DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-22 have been examined and are pending.
Response to Remarks/Comments
The status of the claims as of the Non-Final Rejection mailed March 26, 2026, was as follows:
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 12, 13, 14, 15, were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KIM (US 20250286679 A1). Claim(s) 5, 6, 7, 8, 16, 17, 18, and 19, were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 20250286679 A1) in view of VIVO (“Further discussion on SRS enhancement”, cited in IDS received October 25, 2024). Claim(s) 9, 10, 20, and 21 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 20250286679 A1) in view of FUTUREWEI (“FL Summary #1 on SRS enhancements”, R1-2301877, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #112, Athens, Greece, February 27th – March 3rd, 2023 ) Claim(s) 11 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Applicants Response to the Non-Final Rejection
In response to the prior art rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-22, Applicants have presented arguments focusing on the limitation(s) found in independent claim(s) 1, 10, 12, and 21. In the Non-Final Rejection, Claim(s) 1 and 12 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KIM (US 20250286679 A1). Claim(s) 10 and 21 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 20250286679 A1) in view of FUTUREWEI (“FL Summary #1 on SRS enhancements”, R1-2301877, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #112, Athens, Greece, February 27th – March 3rd, 2023 ). The arguments focus on KIM’s teaching of the limitations found in claim(s) 1, 10, 12, and 21.
In particular with respect to claim 1, Applicants argue that KIM fails to teach a feature to “receive first signaling indicating a numerical quantity of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in each respective set of OFDM symbols of a plurality of sets of OFDM symbols in a sounding reference signal resource, each OFDM symbol in each respective set of OFDM symbols corresponding to a portion of antenna ports of a plurality of antenna ports associated with the respective set of OFDM symbols, the numerical quantity being greater than one…”.
Likewise with claim 12, Applicants argue that KIM fails to teach or suggest a feature to, “transmit first signaling indicating a numerical quantity of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in each respective set of OFDM symbols of a plurality of sets of OFDM symbols in a sounding reference signal resource, each OFDM symbol in each respective set of OFDM symbols corresponding to a portion of antenna ports of a plurality of antenna ports associated with the respective set of OFDM symbols, the numerical quantity being greater than one…”
Similarly with respect to claim 10, Applicant argue that KIM fails to teach or suggest a feature to “receive first signaling indicating a numerical quantity of antenna ports of a plurality of antenna ports associated with a sounding reference signal; receive second signaling indicating a numerical quantity of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in each respective set of OFDM symbols of a plurality of sets of OFDM symbols in a sounding reference signal resource, each OFDM symbol in each respective set of OFDM symbols corresponding to a portion of antenna ports of the plurality of antenna ports, the numerical quantity of OFDM symbols being greater than one…”.
Finally with respect to claim 21, Applicants argue that KIM fails to teach a feature to “transmit first signaling indicating a numerical quantity of antenna ports of a plurality of antenna ports associated with a sounding reference signal; transmit second signaling indicating a numerical quantity of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in each respective set of OFDM symbols of a plurality of sets of OFDM symbols in a sounding reference signal resource, each OFDM symbol in each respective set of OFDM symbols corresponding to a portion of antenna ports of the plurality of antenna ports, the numerical quantity of OFDM symbols being greater than one”,
See [Remarks, filed June 26, 2026, Page(s) 8 and 10]:
“Kim does not disclose all the features of independent claims 1 and 12. For example, Kim does not disclose at least:
receive first signaling indicating a numerical quantity of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in each respective set of OFDM symbols of a plurality of sets of OFDM symbols in a sounding reference signal resource, each OFDM symbol in each respective set of OFDM symbols corresponding to a portion of antenna ports of a plurality of antenna ports associated with the respective set of OFDM symbols, the numerical quantity being greater than one; and
transmit a sounding reference signal using the sounding reference signal resource in accordance with a sounding reference signal hopping scheme associated with the numerical quantity of OFDM symbols. as recited in independent claim 1 (emphasis added).”
“Independent claims 10 and 21 are rejected over the combination of Kim and Futurewei. However, Kim and Futurewei-alone or in any combination-do not teach or suggest:
receive first signaling indicating a numerical quantity of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in each respective set of OFDM symbols of a plurality of sets of OFDM symbols in a sounding reference signal resource, each OFDM symbol in each respective set of OFDM symbols corresponding to a portion of antenna ports of a plurality of antenna ports associated with the respective set of OFDM symbols, the numerical quantity being greater than one; and
transmit a sounding reference signal using the sounding reference signal resource in accordance with a sounding reference signal hopping scheme associated with the numerical quantity of OFDM symbols. as recited in independent claim 1 (emphasis added).”
In the Non-Final Rejection, the following portions of KIM were cited to teach said feature,
“receive first signaling indicating a numerical quantity of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in each respective set of OFDM symbols of a plurality of sets of OFDM symbols in a sounding reference signal resource (“[0155] The above proposed methods (e.g., the proposal #A1/#A-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.) may be applied independently and/or in combination. If the proposed methods are applied in combination, signaling (e.g., L1/L2 signaling) for configuring/indicating a specific method may be introduced… [0160] The UE may receive configuration information related to the proposed methods (e.g., the proposals #A1/#A1-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.) from the base station, in S3420. The configuration information may include all of configuration/indication based on L1/L2 signaling. And/or, if the configuration information is pre-defined/pre-configured, the corresponding relationship may be omitted… [0163] The UE may transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) to the base station, in S3430. The UE may perform the SRS transmission operation based on the configuration information of the S3420. For example, the UE may perform the SRS transmission operation based on the proposed methods (e.g., the proposals #A1/#A1-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.).”),”
Applicants disagree with this characterization of KIM, and argue that [Remarks, Remarks, filed June 26, 2026, Page(s) 8 - 9]
“However, the configuration information that is received by the UE is only described as being "related to the proposed methods" and that it includes "all of configuration/indication based on L1/L2 signaling" without any additional description of what the configuration information may be. Kim, [0163] (emphasis
added). Notably, the description of the configuration information fails to describe even a single
specific parameter or other piece of information that would be indicated in such information.
Such a general description of configuration information that "relates to" proposals and that is based on L1/L2 signaling cannot be interpreted to disclose "a numerical quantity of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in each respective set of OFDM symbols of a plurality of sets of OFDM symbols in a sounding reference signal resource" as recited in amended independent claim 1. ”
In response to this argument, particularly where Applicants argue that with respect to KIM, “…the description of the configuration information fails to describe even a single specific parameter or other piece of information that would be indicated in such information”, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., specific parameter or other piece information being indicated in the configuration/first signaling information) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). With respect to the claimed, first signaling and/or second signaling (see each of the independent claims), the claims are silent on what is within the first signaling/second signaling. The claims recite the intended purpose and/or functionality of the first signaling (i.e. “…indicating a numerical quantity of antenna ports…associated with a sounding reference signal…”) and the second signaling (i.e. “…indicating a numerical quantity orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols…in a sounding reference signal resource…”) without describing the contents (i.e. what is in such information) of the first signaling/second signaling. Applicants are reminded that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Additionally, for the sake argument, even if the specification were considered when interpreting the claimed first signaling/second signaling, the specification, like the claims, describes the first signaling/second signaling with respect to its intended purpose/function (i.e. “…indicating a numerical quantity of antenna ports…associated with a sounding reference signal…”, i.e. “…indicating a numerical quantity orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols…in a sounding reference signal resource…” ) and is silent on what is in or rather the contents of the first signaling/second signaling. If the Applicants believe that there are portions of the Specification that may have been overlooked that provide support of a specific parameter within the first signaling/second signaling, they are encouraged to cite said portions of the Specification, as they would be taken into consideration when making further judgement of the claims in light of the prior art of record.
Finally, with respect to the interpretation of the first signaling and/or the second signaling functioning for “indicating a numerical quantity of antenna ports…associated with a sounding reference signal…”, and/or “…indicating a numerical quantity orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols…in a sounding reference signal resource…” it is further noted that it is known in the art that with respect to signaling indicating a particular quality, that the signaling can indicate this quality either explicitly or implicitly. Thus, the scope of the claimed first signaling/second signaling, would include first signaling/second signaling, capable of the claimed indications without explicit fields within the signaling designating the indications. Thus, it was concluded that with respect to KIM, if there was signaling received by the UE, and that based on the signaling, there was evidence of a numerical quantity of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in each respective set of OFDM symbols of a plurality of sets of OFDM symbols in a sounding reference signal resource and/or a numerical quantity of antenna ports associated with a sounding reference signal, that KIM would be sufficient for teaching the claimed first and second signaling. Therefore, where KIM, describes where the UE receives a signaling,
“[0155] The above proposed methods (e.g., the proposal #A1/#A-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.) may be applied independently and/or in combination. If the proposed methods are applied in combination, signaling (e.g., L1/L2 signaling) for configuring/indicating a specific method may be introduced… [0160] The UE may receive configuration information related to the proposed methods (e.g., the proposals #A1/#A1-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.) from the base station, in S3420. The configuration information may include all of configuration/indication based on L1/L2 signaling. And/or, if the configuration information is pre-defined/pre-configured, the corresponding relationship may be omitted… [0163] The UE may transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) to the base station, in S3430. The UE may perform the SRS transmission operation based on the configuration information of the S3420. For example, the UE may perform the SRS transmission operation based on the proposed methods (e.g., the proposals #A1/#A1-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.).”
and based on the signaling performing SRS transmissions that reflect “a numerical quantity…(OFDM) symbols…” and/or “a numerical quantity of antenna ports…”, is regarded as sufficient for teaching the claimed first signaling/second signaling.
“[0121] In the Release 18 MIMO SRS discussion, a discussion is scheduled to introduce 8-port SRS transmission. In the current standard, it is defined that SRS transmission of 1, 2 and 4 ports is possible and all ports can be transmitted within a single symbol. Among various port multiplexing methods, a method of applying N-symbol based TDM and/or TD-OCC may be considered. The following shows several examples. [0122] E.g.1, TDM between 0/1/2/3 port (e.g., symbol #x) and 4/5/6/7 port (e.g., symbol #x+1) [0123] E.g.2, TD-OCC between 0/1/2/3 port (e.g., symbol #x) and 4/5/6/7 port (e.g., symbol #x+1)… [0124] [Issue #1] When supporting the above TDM and/or TD-OCC, clarification is required in standard techniques for the following problems…[0149] FIG. 13 illustrates an example of SRS transmission performing group/sequence hopping in a system applicable to the present disclosure. Specifically, FIG. 13 illustrates a method based on the current standard. [0150] FIG. 14 illustrates an example of SRS transmission performing group/sequence hopping in a system applicable to the present disclosure. Specifically, FIG. 14 illustrates a proposed method to which the following proposal #A2 is applied. [0151] Proposal #A2: (For the Issue #2) when applying (TDM/) TD-OCC for port multiplexing based on consecutive N symbols and performing group/sequence hopping, a method of performing the group/sequence hopping using a root index generated based on a specific symbol location within the N symbols… [0155] The above proposed methods (e.g., the proposal #A1/#A-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.) may be applied independently and/or in combination. If the proposed methods are applied in combination, signaling (e.g., L1/L2 signaling) for configuring/indicating a specific method may be introduced… [0160] The UE may receive configuration information related to the proposed methods (e.g., the proposals #A1/#A1-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.) from the base station, in S3420. The configuration information may include all of configuration/indication based on L1/L2 signaling. And/or, if the configuration information is pre-defined/pre-configured, the corresponding relationship may be omitted… [0163] The UE may transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) to the base station, in S3430. The UE may perform the SRS transmission operation based on the configuration information of the S3420. For example, the UE may perform the SRS transmission operation based on the proposed methods (e.g., the proposals #A1/#A1-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.)…..”
Thus, for the reasons explained, KIM was regarded as teaching the feature in question (i.e. first signaling and/or second signaling). Accordingly, the rejections of independent claims 1 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KIM (US 20250286679 A1) are maintained. Furthermore, the rejections of independent claim(s) 10 and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 20250286679 A1) in view of FUTUREWEI (“FL Summary #1 on SRS enhancements”, R1-2301877, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #112, Athens, Greece, February 27th – March 3rd, 2023 ) are maintained. The prior art rejections of the remaining claims are also maintained as the arguments hinged upon the arguments made in view of any one of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 12, 13, 14, 15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KIM (US 20250286679 A1)
In regards to claim 1, KIM (US 20250286679 A1) teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one processor; and memory coupled with the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to (See KIM where it recites “[0009] According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, there is provided a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising a transceiver, at least one processor, and at least one memory operably connectable to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions performing operations based on being executed by the at least one processor, wherein the operations comprise all steps of a method of operating the UE according to various embodiments of the present disclosure.”):
receive first signaling indicating a numerical quantity of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in each respective set of OFDM symbols of a plurality of sets of OFDM symbols in a sounding reference signal resource (“[0155] The above proposed methods (e.g., the proposal #A1/#A-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.) may be applied independently and/or in combination. If the proposed methods are applied in combination, signaling (e.g., L1/L2 signaling) for configuring/indicating a specific method may be introduced… [0160] The UE may receive configuration information related to the proposed methods (e.g., the proposals #A1/#A1-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.) from the base station, in S3420. The configuration information may include all of configuration/indication based on L1/L2 signaling. And/or, if the configuration information is pre-defined/pre-configured, the corresponding relationship may be omitted… [0163] The UE may transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) to the base station, in S3430. The UE may perform the SRS transmission operation based on the configuration information of the S3420. For example, the UE may perform the SRS transmission operation based on the proposed methods (e.g., the proposals #A1/#A1-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.).”), each OFDM symbol in each respective set of OFDM symbols corresponding to a portion of antenna ports of a plurality of antenna ports associated with the respective set of OFDM symbols, the numerical quantity being greater than one (KIM (US 20250286679 A1) teaches each OFDM symbol (i.e. symbol x, symbol x+1), in each respective set of OFDM symbols corresponding to a portion of antenna ports, such as each OFDM symbol corresponding to 4 ports each, the numerical quantity of OFDM symbols being N, which in the example provided N is equal to 2, “[0121] In the Release 18 MIMO SRS discussion, a discussion is scheduled to introduce 8-port SRS transmission. In the current standard, it is defined that SRS transmission of 1, 2 and 4 ports is possible and all ports can be transmitted within a single symbol. Among various port multiplexing methods, a method of applying N-symbol based TDM and/or TD-OCC may be considered. The following shows several examples. [0122] E.g.1, TDM between 0/1/2/3 port (e.g., symbol #x) and 4/5/6/7 port (e.g., symbol #x+1) [0123] E.g.2, TD-OCC between 0/1/2/3 port (e.g., symbol #x) and 4/5/6/7 port (e.g., symbol #x+1)… [0124] [Issue #1] When supporting the above TDM and/or TD-OCC, clarification is required in standard techniques for the following problems…[0126] If the frequency hopping is configured and the TDM/TD-OCC is performed based on consecutive N symbols, clarification is needed in the current standard technique on how repetitionFactor should be applied. For example, if the TDM/TD-OCC is performed based on 2 consecutive symbols for a combination of nrofSymbols=10 and repetitionFactor=5, hopping occurs between a 5th symbol and a 6th symbol, so a frequency domain to be transmitted may vary. Thus, the 2 symbols to which the TDM/TD-OCC is applied may be transmitted in different frequency domains. Therefore, in the case of applying the TDM/TD-OCC even if the frequency hopping is performed, there is a need for a method capable of assuming the same frequency domain for consecutive N symbols to which the TDM/TD-OCC is applied. [0127] [Issue #2] When supporting the (TDM and/or) TD-OCC, clarification is required in standard techniques for the following problems…[0129] When the groupHopping or the sequenceHopping is configured and the (TDM/) TD-OCC is performed based on consecutive N symbols, clarification is needed as to whether hopping should be performed within a symbol interval to which the (TDM/) TD-OCC is applied. For example, when performing the group/sequence hopping, a base sequence may vary on a per symbol basis. Therefore, in the case of applying the TD-OCC even if the group/sequence hopping is performed, there is a need for a method capable of assuming the same base sequence for consecutive N symbols to which the TD-OCD is applied...”); and
transmit a sounding reference signal using the sounding reference signal resource in accordance with a sounding reference signal hopping scheme associated with the numerical quantity of OFDM symbols (“[0149] FIG. 13 illustrates an example of SRS transmission performing group/sequence hopping in a system applicable to the present disclosure. Specifically, FIG. 13 illustrates a method based on the current standard. [0150] FIG. 14 illustrates an example of SRS transmission performing group/sequence hopping in a system applicable to the present disclosure. Specifically, FIG. 14 illustrates a proposed method to which the following proposal #A2 is applied. [0151] Proposal #A2: (For the Issue #2) when applying (TDM/) TD-OCC for port multiplexing based on consecutive N symbols and performing group/sequence hopping, a method of performing the group/sequence hopping using a root index generated based on a specific symbol location within the N symbols… [0155] The above proposed methods (e.g., the proposal #A1/#A-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.) may be applied independently and/or in combination. If the proposed methods are applied in combination, signaling (e.g., L1/L2 signaling) for configuring/indicating a specific method may be introduced… [0160] The UE may receive configuration information related to the proposed methods (e.g., the proposals #A1/#A1-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.) from the base station, in S3420. The configuration information may include all of configuration/indication based on L1/L2 signaling. And/or, if the configuration information is pre-defined/pre-configured, the corresponding relationship may be omitted… [0163] The UE may transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) to the base station, in S3430. The UE may perform the SRS transmission operation based on the configuration information of the S3420. For example, the UE may perform the SRS transmission operation based on the proposed methods (e.g., the proposals #A1/#A1-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.).”).
In regards to claim 12, KIM (US 20250286679 A1) teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a network entity, comprising:
at least one processor; and memory coupled with the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to (See KIM where it recites with regard to the network device, base station, of KIM, “[0010] According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, there is provided a base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising a transceiver, at least one processor, and at least one memory operably connectable to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions performing operations based on being executed by the at least one processor, wherein the operations comprise all steps of a method of operating the base station according to various embodiments of the present disclosure.”):
transmit first signaling indicating a numerical quantity of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in each respective set of OFDM symbols of a plurality of sets of OFDM symbols in a sounding reference signal resource (“[0155] The above proposed methods (e.g., the proposal #A1/#A-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.) may be applied independently and/or in combination. If the proposed methods are applied in combination, signaling (e.g., L1/L2 signaling) for configuring/indicating a specific method may be introduced… [0160] The UE may receive configuration information related to the proposed methods (e.g., the proposals #A1/#A1-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.) from the base station, in S3420. The configuration information may include all of configuration/indication based on L1/L2 signaling. And/or, if the configuration information is pre-defined/pre-configured, the corresponding relationship may be omitted… [0163] The UE may transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) to the base station, in S3430. The UE may perform the SRS transmission operation based on the configuration information of the S3420. For example, the UE may perform the SRS transmission operation based on the proposed methods (e.g., the proposals #A1/#A1-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.).”), each OFDM symbol in each respective set of OFDM symbols corresponding to a portion of antenna ports of a plurality of antenna ports associated with the respective set of OFDM symbols, the numerical quantity being greater than one (KIM (US 20250286679 A1) teaches each OFDM symbol (i.e. symbol x, symbol x+1), in each respective set of OFDM symbols corresponding to a portion of antenna ports, such as each OFDM symbol corresponding to 4 ports each, the numerical quantity of OFDM symbols being N, which in the example provided N is equal to 2, “[0121] In the Release 18 MIMO SRS discussion, a discussion is scheduled to introduce 8-port SRS transmission. In the current standard, it is defined that SRS transmission of 1, 2 and 4 ports is possible and all ports can be transmitted within a single symbol. Among various port multiplexing methods, a method of applying N-symbol based TDM and/or TD-OCC may be considered. The following shows several examples. [0122] E.g.1, TDM between 0/1/2/3 port (e.g., symbol #x) and 4/5/6/7 port (e.g., symbol #x+1) [0123] E.g.2, TD-OCC between 0/1/2/3 port (e.g., symbol #x) and 4/5/6/7 port (e.g., symbol #x+1)… [0124] [Issue #1] When supporting the above TDM and/or TD-OCC, clarification is required in standard techniques for the following problems…[0126] If the frequency hopping is configured and the TDM/TD-OCC is performed based on consecutive N symbols, clarification is needed in the current standard technique on how repetitionFactor should be applied. For example, if the TDM/TD-OCC is performed based on 2 consecutive symbols for a combination of nrofSymbols=10 and repetitionFactor=5, hopping occurs between a 5th symbol and a 6th symbol, so a frequency domain to be transmitted may vary. Thus, the 2 symbols to which the TDM/TD-OCC is applied may be transmitted in different frequency domains. Therefore, in the case of applying the TDM/TD-OCC even if the frequency hopping is performed, there is a need for a method capable of assuming the same frequency domain for consecutive N symbols to which the TDM/TD-OCC is applied. [0127] [Issue #2] When supporting the (TDM and/or) TD-OCC, clarification is required in standard techniques for the following problems…[0129] When the groupHopping or the sequenceHopping is configured and the (TDM/) TD-OCC is performed based on consecutive N symbols, clarification is needed as to whether hopping should be performed within a symbol interval to which the (TDM/) TD-OCC is applied. For example, when performing the group/sequence hopping, a base sequence may vary on a per symbol basis. Therefore, in the case of applying the TD-OCC even if the group/sequence hopping is performed, there is a need for a method capable of assuming the same base sequence for consecutive N symbols to which the TD-OCD is applied...”); and
receive a sounding reference signal using the sounding reference signal resource in accordance with a sounding reference signal hopping scheme associated with the numerical quantity of OFDM symbols (“[0149] FIG. 13 illustrates an example of SRS transmission performing group/sequence hopping in a system applicable to the present disclosure. Specifically, FIG. 13 illustrates a method based on the current standard. [0150] FIG. 14 illustrates an example of SRS transmission performing group/sequence hopping in a system applicable to the present disclosure. Specifically, FIG. 14 illustrates a proposed method to which the following proposal #A2 is applied. [0151] Proposal #A2: (For the Issue #2) when applying (TDM/) TD-OCC for port multiplexing based on consecutive N symbols and performing group/sequence hopping, a method of performing the group/sequence hopping using a root index generated based on a specific symbol location within the N symbols…[0155] The above proposed methods (e.g., the proposal #A1/#A-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.) may be applied independently and/or in combination. If the proposed methods are applied in combination, signaling (e.g., L1/L2 signaling) for configuring/indicating a specific method may be introduced… [0160] The UE may receive configuration information related to the proposed methods (e.g., the proposals #A1/#A1-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.) from the base station, in S3420. The configuration information may include all of configuration/indication based on L1/L2 signaling. And/or, if the configuration information is pre-defined/pre-configured, the corresponding relationship may be omitted… [0163] The UE may transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) to the base station, in S3430. The UE may perform the SRS transmission operation based on the configuration information of the S3420. For example, the UE may perform the SRS transmission operation based on the proposed methods (e.g., the proposals #A1/#A1-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.).”).
In regards to claim 2, KIM (US 20250286679 A1) teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: apply a different sounding reference signal sequence to each OFDM symbol of the plurality of sets of OFDM symbols in accordance with the sounding reference signal hopping scheme, wherein sequence hopping is enabled at the UE (See [Fig. 13] where a different sounding reference signal sequence (group #0, group #1, group #2, group#2) is applied to each of the OFDM symbols (#10, #11, #12, #13) of the plurality of sets of OFDM symbols, two sets of OFDM symbols comprising two symbols each, the first set being symbol #10 and symbol #11, the second set being symbol #12 and symbol #13. Also read, “[0149] FIG. 13 illustrates an example of SRS transmission performing group/sequence hopping in a system applicable to the present disclosure. Specifically, FIG. 13 illustrates a method based on the current standard. [0150] FIG. 14 illustrates an example of SRS transmission performing group/sequence hopping in a system applicable to the present disclosure. Specifically, FIG. 14 illustrates a proposed method to which the following proposal #A2 is applied. [0151] Proposal #A2: (For the Issue #2) when applying (TDM/) TD-OCC for port multiplexing based on consecutive N symbols and performing group/sequence hopping, a method of performing the group/sequence hopping using a root index generated based on a specific symbol location within the N symbols. [0152] In the above proposal, first/last/n-th symbol may be considered as an example of the “specific symbol location within the N symbols.” The specific symbol location may be defined between a base station and a UE by a fixed rule, or may be configured/indicated to the UE with a specific value based on L1/L2 signaling. The specific symbol location may be an example for performing the group/sequence hopping in units of N symbols to which the (TDM/) TD-OCC is applied, and does not limit the proposed methods. Therefore, it is obvious that the group/sequence hopping can be performed in units of the N symbols based on another index to apply the proposed methods. For example, it may be defined to perform the group/sequence hopping based on a certain index defined in units of the N symbols. [0153] In examples of FIGS. 13 and 14, nrofSymbols=4 and the group hopping were assumed. As illustrated in FIG. 13, based on the current standard, a group hopping operation may be performed on each symbol. On the other hand, as illustrated in FIG. 14, based on the proposed method, the group hopping operation may be performed based on a first symbol location in the N symbols. In this case, the same group may be applied within the N symbols. [0154] A base sequence of the same root index may be maintained within the N symbols bound by the port multiplexing. That is, in the current standard, the operation of performing the group/sequence hopping for each symbol may be performed in units of the N symbols to which the (TDM/) TD-OCC is applied through the proposal #A2.”)
In regards to claim 13, KIM (US 20250286679 A1) teaches the apparatus of claim 12, wherein a different sounding reference signal sequence is applied to each OFDM symbol of the plurality of sets of OFDM symbols in accordance with the sounding reference signal hopping scheme(See [Fig. 13] where a different sounding reference signal sequence (group #0, group #1, group #2, group#2) is applied to each of the OFDM symbols (#10, #11, #12, #13) of the plurality of sets of OFDM symbols, two sets of OFDM symbols comprising two symbols each, the first set being symbol #10 and symbol #11, the second set being symbol #12 and symbol #13. Also read, “[0149] FIG. 13 illustrates an example of SRS transmission performing group/sequence hopping in a system applicable to the present disclosure. Specifically, FIG. 13 illustrates a method based on the current standard. [0150] FIG. 14 illustrates an example of SRS transmission performing group/sequence hopping in a system applicable to the present disclosure. Specifically, FIG. 14 illustrates a proposed method to which the following proposal #A2 is applied. [0151] Proposal #A2: (For the Issue #2) when applying (TDM/) TD-OCC for port multiplexing based on consecutive N symbols and performing group/sequence hopping, a method of performing the group/sequence hopping using a root index generated based on a specific symbol location within the N symbols. [0152] In the above proposal, first/last/n-th symbol may be considered as an example of the “specific symbol location within the N symbols.” The specific symbol location may be defined between a base station and a UE by a fixed rule, or may be configured/indicated to the UE with a specific value based on L1/L2 signaling. The specific symbol location may be an example for performing the group/sequence hopping in units of N symbols to which the (TDM/) TD-OCC is applied, and does not limit the proposed methods. Therefore, it is obvious that the group/sequence hopping can be performed in units of the N symbols based on another index to apply the proposed methods. For example, it may be defined to perform the group/sequence hopping based on a certain index defined in units of the N symbols. [0153] In examples of FIGS. 13 and 14, nrofSymbols=4 and the group hopping were assumed. As illustrated in FIG. 13, based on the current standard, a group hopping operation may be performed on each symbol. On the other hand, as illustrated in FIG. 14, based on the proposed method, the group hopping operation may be performed based on a first symbol location in the N symbols. In this case, the same group may be applied within the N symbols. [0154] A base sequence of the same root index may be maintained within the N symbols bound by the port multiplexing. That is, in the current standard, the operation of performing the group/sequence hopping for each symbol may be performed in units of the N symbols to which the (TDM/) TD-OCC is applied through the proposal #A2.”)
In regards to claim 3, KIM (US 20250286679 A1) teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein frequency resources for the sounding reference signal in the sounding reference signal resource are the same across OFDM symbols within a respective set of OFDM signals (See [Fig. 8] where frequency resources for the sounding reference signal in the sounding reference signal resource are the same across the OFDM symbols within the respective set of OFDM symbols, “[0135] In examples of FIGS. 7 and 8, nrofSymbols=8 and repetitionFactor=4 were assumed. As illustrated in FIG. 7, based on the current standard, a pattern of a single symbol in which all ports are defined may be repeatedly transmitted in repetitionFactor=4 times, and a frequency hopping operation may be performed at intervals of 4 symbols. On the other hand, as illustrated in FIG. 8, based on the proposed method, a pattern of 2 symbols in which all ports are defined may be repeatedly transmitted in repetitionFactor/N=2 times, and a frequency hopping operation may be performed at intervals of repetitionFactor=4 symbols.
[0136] With the technical effect of the method of FIG. 8 according to the proposal #A1, it is possible to define an integer number of N symbols bound by port multiplexing within the repetitionFactor. Therefore, even if the frequency hopping is performed, the N symbols may be transmitted in the same frequency domain.” Also see where it recites that both frequency hopping and sequence hopping can be applied “[0155] The above proposed methods (e.g., the proposal #A1/#A-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.) may be applied independently and/or in combination. If the proposed methods are applied in combination, signaling (e.g., L1/L2 signaling) for configuring/indicating a specific method may be introduced…”).
In regards to claim 14, KIM (US 20250286679 A1) teaches the apparatus of claim 13, wherein frequency resources for the sounding reference signal in the sounding reference signal resource are the same across OFDM symbols within a respective set of OFDM signals (See [Fig. 8] where frequency resources for the sounding reference signal in the sounding reference signal resource are the same across the OFDM symbols within the respective set of OFDM symbols, “[0135] In examples of FIGS. 7 and 8, nrofSymbols=8 and repetitionFactor=4 were assumed. As illustrated in FIG. 7, based on the current standard, a pattern of a single symbol in which all ports are defined may be repeatedly transmitted in repetitionFactor=4 times, and a frequency hopping operation may be performed at intervals of 4 symbols. On the other hand, as illustrated in FIG. 8, based on the proposed method, a pattern of 2 symbols in which all ports are defined may be repeatedly transmitted in repetitionFactor/N=2 times, and a frequency hopping operation may be performed at intervals of repetitionFactor=4 symbols. [0136] With the technical effect of the method of FIG. 8 according to the proposal #A1, it is possible to define an integer number of N symbols bound by port multiplexing within the repetitionFactor. Therefore, even if the frequency hopping is performed, the N symbols may be transmitted in the same frequency domain.”, Also see where it recites that both frequency hopping and sequence hopping can be applied “[0155] The above proposed methods (e.g., the proposal #A1/#A-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.) may be applied independently and/or in combination. If the proposed methods are applied in combination, signaling (e.g., L1/L2 signaling) for configuring/indicating a specific method may be introduced…”).
In regards to claim 4, KIM (US 20250286679 A1) teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: apply a different sounding reference signal sequence to the each respective set of OFDM symbols in accordance with the sounding reference signal hopping scheme, wherein sequence hopping is enabled at the UE (See [Fig. 14] where a different sounding reference signal sequence (group #0, group #1) is applied respectively, to each set of OFDM symbols (first set with symbol #10 and symbol #11, and a second set with symbol #12 and symbol #13) of the plurality of sets of OFDM symbols, two sets of OFDM symbols comprising two symbols each, Also read, “[0149] FIG. 13 illustrates an example of SRS transmission performing group/sequence hopping in a system applicable to the present disclosure. Specifically, FIG. 13 illustrates a method based on the current standard. [0150] FIG. 14 illustrates an example of SRS transmission performing group/sequence hopping in a system applicable to the present disclosure. Specifically, FIG. 14 illustrates a proposed method to which the following proposal #A2 is applied. [0151] Proposal #A2: (For the Issue #2) when applying (TDM/) TD-OCC for port multiplexing based on consecutive N symbols and performing group/sequence hopping, a method of performing the group/sequence hopping using a root index generated based on a specific symbol location within the N symbols. [0152] In the above proposal, first/last/n-th symbol may be considered as an example of the “specific symbol location within the N symbols.” The specific symbol location may be defined between a base station and a UE by a fixed rule, or may be configured/indicated to the UE with a specific value based on L1/L2 signaling. The specific symbol location may be an example for performing the group/sequence hopping in units of N symbols to which the (TDM/) TD-OCC is applied, and does not limit the proposed methods. Therefore, it is obvious that the group/sequence hopping can be performed in units of the N symbols based on another index to apply the proposed methods. For example, it may be defined to perform the group/sequence hopping based on a certain index defined in units of the N symbols. [0153] In examples of FIGS. 13 and 14, nrofSymbols=4 and the group hopping were assumed. As illustrated in FIG. 13, based on the current standard, a group hopping operation may be performed on each symbol. On the other hand, as illustrated in FIG. 14, based on the proposed method, the group hopping operation may be performed based on a first symbol location in the N symbols. In this case, the same group may be applied within the N symbols. [0154] A base sequence of the same root index may be maintained within the N symbols bound by the port multiplexing. That is, in the current standard, the operation of performing the group/sequence hopping for each symbol may be performed in units of the N symbols to which the (TDM/) TD-OCC is applied through the proposal #A2.”)
In regards to claim 15, KIM (US 20250286679 A1) teaches the apparatus of claim 12, wherein a different sounding reference signal sequence is applied to each of the respective set of OFDM symbols in accordance with the sounding reference signal hopping scheme (See [Fig. 14] where a different sounding reference signal sequence (group #0, group #1) is applied respectively, to each set of OFDM symbols (first set with symbol #10 and symbol #11, and a second set with symbol #12 and symbol #13) of the plurality of sets of OFDM symbols, two sets of OFDM symbols comprising two symbols each, Also read, “[0149] FIG. 13 illustrates an example of SRS transmission performing group/sequence hopping in a system applicable to the present disclosure. Specifically, FIG. 13 illustrates a method based on the current standard. [0150] FIG. 14 illustrates an example of SRS transmission performing group/sequence hopping in a system applicable to the present disclosure. Specifically, FIG. 14 illustrates a proposed method to which the following proposal #A2 is applied. [0151] Proposal #A2: (For the Issue #2) when applying (TDM/) TD-OCC for port multiplexing based on consecutive N symbols and performing group/sequence hopping, a method of performing the group/sequence hopping using a root index generated based on a specific symbol location within the N symbols. [0152] In the above proposal, first/last/n-th symbol may be considered as an example of the “specific symbol location within the N symbols.” The specific symbol location may be defined between a base station and a UE by a fixed rule, or may be configured/indicated to the UE with a specific value based on L1/L2 signaling. The specific symbol location may be an example for performing the group/sequence hopping in units of N symbols to which the (TDM/) TD-OCC is applied, and does not limit the proposed methods. Therefore, it is obvious that the group/sequence hopping can be performed in units of the N symbols based on another index to apply the proposed methods. For example, it may be defined to perform the group/sequence hopping based on a certain index defined in units of the N symbols. [0153] In examples of FIGS. 13 and 14, nrofSymbols=4 and the group hopping were assumed. As illustrated in FIG. 13, based on the current standard, a group hopping operation may be performed on each symbol. On the other hand, as illustrated in FIG. 14, based on the proposed method, the group hopping operation may be performed based on a first symbol location in the N symbols. In this case, the same group may be applied within the N symbols. [0154] A base sequence of the same root index may be maintained within the N symbols bound by the port multiplexing. That is, in the current standard, the operation of performing the group/sequence hopping for each symbol may be performed in units of the N symbols to which the (TDM/) TD-OCC is applied through the proposal #A2.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 7, 8, 16, 17, 18, and 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 20250286679 A1) in view of VIVO (“Further discussion on SRS enhancement”, cited in IDS received October 25, 2024)
In regards to claim 5, KIM (US 20250286679 A1) is silent on the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: apply a comb offset to the plurality of antenna ports in accordance with the sounding reference signal hopping scheme, wherein comb offset hopping is enabled at the UE.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the transmission of the SRS transmission. VIVO [Section 5.3 Comb 8] teaches a SRS transmission feature where for multi-port SRS transmission, a comb offset is applied to a plurality of antenna ports in accordance with a sounding reference signal hopping scheme, where comb offset hopping is enabled. See where it recites, “..Another solution is to combine FDM and cyclic shift allocation for 4 ports SRS with comb 8. Those ports are divided into two groups, and each group has two SRS ports with different cyclic shift value but with same frequency location, i.e. same comb offset value, while two port groups use same cyclic shift values and different comb offset value. Therefore, 6 cyclic shifts can be mapped into 4 ports SRS without value jumping after combining FDM scheme…”
Thus, based upon the teachings of VIVO it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SRS transmission feature of KIM involving SRS hopping by applying comb offset hopping to the SRS transmissions, to thus arrive at the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: apply a comb offset to the plurality of antenna ports in accordance with the sounding reference signal hopping scheme, wherein comb offset hopping is enabled at the UE, in order to provide a benefit of SRS enhancement as recommended by the 3GPP standard.
In regards to claim 16, KIM (US 20250286679 A1) is silent on the apparatus of claim 12, wherein a comb offset is applied to the plurality of antenna ports in accordance with the sounding reference signal hopping scheme. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the transmission of the SRS transmission. VIVO [Section 5.3 Comb 8] teaches a SRS transmission feature where for multi-port SRS transmission, a comb offset is applied to a plurality of antenna ports in accordance with a sounding reference signal hopping scheme, where comb offset hopping is enabled. See where it recites, “…Another solution is to combine FDM and cyclic shift allocation for 4 ports SRS with comb 8. Those ports are divided into two groups, and each group has two SRS ports with different cyclic shift value but with same frequency location, i.e. same comb offset value, while two port groups use same cyclic shift values and different comb offset value. Therefore, 6 cyclic shifts can be mapped into 4 ports SRS without value jumping after combining FDM scheme…”
Thus, based upon the teachings of VIVO it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SRS transmission feature of KIM involving SRS hopping by applying comb offset hopping to the SRS transmissions, to thus arrive the apparatus of claim 12, wherein a comb offset is applied to the plurality of antenna ports in accordance with the sounding reference signal hopping scheme, in order to provide a benefit of SRS enhancement as recommended by the 3GPP standard.
In regards to claim 6, KIM (US 20250286679 A1) is silent on the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: apply a comb offset to the portion of antenna ports in accordance with the sounding reference signal hopping scheme, wherein comb offset hopping is enabled at the UE.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the transmission of the SRS transmission. VIVO [Section 5.3 Comb 8] teaches a SRS transmission feature where for multi-port SRS transmission, a comb offset is applied to a portion of antenna ports (i.e. 2 port groups) in accordance with a sounding reference signal hopping scheme, where comb offset hopping is enabled. See where it recites, “…Another solution is to combine FDM and cyclic shift allocation for 4 ports SRS with comb 8. Those ports are divided into two groups, and each group has two SRS ports with different cyclic shift value but with same frequency location, i.e. same comb offset value, while two port groups use same cyclic shift values and different comb offset value. Therefore, 6 cyclic shifts can be mapped into 4 ports SRS without value jumping after combining FDM scheme…”
Thus, based upon the teachings of VIVO it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SRS transmission feature of KIM involving SRS hopping by applying comb offset hopping to the SRS transmissions, to thus arrive at the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: apply a comb offset to the portion of antenna ports in accordance with the sounding reference signal hopping scheme, wherein comb offset hopping is enabled at the UE, in order to provide a benefit of SRS enhancement as recommended by the 3GPP standard.
In regards to claim 17, KIM (US 20250286679 A1) is silent on the apparatus of claim 12, wherein a comb offset is applied to the portion of antenna ports in accordance with the sounding reference signal hopping scheme. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the transmission of the SRS transmission. VIVO [Section 5.3 Comb 8] teaches a SRS transmission feature where for multi-port SRS transmission, a comb offset is applied to a portion of antenna ports (i.e. 2 port groups) in accordance with a sounding reference signal hopping scheme, where comb offset hopping is enabled. See where it recites, “…Another solution is to combine FDM and cyclic shift allocation for 4 ports SRS with comb 8. Those ports are divided into two groups, and each group has two SRS ports with different cyclic shift value but with same frequency location, i.e. same comb offset value, while two port groups use same cyclic shift values and different comb offset value. Therefore, 6 cyclic shifts can be mapped into 4 ports SRS without value jumping after combining FDM scheme…”
Thus, based upon the teachings of VIVO it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SRS transmission feature of KIM involving SRS hopping by applying comb offset hopping to the SRS transmissions, to thus arrive at the apparatus of claim 12, wherein a comb offset is applied to the portion of antenna ports in accordance with the sounding reference signal hopping scheme, in order to provide a benefit of SRS enhancement as recommended by the 3GPP standard.
In regards to claim 7, KIM (US 20250286679 A1) is silent on the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: apply a cyclic shift offset to the plurality of antenna ports in accordance with the sounding reference signal hopping scheme, wherein cyclic shift hopping is enabled at the UE.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the transmission of the SRS transmission. VIVO [Section 5.3 Comb 8] teaches a SRS transmission feature where for multi-port SRS transmission, a cyclic shift offset is applied to a plurality of antenna ports (i.e. 2 port groups) in accordance with a sounding reference signal hopping scheme, where cyclic shift hopping is enabled. See where it recites, “…Another solution is to combine FDM and cyclic shift allocation for 4 ports SRS with comb 8. Those ports are divided into two groups, and each group has two SRS ports with different cyclic shift value but with same frequency location, i.e. same comb offset value, while two port groups use same cyclic shift values and different comb offset value. Therefore, 6 cyclic shifts can be mapped into 4 ports SRS without value jumping after combining FDM scheme…”
Thus, based upon the teachings of VIVO it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SRS transmission feature of KIM involving SRS hopping by applying comb offset hopping to the SRS transmissions, to thus arrive at the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: apply a cyclic shift offset to the plurality of antenna ports in accordance with the sounding reference signal hopping scheme, wherein cyclic shift hopping is enabled at the UE, in order to provide a benefit of SRS enhancement as recommended by the 3GPP standard.
In regards to claim 18, KIM (US 20250286679 A1) is silent on the apparatus of claim 12, wherein a cyclic shift offset is applied to the plurality of antenna ports in accordance with the sounding reference signal hopping scheme. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the transmission of the SRS transmission. VIVO [Section 5.3 Comb 8] teaches a SRS transmission feature where for multi-port SRS transmission, a cyclic shift offset is applied to a plurality of antenna ports (i.e. 2 port groups) in accordance with a sounding reference signal hopping scheme, where cyclic shift hopping is enabled. See where it recites, “…Another solution is to combine FDM and cyclic shift allocation for 4 ports SRS with comb 8. Those ports are divided into two groups, and each group has two SRS ports with different cyclic shift value but with same frequency location, i.e. same comb offset value, while two port groups use same cyclic shift values and different comb offset value. Therefore, 6 cyclic shifts can be mapped into 4 ports SRS without value jumping after combining FDM scheme…”
Thus, based upon the teachings of VIVO it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SRS transmission feature of KIM involving SRS hopping by applying comb offset hopping to the SRS transmissions, to thus arrive at the apparatus of claim 12, wherein a cyclic shift offset is applied to the plurality of antenna ports in accordance with the sounding reference signal hopping scheme, in order to provide a benefit of SRS enhancement as recommended by the 3GPP standard.
In regards to claim 8, KIM (US 20250286679 A1) is silent on the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: apply a cyclic shift offset to the portion of antenna ports in accordance with the sounding reference signal hopping scheme, wherein cyclic shift hopping is enabled at the UE. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the transmission of the SRS transmission. VIVO [Section 5.3 Comb 8] teaches a SRS transmission feature where for multi-port SRS transmission, a cyclic shift offset is applied to the portion of the antenna ports (i.e. ports with different cyclic shift value in group) in accordance with a sounding reference signal hopping scheme, where cyclic shift hopping is enabled. See where it recites, “…Another solution is to combine FDM and cyclic shift allocation for 4 ports SRS with comb 8. Those ports are divided into two groups, and each group has two SRS ports with different cyclic shift value but with same frequency location, i.e. same comb offset value, while two port groups use same cyclic shift values and different comb offset value. Therefore, 6 cyclic shifts can be mapped into 4 ports SRS without value jumping after combining FDM scheme…”
Thus, based upon the teachings of VIVO it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SRS transmission feature of KIM involving SRS hopping by applying comb offset hopping to the SRS transmissions, to thus arrive at the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: apply a cyclic shift offset to the plurality of antenna ports in accordance with the sounding reference signal hopping scheme, wherein cyclic shift hopping is enabled at the UE, in order to provide a benefit of SRS enhancement as recommended by the 3GPP standard.
In regards to claim 19, KIM (US 20250286679 A1) is silent on the apparatus of claim 12, wherein a cyclic shift offset is applied to the portion of antenna ports in accordance with the sounding reference signal hopping scheme. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving the transmission of the SRS transmission. VIVO [Section 5.3 Comb 8] teaches a SRS transmission feature where for multi-port SRS transmission, a cyclic shift offset is applied to the portion of the antenna ports (i.e. ports with different cyclic shift value in group) in accordance with a sounding reference signal hopping scheme, where cyclic shift hopping is enabled. See where it recites, “…Another solution is to combine FDM and cyclic shift allocation for 4 ports SRS with comb 8. Those ports are divided into two groups, and each group has two SRS ports with different cyclic shift value but with same frequency location, i.e. same comb offset value, while two port groups use same cyclic shift values and different comb offset value. Therefore, 6 cyclic shifts can be mapped into 4 ports SRS without value jumping after combining FDM scheme…”
Thus, based upon the teachings of VIVO it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SRS transmission feature of KIM involving SRS hopping by applying comb offset hopping to the SRS transmissions, to thus arrive at the apparatus of claim 12, wherein a cyclic shift offset is applied to the portion of antenna ports in accordance with the sounding reference signal hopping scheme, in order to provide a benefit of SRS enhancement as recommended by the 3GPP standard.
Claim(s) 9, 10, 20, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 20250286679 A1) in view of FUTUREWEI (“FL Summary #1 on SRS enhancements”, R1-2301877, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #112, Athens, Greece, February 27th – March 3rd, 2023 )
In regards to claim 9, KIM (US 20250286679 A1) is silent on the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: receive second signaling indicating a numerical quantity of antenna ports associated with a sounding reference signal, wherein the sounding reference signal is transmitted in accordance with a power normalization factor that is based at least in part on a relationship between the numerical quantity of antenna ports and the numerical quantity of OFDM symbols.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving SRS transmission. FUTUREWEI (“FL Summary #1 on SRS enhancements”, see [section 3.2.3 Further details for TDMed SRS ports] under company “FL” ) suggests a feature for SRS transmission involving multiple antenna ports, which involves transmitting the SRS in accordance with a power normalization factor (i.e. number of antenna ports configured per symbol) that is based in part on a relationship between a numerical quantity of the multiple antenna ports and a numerical quantity of OFDM symbols, “Regarding the power control, in 38.213, we have: For SRS, a UE splits a linear value P ̂_("SRS" ,b,f,c) (i,q_s,l) of the transmit power P_("SRS" ,b,f,c) (i,q_s,l) on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c equally across the configured antenna ports for SRS. This may already cover the proper power scaling mentioned by the companies. For proponents of Enh. 1, is the intention here to clarify the understanding? E.g., is something like “… a UE splits … equally across the configured antenna ports for SRS on an OFDM symbol” sufficient?”
Thus based upon the teachings of FUTUREWEI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SRS transmission feature of KIM by adopting use of the power normalization factor seen in FUTUREWEI, in order to arrive at the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: receive second signaling indicating a numerical quantity of antenna ports associated with a sounding reference signal, wherein the sounding reference signal is transmitted in accordance with a power normalization factor that is based at least in part on a relationship between the numerical quantity of antenna ports and the numerical quantity of OFDM symbols, in order to provide a benefit of SRS enhancement as recommended by the 3GPP standard.
In regards to claim 20, KIM (US 20250286679 A1) is silent on the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit second signaling indicating a numerical quantity of antenna ports associated with a sounding reference signal, wherein the sounding reference signal is received in accordance with a power normalization factor that is based at least in part on a relationship between the numerical quantity of antenna ports and the numerical quantity of OFDM symbols.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving SRS transmission. FUTUREWEI (“FL Summary #1 on SRS enhancements”, see [section 3.2.3 Further details for TDMed SRS ports] under company “FL” ) suggests a feature for SRS transmission involving multiple antenna ports, which involves transmitting the SRS in accordance with a power normalization factor (i.e. number of antenna ports configured per symbol) that is based in part on a relationship between a numerical quantity of the multiple antenna ports and a numerical quantity of OFDM symbols, “Regarding the power control, in 38.213, we have: For SRS, a UE splits a linear value P ̂_("SRS" ,b,f,c) (i,q_s,l) of the transmit power P_("SRS" ,b,f,c) (i,q_s,l) on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c equally across the configured antenna ports for SRS. This may already cover the proper power scaling mentioned by the companies. For proponents of Enh. 1, is the intention here to clarify the understanding? E.g., is something like “… a UE splits … equally across the configured antenna ports for SRS on an OFDM symbol” sufficient?”
Thus based upon the teachings of FUTUREWEI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SRS transmission feature of KIM by adopting use of the power normalization factor seen in FUTUREWEI, in order to arrive at the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit second signaling indicating a numerical quantity of antenna ports associated with a sounding reference signal, wherein the sounding reference signal is received in accordance with a power normalization factor that is based at least in part on a relationship between the numerical quantity of antenna ports and the numerical quantity of OFDM symbols, in order to provide a benefit of SRS enhancement as recommended by the 3GPP standard.
In regards to claim 10, KIM (US 20250286679 A1) teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one processor; and memory coupled with the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to (See KIM where it recites “[0009] According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, there is provided a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising a transceiver, at least one processor, and at least one memory operably connectable to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions performing operations based on being executed by the at least one processor, wherein the operations comprise all steps of a method of operating the UE according to various embodiments of the present disclosure.”):
receive first signaling indicating a numerical quantity of antenna ports of a plurality of antenna ports associated with a sounding reference signal; receive second signaling indicating a numerical quantity of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in each respective set of OFDM symbols of a plurality of sets of OFDM symbols in a sounding reference signal resource, each OFDM symbol in each respective set of OFDM symbols corresponding to a portion of antenna ports of the plurality of antenna ports, the numerical quantity of OFDM symbols being greater than one (KIM teaches receiving first signaling indicating a numerical quantity of antenna ports, “…1, 2 and 4 ports is possible and all ports can be transmitted within a single symbol…”, of a plurality of antenna ports, “…In the Release 18 MIMO SRS discussion, a discussion is scheduled to introduce 8-port SRS transmission….”, associated with a sounding reference signal. KIM also teaches receiving second signaling indicating a numerical quantity of OFDM symbols, “N” in each respective set of OFDM symbols of a plurality of sets of OFDM symbols corresponding to a portion of antenna ports (i.e. 1, 2 or 4), of a plurality of antenna ports (i.e. 8), the numerical of quantity of OFDM symbols, “N” being greater than 1, as N is 2 in the examples provided by KIM, “[0155] The above proposed methods (e.g., the proposal #A1/#A-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.) may be applied independently and/or in combination. If the proposed methods are applied in combination, signaling (e.g., L1/L2 signaling) for configuring/indicating a specific method may be introduced… [0160] The UE may receive configuration information related to the proposed methods (e.g., the proposals #A1/#A1-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.) from the base station, in S3420. The configuration information may include all of configuration/indication based on L1/L2 signaling. And/or, if the configuration information is pre-defined/pre-configured, the corresponding relationship may be omitted… [0163] The UE may transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) to the base station, in S3430. The UE may perform the SRS transmission operation based on the configuration information of the S3420. For example, the UE may perform the SRS transmission operation based on the proposed methods (e.g., the proposals #A1/#A1-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.)… “[0121] In the Release 18 MIMO SRS discussion, a discussion is scheduled to introduce 8-port SRS transmission. In the current standard, it is defined that SRS transmission of 1, 2 and 4 ports is possible and all ports can be transmitted within a single symbol. Among various port multiplexing methods, a method of applying N-symbol based TDM and/or TD-OCC may be considered. The following shows several examples. [0122] E.g.1, TDM between 0/1/2/3 port (e.g., symbol #x) and 4/5/6/7 port (e.g., symbol #x+1) [0123] E.g.2, TD-OCC between 0/1/2/3 port (e.g., symbol #x) and 4/5/6/7 port (e.g., symbol #x+1)… [0124] [Issue #1] When supporting the above TDM and/or TD-OCC, clarification is required in standard techniques for the following problems…[0126] If the frequency hopping is configured and the TDM/TD-OCC is performed based on consecutive N symbols, clarification is needed in the current standard technique on how repetitionFactor should be applied. For example, if the TDM/TD-OCC is performed based on 2 consecutive symbols for a combination of nrofSymbols=10 and repetitionFactor=5, hopping occurs between a 5th symbol and a 6th symbol, so a frequency domain to be transmitted may vary. Thus, the 2 symbols to which the TDM/TD-OCC is applied may be transmitted in different frequency domains. Therefore, in the case of applying the TDM/TD-OCC even if the frequency hopping is performed, there is a need for a method capable of assuming the same frequency domain for consecutive N symbols to which the TDM/TD-OCC is applied. [0127] [Issue #2] When supporting the (TDM and/or) TD-OCC, clarification is required in standard techniques for the following problems…[0129] When the groupHopping or the sequenceHopping is configured and the (TDM/) TD-OCC is performed based on consecutive N symbols, clarification is needed as to whether hopping should be performed within a symbol interval to which the (TDM/) TD-OCC is applied. For example, when performing the group/sequence hopping, a base sequence may vary on a per symbol basis. Therefore, in the case of applying the TD-OCC even if the group/sequence hopping is performed, there is a need for a method capable of assuming the same base sequence for consecutive N symbols to which the TD-OCD is applied...”); and transmit the sounding reference signal using the sounding reference signal resource (“[0149] FIG. 13 illustrates an example of SRS transmission performing group/sequence hopping in a system applicable to the present disclosure. Specifically, FIG. 13 illustrates a method based on the current standard. [0150] FIG. 14 illustrates an example of SRS transmission performing group/sequence hopping in a system applicable to the present disclosure. Specifically, FIG. 14 illustrates a proposed method to which the following proposal #A2 is applied. [0151] Proposal #A2: (For the Issue #2) when applying (TDM/) TD-OCC for port multiplexing based on consecutive N symbols and performing group/sequence hopping, a method of performing the group/sequence hopping using a root index generated based on a specific symbol location within the N symbols… [0155] The above proposed methods (e.g., the proposal #A1/#A-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.) may be applied independently and/or in combination. If the proposed methods are applied in combination, signaling (e.g., L1/L2 signaling) for configuring/indicating a specific method may be introduced… [0160] The UE may receive configuration information related to the proposed methods (e.g., the proposals #A1/#A1-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.) from the base station, in S3420. The configuration information may include all of configuration/indication based on L1/L2 signaling. And/or, if the configuration information is pre-defined/pre-configured, the corresponding relationship may be omitted… [0163] The UE may transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) to the base station, in S3430. The UE may perform the SRS transmission operation based on the configuration information of the S3420. For example, the UE may perform the SRS transmission operation based on the proposed methods (e.g., the proposals #A1/#A1-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.).”).
The SRS transmission feature of KIM differs from that of claim 10, in that KIM is silent on transmitting the sounding reference signal using the sounding reference signal resource in accordance with a power normalization factor that is based at least in part on the numerical quantity of antenna ports and the numerical quantity of OFDM symbols.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving SRS transmission. FUTUREWEI (“FL Summary #1 on SRS enhancements”, see [section 3.2.3 Further details for TDMed SRS ports] under company “FL” ) suggests a feature for SRS transmission involving multiple antenna ports, which involves transmitting the SRS in accordance with a power normalization factor (i.e. number of antenna ports configured per symbol) that is based in part on a relationship between a numerical quantity of the multiple antenna ports and a numerical quantity of OFDM symbols, “Regarding the power control, in 38.213, we have: For SRS, a UE splits a linear value P ̂_("SRS" ,b,f,c) (i,q_s,l) of the transmit power P_("SRS" ,b,f,c) (i,q_s,l) on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c equally across the configured antenna ports for SRS. This may already cover the proper power scaling mentioned by the companies. For proponents of Enh. 1, is the intention here to clarify the understanding? E.g., is something like “… a UE splits … equally across the configured antenna ports for SRS on an OFDM symbol” sufficient?”
Thus based upon the teachings of FUTUREWEI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SRS transmission feature of KIM by adopting use of the power normalization factor seen in FUTUREWEI, in order to arrive at the apparatus of claim 10, in order to provide a benefit of SRS enhancement as recommended by the 3GPP standard.
In regards to claim 21, KIM (US 20250286679 A1) teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a network entity, comprising: at least one processor; and memory coupled with the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to (See KIM where it recites with regard to the network device, base station, of KIM, “[0010] According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, there is provided a base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising a transceiver, at least one processor, and at least one memory operably connectable to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions performing operations based on being executed by the at least one processor, wherein the operations comprise all steps of a method of operating the base station according to various embodiments of the present disclosure.”):
transmit first signaling indicating a numerical quantity of antenna ports of a plurality of antenna ports associated with a sounding reference signal;
transmit second signaling indicating a numerical quantity of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in each respective set of OFDM symbols of a plurality of sets of OFDM symbols in a sounding reference signal resource, each OFDM symbol in each respective set of OFDM symbols corresponding to a portion of antenna ports of the plurality of antenna ports, the numerical quantity of OFDM symbols being greater than one (KIM teaches transmitting first signaling indicating a numerical quantity of antenna ports, “…1, 2 and 4 ports is possible and all ports can be transmitted within a single symbol…”, of a plurality of antenna ports, “…In the Release 18 MIMO SRS discussion, a discussion is scheduled to introduce 8-port SRS transmission….”, associated with a sounding reference signal. KIM also teaches transmitting second signaling indicating a numerical quantity of OFDM symbols, “N” in each respective set of OFDM symbols of a plurality of sets of OFDM symbols corresponding to a portion of antenna ports (i.e. 1, 2 or 4), of a plurality of antenna ports (i.e. 8), the numerical of quantity of OFDM symbols, “N” being greater than 1, as N is 2 in the examples provided by KIM, “[0155] The above proposed methods (e.g., the proposal #A1/#A-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.) may be applied independently and/or in combination. If the proposed methods are applied in combination, signaling (e.g., L1/L2 signaling) for configuring/indicating a specific method may be introduced… [0160] The UE may receive configuration information related to the proposed methods (e.g., the proposals #A1/#A1-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.) from the base station, in S3420. The configuration information may include all of configuration/indication based on L1/L2 signaling. And/or, if the configuration information is pre-defined/pre-configured, the corresponding relationship may be omitted… [0163] The UE may transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) to the base station, in S3430. The UE may perform the SRS transmission operation based on the configuration information of the S3420. For example, the UE may perform the SRS transmission operation based on the proposed methods (e.g., the proposals #A1/#A1-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.)… “[0121] In the Release 18 MIMO SRS discussion, a discussion is scheduled to introduce 8-port SRS transmission. In the current standard, it is defined that SRS transmission of 1, 2 and 4 ports is possible and all ports can be transmitted within a single symbol. Among various port multiplexing methods, a method of applying N-symbol based TDM and/or TD-OCC may be considered. The following shows several examples. [0122] E.g.1, TDM between 0/1/2/3 port (e.g., symbol #x) and 4/5/6/7 port (e.g., symbol #x+1) [0123] E.g.2, TD-OCC between 0/1/2/3 port (e.g., symbol #x) and 4/5/6/7 port (e.g., symbol #x+1)… [0124] [Issue #1] When supporting the above TDM and/or TD-OCC, clarification is required in standard techniques for the following problems…[0126] If the frequency hopping is configured and the TDM/TD-OCC is performed based on consecutive N symbols, clarification is needed in the current standard technique on how repetitionFactor should be applied. For example, if the TDM/TD-OCC is performed based on 2 consecutive symbols for a combination of nrofSymbols=10 and repetitionFactor=5, hopping occurs between a 5th symbol and a 6th symbol, so a frequency domain to be transmitted may vary. Thus, the 2 symbols to which the TDM/TD-OCC is applied may be transmitted in different frequency domains. Therefore, in the case of applying the TDM/TD-OCC even if the frequency hopping is performed, there is a need for a method capable of assuming the same frequency domain for consecutive N symbols to which the TDM/TD-OCC is applied. [0127] [Issue #2] When supporting the (TDM and/or) TD-OCC, clarification is required in standard techniques for the following problems…[0129] When the groupHopping or the sequenceHopping is configured and the (TDM/) TD-OCC is performed based on consecutive N symbols, clarification is needed as to whether hopping should be performed within a symbol interval to which the (TDM/) TD-OCC is applied. For example, when performing the group/sequence hopping, a base sequence may vary on a per symbol basis. Therefore, in the case of applying the TD-OCC even if the group/sequence hopping is performed, there is a need for a method capable of assuming the same base sequence for consecutive N symbols to which the TD-OCD is applied...””); and
receive the sounding reference signal using the sounding reference signal resource (“[0149] FIG. 13 illustrates an example of SRS transmission performing group/sequence hopping in a system applicable to the present disclosure. Specifically, FIG. 13 illustrates a method based on the current standard. [0150] FIG. 14 illustrates an example of SRS transmission performing group/sequence hopping in a system applicable to the present disclosure. Specifically, FIG. 14 illustrates a proposed method to which the following proposal #A2 is applied. [0151] Proposal #A2: (For the Issue #2) when applying (TDM/) TD-OCC for port multiplexing based on consecutive N symbols and performing group/sequence hopping, a method of performing the group/sequence hopping using a root index generated based on a specific symbol location within the N symbols… [0155] The above proposed methods (e.g., the proposal #A1/#A-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.) may be applied independently and/or in combination. If the proposed methods are applied in combination, signaling (e.g., L1/L2 signaling) for configuring/indicating a specific method may be introduced… [0160] The UE may receive configuration information related to the proposed methods (e.g., the proposals #A1/#A1-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.) from the base station, in S3420. The configuration information may include all of configuration/indication based on L1/L2 signaling. And/or, if the configuration information is pre-defined/pre-configured, the corresponding relationship may be omitted… [0163] The UE may transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) to the base station, in S3430. The UE may perform the SRS transmission operation based on the configuration information of the S3420. For example, the UE may perform the SRS transmission operation based on the proposed methods (e.g., the proposals #A1/#A1-a/#A1-1/#A2, etc.).”). The SRS transmission feature of KIM differs from that of claim 21, in that KIM is silent on receiving the sounding reference signal using the sounding reference signal resource in accordance with a power normalization factor that is based at least in part on the numerical quantity of antenna ports and the numerical quantity of OFDM symbols.
Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving SRS transmission. FUTUREWEI (“FL Summary #1 on SRS enhancements”, see [section 3.2.3 Further details for TDMed SRS ports] under company “FL” ) suggests a feature for SRS transmission involving multiple antenna ports, which involves transmitting the SRS in accordance with a power normalization factor (i.e. number of antenna ports configured per symbol) that is based in part on a relationship between a numerical quantity of the multiple antenna ports and a numerical quantity of OFDM symbols, “Regarding the power control, in 38.213, we have: For SRS, a UE splits a linear value P ̂_("SRS" ,b,f,c) (i,q_s,l) of the transmit power P_("SRS" ,b,f,c) (i,q_s,l) on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c equally across the configured antenna ports for SRS. This may already cover the proper power scaling mentioned by the companies. For proponents of Enh. 1, is the intention here to clarify the understanding? E.g., is something like “… a UE splits … equally across the configured antenna ports for SRS on an OFDM symbol” sufficient?”
Thus, based upon the teachings of FUTUREWEI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SRS transmission feature of KIM by adopting use of the power normalization factor seen in FUTUREWEI, in order to arrive at the apparatus of claim 21, in order to provide a benefit of SRS enhancement as recommended by the 3GPP standard.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 11 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TARELL A HAMPTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476