The amendment filed 5/18/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishida et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230033744 A1) in view of Verma et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200374062 A1) and Xin et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220007417 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Kishida, Verma, and Xin.
In regard to Claim 1, Kishida teaches A device (base station 10, Para. 89, FIG. 11), comprising: a processor (processor 11, Para. 24, FIG. 2); at least one wireless transceiver configured to provide access to a network (wireless module 14 is a module configured to perform processing required for wireless LAN communication, Para. 25, FIG. 2); and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises a peer-to-peer management logic (base station 10 may be one mounted in a mobile object, Para. 22, FIG. 2. RAM 13 is used as a work area for the processor 11 and temporarily stores the firmware and the like stored in the ROM 12, Para. 24, FIGS. 2, 11) that is configured to: configure the at least one wireless transceiver (First, the terminal 20-1 transmits, to the base station 10, a negotiation frame 1101 indicating whether communication based on the requirements (maximum latency) in the real-time application can be performed. The base station 10 determines the requirements included in the negotiation frame 1101 and transmits a permission notification 1102 to the terminal 20-1 on the assumption that the requirements can be satisfied in this case, Para. 89, FIG. 11. The terminal 20-1 can recognize from the permission notification 1102 that the requirements can be satisfied, Para. 90, FIG. 11) on a first transmission channel (In CSMA/CA, the base stations and the terminals confirm that channels are not being used by other terminals, Para. 2. The terminal 20 obtains a transmission right through access control based on the CSMA/CA scheme, Para. 63, FIGS. 1, 3. The transmission opportunity (TXOP) which is a channel occupation time, Para. 55).
Kishida teaches receive a request (The terminal 20-1 thus transmits a status notification frame 1103, Para. 90, FIG. 11) for a first transmission opportunity (TxOP) (a TXOP period given by one polling frame 1104-1, Para. 93, FIG. 11).
Kishida teaches allocate an initial TxOP slot schedule for a first client device (the base station 10 generates a polling frame including an instruction to provide a transmission opportunity to the terminal 20-1. The base station 10 transmits the generated polling frame 1104-1 to the terminal group belonging to the station itself, that is, the terminal 20-1, Para. 92, FIG. 11. A TXOP period given by one polling frame 1104-1, Para. 93, FIG. 11).
Kishida teaches share the initial TxOP slot schedule (A TXOP period given by one polling frame 1104-1, Para. 93, FIG. 11) with a device (The base station 10 transmits the generated polling frame 1104-1 to the terminal 20-2, Para. 92, FIG. 11).
Kishida teaches an expanded TxOP slot schedule (a polling frame 1104-2 including an instruction to provide a transmission opportunity to the terminal 20-1, Para. 93, FIG. 11).
Kishida teaches transmit the expanded TxOP slot schedule (in a case in which the RTA requirements cannot be satisfied during a TXOP period given by one polling frame 1104-1, a polling frame 1104-2 including an instruction to provide a transmission opportunity to the terminal 20-1 may be transmitted. In this manner, the terminal 20-1 can successively obtain the transmission opportunity, Para. 93, FIG. 11. The TXOP period (the period 1111 in the example in FIG. 11) of the terminal 20-1, Para. 94, FIG. 11) to one or more end user devices (a polling frame 1104-2 including an instruction to provide a transmission opportunity to the terminal 20-1, Para. 93, FIG. 11).
Although Kishida teaches share the initial TxOP slot schedule with a device, Kishida fails to teach a coordinating device, and although Kishida teaches an expanded TxOP slot schedule, Kishida fails to teach receive an expanded TxOP slot schedule, and Kishida fails to teach direct a neighboring AP to expand its TxOP.
Verma teaches share the initial TxOP slot schedule (In block 704, the process 700 proceeds with obtaining a transmit opportunity (TXOP), Para. 96, FIG. 7. Obtaining the TXOP in block 704 includes contending with other wireless communication devices for medium access, Para. 98, FIG. 7. In block 706, the process 700 proceeds with allocating, to each AP of the one or more identified APs, a corresponding portion of the frequency bandwidth for downlink (DL) transmissions during the TXOP, Para. 96, FIG. 7) with a coordinating device (process 700 is performed by a first AP and begins in block 702 with identifying one or more other APs to participate with the first AP in a coordinated access point transmission session, Para. 96, FIG. 7).
Verma teaches receive an expanded TxOP slot schedule (In block 708, the process 700 proceeds with selecting a duration of the TXOP for the coordinated access point transmission session, Para. 96, FIG. 7. The first AP may select the TXOP duration by determining an amount of the frequency bandwidth that was allocated to the identified APs, and increasing the TXOP duration by a proportional amount, Para. 100, FIG. 7. In block 710, the process 700 proceeds with outputting, to each AP of the one or more identified APs, information indicative of at least one of the selected TXOP duration, Para. 96, 110, FIGS. 7, 8C).
Verma teaches direct a neighboring AP (outputting, to each AP of the one or more identified APs, information indicative of at least one of the selected TXOP duration, Para. 96, 110, FIGS. 7, 8C) to expand its TxOP (determining an amount of the frequency bandwidth that was allocated to the identified APs, and increasing the TXOP duration by a proportional amount, Para. 100, FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Verma with the teachings of Kishida since Verma provides a technique for an access point to obtain a TXOP with other access points and to output a selected TXOP with an increased duration, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kishida to permit a base station to obtain an optimal TXOP period of a first polling frame in relation to other nearby base stations, and to share the information of an extended TXOP period with the other nearby base stations.
Kishida in view of Verma fails to teach wherein the device requests an extension of its transmission opportunity by deferring another device and reattempting transmission after a predetermined backoff period.
Xin teaches, wherein the device (STA2 316 associated with an STR AP MLD 312, Para. 227, FIG. 23) requests an extension of its transmission opportunity (After STA2 reserves the TXOP on Link2, it decides to extend the TXOP duration; and can extend 640 the TXOP duration. The end time of the TXOP extension reserved by STA2 on Link2, Para. 229, FIG. 23) by deferring another device (the xIFS interframe spacing represents any desired interframe spacing, such as SIFS, PIFS or similar, Para. 150. FIG. 23 shows an xIFS before packet group 656 from STA5, Para. 228) and reattempting transmission (In this extended TXOP duration STA2 is seen communicating packet groups 652, Para. 229, FIG. 23) after a predetermined backoff period (FIG. 23 shows a backoff 634 of STA2 (AP) on Link2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xin with the teachings of Kishida in view of Verma since Xin provides a technique for an AP station to reserve an extension of TXOP after a backoff and utilize appropriate interframe spacing before communication of a different station, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kishida in view of Verma to permit base stations to reserve extended TXOP periods after a backoff involving other base stations and control communication times of terminals through interframe spacings.
In regard to Claim 19, Kishida teaches A method of managing peer-to-peer connections, comprising: configuring a transceiver (First, the terminal 20-1 transmits, to the base station 10, a negotiation frame 1101 indicating whether communication based on the requirements (maximum latency) in the real-time application can be performed. The base station 10 determines the requirements included in the negotiation frame 1101 and transmits a permission notification 1102 to the terminal 20-1 on the assumption that the requirements can be satisfied in this case, Para. 89, FIG. 11. The terminal 20-1 can recognize from the permission notification 1102 that the requirements can be satisfied, Para. 90, FIG. 11) to a first transmission channel (In CSMA/CA, the base stations and the terminals confirm that channels are not being used by other terminals, Para. 2. The terminal 20 obtains a transmission right through access control based on the CSMA/CA scheme, Para. 63, FIGS. 1, 3. The transmission opportunity (TXOP) which is a channel occupation time, Para. 55).
Kishida teaches receiving a request (The terminal 20-1 thus transmits a status notification frame 1103, Para. 90, FIG. 11) for a first transmission opportunity (TxOP) (a TXOP period given by one polling frame 1104-1, Para. 93, FIG. 11).
Kishida teaches allocating an initial TxOP slot schedule for a first client device (the base station 10 generates a polling frame including an instruction to provide a transmission opportunity to the terminal 20-1. The base station 10 transmits the generated polling frame 1104-1 to the terminal group belonging to the station itself, that is, the terminal 20-1, Para. 92, FIG. 11. A TXOP period given by one polling frame 1104-1, Para. 93, FIG. 11).
Kishida teaches sharing the initial TxOP slot schedule (A TXOP period given by one polling frame 1104-1, Para. 93, FIG. 11) with a device (The base station 10 transmits the generated polling frame 1104-1 to the terminal 20-2, Para. 92, FIG. 11).
Kishida teaches an expanded TxOP slot schedule (a polling frame 1104-2 including an instruction to provide a transmission opportunity to the terminal 20-1, Para. 93, FIG. 11).
Kishida teaches transmitting the expanded TxOP slot schedule (in a case in which the RTA requirements cannot be satisfied during a TXOP period given by one polling frame 1104-1, a polling frame 1104-2 including an instruction to provide a transmission opportunity to the terminal 20-1 may be transmitted. In this manner, the terminal 20-1 can successively obtain the transmission opportunity, Para. 93, FIG. 11. The TXOP period (the period 1111 in the example in FIG. 11) of the terminal 20-1, Para. 94, FIG. 11) to one or more end user devices (a polling frame 1104-2 including an instruction to provide a transmission opportunity to the terminal 20-1, Para. 93, FIG. 11).
Although Kishida teaches sharing the initial TxOP slot schedule with a device, Kishida fails to teach a coordinating device, and although Kishida teaches an expanded TxOP slot schedule, Kishida fails to teach receiving an expanded TxOP slot schedule, and Kishida fails to teach directing a neighboring AP to expand its TxOP.
Verma teaches sharing the initial TxOP slot schedule (In block 704, the process 700 proceeds with obtaining a transmit opportunity (TXOP), Para. 96, FIG. 7. Obtaining the TXOP in block 704 includes contending with other wireless communication devices for medium access, Para. 98, FIG. 7. In block 706, the process 700 proceeds with allocating, to each AP of the one or more identified APs, a corresponding portion of the frequency bandwidth for downlink (DL) transmissions during the TXOP, Para. 96, FIG. 7) with a coordinating device (process 700 is performed by a first AP and begins in block 702 with identifying one or more other APs to participate with the first AP in a coordinated access point transmission session, Para. 96, FIG. 7).
Verma teaches receiving an expanded TxOP slot schedule (In block 708, the process 700 proceeds with selecting a duration of the TXOP for the coordinated access point transmission session, Para. 96, FIG. 7. The first AP may select the TXOP duration by determining an amount of the frequency bandwidth that was allocated to the identified APs, and increasing the TXOP duration by a proportional amount, Para. 100, FIG. 7. In block 710, the process 700 proceeds with outputting, to each AP of the one or more identified APs, information indicative of at least one of the selected TXOP duration, Para. 96, 110, FIGS. 7, 8C).
Verma teaches directing a neighboring AP (outputting, to each AP of the one or more identified APs, information indicative of at least one of the selected TXOP duration, Para. 96, 110, FIGS. 7, 8C) to expand its TxOP (determining an amount of the frequency bandwidth that was allocated to the identified APs, and increasing the TXOP duration by a proportional amount, Para. 100, FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Verma with the teachings of Kishida since Verma provides a technique for an access point to obtain a TXOP with other access points and to output a selected TXOP with an increased duration, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kishida to permit a base station to obtain an optimal TXOP period of a first polling frame in relation to other nearby base stations, and to share the information of an extended TXOP period with the other nearby base stations.
Kishida in view of Verma fails to teach wherein first client device requests an extension of its transmission opportunity by deferring another device and reattempting transmission after a predetermined backoff period.
Xin teaches, wherein first client device (STA2 316 associated with an STR AP MLD 312, Para. 227, FIG. 23) requests an extension of its transmission opportunity (After STA2 reserves the TXOP on Link2, it decides to extend the TXOP duration; and can extend 640 the TXOP duration. The end time of the TXOP extension reserved by STA2 on Link2, Para. 229, FIG. 23) by deferring another device (the xIFS interframe spacing represents any desired interframe spacing, such as SIFS, PIFS or similar, Para. 150. FIG. 23 shows an xIFS before packet group 656 from STA5, Para. 228) and reattempting transmission (In this extended TXOP duration STA2 is seen communicating packet groups 652, Para. 229, FIG. 23) after a predetermined backoff period (FIG. 23 shows a backoff 634 of STA2 (AP) on Link2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xin with the teachings of Kishida in view of Verma since Xin provides a technique for an AP station to reserve an extension of TXOP after a backoff and utilize appropriate interframe spacing before communication of a different station, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kishida in view of Verma to permit base stations to reserve extended TXOP periods after a backoff involving other base stations and control communication times of terminals through interframe spacings.
In regard to Claim 20, Kishida teaches the method further comprises transmitting data according to the expanded TxOP slot schedule (The terminal 20-1 can recognize from the permission notification 1102 that the requirements can be satisfied, and thus transmits a status notification frame 1103 including RTA data, Para. 90, FIG. 11).
Claim(s) 2-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishida in view of Verma, Xin, and further in view of Sun et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240090046 A1), hereafter referred to as Sun.
In regard to Claim 2, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kishida in view of Verma and Xin teaches the first transmission opportunity.
Kishida in view of Verma and Xin fails to teach the first transmission opportunity is a peer-to-peer transmission opportunity (TxOP).
Sun teaches the first transmission opportunity is a peer-to-peer transmission opportunity (TxOP) (an AP 105-b allocates a portion of a TXOP that the AP 105-b has obtained to a first device associated with the AP 105-b for data exchange between the first device and a second device (such as over a peer-to-peer link between the first device and the second device), Para. 46, FIGS. 1, 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Kishida in view of Verma and Xin since Sun provides a technique where APs manage transmission opportunities with communications involving other APs and wireless devices conducting peer-to-peer communication, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kishida in view of Verma and Xin to permit base stations to manage TXOP periods with nearby base station and to permit peer-to-peer communications between terminal within the TXOP periods.
In regard to Claim 3, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kishida in view of Verma and Xin teaches the first client device.
Kishida in view of Verma and Xin fails to teach the peer-to-peer TxOP is received from the first client device.
Sun teaches the peer-to-peer TxOP is received from the first client device (after the AP 105-a in FIG. 1 wins a TXOP by itself based on contention, the AP 105-a may share a portion of the TXOP to STA 116. This sharing may enable a STA 116 and a STA 117 to exchange data over a peer-to-peer link (such as TDLS) between the two STAs during the shared TXOP, Para. 104, FIGS. 1, 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Kishida in view of Verma and Xin since Sun provides a technique where APs manage transmission opportunities with communications involving other APs and wireless devices conducting peer-to-peer communication, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kishida in view of Verma and Xin to permit base stations to manage TXOP periods with nearby base station and to permit peer-to-peer communications between terminal within the TXOP periods.
In regard to Claim 4, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kishida in view of Verma and Xin teaches the first client device.
Kishida in view of Verma and Xin fails to teach the first client device is configured with a peer-to-peer connection with a first peer-to-peer device.
Sun teaches the first client device is configured with a peer-to-peer connection with a first peer-to-peer device (after the AP 105-a in FIG. 1 wins a TXOP by itself based on contention, the AP 105-a may share a portion of the TXOP to STA 116. This sharing may enable a STA 116 and a STA 117 to exchange data over a peer-to-peer link (such as TDLS) between the two STAs during the shared TXOP, Para. 104, FIGS. 1, 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Kishida in view of Verma and Xin since Sun provides a technique where APs manage transmission opportunities with communications involving other APs and wireless devices conducting peer-to-peer communication, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kishida in view of Verma and Xin to permit base stations to manage TXOP periods with nearby base station and to permit peer-to-peer communications between terminal within the TXOP periods.
In regard to Claim 5, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kishida in view of Verma and Xin teaches the expanded TxOP slot schedule.
Kishida in view of Verma and Xin fails to teach the expanded TxOP slot schedule is associated with a neighboring access point.
Sun teaches the expanded TxOP slot schedule is associated with a neighboring access point (Coordinated time domain multiple access (C-TDMA) may allow a group of access points (APs) to share or participate in a single transmission opportunity (TXOP) within a bandwidth. In C-TDMA, a first AP may secure a TXOP for a bandwidth and share the TXOP with other APs. The APs sharing the TXOP may take turns communicating during respective portions of the TXOP according to scheduling information provided by the first AP, Para. 33, FIGS. 1, 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Kishida in view of Verma and Xin since Sun provides a technique where APs manage transmission opportunities with communications involving other APs and wireless devices conducting peer-to-peer communication, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kishida in view of Verma and Xin to permit base stations to manage TXOP periods with nearby base station and to permit peer-to-peer communications between terminal within the TXOP periods.
In regard to Claim 6, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kishida in view of Verma and Xin teaches the expanded TxOP slot schedule.
Kishida in view of Verma and Xin fails to teach the neighboring access point is configured to execute the expanded TxOP slot schedule with a second client device.
Sun teaches the neighboring access point is configured to execute the expanded TxOP slot schedule with a second client device (after the AP 105-a in FIG. 1 wins a TXOP by itself based on contention, the AP 105-a may share a portion of the TXOP to STA 116. This sharing may enable a STA 116 and a STA 117 to exchange data over a peer-to-peer link (such as TDLS) between the two STAs during the shared TXOP, Para. 104, FIGS. 1, 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Kishida in view of Verma and Xin since Sun provides a technique where APs manage transmission opportunities with communications involving other APs and wireless devices conducting peer-to-peer communication, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kishida in view of Verma and Xin to permit base stations to manage TXOP periods with nearby base station and to permit peer-to-peer communications between terminal within the TXOP periods.
In regard to Claim 7, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kishida in view of Verma and Xin teaches the device.
Kishida in view of Verma and Xin fails to teach the second client device is configured with a peer-to-peer connection to a second peer-to-peer device.
Sun teaches the second client device is configured with a peer-to-peer connection to a second peer-to-peer device (after the AP 105-a in FIG. 1 wins a TXOP by itself based on contention, the AP 105-a may share a portion of the TXOP to STA 116. This sharing may enable a STA 116 and a STA 117 to exchange data over a peer-to-peer link (such as TDLS) between the two STAs during the shared TXOP, Para. 104, FIGS. 1, 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Kishida in view of Verma and Xin since Sun provides a technique where APs manage transmission opportunities with communications involving other APs and wireless devices conducting peer-to-peer communication, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kishida in view of Verma and Xin to permit base stations to manage TXOP periods with nearby base station and to permit peer-to-peer communications between terminal within the TXOP periods.
In regard to Claim 8, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kishida in view of Verma and Xin teaches the device.
Kishida in view of Verma and Xin fails to teach the second peer-to-peer device is configured with a wireless transceiver.
Sun teaches the second peer-to-peer device is configured with a wireless transceiver (after the AP 105-a in FIG. 1 wins a TXOP by itself based on contention, the AP 105-a may share a portion of the TXOP to STA 116. This sharing may enable a STA 116 and a STA 117 to exchange data over a peer-to-peer link (such as TDLS) between the two STAs during the shared TXOP, Para. 104, FIGS. 1, 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Kishida in view of Verma and Xin since Sun provides a technique where APs manage transmission opportunities with communications involving other APs and wireless devices conducting peer-to-peer communication, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kishida in view of Verma and Xin to permit base stations to manage TXOP periods with nearby base station and to permit peer-to-peer communications between terminal within the TXOP periods.
In regard to Claim 9, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kishida in view of Verma and Xin teaches the first transmission channel.
Kishida in view of Verma and Xin fails to teach the wireless transceiver of the second peer-to-peer device is also configured on the first transmission channel.
Sun teaches the wireless transceiver of the second peer-to-peer device is also configured on the first transmission channel (The AP 105-b and the AP 105-c may have an operating bandwidth that is the second bandwidth 560 that overlaps with the first bandwidth 565, Para. 96, FIGS. 1, 5. After the AP 105-a in FIG. 1 wins a TXOP by itself based on contention, the AP 105-a may share a portion of the TXOP to STA 116. This sharing may enable a STA 116 and a STA 117 to exchange data over a peer-to-peer link (such as TDLS) between the two STAs during the shared TXOP, Para. 104, FIGS. 1, 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Kishida in view of Verma and Xin since Sun provides a technique where APs manage transmission opportunities with communications involving other APs and wireless devices conducting peer-to-peer communication, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kishida in view of Verma and Xin to permit base stations to manage TXOP periods with nearby base station and to permit peer-to-peer communications between terminal within the TXOP periods.
In regard to Claim 10, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kishida in view of Verma and Xin teaches the expanded TxOP slot schedule.
Kishida in view of Verma and Xin fails to teach the expanded TxOP slot schedule is configured to avoid interference between transmissions occurring on the first transmission channel.
Sun teaches the expanded TxOP slot schedule is configured to avoid interference between transmissions occurring on the first transmission channel (after obtaining the TXOP 201, and to ensure interference-free communications during the TXOP 201, the TXOP owner AP 105-b may further reserve the wireless channel by transmitting a multi-user request-to-send (MU-RTS) frame 205 to one or more STAs associated with AP 105-b, and one or more APs, including AP 105-a, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Kishida in view of Verma and Xin since Sun provides a technique where APs manage transmission opportunities with communications involving other APs and wireless devices conducting peer-to-peer communication, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kishida in view of Verma and Xin to permit base stations to manage TXOP periods with nearby base station and to permit peer-to-peer communications between terminal within the TXOP periods.
In regard to Claim 11, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kishida in view of Verma and Xin teaches the coordinating device.
Kishida in view of Verma and Xin fails to teach the coordinating device is a multi-access point coordinator (MAPC) device.
Sun teaches the coordinating device is a multi-access point coordinator (MAPC) device (Coordinated time domain multiple access (C-TDMA) may allow a group of access points (APs) to share or participate in a single transmission opportunity (TXOP), Para. 33. The AP 105-b that wins contention and gains access to the wireless medium for the duration of a TXOP may share time resources with other APs 105-a, which also may be referred to as coordinated APs, Para. 39, FIG. 1. The TXOP owner (AP 105-b) may obtain a TXOP 201 and shares it with one or more other coordinated APs (AP 105-a, and optionally one or more additional APs), Para. 45, FIGS. 1, 5. The inter-AP communications manager 645 may coordinate scheduling for TXOP portions of a shared TXOP among to APs 105 for C-TDMA. The inter-AP communications manager 645 may coordinate scheduling for transmissions to APs 105 for various interference mitigation techniques, Para. 112, FIGS. 1, 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Kishida in view of Verma and Xin since Sun provides a technique where APs manage transmission opportunities with communications involving other APs and wireless devices conducting peer-to-peer communication, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kishida in view of Verma and Xin to permit base stations to manage TXOP periods with nearby base station and to permit peer-to-peer communications between terminal within the TXOP periods.
In regard to Claim 12, Kishida teaches the peer-to-peer management logic is further configured to perform a data transfer (The wireless module 14 forms a media access control (MAC) frame from data transferred from the processor 11, for example, converts the formed MAC frame into a wireless signal, and transmits the wireless signal to the terminal 20. Also, the wireless module 14 receives a wireless signal from the terminal 20, extracts data from the received wireless signal, and transfers the data to the processor 11, Para. 25, FIG. 2).
Claim(s) 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240090046 A1) in view of Verma et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200374062 A1) and Xin et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220007417 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Sun, Verma, and Xin.
In regard to Claim 13, Sun teaches A device, comprising: a processor (processor 640, Para. 111, FIG. 6); at least one network interface configured to provide access to a network (the transceiver 615 and one or more antennas 625, Para. 109, FIG. 6); and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises a peer-to-peer management logic (The processor 640 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (such as, the memory 630) to cause the device 605 to perform various functions (such as, functions or tasks supporting coordinated time domain multiple access among APs with different channels), Para. 111, FIG. 6) that is configured to: establish an inter-access point communication with at least a first access point and a second access point (the AP 105-b that wins contention and gains access to the wireless medium for the duration of a TXOP may share time resources with other APs 105-a, Para. 39, FIGS. 1, 2. The AP 105-a may receive a control message 130, such as an MU-RTS, from the AP 105-b that indicates scheduling information for the TXOP owned by the AP 105-b, Para. 40, FIGS. 1, 2).
Sun teaches receive an indication of a peer-to-peer connection (peer-to-peer (P2P) connections or ad hoc networks may be implemented within wireless communications system 100, Para. 37, FIG. 1. The STAs to transmit a clear-to-send (CTS) frame 210, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2).
Sun teaches select a plurality of neighboring access points (the TXOP owner AP 105-b may determine that the other AP would participate in the current TXOP 201. The TXOP owner AP 105-b may select the candidate APs to participate in the TXOP 201, Para. 50, FIGS. 1, 2).
Sun teaches gather channel data associated with the peer-to-peer connection (the AP 105-a, and their associated STAs, that receive CTS frame 210 may set their respective network allocation vectors (NAVs) for a duration of time indicated in the CTS frame 210, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 2).
Sun teaches compare the channel data associated with the peer-to-peer connection to the channel data associated with the neighboring access points (after the AP 105-a in FIG. 1 wins a TXOP by itself based on contention, the AP 105-a may share a portion of the TXOP to STA 116. This sharing may enable a STA 116 and a STA 117 to exchange data over a peer-to-peer link (such as TDLS) between the two STAs during the shared TXOP, Para. 104, FIG. 1).
Sun teaches initialize, in response to the channel data matching the peer-to-peer connection, an inter-access point synchronization routine (a participant AP of a shared TXOP may grant a sub-portion (sub-grant a portion) or portions of the scheduled TXOP portion of the participant AP to one or more other wireless devices. Such participant APs may include APs having different operating bandwidths than the TXOP owner AP. For example the participant AP may be the AP 105-a of FIG. 1 or AP 105-a of FIGS. 2 through 5. The one or more other wireless devices may include APs or STAs, Para. 105, FIGS. 1, 5).
Although Sun teaches gather channel data associated with the peer-to-peer connection, Sun fails to teach gather channel data associated with the plurality of neighboring access points, and Kishida fails to teach direct a neighboring AP to expand its TxOP.
Verma teaches gather channel data associated with the plurality of neighboring access points (a first AP and begins in block 702 with identifying one or more other APs to participate with the first AP in a coordinated access point transmission session).
Verma teaches direct a neighboring AP (outputting, to each AP of the one or more identified APs, information indicative of at least one of the selected TXOP duration, Para. 96, 110, FIGS. 7, 8C) to expand its TxOP (determining an amount of the frequency bandwidth that was allocated to the identified APs, and increasing the TXOP duration by a proportional amount, Para. 100, FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Verma with the teachings of Sun since Verma provides a technique for an access point to obtain a TXOP with other access points and to output a selected TXOP with an increased duration, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Sun to permit an access point to obtain information of other nearby access points to determine an optimal TXOP in relation to the nearby access points, and to share the information of the optimal TXOP with the nearby access points.
Sun in view of Verma fails to teach wherein the device requests an extension of its transmission opportunity by deferring another device and reattempting transmission after a predetermined backoff period.
Xin teaches, wherein the device (STA2 316 associated with an STR AP MLD 312, Para. 227, FIG. 23) requests an extension of its transmission opportunity (After STA2 reserves the TXOP on Link2, it decides to extend the TXOP duration; and can extend 640 the TXOP duration. The end time of the TXOP extension reserved by STA2 on Link2, Para. 229, FIG. 23) by deferring another device (the xIFS interframe spacing represents any desired interframe spacing, such as SIFS, PIFS or similar, Para. 150. FIG. 23 shows an xIFS before packet group 656 from STA5, Para. 228) and reattempting transmission (In this extended TXOP duration STA2 is seen communicating packet groups 652, Para. 229, FIG. 23) after a predetermined backoff period (FIG. 23 shows a backoff 634 of STA2 (AP) on Link2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xin with the teachings of Sun in view of Verma since Xin provides a technique for an AP station to reserve an extension of TXOP after a backoff and utilize appropriate interframe spacing before communication of a different station, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Sun in view of Verma to permit base stations to reserve extended TXOP periods after a backoff involving other base stations and control communication times of terminals through interframe spacings.
In regard to Claim 14, Sun teaches the peer-to-peer connection is between a peer-to-peer device and an end user device in wireless communication with the first access point or the second access point (after the AP 105-a in FIG. 1 wins a TXOP by itself based on contention, the AP 105-a may share a portion of the TXOP to STA 116. This sharing may enable a STA 116 and a STA 117 to exchange data over a peer-to-peer link (such as TDLS) between the two STAs during the shared TXOP, Para. 104, FIGS. 1, 5).
In regard to Claim 15, Sun teaches the plurality of neighboring access points are selected based on their proximity to the first access point associated with the peer-to-peer connection (after obtaining the TXOP 201, and to ensure interference-free communications during the TXOP 201, the TXOP owner AP 105-b may further reserve the wireless channel by transmitting a multi-user request-to-send (MU-RTS) frame 205 to one or more STAs associated with AP 105-b, and one or more APs, including AP 105-a, Para. 48, FIGS. 1, 5).
In regard to Claim 16, Sun teaches the channel data is configured to indicate a wireless channel being utilized by a wireless transceiver (The AP 105-b and the AP 105-c may have an operating bandwidth that is the second bandwidth 560 that overlaps with the first bandwidth 565, Para. 96, FIGS. 1, 5. After the AP 105-a in FIG. 1 wins a TXOP by itself based on contention, the AP 105-a may share a portion of the TXOP to STA 116. This sharing may enable a STA 116 and a STA 117 to exchange data over a peer-to-peer link (such as TDLS) between the two STAs during the shared TXOP, Para. 104, FIGS. 1, 5).
In regard to Claim 17, Sun teaches the inter-access point synchronization routine is a multi-access point coordination routine (Coordinated time domain multiple access (C-TDMA) may allow a group of access points (APs) to share or participate in a single transmission opportunity (TXOP), Para. 33. The AP 105-b that wins contention and gains access to the wireless medium for the duration of a TXOP may share time resources with other APs 105-a, which also may be referred to as coordinated APs, Para. 39, FIG. 1. The TXOP owner (AP 105-b) may obtain a TXOP 201 and shares it with one or more other coordinated APs (AP 105-a, and optionally one or more additional APs), Para. 45, FIGS. 1, 5. The inter-AP communications manager 645 may coordinate scheduling for TXOP portions of a shared TXOP among to APs 105 for C-TDMA. The inter-AP communications manager 645 may coordinate scheduling for transmissions to APs 105 for various interference mitigation techniques, Para. 112, FIGS. 1, 6).
In regard to Claim 18, Sun teaches the peer-to-peer device is further configured to determine a plurality of transmission opportunity (TxOP) schedules (TXOP owner AP 105-b may already be aware of another AP's desire or willingness to participate in TXOPs owned (or that will be owned in the future) by AP 105-a at the time AP 105-a obtains the current TXOP 201, Para. 50, FIG. 1).
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 5/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 7 of the Remarks presents the argument that Nonetheless, without conceding the propriety of the rejections and the allegations of the Office Action, and, in the interest of compact prosecution, the independent claims have been amended to generally recite, inter alia: directing a neighboring AP to expand its TxOP, wherein first client device requests an extension of its transmission opportunity by def erring another device and reattempting transmission after a predetermined backoff period. This argument is not persuasive. The limitations introduced by the amendment of Claims 1, 13 and 19, which are not taught by Kishida, Verma and Sun, are taught by Xin et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220007417 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240334482 A1) teaches the device requests an extension of its transmission opportunity by deferring another device and reattempting transmission after a predetermined backoff period (channel access operation may include a channel sensing operation and/or a random backoff operation, Para. 93, FIGS. 6A-8. Accordingly, the AP 1 may transmit the BSRP trigger frame by including information indicating an expected TXOP. When the BSR(s) of the STA(s) are received, the AP 1 may calculate the extended TXOP by recalculating the TXOP in consideration of the length of the longest UL data unit. The AP 1 may transmit an M-BA frame or a UL trigger frame including information indicating the extended TXOP, Para. 95, FIGS. 6A-8).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
6-21-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477