1. This office action, in response to the amendment received 5/12/2026, is a final office action.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
2. The amendment to claim 12 has overcome the previous rejection under 35 USC 112. The previous rejection of claims 12-16 is withdrawn.
3. The amendment to independent claims 1, 11 and 18 is disclosed by the previously cited prior art. Sankabathula et al (7,656,970) discloses a selector (Column 4, lines 47-49: the baseband processor asserts rate control signal 540 which causes the ADC rate controller 534 to switch to the higher frequency sampling rate such as 80 MHz or 40 MHz.) configured to: receive a first value corresponding to the first frequency of the first clock signal and a second value corresponding to the second frequency of the first clock signal; and select the first value or the second value based on a selection signal to generate a selected value (column 4, lines 40-44: the IQ ADC typically operates at an operational sampling rate of 80 MHZ for each of the I and Q converters of the ADC 524, and this operational rate may be reduced to 20 MHZ until the time that packet energy is detected by the baseband processor. Therefore, the baseband processor receives a first value corresponding to the first frequency that indicates the previous non-operational rate of the system, a second value corresponding to the second frequency indicating the operational rate of the system and receives a selection signal that indicates that the packet energy has been detected. This will select the second value and send the rate control signal 540.). The rejections of the claims are stated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1, 11, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sankabathula et al (7,656,970).
-Regarding claim 1, Sankabathula et a teaches a device (500) (see figure 2), comprising:
an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) (524) configured to: receive a first analog signal (outputted from (514)) (referred to “packet of waveform 608”, col. 6, line 21, and (608) of figure 3A); receive a first clock signal (548) (referred to “sampling clock 548”, col. 4, line 30); and generate a first set of digital values (outputted from (524)) corresponding to the first analog signal (during a time interval between (600) and( 602) shown in figure 3A) based on the first clock signal at a low sampling rate (referred to (618, Low) of figure 3A); and
a control circuit (530, 534) coupled to the ADC and configured to: determine, via (534), that a change (being a change of energy detected in the output of the ADC at the time (602) from a low level (624) to a high level (626) (see (616) of figure 3A)) in the first set of digital values satisfies a first threshold value (being the high level) wherein the satisfactory is determined when the detected energy in the output of the ADC reaches the high level) ; and increase the first clock signal from a first frequency (being the low sampling rate) to a second frequency (being a high sampling rate (referred to ((618, High) of figure 3A) in response to determining that the change in the first set of digital values satisfies the first threshold value (see col. 4, lines 7-37 and col. 5, lines 1-21),
a selector circuit (Column 4, lines 47-49: the baseband processor asserts rate control signal 540 which causes the ADC rate controller 534 to switch to the higher frequency sampling rate such as 80 MHz or 40 MHz.) configured to: receive a first value corresponding to the first frequency of the first clock signal and a second value corresponding to the second frequency of the first clock signal; and select the first value or the second value based on a selection signal to generate a selected value (column 4, lines 40-44: the IQ ADC typically operates at an operational sampling rate of 80 MHZ for each of the I and Q converters of the ADC 524, and this operational rate may be reduced to 20 MHZ until the time that packet energy is detected by the baseband processor. Therefore, the baseband processor receives a first value corresponding to the first frequency that indicates the previous non-operational rate of the system, a second value corresponding to the second frequency indicating the operational rate of the system and receives a signal that indicates that the packet energy has been detected. This will select the second value and send the rate control signal 540.).
-Regarding claim 11, Sankabathula et a teaches method, performed by a device ((500), figure 2), the method (see figure 2) comprising:
receiving, via an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) (524), a first analog signal (outputted from (514));
receiving, via the ADC, a first clock signal (548) (referred to “sampling clock 548”, col. 4, line 30);
generating, via the ADC, a first set of digital values (outputted from (524)) corresponding to the first analog signal (during a time interval between (600) and( 602) shown in figure 3A) based on the first clock signal at a low sampling rate (referred to (618, Low) of figure 3A);
determining, via a control circuit (530, 534), that a change (being a change of energy detected in the output of the ADC at the time (602) from a low level (624) to a high level (626) (see (616) of figure 3A)) in the first set of digital values satisfies a first threshold value (being the high level) wherein the satisfactory is determined when the detected energy in the output of the ADC reaches the high level); and increasing the first clock signal from a first frequency (being the low sampling rate) to a second frequency (being a high sampling rate (referred to ((618, High) of figure 3A) in response to determining that the change in the first set of digital values satisfies the first threshold value (see col. 4, lines 7-37 and col. 5, lines 1-21);
receiving a first value corresponding to the first frequency of the first clock signal and a second value corresponding to the second frequency of the first clock signal; and selecting the first value or the second value based on a selection signal to generate a selected value (Column 4, lines 47-49: the baseband processor asserts rate control signal 540 which causes the ADC rate controller 534 to switch to the higher frequency sampling rate such as 80 MHz or 40 MHz. Column 4, lines 40-44: the IQ ADC typically operates at an operational sampling rate of 80 MHZ for each of the I and Q converters of the ADC 524, and this operational rate may be reduced to 20 MHZ until the time that packet energy is detected by the baseband processor. Therefore, the baseband processor receives a first value corresponding to the first frequency that indicates the previous non-operational rate of the system, a second value corresponding to the second frequency indicating the operational rate of the system and receives a signal that indicates that the packet energy has been detected. This will select the second value and send the rate control signal 540.).
-Regarding claim 18, Sankabathula et a teaches a system (500) (see figure 2), comprising:
a sensor as a wireless sensor (504, 502);
an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) (524) coupled to the sensor and configured to: receive a first analog signal (outputted from (514)) (referred to “packet of waveform 608”, col. 6, line 21, and (608) of figure 3A); receive a first clock signal (548) (referred to “sampling clock 548”, col. 4, line 30); and generate a first set of digital values (outputted from (524)) corresponding to the first analog signal (during a time interval between (600) and( 602) shown in figure 3A) based on the first clock signal at a low sampling rate (referred to (618, Low) of figure 3A); and
a control circuit coupled to the ADC and configured to: determine, via (534), that a change (being a change of energy detected in the output of the ADC at the time (602) from a low level (624) to a high level (626) (see (616) of figure 3A)) in the first set of digital values satisfies a first threshold value (being the high level) wherein the satisfactory is determined when the detected energy in the output of the ADC reaches the high level) ; and increase the first clock signal from a first frequency (being the low sampling rate) to a second frequency (being a high sampling rate (referred to ((618, High) of figure 3A) in response to determining that the change in the first set of digital values satisfies the first threshold value (see col. 4, lines 7-37 and col. 5, lines 1-21);
a selector circuit (Column 4, lines 47-49: the baseband processor asserts rate control signal 540 which causes the ADC rate controller 534 to switch to the higher frequency sampling rate such as 80 MHz or 40 MHz.) configured to: receive a first value corresponding to the first frequency of the first clock signal and a second value corresponding to the second frequency of the first clock signal; and select the first value or the second value based on a selection signal to generate a selected value (column 4, lines 40-44: the IQ ADC typically operates at an operational sampling rate of 80 MHZ for each of the I and Q converters of the ADC 524, and this operational rate may be reduced to 20 MHZ until the time that packet energy is detected by the baseband processor. Therefore, the baseband processor receives a first value corresponding to the first frequency that indicates the previous non-operational rate of the system, a second value corresponding to the second frequency indicating the operational rate of the system and receives a signal that indicates that the packet energy has been detected. This will select the second value and send the rate control signal 540.).
-Regarding claim 20, Sankabathula et a teaches that the sensor includes an antenna (504) as an electrical signal sensor, or namely a voltage/current sensor (see figure 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 2-10, 12-17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M BURD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 8/24/2026