DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the claims received on 9/16/2026.
Communications via email (MPEP 502.03)
In order to advance prosecution of the instant application, the Applicants are invited to file a form PTO/SB/439, and to include, in their response, the Applicants’ contact telephone number and e-mail address:
http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf
Examiner's Recommendations
The following are suggestions for the Applicants to overcome the rejections in the current office action; however, an additional search would be required in order to determine allowability. The disclosure enables this suggestion in Fig. 7 of the drawings. The dependent claims would have to be amended in a way that matches the terminology of the following:
1. (Currently Amended) An apparatus for wireless communication at an access, connection, and mobility service (ACMS), comprising:
one or more memories; and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the ACMS to:
receive, by the ACMS, from a topology management service (TMS), signaling indicating managed by the TMS;
transmit, by the ACMS, to a user equipment (UE), a measurement configuration;
receive, by the ACMS, from the UE, a measurement report;
transmit, by the ACMS, to a user equipment (UE), a request for a cell global identification (CGI) report;
receive, by the ACMS, from the UE, a CGI report;
aggregate, by the ACMS, a plurality of measurement reports and CGI reports;
transmit, by the ACMS, to the TMS, the aggregated report; and
receive, by the ACMS, from the TMS, configuration information for the
18. (Currently Amended) An apparatus for wireless communication at a topology management service (TMS), comprising:
one or more memories; and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the TMS to:
transmit, by the TMS, to an access, connection, and mobility service (ACMS), signaling indicating managed by the TMS;
transmit, by the ACMS, to a user equipment (UE), a measurement configuration;
receive, by the ACMS, from the UE, a measurement report;
transmit, by the ACMS, to a user equipment (UE), a request for a cell global identification (CGI) report;
receive, by the ACMS, from the UE, a CGI report;
aggregate, by the ACMS, a plurality of measurement reports and CGI reports;
receive, by the TMS, from the ACMS, the aggregated report; and
transmit, by the TMS, to the ACMS, configuration information for the
29. (Currently Amended) A method of wireless communication performed by an access, connection, and mobility service (ACMS), comprising:
receiving, by the ACMS, from a topology management service (TMS), signaling indicating managed by the TMS;
transmitting, by the ACMS, to a user equipment (UE), a measurement configuration;
receiving, by the ACMS, from the UE, a measurement report;
transmitting, by the ACMS, to a user equipment (UE), a request for a cell global identification (CGI) report;
receiving, by the ACMS, from the UE, a CGI report;
aggregating, by the ACMS, a plurality of measurement reports and CGI reports;
transmitting, by the ACMS, to the TMS, the aggregated report; and
receiving, by the ACMS, from the TMS, configuration information for the
30. (Currently Amended) A method of wireless communication performed by a topology management service (TMS), the method comprising:
transmitting, by the TMS, to an access, connection, and mobility service (ACMS), signaling indicating managed by the TMS;
transmitting, by the ACMS, to a user equipment (UE), a measurement configuration;
receiving, by the ACMS, from the UE, a measurement report;
transmitting, by the ACMS, to a user equipment (UE), a request for a cell global identification (CGI) report;
receiving, by the ACMS, from the UE, a CGI report;
aggregating, by the ACMS, a plurality of measurement reports and CGI reports;
receiving, by the TMS, from the ACMS, the aggregated report; and
transmitting, by the TMS, to the ACMS, configuration information for the
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 is interpreted as follows. The limitations of the remaining independent claims are similar to claim 1: 1. An apparatus for wireless communication at a first network entity, comprising:
one or more memories; and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the first network entity to:
receive, from a second network entity, signaling (claimed "receive, from a second network entity, signaling" does not comprise functional language as explained in MPEP 2181; claimed "signaling" is not a generic placeholder or a replacement for "means") indicating an enhanced distributed unit (eDU) that is associated with (claimed "associated with" is very broad, and can be met by any type of association in a reference) the second network entity, wherein the eDU comprises a transceiver (the claimed eDU comprising a transceiver, as amended, is no longer a replacement for “means”), or (claimed "OR" establishes that this claim has alternative requirements, as explained in MPEP 2173.05(h) "alternative limitations") indicating a cell that is associated with (claimed "associated with" is very broad, as previously explained) the second network entity;
transmit, to the second network entity, information (claimed "transmit, to the second network entity, information" does not comprise functional language as explained in MPEP 2181; claimed "information" is not a generic placeholder or a replacement for "means") associated with (claimed "associated with" is very broad, as previously explained) the eDU or the cell, wherein the information is associated with (claimed "associated with" is very broad, as previously explained) a measurement related to a user equipment (UE) served by the eDU or the cell; and
receive, from the second network entity, configuration (claimed "receive, from the second network entity, configuration" does not comprise functional language as explained in MPEP 2181; claimed "configuration" is not a generic placeholder or a replacement for "means") information for the eDU or the cell.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with regards to claims and rejection analysis have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Argument 1: Applicants argue, on page 13, that Applicant respectfully submits that AWADA does not disclose each and every feature recited in amended claim 1. For example, AWADA does not disclose "receive, from a second network entity, signaling indicating an enhanced distributed unit (eDU) that is associated with the second network entity, wherein the eDU comprises a transceiver, or indicating a cell that is associated with the second network entity," as recited in amended claim 1. The Office Action relies on paragraphs 102-106 of AWADA for allegedly disclosing "receive, from a second network entity, signaling indicating an enhanced distributed unit (eDU) or a cell that is associated with the second network entity," as recited in previously presented claim 1. See Office Action, page 21. Instead, the cited portions of AWADA recite "UE is served by a serving cell operated by gNB-DU1. UE transmits a L3 measurement report via the serving cell (OPERATION 1 of FIG. 2). DU1 forwards the L3 measurement report to the gNB-CU1 associated with DU1 (OPERATION 2 of FIG. 2). Based on the L3 measurement report, CU1 decides to prepare a cell operated by another distributed unit gNB-DU2 for L1/2 inter-cell mobility." See AWADA, paragraph 102. AWADA further states "non-serving DU2 provides the L1/2 intercell mobility information to CU1 as part of non-UE associated signaling (i.e. before CU1 receives the L3 measurement report for UE). For example, non-serving DU2 may include the L1/2 intercell mobility information in a message." See id, paragraph 105.
Examiner’s response to Argument 1: The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ argument, because in response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of Applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which Applicant relies (listed below) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In this case, Argument 1 relies on unclaimed features which would, arguably, exclude or rule out a reference teaching the argued "UE is served by a serving cell operated by gNB-DU1. UE transmits a L3 measurement report via the serving cell (OPERATION 1 of FIG. 2). DU1 forwards the L3 measurement report to the gNB-CU1 associated with DU1 (OPERATION 2 of FIG. 2). Based on the L3 measurement report, CU1 decides to prepare a cell operated by another distributed unit gNB-DU2 for L1/2 inter-cell mobility", or the argued "non-serving DU2 provides the L1/2 intercell mobility information to CU1 as part of non-UE associated signaling (i.e. before CU1 receives the L3 measurement report for UE). For example, non-serving DU2 may include the L1/2 intercell mobility information in a message." Therefore, in contrast with the Applicants’ Argument 1, Awada teaches receive (by DU1, represented in Awada Fig. 2, which operates the serving cell), from a second network entity (Awada Fig. 2: CU1), signaling (Awada par. 109-110 in reference to Fig. 3: in operation 1, DU1 – the DU operating the cell serving the UE - receives from CU1 a CSI Configuration Request message requesting information about L1/2 mobility measurement reporting configuration in the serving cell, and information about serving cell resources for L1/2 inter-cell mobility measurements in the serving cell) indicating an enhanced distributed unit (eDU, not required) that is associated with the second network entity (not required), wherein the eDU comprises a transceiver (not required), or indicating a cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure; as previously demonstrated, Awada's operation 1 of Fig. 3 indicates the serving cell) that is associated with the second network entity (Awada Fig. 2: CU1. Claimed "associated with" is met because the associated elements are all described in par. 102-117 in reference to the same signaling diagrams of Figs. 2, 3).
Argument 2: Applicants argue, on page 14, that thus, as discussed during the interview, AWADA describes a CU preparing a cell operated by another non-serving distributed unit. The non-serving DU can provide L1/L2 mobility information to the CU. However, a non-serving DU indicating mobility information to a CU, as described in AWADA, does not disclose or suggest "receive, from a second network entity, signaling indicating an enhanced distributed unit (eDU) that is associated with the second network entity, wherein the eDU comprises a transceiver, or indicating a cell that is associated with the second network entity," as recited in amended claim 1 (emphasis added)
Examiner’s response to Argument 2: The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ argument, because in response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of Applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which Applicant relies (listed below) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In this case, Argument 2 relies on unclaimed features which would, arguably, exclude or rule out a reference teaching the argued "a CU preparing a cell operated by another non-serving distributed unit. The non-serving DU can provide L1/L2 mobility information to the CU", or the argued "a non-serving DU indicating mobility information to a CU" Therefore, in contrast with the Applicants’ Argument 2, Awada teaches receive (by DU1, represented in Awada Fig. 2, which operates the serving cell), from a second network entity (Awada Fig. 2: CU1), signaling (Awada par. 109-110 in reference to Fig. 3: in operation 1, DU1 – the DU operating the cell serving the UE - receives from CU1 a CSI Configuration Request message requesting information about L1/2 mobility measurement reporting configuration in the serving cell, and information about serving cell resources for L1/2 inter-cell mobility measurements in the serving cell) indicating an enhanced distributed unit (eDU, not required) that is associated with the second network entity (not required), wherein the eDU comprises a transceiver (not required), or indicating a cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure; as previously demonstrated, Awada's operation 1 of Fig. 3 indicates the serving cell) that is associated with the second network entity (Awada Fig. 2: CU1. Claimed "associated with" is met because the associated elements are all described in par. 102-117 in reference to the same signaling diagrams of Figs. 2, 3).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure: Chou et al (patent number 11617118), hereinafter Chou, teaches a 5G gNB that hosts both a provisioning service and an mobility robustness optimization (MRO) function in a distributed self-organizing network (D-SON). A central management function sends service-based requests to the gNB to set MRO targets, handover-parameter ranges, and an enable/disable control. The gNB applies those settings and turns on the MRO function. The MRO function then monitors handover behavior and related reports. If performance does not meet the configured targets, the system updates the attributes to improve performance. The targets described include handover-failure-rate goals, including intra-RAT and inter-RAT failure rates. The overall goal is to reduce failed or unnecessary handovers and improve user experience.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Joint Inventors, Common Ownership Presumed
Test for Obviousness
Claims 1-2, 4-11, 13-19, 21-27, 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awada et al (publication number 2025/0113259), hereinafter Awada.
Awada teaches in par. 102-108 in reference to the signaling diagram of Fig. 2, a handover process as follows:
The terms and acronyms used by Awada are explained below:
Par. 93: gNB central unit (gNB-CU).
Par. 95: NG-RAN gNB (5G base station) distributed units (gNB-DU); Layer 1/2 (L1/2); RRC (Radio Resource Control); RLC (Radio Link Control).
Par. 97: “User equipment” (UE).
Par. 103: CSI (Channel State Information).
Awada Fig. 2, as described in par. 103, represents on the left side a UE which is served by a serving cell. The serving cell is operated by gNB-DU1. DU2 operates the target cell. Fig 2 represents the UE, DU1, DU2, CU1. Awada's Fig. 2 doesn't display the serving cell and the target cells; however, Awada does describe the roles of the serving and target cells, in combination with the UE, DU1, DU2, CU1, in the process of Fig. 2. Awada describes variations of the method of Fig. 2 in the signaling diagrams of Figs. 3-7 which also involve the same serving and target cells in combination with the same UE, DU1, DU2, CU1.
Awada describes, also in par. 103, an information element represented in Fig. 11. The information element (IE) includes: (a) the information received from DU2 via CU1 about L1/2 mobility measurement resources in the target cell (e.g. CSI Resource Configuration for the target cell) and about operation in the target cell in the event of a L1/2 handover to the target cell (e.g. TCI (Transmission Configuration Indicator) state information for the target cell); (b) information about L1/2 mobility measurement resources (CSI resource configuration) in the serving cell; and (c) information about reporting L1/2 mobility measurement results via the serving cell to DU1 (e.g. CSI reporting configuration).
Regarding claim 1, Awada teaches (please refer to Awada's signaling diagram of Fig. 2 described in par. 102-108) an apparatus (processor 902 in Awada par. 134: FIG. 9 illustrates an example of an apparatus for implementing gNB-DU functionality or gNB-CU functionality. The apparatus may include at least one processor 902") for wireless communication at a first network entity (Awada Fig. 2: DU1 which operates the serving cell), comprising:
one or more memories (Awada par. 134: memory 906); and
one or more processors (Awada par. 134: processor 902), coupled to the one or more memories (Awada par. 134: memory 906), configured to cause the first network entity (Awada Fig. 2: DU1 which operates the serving cell) to:
receive (by DU1, represented in Awada Fig. 2, which operates the serving cell), from a second network entity (Awada Fig. 2: CU1), signaling (Awada par. 109-110 in reference to Fig. 3: in operation 1, DU1 – the DU operating the cell serving the UE - receives from CU1 a CSI Configuration Request message requesting information about L1/2 mobility measurement reporting configuration in the serving cell, and information about serving cell resources for L1/2 inter-cell mobility measurements in the serving cell) indicating an enhanced distributed unit (eDU, not required) that is associated with the second network entity (not required), wherein the eDU comprises a transceiver (not required), or indicating a cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure; as previously demonstrated, Awada's operation 1 of Fig. 3 indicates the serving cell) that is associated with the second network entity (Awada Fig. 2: CU1. Claimed "associated with" is met because the associated elements are all described in par. 102-117 in reference to the same signaling diagrams of Figs. 2, 3);
transmit (by DU1, represented in Awada Fig. 2, which operates the serving cell), to the second network entity (Awada Fig. 2: CU1), information (Awada Fig. 2 operation 2: "2: L3 Measurement Report") associated with (Claimed "associated with" is met because the associated elements are all described in par. 102-117 in reference to the same signaling diagrams of Figs. 2, 3) the eDU (not required) or the cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure), wherein the information is associated with (Claimed "associated with" is met because the associated elements are all described in par. 102-117 in reference to the same signaling diagrams of Figs. 2, 3) a measurement related to a user equipment (UE, UE represented in Awada Fig. 2. Par. 103 explains that the UE transmits, in operation 1, a L3 measurement report via the serving cell; DU1 forwards the L3 measurement report to the gNB-CU1 associated with DU1. All elements described in par. 102-108 are associated with each other because they all belong to the same process of Fig. 2) served by the eDU or the cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure; Awada par. 103 in reference to Fig. 2: "UE is served by a serving cell operated by gNB-DU1"); and
receive (by DU1, represented in Awada Fig. 2, which operates the serving cell), from the second network entity (Awada Fig. 2: CU1), configuration information (Awada par. 103 in reference to Fig. 2: in operation 9, CU1 sends the information element "IE" in a L3 RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE via DU1 and the serving cell. The information element "IE" includes CSI resource configuration information about L1/2 mobility measurement resources in the serving cell operated by DU1) for the eDU (not required) or the cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure).
The first embodiment of Awada does not explicitly teach why the information element in operation 9 of Fig. 2 comprises claimed "configuration information".
However, a second embodiment of Awada teaches (please refer to the information element represented in Awada Fig. 11 described in par. 103): configuration information (FIG. 11 shows a representation of an example information element, which includes (b) information about L1/2 mobility measurement resources (CSI resource configuration) in the serving cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of the first embodiment of Awada, by making sure that the RRC reconfiguration message from CU1 to the UE via DU1 and the serving cell includes the information element "IE" which includes information about L1/2 mobility measurement resources (CSI resource configuration) in the serving cell, as suggested by the second embodiment of Awada, in order to optimize a comparison of the serving and target cells at DU1 for deciding on cell change, in order to facilitate L1/L2 handover between cells operated by different gNB-Dus, in order to facilitate a decision at the serving cell DU about whether to change the UE from the serving cell to a target cell, avoiding a risk of an inaccurate L1/L2 mobility decision at the serving gNB-DU (Awada par. 129-132). This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim 2, Awada teaches wherein the first network entity (Awada Fig. 2: DU1 which operates the serving cell) comprises a service (Awada par. 100: 5G service) associated with connection management and mobility management (Awada par. 96: Each gNB-CU is connected to a core network user plane function (UPF), for providing connectivity of devices to one or more external packet data networks (DN), and to an access mobility management function (AMF) for controlling access and mobility of user equipments) of the UE served by the eDU or the cell (Awada Fig. 2, as described in par. 103: UE which is served by the serving cell operated by DU1).
Regarding claim 4, Awada teaches transmit, to the UE served by the eDU or the cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure; Awada par. 103 in reference to Fig. 2: "UE is served by a serving cell operated by gNB-DU1"), second configuration information for the UE (Awada par. 111 in reference to Fig. 3: in operation 10, CU1 sends the information element in a L3 RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE via DU1 and the serving cell), wherein the second configuration information for the UE corresponds to the configuration information for the eDU or the cell (Awada par. 103 in reference to Fig. 2: in operation 9, CU1 sends the information element "IE" in a L3 RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE via DU1 and the serving cell. The information element "IE" includes CSI resource configuration information about L1/2 mobility measurement resources in the serving cell operated by DU1).
Regarding claim 5, Awada teaches wherein the one or more processors (Awada par. 134: processor 902), to cause the first network entity (Awada Fig. 2: DU1 which operates the serving cell) to transmit the second configuration information to the UE (Awada par. 111 in reference to Fig. 3: in operation 10, CU1 sends the information element in a L3 RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE via DU1 and the serving cell), are configured to cause the first network entity (Awada Fig. 2: DU1 which operates the serving cell) to transmit the second configuration information via at least one of radio resource control signaling (Awada par. 111 in reference to Fig. 3: in operation 10, CU1 sends the information element in a L3 RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE via DU1 and the serving cell), medium access control signaling, or downlink control information signaling.
Regarding claim 6, Awada teaches wherein the second configuration information (Awada par. 111 in reference to Fig. 3: in operation 10, CU1 sends the information element in a L3 RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE via DU1 and the serving cell) comprises at least one of a cell-specific offset for mobility, a random access channel configuration, a self-organizing network configuration (Awada par. 99: autonomic self-healing networks), or a minimization of drive test reporting configuration.
Regarding claim 7, Awada teaches wherein the one or more processors (Awada par. 134: processor 902) are further configured to cause the first network entity (Awada Fig. 2: DU1 which operates the serving cell) to: receive, from the UE, an indication of the measurement performed by the UE (UE represented in Awada Fig. 2. Par. 103 explains that the UE transmits, in operation 1, a L3 measurement report via the serving cell; DU1 forwards the L3 measurement report to the gNB-CU1 associated with DU1. All elements described in par. 102-108 are associated with each other because they all belong to the same process of Fig. 2), wherein transmitting the information to the second network entity (Awada Fig. 2: CU1) is in response to receiving the indication from the UE (Awada Fig. 2: operation 2 is clearly in response to operation 1).
Regarding claim 8, Awada teaches wherein the configuration information for the eDU or the cell (Awada par. 103 in reference to Fig. 2: in operation 9, CU1 sends the information element "IE" in a L3 RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE via DU1 and the serving cell. The information element "IE" includes CSI resource configuration information about L1/2 mobility measurement resources in the serving cell operated by DU1) comprises a policy associated with at least one of the first network entity, the eDU, the cell (claimed "policy associated with the cell" equates to "configuration" in Awada par. 103 in reference to Fig. 2: in operation 9, CU1 sends the information element "IE" in a L3 RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE via DU1 and the serving cell. The information element "IE" includes CSI resource configuration information about L1/2 mobility measurement resources in the serving cell operated by DU1), or the UE served by the eDU or the cell.
Regarding claim 9, Awada teaches wherein the signaling indicating the eDU or the cell (Awada par. 109-110 in reference to Fig. 3: in operation 1, DU1 – the DU operating the cell serving the UE - receives from CU1 a CSI Configuration Request message requesting information about L1/2 mobility measurement reporting configuration in the serving cell, and information about serving cell resources for L1/2 inter-cell mobility measurements in the serving cell) comprises at least one of an identifier of the eDU, an identifier of the cell (identified in Awada par. 103 as "serving cell operated by gNB-DU1"), a public land mobile network identifier, a non public network identifier, a fully qualified domain name, a location identifier, a geographical position or geographical area identifier, a tracking area identifier, or a radio access network notification area identifier.
Regarding claim 10, Awada teaches wherein the information (Awada Fig. 2: "2: L3 Measurement Report") associated with (Claimed "associated with" is met because the associated elements are all described in par. 102-117 in reference to the same signaling diagrams of Figs. 2, 3) the eDU (not required) or the cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure) comprises at least one of a handover measurement associated the cell (Par. 103 explains in reference to Fig. 2 that the UE transmits, in operation 1, a L3 measurement report via the serving cell; DU1 forwards the L3 measurement report to the gNB-CU1 associated with DU1) and a second cell (Awada par. 103: target cell operated by DU2. All elements described in par. 102-108 are associated with each other because they all belong to the same process of Fig. 2. Awada par. 110: Based on the L3 measurement report, CU1 decides to prepare a cell operated by DU2 for a possible L1/2 inter-cell handover in OPERATION 6 of FIG. 3), a handover matrix associated with the cell and the second cell, an indication of handover failure occurring between the cell and the second cell, an indication of radio link failure occurring at the cell, a self-organizing network report, or a minimization of drive test report.
Regarding claim 11, Awada teaches wherein the information (Awada Fig. 2: "2: L3 Measurement Report") associated with (Claimed "associated with" is met because the associated elements are all described in par. 102-117 in reference to the same signaling diagrams of Figs. 2, 3) the eDU (not required) or the cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure) is based at least in part on measurements performed by a plurality of UEs served by the eDU or the cell, measurements performed by a subset of UEs served by the eDU or the cell, or one measurement performed by a single UE (Par. 103 explains in reference to Fig. 2 that the UE transmits, in operation 1, a L3 measurement report via the serving cell; DU1 forwards the L3 measurement report to the gNB-CU1 associated with DU1).
Regarding claim 13, Awada teaches wherein the configuration information (Awada par. 103 in reference to Fig. 2: in operation 9, CU1 sends the information element "IE" in a L3 RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE via DU1 and the serving cell. The information element "IE" includes CSI resource configuration information about L1/2 mobility measurement resources in the serving cell operated by DU1) for the eDU (not required) or the cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure) comprises configuration information for one eDU, the cell (Awada par. 103 in reference to Fig. 2: The information element "IE" includes CSI resource configuration information about L1/2 mobility measurement resources in the serving cell operated by DU1), or the UE served by the eDU or the cell.
Regarding claim 14, Awada teaches wherein the one or more processors (Awada par. 134: processor 902), to cause the first network entity (Awada Fig. 2: DU1 which operates the serving cell) to receive the signaling (Awada par. 109-110 in reference to Fig. 3: in operation 1, DU1 – the DU operating the cell serving the UE - receives from CU1 a CSI Configuration Request message requesting information about L1/2 mobility measurement reporting configuration in the serving cell, and information about serving cell resources for L1/2 inter-cell mobility measurements in the serving cell), are configured to cause the first network entity (Awada Fig. 2: DU1 which operates the serving cell) to:
receive the signaling in response to transmitting, to the second network entity, a request for the signaling indicating the eDU or the cell; or
receive the signaling (Awada par. 109-110 in reference to Fig. 3: in operation 1, DU1 – the DU operating the cell serving the UE - receives from CU1 a CSI Configuration Request message requesting information about L1/2 mobility measurement reporting configuration in the serving cell, and information about serving cell resources for L1/2 inter-cell mobility measurements in the serving cell) without transmitting, to the second network entity, the request for the signaling indicating the eDU or the cell (Awada Fig. 3 operation 1 is the first operation of the signaling diagram, which suggests that operation 1 is not a response to a request).
Regarding claim 15, it recites "15. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the eDU comprises a service associated with lower layer functionalities in a radio access network." However, claimed “eDU” doesn’t limit the claim, and isn’t required, because it is alternative to another element already taught by prior art in the independent claim.
Regarding claim 16, Awada teaches wherein the one or more processors (Awada par. 134: processor 902), to cause the first network entity (Awada Fig. 2: DU1 which operates the serving cell) to transmit the information (Awada Fig. 2 operation 2: "2: L3 Measurement Report"), are configured to cause the first network entity (Awada Fig. 2: DU1 which operates the serving cell) to:
transmit the signaling in response to receiving, from the second network entity, a request for the information associated with the eDU or the cell; or
transmit the signaling (Awada Fig. 2 operation 2: "2: L3 Measurement Report") without receiving, from the second network entity (Awada Fig. 2: CU1), the request for the information associated with the eDU or the cell (Awada Fig. 2 operation 2 is consequence of operation 1; operation 1 is not a request from CU1).
Regarding claim 17, Awada teaches wherein the one or more processors (Awada par. 134: processor 902), to cause the first network entity (Awada Fig. 2: DU1 which operates the serving cell) to receive the configuration information (Awada par. 103 in reference to Fig. 2: in operation 9, CU1 sends the information element "IE" in a L3 RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE via DU1 and the serving cell. The information element "IE" includes CSI resource configuration information about L1/2 mobility measurement resources in the serving cell operated by DU1), are configured to cause the first network entity to:
receive the signaling in response to transmitting, to the second network entity, a request for the configuration information for the eDU or the cell; or
receive the signaling (Awada par. 103 in reference to Fig. 2: in operation 9, CU1 sends the information element "IE" in a L3 RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE via DU1 and the serving cell. The information element "IE" includes CSI resource configuration information about L1/2 mobility measurement resources in the serving cell operated by DU1) without transmitting, to the second network entity (Awada Fig. 2: CU1), the request for the configuration information for the eDU or the cell (Fig. 2 operation 9 is not a response to a request sent to CU1).
Regarding claim 18, Awada teaches (please refer to Awada's signaling diagram of Fig. 2 described in par. 102-108) an apparatus (processor 902 in Awada par. 134: FIG. 9 illustrates an example of an apparatus for implementing gNB-DU functionality or gNB-CU functionality. The apparatus may include at least one processor 902") for wireless communication at a first network entity (CU1 in Awada Fig. 2), comprising:
one or more memories (Awada par. 134: memory 906); and
one or more processors (Awada par. 134: processor 902), coupled to the one or more memories (Awada par. 134: memory 906), configured to cause the first network entity (CU1 in Awada Fig. 2) to:
transmit (by CU1 represented in Awada Fig. 2), to a second network entity (Awada Fig. 2: DU1 which operates the serving cell), signaling (Awada par. 109-110 in reference to Fig. 3: in operation 1, DU1 – the DU operating the cell serving the UE - receives from CU1 a CSI Configuration Request message requesting information about L1/2 mobility measurement reporting configuration in the serving cell, and information about serving cell resources for L1/2 inter-cell mobility measurements in the serving cell) indicating an enhanced distributed unit (eDU, not required) that is associated with the second network entity (not required), wherein the eDU comprises a transceiver (not required), or indicating a cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure) that is associated with the first network entity (Awada Fig. 2: CU1. Claimed "associated with" is met because the associated elements are all described in par. 102-117 in reference to the same signaling diagrams of Figs. 2, 3);
receive (by CU1 represented in Awada Fig. 2), from the second network entity (Awada Fig. 2: DU1 which operates the serving cell), information (Awada Fig. 2 operation 2: "2: L3 Measurement Report") associated with (Claimed "associated with" is met because the associated elements are all described in par. 102-117 in reference to the same signaling diagrams of Figs. 2, 3) the eDU or the cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure), wherein the information is associated with (Claimed "associated with" is met because the associated elements are all described in par. 102-117 in reference to the same signaling diagrams of Figs. 2, 3) a measurement related to a user equipment (UE, UE represented in Awada Fig. 2. Par. 103 explains that the UE transmits, in operation 1, a L3 measurement report via the serving cell; DU1 forwards the L3 measurement report to the gNB-CU1 associated with DU1. All elements described in par. 102-108 are associated with each other because they all belong to the same process of Fig. 2) served by the eDU or the cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure; Awada par. 103 in reference to Fig. 2: "UE is served by a serving cell operated by gNB-DU1"); and
transmit (by CU1 represented in Awada Fig. 2), to the second network entity (Awada Fig. 2: DU1 which operates the serving cell), configuration information (Awada par. 103 in reference to Fig. 2: in operation 9, CU1 sends the information element "IE" in a L3 RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE via DU1 and the serving cell. The information element "IE" includes CSI resource configuration information about L1/2 mobility measurement resources in the serving cell operated by DU1) for the eDU (not required) or the cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure).
The first embodiment of Awada does not explicitly teach why the information element in operation 9 of Fig. 2 comprises claimed "configuration information".
However, a second embodiment of Awada teaches (please refer to the information element represented in Awada Fig. 11 described in par. 103): configuration information (FIG. 11 shows a representation of an example information element, which includes (b) information about L1/2 mobility measurement resources (CSI resource configuration) in the serving cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of the first embodiment of Awada, by making sure that the RRC reconfiguration message from CU1 to the UE via DU1 and the serving cell includes the information element "IE" which includes information about L1/2 mobility measurement resources (CSI resource configuration) in the serving cell, as suggested by the second embodiment of Awada, in order to optimize a comparison of the serving and target cells at DU1 for deciding on cell change, in order to facilitate L1/L2 handover between cells operated by different gNB-Dus, in order to facilitate a decision at the serving cell DU about whether to change the UE from the serving cell to a target cell, avoiding a risk of an inaccurate L1/L2 mobility decision at the serving gNB-DU (Awada par. 129-132). This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim 19, Awada teaches wherein the second network entity (Awada Fig. 2: DU1 which operates the serving cell) comprises a service (Awada par. 100: 5G service) associated with connection management and mobility management (Awada par. 96: Each gNB-CU is connected to a core network user plane function (UPF), for providing connectivity of devices to one or more external packet data networks (DN), and to an access mobility management function (AMF) for controlling access and mobility of user equipments) of the UE served by the eDU or the cell (Awada Fig. 2, as described in par. 103: UE which is served by the serving cell operated by DU1).
Regarding claim 21, it recites "21. The apparatus of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first network entity to: transmit, to the eDU, second configuration information for the cell, wherein the cell is associated with the eDU, and wherein the second configuration information for the cell corresponds to the information associated with the eDU or the cell." However, claimed “eDU” doesn’t limit the claim, and isn’t required, because it is alternative to another element already taught by prior art in the independent claim. So, a step of transmitting (anything) to the eDU isn't required.
Regarding claim 22, it recites "22. The apparatus of claim 21, wherein the second configuration information comprises an indication of an activation status of the cell or an indication of a random access channel configuration associated with the cell." However, claim 22 depends upon claim 21, so it depends upon the eDU of claim 21 which is not required. Therefore, claim 22 is not required.
Regarding claim 23, it recites "23. The apparatus of claim 21, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first network entity to: receive, from a third network entity, second information associated with the eDU or the cell, wherein the second configuration information for the cell further corresponds to the second information associated with the eDU or the cell." However, claim 23 depends upon claim 21, so it depends upon the eDU of claim 21 which is not required. Therefore, claim 23 is not required.
Regarding claim 24, Awada teaches wherein the configuration information for the eDU or the cell (Awada par. 103 in reference to Fig. 2: in operation 9, CU1 sends the information element "IE" in a L3 RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE via DU1 and the serving cell. The information element "IE" includes CSI resource configuration information about L1/2 mobility measurement resources in the serving cell operated by DU1) comprises a policy associated with at least one of the first network entity (CU1 in Awada Fig. 2), the eDU, the cell (claimed "policy associated with the cell" equates to "configuration" in Awada par. 103 in reference to Fig. 2: in operation 9, CU1 sends the information element "IE" in a L3 RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE via DU1 and the serving cell. The information element "IE" includes CSI resource configuration information about L1/2 mobility measurement resources in the serving cell operated by DU1), or the UE served by the eDU or the cell.
Regarding claim 25, Awada teaches wherein the signaling indicating the eDU or the cell (Awada par. 109-110 in reference to Fig. 3: in operation 1, DU1 – the DU operating the cell serving the UE - receives from CU1 a CSI Configuration Request message requesting information about L1/2 mobility measurement reporting configuration in the serving cell, and information about serving cell resources for L1/2 inter-cell mobility measurements in the serving cell) comprises at least one of an identifier of the eDU, an identifier of the cell (identified in Awada par. 103 as "serving cell operated by gNB-DU1"), a public land mobile network identifier, a non public network identifier, a fully qualified domain name, a location identifier, a geographical position or geographical area identifier, a tracking area identifier, or a radio access network notification area identifier.
Regarding claim 26, Awada teaches wherein the information (Awada Fig. 2: "2: L3 Measurement Report") associated with the eDU (not required) or the cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure) comprises at least one of a handover measurement associated the cell and a second cell (Par. 103 explains in reference to Fig. 2 that the UE transmits, in operation 1, a L3 measurement report via the serving cell; DU1 forwards the L3 measurement report to the gNB-CU1 associated with DU1) and a second cell (Awada par. 103: target cell operated by DU2. All elements described in par. 102-108 are associated with each other because they all belong to the same process of Fig. 2. Awada par. 110: Based on the L3 measurement report, CU1 decides to prepare a cell operated by DU2 for a possible L1/2 inter-cell handover in OPERATION 6 of FIG. 3), a handover matrix associated with the cell and the second cell, an indication of handover failure occurring between the cell and the second cell, an indication of radio link failure occurring at the cell, a self-organizing network report, or a minimization of drive test report.
Regarding claim 27, Awada teaches wherein the information (Awada Fig. 2: "2: L3 Measurement Report") associated with (Claimed "associated with" is met because the associated elements are all described in par. 102-117 in reference to the same signaling diagrams of Figs. 2, 3) the eDU (not required) or the cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure) is based at least in part on measurements performed by a plurality of UEs served by the eDU or the cell, measurements performed by a subset of UEs served by the eDU or the cell, or one measurement performed by a single UE (Par. 103 explains in reference to Fig. 2 that the UE transmits, in operation 1, a L3 measurement report via the serving cell; DU1 forwards the L3 measurement report to the gNB-CU1 associated with DU1) served by the eDU or the cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure).
Regarding claim 29, Awada teaches a method (please refer to Awada's signaling diagram of Fig. 2 representing a method described in par. 102-108) of wireless communication (Awada par. 99: 5G) performed by a first network entity (Awada Fig. 2: DU1 which operates the serving cell), comprising:
receiving (by DU1, represented in Awada Fig. 2, which operates the serving cell), from a second network entity (Awada Fig. 2: CU1), signaling (Awada par. 109-110 in reference to Fig. 3: in operation 1, DU1 – the DU operating the cell serving the UE - receives from CU1 a CSI Configuration Request message requesting information about L1/2 mobility measurement reporting configuration in the serving cell, and information about serving cell resources for L1/2 inter-cell mobility measurements in the serving cell) indicating an enhanced distributed unit (eDU, not required) that is associated with the second network entity (not required), wherein the eDU comprises a transceiver (not required), or indicating a cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure; as previously demonstrated, Awada's operation 1 of Fig. 3 indicates the serving cell) that is associated with the second network entity (Awada Fig. 2: CU1. Claimed "associated with" is met because the associated elements are all described in par. 102-117 in reference to the same signaling diagrams of Figs. 2, 3);
transmitting (by DU1, represented in Awada Fig. 2, which operates the serving cell), to the second network entity (Awada Fig. 2: CU1), information (Awada Fig. 2 operation 2: "2: L3 Measurement Report") associated with (Claimed "associated with" is met because the associated elements are all described in par. 102-117 in reference to the same signaling diagrams of Figs. 2, 3) the eDU (not required) or the cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure), wherein the information is associated with (Claimed "associated with" is met because the associated elements are all described in par. 102-117 in reference to the same signaling diagrams of Figs. 2, 3) a measurement related to a user equipment (UE, UE represented in Awada Fig. 2. Par. 103 explains that the UE transmits, in operation 1, a L3 measurement report via the serving cell; DU1 forwards the L3 measurement report to the gNB-CU1 associated with DU1. All elements described in par. 102-108 are associated with each other because they all belong to the same process of Fig. 2) served by the eDU or the cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure; Awada par. 103 in reference to Fig. 2: "UE is served by a serving cell operated by gNB-DU1"); and
receiving (by DU1, represented in Awada Fig. 2, which operates the serving cell), from the second network entity (Awada Fig. 2: CU1), configuration information (Awada par. 103 in reference to Fig. 2: in operation 9, CU1 sends the information element "IE" in a L3 RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE via DU1 and the serving cell. The information element "IE" includes CSI resource configuration information about L1/2 mobility measurement resources in the serving cell operated by DU1) for the eDU (not required) or the cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure).
The first embodiment of Awada does not explicitly teach why the information element in operation 9 of Fig. 2 comprises claimed "configuration information".
However, a second embodiment of Awada teaches (please refer to the information element represented in Awada Fig. 11 described in par. 103): configuration information (FIG. 11 shows a representation of an example information element, which includes (b) information about L1/2 mobility measurement resources (CSI resource configuration) in the serving cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of the first embodiment of Awada, by making sure that the RRC reconfiguration message from CU1 to the UE via DU1 and the serving cell includes the information element "IE" which includes information about L1/2 mobility measurement resources (CSI resource configuration) in the serving cell, as suggested by the second embodiment of Awada, in order to optimize a comparison of the serving and target cells at DU1 for deciding on cell change, in order to facilitate L1/L2 handover between cells operated by different gNB-Dus, in order to facilitate a decision at the serving cell DU about whether to change the UE from the serving cell to a target cell, avoiding a risk of an inaccurate L1/L2 mobility decision at the serving gNB-DU (Awada par. 129-132). This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim 30, Awada teaches a method (please refer to Awada's signaling diagram of Fig. 2 representing a method described in par. 102-108) of wireless communication (Awada par. 99: 5G) performed by a first network entity (CU1 in Awada Fig. 2), the method comprising:
transmitting (by CU1 represented in Awada Fig. 2), to a second network entity (Awada Fig. 2: DU1 which operates the serving cell), signaling (Awada par. 109-110 in reference to Fig. 3: in operation 1, DU1 – the DU operating the cell serving the UE - receives from CU1 a CSI Configuration Request message requesting information about L1/2 mobility measurement reporting configuration in the serving cell, and information about serving cell resources for L1/2 inter-cell mobility measurements in the serving cell) indicating an enhanced distributed unit (eDU, not required) that is associated with the second network entity (not required), wherein the eDU comprises a transceiver (not required), or indicating a cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure) that is associated with the first network entity (Awada Fig. 2: CU1. Claimed "associated with" is met because the associated elements are all described in par. 102-117 in reference to the same signaling diagrams of Figs. 2, 3);
receiving (by CU1 represented in Awada Fig. 2), from the second network entity (Awada Fig. 2: DU1 which operates the serving cell), information (Awada Fig. 2 operation 2: "2: L3 Measurement Report") associated with (Claimed "associated with" is met because the associated elements are all described in par. 102-117 in reference to the same signaling diagrams of Figs. 2, 3) the eDU or the cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure), wherein the information is associated with (Claimed "associated with" is met because the associated elements are all described in par. 102-117 in reference to the same signaling diagrams of Figs. 2, 3) a measurement related to a user equipment (UE, UE represented in Awada Fig. 2. Par. 103 explains that the UE transmits, in operation 1, a L3 measurement report via the serving cell; DU1 forwards the L3 measurement report to the gNB-CU1 associated with DU1. All elements described in par. 102-108 are associated with each other because they all belong to the same process of Fig. 2) served by the eDU or the cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure; Awada par. 103 in reference to Fig. 2: "UE is served by a serving cell operated by gNB-DU1"); and
transmitting (by CU1 represented in Awada Fig. 2), to the second network entity (Awada Fig. 2: DU1 which operates the serving cell), configuration information (Awada par. 103 in reference to Fig. 2: in operation 9, CU1 sends the information element "IE" in a L3 RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE via DU1 and the serving cell. The information element "IE" includes CSI resource configuration information about L1/2 mobility measurement resources in the serving cell operated by DU1) for the eDU (not required) or the cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure).
The first embodiment of Awada does not explicitly teach why the information element in operation 9 of Fig. 2 comprises claimed "configuration information".
However, a second embodiment of Awada teaches (please refer to the information element represented in Awada Fig. 11 described in par. 103): configuration information (FIG. 11 shows a representation of an example information element, which includes (b) information about L1/2 mobility measurement resources (CSI resource configuration) in the serving cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of the first embodiment of Awada, by making sure that the RRC reconfiguration message from CU1 to the UE via DU1 and the serving cell includes the information element "IE" which includes information about L1/2 mobility measurement resources (CSI resource configuration) in the serving cell, as suggested by the second embodiment of Awada, in order to optimize a comparison of the serving and target cells at DU1 for deciding on cell change, in order to facilitate L1/L2 handover between cells operated by different gNB-Dus, in order to facilitate a decision at the serving cell DU about whether to change the UE from the serving cell to a target cell, avoiding a risk of an inaccurate L1/L2 mobility decision at the serving gNB-DU (Awada par. 129-132). This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Claims 3, 9, 12, 20, 25, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awada, and further in view of Gadalin et al (publication number 2023/0180017), hereinafter Gadalin.
Regarding claim 3, Awada teaches wherein the second network entity (Awada Fig. 2: CU1) comprises a service (Awada par. 100: 5G service).
Awada does not explicitly teach said service being associated with topology related functionalities for a geographical area associated with the eDU or the cell.
Gadalin teaches a network entity comprising a service (Gadalin par. 100 in reference to Fig. 4: locality orchestration service 433 which is executed to enforce locality rules 434 configured for a customer regarding a network slice on a radio-based network 103) being associated with topology (Gadalin par. 103 in reference to Fig. 4: cellular topology 442) related functionalities for a geographical area (Gadalin par. 103 in reference to Fig. 4: cellular topology 442 includes an arrangement of a plurality of cells 109 for a customer within a geographic area, such as one or more buildings in an organizational campus. Each geographic area 312 is specified by locality rules 434) associated with the eDU (not required) or the cell (Gadalin par. 103 in reference to Fig. 4: cellular topology 442 includes an arrangement of a plurality of cells 109 for customers within a geographic area).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Awada, by deploying Gadalin's locality orchestration service 433 which is executed to enforce locality rules 434 configured for a customer regarding a network slice on a radio-based network 103, as suggested by Gadalin, in order to enable customers to specify network topology locality rules, for example, an operator of a radio-based network in a particular country may provide a restricted service that allows users to call each other on a secure line that guarantees that the network traffic will never leave that the particular country, and also in order to enforce those locality rules (Gadalin par. 12- 14). This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim 9, Awada teaches signaling indicating the eDU or the cell (Awada par. 109-110 in reference to Fig. 3: in operation 1, DU1 – the DU operating the cell serving the UE - receives from CU1 a CSI Configuration Request message requesting information about L1/2 mobility measurement reporting configuration in the serving cell, and information about serving cell resources for L1/2 inter-cell mobility measurements in the serving cell).
Awada does not explicitly teach "at least one of an identifier of the eDU, an identifier of the cell, a public land mobile network identifier, a non public network identifier, a fully qualified domain name, a location identifier, a geographical position or geographical area identifier, a tracking area identifier, or a radio access network notification area identifier".
Gadalin teaches wherein the signaling (Gadalin par. 114 in reference to Fig. 6: in box 606, the locality orchestration service 433 receives one or more locality rules 434 specified by an administrative user) indicating the eDU or the cell (Gadalin par. 114: locality rules 434 include cells within a grid; par. 103: the cells 109 remain within geographic areas 312 specified by the locality rules 434) comprises at least one of an identifier of the eDU, an identifier of the cell, a public land mobile network identifier, a non public network identifier, a fully qualified domain name, a location identifier, a geographical position or geographical area identifier (Gadalin par. 114 in reference to Fig. 4: locality rules 434 are customer-specified rules that include identifications of one or more geographic areas 312 with predefined boundaries, such as countries, states, cities, postal codes, trade areas), a tracking area identifier, or a radio access network notification area identifier.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Awada, by deploying Gadalin's locality orchestration service 433 which is executed to enforce locality rules 434 configured for a customer regarding a network slice on a radio-based network 103, as suggested by Gadalin, in order to enable customers to specify network topology locality rules, for example, an operator of a radio-based network in a particular country may provide a restricted service that allows users to call each other on a secure line that guarantees that the network traffic will never leave that the particular country, and also in order to enforce those locality rules (Gadalin par. 12- 14). This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim 12, Awada teaches wherein the configuration information (Awada par. 103 in reference to Fig. 2: in operation 9, CU1 sends the information element "IE" in a L3 RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE via DU1 and the serving cell. The information element "IE" includes CSI resource configuration information about L1/2 mobility measurement resources in the serving cell operated by DU1) for the eDU (not required) or the cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure).
Awada does not explicitly teach comprising a set of handover events, a set of handover thresholds, one or more values for timers associated with a handover, a barring of one or more cells, a list of one or more allowed or forbidden cells, or a coverage pattern to use for the cell.
Gadalin teaches configuration information (Gadalin par. 122: network topology based on rules 434) for the eDU (not required) or the cell (Gadalin par. 122: The network topology based on rules 434 includes an arrangement of cells) comprises a set of handover events, a set of handover thresholds, one or more values for timers associated with a handover, a barring of one or more cells, a list of one or more allowed or forbidden cells, or a coverage pattern to use for the cell (Gadalin par. 122: The network topology based on rules 434 includes an arrangement of cells 109; the arrangement is determined to optimally cover a specific area such as for example the internal area of a building).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Awada, by deploying Gadalin's locality orchestration service 433 which is executed to enforce locality rules 434 configured for a customer regarding a network slice on a radio-based network 103, as suggested by Gadalin, in order to enable customers to specify network topology locality rules, for example, an operator of a radio-based network in a particular country may provide a restricted service that allows users to call each other on a secure line that guarantees that the network traffic will never leave that the particular country, and also in order to enforce those locality rules (Gadalin par. 12- 14). This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim 20, Awada teaches wherein the first network entity (CU1 in Awada Fig. 2) comprises a service (Awada par. 100: 5G service).
Awada does not explicitly teach said service being associated with topology related functionalities for a geographical area associated with the eDU or the cell.
Gadalin teaches a network entity comprising a service (Gadalin par. 100 in reference to Fig. 4: locality orchestration service 433 which is executed to enforce locality rules 434 configured for a customer regarding a network slice on a radio-based network 103) being associated with topology (Gadalin par. 103 in reference to Fig. 4: cellular topology 442) related functionalities for a geographical area (Gadalin par. 103 in reference to Fig. 4: cellular topology 442 includes an arrangement of a plurality of cells 109 for a customer within a geographic area, such as one or more buildings in an organizational campus. Each geographic area 312 is specified by locality rules 434) associated with the eDU (not required) or the cell (Gadalin par. 103 in reference to Fig. 4: cellular topology 442 includes an arrangement of a plurality of cells 109 for customers within a geographic area).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Awada, by deploying Gadalin's locality orchestration service 433 which is executed to enforce locality rules 434 configured for a customer regarding a network slice on a radio-based network 103, as suggested by Gadalin, in order to enable customers to specify network topology locality rules, for example, an operator of a radio-based network in a particular country may provide a restricted service that allows users to call each other on a secure line that guarantees that the network traffic will never leave that the particular country, and also in order to enforce those locality rules (Gadalin par. 12- 14). This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim 25, Awada teaches signaling indicating the eDU or the cell (Awada par. 109-110 in reference to Fig. 3: in operation 1, DU1 – the DU operating the cell serving the UE - receives from CU1 a CSI Configuration Request message requesting information about L1/2 mobility measurement reporting configuration in the serving cell, and information about serving cell resources for L1/2 inter-cell mobility measurements in the serving cell).
Awada does not explicitly teach "at least one of an identifier of the eDU, an identifier of the cell, a public land mobile network identifier, a non public network identifier, a fully qualified domain name, a location identifier, a geographical position or geographical area identifier, a tracking area identifier, or a radio access network notification area identifier".
Gadalin teaches wherein the signaling (Gadalin par. 114 in reference to Fig. 6: in box 606, the locality orchestration service 433 receives one or more locality rules 434 specified by an administrative user) indicating the eDU or the cell (Gadalin par. 114: locality rules 434 include cells within a grid; par. 103: the cells 109 remain within geographic areas 312 specified by the locality rules 434) comprises at least one of an identifier of the eDU, an identifier of the cell, a public land mobile network identifier, a non public network identifier, a fully qualified domain name, a location identifier, a geographical position or geographical area identifier (Gadalin par. 114 in reference to Fig. 4: locality rules 434 are customer-specified rules that include identifications of one or more geographic areas 312 with predefined boundaries, such as countries, states, cities, postal codes, trade areas), a tracking area identifier, or a radio access network notification area identifier.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Awada, by deploying Gadalin's locality orchestration service 433 which is executed to enforce locality rules 434 configured for a customer regarding a network slice on a radio-based network 103, as suggested by Gadalin, in order to enable customers to specify network topology locality rules, for example, an operator of a radio-based network in a particular country may provide a restricted service that allows users to call each other on a secure line that guarantees that the network traffic will never leave that the particular country, and also in order to enforce those locality rules (Gadalin par. 12- 14). This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim 28, Awada teaches wherein the configuration information (Awada par. 103 in reference to Fig. 2: in operation 9, CU1 sends the information element "IE" in a L3 RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE via DU1 and the serving cell. The information element "IE" includes CSI resource configuration information about L1/2 mobility measurement resources in the serving cell operated by DU1) for the eDU (not required) or the cell (serving cell described in Awada par. 102-108 in reference to Fig. 2, even though the serving cell is not explicitly displayed on the figure).
Awada does not explicitly teach comprising a set of handover events, a set of handover thresholds, one or more values for timers associated with a handover, a barring of one or more cells, a list of one or more allowed or forbidden cells, or a coverage pattern to use for the cell.
Gadalin teaches configuration information (Gadalin par. 122: network topology based on rules 434) for the eDU (not required) or the cell (Gadalin par. 122: The network topology based on rules 434 includes an arrangement of cells) comprises a set of handover events, a set of handover thresholds, one or more values for timers associated with a handover, a barring of one or more cells, a list of one or more allowed or forbidden cells, or a coverage pattern to use for the cell (Gadalin par. 122: The network topology based on rules 434 includes an arrangement of cells 109; the arrangement is determined to optimally cover a specific area such as for example the internal area of a building).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Awada, by deploying Gadalin's locality orchestration service 433 which is executed to enforce locality rules 434 configured for a customer regarding a network slice on a radio-based network 103, as suggested by Gadalin, in order to enable customers to specify network topology locality rules, for example, an operator of a radio-based network in a particular country may provide a restricted service that allows users to call each other on a secure line that guarantees that the network traffic will never leave that the particular country, and also in order to enforce those locality rules (Gadalin par. 12- 14). This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONALD EISNER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644