DETAILED ACTION
Status
This paper is responsive to the amendments filed July 28, 2026 to the patent application filed February 23, 2024.
Claims 1-30 are currently pending.
Claims 1, 16, 29 and 30 have been amended.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to claims 1, 16, 29 and 30 have been entered and are supported in the original specification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 16, 29 and 30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 9, 11, 12, 16, 20, 21, 23, 24, 25, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. 2023/0284204 to Naeem Akl (hereinafter Akl) in view of 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #114 Toulouse France, August 21-August 25, 2023 “Discussion on subband non-overlapping full duplex”, R1-2306747 (hereinafter R1), further in view of US Pat. Pub. 20240023087 published 1/18/2024 to Mickael Mondet et al. (hereinafter Mondet).
Regarding claim 1, Akl in view of R1 teaches A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
transmitting, to a network node, signaling to initiate a time window [[in which each transmission time interval (TTI), of a plurality to TTIs during the time window, includes an uplink transmission opportunity]] based on a predicted uplink traffic pattern during the time window, [[wherein each TTI during the time window comprises at least one of symbols or slots]]; (Akl teaches in Fig. 14 and in paras. [0175] et seq. that a UE transmits a capability indication including “determining whether to expect a communication to occur within a time window, wherein the determination is based on at least one of an artificial intelligence algorithm or predictability of traffic patterns”.
receiving, from the network node, signaling that indicates a duplexing configuration during the time window; (Akl teaches that in Fig. 14, above, step 1412, the UE receives an updated scheduling in response to the indication from the UE. Akl para. [0174] teaches “time window component 1544 is configured to receive or obtain from the network node, the indication of the duration of the time window; e.g., as described in connection with the third step 1406 of Fig. 14.” Akl further teaches in para. [0062] and Fig. 2A and 2C that configurations are “assumed to be TDD” (time division duplex) with slot formats of DL, UL, and flexible symbols configured via DCI or RRC.)
and
transmitting, to the network node, one or more uplink communications during the time window in accordance with the duplexing configuration. (Akl para. [0140] and Fig. 12 illustrates UE 1204 transmitting to the network node 1202 data 1216 in accordance with “the indication of the expected communication”. )
Although Akl teaches time division duplex and scheduling of time windows, Akl does NOT teach signaling “in which each transmission time interval (TTI), of a plurality to TTIs during the time window, includes an uplink transmission opportunity, …. wherein each TTI during the time window comprises at least one of symbols or slots”.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 6G/5G/NR wireless communications, R1 teaches signaling “in which each transmission time interval (TTI), of a plurality to TTIs during the time window, includes an uplink transmission opportunity, …. wherein each TTI during the time window comprises at least one of symbols or slots”. (R1 page 2/19 teaches dynamic SBFD wherein configuring SBFD for SBFD-aware UEs, includes UL transmissions outside semi-statically configured UL subband are allowed. In Option 3, such UL transmissions are allowed, and “compared with dynamic TDD and/or semi-static SBFD in terms of performance, implementation complexity, switching latency.” Therefore, each TTI within the time window would be configured for UL transmission.
R2 page 11/19 includes the following conclusion:
… for UL transmissions and DL receptions across SBFD symbols and non-SBFD symbols in different slots (each transmission/reception within a slot has either all SBFD or all non-SBFD symbols), the following observations are agreed.
Option 1 can be achieved by gNB configuration or scheduling to ensure that all transmission/reception occasions are confined to either SBFD symbols or non-SBFD symbols. Alternatively, Option 1 can be achieved by additional indication or rules to determine the transmission/reception occasions are valid within one symbol type and are invalid within the other symbol type.
The frequency resources, power control and beam/spatial relation for all the transmission/reception occasions can be the same for Option 1 but may be different for Option 2. If different, it may require additional specification efforts.
Examiner interprets each slot as each interval based on applicant’s specification para. [0114] which states “one or more slots, symbols, or other intervals” thereby equating slots and symbols as intervals.)
Although Akl combined with R1 teach that each TTI within the time window would be configured for UL transmission, neither Akl for R1 specifically teach that each TTI includes an uplink opportunity.
In the same field of endeavor, Mondet teaches “each TTI includes an uplink opportunity.” (Mondet teaches in paras. [0121]-[0124] that a UE may align data for uplink transmissions with granted uplink resources so that uplink transmission opportunities are not subject to delay, causing latency in data communications. Fig. 5B teaches aligning UL traffic with UL resources, which can take place in each slot, per Mondet para. [0150], which teaches that grant timing may have “slot-level accuracy”, as shown:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Akl with Mondet to teach each TTI includes an uplink opportunity. Each of Akl and Mondet are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Mondet with Akl in order to decrease latency for data transmissions as taught in Mondet para. [0124] and para. [0027].
Further, although Akl assumes that the configurations are TDD, Akl does NOT teach “signaling that indicates a duplexing configuration”
In the analogous art of 3GPP 6G/5G/NR wireless communications, R1 teaches “signaling that indicates a duplexing configuration”. (R1 teaches on page 5/19 that dynamic SBFD via Option 3 may be achieved through non-scheduling DCI which indicates whether a symbol is SBFD. Therefore, duplexing is configured for each interval in SBFD).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Akl with R1 to teach signaling relative to “in each interval within the time window” and signaling that indicates a duplexing configuration”. Each of Akl and R1 are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of uplink transmission configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl and R1 in order to improve latency and throughput for transmissions as shown in R1, Figure 2 wherein different traffic load measurements show that it is beneficial to support dynamic SBFD.
Regarding claim 5, Akl teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining the predicted uplink traffic pattern during the time window according to one or more of an output from an artificial intelligence or machine learning model, a historical traffic pattern, or a future traffic pattern. (Akl teaches in para. [0117] that the UE may use artificial intelligence or predictability of uplink traffic patterns by a process running on the UE to determine whether to expect an uplink communication to occur within and/or after the time window.)
Regarding claim 6, Akl in view of R1 teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the signaling is further to initiate the time window with support for downlink communication in each interval within the time window based on an estimated downlink traffic pattern during the time window.
Specifically, Akl teaches wherein the signaling is further to initiate the time window with support for downlink communication based on an estimated downlink traffic pattern during the time window. (Akl teaches in para. [0062] that “UEs are configured with the slot format (dynamically through DL control information (DCI), or semi-statically/statically through radio resource control (RRC) signaling) through a received slot format indicator (SFI). Akl Fig. 10 illustrates how upcoming traffic expected is used for all scheduling by the base station:
However Akl does NOT teach to initiate the time window with support for downlink communication in each interval.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G/6G/NR wireless communications, R1 teaches wherein the signaling is further to initiate the time window with support for downlink communication in each interval within the time window based on an estimated downlink traffic pattern during the time window. (R1 teaches dynamic SBFD symbols to initiate a time window for downlink communication to improve resource usage efficiency for DL/UL performance on page 2/19 based on traffic loads illustrated in Fig. 2, for example. Using dynamic SBFD, for example with the concept of “flexible subband” taught on page 5/10 to achieve dynamic SBFD enables a downlink communication in each interval. R1 page 4/19 teaches “for an SBFD aware UE, if a semi-static DL symbol is converted to a DL-only symbol dynamically, it means that the gNB would like to disable SBFD operation in the symbol e.g. all resources in frequency domain of the BWP/carrier are regarded as DL, then the UE behavior in the symbol falls back to Rel-15/16/17 UE behavior for semi-static DL symbol, e.g. only DL reception(s) can be performed in the symbol. In this regard, there is actually no UL subband within the frequency boundary of the configured UL subband in the symbol.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Akl’s traffic predictions shown in Fig. 10 with dynamic SBFD taught in R1 to teach DL only transmissions. Each of Akl and R1 are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of transmission configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl and R1 in order to improve latency and throughput for transmissions as shown in R1, Figure 2 wherein different traffic load measurements show that it is beneficial to support dynamic SBFD.
Regarding claim 9, Akl teaches The method of claim 6, further comprising: receiving, from the network node, signaling that indicates the estimated downlink traffic pattern during the time window. (Akl teaches in para. [0121] that after UE transmits expected uplink traffic, the network node schedules/estimates downlink traffic patterns via “implicitly indicate” that the UE may not transmit another scheduling request, thereby allowing the base station to reduce its power consumption for the duration of the time window.
Akl does NOT specifically teach “estimated downlink traffic pattern”.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G/6G/NR wireless communications, R1 teaches estimated downlink traffic pattern. (R1 teaches on page 2/19 “DL/UL traffic adaptation” in supporting dynamic SBFD for SBFD symbols to improve resource usage efficiency, as well as DL/UL performance. By dynamic SBFD alterations/adaptation for traffic based on estimated traffic.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Akl with R1 to teach signaling that indicates the estimated downlink traffic pattern during the time window. Each of Akl and R1 are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of transmission configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl and R1 in order to improve latency and throughput for transmissions as shown in R1, Figure 2 wherein different traffic load measurements show that it is beneficial to support dynamic SBFD.
Regarding claim 11, Akl does NOT teach The method of claim 1, wherein the time window is periodic.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G/6G/NR wireless communications, R1 teaches wherein the time window is periodic. (R1 teaches on page 8/19 that transition points from SBFD to non-SBFD can be within a TDD UL/DL pattern period, so that transition points can be aligned with slot boundaries or within a slot. Examiner interprets the time window as between a slot boundaries. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Akl with R1 to teach wherein the time window is periodic. Each of Akl and R1 are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of transmission configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl and R1 in order to improve latency and throughput for transmissions as shown in R1, Figure 2 wherein different traffic load measurements show that it is beneficial to support dynamic SBFD.
Regarding claim 12, Akl teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the time window is aperiodic. (Akl teaches in para. [0128] that time windows that are configured according to traffic patterns “the UE may dynamically determine a time window based on uplink traffic patterns” which is aperiodic.)
Regarding claim 16, Akl in view of R1 teaches A method of wireless communication performed by a network node, comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE), signaling to initiate a time window in which [[each transmission time interval (TTI), of a plurality of TTIs during the time window, includes an uplink transmission opportunity]] based on a predicted uplink traffic pattern during the time window [[wherein each TTI during the time window comprises at least one of symbols or slots]]; (Akl teaches in Fig. 14 and in paras. [0175] et seq. that a network node receives from a UE a capability indication including “determining whether to expect a communication to occur within a time window, wherein the determination is based on at least one of an artificial intelligence algorithm or predictability of traffic patterns”
transmitting, to the UE, signaling that indicates a duplexing configuration during the time window; (Akl teaches that in Fig. 14, above, step 1412, the UE receives from the network node an updated scheduling in response to the indication from the UE. Akl para. [0174] teaches “time window component 1544 is configured to receive or obtain from the network node, the indication of the duration of the time window; e.g., as described in connection with the third step 1406 of Fig. 14.” Akl further teaches in para. [0062] and Fig. 2A and 2C that configurations are “assumed to be TDD” (time division duplex) with slot formats of DL, UL, and flexible symbols configured via DCI or RRC.)
and
receiving, from the UE, one or more uplink communications during the time window in accordance with the duplexing configuration. . (Akl para. [0140] and Fig. 12 illustrates UE 1204 transmitting to the network node 1202 data 1216 in accordance with “the indication of the expected communication”. )
Although Akl teaches time division duplex and scheduling of time windows, Akl does NOT teach signaling “in which each transmission time interval (TTI), of a plurality to TTIs during the time window, includes an uplink transmission opportunity, …. wherein each TTI during the time window comprises at least one of symbols or slots”.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 6G/5G/NR wireless communications, R1 teaches signaling “in which each transmission time interval (TTI), of a plurality to TTIs during the time window, includes an uplink transmission opportunity, …. wherein each TTI during the time window comprises at least one of symbols or slots”. (R1 page 2/19 teaches dynamic SBFD wherein configuring SBFD for SBFD-aware UEs, includes UL transmissions outside semi-statically configured UL subband are allowed. In Option 3, such UL transmissions are allowed, and “compared with dynamic TDD and/or semi-static SBFD in terms of performance, implementation complexity, switching latency.” Therefore, each TTI within the time window would be configured for UL transmission.
R2 page 11/19 includes the following conclusion:
… for UL transmissions and DL receptions across SBFD symbols and non-SBFD symbols in different slots (each transmission/reception within a slot has either all SBFD or all non-SBFD symbols), the following observations are agreed.
Option 1 can be achieved by gNB configuration or scheduling to ensure that all transmission/reception occasions are confined to either SBFD symbols or non-SBFD symbols. Alternatively, Option 1 can be achieved by additional indication or rules to determine the transmission/reception occasions are valid within one symbol type and are invalid within the other symbol type.
The frequency resources, power control and beam/spatial relation for all the transmission/reception occasions can be the same for Option 1 but may be different for Option 2. If different, it may require additional specification efforts.
Examiner interprets each slot as each interval based on applicant’s specification para. [0114] which states “one or more slots, symbols, or other intervals” thereby equating slots and symbols as intervals.)
Although Akl combined with R1 teach that each TTI within the time window would be configured for UL transmission, neither Akl for R1 specifically teach that each TTI includes an uplink opportunity.
In the same field of endeavor, Mondet teaches “each TTI includes an uplink opportunity.” (Mondet teaches in paras. [0121]-[0124] that a UE may align data for uplink transmissions with granted uplink resources so that uplink transmission opportunities are not subject to delay, causing latency in data communications. Fig. 5B teaches aligning UL traffic with UL resources, which can take place in each slot, per Mondet para. [0150], which teaches that grant timing may have “slot-level accuracy”, as shown:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Akl with Mondet to teach each TTI includes an uplink opportunity. Each of Akl and Mondet are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Mondet with Akl in order to decrease latency for data transmissions as taught in Mondet para. [0124] and para. [0027].
Further, although Akl assumes that the configurations are TDD, Akl does NOT teach “signaling that indicates a duplexing configuration”
In the analogous art of 3GPP 6G/5G/NR wireless communications, R1 teaches “signaling that indicates a duplexing configuration”. (R1 also teaches on page 5/19 that dynamic SBFD via Option 3 may be achieved through non-scheduling DCI which indicates whether a symbol is SBFD. Therefore, duplexing is configured for each interval in SBFD).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Akl with R1 to teach signaling relative to “in each interval within the time window” and signaling that indicates a duplexing configuration”. Each of Akl and R1 are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of uplink transmission configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl and R1 in order to improve latency and throughput for transmissions as shown in R1, Figure 2 wherein different traffic load measurements show that it is beneficial to support dynamic SBFD.
Regarding claim 20, Akl in view of R1 teaches The method of claim 16, wherein the signaling is further to initiate the time window with support for downlink communication in each interval within the time window based on an estimated downlink traffic pattern during the time window.
Specifically, Akl teaches wherein the signaling is further to initiate the time window with support for downlink communication based on an estimated downlink traffic pattern during the time window. (Akl teaches in para. [0062] that “UEs are configured with the slot format (dynamically through DL control information (DCI), or semi-statically/statically through radio resource control (RRC) signaling) through a received slot format indicator (SFI). Akl Fig. 10 illustrates how upcoming traffic expected is used for all scheduling by the base station:
However Akl does NOT teach to initiate the time window with support for downlink communication in each interval.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G/6G/NR wireless communications, R1 teaches wherein the signaling is further to initiate the time window with support for downlink communication in each interval within the time window based on an estimated downlink traffic pattern during the time window. (R1 teaches dynamic SBFD symbols to initiate a time window for downlink communication to improve resource usage efficiency for DL/UL performance on page 2/19 based on traffic loads illustrated in Fig. 2, for example. Using dynamic SBFD, for example with the concept of “flexible subband” taught on page 5/10 to achieve dynamic SBFD enables a downlink communication in each interval. R1 page 4/19 teaches “for an SBFD aware UE, if a semi-static DL symbol is converted to a DL-only symbol dynamically, it means that the gNB would like to disable SBFD operation in the symbol e.g. all resources in frequency domain of the BWP/carrier are regarded as DL, then the UE behavior in the symbol falls back to Rel-15/16/17 UE behavior for semi-static DL symbol, e.g. only DL reception(s) can be performed in the symbol. In this regard, there is actually no UL subband within the frequency boundary of the configured UL subband in the symbol.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Akl’s traffic predictions shown in Fig. 10 with dynamic SBFD taught in R1 to teach DL only transmissions. Each of Akl and R1 are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of transmission configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl and R1 in order to improve latency and throughput for transmissions as shown in R1, Figure 2 wherein different traffic load measurements show that it is beneficial to support dynamic SBFD.
Regarding claim 21, Akl does NOT teach The method of claim 20, further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, one or more downlink communications during the time window in accordance with the duplexing configuration.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G/6G/NR wireless communications, R1 teaches receiving, from the network node, one or more downlink communications during the time window in accordance with the duplexing configuration. (R1 teaches DL receptions on page 4/19 wherein the DL only communications are “performed in the symbol” such that there is actually no UL subband within the frequency boundary of the configured UL subband in the symbol because the gNB (network node) disabled SBFD.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Akl with R1 to teach DL only transmissions. Each of Akl and R1 are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of transmission configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl and R1 in order to improve latency and throughput for transmissions as shown in R1, Figure 2 wherein different traffic load measurements show that it is beneficial to support dynamic SBFD.
Regarding claim 23, Akl in view of R1 teaches The method of claim 20, further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, signaling that indicates the estimated downlink traffic pattern during the time window. (Akl teaches in para. [0121] that after UE transmits expected uplink traffic, the network node schedules/estimates downlink traffic patterns via “implicitly indicate” that the UE may not transmit another scheduling request, thereby allowing the base station to reduce its power consumption for the duration of the time window.)
Akl does NOT specifically teach “estimated downlink traffic pattern”.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G/6G/NR wireless communications, R1 teaches estimated downlink traffic pattern. (R1 teaches on page 2/19 “DL/UL traffic adaptation” in supporting dynamic SBFD for SBFD symbols to improve resource usage efficiency, as well as DL/UL performance. By dynamic SBFD alterations/adaptation for traffic based on estimated traffic.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Akl with R1 to teach signaling that indicates the estimated downlink traffic pattern during the time window. Each of Akl and R1 are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of transmission configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl and R1 in order to improve latency and throughput for transmissions as shown in R1, Figure 2 wherein different traffic load measurements show that it is beneficial to support dynamic SBFD.
Regarding claim 24, Akl does NOT teach The method of claim 16, wherein the time window is periodic.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G/6G/NR wireless communications, R1 teaches wherein the time window is periodic. (R1 teaches on page 8/19 that transition points from SBFD to non-SBFD can be within a TDD UL/DL pattern period, so that transition points can be aligned with slot boundaries or within a slot. Examiner interprets the time window as between a slot boundaries)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Akl with R1 to teach wherein the time window is periodic. Each of Akl and R1 are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of transmission configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl and R1 in order to improve latency and throughput for transmissions as shown in R1, Figure 2 wherein different traffic load measurements show that it is beneficial to support dynamic SBFD.
Regarding claim 25, Akl teaches The method of claim 16, wherein the time window is aperiodic. (Akl teaches in para. [0128] that time windows that are configured according to traffic patterns “the UE may dynamically determine a time window based on uplink traffic patterns” which is aperiodic.)
Regarding claim 29, Akl in view of R1 teaches A user equipment (UE) (UE 104, Fig. 15 para. [0171]) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories; (Akl para. [0171] processor 1504 includes memory)
and
one or more processors, (Akl para. [0171] processor 1504 includes computer-readable medium/memory) coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE to:
transmit, to a network node, signaling to initiate a time window in which [[each transmission time interval (TTI), of a plurality of TTIs during the time window, includes an uplink transmission opportunity]] based on a predicted uplink traffic pattern during the time window, [[wherein each TTI during the time window comprises at least one of symbols or slots]]; (Akl teaches in Fig. 14 and in paras. [0175] et seq. that a UE transmits to a network node a capability indication including “determining whether to expect a communication to occur within a time window, wherein the determination is based on at least one of an artificial intelligence algorithm or predictability of traffic patterns”
receive, from the network node, signaling that indicates a duplexing configuration during the time window; (Akl teaches that in Fig. 14, above, step 1412, the UE receives an updated scheduling in response to the indication from the UE. Akl para. [0174] teaches “time window component 1544 is configured to receive or obtain from the network node, the indication of the duration of the time window; e.g., as described in connection with the third step 1406 of Fig. 14.” Akl further teaches in para. [0062] and Fig. 2A and 2C that configurations are “assumed to be TDD” (time division duplex) with slot formats of DL, UL, and flexible symbols configured via DCI or RRC.)
and
transmit, to the network node, one or more uplink communications during the time window in accordance with the duplexing configuration. (Akl para. [0140] and Fig. 12 illustrates UE 1204 transmitting to the network node 1202 data 1216 in accordance with “the indication of the expected communication”. )
Although Akl teaches time division duplex and scheduling of time windows, Akl does NOT teach signaling “in which each transmission time interval (TTI), of a plurality to TTIs during the time window, includes an uplink transmission opportunity, …. wherein each TTI during the time window comprises at least one of symbols or slots”.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 6G/5G/NR wireless communications, R1 teaches signaling “in which each transmission time interval (TTI), of a plurality to TTIs during the time window, includes an uplink transmission opportunity, …. wherein each TTI during the time window comprises at least one of symbols or slots”. (R1 page 2/19 teaches dynamic SBFD wherein configuring SBFD for SBFD-aware UEs, includes UL transmissions outside semi-statically configured UL subband are allowed. In Option 3, such UL transmissions are allowed, and “compared with dynamic TDD and/or semi-static SBFD in terms of performance, implementation complexity, switching latency.” Therefore, each TTI within the time window would be configured for UL transmission.
R2 page 11/19 includes the following conclusion:
… for UL transmissions and DL receptions across SBFD symbols and non-SBFD symbols in different slots (each transmission/reception within a slot has either all SBFD or all non-SBFD symbols), the following observations are agreed.
Option 1 can be achieved by gNB configuration or scheduling to ensure that all transmission/reception occasions are confined to either SBFD symbols or non-SBFD symbols. Alternatively, Option 1 can be achieved by additional indication or rules to determine the transmission/reception occasions are valid within one symbol type and are invalid within the other symbol type.
The frequency resources, power control and beam/spatial relation for all the transmission/reception occasions can be the same for Option 1 but may be different for Option 2. If different, it may require additional specification efforts.
Examiner interprets each slot as each interval based on applicant’s specification para. [0114] which states “one or more slots, symbols, or other intervals” thereby equating slots and symbols as intervals.)
Although Akl combined with R1 teach that each TTI within the time window would be configured for UL transmission, neither Akl for R1 teach that each TTI includes an uplink opportunity.
In the same field of endeavor, Mondet teaches “each TTI includes an uplink opportunity.” (Mondet teaches in paras. [0121]-[0124] that a UE may align data for uplink transmissions with granted uplink resources so that uplink transmission opportunities are not subject to delay, causing latency in data communications. Fig. 5B teaches aligning UL traffic with UL resources, which can take place in each slot, per Mondet para. [0150], which teaches that grant timing may have “slot-level accuracy”, as shown:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Akl with Mondet to teach each TTI includes an uplink opportunity. Each of Akl and Mondet are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Mondet with Akl in order to decrease latency for data transmissions as taught in Mondet para. [0124] and para. [0027].
Further, although Akl assumes that the configurations are TDD, Akl does NOT teach “signaling that indicates a duplexing configuration”
In the analogous art of 3GPP 6G/5G/NR wireless communications, R1 teaches “signaling that indicates a duplexing configuration”. (R1 also teaches on page 5/19 that dynamic SBFD via Option 3 may be achieved through non-scheduling DCI which indicates whether a symbol is SBFD. Therefore, duplexing is configured for each interval in SBFD).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Akl with R1 to teach signaling relative to “in each interval within the time window” and signaling that indicates a duplexing configuration”. Each of Akl and R1 are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of uplink transmission configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl and R1 in order to improve latency and throughput for transmissions as shown in R1, Figure 2 wherein different traffic load measurements show that it is beneficial to support dynamic SBFD.
Regarding claim 30, Akl in view of R1 teaches A network node (Akl Fig. 17, apparatus 1702) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories; (Akl Fig. 17, baseband unit 1704, para. [0202])
and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, (Akl Fig. 17, baseband unit 1704 is responsible for general processing, para. [0202]) configured to cause the network node to:
receive, from a user equipment (UE), signaling to initiate a time window [[in which each transmission time interval (TTI), of a plurality of TTIs during the time window includes an uplink transmission opportunity]] based on a predicted uplink traffic pattern during the time window, [[wherein each TTI during the time window comprises at least one of symbols or slots]]; (Akl teaches in Fig. 14 and in paras. [0175] et seq. that a network node receives from a UE a capability indication based on “determining whether to expect a communication to occur within a time window, wherein the determination is based on at least one of an artificial intelligence algorithm or predictability of traffic patterns”
transmit, to the UE, signaling that indicates a duplexing configuration during the time window; (Akl teaches that in Fig. 14, above, step 1412, the network node transmits to the UE an updated scheduling in response to the indication from the UE. Akl para. [0174] teaches “time window component 1544 is configured to receive or obtain from the network node, the indication of the duration of the time window; e.g., as described in connection with the third step 1406 of Fig. 14.” Akl further teaches in para. [0062] and Fig. 2A and 2C that configurations are “assumed to be TDD” (time division duplex) with slot formats of DL, UL, and flexible symbols configured via DCI or RRC.)
and
receive, from the UE, one or more uplink communications during the time window in accordance with the duplexing configuration. (Akl para. [0140] and Fig. 12 illustrates UE 1204 transmitting to the network node 1202 data 1216 in accordance with “the indication of the expected communication”. )
Although Akl teaches time division duplex and scheduling of time windows, Akl does NOT teach signaling “in which each transmission time interval (TTI), of a plurality to TTIs during the time window, includes an uplink transmission opportunity, …. wherein each TTI during the time window comprises at least one of symbols or slots”.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 6G/5G/NR wireless communications, R1 teaches signaling “in which each transmission time interval (TTI), of a plurality to TTIs during the time window, includes an uplink transmission opportunity, …. wherein each TTI during the time window comprises at least one of symbols or slots”. (R1 page 2/19 teaches dynamic SBFD wherein configuring SBFD for SBFD-aware UEs, includes UL transmissions outside semi-statically configured UL subband are allowed. In Option 3, such UL transmissions are allowed, and “compared with dynamic TDD and/or semi-static SBFD in terms of performance, implementation complexity, switching latency.” Therefore, each TTI within the time window would be configured for UL transmission.
R2 page 11/19 includes the following conclusion:
… for UL transmissions and DL receptions across SBFD symbols and non-SBFD symbols in different slots (each transmission/reception within a slot has either all SBFD or all non-SBFD symbols), the following observations are agreed.
Option 1 can be achieved by gNB configuration or scheduling to ensure that all transmission/reception occasions are confined to either SBFD symbols or non-SBFD symbols. Alternatively, Option 1 can be achieved by additional indication or rules to determine the transmission/reception occasions are valid within one symbol type and are invalid within the other symbol type.
The frequency resources, power control and beam/spatial relation for all the transmission/reception occasions can be the same for Option 1 but may be different for Option 2. If different, it may require additional specification efforts.
Examiner interprets each slot as each interval based on applicant’s specification para. [0114] which states “one or more slots, symbols, or other intervals” thereby equating slots and symbols as intervals.)
Although Akl combined with R1 teach that each TTI within the time window would be configured for UL transmission, neither Akl for R1 teach that each TTI includes an uplink opportunity.
In the same field of endeavor, Mondet teaches “each TTI includes an uplink opportunity.” (Mondet teaches in paras. [0121]-[0124] that a UE may align data for uplink transmissions with granted uplink resources so that uplink transmission opportunities are not subject to delay, causing latency in data communications. Fig. 5B teaches aligning UL traffic with UL resources, which can take place in each slot, per Mondet para. [0150], which teaches that grant timing may have “slot-level accuracy”, as shown:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Akl with Mondet to teach each TTI includes an uplink opportunity. Each of Akl and Mondet are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Mondet with Akl in order to decrease latency for data transmissions as taught in Mondet para. [0124] and para. [0027].
Further, although Akl assumes that the configurations are TDD, Akl does NOT teach “signaling that indicates a duplexing configuration”
In the analogous art of 3GPP 6G/5G/NR wireless communications, R1 teaches “signaling that indicates a duplexing configuration”. (R1 also teaches on page 5/19 that dynamic SBFD via Option 3 may be achieved through non-scheduling DCI which indicates whether a symbol is SBFD. Therefore, duplexing is configured for each interval in SBFD).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Akl with R1 to teach signaling relative to “in each interval within the time window” and signaling that indicates a duplexing configuration”. Each of Akl and R1 are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of uplink transmission configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl and R1 in order to improve latency and throughput for transmissions as shown in R1, Figure 2 wherein different traffic load measurements show that it is beneficial to support dynamic SBFD.
Claims 2-4, 7, 8, 13, 17-19, 22 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akl and R1, further in view of International Pat. Pub. WO 2024/173373 to Sayed Ali Akbar Fakoorian et al. (hereinafter Fakoorian).
Regarding claim 2, Akl does NOT teach The method of claim 1, wherein the signaling includes a request to switch to a UE sub-band full-duplexing, partially overlapping full-duplexing, or fully overlapping full-duplexing mode for each interval within the time window. (Examiner notes that the “or” language negates a necessity of a teaching for each alternative)
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G/6G/NR wireless communications, Fakoorian teaches signaling includes a request to switch to a UE sub-band full-duplexing, partially overlapping full-duplexing, or fully overlapping full-duplexing mode for each interval within the time window. (Fakoorian teaches in para. [0122]-[0124] and Fig. 13 a UE transmitting a PUSCH in response to a configuration scheduling uplink transmissions across SBFD and non-SBFD symbols within a slot, which require the UE to operate in SBFD mode for the interval. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Akl with Fakoorian to teach signaling relative to “a request to switch to a UE sub-band full-duplexing, partially overlapping full-duplexing, or fully overlapping full-duplexing mode for each interval within the time window”. Each of Akl and Fakoorian are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of uplink transmission configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl and Fakoorian in order to improve latency and throughput for transmissions by enhancing resource allocation in the frequency and time domains to support UE operations across SBFD and non-SBFD symbols or slots as taught in Fakoorian para. [0003].
Regarding claim 3, Akl does NOT teach The method of claim 1, wherein the signaling includes a request to switch to an uplink-only half-duplexing mode for each interval within the time window.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G/6G/NR wireless communications, Fakoorian teaches wherein the signaling includes a request to switch to an uplink-only half-duplexing mode for each interval within the time window. (Fakoorian para. [0043] teaches support for uplink and downlink transmissions across sub-band frequency duplex (SBFD) symbols and non-SBFD symbols “when the base station dynamically switches between half-duplex TDD and full-duplex FDD operation that uses frequency sub-bands of the TDD band.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Akl with Fakoorian to teach signaling that includes a request to switch to an uplink-only half-duplexing mode. Each of Akl and Fakoorian are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of uplink transmission configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl and Fakoorian in order to improve latency and throughput for transmissions by enhancing resource allocation in the frequency and time domains to support UE operations across SBFD and non-SBFD symbols or slots as taught in Fakoorian para. [0003].
Regarding claim 4, Akl does NOT teach The method of claim 1, wherein the signaling includes a request to switch to a network node sub-band full-duplexing, partially overlapping full-duplexing, or fully overlapping full-duplexing mode for each interval within the time window.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G/6G/NR wireless communications, Fakoorian teaches wherein the signaling includes a request to switch to a network node sub-band full-duplexing, partially overlapping full-duplexing, or fully overlapping full-duplexing mode for each interval within the time window. (Fakoorian teaches in para. [0122] and Fig. 13 illustrates that a UE may respond to time-domain resources scheduled or transmitting uplink signals across SBFD and non-SBFD symbols and the uplink transmission occasion will be “within a time slot may span in time SBFD and non-SBFD symbols.”
.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Akl with Fakoorian to teach signaling that includes a request to switch to an uplink-only half-duplexing mode. Each of Akl and Fakoorian are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of uplink transmission configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl and Fakoorian in order to improve latency and throughput for transmissions by enhancing resource allocation in the frequency and time domains to support UE operations across SBFD and non-SBFD symbols or slots as taught in Fakoorian para. [0003].
Regarding claim 7, Akl does NOT teach The method of claim 6, further comprising: receiving, from the network node, one or more downlink communications during the time window in accordance with the duplexing configuration.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G/6G/NR wireless communications, Fakoorian teaches receiving, from the network node, one or more downlink communications during the time window in accordance with the duplexing configuration. (Fakoorian para. [0124] and Fig. 13, above, illustrates a UE receiving from the network node DL transmissions during the SBFD symbols that also include UL.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Akl with Fakoorian to teach receiving, from the network node, one or more downlink communications during the time window. Each of Akl and Fakoorian are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of uplink transmission configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl and Fakoorian in order to improve latency and throughput for transmissions by enhancing resource allocation in the frequency and time domains to support UE operations across SBFD and non-SBFD symbols or slots as taught in Fakoorian para. [0003].
Regarding claim 8, Akl does NOT teach The method of claim 6, wherein the signaling includes a request to switch to a UE sub-band full-duplexing, partially overlapping full-duplexing, or fully overlapping full-duplexing mode for each interval within the time window.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G/6G/NR wireless communications, R1 teaches wherein the signaling includes a request to switch to a UE sub-band full-duplexing, partially overlapping full-duplexing, or fully overlapping full-duplexing mode for each interval within the time window. (R1 teaches switching as “transition points” between SBFD and non-SBFD symbols from a subband configuration perspective on page 17/19, wherein within a TDD UL/DL pattern period a maximum of two switches or transition points can occur wherein the transition point “can be aligned within slot boundary or within a slot”. Examiner notes that “for each interval within the time window” is taught by slots in R1 due to applicant’s specification para. [0115] which equates interval with slot.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Akl with R1 to teach switching to a UE sub-band full-duplexing, partially overlapping full-duplexing, or fully overlapping full-duplexing mode for each interval within the time window. Each of Akl and R1 are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of transmission configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl and R1 in order to improve latency and throughput for transmissions as shown in R1, Figure 2 wherein different traffic load measurements show that it is beneficial to support dynamic SBFD.
Although R1 teaches transition points as a switch, neither R1 nor Akl teaches signaling between a UE and a network node for SBFD configurations.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G/6G/NR wireless communications, Fakoorian teaches “request to switch to a UE sub-band full-duplexing”. (Fakoorian para. [0126] teaches that uplink repetition occasions can be scheduled “within SBFD symbols”, as shown in Fig. 13, above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Akl with Fakoorian to teach a request to switch to UE sub-band full duplexing. Each of Akl and Fakoorian are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of uplink transmission configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl and Fakoorian in order to improve latency and throughput for transmissions by enhancing resource allocation in the frequency and time domains to support UE operations across SBFD and non-SBFD symbols or slots as taught in Fakoorian para. [0003].
Regarding claim 13, Akl does NOT teach The method of claim 1, wherein the time window is associated with a periodic pattern that includes multiple time windows associated with one or more of a variable length or a variable inter-window interval in each cycle.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Fakoorian teaches the time window is associated with a periodic pattern that includes multiple time windows associated with one or more of a variable length or a variable inter-window interval in each cycle. (Fakoorian Fig. 19, steps 1903 and 1905 teach that a UE receives scheduling information based on “scheduled intervals” associated with a periodic pattern for using SBFD in “a first interval and a second interval” than enable simultaneous uplink and downlinks in sub-bands as shown in Fig. 13, above. As shown in Fig. 13 multiple time windows include a variable inter-window interval for the downlink and uplink cycles shown as SBFD within the inter-window interval.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Akl with Fakoorian to teach a periodic pattern that includes multiple time windows associated with one or more of a variable length or a variable inter-window interval in each cycle. Each of Akl and Fakoorian are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of uplink transmission configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl and Fakoorian in order to improve latency and throughput for transmissions by enhancing resource allocation in the frequency and time domains to support UE operations across SBFD and non-SBFD symbols or slots as taught in Fakoorian para. [0003].
Regarding claim 17, Akl does NOT teach The method of claim 16, wherein the signaling includes a request to switch to a UE sub-band full-duplexing, partially overlapping full-duplexing, or fully overlapping full-duplexing mode for each interval within the time window. (Examiner notes that the “or” language negates a necessity of a teaching for each alternative)
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G/6G/NR wireless communications, Fakoorian teaches signaling includes a request to switch to a UE sub-band full-duplexing, partially overlapping full-duplexing, or fully overlapping full-duplexing mode for each interval within the time window. (Fakoorian teaches in para. [0122]-[0124] and Fig. 13 a UE transmitting a PUSCH in response to a configuration scheduling uplink transmissions across SBFD and non-SBFD symbols within a slot, which require the UE to operate in SBFD mode for the interval. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Akl with Fakoorian to teach signaling relative to “a request to switch to a UE sub-band full-duplexing, partially overlapping full-duplexing, or fully overlapping full-duplexing mode for each interval within the time window”. Each of Akl and Fakoorian are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of uplink transmission configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl and Fakoorian in order to improve latency and throughput for transmissions by enhancing resource allocation in the frequency and time domains to support UE operations across SBFD and non-SBFD symbols or slots as taught in Fakoorian para. [0003].
Regarding claim 18, Akl does NOT teach The method of claim 16, wherein the signaling includes a request to switch to an uplink-only half-duplexing mode for each interval within the time window.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G/6G/NR wireless communications, Fakoorian teaches wherein the signaling includes a request to switch to an uplink-only half-duplexing mode for each interval within the time window. (Fakoorian para. [0043] teaches support for uplink and downlink transmissions across sub-band frequency duplex (SBFD) symbols and non-SBFD symbols “when the base station dynamically switches between half-duplex TDD and full-duplex FDD operation that uses frequency sub-bands of the TDD band.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Akl with Fakoorian to teach signaling that includes a request to switch to an uplink-only half-duplexing mode. Each of Akl and Fakoorian are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of uplink transmission configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl and Fakoorian in order to improve latency and throughput for transmissions by enhancing resource allocation in the frequency and time domains to support UE operations across SBFD and non-SBFD symbols or slots as taught in Fakoorian para. [0003].
Regarding claim 19, Akl does NOT teach The method of claim 16, wherein the signaling includes a request to switch to a network node sub-band full-duplexing, partially overlapping full-duplexing, or fully overlapping full-duplexing mode for each interval within the time window.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G/6G/NR wireless communications, Fakoorian teaches wherein the signaling includes a request to switch to a network node sub-band full-duplexing, partially overlapping full-duplexing, or fully overlapping full-duplexing mode for each interval within the time window. (Fakoorian teaches in para. [0122] and Fig. 13 illustrates that a UE may respond to time-domain resources scheduled or transmitting uplink signals across SBFD and non-SBFD symbols and the uplink transmission occasion will be “within a time slot may span in time SBFD and non-SBFD symbols.”
.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Akl with Fakoorian to teach signaling that includes a request to switch to an uplink-only half-duplexing mode. Each of Akl and Fakoorian are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of uplink transmission configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl and Fakoorian in order to improve latency and throughput for transmissions by enhancing resource allocation in the frequency and time domains to support UE operations across SBFD and non-SBFD symbols or slots as taught in Fakoorian para. [0003].
Regarding claim 22, Akl does NOT teach The method of claim 20, wherein the signaling includes a request to switch to a UE sub-band full-duplexing, partially overlapping full-duplexing, or fully overlapping full-duplexing mode for each interval within the time window. (Examiner notes that the “or” language negates a necessity of a teaching for each alternative)
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G/6G/NR wireless communications, Fakoorian teaches signaling includes a request to switch to a UE sub-band full-duplexing, partially overlapping full-duplexing, or fully overlapping full-duplexing mode for each interval within the time window. (Fakoorian teaches in para. [0122]-[0124] and Fig. 13 a UE transmitting a PUSCH in response to a configuration scheduling uplink transmissions across SBFD and non-SBFD symbols within a slot, which require the UE to operate in SBFD mode for the interval.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Akl with Fakoorian to teach signaling relative to “a request to switch to a UE sub-band full-duplexing, partially overlapping full-duplexing, or fully overlapping full-duplexing mode for each interval within the time window”. Each of Akl and Fakoorian are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of uplink transmission configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl and Fakoorian in order to improve latency and throughput for transmissions by enhancing resource allocation in the frequency and time domains to support UE operations across SBFD and non-SBFD symbols or slots as taught in Fakoorian para. [0003].
Regarding claim 26, Akl does NOT teach The method of claim 16, wherein the time window is associated with a periodic pattern that includes multiple time windows associated with one or more of a variable length or a variable inter-window interval in each cycle.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G/6G/NR wireless communications, Fakoorian teaches wherein the time window is associated with a periodic pattern that includes multiple time windows associated with one or more of a variable length or a variable inter-window interval in each cycle. (Fakoorian Fig. 19, steps 1903 and 1905 teach that a UE receives scheduling information based on “scheduled intervals” associated with a periodic pattern for using SBFD in “a first interval and a second interval” than enable simultaneous uplink and downlinks in sub-bands as shown in Fig. 13, above. As shown in Fig. 13 multiple time windows include a variable inter-window interval for the downlink and uplink cycles shown as SBFD within the inter-window interval.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Akl with Fakoorian to teach a periodic pattern that includes multiple time windows associated with one or more of a variable length or a variable inter-window interval in each cycle. Each of Akl and Fakoorian are in the field of wireless communications and in the field of uplink transmission configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl and Fakoorian in order to improve latency and throughput for transmissions by enhancing resource allocation in the frequency and time domains to support UE operations across SBFD and non-SBFD symbols or slots as taught in Fakoorian para. [0003].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akl in view of R1 further in view of US Pat Pub. 20220124750 to Ahmedul Quadir et al. (hereinafter Quadir).
Regarding claim 10, Akl does NOT teach The method of claim 6, further comprising: predicting the estimated downlink traffic pattern during the time window according to a downlink reception history.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Quadir teaches predicting the estimated downlink traffic pattern during the time window according to a downlink reception history. (Quadir teaches in para. [0036] that hardware utilization limitations may reflect the uplink/downlink traffic pattern and teaches dynamic hardware utilization limits, where the balance between uplink and downlink is determined by a traffic pattern history during recent TTIs.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Akl with Quadir to teach predicting the estimated downlink traffic pattern during the time window according to a downlink reception history. Each of Akl and Quadir are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl with Quadir in order to utilize hardware resources mor efficiently as taught in Quadir para. [0036].
Claims 14, 15, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akl in view of R1 further in view of 3GPP TS 38.214 V18.0.0 (2023-09) (hereinafter TS 38.214).
Regarding claim 14, Akl does NOT teach The method of claim 1, wherein the signaling indicates the time window according to an index associated with a starting interval and one or more of a length or an index associated with an ending interval.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, TS 38.214 teaches wherein the signaling indicates the time window according to an index associated with a starting interval and one or more of a length or an index associated with an ending interval. (TS 38.214 teaches in page 16, section 5.1.2 1, (and similarly in 6.1.2 for uplink) “When the UE is scheduled to receive PDSCH by a DCI, the Time domain resource assignment field value m for the scheduled PDSCH on the serving cell provides a row index m + 1 to a resource allocation table. The determination of the used resource allocation table is defined in Clause 5.1.2.1.1. The indexed row defines the slot offset K0, the start and length indicator SLIV, or directly the start symbol S and the allocation length L, and the PDSCH mapping type to be assumed in the PDSCH reception.” Therefore a SLIV teaches a length and an index for time windows.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine TS 38.214 with Akl to teach a time window according to an index associated with a starting interval and one or more of a length or an index associated with an ending interval. Each of Akl and TS 38.214 are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl with TS 38.214 in order to allocate resources according to 3GPP specifications and enable a resource allocation mechanism wherein a DCI field indexes uplink and downlink timing transmissions in a compact efficient via signaling as taught in TS 38.214 section 5.1.2 1 through the use of the SLIV.
Regarding claim 15, Akl does NOT teach The method of claim 1, wherein the signaling indicates the time window according to an index associated with a half-duplexing or full-duplexing pattern.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, TS 38.214 teaches signaling indicates the time window according to an index associated with a half-duplexing or full-duplexing pattern. (TS 38.214 Section 6.1.2.3, page 194, for example teaches uplink transmissions with a configured grant, “For PUSCH transmissions with a Type 1 or Type 2 configured grant, the number of (nominal) repetitions K to be applied to the transmitted transport block is provided by the indexed row in the time domain resource allocation table if numberOfRepetitions is present in the table; otherwise K is provided by the higher layer configured parameters repK.” and for Type 2 “MappingPattern in ConfiguredGrantConfig as defined in Clause 6.1.2.1 for PUSCH scheduled by DCI format 0_1 and 0_2.”
Therefore, a time window according to a configured grant will have an index. Further, for reduced capacity UEs operating at half-duplex page 196 teaches that the UE “shall repeat the TB across N * K consecutive slots”. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine TS 38.214 with Akl to teach a time window according to an index. Each of Akl and TS 38.214 are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl with TS 38.214 in order to allocate resources according to 3GPP specifications and enable a resource allocation mechanism wherein a DCI field indexes uplink and downlink timing transmissions in a compact efficient via signaling as taught in TS 38.214 section 5.1.2 1 and 6.1.2 et seq.
Regarding claim 27, Akl does NOT teach The method of claim 16, wherein the signaling indicates the time window according to an index associated with a starting interval and one or more of a length or an index associated with an ending interval.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, TS 38.214 teaches wherein the signaling indicates the time window according to an index associated with a starting interval and one or more of a length or an index associated with an ending interval. (TS 38.214 teaches in page 16, section 5.1.2 1, (and similarly in 6.1.2 for uplink) “When the UE is scheduled to receive PDSCH by a DCI, the Time domain resource assignment field value m for the scheduled PDSCH on the serving cell provides a row index m + 1 to a resource allocation table. The determination of the used resource allocation table is defined in Clause 5.1.2.1.1. The indexed row defines the slot offset K0, the start and length indicator SLIV, or directly the start symbol S and the allocation length L, and the PDSCH mapping type to be assumed in the PDSCH reception.” Therefore a SLIV teaches a length and an index for time windows.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine TS 38.214 with Akl to teach a time window according to an index associated with a starting interval and one or more of a length or an index associated with an ending interval. Each of Akl and TS 38.214 are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl with TS 38.214 in order to allocate resources according to 3GPP specifications and enable a resource allocation mechanism wherein a DCI field indexes uplink and downlink timing transmissions in a compact efficient via signaling as taught in TS 38.214 section 5.1.2 1 through the use of the SLIV.
Regarding claim 28, Akl does NOT teach The method of claim 16, wherein the signaling indicates the time window according to an index associated with a half-duplexing or full-duplexing pattern.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, TS 38.214 teaches signaling indicates the time window according to an index associated with a half-duplexing or full-duplexing pattern. (TS 38.214 Section 6.1.2.3, page 194, for example teaches uplink transmissions with a configured grant, “For PUSCH transmissions with a Type 1 or Type 2 configured grant, the number of (nominal) repetitions K to be applied to the transmitted transport block is provided by the indexed row in the time domain resource allocation table if numberOfRepetitions is present in the table; otherwise K is provided by the higher layer configured parameters repK.” and for Type 2 “MappingPattern in ConfiguredGrantConfig as defined in Clause 6.1.2.1 for PUSCH scheduled by DCI format 0_1 and 0_2.” Therefore, a time window according to a configured grant will have an index. Further, for reduced capacity UEs operating at half-duplex page 196 teaches that the UE “shall repeat the TB across N * K consecutive slots”. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine TS 38.214 with Akl to teach a time window according to an index. Each of Akl and TS 38.214 are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Akl with TS 38.214 in order to allocate resources according to 3GPP specifications and enable a resource allocation mechanism wherein a DCI field indexes uplink and downlink timing transmissions in a compact efficient via signaling as taught in TS 38.214 section 5.1.2 1 and 6.1.2 et seq.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARGARET MARIE ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2412
/CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412