DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims will be examined as best understood.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a transmitter configured to transmit a detection pulse” and “control the intensity of the detection pulse”. Not clear from the claim or the specification, what is meant by “detection pulse?” Is this an outgoing light pulse towards an object? Is this from the detection/receiver apparatus? How can a detector have a pulse? Is this a translation error?
Claims 3, 4, 5, 8, 12, 18, 20 recites a similar limitation of “detection pulse” and is similarly rejected.
Claim 1 and 18 recites “based on a time of transmission of the detection pulse”. Not clear from the claims or the specification if the time is that of the time of flight of the pulse, or time the pulse was emitted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3, 13, 18-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartman et al (US 20160282451) in view of Jiang (US 20210311174).
In regards to claim 1, Hartman discloses a LiDAR, comprising:
a transmitter configured to transmit a detection pulse, wherein an intensity of the detection pulse is adjustable ([0017] “the controller 108 may control the intensity of the emitted light pulses and triggering of the light source 102”);
a receiver (refs. 104, 204) configured to receive an optical signal convertible to an electrical signal by applying with a bias voltage (abstract “A voltage source is provided to apply the bias voltage to the light sensor”); and
a controller configured to: control the intensity of the detection pulse ([0017]);
apply a bias voltage to the receiver (abstract);
Hartman does not expressly disclose: switch the bias voltage from a first bias voltage to output a second bias voltage based on a time of transmission of the detection pulse,
Jiang teaches a Lidar device in which a bias voltage applied to a receiver/detector is controlled such that the bias voltage is adjusted based on an time of emission of a light signal ([0024] “the ranging circuit is configured to control the bias voltage applied to the photodetector so that it is smaller than the breakdown voltage within a first preset time period between a transmitting time and an initial time, wherein the transmitting time is a transmitting time of a transmitted laser signal, the initial time is after the receiving time of the stray reflected signal, and the first preset time period is a time period including the receiving time of the stray reflected signal”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Hartman with Jiang by providing the means to switch the bias voltage from a first bias voltage to output a second bias voltage based on a time of transmission of the detection pulse in order to provide better performance at shorter ranges.
Hartman as combined further discloses:
wherein a detection performance of the receiver is lower at the first bias voltage than at the second bias voltage (Hartman [0012] discloses sensitivity performance of detector, Jiang [0024], [0104]).
In regards to claim 2, Hartman discloses the LiDAR of claim 1, wherein switching the bias voltage from the first bias voltage to output the second bias voltage is performed based on a nonlinear curve (Hartman as combined, Jiang as suggested in Fig. 2C, [0062] “curve showing a correspondence relationship between a gain and a bias voltage”).
In regards to claim 3, Harman as combined discloses the LiDAR of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to change one or more of the first bias voltage or second bias voltage based on one or more of the intensity of the detection pulse (Hartman [0017] in controlling the intensity of the emitted light pulse, the bias of the receiver is based on the controlled intensity of the sensed emitted signal), an obstacle distance, an obstacle reflectivity, or a detection distance.
In regards to claim 13, Hartman as combined discloses the LiDAR of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to change the second bias voltage based on the intensity of a previous echo, and decrease the second bias voltage as an intensity of the previous echo increases (Hartman as combined, Jiang, echo is considered a further pulse or emission from the lidar device and performs the functions as detailed in above rejections for bias control).
In regards to claim 18, Hartman discloses a method of three-dimensional detection using LiDAR, comprising:
transmitting a detection pulse to the outside of the LiDAR (Hartman abstract “The LIDAR system includes a light source configured to emit light pulses”), wherein an intensity of the detection pulse is adjustable (Hartman [0017] “the controller 108 may control the intensity of the emitted light pulses and triggering of the light source 102”);
Hartman does not expressly disclose: switching a bias voltage of a receiver of the LiDAR from a first bias voltage to output a second bias voltage based on a time of transmission of the detection pulse.
Jiang teaches a Lidar device in which a bias voltage applied to a receiver/detector is controlled such that the bias voltage is adjusted based on an time of emission of a light signal ([0024] “the ranging circuit is configured to control the bias voltage applied to the photodetector so that it is smaller than the breakdown voltage within a first preset time period between a transmitting time and an initial time, wherein the transmitting time is a transmitting time of a transmitted laser signal, the initial time is after the receiving time of the stray reflected signal, and the first preset time period is a time period including the receiving time of the stray reflected signal”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Hartman with Jiang by providing the means for switching a bias voltage of a receiver of the LiDAR from a first bias voltage to output a second bias voltage based on a time of transmission of the detection pulse in order to provide better performance at shorter ranges.
Hartman as combined further discloses:
wherein a detection performance of the receiver is lower at the first bias voltage than at the second bias voltage (Hartman as combined. Jiang [0024]); receiving an echo of the detection pulse reflected from an obstacle (Hartman [0014] discloses scattered signals, Jiang [0120] discloses stray reflected signal); and converting the echo into an electrical signal by the receiver device (Hartman as combined, Jiang [0120] “the initial time is after the receiving time of the stray reflected signal”).
In regards to claim 19, Hartman as combined discloses the method of claim 18, wherein switching the bias voltage comprises: switching the bias voltage from the first bias voltage to output a second bias voltage based on a nonlinear curve (Hartman as combined, Jiang as suggested in Fig. 2C, [0062] “curve showing a correspondence relationship between a gain and a bias voltage”).
In regards to claim 20, Hartman as combined discloses the method of claim 18, further comprising: adjusting one or more of the first bias voltage or second bias voltage based on one or more of an intensity of the detection pulse (Hartman [0017] in controlling the intensity, the bias of the receiver is based on the controlled intensity of the emitted signal), an obstacle distance, an obstacle reflectivity, or a detection distance.
Claim 4-6, 11, 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartman, Jiang as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Ikedo (US 20180343406).
In regards to claim 4, Hartman as combined discloses the LiDAR of claim 3, wherein the controller comprises a bias generator (Hartman [0079] “a power control circuit 13, which is connected with the photodetector and configured to control the bias voltage applied to the photodetector”).
wherein the bias generator is configured to output the first bias voltage and the second bias voltage (Hartman [0079] “a power control circuit 13, which is connected with the photodetector and configured to control the bias voltage applied to the photodetector”),
Hartman does not expressly disclose: a bias switcher,
Ikedo teaches a switch for a bias mechanism in a Lidar device ([0070] “The switch 1301 is for switching the bias voltage supplied to the photodiode 302… The switch 1301 may function as a setting part by which a voltage applied to the photodiode 302 as an avalanche photodiode is switched to a voltage greater than or equal to a breakdown voltage of the photodiode 302 or to a voltage less than the breakdown voltage of the photodiode 302”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Hartman as combined with Ikedo by providing the means for the device to switch bias in order to ensure the bias is changed.
Hartman as combined further discloses:
wherein the bias switcher is coupled with the bias generator (Hartman as combined), and wherein the bias switcher is configured to switch to output the first bias voltage or the second bias voltage based on the time of transmission of the detection pulse (Hartman [0024]).
In regards to claim 5, Hartman as combined discloses the LiDAR of claim 4, wherein the bias switcher is configured to: output the first bias voltage before the detection pulse is transmitted (Hartman as combined, Jiang [0024] “a first preset time period between a transmitting time and an initial time”); and switch to the second bias voltage after the detection pulse is transmitted (Hartman as combined, Jiang [0024] “the first preset time period is a time period including the receiving time of the stray reflected signal”).
In regards to claim 6, Hartman as combined discloses the LiDAR of claim 4, but does not expressly disclose: wherein the controller further comprises a delay output unit coupled with the bias generator and the receiver, and wherein the delay output unit is configured to output the second bias voltage to the receiver.
Ikedo teaches an imaging sensor system comprising a delay device coupled with the receiver/sensor ([0049] “The buffer 702 is provided for delaying a signal”) and bias generator ([0034] “the timing generator 204 supplies the bias voltage”) coupled with a system controller ([0034] ref. 104).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Hartman as combined with Ikedo by providing the means for the controller to comprise a delay output unit coupled with the bias generator and the receiver and the delay output unit is configured to output the second bias voltage to the receiver in order to allow the system avoid signal interference.
In regards to claim 11, Harman as combined discloses the LiDAR of claim 4, wherein the receiver comprises a plurality of receiver units ([Harman [0014] discloses plurality of detectors), wherein the bias switcher comprises an address input (Hartman as combined, Ikedo [0070], Fig. 13 discloses an input to ref. 1301, the input considered an address or location), and the bias switcher is configured to select at least one of the plurality of receiver units based on an address signal of the address input and switch to output the second bias voltage (Hartman as combined, Ikedo [0070] “The switch 1301 batch-controls the bias voltages supplied to each of a plurality of the unit pixels 201”).
In regards to claim 12, Hartman as combined discloses the LiDAR of claim 11, wherein the controller is configured to switch to the second bias voltage after the detection pulse is transmitted (Hartman [0005] “the controller is configured to measure the bias voltage currently applied to the photodiode”, [0011] “incoming light enters the light sensor 104 and creates charged carriers. Through the application of a bias voltage on the light sensor 104, the light pulses drive the voltage beyond a breakdown voltage to set charged carriers free”).
Claim 14, 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartman, Jiang as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Rainko et al (US 20200011434).
In regards to claim 14, Hartman as combined discloses the LiDAR of claim 3, wherein the LiDAR further comprises a bias applicator (Hartman abstract “A voltage source is provided to apply the bias voltage to the light sensor”), wherein the controller is configured to calculate an obstacle distance based on the electrical signal (Hartman [0002] “The time taken by light pulses to return to the photodiode can be measured, and a distance of the object can then be derived from the measured time”), and
Hartman does not expressly disclose: the bias applicator is configured to change the second bias voltage based on the obstacle distance, and decrease the second bias voltage as the obstacle distance decreases.
Rainko teaches lidar detection whereby the bias of a sensor is based on target distance ([0054] “The receiver 306 adjusts the sensitivity of the photodetector 314 to detect photons in the return 116 by changing a bias voltage of the photodetector 314”) and decreases the bias as target distance increases ([0054] “An increase of the bias voltage increases the sensitivity of the photodetector 314 to a return 116 with low energy (e.g., reflected by an object 108 at a great distance from the lidar system 102”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Hartman as combined with Rainko by providing the means for the bias applicator to change the second bias voltage based on the obstacle distance and decrease the second bias voltage as the obstacle distance decreases in order increase detection of signals with low intensity as is well known in the art.
In regards to claim 15, Hartman as combined discloses the LiDAR of claim 3, but does not expressly disclose: wherein the controller is configured to change the first bias voltage based on the intensity of the detection pulse, and increase the first bias voltage as the intensity of the detection pulse decreases.
Rainko teaches lidar detection whereby a bias voltage based on intensity of returned signal is adjusted ([0054] “An increase of the bias voltage increases the sensitivity of the photodetector 314 to a return 116 with low energy (e.g., reflected by an object 108 at a great distance from the lidar system 102 or with a low-reflectivity)”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Hartman as combined with Rainko by providing the means for the controller to change the first bias voltage based on the intensity of the detection pulse and increase the first bias voltage as the intensity of the detection pulse decreases in order increase detection of signals with low intensity as is well known in the art.
Claim 16, 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartman, Jiang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Henneke et al (US 20200370955).
In regards to claim 16, Hartman as combined discloses the LiDAR of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose: wherein the receiver comprises a silicon photomultiplier (SiPM) array,
Hennke teaches a lidar system comprising a silicon photomultiplier (SiPM) array ([0007] “a digital silicon photomultiplier (SiPM) device”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Hartman as combined with Henneke by providing the means for the receiver to comprise silicon photomultiplier (SiPM) array in order to provide increased sensitivity with regards to compact size considerations.
Hartman as combined further discloses:
wherein the SiPM array outputs the electrical signal via a cathode, and an anode of the SiPM array is coupled to the controller to receive the first bias voltage or the second bias voltage (Henneke [0007] “the SPAD including an anode terminal, a cathode terminal, and an internal capacitor coupled internally between the anode terminal and the cathode terminal”), or the SiPM array outputs the electrical signal via a fast output, and the cathode of the SiPM array is coupled to the controller to receive the first bias voltage or the second bias voltage.
In regards to claim 17, Hartman as combined discloses the LiDAR of claim 16,
wherein the receiver comprises a plurality of SiPM arrays and uses the cathode for output (Henneke [0034] “an array of digital silicon photomultipliers (SiPMs)”), and the plurality of SiPM arrays are connected to the controller with a common anode to receive the first bias voltage or the second bias voltage (Henneke abstract “the SPAD including an internal capacitor coupled internally between an anode terminal and an cathode terminal”, connected by way of one or more intermediate elements).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8-10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure cite on PTO 892. The cited references display lidar systems and optical measurement systems which use bias control of receivers and sensors.
/V.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642