DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III, claims 21-28 in the reply filed on 6/5/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7,12-13, and 16-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/5/26.
Applicant's election with traverse of SEQ ID NO 1 in the reply filed on 6/5/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the elected group does not require a SEQ ID. This is not found persuasive because in the event of claim amendments requiring the SEQ ID, a serious search burden would exist. See the restriction requirement mailed 4/20/26.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 21-28 are under examination herein.
Priority
Application claims priority to 62/477903 and 63/541314 provisional application with an effective filing date of 2/24/23 and 9/29/23. Claims of the instant application are not supported by the priority documents, specifically there is no support for the claimed generic protein comprising a Zn 2+ binding domain. Therefore, instant application has a priority date of 2/23/24.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 5/28/26, 5/23/24 have been fully considered except where references have been lined through.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 25, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai (WO 2024/092160) While Bai was published after the filing date of instant invention, it claims priority to 10/26/22 and therefore is valid prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(2). Claims 23-24 are further evidenced by Perevozchikova ("Investigating the structural impact of the glutamine repeat in huntingtin assembly." Biophysical Journal 107.2 (2014): 411-421).
Regarding claims 21, 25, and 28, Bai teaches methods and compositions of proteases (abstract). Bai teaches that the protein can comprise insulin-degrading enzyme (IDE) (p38 lines 26-31). As evidenced by instant claim 25, IDE is a protein comprising a Zn2+ binding region exhibiting antiaggregating activity. Bai teaches that the protein can be effective against protein aggregates of huntingtin (HTT) which are pathogenic (p38 lines 1-13). As evidenced by instant claim 28, HTT is an aggregation prone poly Q protein.
It is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts to experiment within the inventive confines of Bai to arrive at a method of using a disaggregating protein to disaggregate a aggregation prone polyQ protein. All of the claimed components were known in the arts at the time of filing of instant invention and would be yield nothing more than predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the arts.
Regarding claim 22, Bai teaches that the protein can act on a substrate comprising the HTT aggregate (contacting the aggregates) (p38 lines 1-11).
Regarding claims 23-24, as evidenced by Perevozchikova, HTT in the pathogenic form comprises more than 36 glutamines in a repeat (contiguous) (introduction).
Regarding claim 26, Bai teaches the protein can be administered to a subject (in vivo) (p59 lines 10-17).
Regarding claim 27, Bai teaches that viral vectors can be used to introduce the protein into a cell (p55 lines 24-40). Bai teaches that cell can be a eukaryotic cell (conditions to allow the aggregation protein polyQ protein to be disaggregated) (claim 38).
Conclusion
/TREVOR KANE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/ROBERT J YAMASAKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657