DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15, 17, 18 and 20 of copending Application No. 18/586,221 (Pub. No. 2025/0274417). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the present application are obvious and broader in scope.
Regarding claim 1, Application 18/586,221, claim 1 discloses a method for generating and transmitting a generative artificial intelligence (AI) multimedia content via a mobile telecommunications network comprising:
receiving, from an originating mobile device, a text message to transmit to a terminating mobile device, wherein the text message comprises an invocation key indicating a user request to generate multimedia content;
parsing the text message to identify the invocation key indicating the user request to generate the multimedia content;
parsing the text message to identify a set of descriptors for generating the multimedia content;
generating, based on the set of descriptors, a prompt for providing to a generative AI model;
transmitting, to the generative AI model, the generated prompt, wherein the generative AI model generates the multimedia content;
receiving, from the generative AI model, the generated multimedia content;
modifying the text message to include the generated multimedia content; and
transmitting, to the terminating mobile device, the modified text message comprising the generated multimedia content.
Application 18/586,221, claim 1 does not specifically disclose a mobile device; however, Application 18/586,221, claim 1 discloses an “input device processor”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use an input device processor associated with an input device, as disclosed by Application 18/586,221, claim 1 use because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the input device processor would be able to provide communication capabilities similar to a mobile device.
Regarding claim 13, Application 18/586,221, claim 11 discloses a system for generating and transmitting a generative artificial intelligence (AI) multimedia content via a mobile telecommunications network comprising:
a processor; and
a non-transitory memory, wherein the non-transitory memory has instructions encoded thereon that, when executed by the processor, cause the system to:
receive, from an originating mobile device, a text message to transmit to a terminating mobile device, wherein the text message comprises an invocation key indicating a user request to generate multimedia content;
parse the text message to identify the invocation key indicating the user request to generate the multimedia content;
parse the text message to identify a set of descriptors for generating the multimedia content;
generate, based on the set of descriptors, a prompt for providing to a generative AI model;
transmit, to the generative AI model, the generated prompt, wherein the generative AI model generates the multimedia content;
receive, from the generative AI model, the generated multimedia content; modify the text message to include the generated multimedia content; and
transmit, to the terminating mobile device, the modified text message comprising the generated multimedia content.
Application 18/586,221, claim 11 does not specifically disclose a mobile device; however, Application 18/586,221, claim 11 discloses an “input device processor”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use an input device processor associated with an input device, as disclosed by Application 18/586,221, claim 1 use because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the input device processor would be able to provide communication capabilities similar to a mobile device.
Regarding claim 20, Application 18/586,221, claim 20 discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions recorded thereon, wherein the instructions when executed by at least one processor of a system, cause the system to:
receive, from a mobile origination device, a text message to transmit to a terminating mobile device, wherein the text message comprising an invocation key indicating a user request to generate multimedia content
parse the text message to identify the invocation key indicating the user request to generate the multimedia content;
parse the text message to identify a set of descriptors for generating the multimedia content;
generate, based on the set of descriptors, a prompt for providing to a generative AI model;
transmit, to the generative AI model, the generated prompt, wherein the generative AI model generates the multimedia content;
receive, from the generative AI model, the generated multimedia content;
modify the text message to include the generated multimedia content; and
transmit, to a terminating mobile device via a wireless telecommunications network, the modified text message comprising the generated multimedia content.
Application 18/586,221, claim 11 does not specifically disclose a mobile device; however, Application 18/586,221, claim 11 discloses an “input device processor” and a wireless communication network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use an input device processor associated with an input device, as disclosed by Application 18/586,221, claim 1 use because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the input device processor would be able to provide communication capabilities similar to a mobile device. Also, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a mobile communication network to perform communications between the elements int eh network.
Claim 4 in the present application corresponds to claim 2 in Application 18/586,221.
Claim 5 in the present application corresponds to claim 3 in Application 18/586,221.
Claim 6 in the present application corresponds to claim 4 in Application 18/586,221.
Claim 7 in the present application corresponds to claim 5 in Application 18/586,221.
Claim 8 in the present application corresponds to claim 6 in Application 18/586,221.
Claim 9 in the present application corresponds to claim 7 in Application 18/586,221.
Claim 10 in the present application corresponds to claim 8 in Application 18/586,221.
Claim 11 in the present application corresponds to claim 9 in Application 18/586,221.
Claim 12 in the present application corresponds to claim 10 in Application 18/586,221.
Claim 14 in the present application corresponds to claim 12 in Application 18/586,221.
Claim 15 in the present application corresponds to claim 13 in Application 18/586,221.
Claim 16 in the present application corresponds to claim 14 in Application 18/586,221.
Claim 17 in the present application corresponds to claim 15 in Application 18/586,221.
Claim 18 in the present application corresponds to claim 17 in Application 18/586,221.
Claim 19 in the present application corresponds to claim 18 in Application 18/586,221.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20240354555 A1 (Knipfing et al., hereinafter Knipfing).
Regarding claim 1, Knipfing discloses a method (par. [0016]) for generating and transmitting a generative artificial intelligence (AI) multimedia content via a mobile telecommunications network (pars. [0016], [0019], [0023]) comprising:
Receiving (it is unclear what element in the system is receiving the text message), from an originating mobile device (Fig. 1, “user systems 102”; par. [0023]), a text message to transmit (par. [0003], “instant messaging systems”; par. [0023], “exchanging text messages”; par. [0204], “user system 102 can share… with another user system 102”; par. [0109], “composing a message”) to a terminating mobile device (Fig. 1, other “user systems 102”; par. [0023]), wherein the text message comprises an invocation key (par. [0021], “a query that defines one or more attributes…”; par. [0067]; par. [0167], “extract relevant information, such as the intent of the user…questions of the user”; par. [0174], “intent”) indicating a user request to generate multimedia content (par. [0067]; par. [0021]; par. [0025], “text, audio, video, or other multimedia data”);
parsing the text message to identify the invocation key (par. [0067], “query”; {0083], [0167], “…questions of the user”; par. [0174], “intent of the user”; par. [0212]; par. [0221], “XR application generation system 590 can parse the phrase 880 into a plurality of components, including keywords 881, 882, 883, and 884”. It is not clear what element in the system is doing the parsing) indicating the user request to generate the multimedia content (par. [0155], “generate content that matches the inputs of the prompt”);
parsing the text message to identify a set of descriptors (par. [0067], “attributes”; par. [0083]; par. [0212]; par. [0221], “parsing”) for generating the multimedia content (par. [0155], “generate content that matches the inputs of the prompt”);
generating, based on the set of descriptors (par. [0021], “query that defines one or more attributes”; par. [0067], “code segments can be generated based one a prompt that is defined or generated at least partially based on a user query that defines attributes or desired content…”. It is not clear what element int eh system is doing the “generating”), a prompt for providing to a generative AI model (par. [0021], “generative machine learning model to generate one or more data objects (e.g., code segments) that match the one or more attributes defined by the query”; par. [0089]);
transmitting, to the generative AI model, the generated prompt, wherein the generative AI model generates the multimedia content (par. [0021], “generate, using the XR application, one or more XR objects…”; par. [0025], “”multimedia”; par. [0154], par. [0169]);
receiving, from the generative AI model, the generated multimedia content (par. [0089], “Generative AI is a term that may refer to any type of artificial intelligence that can create new content from training data”);
modifying the text message to include the generated multimedia content (par. [0089], “generative AI can produce text, images, video, audio, code or synthetic data that are similar to the original data but not identical”; par. [0233], “The XR application generation system 590 can store the populated data template in association with the XR application and send the XR application with the populated data template to a second user system 102”. It is not clear what element is doing the modifying); and
transmitting, to the terminating mobile device, the modified text message comprising the generated multimedia content (Fig. 1; par. [0214]; par. [0233], “The XR application generation system 590 can store the populated data template in association with the XR application and send the XR application with the populated data template to a second user system 102”. It is not clear what element is doing the transmitting. Claims 13 and 20 present similar clarification issues).
Regarding claim 13, Knipfing discloses a system (Fig. 1 and par. [0016]) for generating and transmitting a generative artificial intelligence (AI) multimedia content (pars. [0016], [0019], [0023]) via a mobile telecommunications network (Fig. 1) comprising:
a processor (par. [0315], “special-purpose processor…”); and
a non-transitory memory, wherein the non-transitory memory has instructions encoded thereon that, when executed by the processor (par. [0311], “Non-transitory computer-readable storage medium” refers, for example, to a tangible medium that is capable of storing, encoding, or carrying the instructions for execution by a machine”), cause the system to:
receive, from an originating mobile device (Fig. 1, “user systems 102”; par. [0023]), a text message to transmit (par. [0003], “instant messaging systems”; par. [0023], “exchanging text messages”; par. [0204], “user system 102 can share… with another user system 102”; par. [0109], “composing a message”) to a terminating mobile device (Fig. 1, other “user systems 102”; par. [0023]), wherein the text message comprises an invocation key (par. [0021], “a query that defines one or more attributes…”; par. [0067]; par. [0167], “extract relevant information, such as the intent of the user…questions of the user”; par. [0174], “intent”) indicating a user request to generate multimedia content (par. [0067]; par. [0021]; par. [0025], “text, audio, video, or other multimedia data”);
parse the text message to identify the invocation key (par. [0067], “query”; {0083], [0167], “…questions of the user”; par. [0174], “intent of the user”; par. [0212]; par. [0221], “XR application generation system 590 can parse the phrase 880 into a plurality of components, including keywords 881, 882, 883, and 884”) indicating the user request to generate the multimedia content (par. [0155], “generate content that matches the inputs of the prompt”);
parse the text message to identify a set of descriptors (par. [0067], “attributes”; par. [0083]; par. [0212]; par. [0221], “parsing”) for generating the multimedia content(par. [0155], “generate content that matches the inputs of the prompt”);
generate, based on the set of descriptors (par. [0021], “query that defines one or more attributes”; par. [0067], “code segments can be generated based one a prompt that is defined or generated at least partially based on a user query that defines attributes or desired content…”), a prompt for providing to a generative AI model (par. [0021], “generative machine learning model to generate one or more data objects (e.g., code segments) that match the one or more attributes defined by the query”; par. [0089]);
transmit, to the generative AI model, the generated prompt, wherein the generative AI model generates the multimedia content (par. [0021], “generate, using the XR application, one or more XR objects…”; par. [0025], “”multimedia”; par. [0154], par. [0169]);
receive, from the generative AI model, the generated multimedia content (par. [0089], “Generative AI is a term that may refer to any type of artificial intelligence that can create new content from training data”);
modify the text message to include the generated multimedia content (par. [0089], “generative AI can produce text, images, video, audio, code or synthetic data that are similar to the original data but not identical”; par. [0233], “The XR application generation system 590 can store the populated data template in association with the XR application and send the XR application with the populated data template to a second user system 102”); and
transmit, to the terminating mobile device, the modified text message comprising the generated multimedia content (Fig. 1; par. [0214]; par. [0233], “The XR application generation system 590 can store the populated data template in association with the XR application and send the XR application with the populated data template to a second user system 102”).
Regarding claim 20, Knipfing discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions recorded thereon, wherein the instructions when executed by at least one processor of a system (par. [0311], “Non-transitory computer-readable storage medium” refers, for example, to a tangible medium that is capable of storing, encoding, or carrying the instructions for execution by a machine”; par. [0315], “special-purpose processor…”), cause the system to:
receive, from a mobile origination device (Fig. 1, “user systems 102”; par. [0023]), a text message to transmit (par. [0003], “instant messaging systems”; par. [0023], “exchanging text messages”; par. [0204], “user system 102 can share… with another user system 102”; par. [0109], “composing a message”) to a terminating mobile device (Fig. 1, other “user systems 102”; par. [0023]), wherein the text message comprising an invocation key (par. [0021], “a query that defines one or more attributes…”; par. [0067]; par. [0167], “extract relevant information, such as the intent of the user…questions of the user”; par. [0174], “intent”) indicating a user request to generate multimedia content (par. [0067]; par. [0021]; par. [0025], “text, audio, video, or other multimedia data”);
parse the text message to identify the invocation key (par. [0067], “query”; {0083], [0167], “…questions of the user”; par. [0174], “intent of the user”; par. [0212]; par. [0221], “XR application generation system 590 can parse the phrase 880 into a plurality of components, including keywords 881, 882, 883, and 884”) indicating the user request to generate the multimedia content (par. [0155], “generate content that matches the inputs of the prompt”);
parse the text message to identify a set of descriptors (par. [0067], “attributes”; par. [0083]; par. [0212]; par. [0221], “parsing”) for generating the multimedia content (par. [0155], “generate content that matches the inputs of the prompt”);
generate, based on the set of descriptors (par. [0021], “query that defines one or more attributes”; par. [0067], “code segments can be generated based one a prompt that is defined or generated at least partially based on a user query that defines attributes or desired content…”), a prompt for providing to a generative AI model (par. [0021], “generative machine learning model to generate one or more data objects (e.g., code segments) that match the one or more attributes defined by the query”; par. [0089]);
transmit, to the generative AI model, the generated prompt, wherein the generative AI model generates the multimedia content (par. [0021], “generate, using the XR application, one or more XR objects…”; par. [0025], “”multimedia”; par. [0154], par. [0169]);
receive, from the generative AI model, the generated multimedia content (par. [0089], “Generative AI is a term that may refer to any type of artificial intelligence that can create new content from training data”);
modify the text message to include the generated multimedia content (par. [0089], “generative AI can produce text, images, video, audio, code or synthetic data that are similar to the original data but not identical”; par. [0233], “The XR application generation system 590 can store the populated data template in association with the XR application and send the XR application with the populated data template to a second user system 102”); and
transmit, to a terminating mobile device via a wireless telecommunications network, the modified text message comprising the generated multimedia content (Fig. 1; par. [0214]; par. [0233], “The XR application generation system 590 can store the populated data template in association with the XR application and send the XR application with the populated data template to a second user system 102”).
Regarding claim 2, Knipfing discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Knipfing discloses wherein the text message is received via a first interface (pars. [0003] and [0259], where short messaging service uses cellular networks interfacing), and wherein the generated prompt is sent via a second interface (par. [0023], for machine-to-machine interfacing interaction or communication between servers is done using internet communications).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Knipfing discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 13, respectively. Knipfing further discloses wherein the invocation key comprises a string of predetermined characters indicating the user request for generating multimedia content (par. [0083], “strings”).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Knipfing discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 13, respectively. Knipfing further discloses wherein the multimedia content comprises at least one of: an image, a video, or an audio (par. [0021], “image or video”).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Knipfing discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 13, respectively. Knipfing further discloses comprising, prior to transmitting the multimedia content to the terminating mobile device: transmitting, to the originating mobile device, the multimedia content (par. [0050], “media overlay may include…”); receiving, from the originating mobile device, an indication to send the generated multimedia content to the terminating mobile device (par. [0023], “exchanging text messages”; par. [0024], “exchange data and messages” with other devices; par. [0109], “the sending user is composing a message”).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Knipfing discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 13, respectively. Knipfing further discloses wherein the text message includes an indication of a reference image for generating the multimedia content (par. [0046]; “media overlays (e.g., an image filter or an image lens) to the interaction client 104 for the augmentation of real-time images received via the camera system 204 or stored images retrieved from memory 1202”; par. [0050], “media overlay may include text or image data…”), and wherein transmitting the generated prompt comprises transmitting the reference image (par. [0021], “modify an image or a video depicting real-word object”; par. [0050]).
Regarding claim 8, Knipfing discloses all the limitations of claim 7. Knipfing further discloses wherein the reference image is selected from one of: a local storage of the originating mobile device or a connected cloud service of a user of the originating mobile device (par. [0046], “retrieved from memory of the user system 102 ”).
Regarding claim 9, Knipfing discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Knipfing further discloses comprising, prior to generating the prompt: determining one or more enrichments based on information about a user of the originating mobile device, the information including one or more of: an age of the user, a location of the user, a current whether at the location of the user (par. [0027], geolocation information”), a forecasted weather at the location of the user, or an upcoming event of the user.
Regarding claim 12, Knipfing discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Knipfing further discloses wherein transmitting the modified text message to the terminating mobile device comprises transmitting the modified text message to a second, different multimedia messaging service center than a multimedia messaging service center involved in receiving the text message from the mobile originating device (par. [0028], “web server 130 processes incoming network requests”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knipfing in view of US 20110207478 A1 (Pan et al., hereinafter Pan).
Regarding claim 3, Knipfing discloses all the limitations of claim 2.
Knipfing does not specifically disclose wherein the first interface is an MM1 interface, and the second interface is an MM7 interface.
In related art concerning location based multimedia service generating system and method, Pan discloses wherein the first interface is an MM1 interface, and the second interface is an MM7 interface (par. [0005], where both interface MM1 and MM7 are used for interfacing between devices in multimedia messaging. Note: it is not clear in the independent claims, what elements in the system are communicating with each other; therefore, it is not clear how the different interfaces are utilized).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Pan’s teachings wherein the first interface is an MM1 interface, and the second interface is an MM7 interface with the XR experience based on generative model output disclosed by Knipfing because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that MM1 is used for interfacing mobile devices with the MMMS (server/relay) and MM7 interfaces the server (relay) to content providers or interactive services: therefore, multimedia content communications can be realized.
Claims 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knipfing in view of 2025/0165775 (Sathianathan et al., hereinafter Sathianathan).
Regarding claims 10 and 18, Knipfing discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 13, respectively.
Knipfing does not specifically disclose wherein the user request further comprises a request to translate a message, wherein the method further comprises translating the message.
In related art concerning large language modules in modular programming, Sathianathan discloses wherein the user request further comprises a request to translate a message, wherein the method further comprises translating the message (par. [0134], “…The translation model 510 may further identify that the text included in the payload should be encrypted in the form of an MD5 string…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Sathianathan’s teachings wherein the user request further comprises a request to translate a message, wherein the method further comprises translating the message with the XR experience based on generative model output disclosed by Knipfing because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that translation constitutes an additional service that makes the system more versatile.
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knipfing in view of US 20170346937 A1 (Adderly et al., Adderly).
Regarding claims 11 and 19, Knipfing discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 13, respectively.
Knipfing does not specifically disclose prior to transmitting the modified text message to the terminating mobile device: determining that a requesting user of the originating mobile device has received at least a minimum number of messages from a receiving user.
In related art concerning confidentiality-smart voice delivery of text-based incoming messages, Adderly discloses prior to transmitting the modified text message to the terminating mobile device: determining that a requesting user of the originating mobile device has received at least a minimum number of messages from a receiving user (par. [0043], “…If the message readout preference analyzer determines that the user-sender-bystander are related via social media and have enough interactions compared to a minimum set for a confidentiality group…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Adderly’s teachings about prior to transmitting the modified text message to the terminating mobile device: determining that a requesting user of the originating mobile device has received at least a minimum number of messages from a receiving user with the XR experience based on generative model output disclosed by Knipfing because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by having recognized sources, safe interactions are ensured.
Note: the Non-Final Office Action dated 08/25/2025 of Application serial No. 18/586221 is being cited in the present office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 9,497,603 B1 relates to system for providing multimedia messages to a mobile device.
US 2004/0121818 A1 system and method for providing multimedia messaging service ringing images on mobile calls.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the TC 2600's customer service number is 703-306-0377.
/ANGELICA PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649