DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed June 10, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-30 are pending in the application. Applicant has submitted a copy of the claims along with other remarks.
Importantly, the filing designated the first page of the remarks (page 10 of 13) as part of the claims document. This error will be corrected internally. Applicant is encouraged to review the filed documents to ensure no pages, claims, or remarks are missing. Claims 1-30 are still rejected by prior art references, refer to the following rejection for details.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see pp. 10-13 of the response, filed June 10, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-30 under § 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive, please see the rejection for details.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant states that Shreevastav does not disclose the recited elements because “the Examiner’s mapping is internally inconsistent.” Remarks at 11. Applicant alleges this inconsistency because the (1) receiving step is mapped to Shreevastay’s “second node” and the (2) transmitting step is mapped to Shreevastay’s “first node” where the claims recite a “network entity” that both receives and transmits. Remarks at 10-11 (“Shreevastav does not disclose or suggest both the ‘receive’ and ‘transmit’ features”).
Applicant looks to the indicated of portions of Shreevastav to support such rigidity, but other sections of Shreevastav appear to disclose that the described nodes are interchangeable by abstraction and can either be a UE or TRP ([0016-21], [0033-34]). That is, performance of the steps in Shreevastav is abstracted to the generic “nodes” and [0016-21] describes that these “nodes” can both be UEs, TRPs, or a mixture of the two. Shreevastav also states that “other embodiments may comprise computing devices with different combinations of components. It is to be understood that these computing devices may comprise any suitable combination of hardware and/or software needed to perform the tasks, features, functions, and methods disclosed herein.” ([0161]).
Applicant has not provided why Shreevastav’s abstraction to generic “nodes” and the description of these nodes (e.g., [0004] Sensing using cellular networks can be performed in a monostatic setting when transmitter and receiver sensing antennas are located in the same node and in a multi-static setting when the transmitter and receiver sensing antennas are located in different nodes. [0016-21], [0033-34], [0161]) would not render the recited elements obvious.
For these reasons, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 18-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Publication No. 2024/171085 (hereinafter “Shreevastav”) in view of Non-patent Literature entitled, “3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #112 (R1-2301847)” (hereinafter “VIVO”)
Regarding claim 1, Shreevastav teaches: A network entity ([0132-134]), comprising: one or more memories ([0132-134]); one or more transceivers ([0132-134]); and one or more processors ([0132-134]) communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: receive, via the one or more transceivers one or more radio propagation characteristics of one or more paths between a first transmission-reception point (TRP) and a location of a first user equipment (UE) ([0005] providing the environment information to a second node associated with the radio-signal-based sensing or involved in a radio-signal-based sensing session; [0131] Other examples of network nodes include multiple Transmission Point (multi-TRP) 5G access nodes; [0056-57]; [0020]); and transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the first UE, assistance data based at least in part on the one or more radio propagation characteristics ([0015] In one embodiment, providing the environment information to the second node comprises providing the environment information to the second node via a sensing request, a sensing result request, a response to a sensing-related request or configuration message from the second node, sensing assistance information, a sensing configuration message, an information message associated to sensing, a validate request associated to sensing, or an aggregated or differential result message associated to sensing. [0021]).
Shreevastav does not specifically teach: from a digital twin entity.
However, in the same field of endeavor, VIVO teaches: receiving radio propagation characteristics from a digital twin entity (p. 32/79, Proposal 6: Study potential specification impact of different data collection methods (e.g., utilizing digital twin technology) for obtaining training data set with high user density.; p. 49/79 [24, Qualcomm] proposed that LMF provides the following assistance information for UE/PRU: timestamping of measurements and labels; indication of how PRS resources map to physical anchor location/angles; indications of timing errors at network side; indication of LOS/NLOS maps for each TRP. It also proposed that LMF provides timestamping of measurements and labels as assistance information for gNB/TRP.; p. 61/79 [3, ZTE] proposed that for AI/ML assisted positioning, support following intermediate results as the model output: DLRSTD values for first detected path; LOS/NLOS indicator; DL PRS-RSRPP values for first detected path. It also proposed for AI/ML assisted positioning, study measurement report enhancement for AI/ML assisted intermediate results under both single TRP and Multi-TRP construction.; p. 62/79 For AI/ML assisted positioning with UE-assisted (Case 2a) and NG-RAN node assisted positioning (Case 3a), measurement report as model output to LMF o new measurement report: e.g., ToA o existing measurement report: e.g., RSTD, LOS/NLOS indicator, RSRPP o enhancement of existing measurement report: e.g., soft information of RSTD; p. 68/79 [21, Levova]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shreevastav to include the feature of a digital twin to provide the information and a combination of Shreevastav with VIVO renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing information based on a digital twin).
Regarding claim 2, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the one or more radio propagation characteristics comprise: a pathloss estimate between the first TRP and the location of the first UE, a line-of-sight (LOS) state between the first TRP and the location of the first UE, a non-line-of-sight (NLOS) state between the first TRP and the location of the first UE, multipath characteristics between the first TRP and the location of the first UE, or any combination thereof ([0052]).
Regarding claim 3, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: receive, via the one or more transceivers, from the digital twin entity, a validity time window within which the one or more radio propagation characteristics are valid ([0082] • Environment information actuality (e.g., old, new, on-line, up-to-date, not up-to-date, likely up-to-date, obtained within time X, etc.)).
Regarding claim 4, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the digital twin entity, a request for radio propagation characteristics, wherein the one or more radio propagation characteristics are received in response to the request ([0016] In one embodiment, the method further comprises receiving a request for the environment information from the second node.).
Regarding claim 5, Shreevastav teaches: wherein: the request for radio propagation characteristics indicates a plurality of radio propagation characteristics requested by the network entity, the one or more radio propagation characteristics are less than the plurality of radio propagation characteristics, and the one or more processors are further configured to receive, from the digital twin entity, an error notification for remaining radio propagation characteristics of the plurality of radio propagation characteristics ([0160] The measurements may be implemented in that software causes messages to be transmitted, in particular empty or ‘dummy’ messages, using the OTT connection 1450 while monitoring propagation times, errors, etc.).
Regarding claim 6, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: receive, via the one or more transceivers, from the digital twin entity, one or more second radio propagation characteristics between a second TRP and the location of the first UE ([0188] B. determining the environment information based on a message or indication received from another node (e.g., via unicast/multicast/broadcast, upon a request from the first node or in an unsolicited manner)), wherein the assistance data is further based on the one or more second radio propagation characteristics; receive, via the one or more transceivers, from a second digital twin entity, one or more third radio propagation characteristics between a third TRP and the location of the first UE, wherein the assistance data is further based on the one or more third radio propagation characteristics; or any combination thereof ([0189] (5) sending the environment information or a chosen configuration based on the environment information to another node).
Regarding claim 7, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: receive, via the one or more transceivers, from the digital twin entity, one or more second radio propagation characteristics between the first TRP and a location of a second UE; receive, via the one or more transceivers, from a second digital twin entity, one or more third radio propagation characteristics between a second TRP and the location of the second UE; or any combination thereof ([0079] The first node (e.g., UE, sensing client, sensing server, 0AM or another network node) obtains the information associated with the environment of a sensing target (e.g., an area or an object), e.g., by one or more of: First node, other node, another node, second node, third node).
Regarding claim 8, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: receive, via the one or more transceivers, from the first UE, a request for the assistance data ([0063] • Step 200 (in some, but not necessarily all, embodiments): The first node receives a request for environment information from a second node associated with sensing or involved in a sensing session (e.g., network node, sensing management function or sensing server, or another UE). [0078] In this step, the first node receives a request for environment information from a second node associated with sensing or involved in a sensing session (e.g., from network node, sensing management function or sensing server, or another UE). [0079] Determining the environment information based on a message or indication received from another node (e.g., 0AM or other network node, etc.) via unicast/multicast/broadcast, upon a request from the first node or in an unsolicited manner. [0080] ■ In some cases, both the first node and the other node may perform sensing in the same direction and the results can be compared for any differences or combined based on rules. [0080] The obtaining of the environment information can be, e.g., upon a request from another node or in an unsolicited way, upon a triggering condition (e.g., an event detected which may impact the environment information), periodic with some pre-defined or configured periodicity, etc. [0087] In some further examples, the environment information is provided in any of: • sensing request, • sensing result request, • sensing assistance information, • sensing configuration message, • sensing “provide information” message, • sensing “validating request” message, • sensing “aggregated or differential result” message [0088] Examples of the first and second nodes (see Section 1 above for the terms “network node” or “UE”) include: • UE -> network node • First UE -> second UE • First network node -> second network node • Network node -> UE).
Regarding claim 9, Shreevastav teaches: wherein: the request indicates types of the one or more radio propagation characteristics, the request identifies at least the first TRP, or any combination thereof ([0167] Embodiment 4: The method of any of embodiments 1 to 3 wherein the environment information comprises: (a) environment type; (b) sensing radio environment quality; (c) sensing radio propagation characteristics; (d) knowledge level about the environment; (e) environment information quality or reliability level; (f) environment information actuality; (g) speed; (h) velocity or movement direction; (i) statistical characteristic, statistical data or a function of one or more environment information parameter or characteristic listed above; or (j) a combination of any two or more of (a)-(i). Claim 5: 5. The method of any of claims 1 to 4 wherein the environment information comprises: (a) environment type; (b) sensing radio environment quality; (c) radio propagation characteristics; (d) knowledge level about the environment; (e) environment information quality or reliability level; (f) environment information actuality; (g) speed of the sensing target or the first node; (h) velocity or movement direction of the sensing target or the first node; (i) statistical characteristic, statistical data or a function of one or more environment information parameters or characteristics listed in (a)-(h); r (j) a combination of any two or more of (a)-(i).).
Regarding claim 10, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the assistance data includes a validity time window within which the assistance data is valid ([0084] • Validity time, e.g., for how long the information is valid or when it may need to be updated).
Regarding claim 11, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the validity time window is specified: per exclusion zone indicated in the assistance data, per TRP indicated in the assistance data, for all exclusion zones indicated in the assistance data, for all TRPs indicated in the assistance data, or any combination thereof ([0030] (i) location information about a location of the environment associated to the sensing target or sensing area).
Regarding claim 12, Shreevastav teaches: wherein: the assistance data includes one or more exclusion zones associated with the first TRP, and the first UE is configured to not measure the first TRP when the first UE is located within the one or more exclusion zones ([0026] Embodiments of a method performed by a second node for radio-signal-based sensing using a cellular network are also disclosed. In one embodiment, a method performed by a second node for radio-signal-based sensing using a cellular network comprises obtaining, from a first node, environment information about an environment associated to a sensing target or sensing area for radio-signal-based sensing using a cellular network, the environment being a physical environment of the sensing target or sensing object, a radio environment of the sensing target or sensing object, or both the physical environment and radio environment of the sensing target or sensing object. The method further comprises using the environment information for radio signal based sensing of the sensing target or sensing area.).
Regarding claim 13, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the one or more exclusion zones are specified: per frequency band of the first TRP, or per frequency layer of the first TRP ([0098] • Choose a configuration o Selecting a set of nodes for transmitting radio signals for the sensing o Selecting a set of nodes for receiving radio signals for the sensing o Configuring at least one radio signal to be transmitted for the sensing (e.g., configure radio signal type, transmit power, time and/or frequency resources or pattern for the radio signal, periodicity, number of symbols, bandwidth, number of transmit occasions, number of slots, etc.)).
Regarding claim 14, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the one or more exclusion zones are one or more geographical areas where: the first TRP is in an NLOS state with respect to the one or more geographical areas, or a signal strength of the first TRP is expected to be below a signal strength threshold ([0082] • Radio propagation characteristics (e.g., LOS, NLOS, fading characteristics, multipath structure, rich or heavy multipath, light multipath, uniform/mixed propagation environment, etc.) [0098] The second node (e.g., network node) obtains the information about the environment of a sensing target (e.g., an area or an object), e.g., by one or more of: • Determining the environment information based on any one or more of: o radio measurements or channel estimation result (e.g., determining radio propagation characteristics, link quality, velocity data, single or multiple peak detection, or location based on pathloss estimation, LOS/NLOS detection).
Regarding claim 15, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: receive, via the one or more transceivers, from the first UE, a measurement report, the measurement report indicating that the first TRP was not measured based on the first UE being located in one of the one or more exclusion zones ([0124] Regardless of the type of sensor, a UE may provide an output of data captured by its sensors, through its communication interface 1012, or via a wireless connection to a network node. Data captured by sensors of a UE can be communicated through a wireless connection to a network node via another UE. The output may be periodic (e.g., once every 15 minutes if it reports the sensed temperature), random (e.g., to even out the load from reporting from several sensors), in response to a triggering event (e.g., when moisture is detected an alert is sent), in response to a request (e.g., a user initiated request), or a continuous stream (e.g., a live video feed of a patient).).
Regarding claim 18, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the assistance data is: positioning assistance data, sense assistance data, include in a location information request, include in a sensing information request, or any combination thereof ([0009], [0054] “Sensing target” is an area or an object with respect to which the sensing purpose is to be achieved . . . Positioning Reference Signal (PRS).).
Regarding claim 19, Shreevastav teaches: A method of communication by a network entity comprising: receiving, via the one or more transceivers one or more radio propagation characteristics of one or more paths between a first transmission-reception point (TRP) and a location of a first user equipment (UE) ([0005] providing the environment information to a second node associated with the radio-signal-based sensing or involved in a radio-signal-based sensing session; [0131] Other examples of network nodes include multiple Transmission Point (multi-TRP) 5G access nodes; [0056-57]; [0020]); and transmitting, via the one or more transceivers, to the first UE, assistance data based at least in part on the one or more radio propagation characteristics ([0015] In one embodiment, providing the environment information to the second node comprises providing the environment information to the second node via a sensing request, a sensing result request, a response to a sensing-related request or configuration message from the second node, sensing assistance information, a sensing configuration message, an information message associated to sensing, a validate request associated to sensing, or an aggregated or differential result message associated to sensing. [0021]).
Shreevastav does not specifically teach: from a digital twin entity.
However, in the same field of endeavor, VIVO teaches: receiving radio propagation characteristics from a digital twin entity (p. 32/79, Proposal 6: Study potential specification impact of different data collection methods (e.g., utilizing digital twin technology) for obtaining training data set with high user density.; p. 49/79 [24, Qualcomm] proposed that LMF provides the following assistance information for UE/PRU: timestamping of measurements and labels; indication of how PRS resources map to physical anchor location/angles; indications of timing errors at network side; indication of LOS/NLOS maps for each TRP. It also proposed that LMF provides timestamping of measurements and labels as assistance information for gNB/TRP.; p. 61/79 [3, ZTE] proposed that for AI/ML assisted positioning, support following intermediate results as the model output: DLRSTD values for first detected path; LOS/NLOS indicator; DL PRS-RSRPP values for first detected path. It also proposed for AI/ML assisted positioning, study measurement report enhancement for AI/ML assisted intermediate results under both single TRP and Multi-TRP construction.; p. 62/79 For AI/ML assisted positioning with UE-assisted (Case 2a) and NG-RAN node assisted positioning (Case 3a), measurement report as model output to LMF o new measurement report: e.g., ToA o existing measurement report: e.g., RSTD, LOS/NLOS indicator, RSRPP o enhancement of existing measurement report: e.g., soft information of RSTD; p. 68/79 [21, Levova]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shreevastav to include the feature of a digital twin to provide the information and a combination of Shreevastav with VIVO renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing information based on a digital twin).
Regarding claim 20, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the one or more radio propagation characteristics comprise: a pathloss estimate between the first TRP and the location of the first UE, a line-of-sight (LOS) state between the first TRP and the location of the first UE, a non-line-of-sight (NLOS) state between the first TRP and the location of the first UE, multipath characteristics between the first TRP and the location of the first UE, or any combination thereof ([0052]).
Regarding claim 21, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: receive, via the one or more transceivers, from the digital twin entity, a validity time window within which the one or more radio propagation characteristics are valid ([0082] • Environment information actuality (e.g., old, new, on-line, up-to-date, not up-to-date, likely up-to-date, obtained within time X, etc.)).
Regarding claim 22, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the digital twin entity, a request for radio propagation characteristics, wherein the one or more radio propagation characteristics are received in response to the request ([0016] In one embodiment, the method further comprises receiving a request for the environment information from the second node.).
Regarding claim 23, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: receive, via the one or more transceivers, from the digital twin entity, one or more second radio propagation characteristics between a second TRP and the location of the first UE ([0188] B. determining the environment information based on a message or indication received from another node (e.g., via unicast/multicast/broadcast, upon a request from the first node or in an unsolicited manner)), wherein the assistance data is further based on the one or more second radio propagation characteristics; receive, via the one or more transceivers, from a second digital twin entity, one or more third radio propagation characteristics between a third TRP and the location of the first UE, wherein the assistance data is further based on the one or more third radio propagation characteristics; or any combination thereof ([0189] (5) sending the environment information or a chosen configuration based on the environment information to another node).
Regarding claim 24, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: receive, via the one or more transceivers, from the digital twin entity, one or more second radio propagation characteristics between the first TRP and a location of a second UE; receive, via the one or more transceivers, from a second digital twin entity, one or more third radio propagation characteristics between a second TRP and the location of the second UE; or any combination thereof ([0079] The first node (e.g., UE, sensing client, sensing server, 0AM or another network node) obtains the information associated with the environment of a sensing target (e.g., an area or an object), e.g., by one or more of: First node, other node, another node, second node, third node).
Regarding claim 25, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: receive, via the one or more transceivers, from the first UE, a request for the assistance data ([0063] • Step 200 (in some, but not necessarily all, embodiments): The first node receives a request for environment information from a second node associated with sensing or involved in a sensing session (e.g., network node, sensing management function or sensing server, or another UE). [0078] In this step, the first node receives a request for environment information from a second node associated with sensing or involved in a sensing session (e.g., from network node, sensing management function or sensing server, or another UE). [0079] Determining the environment information based on a message or indication received from another node (e.g., 0AM or other network node, etc.) via unicast/multicast/broadcast, upon a request from the first node or in an unsolicited manner. [0080] ■ In some cases, both the first node and the other node may perform sensing in the same direction and the results can be compared for any differences or combined based on rules. [0080] The obtaining of the environment information can be, e.g., upon a request from another node or in an unsolicited way, upon a triggering condition (e.g., an event detected which may impact the environment information), periodic with some pre-defined or configured periodicity, etc. [0087] In some further examples, the environment information is provided in any of: • sensing request, • sensing result request, • sensing assistance information, • sensing configuration message, • sensing “provide information” message, • sensing “validating request” message, • sensing “aggregated or differential result” message [0088] Examples of the first and second nodes (see Section 1 above for the terms “network node” or “UE”) include: • UE -> network node • First UE -> second UE • First network node -> second network node • Network node -> UE).
Regarding claim 26, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the assistance data includes a validity time window within which the assistance data is valid ([0084] • Validity time, e.g., for how long the information is valid or when it may need to be updated).
Regarding claim 27, Shreevastav teaches: wherein: the assistance data includes one or more exclusion zones associated with the first TRP, and the first UE is configured to not measure the first TRP when the first UE is located within the one or more exclusion zones ([0026] Embodiments of a method performed by a second node for radio-signal-based sensing using a cellular network are also disclosed. In one embodiment, a method performed by a second node for radio-signal-based sensing using a cellular network comprises obtaining, from a first node, environment information about an environment associated to a sensing target or sensing area for radio-signal-based sensing using a cellular network, the environment being a physical environment of the sensing target or sensing object, a radio environment of the sensing target or sensing object, or both the physical environment and radio environment of the sensing target or sensing object. The method further comprises using the environment information for radio signal based sensing of the sensing target or sensing area.).
Regarding claim 28, Shreevastav teaches: wherein the one or more exclusion zones are specified: per frequency band of the first TRP, or per frequency layer of the first TRP ([0098] • Choose a configuration o Selecting a set of nodes for transmitting radio signals for the sensing o Selecting a set of nodes for receiving radio signals for the sensing o Configuring at least one radio signal to be transmitted for the sensing (e.g., configure radio signal type, transmit power, time and/or frequency resources or pattern for the radio signal, periodicity, number of symbols, bandwidth, number of transmit occasions, number of slots, etc.)).
Regarding claim 29, Shreevastav teaches: A network entity comprising: means for receiving, one or more radio propagation characteristics of one or more paths between a first transmission-reception point (TRP) and a location of a first user equipment (UE) ([0005] providing the environment information to a second node associated with the radio-signal-based sensing or involved in a radio-signal-based sensing session; [0131] Other examples of network nodes include multiple Transmission Point (multi-TRP) 5G access nodes; [0056-57]; [0020]); and transmitting, via the one or more transceivers, to the first UE, assistance data based at least in part on the one or more radio propagation characteristics ([0015] In one embodiment, providing the environment information to the second node comprises providing the environment information to the second node via a sensing request, a sensing result request, a response to a sensing-related request or configuration message from the second node, sensing assistance information, a sensing configuration message, an information message associated to sensing, a validate request associated to sensing, or an aggregated or differential result message associated to sensing. [0021]).
Shreevastav does not specifically teach: from a digital twin entity.
However, in the same field of endeavor, VIVO teaches: receiving radio propagation characteristics from a digital twin entity (p. 32/79, Proposal 6: Study potential specification impact of different data collection methods (e.g., utilizing digital twin technology) for obtaining training data set with high user density.; p. 49/79 [24, Qualcomm] proposed that LMF provides the following assistance information for UE/PRU: timestamping of measurements and labels; indication of how PRS resources map to physical anchor location/angles; indications of timing errors at network side; indication of LOS/NLOS maps for each TRP. It also proposed that LMF provides timestamping of measurements and labels as assistance information for gNB/TRP.; p. 61/79 [3, ZTE] proposed that for AI/ML assisted positioning, support following intermediate results as the model output: DLRSTD values for first detected path; LOS/NLOS indicator; DL PRS-RSRPP values for first detected path. It also proposed for AI/ML assisted positioning, study measurement report enhancement for AI/ML assisted intermediate results under both single TRP and Multi-TRP construction.; p. 62/79 For AI/ML assisted positioning with UE-assisted (Case 2a) and NG-RAN node assisted positioning (Case 3a), measurement report as model output to LMF o new measurement report: e.g., ToA o existing measurement report: e.g., RSTD, LOS/NLOS indicator, RSRPP o enhancement of existing measurement report: e.g., soft information of RSTD; p. 68/79 [21, Levova]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shreevastav to include the feature of a digital twin to provide the information and a combination of Shreevastav with VIVO renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing information based on a digital twin).
Regarding claim 30, Shreevastav teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a network entity, cause the network entity to: receiving, one or more radio propagation characteristics of one or more paths between a first transmission-reception point (TRP) and a location of a first user equipment (UE) ([0005] providing the environment information to a second node associated with the radio-signal-based sensing or involved in a radio-signal-based sensing session; [0131] Other examples of network nodes include multiple Transmission Point (multi-TRP) 5G access nodes; [0056-57]; [0020]); and transmitting, via the one or more transceivers, to the first UE, assistance data based at least in part on the one or more radio propagation characteristics ([0015] In one embodiment, providing the environment information to the second node comprises providing the environment information to the second node via a sensing request, a sensing result request, a response to a sensing-related request or configuration message from the second node, sensing assistance information, a sensing configuration message, an information message associated to sensing, a validate request associated to sensing, or an aggregated or differential result message associated to sensing. [0021]).
Shreevastav does not specifically teach: from a digital twin entity.
However, in the same field of endeavor, VIVO teaches: receiving radio propagation characteristics from a digital twin entity (p. 32/79, Proposal 6: Study potential specification impact of different data collection methods (e.g., utilizing digital twin technology) for obtaining training data set with high user density.; p. 49/79 [24, Qualcomm] proposed that LMF provides the following assistance information for UE/PRU: timestamping of measurements and labels; indication of how PRS resources map to physical anchor location/angles; indications of timing errors at network side; indication of LOS/NLOS maps for each TRP. It also proposed that LMF provides timestamping of measurements and labels as assistance information for gNB/TRP.; p. 61/79 [3, ZTE] proposed that for AI/ML assisted positioning, support following intermediate results as the model output: DLRSTD values for first detected path; LOS/NLOS indicator; DL PRS-RSRPP values for first detected path. It also proposed for AI/ML assisted positioning, study measurement report enhancement for AI/ML assisted intermediate results under both single TRP and Multi-TRP construction.; p. 62/79 For AI/ML assisted positioning with UE-assisted (Case 2a) and NG-RAN node assisted positioning (Case 3a), measurement report as model output to LMF o new measurement report: e.g., ToA o existing measurement report: e.g., RSTD, LOS/NLOS indicator, RSRPP o enhancement of existing measurement report: e.g., soft information of RSTD; p. 68/79 [21, Levova]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shreevastav to include the feature of a digital twin to provide the information and a combination of Shreevastav with VIVO renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing information based on a digital twin).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shreevastav in view of VIVO and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2023/0007615 (hereinafter “Keating”)
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Shreevastav and VIVO does not teach: wherein the assistance data includes NLOS offset distribution information for at least the first TRP.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Keating teaches: wherein the assistance data includes NLOS offset distribution information for at least the first TRP ([0031] As illustrated at 108, the network node may transmit, and the UE may receive, the NLOS bias distribution information.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Shreevastav and VIVO to include the feature of sending an NLOS bias distribution and a combination of Shreevastav and VIVO with Keating renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., sending an NLOS bias distribution).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 17 recites, “wherein the NLOS offset distribution information is specified per exclusion zone associated with the first TRP.”
Shreevastav (WIPO Publication No. 2024/171085) teaches: including information regarding an exclusion zone ([0030] (i) location information about a location of the environment associated to the sensing target or sensing area).
Keating (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0007615) teaches: NLOS offset distribution information for at least the first TRP ([0031] As illustrated at 108, the network node may transmit, and the UE may receive, the NLOS bias distribution information.).
The above references, in combination, do not render obvious the claimed invention regarding to details about wherein the NLOS offset distribution information is specified per exclusion zone associated with the first TRP when viewed with the claim as a whole. Therefore, claim 17 recites allowable subject matter.
Any comments considered necessary by Applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WIPO Publication No. 2022/155647 (Bao) related to modifying consistency groups associated with positioning of a user equipment
Non-patent Literature entitled, “Propagation path loss prediction modelling in enclosed environments for 5G networks: A Review” (Oladimeji)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAB/ Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643