DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 8 are amended.
Claims 1-11, 13-14 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 8 recite the limitation “wherein the instructions further cause the look-through sequences to be controlled by the ECM component in response to the ECM component determining that the incoming first signal from the emitter is present”. No support for this limitation can be found or implied by the instant specification. This limitation seems to contradict “wherein the instructions executed by the processor control and integrate the look-through sequences”. Instructions and control are taught to be executed by the processor, not the ECM component.
Claims 2-7, 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) due to their dependency on Claims 1, 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 8 recite “wherein the instructions further cause the look-through sequences to be controlled by the ECM component in response to the ECM component determining that the incoming first signal from the emitter is present”. It is unclear how the instructions can cause both the processor and the ECM component to control the look-through sequence. The examiner has interpreted the limitation as “wherein the instructions further cause the look-through sequences to be controlled by the processor”.
Claims 2-7, 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) due to their dependency on the independent claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “electronic countermeasure (ECM) component” and “radar warning (RW) component” in Claims 1-5, 8-11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlson (US 4876545) in view of Sherman (US 20100289688).
Regarding Claim 1, Carlson teaches the following limitations:
An electronic warfare (EW) system, the EW system comprising: (Carlson - [col. 2 ln. 50 – col. 3 ln. 6] In an electronic countermeasures (ECM) system of the type employing a jamming apparatus including a transmitter portion for transmitting jamming signals in order to deceive a foreign transmitter/receiving apparatus and including a warning receiver means operative to receive foreign or threat transmissions to determine the nature of such transmissions and to inform said jamming apparatus of the nature of such threat transmissions, with said warning receiver means capable of operating according to different modes in order to determine the nature of said foreign transmissions, the combination therewith of apparatus for providing selective blanking to said jamming apparatus according to the modes of operation of said receiver means to allow said receiver means and said jamming means to operate without interference between the same, comprising interface means coupled between said jamming apparatus and said receiver means and adapted to exchange information between said jamming apparatus and said receiver means to generate optimum blanking parameter information between said jamming apparatus and said receiver means according to the mode of operation of said receiver means whereby any one of said modes can be accommodated by said ECM system according to said information exchanged.)
an electronic countermeasure (ECM) component to generate a jamming signal, (Carlson - [col. 2 ln. 50 – col. 3 ln. 6])
wherein the ECM component is adapted to be installed on a platform; (Carlson - [col. 3 ln. 43–49] The jammer 10 is indicated as an ASPJ which stands for aircraft self-protection jammer. The RWR or radar warning receiver operates in conjunction with the jammer 10. As seen from FIG. 1, in modern military aircraft self-protection equipment is normally found in the installation suite and includes the radar warning receiver RWR 20 and the radar jammer 10.)
wherein the ECM component operates at a first bandwidth; (Carlson – [Fig. 8] Data unit B-3)
a radar warning (RW) component to discriminate characteristics of an incoming first signal from a first emitter, (Carlson - [col. 2 ln. 50 – col. 3 ln. 6])
wherein the RW component is adapted to be installed on the platform and spaced from the ECM component; and (Carlson – [Fig. 2], [col. 4 ln. 49–53] Referring to FIG. 2, there is shown a more detailed block diagram indicating an interface 30 which is positioned between the RWR 20 and the ASPJ or jamming unit 10.)
a processor that executes instructions to integrate a blanking technique for the RW component and the ECM component to interoperate the RW component and the ECM component to cause the RW component to collect data at the same time as the ECM component generates the jamming signal. (Carlson - [col. 2 ln. 50 – col. 3 ln. 6], [col. 4 ln. 58 – col. 5 ln. 12] The RWR 20 includes the analyzer 26 and the control and display module 27. The ASPJ 10 or jammer is shown in greater detail. As one can ascertain from FIG. 2, the ASPJ 10 includes a receiving portion 31 for receiving threat signals and a transmitting portion 32 which is coupled to antenna 12 for transmitting jamming signals. Both the receiver 31 and the transmitter 32 are coupled to a processor 24 which processor performs the above-noted analysis and also contains suitable programs for generating different jamming formats according to the type of threat detected by the system. As indicated above, located between the processor 24 of the ASPJ 10 and the analyzer 26 of the RWR 20 is an interface module designated as module 30. The function of module 30 as will be explained is to operate as an interface between the ASPJ and different RWR's to enable the different RWR's to interface with the ASPJ unit and to provide the proper blanking parameters between the two systems. As seen in FIG. 2, there is an EW MUX bus which essentially is a serial data bus and is used to exchange threat information between the two modules and to set up the blanking mechanism parameters between the ASPJ 10 and the RWR 20. Carlson does not explicitly teach “RW component to collect data at the same time as the ECM component generates the jamming signal”.)
wherein the blanking technique includes look-through sequences, and (Carlson - [col. 8 ln. 41–44] This capability allows a reduction of look-through blanking for those responses identified as priority responses for which the percent of ECM pulses blanked must be kept to an absolute minimum.)
wherein the instructions executed by the processor control and integrate the look-through sequences such that the RW component and the ECM component operate simultaneously to satisfy predetermined collection needs, (Carlson – [col. 4 ln. 58 – col. 5 ln. 12], [col. 5 ln. 68 – col. 6 ln. 5] The ASPJ via its processor utilizes look-through code assignment as shown in FIG. 7 to generate a threat response matrix which is indicated in FIG. 2 by reference numeral 41. The threat response matrix data format is for example shown in detail in FIG. 4. Carlson does not explicitly teach “RW component and the ECM component operate simultaneously”.)
wherein the instructions further cause the look-through sequences to be controlled by the ECM component in response to the ECM component determining that the incoming first signal from the emitter is present. (Carlson – [col. 4 ln. 58 – col. 5 ln. 12], [col. 5 ln. 68 – col. 6 ln. 5])
Carlson does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Sherman, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
RW component to collect data at the same time as the ECM component generates the jamming signal (Sherman – [0048] The radio 50 may transmit and receive communication signals in a normal manner as long as the level of any residual jamming signal remains below a determined level. In the case of a "friendly" jammer, a warning signal may be transmitted to identify those times when friendly jamming signals are scheduled to start and to stop, followed by a training sequence to enable the jammer detection stage 100 to estimate the channel condition more accurately. Thus, the radios 50 can synchronize their operation to cancel friendly jamming signals when such signals are present, and suppress their self-generated cancellation signals to avoid self-saturation when friendly jammers are not operating.)
RW component and the ECM component operate simultaneously (Sherman – [0048])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the blanking intervals of Carlson with the training sequence of Sherman in order to transmit and receive communication signals in a normal manner (Sherman – [0048]).
Regarding Claim 2, Carlson further teaches:
wherein the instructions control the ECM component to generate the jamming signal that jams the first signal and monitors the first signal via the RW component, wherein the instructions further control the ECM such that the ECM component operates without interfering with other EW system components. (Carlson - [col. 2 ln. 50 – col. 3 ln. 6], [col. 4 ln. 58 – col. 5 ln. 12] Carlson does not explicitly teach “operates without interfering with other EW system components”.)
Carlson does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Sherman, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
operates without interfering with other EW system components (Sherman – [0048])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the blanking intervals of Carlson with the training sequence of Sherman in order to transmit and receive communication signals in a normal manner (Sherman – [0048]).
Regarding Claim 3, Carlson further teaches:
wherein the blanking technique includes look-through sequences, and the instructions control and integrate the look-through sequences to minimize a total ECM component blanking timeline, and (Carlson - [col. 8 ln. 41–44])
wherein the blanking techniques are integrated across multiple receivers. (Carlson - [col. 2 ln. 50 – col. 3 ln. 6], [col. 4 ln. 58 – col. 5 ln. 12])
Regarding Claims 4, 11 Carlson further teaches:
wherein the instructions control the RW component to maintain a track on the first emitter without dedicating additional time to perform an additional a look-through sequence. (Carlson - [col. 7 ln. 39–45] For the track threats presort flags (CP tags) are provided to allow the RWR to rapidly identify these signals. The track/non-track indication of the jamming response is made available to the RWR via the jamming assignment messages which are provided by the ASPJ over the EW MUX bus. These messages as indicated are defined in FIG. 8.)
Regarding Claim 5, Carlson further teaches:
further comprising: an adaptive filter for the RW component to filter noise created by the jamming signal. (Carlson - [col. 8 ln. 60–66] These flags indicate to the first RWR jamming interference which requires special processing to filter out. When these priority threats also need to be blanked to allow the second RWR to obtain jam-free data samples or data updates, a different blanking code is selected which blanks all responses and provides at the same time the CP tags as flags for the priority responses. Carlson does not explicitly teach “an adaptive filter”.)
Carlson does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Sherman, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
adaptive filter (Sherman – [0045] The channel model stage 104 produces a jammer cancellation signal in accordance with the jamming signal waveform supplied by the jammer model stage 102, and the channel estimate provided by the jammer detection stage 100. The channel model stage 104 may take the form of, for example, an adaptive filter constructed in a known manner to respond to the channel estimate provided by the jammer detection stage 100, wherein the output of the jammer model stage 102 is applied to an input of the filter. Such an approach to channel estimation and the construction of a filter to mimic the channel is well known. For example, if the channel estimates are in the form of coefficients for an adaptive FIR filter, such a filter can be used to model the impact of the channel on the jamming signal.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the blanking intervals of Carlson with the adaptive filter of Sherman in order to produce a jammer cancellation signal (Sherman – [0045]).
Regarding Claim 6, 13, Carlson further teaches:
wherein the blanking technique includes an adaptive filter. (Carlson - [col. 8 ln. 60–66] Carlson does not explicitly teach “an adaptive filter”.)
Carlson does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Sherman, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
adaptive filter (Sherman – [0045])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the blanking intervals of Carlson with the adaptive filter of Sherman in order to produce a jammer cancellation signal (Sherman – [0045]).
Regarding Claim 8, Carlson teaches the following limitations:
providing an electronic countermeasure (ECM) component of an electronic warfare (EW) system, (Carlson - [col. 2 ln. 50 – col. 3 ln. 6])
wherein the ECM component generates a jamming signal, (Carlson - [col. 2 ln. 50 – col. 3 ln. 6])
wherein the ECM component is adapted to be installed on a platform; (Carlson - [col. 3 ln. 43–49]
providing a radar warning (RW) component of the electronic warfare (EW) system, wherein the RW component discriminates characteristics of an incoming first signal emitted from a first emitter, (Carlson - [col. 2 ln. 50 – col. 3 ln. 6])
wherein the RW component is adapted to be installed on the platform and spaced from the ECM component; and (Carlson – [Fig. 2], [col. 4 ln. 49–53])
providing a processor that executes instructions to integrate a blanking technique for the RW component and the ECM component to interoperate to thereby cause the RW component to collect data at the same time as the ECM component generates the jamming signal, (Carlson - [col. 2 ln. 50 – col. 3 ln. 6], [col. 4 ln. 58 – col. 5 ln. 12])
wherein the blanking technique includes look-through sequences, and wherein the instructions executed by the processor control and integrate the look-through sequences such that the RW component and the ECM component operate simultaneously to satisfy predetermined collection needs, (Carlson – [col. 4 ln. 58 – col. 5 ln. 12], [col. 5 ln. 68 – col. 6 ln. 5] Carlson does not explicitly teach “RW component and the ECM component operate simultaneously”.)
wherein the instructions further cause the look-through sequences to be controlled by the ECM component in response to the ECM component determining that the incoming first signal from the emitter is present, and (Carlson – [col. 4 ln. 58 – col. 5 ln. 12], [col. 5 ln. 68 – col. 6 ln. 5])
wherein the instructions cause the jamming signal to be directed toward the incoming first signal. (Carlson - [col. 4 ln. 58 – col. 5 ln. 12], [col. 2 ln. 50 – col. 3 ln. 6] Such devices exist on various military aircraft and, as will be described subsequently, operate to provide jamming signals to enemy radar installations in order to confuse such systems and in order to circumvent the firing of missiles and various other devices which are capable of destroying the aircraft.)
Carlson does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Sherman, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
A method comprising: (Sherman – [0042] Methods of synchronizing with the jamming signal may be the same or similar to known methods used for synchronizing with interfering communications signals.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the blanking intervals of Carlson with the methods of Sherman in order to transmit and receive communication signals in a normal manner (Sherman – [0048]).
RW component to collect data at the same time as the ECM component generates the jamming signal (Sherman – [0048])
RW component and the ECM component operate simultaneously (Sherman – [0048])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the blanking intervals of Carlson with the training sequence of Sherman in order to transmit and receive communication signals in a normal manner (Sherman – [0048]).
Regarding Claim 9, Carlson further teaches:
further comprising: effecting the instructions to control the ECM component to generate the jamming signal that jams the first signal while being tracked by the RW component; and effecting the instructions to control the RW component to monitor the first signal such that scanning by the ECM component does not interfere with the RW component. (Carlson - [col. 2 ln. 50 – col. 3 ln. 6], [col. 4 ln. 58 – col. 5 ln. 12])
Regarding Claim 10, Carlson further teaches:
further comprising: effecting the instructions to control and to integrate look-through sequences of the blanking technique to enable the RW component and ECM component to satisfy a collection need and minimize a total ECM component blanking timeline. (Carlson - [col. 2 ln. 50 – col. 3 ln. 6], [col. 4 ln. 58 – col. 5 ln. 12], [col. 8 ln. 41–44])
wherein the blanking techniques are integrated across multiple receivers. (Carlson - [col. 2 ln. 50 – col. 3 ln. 6], [col. 4 ln. 58 – col. 5 ln. 12])
Claims 7, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlson (US 4876545) in view of Sherman (US 20100289688), and further in view of Senio (US 6476755).
Regarding Claim 7, 14, Carlson does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Senio, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the blanking technique includes time division multiplexing. (Senio – [Abstract] The time division multiplexing alternately enables the communications receiver and a jamming transmitter at a frequency higher than the Nyquist rate of the threat signal being received to effectively continuously receive enemy transmissions while preventing reception of the jamming signals from the associated jammer transmitter.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the blanking intervals of Carlson with the time division multiplexing of Senio in order to continuously receive enemy transmissions while preventing reception of the jamming signals from the associated jammer transmitter (Senio – [Abstract]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 1-2, filed 08/21/2026, with respect to the claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) and 35 U.S.C. § 112(d) have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The examiner’s interpretation is based on the instant specification. The applicant’s arguments seem to identify this and do not point to how “ECM” and “RW” have defined structure on their own.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 2-4, filed 08/21/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues “Even if Sherman's training sequence were imported into Carlson, the result would at most provide synchronization/cancellation of a known friendly jammer or modified blanking timing; it would not cause Carlson's look-through sequences to be controlled by the ECM component in response to the ECM component determining that the incoming emitter signal is present”. These arguments seem to not take into consideration the combination of Carlson and Sherman as a whole when considering “look-through sequences”. Carlson is cited for teaching “look-through blanking kept to an absolute minimum” and Sherman for teaching “transmit and receive communication signals in a normal manner… the radios can synchronize their operation to cancel friendly jamming signals… to avoid saturation”. Since the limitation is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) and (b), the processor is interpreted to control the “look-through sequence”, the cited processor of Carlson and the associated citations of the combination of Carlson and Sherman meet this limitation.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 4, filed 08/21/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the dependent claims are allowable due to the dependency on the independent claims. As noted above, the examiner maintains Carlson in view of Sherman teaches the independent claims and therefore the dependent claims remain rejected.
Applicant's remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims is understandable and distinguishable from other inventions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure or directed to the state of art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
The following is a brief description for relevant prior art that was cited but not applied:
Jolly (US 10908256) teaches asset architecture to allow multiple assets to work in parallel to increase the probability of intercept for any specific target emitter.
/BRANDON JAMES HENSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/BERNARR E GREGORY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648