DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Original Filing filed on 2/23/2024.
3. This Office Action is made Non-Final.
4. Claims 21-40 are pending.
5. Claims 1-20 are cancelled prior to examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/12/2024 and 1/31/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Talebi Fard et al. US 20200351980 hereafter Fard.
As to Claim 21. (New) Fard discloses a method, comprising [Title, Section 0233: Group Communication Service Request. In an example, 5GLAN group communication comprise communication among wireless devices and employ methods of communication]:
obtaining, by a first terminal device [i.e. UE (User equipment) or Admin User/Requesting Entity/Subscriber/Customer/Wireless Device/UE-T], a first parameter, wherein the first parameter identifies a first communication group [i.e. 5GLAN group/Group of UEs/Admin Group or VN/VLAN group], and the first terminal device belongs to the first communication group [Sections 0201, 0203, 0217: An admin user/a UE belongs to a 5GLAN group; customer of 5GLAN service provided group identifiers (i.e. identifies group). An admin subscriber request to activate a group communication session; and the NEF retrieve a list of UE identifiers of the group and update the UE policy for UE(s) in the group; and in order for the UE to establish the session comprise policy parameter; UE receive the policy and the UE perform a PDU session establishment procedure with the configured parameters. The GMF allocate ID to the 5GLAN group and include the group ID in response sent to the requesting entity];
sending, by the first terminal device [i.e. UE (User equipment) or Admin User/Requesting Entity/Subscriber/Customer/Wireless Device/UE-T], a first message [Section 0106: The UE triggers the establishment of a PDU session] to a first network device [i.e. SMF/AMF see 0043, 0046], wherein the first message comprises the first parameter [i.e. Group ID/Info] and a session establishment request message, the session establishment request message requests to establish a first session [Figs. 19-20, Sections 0206, 0227, 0264: The UE initiate group specific PDU Session establishment request (i.e. first message) to the SMF, including group information which may be a group index (identifier) and the like. In an example, the SMF receives the PDU session establishment request indicates group communication or for an indicated group. In this specification, parameters/IEs comprise objects; and when one or more messages comprise a plurality of parameters, it implies that a parameter in the plurality of parameters is in at least one of the one or more messages];
and the first session is used by the first terminal device [i.e. UE (User equipment) or Admin User/Requesting Entity/Subscriber/Customer/Wireless Device/UE-T] to communicate with a second terminal device in the first communication group [Figs. 27-28 (Depicts UE-T (first device) sending data to UE-R (second device) after PDU session established), Sections 0200, 0218: 5G group communication session identified by an identifier of a group (e.g., group index, group information); and a PDU session establishment employed for the 5G LAN group communication session employ a group id. In the wireless communication system, e.g., 5GS and the like employed for group communication, UE to UE (i.e. first UE and second UE) communication session, one UE to/from one or more UE(s) communication session(s)];
and receiving, by the first terminal device [i.e. UE (User equipment) or Admin User/Requesting Entity/Subscriber/Customer/Wireless Device/UE-T], a second message from the first network device [i.e. SMF/AMF see 0043, 0046], wherein the second message indicates to accept the request to establish the first session [Figs. 19-20, Sections 0206, 0223, 0236: After receiving the request from UE, the SMF send a PDU Session Accept message to the UE for data communication. The UE send a service request message to the network comprise an indication for the cause; the network receive the indication and the UE receives a service accept message indicate that activation of user plane for the group has been initiated or completed. A transmitting wireless device (the UE, the UE-T) receive a PDU session establishment accept message indicating successful establishment of the PDU session in response to requesting establishment of a PDU session].
As to Claim 22. (New) Fard discloses the method according to claim 21, further comprising [Title: Group Communication Service request]: receiving, by the first terminal device, a second parameter [i.e. policy information] from the first network device [Sections 0060, 0203, 0264: The 5GC (network) provide policy information to the UE comprise: UE route selection policy (URSP), network slice selection policy (NSSP), and DNN (data network name) selection policy. Policy for UE includes parameter. In this specification, parameters/IEs comprise objects; and when one or more messages comprise a plurality of parameters, it implies that a parameter in the plurality of parameters is in at least one of the one or more messages],
wherein the second parameter comprises a parameter describing an application, a parameter describing the first communication group, and a route selection parameter for determining the first session, and wherein the route selection parameter comprises at least one of a network slice, a service continuity mode, a data network name, a session type, or an access type [Sections 0074, 0200, 0203: PDU sessions established upon UE request using NAS SM signaling exchanged between the UE and the SMF and the identified application in UE establish a PDU session to a specific DNN (data network name). A 5GLAN group communication session may be identified by a tuple of S-NSSAI and DNN (data network name); the PDU session establishment employ S-NSSAI, DNN, a group id, and the like. The UE perform a PDU session establishment procedure with the configured parameters as encoded as route selection components in the URSP rules].
As to Claim 23. (New) Fard discloses the method according to claim 22, further comprising [Title: Group Communication Service request]: when the application corresponding to the parameter describing the application matches an application run by the first terminal device [Section 0074, 0264: PDU sessions established upon UE request using NAS SM signaling exchanged between the UE and the SMF and the identified application in UE establish a PDU session to a specific DNN (data network name). In this specification, parameters/IEs comprise objects; and when one or more messages comprise a plurality of parameters, it implies that a parameter in the plurality of parameters is in at least one of the one or more messages],
and the parameter describing the first communication group matches the first parameter [i.e. Group ID/Info], determining, by the first terminal device, the route selection parameter for determining the first session based on the application run by the first terminal device and the first parameter, wherein the route selection parameter for determining the first session is associated with the application run by the first terminal device and the first parameter [Sections 0060, 0201, 0203: The 5GC provide policy information to the UE comprise: UE route selection policy (URSP). A UE may belong to one or more groups and the subscription data for the UE in a UDR associate the subscriber with groups and group identifier in the UDR. The NEF retrieve a list of UE identifiers of the group and update the UE policy for UE(s) in the group; and in order for the UE to establish the session comprise policy parameter; UE receive the policy and the UE perform a PDU session establishment procedure with the configured parameters].
As to Claim 24. (New) Fard discloses the method according to claim 21, further comprising [Title: Group Communication Service request]: sending, by the first terminal device, a third message [i.e. NAS message or N1 message] to the first network device [i.e. SMF/AMF see 0043, 0046], wherein the third message requests to obtain an internet protocol (IP) address, the IP address is an IP address of the second terminal device in the first communication group [Figs. 27-30, Sections 0074, 0225-0227: A PDU session may support one or more PDU session types upon UE request, NAS SM signaling exchanged over N1 between the UE and the SMF. When the UE sends to the AMF the NAS Message for 5GLAN group, it may indicate that it requests a multicast address (i.e. IP Address see 0227) and indicate the group information within the N1 SM container. The AMF receives the NAS message. The SMF allocate a 5GLAN group (VN group) unique multicast address (e.g., IP address for IP type PDU session)],
and the third message comprises an identifier of the second terminal device and the first parameter [i.e. Group ID/Info]; and receiving, by the first terminal device, the IP address from the first network device [Sections 0217, 0225, 0227: Depending on the management purpose, the request may further comprise type of traffic (e.g. IP type) to be supported during 5GLAN communication of the 5GLAN, identity information of the UEs to be added in the 5GLAN group. When the UE sends to the AMF the NAS Message for 5GLAN group, it indicate the group information (i.e. group ID) within the N1 SM container. The SMF allocate a 5GLAN group (VN group) unique multicast address (e.g., IP address for IP type PDU session)].
As to Claim 25. (New) Fard discloses the method according to claim 21, further comprising [Title: Group Communication Service request]: sending, by the first terminal device, a fourth message [i.e. New/re-activate Session request message or NAS/N2 message] to the first network device, wherein the fourth message comprises a communication group establishment request message and the communication group establishment request message requests to establish the first communication group [Sections 0105, 0134: The UE may request a new PDU session corresponding to the S-NSSAI and DNN provided by the application. In an example, the UE send to a (R)AN an AN message comprising AN parameters, provide the list of PDU sessions to be re-activate with establishment cause; and UE send NAS service request message towards the AMF (first network device)];
and the communication group establishment request message requests to establish the first communication group; and wherein obtaining, by the first terminal device, a first parameter comprises: receiving, by the first terminal device, the first parameter from the first network device [Sections 0174-0175, 0200, 0264: The NAS message sent by the UE encapsulated by the AN in a N2 message towards the AMF (i.e. first network device) and the PDU session establishment request message contain SM PDU DN request container. The AMF determine that the NAS message correspond to the request for the new PDU session based on that request type. In wireless communication system herein, the PDU session establishment employ group ID (i.e. first parameter) and is for group communication session. In this specification, parameters/IEs comprise objects; and when one or more messages comprise a plurality of parameters, it implies that a parameter in the plurality of parameters is in at least one of the one or more messages].
As to Claim 26. (New) Fard discloses the method according to claim 25 [Title: Group Communication Service request]: wherein the fourth message further comprises an identifier of the first terminal device and a third parameter, and the third parameter indicates a function of the first terminal device in the first communication group [Sections 0134, 0217, 0264: The UE send to a (R)AN an AN message comprising AN parameters, provide the list of PDU sessions to be re-activate with establishment cause; and UE send NAS service request message towards the AMF (first network device). The authorized entity or UE makes request including identity information of the UEs, member ID, and group ID of the 5GLAN group ID, in general. In this specification, parameters/IEs comprise objects; and when one or more messages comprise a plurality of parameters, it implies that a parameter in the plurality of parameters is in at least one of the one or more messages].
As to Claim 27. (New) Fard discloses the method according to claim 25, further comprising: [Title: Group Communication Service request]: sending, by the first terminal device, a fifth message to the first network device, wherein the fifth message requests to update or delete the first communication group [Section 0201: A which belongs to a 5GLAN admin group request (i.e. message) addition/deletion of a 5GLAN user group and add/delete a member to the 5GLAN user group], and the fifth message comprises the first parameter [Sections 0210, 0217, 0264: A 5GLAN Group may be modified (i.e. updated) and removed (i.e. deleted) based on UE request; the UE belongs to the 5GLAN Group access the 5G LAN-type service corresponding to the 5GLAN Group. A UE interact with GMF/AF/UDR etc. to manage the 5GLAN group that include to modify or remove group and information identifying/IP address of member UE and group. In this specification, parameters/IEs comprise objects; and when one or more messages comprise a plurality of parameters, it implies that a parameter in the plurality of parameters is in at least one of the one or more messages];
and receiving, by the first terminal device, a sixth message from the first network device in response to the fifth message, wherein the sixth message comprises information indicating that an update succeeds or an update fails, or the sixth message comprises information indicating
that deletion succeeds or deletion fails [Sections 0217, 0223: An authorized entity, e.g., a UE manage a 5GLAN group; this may include to modify (i.e. update) or remove (i.e. delete) a 5GLAN group, and the UE request authorized (i.e. success) by the GMF (i.e. network device) according to subscription information, the request may further comprise identity information of the UEs and group ID. In an example embodiment as described in the present application, the transmitting wireless device (UE-T) send a service request procedure to re-activate user plane resources or connection about a group via a PDU session establishment procedure configuration update; UE send a service request message to the network; the activation activating by the AMF comprise to modify the N4 sessions associated with the group members; the UE-T receives a service accept message].
As to Claim 28. (New) Fard discloses the method according to claim 21, further comprising: [Title: Group Communication Service request]: communicating, by the first terminal device, with the second terminal device by using the first session [Figs. 27-28 (Depicts UE-T (first device) sending data to UE-R (second device) after PDU session established), Sections 0218: In the wireless communication system, e.g., 5GS and the like employed for group communication, UE to UE (i.e. first UE and second UE) communication session, one UE to/from one or more UE(s) communication session(s)].
As to Claim 29. (New) Fard discloses a method, comprising [Title, Section 0233: Group Communication Service Request. In an example, 5GLAN group communication comprise communication among wireless devices and employ methods of communication]:
receiving, by a first network device [i.e. SMF/AMF see 0043, 0046], a first message from a first terminal device [i.e. UE (User equipment) or Admin User/Requesting Entity/Subscriber/Customer/Wireless Device/UE-T], wherein the first message [Section 0106: The UE triggers the establishment of a PDU session] comprises a first parameter [i.e. Group ID/Info] and a session establishment request message, the session establishment request message requests to establish a first session [Figs. 19-20, Sections 0206, 0227, 0264: The UE initiate group specific PDU Session establishment request (i.e. first message) to the SMF, including group information which may be a group index (identifier) and the like. In an example, the SMF receives the PDU session establishment request indicates group communication or for an indicated group. In this specification, parameters/IEs comprise objects; and when one or more messages comprise a plurality of parameters, it implies that a parameter in the plurality of parameters is in at least one of the one or more messages],
the first parameter [i.e. Group ID/Info] identifies a first communication group, the first terminal device belongs to the first communication group [Section 0201: An admin user/a UE belongs to a 5GLAN group; customer of 5GLAN service provided group identifiers (i.e. identifies group)], and the first session is used by the first terminal device to communicate with a second terminal device in the first communication group [Figs. 27-28 (Depicts UE-T (first device) sending data to UE-R (second device) after PDU session established), Sections 0200, 0218: 5G group communication session identified by an identifier of a group (e.g., group index, group information); and a PDU session establishment employed for the 5G LAN group communication session employ a group id. In the wireless communication system, e.g., 5GS and the like employed for group communication, UE to UE (i.e. first UE and second UE) communication session, one UE to/from one or more UE(s) communication session(s)];
sending, by the first network device [i.e. AMF], a seventh message to a second network device [i.e. SMF], wherein the seventh message comprises the first parameter and the session establishment request message [Sections 0106, 0132, 0206: In an example, an AMF select an SMF based on S-NSSAI or other information such as UE subscription when the UE triggers the establishment of a PDU session. The UE send signaling messages, e.g. PDU session establishment from the UE to a SMF via the AMF. In an example, a UE-T initiate group specific PDU Session establishment request, including the group information (i.e. first parameter) may be a group index (i.e. ID) or the like; after receiving the request the SMF may select the UPF];
receiving, by the first network device[i.e. AMF], a second message from the second network device [i.e. SMF; Section 0132: The UE send signaling messages, e.g. PDU session establishment from the UE to a SMF via the AMF], wherein the second message indicates to accept the request to establishing the first session; and sending, by the first network device, the second message to the first terminal device [Figs. 19-20, Sections 0206, 0223, 0236: After receiving the request from UE, the SMF send a PDU Session Accept message (i.e. second message) to the UE (via AMF) for data communication. The network receive the indication and the UE receives a service accept message indicate that activation of user plane for the group has been initiated or completed. A transmitting wireless device (the UE, the UE-T) receive a PDU session establishment accept message indicating successful establishment of the PDU session in response to requesting establishment of a PDU session].
As to Claim 30. (New) Fard discloses the method according to claim 29, further comprising: [Title: Group Communication Service request]: determining, by the first network device, the second network device based on the first parameter [Sections 0106, 0132, 0254: An AMF select an SMF based on S-NSSAI or other information such as UE subscription when the UE triggers the establishment of a PDU session. The UE send signaling messages, e.g. PDU session establishment from the UE to a SMF via the AMF. The UE sends service request message ; and The AMF may determine a group information (i.e. group ID/first parameter) and may send to the SMF a session management request comprising the group information].
As to Claim 31. (New) Fard discloses the method according to claim 29, further comprising: [Title: Group Communication Service request]: receiving, by the first network device, a second parameter from a third network device [Sections 0060, 0203, 0209: In an example, the 5GC provide policy information from the PCF (i.e. third network device) to the UE comprise: UE route selection policy (URSP), network slice selection policy (NSSP), and/or the like. Policy for UE includes parameter. The AMF send/transfer UE Policy container and PDU Session selection related policy information received from the PCF (i.e. third network device) to the UE],
wherein the second parameter comprises a parameter describing an application, a parameter describing the first communication group, and a route selection parameter for determining the first session, and wherein the route selection parameter comprises at least one of a network slice, a service continuity mode, a data network name, a session type, or an access type; and sending, by the first network device, the second parameter to the first terminal device [Sections 0074, 0200, 0203: PDU sessions established upon UE request using NAS SM signaling exchanged between the UE and the SMF and the identified application in UE establish a PDU session to a specific DNN (data network name). A 5GLAN group communication session may be identified by a tuple of S-NSSAI and DNN (data network name); the PDU session establishment employ S-NSSAI, DNN, a group id, and the like. The UE perform a PDU session establishment procedure with the configured parameters as encoded as route selection components in the URSP rules].
As to Claim 32. (New) Fard discloses The method according to claim 29, further comprising: [Title: Group Communication Service request]: receiving, by the first network device [i.e. AMF], a third message [i.e. NAS message or N1 message] from the first terminal device, wherein the third message comprises an identifier of the second terminal device and the first parameter, the third message requests to obtain an internet protocol (IP) address, and the IP address is an IP address of the second terminal device in the first communication group [Figs. 27-30, Sections 0217, 0225-0227: Depending on the management purpose, the request may further comprise type of traffic (e.g. IP type) to be supported during 5GLAN communication of the 5GLAN, identity information of the UEs to be added in the 5GLAN group. When the UE sends to the AMF the NAS Message for 5GLAN group, it may indicate that it requests a multicast address (i.e. IP Address see 0227) and indicate the group information within the N1 SM container. The AMF receives the NAS message. The SMF allocate a 5GLAN group (VN group) unique multicast address (e.g., IP address for IP type PDU session)],
sending, by the first network device, an eighth message to a fourth network device [i.e. GMF], wherein the eighth message comprises the identifier of the second terminal device and the first parameter; receiving, by the first network device, the IP address from the fourth network device; and sending, by the first network device, the IP address to the first terminal device [Sections 0217, 0225, 0227: To manage a 5GLAN group, the UE or AMF/AF send query information related to a 5GLAN group, for example, information such as IP address of a member UE in the 5GLAN group, the UE send a request for 5GLAN group management to the GMF via the AMF; GMF allocate an ID and group credential for the UE. When the UE sends to the AMF the NAS Message for 5GLAN group, it indicate the group information (i.e. group ID) within the N1 SM container. The SMF allocate a 5GLAN group (VN group) unique multicast address (e.g., IP address for IP type PDU session)].
As to Claim 33. (New) Fard discloses the method according to claim 29, further comprising: [Title: Group Communication Service request]: receiving, by the first network device, a fourth message [i.e. New/re-activate Session request message or NAS/N2 message] from the first terminal device, wherein the fourth message comprises a communication group establishment request message, and the communication group establishment request message requests to establish the first communication group [Sections 0105, 0134: The UE may request a new PDU session corresponding to the S-NSSAI and DNN provided by the application. In an example, the UE send to a (R)AN an AN message comprising AN parameters, provide the list of PDU sessions to be re-activate with establishment cause; and UE send NAS service request message towards the AMF (first network device)];
sending, by the first network device, the communication group establishment request message to the fourth network device [Section 0217: A UE interact with a GMF, UDM, UDR, NRF, and/or the like to manage a 5GLAN group communication]; receiving, by the first network device, the first parameter from the fourth network device; and sending, by the first network device, the first parameter to the first terminal [Sections 0174-0175, 0200, 0264: The NAS message sent by the UE encapsulated by the AN in a N2 message towards the AMF (i.e. first network device) and the PDU session establishment request message contain SM PDU DN request container. The AMF determine that the NAS message correspond to the request for the new PDU session based on that request type. In wireless communication system herein, the PDU session establishment employ group ID (i.e. first parameter) and is for group communication session. In this specification, parameters/IEs comprise objects; and when one or more messages comprise a plurality of parameters, it implies that a parameter in the plurality of parameters is in at least one of the one or more messages].
As to Claim 34. (New) Fard discloses the method according to claim 33, [Title: Group Communication Service request]: wherein the fourth message or the communication group establishment request message further comprises an identifier of the first terminal device and a third parameter, and the third parameter indicates a function of the first terminal device in the first communication group [Sections 0174-0175, 0200, 0264: The NAS message sent by the UE encapsulated by the AN in a N2 message towards the AMF (i.e. first network device) and the PDU session establishment request message contain SM PDU DN request container. The AMF determine that the NAS message correspond to the request for the new PDU session based on that request type. In wireless communication system herein, the PDU session establishment employ group ID (i.e. first parameter) and is for group communication session. In this specification, parameters/IEs comprise objects; and when one or more messages comprise a plurality of parameters, it implies that a parameter in the plurality of parameters is in at least one of the one or more messages].
As to Claim 35. (New) Fard discloses the method according to claim 33, further comprising [Title: Group Communication Service request]: receiving, by the first network device, a fifth message from the first terminal, wherein the fifth message requests to update or delete the first communication group [Section 0201: A which belongs to a 5GLAN admin group request (i.e. message) addition/deletion of a 5GLAN user group and add/delete a member to the 5GLAN user group], and the fifth message comprises the first parameter [Sections 0210, 0217, 0264: A 5GLAN Group may be modified (i.e. updated) and removed (i.e. deleted) based on UE request; the UE belongs to the 5GLAN Group access the 5G LAN-type service corresponding to the 5GLAN Group. A UE interact with GMF/AF/UDR etc. to manage the 5GLAN group that include to modify or remove group and information identifying/IP address of member UE and group. In this specification, parameters/IEs comprise objects; and when one or more messages comprise a plurality of parameters, it implies that a parameter in the plurality of parameters is in at least one of the one or more messages];
sending, by the first network device, a ninth message to the fourth network device [i.e. GMF], wherein the ninth message comprises the first parameter, and the ninth message requests to update or delete the first communication group; receiving, by the first network device from the fourth network device, information indicating that an update succeeds or an update fails, or information indicating that deletion succeeds or deletion fails [Sections 0217, 0223: An authorized entity, e.g., a UE manage a 5GLAN group; this may include to modify (i.e. update) or remove (i.e. delete) a 5GLAN group, and the UE request authorized (i.e. success) by the GMF (i.e. network device) according to subscription information, the request may further comprise identity information of the UEs and group ID. In an example embodiment as described in the present application, the transmitting wireless device (UE-T) send a service request procedure to re-activate user plane resources or connection about a group via a PDU session establishment procedure configuration update; UE send a service request message to the network; the activation activating by the AMF comprise to modify the N4 sessions associated with the group members; the UE-T receives a service accept message],
and sending, by the first network device to the first terminal, a sixth message in response to the fifth message, wherein the sixth message comprises the information indicating that the update succeeds or the update fails, or the sixth message comprises the information indicating that the deletion succeeds or the deletion fails [Sections 0210, 0223: A 5GLAN Group may be modified (i.e. updated) and removed (i.e. deleted) based on UE request; the UE belongs to the 5GLAN Group access the 5G LAN-type service corresponding to the 5GLAN Group. In an example embodiment, the transmitting wireless device (UE-T) send a service request procedure to re-activate user plane resources or connection about a group via a PDU session establishment procedure configuration update; UE send a service request message to the network; the activation activating by the AMF comprise to modify the N4 sessions associated with the group members; the UE-T receives a service accept message].
As to Claim 36. (New) Fard discloses The method according to claim 29, further comprising: [Title: Group Communication Service request]: determining, by the second network device, a communication mode of communication between the first terminal device and the second terminal device [Section 0080, 0207: The 5G core network may select a UPF close to the UE and execute the traffic steering from the UPF to the local data network via a N6 interface. The UPF may forward the data packets via N6 interface, Nx interface or directly to the receiving UEs],
wherein the communication mode comprises any of the following: data between the first terminal device and the second terminal device is transmitted by using a fifth network device [i.e. UPF]; data between the first terminal device and the second terminal device is transmitted by using two fifth network devices, and the data is transmitted between the two fifth network devices through a communication interface; or data between the first terminal device and the second terminal device is forwarded by using a data network [Sections 0206-0207, 0212: The UE-T send the group data to the UPF1, UPF 1 determine the receiving UE-R1 (i.e. second device) according to the destination addresses, the group paths, and/or the like and may route the data to the tunnel corresponding to UE-R1. The UPF may forward the data packets via N6 interface, Nx interface or directly to the receiving UEs. The 5GS may support the 5G LAN-type service by establishing a user plane composed of one UPF or multiple interconnected UPFs; when the UEs within the 5GLAN group communicate with DN (data network) for one or more data services].
As to Claim 37. (New) Fard discloses the method according to claim 36, further comprising [Title: Group Communication Service request]: sending, by the second network device [i.e. SMF], first indication information to the fifth network device [i.e. UPF], wherein the first indication information indicates the communication mode [Sections 0214, 0228: Private communication (of 5G LAN-type service) is achieved by shared anchor UPF or by interconnecting two anchor UPFs via an Nx interface depending how many group member UEs are involved. The SMF sends the N4 session establishment request to the UPF and forwarding enforcement and reporting rules to be installed on the UPF for the PDU session for the 5GLAN group].
As to Claim 38. (New) Fard discloses the method according to claim 36, further comprising: [Title: Group Communication Service request]: determining, by the second network device, the fifth network device based on the first parameter [Sections 0228, 0264: The SMF sends the N4 session establishment request to the UPF and forwarding enforcement and reporting rules to be installed on the UPF for the PDU session for the 5GLAN group. In this specification, parameters/IEs comprise objects; and when one or more messages comprise a plurality of parameters, it implies that a parameter in the plurality of parameters is in at least one of the one or more messages].
As to Claim 39. (New) Fard discloses the method according to claim 36, further comprising: [Title: Group Communication Service request]: sending, by the second network device [i.e. SMF], a tenth message to a sixth network device [i.e. UDM], wherein the tenth message comprises the first parameter, the identifier of the first terminal device, an identifier of the first session, an identifier of the fifth network device, and an internet protocol (IP) address of the first session [Sections 0050, 0227: The 5GC support the allocation of IPv4 address based on subscription information in a UDM based on the configuration on a per-subscriber (i.e. UE) basis. In an example, the SMF receives the PDU session establishment request for group communication and the SMF allocate a 5GLAN group unique multicast address (e.g., IP address for IP type PDU session and/or the like; the SMF obtain the address information for the 5GLAN group provision information from a UDM].
As to Claim 40. (New) Fard discloses a communication apparatus [i.e. UE (User equipment) or Admin User/Requesting Entity/Subscriber/Customer/Wireless Device/UE-T], comprising: one or more processors, configured to execute a computer program stored in a memory, so that the communication apparatus performs operations comprising [Fig. 3 (Depicts Diagram of Wireless Device/UE-100), Sections 0257: According to various embodiments, a device such as, for example, a wireless device comprise one or more processors and memory; memory store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to perform a series of actions]:
obtaining a first parameter, wherein the first parameter identifies a first communication group [i.e. 5GLAN group/Group of UEs/Admin Group or VN/VLAN group], and the communication apparatus belongs to the first communication group [Sections 0201, 0203, 0217: An admin user/a UE belongs to a 5GLAN group; customer of 5GLAN service provided group identifiers (i.e. identifies group). An admin subscriber request to activate a group communication session; and the NEF retrieve a list of UE identifiers of the group and update the UE policy for UE(s) in the group; and in order for the UE to establish the session comprise policy parameter; UE receive the policy and the UE perform a PDU session establishment procedure with the configured parameters. The GMF allocate ID to the 5GLAN group and include the group ID in response sent to the requesting entity];
sending a first message to a first network device [i.e. SMF/AMF see 0043, 0046], wherein the first message [Section 0106: The UE triggers the establishment of a PDU session] comprises the first parameter [i.e. Group ID/Info] and a session establishment request message, the session establishment request message requests to establish a first session [Figs. 19-20, Sections 0206, 0227, 0264: The UE initiate group specific PDU Session establishment request (i.e. first message) to the SMF, including group information which may be a group index (identifier) and the like. In an example, the SMF receives the PDU session establishment request indicates group communication or for an indicated group. In this specification, parameters/IEs comprise objects; and when one or more messages comprise a plurality of parameters, it implies that a parameter in the plurality of parameters is in at least one of the one or more messages],
and the first session is used by a first terminal device [i.e. UE (User equipment) or Admin User/Requesting Entity/Subscriber/Customer/Wireless Device/UE-T] to communicate with a second terminal device in the first communication group [Figs. 27-28 (Depicts UE-T (first device) sending data to UE-R (second device) after PDU session established), Sections 0200, 0218: 5G group communication session identified by an identifier of a group (e.g., group index, group information); and a PDU session establishment employed for the 5G LAN group communication session employ a group id. In the wireless communication system, e.g., 5GS and the like employed for group communication, UE to UE (i.e. first UE and second UE) communication session, one UE to/from one or more UE(s) communication session(s)];
and receiving a second message from the first network device [i.e. SMF/AMF see 0043, 0046], wherein the second message indicates to accept the request to establish the first session [Figs. 19-20, Sections 0206, 0223, 0236: After receiving the request from UE, the SMF send a PDU Session Accept message to the UE for data communication. The UE send a service request message to the network comprise an indication for the cause; the network receive the indication and the UE receives a service accept message indicate that activation of user plane for the group has been initiated or completed. A transmitting wireless device (the UE, the UE-T) receive a PDU session establishment accept message indicating successful establishment of the PDU session in response to requesting establishment of a PDU session].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: 1. KAWASAKI et al. US 20210274571
2. Chen et al. US 20240196216
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
May 7, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477