DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by "Discussion on Al/ML based mobility optimization (including TP for TS 38.423)", 3GPP DRAFT; R3-225778, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE ; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX ; FRANCE ,vol. RAN WG3, no. Electronic Meeting; 20221010 - 20221018 28 September 2022, XP052278434 (hereafter 3GPP) (see IDS).
Regarding claim 1, 3GPP discloses a network node comprising at least one processor, and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the network node at least to:
provide to one or more user equipment (UE), a UE configuration for conditional handover from a serving cell to one or more target cells, wherein the UE configuration for conditional handover configures one or more conditions for executing conditional handover(pages 3-6: UE access stratum and radio configuration may comprise for instance a conditional configuration; conditional configuration can be used for conditional handover; gNB may provide the UE configuration to the UE over Uu interface; UE configuration may be UE specific and a gNB may serve different UEs with different features differently);
provide to the one or more target cells, a network configuration for conditional handover from a serving cell to the one or more target cells, wherein the network configuration for conditional handover configures at least one or more network resources for conditional handover ((pages 3-6: send [i.e., by the source NG_RAN node] an estimated arrival probability in CHO and the relevant confidence interval; candidate Target gNB may benefit further by knowing by "when" a UE is expected to arrive [i.e., time-related resources]; It is beneficial to provide not only the probability of arrival of a UE to a candidate Target gNB, but also its probability of arrival by a certain time; candidate Target gNB receiving the probability with which a UE will arrive by a given time can schedule and reserve its resources accordingly to accommodate the incoming UE););
wherein the network configuration for conditional handover provides at least an estimated arrival timing for a UE arriving for handover at a target cell ((pages 3-6: send [i.e., by the source NG_RAN node] an estimated arrival probability in CHO and the relevant confidence interval; candidate Target gNB may benefit further by knowing by "when" a UE is expected to arrive [i.e., time related resources]; It is beneficial to provide not only the probability of arrival of a UE to a candidate Target gNB, but also its probability of arrival by a certain time; candidate Target gNB receiving the probability with which a UE will arrive by a given time can schedule and reserve its resources accordingly to accommodate the incoming UE).
Regarding claim 2, 3GPP further discloses the network node as claimed in claim 1, wherein the estimated arrival timing for a UE arriving for handover at a target cell has an associated confidence level and/or an associated probability distribution ((pages 3-6: send an estimated arrival probability in CHO and the relevant confidence interval; candidate Target gNB may benefit further by knowing by "when" a UE is expected to arrive; It is beneficial to provide not only the probability of arrival of a UE to a candidate Target gNB, but also its probability of arrival by a certain time).
Regarding claim 3, 3GPP further discloses the network node as claimed in claim 1, wherein the estimated arrival timing for a UE arriving for handover at a target cell defines an estimated time interval of arrival at the target cell. ((pages 3-6: send an estimated arrival probability in CHO and the relevant confidence interval; candidate Target gNB may benefit further by knowing by "when" a UE is expected to arrive; It is beneficial to provide not only the probability of arrival of a UE to a candidate Target gNB, but also its probability of arrival by a certain time).
Regarding claim 4, 3GPP further discloses the network node as claimed in claim 1, wherein the estimated arrival timing for a UE arriving for handover at a target cell explicitly defines a time window with an implicitly defined confidence level or the estimated arrival timing for a UE arriving for handover at a target cell explicitly defines a time window and explicitly defines a confidence level, or the estimated arrival timing for a UE arriving for handover at a target cell explicitly defines a confidence level and implicitly defines a time window (pages 3-6: send an estimated arrival probability in CHO and the relevant confidence interval; candidate Target gNB may benefit further by knowing by "when" a UE is expected to arrive; It is beneficial to provide not only the probability of arrival of a UE to a candidate Target gNB, but also its probability of arrival by a certain time).
Regarding claim 5, 3GPP teaches the network node as claimed in claim 1, wherein the estimated arrival timing for a UE arriving for handover at a target cell is comprised within an information element comprised with a Conditional Handover Information Request information element comprised within a Handover Request Message (pages 2-3: Proposal 2: For normal handover, the source NG-RAN node sends the predicted handover execution timing in
the handover request to the potential target cell. The Handover Request message can be extended to support such prediction information transfer from the source to the target. A new IE "Prediction Information" can be introduced to include the predicted information for the corresponding handover action towards the target NG-RAN node. Introduce a new IE "Prediction Information" in the Handover Request message to include the following information; Predicted estimated arrival probability; Confidence level; source NG-RAN node sends priority, confidence level and predicted resource reservation time window to the candidate target when requesting CHO for the UE(s)).
Regarding claim 6, 3GPP further teaches the network node as claimed in claim 5, wherein the Conditional Handover Information Request information element comprises an Estimated Time Interval of Arrival information element and a related Confidence Level information element (3GPP teaches pages 2-3: Introduce a new IE "Prediction Information" in the Handover Request message to include the following information; Predicted estimated arrival probability; Confidence level; source NG-RAN node sends priority, confidence level and predicted resource reservation time window to the candidate target when requesting CHO for the UE(s)).
Regarding claim 7, 3GPP further discloses the network node as claimed in claim 5, wherein the Conditional Handover Information Request information element comprises a Type of Probability Distribution IE (see, pages 2-3: Introduce a new IE "Prediction Information" in the Handover Request message to include the following information; Predicted estimated arrival probability; Confidence level; source NG-RAN node sends priority, confidence level and predicted resource reservation time window to the candidate target when requesting CHO for the UE(s))).
Regarding claim 8, 3GPP further discloses the network node as claimed in claim 1, wherein the estimated arrival timing for a UE arriving for handover at a target cell is an estimated time of arrival in an estimated area of arrival if the UE continues with an estimated trajectory (pages 2-4, Proposal 1: For normal handover, the Al/ML model for mobility optimization produces multiple handover
target cells, together with their (1) estimated arrival probability; (2) priority; (3) handover execution timing and time window. Then, we think that the predicted handover execution timing is useful for the target as well, since the target is able to prepare resources for potential handover UEs in advance. Moreover, if some AI/ML model for other use cases is running in the target that can predict its future status, then the target may take its future status into account in deciding
whether to accept handover request or not, especially at the timing of the received predicted handover execution time from the source. Observation 5: The (1) estimated arrival probability; (2) priority; (3) handover execution timing and time window, for which have been already agreed as the output of Al/ML mobility optimization for CHO, are also useful in normal handover, i.e. useful for the source when down-selecting one target cell for handover among multiple predicted target cells).
Regarding claim 9, 3GPP further discloses the network node as claimed in claim 1, wherein the estimated arrival timing for a UE arriving for handover at a target cell is additionally dependent upon current resource conditions at target node (2.4, UE traffic prediction, 1, The target can decide whether to reject or accept the UE's predicted handover based on the predicted UE traffic and also considering its own current/future resource status (if available). 2) The target can prepare suitable resource reservations and configurations for the predicted UE handover, which can reduce waste of resources in the target node).
Regarding claim 10, 3GPP further discloses the network node as claimed in claim 1, configured to provide to a UE, the estimated arrival timing for the UE arriving for handover at a target cell (pages 2-3: Introduce a new IE "Prediction Information" in the Handover Request message to include the following information; Predicted estimated arrival probability; Confidence level; source NG-RAN node sends priority, confidence level and predicted resource reservation time window to the candidate target when requesting CHO for the UE(s)).
Regarding claim 11, 3GPP further discloses the network node as claimed in claim 1, wherein the estimated arrival timing for the UE arriving for handover at the target cell is comprised within an information element comprised with a Handover Command sent to UE (page 3, Proposal 10: Extend the existing IE "Conditional Handover Information Request" in the Handover Request to include for Al/ML based mobility optimization for CHO: Predicted priority of selecting predicted target cell Predicted handover execution timing of handover Confidence level).
Regarding claim 12, 3GPP further discloses the network node as claimed in claim 11, wherein the information element comprises an Estimated Time Interval of Arrival information element and a related confidence Level information element (page 2, 2.3 CHO configuration, In [ 1], Model Inference of AI/ML based mobility optimization can also generate several CHO candidate cells, together with estimated arrival probability, confidence level, priority, handover execution timing, predicted resource reservation time window. As part of the CHO candidate configuration, the above information can be transmitted to the candidate target in the conditional handover request for the UE(s). Based on the priority and/or confidence level information, the target can know the possibility of a UE's handover. With the time window of the predicted resource reservation, the target can release the resources reserved for the predicted handover UE when that time window expires, which helps to improve resource utilizations at the target).
Regarding claim 13, 3GPP further discloses the network node as claimed claim 11, wherein the information element comprises a Type of Probability Distribution IE (pages 2-3, Proposal 3: Introduce a new IE "Prediction Information" in the Handover Request message to include the following information: Predicted estimated arrival probability Predicted priority of selecting predicted target cell Predicted handover execution timing of handover Confidence level).
Regarding claim 14, 3GPP discloses a network node comprising at least one processor, and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the network node at least to:
receive from a serving cell a network configuration for conditional handover from the serving cell to a target cell, wherein the network configuration for conditional handover configures at least one or more network resources for conditional handover, wherein the network configuration for conditional handover provides at least an estimated arrival timing for a user equipment (UE) arriving for handover at a target cell ((pages 3-6: send [i.e., by the source NG_RAN node] an estimated arrival probability in CHO and the relevant confidence interval; candidate Target gNB may benefit further by knowing by "when" a UE is expected to arrive [i.e., time-related resources]; It is beneficial to provide not only the probability of arrival of a UE to a candidate Target gNB, but also its probability of arrival by a certain time; candidate Target gNB receiving the probability with which a UE will arrive by a given time can schedule and reserve its resources accordingly to accommodate the incoming UE),
reserve the one or more network resources for conditional handover for a time period dependent upon the estimated arrival timing for the UE arriving for handover at the target cell. (Pages 3-6: send [i.e., by the source
NG_RAN node] an estimated arrival probability in CHO and the relevant confidence interval; candidate Target gNB may benefit further by knowing
by "when" a UE is expected to arrive [i.e., time-related resources]; It is beneficial to provide not only the probability of arrival of a UE to a candidate Target gNB, but also its probability of arrival by a certain time; candidate Target gNB receiving the probability with which a UE will arrive by a given time can schedule and reserve its resources accordingly to accommodate the incoming UE).
Claim(s) 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by "(TP for TR 37.817) Further Discussion on Al/ML Mobility Optimization Solution", 3GPP DRAFT; R3-220633, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE ; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES ; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX; FRANCE, vol. RAN WG3, no. E-meeting; 20220117 - 20220126 7 January 2022,XP052099097 (hereafter 3GPP1) (see IDS).
Regarding claim 15, 3GPP1 discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising at least one processor, and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE (pages 2-3: for CHO the final cell for HO execution is selected by the UE), at least to:
receive from a serving cell a configuration for conditional handover from the serving cell to one or more target cells, wherein the configuration for conditional handover configures one or more conditions for executing conditional handover ((pages 2-3: CHO configuration; Since for CHO the final cell for HO execution is selected by the UE, the above information (i.e.) confidence level, priority, handover execution timing) can also be included in the CHO configuration towards the UE over RRC signaling to assist the UE's CHO decision; source NG-RAN node includes (1) confidence level; (2) priority; (3) handover execution timing in the CHO configuration to the UE);
determine satisfaction of the one or more conditions for executing conditional handover ((pages 2-3: final cell for HO execution is selected by the UE; UE should not select a CHO candidate cell for handover if its handover execution timing expires);
in dependence upon determining satisfaction of a condition for executing conditional handover, execute a handover from the serving cell to a target cell (pages 2-3: final cell for HO execution is selected by the UE; UE could simply be made to perform CHO towards one candidate cell when its handover execution timing is met);
wherein the condition for executing conditional handover includes a time-based condition ((pages 2-3: the above information (i.e. confidence level, priority, handover execution timing) can also be included in the CHO configuration towards the UE over RRC signaling to assist the UE's CHO decision; predicted handover execution timing should also be considered as a new conditional trigger event. With this, a UE could simply be made to perform CHO towards one candidate cell when its handover execution timing is met, without any measurement efforts).
Regarding claim 16, 3GPP1 further discloses the UE as claimed in claim 15, wherein the UE is configured to execute conditional handover to a target cell in dependence upon a current time and an estimated arrival timing, for the UE arriving for handover at the target cell, received from the serving cell (pager 5, 5 Prediction information for CHO Handover One of the agreed output information for Al/ML Mobility Optimization is to send an estimated arrival probability in CHO and the relevant confidence interval. Even though being able to estimate the probability of arrival is useful for CHO purposes, a candidate Target gNB may benefit further by knowing by "when" a UE is expected to arrive. Knowing that a UE will arrive with a certain probability is not necessarily useful for a receiving node unless a delay constraint is introduced as well.).
Regarding claim 17, 3GPP1 further discloses the UE as claimed in claim 15, wherein a list of candidate target cells for conditional handover is dependent upon a current time and, for each candidate target cell, an estimated arrival timing, for the UE arriving for handover at the candidate target cell, received from the serving cell (pages 2-3: CHO configuration; Since for CHO the final cell for HO execution is selected by the UE, the above information (i.e.) confidence level, priority, handover execution timing) can also be included in the CHO configuration towards the UE over RRC signaling to assist the UE's CHO decision; source NG-RAN node includes (1) confidence level; (2) priority; (3) handover execution timing in the CHO configuration to the UE).
Regarding claim 18, 3GPP1 further discloses the UE as claimed in claim 15, wherein the estimated arrival timing for the UE arriving for handover at the target cell is comprised within an information element comprised with a Handover Command (RRC Connection Reconfiguration message) sent to the UE (page 2, (pages 2-3: final cell for HO execution is selected by the UE; UE could simply be made to perform CHO towards one candidate cell when its handover execution timing is met); Network also has a limited form of trajectory information (on cell and radio measurement level) already available in legacy networks. Using this information, a limited form of trajectory prediction ( of the next hop) can be achieved by analysis of the UE's mobility history, e.g. gathered information about the cells the UE visited or camped on, as well as locally available information, in particular radio measurements provided by the served UE. The UE's mobility history is sent from the UE to the network when the UE enters RRC connected state, and is forwarded to further serving base stations during handover preparation signaling in case of connected mode mobility).
Regarding claim 19, 3GPP1 further discloses the UE as claimed in claim 18, wherein the information element comprises an Estimated Time Interval of Arrival information element and a related confidence Level information element (page 5, 5 Prediction information for CHO Handover One of the agreed output types of information for Al/ML Mobility Optimization is to send an estimated arrival probability in CHO and the relevant confidence interval. Even though being able to estimate the probability of arrival is useful for CHO purposes, a candidate Target gNB may benefit further by knowing by "when" a UE is expected to arrive. Knowing that a UE will arrive with a certain probability is not necessarily useful for a receiving node unless a delay constraint is introduced as well).
Regarding claim 20, 3GPP1 further discloses the UE as claimed in claim 18, wherein the information element comprises a Type of Probability Distribution IE (page 5, 5 Prediction information for CHO Handover One of the agreed output pieces of information for Al/ML Mobility Optimization is to send an estimated arrival probability in CHO and the relevant confidence interval. Even though being able to estimate the probability of arrival is useful for CHO purposes, a candidate Target gNB may benefit further by knowing by "when" a UE is expected to arrive. Knowing that a UE will arrive with a certain probability is not necessarily useful for a receiving node unless a delay constraint is introduced as well. A candidate Target gNB receiving the probability with which a UE will arrive by a given time can schedule and reserve its resources accordingly to accommodate the incoming UE. Similarly, a candidate Target gNB can indicate to a source for how long it is willing to keep its resources reserved for the incoming UE. For example, a candidate Target gNB may prepare for energy saving in the future and may not be possible to reserve resources beyond a point in the future. This could help the source not to initiate a handover if a UE is expected to arrive to the candidate Target after the resources are expected to be released).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rossbach et al. (US2026/0006526) discloses system and method for conditional handover and extended reality capacity enhancements.
Hevizi et al. (US2023/0247512) discloses managing conditional handover of a user equipment.
Da Silva et al. (US 2022/0322174) discloses conditional handover in handover command.
Fehrenbach et al. (US 2022/0078684) discloses user equipment supporting conditional handover to cells of cellular network and cellular network supporting conditional handover.
Yui et al. (US2019/0387440) discloses exit condition for conditional handovers.
Lovlekar et al. (US 2021/0360495) discloses conditional handover and cell re-selections along known routes.
/DHAVAL V PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631