DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-12 and 20-23 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-12 and 21-23, directed to a chromatographic material, in the reply filed on 09/14/2026 is acknowledged. The election was made with traverse.
The traversal is on the ground(s):
the process of using the product as claimed can in fact be practiced with another materially different product, such as HPLC C18, C4 etc. columns.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Please note that after a final requirement for restriction, the Applicants, in addition to making any response due on the remainder of the action, may petition the Commissioner to review the requirement. Petition may be deferred until after final action on or allowance of claims to the invention elected, but must be filed not later than appeal. A petition will not be considered if reconsideration of the requirement was not requested. (See § 1.181.).
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be amended in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(b) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. Any amendment of inventorship must be accompanied by a request under 37 CFR 1.48(b) and by the fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claims 1-12 and 21-23 are under current examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-2, 4-9, 11, 12 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2143. The MPEP states that the purpose of the written description requirement is to the ensure that the inventor had possession, as of the filling date of the application, of the specific subject matter claimed by him. Further, for a broad generic claim, the specification must provide adequate written description to identify the genus of the claim.
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11, 12 and 21-23 are drawn to carbon microspheres derivatized with any organic functional group.
Thus, the instant claims are drawn to millions of carbon microspheres, having any functional group of any size, structure etc., are attached.
A disclosure should contain representative examples which provide reasonable assurance to one skilled in the art that ensure that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter claimed by him. The applicants have broadly claimed carbon microspheres derivatized with any organic functional group. MPEP states that written description for a genus can be achieved by a representative number of species within a broad generic. It is unquestionable that claims 1-2, 4-9, 11, 12 and 21-23 are broad and generic, with respect to all possible carbon microspheres encompassed by the instant claims. There is a very large number of structural variations encompassed by the instant claims. The claims lack written description because the specification lacks sufficient variety of species to reflect this variance in the genus, especially with respect to organic functional groups.
The specification provides guidance to only one kind of functional group, alkyl vs. a large number of variations embraced by the instant claims.
The specification does not provide sufficient descriptive support for the myriads of organic functional group derivatized carbon microspheres embraced by the claims.
Considering the lack of guidance provided in the specification, one of ordinary skill in the art would be burdened with undue experimentation to practice the invention commensurate in the scope of claims 1-2, 4-9, 11, 12 and 21-23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 23 is indefinite as claim recites “according to Embodiment 16”. The claim is not properly dependent on any claim and also lacks antecedent basis for the carbon microsphere.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Betz (US 2021/0394156 A1).
Betz discloses a chromatographic material comprising porous carbon microspheres of size such as about 1micron (close to less than 1 micron)-about 5micron, stable in pH range from about 0-14, temperature range 25C-250C (see the column conditions ran at temperatures 25C, 225C, 250 and 275C) which are linked with organic functional groups during its use in separation (at retention times) before elution of compounds, such as amino acids (having amine group), substituted alkanes, such as nitroethane, nitrobutane etc., (entire application, examples). The cited prior art further teaches graphitization of carbon microsphere (entire application). Since the cited prior art teaches graphitization of porous carbon microsphere same as carbonization of porous carbon microsphere, the result of such graphitization, i.e., forming nonporous carbon microsphere having solid carbon is expected to be the same.
With regards to surface area limitation of the instant claims-since the cited prior art teaches same carbon microspheres of same size as in the instant claims, the surface area of carbon microspheres of the cited prior art is expected to be the same as in the instant claims.
Since the cited prior art reads on all the limitations of the instant claims 1-12 and 22, these claims are anticipated.
Claims 1, 3-5 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Urakami (Chem. Commun., 2012, 48, 10984-10986).
Urakami teaches a direct bond between carbon microsphere and organic functional group, such as cyano (entire article). The cited prior art further teaches stability of the carbon microsphere at acidic pH (see the reaction carried out in HCl) and 100C (entire article).
With regard to the limitation, “chromatographic material”, since the cited prior art teaches same carbon microsphere as in instant claims, the carbon microsphere of the prior art must be capable of being useful as chromatographic material. Further, if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation”); Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d at 152, 88 USPQ2d at 480-81 (preamble is not a limitation where claim is directed to a product and the preamble merely recites a property inherent in an old product defined by the remainder of the claim); STX LLC. v. Brine, 211 F.3d 588, 591, 54 USPQ2d 1347, 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2000).
Since the cited prior art reads on all the limitations of the instant claims 1, 3-5 and 21, these claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Betz (US 2021/0394156 A1) and Urakami (Chem. Commun., 2012, 48, 10984-10986) in combination.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
Betz discloses a chromatographic material comprising porous carbon microspheres of size such as about 1micron (close to less than 1 micron)-about 5micron, stable in pH range from about 0-14, temperature range 25C-250C (see the column conditions ran at temperatures 25C, 225C, 250 and 275C) which are linked with organic functional groups during its use in separation (at retention times) before elution of compounds, such as amino acids (having amine group), substituted alkanes, such as nitroethane, nitrobutane etc., (entire application, examples). The cited prior art further teaches graphitization of carbon microsphere (entire application). Since the cited prior art teaches graphitization of porous carbon microsphere same as carbonization of porous carbon microsphere, the result of such graphitization, i.e., forming nonporous carbon microsphere having solid carbon is expected to be the same.
With regards to surface area limitation of the instant claims-since the cited prior art teaches same carbon microspheres of same size as in the instant claims, the surface area of carbon microspheres of the cited prior art is expected to be the same as in the instant claims.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
Betz discloses a chromatographic material comprising porous carbon microspheres of size such as about 1micron (close to less than 1 micron)-about 5micron, stable in pH range from about 0-14, temperature range 25C-250C (see the column conditions ran at temperatures 25C, 225C, 250 and 275C) which are linked with organic functional groups during its use in separation (at retention times) before elution of compounds, such as amino acids (having amine group), substituted alkanes, such as nitroethane, nitrobutane etc., but fails to teach a direct bond between carbon microsphere and organic functional group.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
With regards to the above difference, Betz is silent about teaching to make a direct bond between carbon microsphere and organic functional group. This deficiency is cured by Urakami.
In the same field of endeavor of carbon microsphere, Urakami teaches a direct bond between carbon microsphere and organic functional group, such as cyano (entire article).
Thus, with the guidance provided by the cited prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that a direct bond between carbon microsphere and an organic functional group may be made by the method taught by Urakami.
Therefore, combination reads applicants claims.
Based on the above established facts, it appears that the combination of teachings of above cited prior art read applicants’ material.
Therefore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled person in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness
To establish a prima facie case of obviousness, three basic criteria must be met: (1) the prior art reference must teach or suggest all the claim limitations; (2) there must be some suggestion or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings; and (3) there must be a reasonable expectation of success; and (MPEP § 2143).
In this case, Betz discloses a chromatographic material comprising porous carbon microspheres of size such as about 1micron (close to less than 1 micron)-about 5micron, stable in pH range from about 0-14, temperature range 25C-250C (see the column conditions ran at temperatures 25C, 225C, 250 and 275C) which are linked with organic functional groups during its use in separation (at retention times) before elution of compounds, such as amino acids (having amine group), substituted alkanes, such as nitroethane, nitrobutane etc., whereas Urakami teaches a direct bond between carbon microsphere and organic functional group, such as cyano. So, the combination of prior art read applicants claims.
In KSR International Vo. V. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d (U.S. 2007), the Supreme Court particularly emphasized “the need for caution in granting a patent based on a combination of elements found in the prior art,” (Id. At 1395) and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” (Id. At 1395). See MPEP 2143 - Examples of Basic Requirements of a Prima Facie Case of Obviousness [R-9].
In this case at least prong (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success would apply.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Further, there is a reasonable expectation of success that a direct bond between carbon microsphere and an organic functional group may be made by combination of the above cited prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking advantage of the teaching of the above cited references and making the instantly claimed material with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/PANCHAM BAKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623