DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges the following data:
Child data
PCT/US24/57840 filed on 11/27/2024 is a continuity of 18586412, filed on 02/23/2024.
Information Disclosure statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 02/23/2024 and 01/21/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madhukiran et al (US 2022/0272550) in view of Sirianni et al (US 11503075).
Regarding claim 1, Madhukiran et al discloses method comprising (FIG. 2 is a flowchart illustrating one embodiment of a computerized method in accordance to some embodiments, [0005], line 1):
determining an outage period for an outage of a first mobility node of a wireless network, the outage period having an outage start time and an outage end time (computer device 144 implements the method. At block 202, outage data 148 is obtained at the computer device 144 that indicates that an outage event occurred at the BS 102A of the plurality of BSs 102 and a first time period that the outage event occurred at the BS 102A. The first time period begins at a first start time that indicates when the outage event began and ends at a first end time that indicates when the outage event ended, [0038], lines 1-4);
determining a first set of user equipment (UEs) that, at the outage start time, had been attached to the first mobility node (A first subset of the first set of user devices (user equipment (UEs)) that are wirelessly connected (attached) to any of at least one of the plurality of BSs (first mobility node) during the outage event are identified, [0018], lines 5-7);
determining, as a second set of UEs, UEs within the first set of UEs that experienced a missed incoming communication from the wireless network during the outage period (second subset of the first set of user devices that are not connected (missed incoming communication) to any of the plurality of BSs during the outage event are identified, [0018], lines 7-8);
determining, for each UE of the second set of UEs, an impact period having an impact start time and an impact end time, wherein the impact start time is based on at least an earliest time of the missed incoming communication from the wireless network for that UE, and wherein the impact end time is no later than the outage end time (system determines, for some UEs an outage event impact during the time period of the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time), wherein the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) consists of a start time and an end time where there’s no connectivity between the UEs and the RAN 105 (missed incoming communication from the wireless network for that UE), and wherein the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) is where the impact end time occurs before the outage end time, [0032], lines 1-13 and [0060], lines 1-5);
determining an aggregate impact based on at least the impact period of each UE of the second set of UEs (identifying (determining) a second group (aggregate) in the first subset of first set of real time (impact period) connected UDs 104 (second set of UEs) having the connectivity quality parameter below the first threshold value or a second threshold value to indicate poor connectivity (impact), [0052], lines 10-12); and
Madhukiran et al does not specifically disclose concept of generating an alert indicating the aggregate impact.
However, Sirianni et al specifically teaches concept of generating an alert indicating the aggregate impact (After the analytic server 102 prioritizes and analyzes the aggregated impacts of multiple alerts, IDS notifications, and other attack indicators, the analytic server 102 may display the results on a user interface of the analytic server or on a computing device (not shown) associated with the analyst 114; thus is seen as displaying (generating) an alert indicating the aggregated impact, col. 6, lines 42-47, col. 13, lines 4-9 and lines 26-33).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Madhukiran et al with concept of generating an alert indicating the aggregate impact of Sirianni et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve maintaining system security, (Sirianni et al, col. 2, line 7).
Regarding claim 2, Madhukiran et al discloses method, further comprising (FIG. 2 is a flowchart illustrating one embodiment of a computerized method in accordance to some embodiments, [0005], line 1):
Madhukiran et al does not specifically disclose concept of based on at least the aggregate impact in the alert exceeding an impact threshold, initiating a software reconfiguration of the first mobility node.
However, Madhukiran et al specifically teaches concept of based on at least the aggregate impact in the alert exceeding an impact threshold, initiating a software reconfiguration of the first mobility node (Alerts may occur in real-time, as the impact scores exceed thresholds. For example, upon the impact score of an attack satisfying a threshold, the analytic server may generate an electronic alert message comprising a report of the attack to notify an analyst. At step 214, upon the impact scores of the highly ranked attacks satisfying a threshold, the analytic server may automatically respond to one or more highly ranked attacks by taking automated actions to mitigate system impacts of the attacks. The automated actions may reconfigure the devices associated with the highly ranked attacks based on system configuration policies, col. 13, lines 4-9 and lines 26-33).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Madhukiran et al with concept of based on at least the aggregate impact in the alert exceeding an impact threshold, initiating a software reconfiguration of the first mobility node of Sirianni et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve maintaining system security, (Sirianni et al, col. 2, line 7)
Regarding claim 3, Madhukiran et al discloses method (FIG. 2 is a flowchart illustrating one embodiment of a computerized method in accordance to some embodiments, [0005], line 1), wherein the mobility node comprises a mobility management entity (MME) or an access mobility function (AMF) (EPC 120 includes a Mobility Management Entity (MME) 122, other MMEs 124, [0027], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 4, Madhukiran et al discloses method (FIG. 2 is a flowchart illustrating one embodiment of a computerized method in accordance to some embodiments, [0005], line 1), wherein the impact start time for a UE is determined using a first data log, received from an internet protocol (IP) multimedia subsystem (IMS), with a first log entry indicating the earliest time of the missed incoming communication (MME 122 provides bearer and connection management. All user Internet protocol (IP) packets are transferred through the Serving Gateway 126. The IP Services 136 includes the Internet, an intranet, an IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS). System determines, for some UEs an outage event impact during the time period of the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time), wherein the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) consists of a start time and an end time where there’s no connectivity between the UEs and the RAN 105 (missed incoming communication from the wireless network for that UE), and wherein the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) is where the impact end time occurs before the outage end time, [0027], lines 4-5, lines 8-9 and [0032], lines 1-13).
Regarding claim 5, Madhukiran et al discloses method (FIG. 2 is a flowchart illustrating one embodiment of a computerized method in accordance to some embodiments, [0005], line 1), wherein the impact start time for a UE is determined using a second data log, received from a session management node of the wireless network, with a second log entry indicating the earliest time of the missed incoming communication (MBMS Gateway 128 may be used to distribute MBMS traffic to the BSs 102 belonging to a Multicast Broadcast Single Frequency Network (MBSFN) area broadcasting a particular service, and may be responsible for session management (start/stop) and for collecting eMBMS related charging information. At block 208, a second subset of the first set of UDs (e.g., type III UDs 104) that are not connected to any of the plurality of BSs during the first time period. These are the UDs 104 that could not connect to any of the BSs 102 during the outage event (impact start time and an impact end time). In this manner, the software allows for service providers to understand the impact of an outage event (impact start time and an impact end time), whether planned or unplanned. Understanding the impact of the outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) allows for service providers to eliminate or ameliorate the negative impact of the outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) on subscribers. Additionally, the software allows for service providers to provide government reports that require detailed information regarding outage events (impact start time and an impact end time) to government authorities, [0027], lines 12-15, [0041], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 6, Madhukiran et al discloses method (FIG. 2 is a flowchart illustrating one embodiment of a computerized method in accordance to some embodiments, [0005], line 1), wherein the impact end time for an early recovery UE of the second set of UEs is no later than a time the early recovery UE attached to a second mobility node (system determines, for some UEs an outage event impact during the time period of the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time), wherein the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) consists of a start time and an end time where there’s no connectivity between the UEs and the RAN 105 (missed incoming communication from the wireless network for that UE), and wherein the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) is where the impact end time occurs before the outage end time, [0032], lines 1-13 and [0060], lines 1-5)
Regarding claim 7, Madhukiran et al discloses method (FIG. 2 is a flowchart illustrating one embodiment of a computerized method in accordance to some embodiments, [0005], line 1), wherein the first mobility node is within a first mobility node pool having mobility nodes in a first geographical region, wherein a second mobility node pool includes mobility nodes in a second geographical region adjacent to the first geographical region, and wherein the method further comprises (The BSs 102 may wirelessly communicate with the UDs 104. Each of the BSs 102 provide communication coverage for a respective geographic coverage area (referred to generically as coverage area(s) 110 and specifically as coverage areas 110A-110G). In some embodiments, adjacent coverage areas 110 partially overlap. In FIG. 1, the BSs 102B-102G are all BSs that neighbor the BS 102A. In this example, the coverage areas 110B-11OG of BSs 102B-102G, each partially overlap the coverage area 110A of the BS 102A, [0022], lines 1-17):
searching for an indication, that the early recovery UE attached to the second mobility node, within data logs of (In FIG. 1, a server 140 is connected to the EPC 120 through the IP services 104. The server 104 operates a database 142. The RAN 105 and the EPC 120 transmit data to the server 140 regarding the operation of the RAN 105 and the EPC 120. The server 140 is then configured to administer the data and store the data in the database 142. A computer device 144 is configured to submit search requests to the server 140 through the IP services 136 to obtain data from the database 142. In some embodiments, a user logs into an account by providing credentials to obtain data from the database 142. In other embodiments, the computer device 142 implements a software application that makes search requests to the server 140 through the IP Services 136 to obtain data from the database 142, [0029], lines 1-7):
the mobility nodes in the first mobility node pool, the mobility nodes in the second mobility node pool, different cellular generation mobility nodes of the wireless network in the first geographical region, and mobility nodes of a roaming partner of the wireless network (In some embodiments, the EPC 120 includes a Mobility Management Entity (MME) 122, other MMEs 124, a Serving Gateway 126, a Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service (MBMS) Gateway 128, a Broadcast Multicast Service Center (BM-SC) 130, and a Packet Data Network (PDN) Gateway 132. The MME 122 may be in communication with a Home Subscriber Server (HSS) 134. The MME 122 is the control node that processes the signaling between the UDs 104 and the EPC 120. Generally, the MME 122 provides bearer and connection management. All user Internet protocol (IP) packets are transferred through the Serving Gateway 126, which itself is connected to the PDN Gateway 132. The PDN Gateway 132 provides UD IP address allocation as well as other functions, [0027], lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 8, Madhukiran et al discloses system comprising (FIG. 1 is a diagram of a wireless communications system in accordance to some embodiments, [0004], line 1):
a processor (hardware processor 1102, [0076], lines 5-7); and
a computer-readable medium storing instructions that are operative upon execution by the processor to (computer device 1100 is a general purpose computing device including at least one hardware processor 1102 and a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium 1104. Storage medium 1104, amongst other things, is encoded with, i.e., stores, computer program code 1106, i.e., a set of computer-executable instructions, [0076], lines 5-7):
determine an outage period for an outage of a first mobility node of a wireless network, the outage period having an outage start time and an outage end time (computer device 144 implements the method. At block 202, outage data 148 is obtained at the computer device 144 that indicates that an outage event occurred at the BS 102A of the plurality of BSs 102 and a first time period that the outage event occurred at the BS 102A. The first time period begins at a first start time that indicates when the outage event began and ends at a first end time that indicates when the outage event ended, [0038], lines 1-4);
determine a first set of user equipment (UEs) that, at the outage start time, had been attached to the first mobility node (A first subset of the first set of user devices (user equipment (UEs)) that are wirelessly connected (attached) to any of at least one of the plurality of BSs (first mobility node) during the outage event are identified, [0018], lines 5-7);
determine, as a second set of UEs, UEs within the first set of UEs that experienced a missed incoming communication from the wireless network during the outage period (second subset of the first set of user devices that are not connected (missed incoming communication) to any of the plurality of BSs during the outage event are identified, [0018], lines 7-8);
determine, for each UE of the second set of UEs, an impact period having an impact start time and an impact end time, wherein the impact start time is based on at least an earliest time of the missed incoming communication from the wireless network for that UE, and wherein the impact end time is no later than the outage end time (system determines, for some UEs an outage event impact during the time period of the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time), wherein the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) consists of a start time and an end time where there’s no connectivity between the UEs and the RAN 105 (missed incoming communication from the wireless network for that UE), and wherein the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) is where the impact end time occurs before the outage end time, [0032], lines 1-13 and [0060], lines 1-5);
determine an aggregate impact based on at least the impact period of each UE of the second set of UEs (identifying (determining) a second group (aggregate) in the first subset of first set of real time (impact period) connected UDs 104 (second set of UEs) having the connectivity quality parameter below the first threshold value or a second threshold value to indicate poor connectivity (impact), [0052], lines 10-12); and
Madhukiran et al does not specifically disclose concept of generate an alert indicating the aggregate impact.
However, Sirianni et al specifically teaches concept of generate an alert indicating the aggregate impact (After the analytic server 102 prioritizes and analyzes the aggregated impacts of multiple alerts, IDS notifications, and other attack indicators, the analytic server 102 may display the results on a user interface of the analytic server or on a computing device (not shown) associated with the analyst 114; thus is seen as displaying (generating) an alert indicating the aggregated impact, col. 6, lines 42-47, col. 13, lines 4-9 and lines 26-33).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Madhukiran et al with concept of generate an alert indicating the aggregate impact of Sirianni et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve maintaining system security, (Sirianni et al, col. 2, line 7).
Regarding claim 9, Madhukiran et al discloses system, wherein the instructions are further operative to (FIG. 1 is a diagram of a wireless communications system in accordance to some embodiments, [0004], line 1):
Madhukiran et al does not specifically disclose concept of based on at least the aggregate impact in the alert exceeding an impact threshold, initiating a software reconfiguration of the first mobility node.
However, Madhukiran et al specifically teaches concept of based on at least the aggregate impact in the alert exceeding an impact threshold, initiating a software reconfiguration of the first mobility node (Alerts may occur in real-time, as the impact scores exceed thresholds. For example, upon the impact score of an attack satisfying a threshold, the analytic server may generate an electronic alert message comprising a report of the attack to notify an analyst. At step 214, upon the impact scores of the highly ranked attacks satisfying a threshold, the analytic server may automatically respond to one or more highly ranked attacks by taking automated actions to mitigate system impacts of the attacks. The automated actions may reconfigure the devices associated with the highly ranked attacks based on system configuration policies, col. 13, lines 4-9 and lines 26-33).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Madhukiran et al with concept of based on at least the aggregate impact in the alert exceeding an impact threshold, initiating a software reconfiguration of the first mobility node of Sirianni et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve maintaining system security, (Sirianni et al, col. 2, line 7).
Regarding claim 10, Madhukiran et al discloses system (FIG. 1 is a diagram of a wireless communications system in accordance to some embodiments, [0004], line 1), wherein the mobility node comprises a mobility management entity (MME) or an access mobility function (AMF) (EPC 120 includes a Mobility Management Entity (MME) 122, other MMEs 124, [0027], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 11, Madhukiran et al discloses system (FIG. 1 is a diagram of a wireless communications system in accordance to some embodiments, [0004], line 1), wherein the impact start time for a UE is determined using a first data log, received from an internet protocol (IP) multimedia subsystem (IMS), with a first log entry indicating the earliest time of the missed incoming communication (MME 122 provides bearer and connection management. All user Internet protocol (IP) packets are transferred through the Serving Gateway 126. The IP Services 136 includes the Internet, an intranet, an IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS). System determines, for some UEs an outage event impact during the time period of the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time), wherein the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) consists of a start time and an end time where there’s no connectivity between the UEs and the RAN 105 (missed incoming communication from the wireless network for that UE), and wherein the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) is where the impact end time occurs before the outage end time, [0027], lines 4-5, lines 8-9 and [0032], lines 1-13).
Regarding claim 12, Madhukiran et al discloses system (FIG. 1 is a diagram of a wireless communications system in accordance to some embodiments, [0004], line 1), wherein the impact start time for a UE is determined using a second data log, received from a session management node of the wireless network, with a second log entry indicating the earliest time of the missed incoming communication (MBMS Gateway 128 may be used to distribute MBMS traffic to the BSs 102 belonging to a Multicast Broadcast Single Frequency Network (MBSFN) area broadcasting a particular service, and may be responsible for session management (start/stop) and for collecting eMBMS related charging information. At block 208, a second subset of the first set of UDs (e.g., type III UDs 104) that are not connected to any of the plurality of BSs during the first time period. These are the UDs 104 that could not connect to any of the BSs 102 during the outage event (impact start time and an impact end time). In this manner, the software allows for service providers to understand the impact of an outage event (impact start time and an impact end time), whether planned or unplanned. Understanding the impact of the outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) allows for service providers to eliminate or ameliorate the negative impact of the outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) on subscribers. Additionally, the software allows for service providers to provide government reports that require detailed information regarding outage events (impact start time and an impact end time) to government authorities, [0027], lines 12-15, [0041], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 13, Madhukiran et al discloses system (FIG. 1 is a diagram of a wireless communications system in accordance to some embodiments, [0004], line 1), wherein the impact end time for an early recovery UE of the second set of UEs is no later than a time the early recovery UE attached to a second mobility node (system determines, for some UEs an outage event impact during the time period of the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time), wherein the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) consists of a start time and an end time where there’s no connectivity between the UEs and the RAN 105 (missed incoming communication from the wireless network for that UE), and wherein the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) is where the impact end time occurs before the outage end time, [0032], lines 1-13 and [0060], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 14, Madhukiran et al discloses system (FIG. 1 is a diagram of a wireless communications system in accordance to some embodiments, [0004], line 1), wherein the first mobility node is within a first mobility node pool having mobility nodes in a first geographical region, wherein a second mobility node pool includes mobility nodes in a second geographical region adjacent to the first geographical region, and wherein the instructions are further operative to (The BSs 102 may wirelessly communicate with the UDs 104. Each of the BSs 102 provide communication coverage for a respective geographic coverage area (referred to generically as coverage area(s) 110 and specifically as coverage areas 110A-110G). In some embodiments, adjacent coverage areas 110 partially overlap. In FIG. 1, the BSs 102B-102G are all BSs that neighbor the BS 102A. In this example, the coverage areas 110B-11OG of BSs 102B-102G, each partially overlap the coverage area 110A of the BS 102A, [0022], lines 1-17):
search for an indication, that the early recovery UE attached to the second mobility node, within data logs of (In FIG. 1, a server 140 is connected to the EPC 120 through the IP services 104. The server 104 operates a database 142. The RAN 105 and the EPC 120 transmit data to the server 140 regarding the operation of the RAN 105 and the EPC 120. The server 140 is then configured to administer the data and store the data in the database 142. A computer device 144 is configured to submit search requests to the server 140 through the IP services 136 to obtain data from the database 142. In some embodiments, a user logs into an account by providing credentials to obtain data from the database 142. In other embodiments, the computer device 142 implements a software application that makes search requests to the server 140 through the IP Services 136 to obtain data from the database 142, [0029], lines 1-7):
the mobility nodes in the first mobility node pool, the mobility nodes in the second mobility node pool, different cellular generation mobility nodes of the wireless network in the first geographical region, and mobility nodes of a roaming partner of the wireless network (In some embodiments, the EPC 120 includes a Mobility Management Entity (MME) 122, other MMEs 124, a Serving Gateway 126, a Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service (MBMS) Gateway 128, a Broadcast Multicast Service Center (BM-SC) 130, and a Packet Data Network (PDN) Gateway 132. The MME 122 may be in communication with a Home Subscriber Server (HSS) 134. The MME 122 is the control node that processes the signaling between the UDs 104 and the EPC 120. Generally, the MME 122 provides bearer and connection management. All user Internet protocol (IP) packets are transferred through the Serving Gateway 126, which itself is connected to the PDN Gateway 132. The PDN Gateway 132 provides UD IP address allocation as well as other functions, [0027], lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 15, Madhukiran et al discloses one or more computer storage devices having computer-executable instructions stored thereon, which, upon execution by a computer, cause the computer to perform operations comprising (computer device 1100 is a general purpose computing device including at least one hardware processor 1102 and a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium 1104. Storage medium 1104, amongst other things, is encoded with, i.e., stores, computer program code 1106, i.e., a set of computer-executable instructions, [0076], lines 5-7):
determining an outage period for an outage of a first mobility node of a wireless network, the outage period having an outage start time and an outage end time (computer device 144 implements the method. At block 202, outage data 148 is obtained at the computer device 144 that indicates that an outage event occurred at the BS 102A of the plurality of BSs 102 and a first time period that the outage event occurred at the BS 102A. The first time period begins at a first start time that indicates when the outage event began and ends at a first end time that indicates when the outage event ended, [0038], lines 1-4);
determining a first set of user equipment (UEs) that, at the outage start time, had been attached to the first mobility node (A first subset of the first set of user devices (user equipment (UEs)) that are wirelessly connected (attached) to any of at least one of the plurality of BSs (first mobility node) during the outage event are identified, [0018], lines 5-7);
determining, as a second set of UEs, UEs within the first set of UEs that experienced a missed incoming communication from the wireless network during the outage period (second subset of the first set of user devices that are not connected (missed incoming communication) to any of the plurality of BSs during the outage event are identified, [0018], lines 7-8);
determining, for each UE of the second set of UEs, an impact period having an impact start time and an impact end time, wherein the impact start time is based on at least an earliest time of the missed incoming communication from the wireless network for that UE, and wherein the impact end time is no later than the outage end time (system determines, for some UEs an outage event impact during the time period of the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time), wherein the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) consists of a start time and an end time where there’s no connectivity between the UEs and the RAN 105 (missed incoming communication from the wireless network for that UE), and wherein the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) is where the impact end time occurs before the outage end time, [0032], lines 1-13 and [0060], lines 1-5);
determining an aggregate impact based on at least the impact period of each UE of the second set of UEs (identifying (determining) a second group (aggregate) in the first subset of first set of real time (impact period) connected UDs 104 (second set of UEs) having the connectivity quality parameter below the first threshold value or a second threshold value to indicate poor connectivity (impact), [0052], lines 10-12); and
Madhukiran et al does not specifically disclose concept of generating an alert indicating the aggregate impact.
However, Sirianni et al specifically teaches concept of generating an alert indicating the aggregate impact (After the analytic server 102 prioritizes and analyzes the aggregated impacts of multiple alerts, IDS notifications, and other attack indicators, the analytic server 102 may display the results on a user interface of the analytic server or on a computing device (not shown) associated with the analyst 114; thus is seen as displaying (generating) an alert indicating the aggregated impact, col. 6, lines 42-47, col. 13, lines 4-9 and lines 26-33).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Madhukiran et al with concept of generating an alert indicating the aggregate impact of Sirianni et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve maintaining system security, (Sirianni et al, col. 2, line 7)
Regarding claim 16, Madhukiran et al discloses one or more computer storage devices (computer device 1100 is a general purpose computing device including at least one hardware processor 1102 and a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium 1104. Storage medium 1104, amongst other things, is encoded with, i.e., stores, computer program code 1106, i.e., a set of computer-executable instructions, [0076], lines 5-7), wherein the mobility node comprises a mobility management entity (MME) or an access mobility function (AMF) (EPC 120 includes a Mobility Management Entity (MME) 122, other MMEs 124, [0027], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 17, Madhukiran et al discloses one or more computer storage devices (computer device 1100 is a general purpose computing device including at least one hardware processor 1102 and a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium 1104. Storage medium 1104, amongst other things, is encoded with, i.e., stores, computer program code 1106, i.e., a set of computer-executable instructions, [0076], lines 5-7), wherein the impact start time for a UE is determined using a first data log, received from an internet protocol (IP) multimedia subsystem (IMS), with a first log entry indicating the earliest time of the missed incoming communication, and wherein the first data log comprises a telephony application server (TAS) call detail record (CDR) (MME 122 provides bearer and connection management. All user Internet protocol (IP) packets are transferred through the Serving Gateway 126. The IP Services 136 includes the Internet, an intranet, an IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS). System determines, for some UEs an outage event impact during the time period of the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time), wherein the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) consists of a start time and an end time where there’s no connectivity between the UEs and the RAN 105 (missed incoming communication from the wireless network for that UE), and wherein the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) is where the impact end time occurs before the outage end time, [0027], lines 4-5, lines 8-9 and [0032], lines 1-13).
Regarding claim 18, Madhukiran et al discloses one or more computer storage devices (computer device 1100 is a general purpose computing device including at least one hardware processor 1102 and a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium 1104. Storage medium 1104, amongst other things, is encoded with, i.e., stores, computer program code 1106, i.e., a set of computer-executable instructions, [0076], lines 5-7), wherein the impact start time for a UE is determined using a second data log, received from a session management node of the wireless network, with a second log entry indicating the earliest time of the missed incoming communication (MBMS Gateway 128 may be used to distribute MBMS traffic to the BSs 102 belonging to a Multicast Broadcast Single Frequency Network (MBSFN) area broadcasting a particular service, and may be responsible for session management (start/stop) and for collecting eMBMS related charging information. At block 208, a second subset of the first set of UDs (e.g., type III UDs 104) that are not connected to any of the plurality of BSs during the first time period. These are the UDs 104 that could not connect to any of the BSs 102 during the outage event (impact start time and an impact end time). In this manner, the software allows for service providers to understand the impact of an outage event (impact start time and an impact end time), whether planned or unplanned. Understanding the impact of the outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) allows for service providers to eliminate or ameliorate the negative impact of the outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) on subscribers. Additionally, the software allows for service providers to provide government reports that require detailed information regarding outage events (impact start time and an impact end time) to government authorities, [0027], lines 12-15, [0041], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 19, Madhukiran et al discloses one or more computer storage devices (computer device 1100 is a general purpose computing device including at least one hardware processor 1102 and a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium 1104. Storage medium 1104, amongst other things, is encoded with, i.e., stores, computer program code 1106, i.e., a set of computer-executable instructions, [0076], lines 5-7), wherein the session management node comprises a session management function (SMF) or a system architecture evolution gateway (SAEGW) control plane (SAEGW-C), and wherein the second log entry indicates a Downlink Data Notification (DDN) timeout or DDN reject (MBMS Gateway 128 may be used to distribute MBMS traffic to the BSs 102 belonging to a Multicast Broadcast Single Frequency Network (MBSFN) area broadcasting a particular service, and may be responsible for session management (start/stop) and for collecting eMBMS related charging information. At block 208, a second subset of the first set of UDs (e.g., type III UDs 104) that are not connected to any of the plurality of BSs during the first time period. These are the UDs 104 that could not connect to any of the BSs 102 during the outage event (impact start time and an impact end time). In this manner, the software allows for service providers to understand the impact of an outage event (impact start time and an impact end time), whether planned or unplanned. Understanding the impact of the outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) allows for service providers to eliminate or ameliorate the negative impact of the outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) on subscribers. Additionally, the software allows for service providers to provide government reports that require detailed information regarding outage events (impact start time and an impact end time) to government authorities, [0027], lines 12-15, [0041], lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 20, Madhukiran et al discloses one or more computer storage devices (computer device 1100 is a general purpose computing device including at least one hardware processor 1102 and a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium 1104. Storage medium 1104, amongst other things, is encoded with, i.e., stores, computer program code 1106, i.e., a set of computer-executable instructions, [0076], lines 5-7), wherein the impact end time for an early recovery UE of the second set of UEs is no later than a time the early recovery UE attached to a second mobility node (system determines, for some UEs an outage event impact during the time period of the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time), wherein the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) consists of a start time and an end time where there’s no connectivity between the UEs and the RAN 105 (missed incoming communication from the wireless network for that UE), and wherein the impact outage event (impact start time and an impact end time) is where the impact end time occurs before the outage end time, [0032], lines 1-13 and [0060], lines 1-5).
Conclusion
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681