY does not teach the Markush element:
(A) thirty or (B) less training images.
HU teaches Markush alternative (A):
(“using”) Thirty training (“data”) images (i.e., “30 continuous slices” “training data set”, pg. 8, 8th txt blk,--as shown in fig. 5-- “to increase the image number of the training set”, pg. 8, 8th txt blk).
Since Zhou of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY suggests other “training images”, pg. 4 [0020], one of skill in the art of training images can make Zhou’s use of training images of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY be as HU’s predictably recognizing the change training a model using increased image-data quality via “to train…using data enhancement”58, HU, pg. 8, 8th txt blk; thus resulting in an increased-in-quality model.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of JAGANATHAN et al. (US 2023/0004749 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data: provisional application No. 62/821,766, filed on Mar. 21, 2019 further in view of PRASAD et al. (US 2013/0156305 A1):
Re 5. (Original), Zhou of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising performing circumsolar59 image anomaly (image) segmentation by stacking an optical density space image on a normally captured image to define a multi-dimensional input tensor having multiple channels.
Zhou of the combination of Zhou,Zhang,ZNAMENSKIY does not teach the difference of claim 5:
--circumsolar60 image anomaly… by stacking an optical density space image on a normally captured image to define a multi-dimensional input tensor having multiple channels--.
Jaganathan teaches the difference of claim 5:
circumsolar61 image (via “satellite imaging”, pg. 78 [001031]) anomaly… by stacking an optical (“pixels”, pg. 12 [00261]) density space (via “satellite imaging”, pg. 78 [001031]) image (resulting in “stacked” “image patches”, pg. 50 [00730]) on a normally captured image (resulting in “stacked” “image patches”, pg. 50 [00730]) to define a multi-dimensional input tensor (“of any dimensionality”, pg. 54, 1st txt blk) having multiple channels (via fig. 111: flattened image representations:
Since Zhou of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY suggests a Convolutional Neural Network (CNN), “a fully convolutional network” [0061], one of skill in the art of CNNs can make Zhou’s of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY be as Jaganathan’s predictably recognizing the change “contributes strongly to accurate…classification”, Jaganathan, pg. 10 [00237].
The combination of Zhou of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY, Jaganathan does not teach “anomaly”.
Prasad teaches “anomaly” (“with respect to a first background feature within which it is embedded in block S106”, [0078]: Fig. 7:S106).
Since Jaganathan of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY,Jaganathan teaches “methods… can be applied” to said “satellite imaging”, one of skill in the art of satellite imaging can make Jaganathan’s of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY,Jaganathan be as Prasad’s predictably recognizing the change providing a “simplification of image… segmentation…which it is easier to detect anomalies than in the whole image taken all at once”, Prasad [0089] last S.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of JAGANATHAN et al. (US 2023/0004749 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data: provisional application No. 62/821,766, filed on Mar. 21, 2019 as applied in claim 5 further in view of Loskutoff et al. (US 4,791,068):
Re 6. (Original), Jaganathan of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY, Jaganathan teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising performing cell (via “cell biology”, pg. 78 [001031]) growth monitoring (image) segmentation by stacking different images (said resulting in “stacked” “image patches”, pg. 50 [00730]) having different focusing (“for an optical system…along the z axis”, pg. 87 [001106]) areas to define a multi-dimensional input tensor having multiple channels (mapped in claim 5).
Jaganathan of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY, Jaganathan does not teach the difference of claim 6 :“performing…growth monitoring…having different…areas”.
Loskutoff teaches:
performing…growth monitoring (so that “those areas containing single cells were monitored on consecutive days for cell growth”, c.19,ll. 40-45) …having different…areas (“of each of the cellular droplets”, c. 19, ll.35-40).
Since Jaganathan of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY, Jaganathan teaches said cell biology, one of skill in the art of cell biology and microscopes can make Jaganathan’s of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY, Jaganathan be as Loskutoff’s predictably recognizing the change “readily lends itself to screening large numbers of samples in a rapid and reproducible manner”, Loskutoff, c4., ll. 45-55.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of JAGANATHAN et al. (US 2023/0004749 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data: provisional application No. 62/821,766, filed on Mar. 21, 2019 as applied in claim 5 further in view of Zemenchik (US 2020/0107490 A1):
Re 7. (Original), Jaganathan of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY, Jaganathan teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising performing (“A and C overlap” “emission spectra”, pg. 86 [001095]) multi (overlapping)-spectral (“MRI”, Zhou, pg. 19, 1st txt blk) imaging segmentation (“preventing cross-talk between digital image sets from different cycles”, pg. 11 [00244]: as shown in fig. 111, above), where each (cross-talk) multi-spectral band (MRI) image (A or C) includes between ten and one hundred spectral (“wavelength”) bands (“(image/imaging channel)”, pg. 13 [00275]), wherein “one of the image channels is one of a plurality of filter wavelength bands”, pg. 104 [001236]), by stacking (said resulting in “stacked” “image patches”, pg. 50 [00730]) the multi-spectral band (MRI) images (A and C) to define a multi-dimensional input tensor having multiple channels (as mapped in claim 5).
Jaganathan of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY,Jaganathan does not teach the difference of claim 7:
“between ten and one hundred”.
Zemenchik teaches the difference:
between ten (“narrowly-spaced” [0014] 5th S) and one hundred (spectral bands).
Since Jaganathan of the combination of Zhou,Zhang,ZNAMENSKIY,Jaganathan teaches said methods can be applied to satellite imaging, one of skill in the art of satellite imaging can make Jaganathan’s of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY,Jaganathan be as Zemenchik’s predictably recognizing the change to “further enhance the accuracy of tillage operations, thereby increasing the yield potential of the subsequently harvested agricultural products”, Zemenchik [0039] last S.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of JAGANATHAN et al. (US 2023/0004749 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data: provisional application No. 62/821,766, filed on Mar. 21, 2019 as applied in claim 5 further in view of Yuan (US 2017/0365053 A1):
Re 8. (Original), Zhou of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY,Jaganathan teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising performing H & E whole-slide (“that holds the input DNA fragments during the sequencing process”, Jaganathan, pg. 14 [00284]) imaging (via “optical imaging device”, Jaganathan, pg. 88 [00112]) by tiling the (input) training data into smaller training patches (“by cropping” [0033]), wherein an output image includes
at least one of62
A) a lymphocyte cell (via “cell” “image” “data”, Jaganathan, pg. 78 [001031]),
B) epithelial cell (via “cell” “image” “data”, Jaganathan, pg. 78 [001031]) or
C) stromal cell (via “cell” “image” “data”, Jaganathan, pg. 78 [001031]), and
at least one of
D) connective tissue (“sample”, Jaganathan, pg. 83 [001068]),
E) lymphoid tissue (“sample”, Jaganathan, pg. 83 [001068]) or
F) smooth muscle tissue (“sample”, Jaganathan, pg. 83 [001068]).
Zhou of the combination of Zhou,Zhang,ZNAMENSKIY,Jaganathan does not teach the difference of claim 8:
“H & E whole…
lymphocyte…
epithelial…
stroma…and
connective…
lymphoid…
smooth muscle”.
Yuan teaches the difference of claim 8 of:
H & E whole(-tumor section slides” [0070])…
A) lymphocyte (“encompassing fibroblasts and endothelial cells” [0070])…
B) epithelial (encompassed by said lymphocyte)…
C) stroma (“compartments” [0078] last S)…and
D) connective (comprised by said fibrobalsts)…
E) lymphoid (comprising said encompassing fibroblasts63 & epithelial lymphocyte64)…
F) smooth muscle.
Since Jaganathan of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY,Jaganathan teaches a slide and tissue, one of skill in the art of slides and tissues can make Jaganathan’s of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY, Jaganathan be as Yuan’s predictably recognizing the change “has improved predictive power in cancer prognosis compared with previous indicators of immune infiltration”, Yuan [0058] 3rd S.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of Funka-Lea et al. (US 2019/0261945 A1):
Re 9. (Original), Zhou of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the (image) segmentation (neural net) model includes a plurality of sequential encoder down-sampling blocks and a plurality of sequential decoder up-sampling (“e.g., 2D upsamplings, 3D upsamplings, etc.”, pg. 5, last txt blk) blocks.
Zhou of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY does not teach:
“sequential…down-sampling blocks…
sequential…blocks”.
Funka teaches the difference of claim 9:
(“consecutive” [0057] 2nd S) sequential…down-sampling (Unet-like) blocks (fig. 5: G3d: rectangles)…
(“consecutive” [0057] 2nd S) sequential…(UNet-like) blocks (fig. 5:G3d: rectangles).
Since Zhou of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY teaches a neural network, one of skill in the art of neural networks can make Zhou’s of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY be as Funka’s predictably recognizing the change “making the…resulting segmentation…more accurate”, Funka [0021] last two Ss:
Claim(s) 10,11,17,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of Funka-Lea et al. (US 2019/0261945 A1) as applied in claim 9 further in view of Giner et al. (US 2021/0279880 A1):
Re 10. (Original), Zhou of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY,Funka teaches The method of claim 9, further comprising processing a multi-dimensional input tensor via the plurality of sequential encoder down-sampling (U-Net) blocks to generate an output tensor, wherein:
the multi-dimensional input tensor includes at least a first (“arbitrary”, [0021] last S-length/line) dimension65, a second (“second” is understood given “dimension”) dimension (“of dimensions”, [0021] last S, comprising a 2nd plane dimension or 2nd surface dimension) and a plurality of channels; and
the output tensor includes at least one segmentation (“class”) classification (“layer” [0068] 3rd S).
Zhou of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY,Funka does not teach the difference of claim 10:
“a multi-dimensional input tensor…
an output tensor…
the multi-dimensional input tensor includes… a plurality of channels; and the output tensor includes”.
Giner teaches the difference of claim 10:
a multi-dimensional input tensor (“X” [0061], 2nd S, i.e., “input volume 404” [0061]: figs. 3,4F:404: “Input Volume”)…
an output tensor (“to have 4 channels” [0064] 2nd S)…
the multi-dimensional input tensor (“X” [0061], 2nd S) includes… a plurality of (“C”) channels (“to having FM feature maps” [0059] 1st S via fig. 4F: 412: “Init Conv 8 kernels”); and
the output tensor (“to have 4 channels” [0064] 2nd S) includes (said 4 channels “with shape (W,H,D,4)” [0064] last S).
Since Funka of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY,Funka teaches a U-Net, one of skill in the art of U-Nets:
can make Funka’s of the combination of Zhou,Zhang,ZNAMENSKIY Funka be as Giner’s predictably recognizing the change “to increase the accuracy of tumor segmentation”, Giner [0057] 1st S:
Re 11. (Original), Zhou of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY,Funka,Giner teaches The method of claim 10, wherein processing the multi-dimensional input tensor includes passing (as shown by the arrows in Giner’s figures 3, 4F) the multi-dimensional input tensor through the plurality of sequential encoder
down-sampling blocks and the plurality of sequential decoder up-sampling blocks of segmentation model to generate the output tensor.
Re 17 (Original).,Giner of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY ,Funka,Giner teaches The method of claim 10, wherein the multi-dimensional input tensor (“X” [0061], 2nd S) includes at least one of
gaming data for classifying player behavior and
medical data (or “Clinical data” [0081] 3rd to last S) for classifying X-Rays and/or MRIs (resulting in “patch” “labels” wherein “The patches can include a T1-Gd patch 710, T2-FLAIR patch 720, T1-weighted patch 730, T2-weighted patch 740”: [0088] 3rd & 4th Ss: fig. 7:700, “referred to as MRI modalities” [0026] 2nd S).
Re 19. (Original), Giner of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY ,Funka,Giner teaches The method of claim 10, wherein the output tensor (“to have 4 channels” [0064] 2nd S) includes at least two segmentation classifications (or “4 classes” [0064] penult S corresponding to a label-patch segmented image, fig. 8, a “patch 700” “segmented image” [0088] last S).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of Funka-Lea et al. (US 2019/0261945 A1) as applied in claim 9 further in view of Giner et al. (US 2021/0279880 A1) as applied in claims 10,11,17,19 further in view of Kerr et al. (US 2004/0148197 A1):
Re 12. (Original), Giner of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY,Funka,Giner teaches The method of claim 10, wherein:
the multi-dimensional input tensor (“X” [0061], 2nd S, i.e., “input volume 404” [0061]: figs. 3,4F:404: “Input Volume”) includes a video sequence (“that are applied to the same axial slice 200” [0027] 2nd S or “MR sequences” [0109] last S), and
processing the multi-dimensional input tensor (“X” [0061], 2nd S, i.e., “input volume 404” [0061]: figs. 3,4F:404: “Input Volume”) includes processing the video sequence (“that are applied to the same axial slice 200” [0027] 2nd S or “MR sequences” [0109] last S) for at least one of66
A) classifying (via a “labeling scheme” [0080] last S) behavior,
B) classifying (via a “labeling scheme” [0080] last S) vehicles,
C) person recognition (via an “identification process” [0020] 1st S), and
D) item recognition (via an “identification process” [0020] 1st S).
Giner of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY,Funka,Giner does not teach the difference of claim 12:
“video…
processing the video…
A) behavior…
B) vehicles…
C) person…
D) item”.
Kerr teaches the difference of claim 12:
video (via “the term content refers to any form of video” [0023], “ such as diagnostic images of the type that are generated by systems such as Computer Tomography, Ultra Sound, Magnetic Resonance Imaging” [0005] 2nd S)…
(“provides a content bearing signal to signal processor 32” [0026] 3rd S) processing the video (“and adapts the content for presentation” [0026] 5th S) …
A) behavior…
B) vehicles…
C) (“Profile information is assigned to each” [0034] 4th S)67 person…
D) item.
Since Giner teaches MR sequences, one of skill in the art of MR sequences can make Giner’s of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY,Funka,Giner be as Kerr’s predictably recognizing the change “to improve the perceived appearance of presented content. Such adjustments can be made based upon the type of content, and profile information. Similarly controller 34 can also be adapted to adjust and/or to control the operation of enhanced display apparatus 228 or light box 232 so that they do not present content to people who do not have appropriate viewing privileges or who are not authenticated.”, Kerr [0071].
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of Funka-Lea et al. (US 2019/0261945 A1) as applied in claim 9 further in view of Giner et al. (US 2021/0279880 A1) as applied in claims 10,11,17,19 further in view of Roth et al. (US 11,816,185 B1):
Re 13. (Original), Giner of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY,Funka,Giner teaches The method of claim 10, wherein:
the multi-dimensional input tensor (“X” [0061], 2nd S, i.e., “input volume 404” [0061]: figs. 3,4F:404: “Input Volume”) includes68 (A) radar and/or (B) sonar data; and
processing the multi-dimensional input tensor (“X” [0061], 2nd S, i.e., “input volume 404” [0061]: figs. 3,4F:404: “Input Volume”) includes processing the (A) radar and/or (B) sonar data (via a “processor” [0067] 5th S) for object recognition (via an “identification process” [0020] 1st S).
Giner of the combination of Zhou,Zhang,ZNAMENSKIY,Funka,Giner does not teach the difference of claim 13:
(A) radar and/or (B) sonar…
The (A) radar and/or (B) sonar.
Roth teaches the difference of claim 13:
(A) radar (“captured”, c. 11, ll. 35-40) and/or (B) sonar…
the (A) radar (“captured”, “MRI” “volumetric data”, c. ll. 28-38) and/or (B) sonar (via c. 11, ll. 35-40:
Since Giner of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY,Funka,Giner teaches MRI and “other” “imaging” “devices” (Giner [0003] 4th S), one of skill in the art of imaging devices can make Giner’s of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY, Funka,Giner be as Roth’s predictably recognizing the change “to boost the robustness of the model on supervised volumetric segmentation tasks.”, Roth, c.11,ll. 19-21:
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of Funka-Lea et al. (US 2019/0261945 A1) as applied in claim 9 further in view of Giner et al. (US 2021/0279880 A1) as applied in claims 10,11,17,19 further in view of Vaconcelos et al. (US 2021/0012769 A1):
Re 14. (Original), Giner of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY,Funka,Giner teaches The method of claim 10, wherein the multi-dimensional input tensor (“X” [0061], 2nd S, i.e., “input volume 404” [0061]: figs. 3,4F:404: “Input Volume”) includes audio data received from different microphones.
Giner of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY ,Funka,Giner does not teach the difference of claim 14:
“audio…from different microphones”.
Vaconcelos teaches the difference of claim 14:
audio (“featuring an utterance and…for the generation of an audio feature tensor” [0082] penult S)…from different (“one or more”) microphones.
Since Giner teaches a user interface [0078], one of skill in the art of interfaces and tensors can make Giner’s of the combination of Zhou,Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY ,Funka,Giner be as Vaconcelos’ predictably recognizing the change “quickly becoming a viable option for providing a user interface”, Vaconcelos [0002] last S.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of Funka-Lea et al. (US 2019/0261945 A1) as applied in claim 9 further in view of Giner et al. (US 2021/0279880 A1) as applied in claims 10,11,17,19 further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2019/0147250 A1), herein referred to as Zhang II:
Re 15. (Original), Giner of the combination of Zhou, Zhang I, ZNAMENSKIY,Funka,Giner teaches The method of claim 10, wherein:
the multi-dimensional input tensor (“X” [0061], 2nd S, i.e., “input volume 404” [0061]: figs. 3,4F:404: “Input Volume”) includes vehicle control data (“for providing images of segmented tumor for at least one display 448” [0033] 2nd S); and
processing the multi-dimensional input tensor (“X” [0061], 2nd S, i.e., “input volume 404” [0061]: figs. 3,4F:404: “Input Volume”) includes processing the vehicle control data (“for providing images of segmented tumor for at least one display 448” [0033] 2nd S) for at least one of69
A) object recognition,
B) pattern recognition,
C) navigation and/or D) steering control (“to control the operation of, data processing apparatuses” [0074] 2nd S),
E) route planning, and
F) braking in emergency situations.
Giner of the combination of Zhou, Zhang, ZNAMENSKIY,Funka,Giner does not teach:
vehicle control…
vehicle control…
A) object (recognition)…
B) pattern (recognition)…
C) navigation and/or D) steering…
E) route planning…
F) braking in emergency situations.
Zhang II teaches the difference of claim 15:
vehicle control (“systems 740” [0066]: fig. 7:740: on right-side)…
vehicle control (“to operate the vehicle 710” [0071]: fig. 7:710: a car)…
A) (“lamp”) object (“identified” [0050] 6th S) (recognition)…
B) pattern (recognition)…
C) navigation and/or D) (“The vehicle controller can, for example, translate the motion plan into instructions for”) steering (“control” [0076] 4th S: fig. 7:740)…
E) route planning…
F) braking in emergency situations70.
Since Zhou of the combination (as illustrated in the rejection of claim 10) of Zhou, Zhang I, ZNAMENSKIY,Funka,Giner teaches that the “trained encoder-decoder network…can then be used…to perform any suitable task, such as image classification, image segmentation, etc., pg. 5, 1st txt blk, one of skill in the art of encoder-decoder networks can make Zhou’s of the combination (as illustrated in the rejection of claim 10) of Zhou, Zhang I, ZNAMENSKIY,Funka,Giner be as Zhang II’s predictably recognizing the change “to more accurately perform semantic segmentation of the portion(s) of an environment.”, Zhang II [0035] 2nd S:
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of Funka-Lea et al. (US 2019/0261945 A1) as applied in claim 9 further in view of Giner et al. (US 2021/0279880 A1) as applied in claims 10,11,17,19 further in view of Moustafa et al. (US 2022/0126864 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data: Provisional application No. 62/826,955, filed on Mar. 29, 2019:
Re 16. (Original), Zhou, Zhang I, ZNAMENSKIY,Funka,Giner teaches The method of claim 10, wherein:
the multi-dimensional input tensor (“X” [0061], 2nd S, i.e., “input volume 404” [0061]: figs. 3,4F:404: “Input Volume”) includes behavior data; and
processing (via “downsampling operations”71 [0058] 2nd S) the multi-dimensional input tensor (“X” [0061], 2nd S, i.e., “input volume 404” [0061]: figs. 3,4F:404: “Input Volume”) includes processing (via “downsampling operations”72 [0058] 2nd S) the behavior data for at least one of73
A) aggressive behavior classification (via a “labeling74 scheme” [0080] last S) and
B) concealed items classification (via a “labeling75 scheme” [0080] last S).
Giner of the combination of Zhou, Zhang I, ZNAMENSKIY,Funka,Giner does not teach the difference of claim 16:
--behavior (data)…
A) aggressive behavior (classification)…
B) concealed items (classification)--.
Moustafa teaches via Provisional application No. 62/826,955 the difference of claim 16:
(“vehicle”) behavior (“data transfer”, pg. 41, 1st txt blk) (data)…
A) (“recognize”76) aggressive behavior (“such as aggressive honking, yelling, or unsafe situations such as screeching brakes”, pg. 84 [00170]:
) (classification)…
B) concealed items (classification)77.
Since Zhou of the combination (as illustrated in the rejection of claim 10) of Zhou, Zhang I, ZNAMENSKIY,Funka,Giner teaches that the “trained encoder-decoder network…can then be used…to perform any suitable task, such as image classification, image segmentation, etc., pg. 5, 1st txt blk, one of skill in the art of encoder-decoder networks can make Zhou’s of the combination (as illustrated in the rejection of claim 10) of Zhou, Zhang I, ZNAMENSKIY,Funka,Giner be as Moustafa’s predictably recognizing the change to “enhance the system’s intelligence to report unknown situations (time-based events that were not been seen by the system previously (either at training or test phases)”, Moustafa, pg. 162, 1st txt box:
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of Funka-Lea et al. (US 2019/0261945 A1) as applied in claim 9 further in view of Giner et al. (US 2021/0279880 A1) as applied in claims 10,11,17,19 further in view of Zhang et al. (WO 2020/007277 A1), herein referred to as Zhang III, with SEARCH machine translation:
Re 18. (Original), Funka of the combination of Zhou,Zhang I, ZNAMENSKIY,Funka,Giner teaches The method of claim 10, where each encoder down-sampling block (Funka: fig. 5: G3d: rectangles) includes at least one of78
A) a Residual Network (ResNet) Basic block,
B) a ResNet Bottleneck block,
C) a simple two convolution block,
D) a Dense Convolutional Network (DenseNet) block, and
E) a ResNeXt block.
Funka of the combination of Zhou,Zhang I, ZNAMENSKIY,Funka,Giner does not teach the difference of claim 18 :
A) Residual Network (ResNet) Basic (block),
B) ResNet Bottleneck (block),
C) simple two convolution (block),
D) Dense Convolutional Network (DenseNet) (block), and
E) ResNeXt (block).
Zhang III teaches the difference of claim 18 of:
A) Residual Network (ResNet) Basic (block),
B) ResNet Bottleneck (block),
C) simple two convolution (block),
D) (“a network structure based on”) Dense Convolutional Network (DenseNet) (“and Unet (full convolutional neural network).”, pg. 4, 7th txt blk) (block), and
E) ResNeXt (block)79.
Since Zhou of the combination (as illustrated in the rejection of claim 10) of Zhou, Zhang I, ZNAMENSKIY,Funka,Giner teaches that the “trained encoder-decoder network…can then be used…to perform any suitable task, such as image classification, image segmentation, etc., pg. 5, 1st txt blk, one of skill in the art of encoder-decoder networks can make Zhou’s of the combination (as illustrated in the rejection of claim 10) of Zhou, Zhang I, ZNAMENSKIY,Funka,Giner be as Zhang III’s predictably recognizing the change “improves the transmission efficiency of information and gradients in the network…and…to improve the usampling information deficiency”, Zhang III, pg. 4, 7th txt blk.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2022/0262105 A1) with Related U.S. Application Data Provisional application No. 62/876,502, filed on Jul. 19, 2019 in view of Zhang et al. (CN 103942770 A) with SEARCH machine translation and ZNAMENSKIY et al. (US 2019/0347524 A1) as applied in claims 1 further in view of Funka-Lea et al. (US 2019/0261945 A1) as applied in claim 9 further in view of Giner et al. (US 2021/0279880 A1) as applied in claims 10,11,17,19 further in view of FENG et al. (CN 109741343 A) with SEARCH machine translation:
Re 20. (Original), Giner of the combination of Zhou,Zhang I, ZNAMENSKIY,Funka,Giner The method of claim 19, wherein the output tensor (“to have 4 channels” [0064] 2nd S) includes (said 4 channels “with shape (W,H,D,4)” [0064] last S) at least one of the segmentation (“class”) classifications (“layer”, Zhou: [0068] 3rd S) includes a segmentation80 (“brain mask”, Giner [0085] 2nd to last S and “patch” “mask” [0087] 3rd S) mask (fig. 6:630,640: brain & patch masks extracting “patches (masked)”) for an image (“concatenation” Giner [0085] 2nd to last S).
Giner of the combination of Zhou,Zhang I, ZNAMENSKIY,Funka,Giner does not teach “segmentation”81.
Feng teaches:
(“coarse”) segmentation82 (“mask”, pg. 2, 8th txt blk).
Since Zhou, Funka,Giner of the combination of Zhou,Zhang I, ZNAMENSKIY, Funka,Giner teaches U-Net, one of skill in the art of U-Nets can make Zhou’s, Funka’s,Giner’s of the combination of Zhou,Zhang I, ZNAMENSKIY, Funka,Giner be as Feng’s predictably recognizing the change “to realize…automatic and accurate…improved image segmentation”, Feng, pg. 2, 3rd txt blk.
Conclusion
The prior art “nearest to the subject matter defined in the claims” (MPEP 707.05) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following table lists several references that are relevant to the subject matter claimed and disclosed in this Application. The references are not relied on by the Examiner, but are provided to assist the Applicant in responding to this Office action.
Citation
Relevance
Tafazoli Bilandi et al. (US 2019/0012768 A1)
Tafazoli teaches “In some embodiments, the patch may be selected and sized in accordance with a scale of fragmented material surrounding a pixel.” [0073] 3rd S as shown in fig. 6: 632:
as the closest to claim 1’s:
--selecting, by the at least one processor, a patch size indicating a number of pixels in each patch, where the selected patch size is smaller than a pixel size of each image in the training data [[size]], the pixel size of each image in the training data [[size]] has a value of N, the patch size has a value of M, and the value of N is greater than double the value of M--
ローズ,ジョーディー (Google Translate: Rose, Jordy)(JP 2016531343 A) with SEARCH machine translation with corresponding English version: US 11,501,195 B2
Rose (JP 2016531343 A) teaches selecting/learning a 40x30 pixel patch from 640x480 pixel image via translation, pg 124, 2nd txt blk:
The natural image data set of the sparse coding component contains 5,000 images, each naturally 640 × 480 pixels in size. One of them is selected. Then, 50,000 randomly sampled image patches with a size of 40 × 30 pixels have been selected. A “low definition” version of the image patch is appended to each of those image patches obtained by applying a blur transformation to a high definition patch. These composite images are similar to the images used in the semantic repair classification procedure.
A dictionary is then learned on those composite images. After the dictionary is learned, the low-definition partition of the dictionary can be used to reconstruct a low-definition version of the image, and the high-definition partition is repaired.
as the closest to claim 1’s:
--selecting, by the at least one processor, a patch size indicating a number of pixels in each patch, where the selected patch size is smaller than a pixel size of each image in the training data [[size]], the pixel size of each image in the training data [[size]] has a value of N, the patch size has a value of M, and the value of N is greater than double the value of M--
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENNIS ROSARIO/Examiner, Art Unit 2676
/Henok Shiferaw/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2676
1 indicating: present participle of indicate, wherein participle is defined: a form derived from a verb (indicate), used in English as an adjective to express participation in the action or state (i.e., “a pixel size…is”) of the verb (indicate), or combined with an auxiliary verb to construct any of various tenses, as in a burning candle, a known fact, I am freezing, She has gone: a participle does not specify person or number, but may have a subject or object, show tense, etc. (Dictionary.com)
2 See rejection of claim 1 mapped to MEANING & PURPOSE I & MEANING & PURPOSE II
3 See above remark/response regarding this non-limiting wherein/where clause
4 See above remark/response regarding this non-limiting wherein/where clause
5 MPEP 2131 Anticipation — Application of 35 U.S.C. 102 [R-08.2017], 2nd para, 2nd to last S: The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
6 BROAD CLAIM LANGUAGE: “-ing” (of “comprising”): a suffix of nouns formed from verbs, expressing the action of the verb or its result, product, material, etc. (the art of building; a new building; cotton wadding ), wherein etc is defined: and others; and so forth; and so on (used to indicate that more of the same sort or class might have been mentioned, but for brevity have been omitted), wherein so is defined: likewise or correspondingly; also; too. (Dictionary.com)
7 colon: the sign (:) used to mark a major division in a sentence, to indicate that what follows is an elaboration, summation, implication, etc., of what precedes (“computer-implemented”); or to separate groups of numbers referring to different things, as hours from minutes in 5:30; or the members of a ratio or proportion, as in 1 : 2 = 3 : 6. (Dictionary.com): I don’t see this explicitly happening regarding the claimed “computer-implemented”.
8 The crossed-out text is not limiting via MPEP 2143.03 All Claim Limitations Must Be Considered [R-01.2024], 3rd para:
The following types of claim language may raise a question as to its limiting effect (this list is not exhaustive [I am adding Non-Limiting comma Phrases, NLPs to the list, such as --,by at least one processor,--]):
• preamble (MPEP § 2111.02);
• clauses such as "adapted to," adapted for," "wherein," and "whereby" (MPEP § 2111.04, subsection I);
• contingent limitations (MPEP § 2111.04, subsection II);
• printed matter (MPEP § 2111.05); and
• functional language associated with a claim term (MPEP § 2181).
9 data: (usually used with a singular verb) information in digital format, as encoded text or numbers, or multimedia images, audio, or video. (Dictioary.com)
10 has: a 3rd person singular present indicative of have, wherein have is defined: to be related to or be in a certain relation to. (Dictionary.com)
11 has: a 3rd person singular present indicative of have, wherein have is defined: to be related to or be in a certain relation to. (Dictionary.com)
12 The crossed text (i.e., claim 1’s wherein clause: “where the selected patch size is smaller than a pixel size of each image in the training data [[size]], the pixel size of each image in the training data [[size]] has a value of N, the patch size has a value of M, and the value of N is greater than double the value of M;”) is not “a limitation in a claim…wherein the clause gave ‘meaning and purpose to the manipulative steps’ “via:
MPEP 2111.04 "Adapted to," "Adapted for," "Wherein," "Whereby," and Contingent Clauses [R-10.2019]
I. "ADAPTED TO," "ADAPTED FOR," "WHEREIN," and "WHEREBY"
Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. However, examples of claim language, although not exhaustive, that may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim are:
(A) "adapted to" or "adapted for" clauses;
(B) "wherein" clauses; and
(C) "whereby" clauses.
The determination of whether each of these clauses is a limitation in a claim depends on the specific facts of the case. See, e.g., Griffin v. Bertina, 285 F.3d 1029, 1034, 62 USPQ2d 1431 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (finding that a "wherein" clause limited a process claim where the clause gave "meaning and purpose to the manipulative steps").
13 MEANING & PURPOSE I: to adjust, wherein to is defined: (used for expressing aim, purpose, or intention), wherein intention is defined meaning or significance. (Dictionary.com)
14 update: to bring (a book, figures, or the like) up to date as by adding new information or making corrections, wherein correction is defined: a quantity applied or other adjustment made in order to increase accuracy, as in the use of an instrument or the solution of a problem. (Dictionary.com)
15 neural network: Also called neural net. Computers., a hardware or software system in which weighted connections between data nodes are refined to produce increasingly accurate results in information processing, as in pattern recognition or problem solving, with the goal of algorithmic computing that requires minimal human intervention. (Dictionary.com)
16 BROAD CLAIM LANGUAGE: multiple: consisting of, having, or involving several or many individuals, parts, elements, relations, etc. (Dictionary.com)
17 coordinate adjective (see Norquist (Coordinate Adjectives: Definition and Examples))
18 coordinate adjective (see Norquist (Coordinate Adjectives: Definition and Examples))
19 coordinate adjective (see Norquist (Coordinate Adjectives: Definition and Examples))
20 represent: to present in words; set forth; describe; state, wherein describe is defined: to pronounce, as by a designating term, phrase, or the like; label. (Dictionary.com)
21 MEANING & PURPOSE II: “to train”, wherein to is defined: (used for expressing aim, purpose, or intention), wherein intention is defined meaning or significance. (Dictionary.com)
22 Claim scope: “based” (on different random integers) is a past participle participating with/contributing to the action of “randomly selected” and/or “cropped” and/or “using an origin”
23 operation: Computers. any discrete activity or action that is performed by a computer, as reading, writing, processing, sending, or receiving data. (Dictionary.com)
24 This crossed “wherein” clause is not a limitation in claim 1 in view of above said MPEP 2111.04 I. "ADAPTED TO," "ADAPTED FOR," "WHEREIN," and "WHEREBY"
25 THE CLAIMED INVENTION AS A WHOLE regarding “cell type annotation”:
The blurry problem is via applicant’s disclosure:
[0088] An example image 432 is illustrated in Fig. 4, where the cells at the center 434 of the image 432 are sharp and focused, while the cells at the edge 436 of the image 432 are blurry and out of focus. In other images, the focus area may be on the edge cells while the center cells are blurry, etc. Each of the images having different focusing areas may be stacked into a tensor (N, W, H,), where N denotes a different focus area for the image. For example, in the method 201, receiving the training image may include receiving circumsolar anomaly training images, at 219.
The solution is:
[0088] An example image 432 is illustrated in Fig. 4, where the cells at the center 434 of the image 432 are sharp and focused, while the cells at the edge 436 of the image 432 are blurry and out of focus. In other images, the focus area may be on the edge cells while the center cells are blurry, etc. Each of the images having different focusing areas may be stacked into a tensor (N, W, H,), where N denotes a different focus area for the image. For example, in the method 201, receiving the training image may include receiving circumsolar anomaly training images, at 219.
I don’t see in claim 1 “Each of the images having different focusing areas may be stacked into a tensor (N, W, H,)”. This absence of applicant’s solution is an indication of obviousness. The “cell type annotation” at [0095] does not make a clear appearance in the focusing solution.
26 italics represent claim limitations already taught
27 coordinate adjective: implies an implicit [Markush element] of (Markush alternatives).
28 “type” is coordinate adjective: implies an implicit [Markush element] of (Markush alternatives).
29 coordinate adjective: implies an implicit [Markush element] of (Markush alternatives).
30 Claim scope: “based” (on different random integers) is a past participle participating with/contributing to the action of “randomly selected” and/or “cropped” and/or “using an origin”
31 coordinate: maths any of a set of numbers that defines the location of a point in space, wherein number is defined: a concept of quantity that is or can be derived from a single unit, the sum of a collection of units, or zero. Every number occupies a unique position in a sequence, enabling it to be used in counting. It can be assigned to one or more sets that can be arranged in a hierarchical classification: every number is a complex number ; a complex number is either an imaginary number or a real number , and the latter can be a rational number or an irrational number ; a rational number is either an integer (100) or a fraction , while an irrational number can be a transcendental number or an algebraic number See complex number imaginary number real number rational number irrational number integer fraction transcendental number algebraic number See also cardinal number ordinal number (Dictionary.com)
32 Claim scope: “based” (on different random integers) is a past participle participating with/contributing to the claimed action of “randomly selected” and/or “cropped” and/or “using an origin”
33 loss: destruction or ruin (Dictionary.com)
34 italics represent claim limitations already taught
35 BROAD CLAIM LANGUAGE: multiple: consisting of, having, or involving several or many individuals, parts, elements, relations, etc. (Dictionary.com)
36 cumulative adjective: “multiple” modifies cell or type or annotation each of which (e.g., “multiple annotation”) modifies “labels”: multiple annotation labels
37 “cell” is coordinate adjective: implies an implicit Markush element of Markush alternatives: A & B & C, wherein coordinate is defined: Grammar. of the same rank in grammatical construction, as Jack and Jill in the phrase Jack and Jill [ Jack and Jill went up the hill, To fetch a pail of water; Jack fell down, and broke his crown, And Jill came tumbling after.] , or got up and shook hands in the sentence He got up and shook hands, where rank is defined: [same] relative position or standing [up the hill or to “labels” relative to other coordinate adjectives] (Dictionary.com)
38 and: (used to connect grammatically coordinate words, phrases, or clauses) along or together with; as well as; in addition to; besides; also; moreover. (Dictionary.com)
39 and: (used to connect [Markush] alternatives). (Dictionary.com)
40 “type” is coordinate adjective: implies an implicit Markush element: [(A) & (B) & (C)]
41 :annotation” is a coordinate adjective: implies an implicit Markush element: A & B & C
42 Regarding “multiple cell type annotation labels” via applicant’s disclosure:
--[0146] The foregoing description of the embodiments has been provided for purposes of illustration and description. It is not intended to be exhaustive or to limit the disclosure. Individual elements, intended or stated uses, or features of a particular embodiment are generally not limited to that particular embodiment, but, where applicable, are interchangeable and can be used in a selected embodiment, even if not specifically shown or described. The same may also be varied in many ways. Such variations are not to be regarded as a departure from the disclosure, and all such modifications are intended to be included within the scope of the disclosure.—wherein scope is defined: Linguistics, Logic. the range of words (one of which is “labels”) or elements (one of which is “labels”) of an expression (claim 1) over which (i.e., “labels”) a modifier (a patent examiner) or operator (or me) has control (of the Markush alternatives A=”cell”,B=“type”,C=”annotation” each modifying “labels”). (Dictionary.com)
43 italics represent claim limitations already taught
44 BROAD CLAIM LANGUAGE: multiple: consisting of, having, or involving several or many individuals, parts, elements, relations, etc. (Dictionary.com)
45 cumulative adjective: “multiple” modifies cell or type or annotation each of which (e.g., “multiple annotation”) modifies “labels”: multiple annotation labels
46 “cell” is coordinate adjective: implies an implicit Markush element of Markush alternatives: A & B & C, wherein coordinate is defined: Grammar. of the same rank in grammatical construction, as Jack and Jill in the phrase Jack and Jill [ Jack and Jill went up the hill, To fetch a pail of water; Jack fell down, and broke his crown, And Jill came tumbling after.] , or got up and shook hands in the sentence He got up and shook hands, where rank is defined: [same] relative position or standing [up the hill or to “labels” relative to other coordinate adjectives] (Dictionary.com)
47 and: (used to connect grammatically coordinate words, phrases, or clauses) along or together with; as well as; in addition to; besides; also; moreover. (Dictionary.com)
48 and: (used to connect [Markush] alternatives). (Dictionary.com)
49 “type” is coordinate adjective: implies an implicit Markush element: [(A) & (B) & (C)]
50 :annotation” is a coordinate adjective: implies an implicit Markush element: A & B & C
51 Regarding “multiple cell type annotation labels” via applicant’s disclosure:
--[0146] The foregoing description of the embodiments has been provided for purposes of illustration and description. It is not intended to be exhaustive or to limit the disclosure. Individual elements, intended or stated uses, or features of a particular embodiment are generally not limited to that particular embodiment, but, where applicable, are interchangeable and can be used in a selected embodiment, even if not specifically shown or described. The same may also be varied in many ways. Such variations are not to be regarded as a departure from the disclosure, and all such modifications are intended to be included within the scope of the disclosure.—wherein scope is defined: Linguistics, Logic. the range of words (one of which is “labels”) or elements (one of which is “labels”) of an expression (claim 1) over which (i.e., “labels”) a modifier (a patent examiner) or operator (or me) has control (of the Markush alternatives A,B,C). (Dictionary.com)
52 feedback: the furnishing of data concerning the operation or output of a machine to an automatic control device or to the machine itself, so that subsequent or ongoing operations of the machine can be altered or corrected. (Dictionary.com)
53 alter: to make different in some particular, as size, style, course, or the like; modify, wherein modify is defined: to change somewhat the form or qualities of; alter partially; amend, wherein amend is defined: to change for the better; improve. (Dictionary.com)
54 update: Computers., to incorporate new or more accurate information in (a database, program, procedure, etc.), wherein accurate is defined: free from error or defect; consistent with a standard, rule, or model; precise; exact, wherein exact is defined: strictly accurate or correct, wherein correct is defined: to set or make true, accurate, or right; remove the errors or faults from, wherein right is defined: in accordance with what is good, proper, or just, wherein good is defined: sufficient or ample (Dictionary.com)
55 class: a number of persons or things regarded as forming a group by reason of common attributes, characteristics, qualities, or traits; kind; sort, wherein number is defined: the sum, total, count, or aggregate of a collection of people or things. (Dictionary.com)
56 (italics) represent claim limitations already taught.
57 (italics) represent claim limitations already taught.
58 enhancement: the state or quality of being elevated, heightened, or increased, as in quality, degree, intensity, or value. (Dictionary.com)
59 circumsolar-- directed, traveling, etc., around the sun (Dictionary.com)
60 circumsolar-- directed, traveling, etc., around the sun (Dictionary.com)
61 circumsolar-- directed, traveling, etc., around the sun (Dictionary.com)
62 Markush elements follow: [A,B OR C] AND [D,E OR F]
63 fibroblasts: a cell that contributes to the formation of connective tissue fibers. (Dictionary.com)
64 lymphocyte: a type of white blood cell formed in lymphoid tissue (Dictionary.com)
65 dimension: Any one of the three physical or spatial properties of length, area, and volume. In geometry, a point is said to have zero dimension; a figure having only length, such as a line, has one dimension; a plane or surface, two dimensions; and a figure having volume, three dimensions. The fourth dimension is often said to be time, as in the theory of General Relativity. Higher dimensions can be dealt with mathematically but cannot be represented visually. (Dictionary.com)
66 Markush element [A,B,C or D] follows
67 Since Kerr teaches Markush alternative C), the Markush element [A,B,C or D] is taught.
68 Markush element follows: [A and/or B]
69 Markush element follows [(A),(B),(C or D), (E) and (F))
70 Since Zhang II teaches Markush alternatives A and D, the Markush element [(A,(B),(C and/or D),(E),(F)] is taught. Hence Markush alternatives B,C,E,F are also taught under the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 15.
71 operations Computers., any discrete activity or action that is performed by a computer, as reading, writing, processing, sending, or receiving data. (Dictionary.com)
72 operations Computers., any discrete activity or action that is performed by a computer, as reading, writing, processing, sending, or receiving data. (Dictionary.com)
73 Markush element follows: A AND B
74 label: to put in a certain class; classify, wherein classify is defined: to assign a classification to (information, a document, etc.). (Dictionary.com)
75 label: to put in a certain class; classify, wherein classify is defined: to assign a classification to (information, a document, etc.). (Dictionary.com)
76 recognize: to perceive (a person, creature, or thing) to be the same as or belong to the same class as something previously seen or known; know again (Dictionary.com)
77 Since Moustafa teaches Markush alternative A, Moustafa teaches the Markush element: [A and B] and thus Moustafa teaches Markush alternative B.
78 Markush element follows: A,B,C,D and E
79 Since Zhang III teaches Markush alternative D, Zhang III teaches the Markush element [A,B,C,D,E] and hence teaches Markush alternatives A,B,C,E under the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 18.
80 “segmentation” further limiting “mask”
81 “segmentation” further limiting “mask”
82 “segmentation” further limiting “mask”