DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 03/30/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-12 remain pending in the Application. Claims 1, 4, 6 and 11 have been amended by the Applicant. Previous Claims 1-12 rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, has been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment to claim 1.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 210, 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on Continuation of application PCT/CN2022/113286, filed 08/18/2022 that claims foreign priority to CN 202110976792.6, filed 08/24/2021 (China).
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
However, to overcome a prior art rejection, applicant(s) must submit a translation of the foreign priority papers in order to perfect the claimed foreign priority because said papers has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP § 213.04
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al. (hereafter Hou, of record, see IDS dated 12/29/2024) US 20220321747 A1 in view of Hu et al. (hereafter Hu, of record) US 20210191065 A1.
In regard to independent claim 1, Hou teaches (see Figs. 1-10) an electronic device (display device with camera 11 in terminal device/mobile phone/pad etc. e.g. abstract, paragraphs [02-15, 27, 33-53, 55-72, 78-88, 101-103], e.g. Figs. 1-6), comprising:
a screen substrate layer (as optical film 21 with reflective film, light guide film, diffusing film 211,212,213 and display panel 22 with array substrate 222, e.g. paragraphs [27, 33-50], Figs. 3-4, 7,9), wherein the screen substrate layer has a first region and a second region, and the first region is a light-transmitting region (i.e. as 211-213,222 have first 100 camera area with e.g. lens 118, and second 200 display area which is transparent, e.g. including transparent area 14, parts 143, apertures 20 with 201-203 parts, e.g. paragraphs [27, 33-50], Figs. 1-7,9);
a lens (lens 118,115, with camera 11, paragraphs [27, 42-50]), wherein the lens is disposed in the first region (118, 115 in in first area 100, 20, 14, e.g. paragraphs [27, 33-50], Figs. 1-4, 7,9), the lens is in the screen substrate layer, and at least part of the first region is deformable (i.e. as 118, 115 is in 21, first area corresponding to 100(143), and at least area of 20 deforms with 11 insertion, and liquid crystal 143 part of 223 deforms to an extent, e.g. paragraphs [27, 34-50], Figs. 1-7,9);
a driving structure (i.e. as part 143, paragraphs [27, 40-41, 53]), wherein the driving structure is disposed on a side of the screen substrate layer, and the driving structure is configured to drive the first region to deform (i.e. as 143 is on a side of 21, 222, and drives the liquid crystal to deform, paragraphs [27, 40-41, 53]); and
an imaging sensor (camera 11 with photosensitive chip 113, e.g. CCD, CMOS, paragraphs [27,42-53, Fig. 3,6-7,9), wherein the imaging sensor is disposed on the side of the screen substrate layer, and the imaging sensor is disposed corresponding to the lens (i.e. as 113 is disposed on a side of 21,222 and corresponds to 118,115 as depicted in Figs. 3,6-7,9, e.g. paragraphs [42-53]).
But Hou is silent that the lens is liquid lens and that the driving structure drives the liquid crystal to deform.
However, Hu teaches in the same field of invention of an optical element driving mechanism of an electrical device (see Figs. 1, 17-21, Title, Abstract, paragraphs [02-07, 31-32, 45-48], including an electronic device, e.g. smartphone with camera 7-1 with a liquid lens 7-140 with its driving mechanism 7-100, providing focusing and image stabilization with the miniaturization of the electronic device) and further teaches that the lens is liquid lens and that the driving structure drives the liquid crystal to deform (i.e. as liquid lens 7-150 with sides that deform by driving mechanism, assembly 7-140,30 as depicted in Figs. 18-21, paragraphs [03-04, 45-47], thus providing focusing and image stabilization and miniaturization setup in the electronic device).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the lens (e.g. 118) of the camera of electronic device of Hou with the deformable liquid lens and driving mechanism according to teachings of Hu in order to provide focusing and image stabilization while allowing for miniaturization of the electronic device (see Hu, paragraphs [03-04, 46-47]).
Regarding claim 2, the Hou-Hu combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Hou teaches (see Figs. 1-10) that the first region comprises a first packaging layer and a second packaging layer, the first packaging layer and the second packaging layer are disposed at an interval in a thickness direction of the screen substrate layer (i.e. as top and bottom packing surfaces in thickness direction of modified liquid lens 118/7-150 in camera area 100 in 21,222, paragraphs [27, 34-50], Figs. 1-7, per combination with Hu Figs. 17-21, paragraphs [45-47]), and the liquid lens is between the first packaging layer and the second packaging layer (i.e. as liquid lens 7-150 between packaging top/bottom layers of modified 118/7-150, per combination with Hu Figs. 17-21, paragraphs [45-47]); and the first packaging layer is deformable, the driving structure is configured to drive the first packaging layer to deform, and deformation of the first packaging layer is capable of driving the liquid lens to deform (i.e. as bottom surface of 7-150 is deformable and deforms as the driving mechanism/ assembly 7-140/30 with actuators and squeezing ring 7-74 squeezes and deforms liquid lens 7-150, see Hu paragraphs [45-47], as depicted in Figs. 17-21).
Regarding claim 3, the Hou-Hu combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Hou teaches (see Figs. 1-10) that the second packaging layer is deformable (i.e. as liquid in liquid lens 7-150 is squeezed, the outer membranes surfaces deform at least to an extent, Hu paragraphs [45-47], Figs. 17-21).
Regarding claim 4, the Hou-Hu combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Hou teaches (see Figs. 1-10) that pixels are distributed in both the first region and the second region that are on a side of the screen substrate layer away from the driving structure (i.e. as pixels corresponding to pixels/cells of liquid crystal (LC) layer, color filter substrate in camera area 100 with LC driver 143, control switch 142, rgb color 144, polarizer 144, and in display area 200 with array substrate 222, LC layer 223, color filter layer 224, e.g. paragraphs [27, 34-50], Figs. 1-7,9).
Regarding claim 6, the Hou-Hu combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Hou teaches (see Figs. 1-10) that the driving structure comprises (as driving of modified 118/7-150 per combination Hu, i.e. mechanism 7-140,7-30, paragraphs [45-47], Figs. 17-21): a movable member, wherein the movable member is disposed on the side of the screen substrate layer (i.e. movable squeezing ring 7-74 on a side of 21,222, see Hu paragraphs [45-47], Figs. 17-21, and Hou 34-50], Figs. 3,6-7, 9), the movable member extends along an edge of the liquid lens (i.e. as 7-74 extends along the edge of 7-150, see Hu paragraphs [45-47], Figs. 17-21), the movable member is movable in a direction of an optical axis of the imaging sensor, and in a case that the movable member moves, the movable member is capable of driving the liquid lens to deform (i.e. as 7-74 moves for focusing in direction of optical axis and image sensor in 7-23,7-80 and deforms the liquid lens 7-150, see Hu Figs. 3, 17-21, paragraphs [45-47, 32]).
Regarding claim 7, the Hou-Hu combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Hou teaches (see Figs. 1-10) that the movable member is circular, and an axis of the movable member is parallel to or collinear with the optical axis of the imaging sensor (i.e. as 7-74 is a ring, and its axis is along optical axis of lens, e.g. 115/7-155 and image sensor 113/7-23,7-80, and deforms the liquid lens 7-150, see Hu Figs. 3, 17-21, paragraphs [45-47, 32], Hou Figs. 3,6-7,9, e.g. paragraphs [42-53]).
Regarding claim 8, the Hou-Hu combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Hou teaches (see Figs. 1-10) that the movable member is between the screen substrate layer and the imaging sensor (i.e. as modified 118 with 7-150 and mechanism 7-140,30, 7-74 is between 21,222 and 113, see Figs. 3,6-7,9, e.g. paragraphs [41-53], and Hu Figs. 3, 17-21, paragraphs [45-47,32]).
Regarding claim 9, the Hou-Hu combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Hou teaches (see Figs. 1-10) that the electronic device (terminal/mobile phone device with display and camera, 11) further comprises: a driving member (i.e. as per modification with Hu, 7-140 with 7-30 driving assembly, paragraphs [45-47], Figs. 17-18), wherein the driving member is configured to drive the movable member to move in the direction of the optical axis of the imaging sensor (i.e. as 7-30 drives 7-74 in optical axis direction of the sensor in 7-23/7-80 as e.g. for focusing, implemented to camera 11 with sensor 113 of Hou, Figs. 3,6-7,9, e.g. paragraphs [41-53], and Hu Figs. 3, 17-21, paragraphs [45-47,32]).
Regarding claim 10, the Hou-Hu combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Hou teaches (see Figs. 1-10) that the electronic device (terminal/mobile phone device with display and camera, 11) further comprises: a support layer, wherein the support layer is disposed on another side of the screen substrate layer (i.e. color filter substrate e.g. 224, on another side of 21, 222, see e.g. paragraphs [34-41], Figs. 1-7, 9).
Regarding claim 11, the Hou-Hu combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Hou teaches (see Figs. 1-10) that the electronic device further comprises: a cover plate, wherein the cover plate is disposed on a side of the support layer away from the screen substrate layer (i.e. as 224 includes cover plate, and also as cover of the mobile phone device 11, Figs. 1-7, 9, paragraphs [34-41]).
Regarding claim 12, the Hou-Hu combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Hou teaches (see Figs. 1-10) that the screen substrate layer is a transparent material member (i.e. as 21 includes transparent layers as light guide 211, 212, diffusion layer 213, 221 as polarizer, and array substrate 222 stacked in that order, see Figs. 3-4, 6-7, 9, paragraphs [34-41]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al. (hereafter Hou, of record, see IDS dated 12/29/2024) US 20220321747 A1 in view of Hu et al. (hereafter Hu) US 20210191065 A1, and further in view of Takimoto et al. (hereafter Takimoto, of record, see IDS dated 12/29/2024) US 20210141266 A1.
Regarding claim 5, the Hou-Hu combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Hou teaches (see Figs. 1-10) a distribution density of the pixels in the first region and in the second region of the screen substrate layer (i.e. as pixels corresponding to camera area 100 and display area 200, see claim 4 above, e.g. paragraphs [27, 34-50], Figs. 1-7,9), but is silent that the distribution density of the pixels in the first region is less than the distribution density of the pixels in the second region.
However, Takimoto teaches in the same field of invention of a display device and electronic equipment incorporating the display device (see Figs. 1-15, paragraphs [02, 28-39, 106-111]) and further teaches that the distribution density of the pixels in the first region is less than the distribution density of the pixels in the second region (i.e. as the density of pixels PX2 in the region second area A12 corresponding to camera 1A,C is less than, the pixel density of pixels PX1 in area A11 of the display portion DA, which includes color filter layer CF and a light-shielding layer BMB, allowing for improving the transmittance of the second area A12 and suppressing diffraction of light transmitted through the second area A12, see Fig. 14, paragraphs [106-111]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the electronic device with display and camera of Hou to have the distribution density of the pixels in the camera region that is less than the distribution density of the pixels in the regular display region pf the display area according to teachings of Takimoto, in order to provide for improving the transmittance of the camera area and suppressing diffraction of light transmitted through the camera/sensor of the display (see Takimoto, paragraphs [106-111]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the Remarks dated 03/30/2026 regarding claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, Applicant argues that the cited prior art of Hou and Hu does not disclose that (1) “a liquid lens, wherein the liquid lens is disposed in the first region, the liquid lens is in the screen substrate layer, and at least part of the first region is deformable” and that “the driving structure is configured to drive the first region to deform, thereby driving the liquid lens to deform”, because Hou does not disclose screen substrate regions, with the first region deformable, as Hou optical film 21 is not deformable and used to adjust position of lens 115, and since Hu doesn’t involve applying a force to the liquid lens 7-150 through deformation of a screen substrate layer to change the focal length or optical axis. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to the above issue (1), as noted in the rejection above, the cited prior art of Hou teaches most and in combination with cited prior art of Hu teaches and renders obvious all limitations of claim 1, as Hou teaches (see Figs. 1-10) an electronic device (display device with camera 11 in terminal device/mobile phone/pad etc. e.g. abstract, paragraphs [02-15, 27, 33-53, 55-72, 78-88, 101-103], e.g. Figs. 1-6), comprising:
a screen substrate layer (as optical film 21 with reflective film, light guide film, diffusing film 211,212,213 and display panel 22 with array substrate 222, e.g. paragraphs [27, 33-50], Figs. 3-4, 7,9), wherein the screen substrate layer has a first region and a second region, and the first region is a light-transmitting region (i.e. as 211-213,222 have first 100 camera area with e.g. lens 118, and second 200 display area which is transparent, e.g. including transparent area 14, parts 143, apertures 20 with 201-203 parts, e.g. paragraphs [27, 33-50], Figs. 1-7,9);
a lens (lens 118,115, with camera 11, paragraphs [27, 42-50]), wherein the lens is disposed in the first region (118, 115 is in and is part of the first area 100, 20, 14, e.g. paragraphs [27, 33-50], Figs. 1-4, 7,9), the lens is in the screen substrate layer, and at least part of the first region is deformable (i.e. as 118, 115 is in 21, first area corresponding to 100(143), and at least area of 20 deforms with 11 insertion, and liquid crystal 143 part of 223 deforms to an extent, e.g. paragraphs [27, 34-50], Figs. 1-7,9);
a driving structure (i.e. as part 143, paragraphs [27, 40-41, 53]), wherein the driving structure is disposed on a side of the screen substrate layer, and the driving structure is configured to drive the first region to deform (i.e. as 143 is on a side of 21, 222, and drives the liquid crystal to deform, paragraphs [27, 40-41, 53]); and
an imaging sensor (camera 11 with photosensitive chip 113, e.g. CCD, CMOS, paragraphs [27,42-53, Fig. 3,6-7,9), wherein the imaging sensor is disposed on the side of the screen substrate layer, and the imaging sensor is disposed corresponding to the lens (i.e. as 113 is disposed on a side of 21,222 and corresponds to 118,115 as depicted in Figs. 3,6-7,9, e.g. paragraphs [42-53]).
But Hou is silent that the lens is liquid lens and that the driving structure drives the liquid crystal to deform.
However, Hu teaches in the same field of invention of an optical element driving mechanism of an electrical device (see Figs. 1, 17-21, Title, Abstract, paragraphs [02-07, 31-32, 45-48], including an electronic device, e.g. smartphone with camera 7-1 with a liquid lens 7-140 with its driving mechanism 7-100, providing focusing and image stabilization with the miniaturization of the electronic device) and further teaches that the lens is liquid lens and that the driving structure drives the liquid crystal to deform (i.e. as liquid lens 7-150 with sides that deform by driving mechanism, assembly 7-140,30 as depicted in Figs. 18-21, paragraphs [03-04, 45-47], thus providing focusing and image stabilization and miniaturization setup in the electronic device). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the lens (e.g. 118) of the camera of electronic device of Hou with the deformable liquid lens and driving mechanism according to teachings of Hu in order to provide focusing and image stabilization while allowing for miniaturization of the electronic device (see Hu, paragraphs [03-04, 46-47]).
Specifically, Hou teaches the screen substrate layer, as optical film 21 with reflective film, light guide film, diffusing film 211,212,213 and display panel 22 with array substrate 222, e.g. paragraphs [27, 33-50], Figs. 3-4, 7,9), wherein the screen substrate layer has a first region and a second region, and the first region is a light-transmitting region (i.e. as region within 211-213,222 have first 100 camera area, with e.g. lens 118, and second 200 display area which is transparent, e.g. including transparent area 14, parts 143, apertures 20 with 201-203 parts, e.g. paragraphs [27, 33-50], Figs. 1-7,9); Hou further teaches the lens, as lens e.g. 118,115, with camera 11, paragraphs [27, 42-50]), wherein the lens is disposed in the first region (118, 115 in in first area 100, 20, 14, e.g. paragraphs [27, 33-50], Figs. 1-4, 7,9), the lens is in the screen substrate layer, and at least part of the first region is deformable (i.e. as 118, 115 is in 21, first area corresponding to 100(143), and at least that area of 20 deforms with the 11 insertion, and liquid crystal 143 part of 223 deforms to an extent, e.g. paragraphs [27, 34-50], Figs. 1-7,9); Hou also teaches the driving structure, i.e. as part 143, paragraphs [27, 40-41, 53]), wherein the driving structure is disposed on a side of the screen substrate layer, and the driving structure is configured to drive the first region to deform (i.e. as 143 is on a side of 21, 222, and drives the liquid crystal to deform, paragraphs [27, 40-41, 53]).
However, as noted Hou is silent that the lens is liquid lens and that the driving structure drives the liquid crystal to deform.
However, Hu teaches in the same field of invention of an optical element driving mechanism of an electrical device (see Figs. 1, 17-21, Title, Abstract, paragraphs [02-07, 31-32, 45-48], including an electronic device, e.g. smartphone with camera 7-1 with a liquid lens 7-140 with its driving mechanism 7-100, providing focusing and image stabilization with the miniaturization of the electronic device) and further teaches that the lens is liquid lens and that the driving structure drives the liquid lens to deform (i.e. as liquid lens 7-150 with sides that deform by driving mechanism, assembly 7-140,30 as depicted in Figs. 18-21, paragraphs [03-04, 45-47], thus providing focusing and image stabilization and miniaturization setup in the electronic device). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the lens (e.g. 118) of the camera of electronic device of Hou with the deformable liquid lens and driving mechanism according to teachings of Hu in order to provide focusing and image stabilization while allowing for miniaturization of the electronic device (see Hu, paragraphs [03-04, 46-47]).
Notably the lens 118 is part of the first transparent region of the screen substrate 21 (i.e. as region within 211-213,222 have first 100 camera area, with e.g. lens 118, e.g. paragraphs [27, 33-50], Figs. 1-7,9). The adaptation and modification of the lens (e.g. 118) of the camera of electronic device of Hou with the deformable liquid lens and driving mechanism according to teachings of Hu, incorporates the liquid lens of 7-150 and squeezing ring 7-74, which then are also part of the same region of screen substrate 21, and due to modification has deformable region as deformable side of the liquid lens 7-150, which is deformed by force exerted by squeezing ring 7-74 of the driving mechanism of Hu. in order to provide focusing and image stabilization while allowing for miniaturization of the electronic device (see Hu, paragraphs [03-04, 46-47]). Thus the combination teaches and renders obvious that the driving structure is configured to drive the first region to deform, thereby driving the liquid lens to deform.
In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the screen substrate layer is specific one piece layer or made as a composite of specific materials in different first and second regions; or that the liquid lens is liquid enclosed by deformable screen substrate layer(s)) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Lastly, it is noted that "[t]he use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968))." MPEP §2123.
No additional substantial arguments were presented after page 8 of the Remarks dated 03/30/2026.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIN PICHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872