DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications, PCT/IL2019/051416 and PCT/IL2021/050217 and US app No. 17/353,867 and US provisional app No. 63/088,535 fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
Specifically the recited application fails to provide an enabling disclosure or any disclosure for the entire scope of the limitations of claims 1-12, and 18-19 including the claim 1 limitations to the Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh “non-detachably attached to a first surface of said flexible PV cell” as well as the further limitations of claims 2-12 and 18-19.
Therefore, the recited Applications PCT/IL2019/051416 and PCT/IL2021/050217 and US app No. 17/353,867 and US provisional app No. 63/088,535 do not provide an enabling disclosure of the entire scope of the subject matter of claims 1-12, and 18-19.
Therefore, the recited Applications PCT/IL2019/051416 and PCT/IL2021/050217 and US app No. 17/353,867 and US provisional app No. 63/088,535 do not provide an enabling disclosure of the entire scope of the subject matter of claims 1-12, and 18-19 and as such these claims are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application.
As recited in MPEP 201.11:Any claim in a continuation-in-part application which is directed solely to subject matter adequately disclosed under 35 U.S.C. 112 in the parent nonprovisional application is entitled to the benefit of the filing date of the parent nonprovisional application. However, if a claim in a continuation-in-part application recites a feature which was not disclosed or adequately supported by a proper disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 112 in the parent nonprovisional application, but which was first introduced or adequately supported in the continuation-in-part application, such a claim is entitled only to the filing date of the continuation-in-part application; In re Chu, 66 F.3d 292, 36 USPQ2d 1089 (Fed. Cir. 1995); Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994); In re Van Lagenhoven, 458 F.2d 132, 136, 173 USPQ 426, 429 (CCPA 1972); and Chromalloy American Corp. v. Alloy Surfaces Co., Inc., 339 F. Supp. 859, 874, 173 USPQ 295, 306 (D. Del. 1972).
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12, 17-19 and 21 as amended are presently under consideration as set forth in applicant’s response filed 09 June 2026. Claims 13-16 and 20 remain cancelled.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the indefiniteness rejections of record, which are withdrawn from further consideration.
Upon further search and consideration of applicant’s new and newly amended claims, the prior art rejections of record are updated or maintained in view of applicant’s amendments to the claims to show where the limitations are taught, disclosed or made obvious.
Applicant’s arguments and remarks where applicable are addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frolov et al (US 2010/0233843), and further in view of Nishi (JP H07312434A, reference made to attached English machine translation) and in further view of CHU et al (US 2017/0365755).
Regarding claim 1 Frolov discloses a flexible Photovoltaic (PV) device, comprising:
a flexible PV cell comprising a crystalline silicon body ([0060], [0184] see: stretchable PV device can be formed of crystalline silicon and as the device is stretchable it’s considered flexible), configured to generate electricity from light ([0046]-[0054], [0088]-[0089], [0094]-[0096], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: PV cell(s) 202, PV cell(s) 602, PV cells 702, PV cells 2602 formed of flexible materials);
a stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh, that is non-detachably attached to a first surface of said flexible PV cell, and that is configured to collect and aggregate PV-generated electricity from said flexible PV cell ([0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], [0096], [0111], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 mounted (e.g. bonded, soldered, welded) on stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive alternatively see electrically conductive stretchable parts 4042-4045 can directly couple to electrical conductors of the PV cells 7021-7024 (Fig. 7) alternatively stretchable carrier can be constructed entirely using wires, meshes (wire mesh 2501, Fig. 25) such as copper wire with PV cells electrically connected thereto (PV cells 2602 on carrier 2600 Fig. 26));
wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is capable of stretching or compressing in response to mechanical forces that are applied to said flexible PV cell, while generally maintaining physical connectivity and electrical connectivity to electricity-generating regions of said PV cell (Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact);
wherein said first surface of said flexible PV cell is opposite to a second surface of that PV cell (Frolov, [0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], [0096], [0111], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 on stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive alternatively see electrically conductive stretchable parts 4042-4045 can directly couple to electrical conductors of the PV cells 7021-7024 (Fig. 7)).
Frolov does not explicitly disclose where that second surface is penetrated, partially but not entirely, by a plurality of non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from the second surface towards the first surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell, such that said second surface comprises segments separated one from the other by rows and columns of thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches; wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell or wherein said non-transcending trenches are filled, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell.
Nishi teaches a solar cell which is flexible and penetrated, partially but not entirely, by a plurality of non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from the second surface towards the first surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell such that said second surface comprises segments separated one from the other by rows and columns of thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches (Nishi, Abstract, [0007]-[0009], Figs. 1-5 see: silicon semiconductor substrate 1 divided into sub regions by non-transcending nicks/notches 5 in rows and columns (Fig. 5) illustrated with a depth within the range of 50 to 99 percent of the thickness of the substrate 1) wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell (Nishi, Abstract, [0006], [0009], Fig. 3 see: nicks/notches 5 allow bending or flexing of semiconductor substrate 1 and thus improve mechanical resilience).
Nishi and Frolov are combinable as they are directed to the field of solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Frolov in view of Nishi such that the solar cell is penetrated, partially but not entirely, by a plurality of non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from the second surface towards the first surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell such that said second surface comprises segments separated one from the other by rows and columns of thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches as in Nishi (Nishi, Abstract, [0007]-[0009], Figs. 1-5 see: silicon semiconductor substrate 1 divided into sub regions by non-transcending nicks/notches 5 in rows and columns (Fig. 5) illustrated with a depth within the range of 50 to 99 percent of the thickness of the substrate 1) wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell as in Nishi (Nishi, Abstract, [0006], [0009], Fig. 3 see: nicks/notches 5 allow bending or flexing of semiconductor substrate 1 and thus improve mechanical resilience) to provide the solar cell with increased flexibility allowing it to conform to curved surfaces and substrates as in Nishi (Nishi, Abstract, [0006], [0009], Fig. 3 see: nicks/notches 5 allow bending or flexing of semiconductor substrate 1).
Modified Frolov does not explicitly disclose wherein said non-transcending trenches are filled, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell.
CHU teaches such grooved semiconductor wafers can further include an organic or inorganic filler material with air gap voids that provide a damper effect to absorb and dissipate vibration shock waves ([0098], [0110]-[0111], [0118], [0120] Figs. 7B and 9B see: semiconductor unit 11 with gap regions B filled with organic or inorganic flowable material 16 including voids or air gaps 17). Chu further teaches this can be applied to flexible solar cells (para [0122]).
CHU and modified Frolov are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of flexible solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of modified Frolov in view of CHU such that said non-transcending trenches are filled, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell as in CHU (Figs. 7B and 9B) as CHU teaches this allows the grooves/gaps with filler material and voids to provide a damper effect to absorb and dissipate vibration shock waves (CHU, [0098], [0110]-[0111], [0118], [0120] Figs. 7B and 9B see: semiconductor unit 11 with gap regions B filled with organic or inorganic flowable material 16 including voids or air gaps 17).
Regarding claim 2 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 1, wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is configured, by having a pre-defined layout of patterned metal wires, to withstand mechanical shocks that are applied to said flexible PV cell ([0111], [0120], Figs. 25-26 see: stretchable carrier can be constructed entirely using wires, meshes (wire mesh 2501, Fig. 25) such as copper wire with PV cells electrically connected thereto (PV cells 2602 on carrier 2600 Fig. 26).
Regarding claim 8 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 1, wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is a thin metal sheet that is intentionally wrinkled and non-smooth ([0077]-[0078] Figs. 6A-6B see: stretchable parts 4042-4045 having a corrugated (wrinkled) shape and formed of a metal foil), and has a three-dimensional layout of crumples and wrinkles on its surface that touches the flexible PV device ([0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], Figs. 6A-6B, see: back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 contacting stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive); wherein said three-dimensional layout of crumples and wrinkles on said surface of said metal sheet, provides to said Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh a capability to dynamically stretch or dynamically compress in response to mechanical forces while generally maintaining physical connectivity and electrical connectivity to electricity-generating regions of said flexible PV cell (Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 6A-6B, see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact).
Regarding claim 9 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 8, wherein the stretchable and compressible metal Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh further connects, mechanically and electrically, two or more neighboring and flexible solar cells, which together form a flexible solar module ([0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0092], Figs. 3 and 6A-6B see: PV cell 602 can be a plurality of PV cells interconnected on said carrier).
Regarding claim 10 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 8, wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is formed of one or more of: tin, aluminum, copper, silver, copper covered or coated by tin, a single metal, an alloy of two or more metals, a combination of two or more metals ([0110] see: stretchable carrier constructed of a metal foil such as copper, aluminum).
Claims 3-7, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frolov et al (US 2010/0233843), in view of Nishi (JP H07312434A, reference made to attached English machine translation) in view of CHU et al (US 2017/0365755) as applied to claims 1-2, and 8-10 above, and further in view of Hofmuller et al (US 2009/0266579).
Regarding claim 3 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 2, and although Frolov teaches grid and mesh stretchable structures (Figs. 25-26) Frolov does not explicitly disclose wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh has a pre-defined layout of knitted metal wires that are knitted and/or woven and/or looped with each other.
Hofmuller however teaches interconnectors for solar cells comprising a Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh having a pre-defined layout of knitted metal wires that are knitted and/or woven and/or looped with each other (Hofmuller, [0013], [0026], [0029]-[0030] Figs. 1-4 see: interconnector 11 as a metal cloth of wires woven together). Hofmuller teaches such a fabric structure as the ability to react flexible on thermal influences and thus minimizes mechanical loads onto the connection areas of the solar elements in situations of thermal stresses and can also be made elastic (Hofmuller, [0013] [0023], [0029]).
Hofmuller and Frolov are combinable as they are both concerned with mesh wire interconnectors for solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the flexible PV device of Frolov in view of Hofmuller such that the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh of Frolov has a pre-defined layout of knitted metal wires that are knitted and/or woven and/or looped with each other as in Hofmuller (Hofmuller, [0013], [0026], [0029]-[0030] Figs. 1-4 see: interconnector 11 as a metal cloth of wires woven together) as Hofmuller teaches such a fabric structure as the ability to react flexible on thermal influences and thus minimizes mechanical loads onto the connection areas of the solar elements in situations of thermal stresses and can also be made elastic (Hofmuller, [0013] [0023], [0029]).
Furthermore, modified Frolov teaches wherein said pre-defined layout provides to said Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh a capability to dynamically stretch or dynamically compress in response to mechanical forces while generally maintaining physical connectivity and electrical connectivity to electricity-generating regions of said flexible PV cell (Frolov, Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 6A-6B, 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact).
Regarding claim 4 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 3, and wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh has a pre-defined layout of zig-zag metal wires (Frolov, [0111], Figs. 25-26 see: stretchable parts 2502 of wire mesh 2501 having a “zig-zag” metal wire shape);
wherein said pre-defined layout provides to said Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh a capability to dynamically stretch or dynamically compress in response to mechanical forces while generally maintaining physical connectivity and electrical connectivity to electricity-generating regions of said flexible PV cell (Frolov, Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 6A-6B, 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact).
Regarding claim 5 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 3, wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh has a pre-defined layout of sinusoid or wavy metal wires (Frolov, [0111], Figs. 25-26 see: stretchable parts 2502 of wire mesh 2501 having a “wavy” or “sinusoid” metal wire shape);
wherein said pre-defined layout provides to said Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh a capability to dynamically stretch or dynamically compress in response to mechanical forces while generally maintaining physical connectivity and electrical connectivity to electricity-generating regions of said flexible PV cell (Frolov, Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 6A-6B, 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact).
Regarding claim 6 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 3, and Frolov further discloses wherein at least some wire segments of said stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh are capable of expanding their length or increasing their curvature in response to mechanical forces that are applied to said flexible PV cell, while maintaining physical connection and electrical connection to electricity-generating regions of said flexible PV cell (Frolov, Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 6A-6B, 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact).
Regarding claim 7 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 6, wherein at least some wire segments of said stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh are capable of shortening their length or decreasing their curvature in response to mechanical forces that are applied to said flexible PV cell, while maintaining physical connection and electrical connection to electricity-generating regions of said flexible PV cell (Frolov, Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 6A-6B, 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact).
Regarding claims 11 and 12 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 1, wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is non-detachably part of a Flexible Polymeric Support Foil, which supports both (i) the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh and (ii) the flexible PV cell ([0110], [0077]-[0078], [0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0092], [0096], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, see: stretchable carrier 400 supporting solar cells 602, 702 and conductive interconnects (conductive foils) and formed of polymer film(s)).
Frolov teaches at para [0139] that such stretchable carriers can have embedded conductors, but in the alternative where it’s not clear that Frolov explicitly discloses wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is non-detachably embedded onto or at least partly within the Flexible Polymeric Support Foil, Hofmuller teaches interconnectors for solar cells comprising a Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh non-detachably embedded onto or at least partly within the Flexible Polymeric Support Foil (Hofmuller, [0013], [0029] Fig. 3 see: interconnector 31 as a metal cloth of wires woven together and embedded in polymer moulding 35 EVA). Hofmuller teaches such an embedded fabric structure is elastic and flexible from the addition of the EVA (Hofmuller, [0029]).
Hofmuller and Frolov are combinable as they are both concerned with mesh wire interconnectors for solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the flexible PV device of Frolov in view of Hofmuller such that the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh of Frolov is non-detachably embedded onto or at least partly within the Flexible Polymeric Support Foil of Frolov as taught by Hofmuller (Hofmuller, [0013], [0029] Fig. 3 see: interconnector 31 as a metal cloth of wires woven together and embedded in polymer moulding 35 EVA) as Hofmuller teaches such an embedded fabric structure is elastic and flexible from the addition of the EVA (Hofmuller, [0029]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frolov et al (US 2010/0233843), and further in view of Masuda et al (US 2014/0305504) and in further view of CHU et al (US 2017/0365755).
Regarding claim 17 Frolov discloses a method of producing a flexible Photovoltaic (PV) device, the method comprising:
producing a flexible PV cell, configured to generate electricity from light ([0046]-[0054], [0088]-[0089], [0094]-[0096], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: providing PV cell(s) 202, PV cell(s) 602, PV cells 702, PV cells 2602 formed of thin-film and flexible materials);
producing a stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh, and attaching it to a surface of said flexible PV cell ([0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], [0096], [0111], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: placing back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 on stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive alternatively see electrically conductive stretchable parts 4042-4045 can directly couple to electrical conductors of the PV cells 7021-7024 (Fig. 7) alternatively stretchable carrier can be constructed entirely using wires, meshes (wire mesh 2501, Fig. 25) such as copper wire with PV cells electrically connected thereto (PV cells 2602 on carrier 2600 Fig. 26));
wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is configured to collect and aggregate PV-generated electricity from said flexible PV cell; wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is capable of stretching or compressing in response to mechanical forces that are applied to said flexible PV cell, while generally maintaining physical connectivity and electrical connectivity to electricity-generating regions of said PV cell (Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact);
wherein the method comprises:
attaching the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh, to said surface of said PV cell (Frolov, [0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], [0096], [0111], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 on stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive alternatively see electrically conductive stretchable parts 4042-4045 can directly couple to electrical conductors of the PV cells 7021-7024 (Fig. 7)).
Frolov does not explicitly disclose that the particular surface is penetrated, partially but not entirely, by non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from said particular surface towards an opposite surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell; wherein said non-transcending trenches provide on said particular surface segments separated one from the other by thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches; and wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell; filling said non-transcending trenches, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell.
Masuda discloses a flexible solar cell comprising a particular surface penetrated, partially but not entirely, by non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from said particular surface towards an opposite surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell ([0027], [0029], Fig. 2 see: grooves 7 with a depth t of about 100 µm in a 150 µm thick silicon power generation layer 1); wherein said non-transcending trenches provide on said particular surface segments separated one from the other by thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches ([0028] Fig. 2 see: grooves 7 separate the layer 1 into equal volume regions 1a); and wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell ([0044], Fig. 9 see: grooves allowing deformation of the wafer allowing it to conform to the curved shape of a vehicle surface).
Masuda and Frolov are combinable as they are both concerned with solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Frolov in view of Masuda such that the solar cell of Frolov comprises a particular surface penetrated, partially but not entirely, by non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from said particular surface towards an opposite surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell as in Masuda ([0027], [0029], Fig. 2 see: grooves 7 with a depth t of about 100 µm in a 150 µm thick silicon power generation layer 1); wherein said non-transcending trenches provide on said particular surface segments separated one from the other by thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches as in Masuda ([0028] Fig. 2 see: grooves 7 separate the layer 1 into equal volume regions 1a); and wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell as in Masuda ([0044], Fig. 9 see: grooves allowing deformation of the wafer allowing it to conform to the curved shape of a vehicle surface) as Masuda teaches this allows the solar cell to conformed to the curved shape of a mounting surface (para [0049] and Fig. 9).
Modified Frolov does not explicitly disclose wherein said non-transcending trenches are filled, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell.
CHU teaches such grooved semiconductor wafers can further include an organic or inorganic filler material with air gap voids that provide a damper effect to absorb and dissipate vibration shock waves ([0098], [0110]-[0111], [0118], [0120] Figs. 7B and 9B see: semiconductor unit 11 with gap regions B filled with organic or inorganic flowable material 16 including voids or air gaps 17). Chu further teaches this can be applied to flexible solar cells (para [0122]).
CHU and modified Frolov are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of flexible solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of modified Frolov in view of CHU such that said non-transcending trenches are filled, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell as in CHU (Figs. 7B and 9B) as CHU teaches this allows the grooves/gaps with filler material and voids to provide a damper effect to absorb and dissipate vibration shock waves (CHU, [0098], [0110]-[0111], [0118], [0120] Figs. 7B and 9B see: semiconductor unit 11 with gap regions B filled with organic or inorganic flowable material 16 including voids or air gaps 17).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frolov et al (US 2010/0233843), in view of Masuda et al (US 2014/0305504) in view of CHU et al (US 2017/0365755) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Hofmuller et al (US 2009/0266579).
Regarding claims 18 and 19 modified Frolov discloses the method of claim 17, wherein producing the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh comprises:
non-detachably forming said stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh onto a Flexible Polymeric Support Foil, which supports both (i) the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh and (ii) the flexible PV cell (Frolov, [0110], [0077]-[0078], [0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0092], [0096], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, see: stretchable carrier 400 supporting solar cells 602, 702 and conductive interconnects (conductive foils) and formed of polymer film(s)).
Frolov teaches at para [0139] that such stretchable carriers can have embedded conductors, but in the alternative where it’s not clear that Frolov explicitly discloses wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is non-detachably embedded onto or at least partly within the Flexible Polymeric Support Foil, Hofmuller teaches interconnectors for solar cells comprising a Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh non-detachably embedded onto or at least partly within the Flexible Polymeric Support Foil (Hofmuller, [0013], [0029] Fig. 3 see: interconnector 31 as a metal cloth of wires woven together and embedded in polymer moulding 35 EVA). Hofmuller teaches such an embedded fabric structure is elastic and flexible from the addition of the EVA (Hofmuller, [0029]).
Hofmuller and Frolov are combinable as they are both concerned with mesh wire interconnectors for solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Frolov in view of Hofmuller such that the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh of Frolov is non-detachably embedded onto or at least partly within the Flexible Polymeric Support Foil of Frolov as taught by Hofmuller (Hofmuller, [0013], [0029] Fig. 3 see: interconnector 31 as a metal cloth of wires woven together and embedded in polymer moulding 35 EVA) as Hofmuller teaches such an embedded fabric structure is elastic and flexible from the addition of the EVA (Hofmuller, [0029]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda et al (US 2014/0305504) in view of Frolov et al (US 2010/0233843) and in further view of CHU et al (US 2017/0365755).
Regarding claim 21 Masuda discloses a flexible photovoltaic device, comprising:
a flexible photovoltaic cell, configured to generate electricity from light ([0044], Fig. 9 see: solar cell 10 provided with flexibility from grooves (7)),
comprising a silicon bulk ([0027] Fig. 2 see: power generating layer 1 formed from n-type monocrystalline semiconductor substrate of Si),
and further comprising an electricity collector that is configured to collect electric current or electric voltage that were generated by said silicon bulk via a photovoltaic effect ([0030] Fig. 2 see: takeout electrodes 9 for connection with other solar cells or devices);
wherein a first surface of the flexible photovoltaic cell is penetrated, partially but not entirely, by non-transcending trenches that penetrate into between 50 percent to 99 percent of a total depth of the silicon bulk of the flexible photovoltaic cell ([0029], Fig. 2 see: grooves 7 with a depth t of about 100 µm in a 150 µm thick power generation layer 1);
wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible photovoltaic cell (para [0044] and Fig. 9 see: grooves 7 allowing deformation and thus providing flexibility and mechanical resilience);
wherein said non-transcending trenches are filled, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible photovoltaic cell (paras [0044]-[0045] and Fig. 9 see: insulating films 7a of resin films provided within grooves 7).
Masuda does not explicitly disclose wherein the electricity collector is one of: (i) a metal foil that has stretching capability and compressing capability, (ii) an electrical conductor mesh that has stretching capability and compressing capability.
Frolov teaches an electricity collector for a solar cell that is one of (i) a metal foil that has stretching capability and compressing capability, (ii) an electrical conductor mesh that has stretching capability and compressing capability (Frolov, [0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], [0096], [0111], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 on stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive alternatively see electrically conductive stretchable parts 4042-4045 can directly couple to electrical conductors of the PV cells 7021-7024 (Fig. 7) alternatively stretchable carrier can be constructed entirely using wires, meshes (wire mesh 2501, Fig. 25) such as copper wire with PV cells electrically connected thereto (PV cells 2602 on carrier 2600 Fig. 26))). Frolov teaches these stretchable and compressible electrical conductors are provided to overcome the prior art issues of PV cells becoming damaged or breaking when subjected to forces causing elongation or compression (Frolov, [0010]-[0011]).
Frolov and Masuda are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of flexible solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the flexible PV device of Masuda in view of Frolov such that the electricity collector of Matsuda is one of: (i) a metal foil that has stretching capability and compressing capability, (ii) an electrical conductor mesh that has stretching capability and compressing capability as taught by Frolov ([0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], [0096], [0111], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 on stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive alternatively see electrically conductive stretchable parts 4042-4045 can directly couple to electrical conductors of the PV cells 7021-7024 (Fig. 7) alternatively stretchable carrier can be constructed entirely using wires, meshes (wire mesh 2501, Fig. 25) such as copper wire with PV cells electrically connected thereto (PV cells 2602 on carrier 2600 Fig. 26))) as Frolov teaches these stretchable and compressible electrical conductors are provided to overcome the prior art issues of PV cells becoming damaged or breaking when subjected to forces causing elongation or compression (Frolov, [0010]-[0011]).
Furthermore, in the alternative where it’s unclear that the filler material of Matsuda provides additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible photovoltaic cell, CHU teaches such grooved semiconductor wafers can further include an organic or inorganic filler material with air gap voids that provide a damper effect to absorb and dissipate vibration shock waves ([0098], [0110]-[0111], [0118], [0120] Figs. 7B and 9B see: semiconductor unit 11 with gap regions B filled with organic or inorganic flowable material 16 including voids or air gaps 17). Chu further teaches this can be applied to flexible solar cells (para [0122]).
CHU and modified Frolov are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of flexible solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of modified Masuda in view of CHU such that said non-transcending trenches are filled, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell as in CHU (Figs. 7B and 9B) as CHU teaches this allows the grooves/gaps with filler material and voids to provide a damper effect to absorb and dissipate vibration shock waves (CHU, [0098], [0110]-[0111], [0118], [0120] Figs. 7B and 9B see: semiconductor unit 11 with gap regions B filled with organic or inorganic flowable material 16 including voids or air gaps 17).
Claims 1-2 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frolov et al (US 2010/0233843) and further in view of Albalak et al (WO 2020/136653A1).
Regarding claim 1 Frolov discloses a flexible Photovoltaic (PV) device, comprising:
a flexible PV cell comprising a crystalline silicon body ([0060], [0184] see: stretchable PV device can be formed of crystalline silicon and as the device is stretchable it’s considered flexible), configured to generate electricity from light ([0046]-[0054], [0088]-[0089], [0094]-[0096], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: PV cell(s) 202, PV cell(s) 602, PV cells 702, PV cells 2602 formed of flexible materials);
a stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh, that is non-detachably attached to a first surface of said flexible PV cell, and that is configured to collect and aggregate PV-generated electricity from said flexible PV cell ([0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], [0096], [0111], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 mounted (e.g. bonded, soldered, welded) on stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive alternatively see electrically conductive stretchable parts 4042-4045 can directly couple to electrical conductors of the PV cells 7021-7024 (Fig. 7) alternatively stretchable carrier can be constructed entirely using wires, meshes (wire mesh 2501, Fig. 25) such as copper wire with PV cells electrically connected thereto (PV cells 2602 on carrier 2600 Fig. 26));
wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is capable of stretching or compressing in response to mechanical forces that are applied to said flexible PV cell, while generally maintaining physical connectivity and electrical connectivity to electricity-generating regions of said PV cell (Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact);
wherein said first surface of said flexible PV cell is opposite to a second surface of that PV cell (Frolov, [0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], [0096], [0111], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 on stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive alternatively see electrically conductive stretchable parts 4042-4045 can directly couple to electrical conductors of the PV cells 7021-7024 (Fig. 7)).
Frolov does not explicitly disclose where that second surface is penetrated, partially but not entirely, by a plurality of non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from the second surface towards the first surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell, such that said second surface comprises segments separated one from the other by rows and columns of thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches; wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell or wherein said non-transcending trenches are filled, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell.
Albalak teaches solar cells with a surface penetrated partially but not entirely, by a plurality of non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from the second surface towards the first surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell, such that said second surface comprises segments separated one from the other by rows and columns of thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches (Albalak, Abstract, [00179] see: silicon solar cell having craters that penetrate at least 50 percent but not more than 99 percent of the thickness of the silicon wafer); wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell (Albalak, Abstract, [0176] [00179] see: said particular depth of each crater contributes to reduction of mechanical breakability of said PV cell array and provides flexibility).
Albalak and Frolov are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Frolov in view of Albalak such that second surface of Frolov is penetrated, partially but not entirely, by a plurality of non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from the second surface towards the first surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell, such that said second surface comprises segments separated one from the other by rows and columns of thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches as in Albalak (Albalak, Abstract, [00179] see: silicon solar cell having craters that penetrate at least 50 percent but not more than 99 percent of the thickness of the silicon wafer) as Albalak teaches wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell (Albalak, Abstract, [0176] [00179] see: said particular depth of each crater contributes to reduction of mechanical breakability of said PV cell array and provides flexibility).
Further Albalak teaches wherein said non-transcending trenches are filled, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell ([0183]-[0184] see: the top or bottom craters can further include a filler material which contributes to reduction of mechanical breakability).
Regarding claim 2 modified Frolov discloses wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is configured, by having a pre-defined layout of patterned metal wires, to withstand mechanical shocks that are applied to said flexible PV cell ([0111], [0120], Figs. 25-26 see: stretchable carrier can be constructed entirely using wires, meshes (wire mesh 2501, Fig. 25) such as copper wire with PV cells electrically connected thereto (PV cells 2602 on carrier 2600 Fig. 26).
Regarding claim 8 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 1, wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is a thin metal sheet that is intentionally wrinkled and non-smooth ([0077]-[0078] Figs. 6A-6B see: stretchable parts 4042-4045 having a corrugated (wrinkled) shape and formed of a metal foil), and has a three-dimensional layout of crumples and wrinkles on its surface that touches the flexible PV device ([0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], Figs. 6A-6B, see: back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 contacting stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive); wherein said three-dimensional layout of crumples and wrinkles on said surface of said metal sheet, provides to said Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh a capability to dynamically stretch or dynamically compress in response to mechanical forces while generally maintaining physical connectivity and electrical connectivity to electricity-generating regions of said flexible PV cell (Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 6A-6B, see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact).
Regarding claim 9 modified Frolov discloses wherein the stretchable and compressible metal Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh further connects, mechanically and electrically, two or more neighboring and flexible solar cells, which together form a flexible solar module ([0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0092], Figs. 3 and 6A-6B see: PV cell 602 can be a plurality of PV cells interconnected on said carrier).
Regarding claim 10 modified Frolov discloses wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is formed of one or more of: tin, aluminum, copper, silver, copper covered or coated by tin, a single metal, an alloy of two or more metals, a combination of two or more metals ([0110] see: stretchable carrier constructed of a metal foil such as copper, aluminum).
Claims 3-7, 11-12, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frolov et al (US 2010/0233843) in view of Albalak et al (WO 2020/136653A1) as applied to claims 2, and 8-10 above, and further in view of Hofmuller et al (US 2009/0266579).
Regarding claim 3 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 2, and although Frolov teaches grid and mesh stretchable structures (Figs. 25-26) Frolov does not explicitly disclose wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh has a pre-defined layout of knitted metal wires that are knitted and/or woven and/or looped with each other.
Hofmuller however teaches interconnectors for solar cells comprising a Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh having a pre-defined layout of knitted metal wires that are knitted and/or woven and/or looped with each other (Hofmuller, [0013], [0026], [0029]-[0030] Figs. 1-4 see: interconnector 11 as a metal cloth of wires woven together). Hofmuller teaches such a fabric structure as the ability to react flexible on thermal influences and thus minimizes mechanical loads onto the connection areas of the solar elements in situations of thermal stresses and can also be made elastic (Hofmuller, [0013] [0023], [0029]).
Hofmuller and Frolov are combinable as they are both concerned with mesh wire interconnectors for solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the flexible PV device of Frolov in view of Hofmuller such that the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh of Frolov has a pre-defined layout of knitted metal wires that are knitted and/or woven and/or looped with each other as in Hofmuller (Hofmuller, [0013], [0026], [0029]-[0030] Figs. 1-4 see: interconnector 11 as a metal cloth of wires woven together) as Hofmuller teaches such a fabric structure as the ability to react flexible on thermal influences and thus minimizes mechanical loads onto the connection areas of the solar elements in situations of thermal stresses and can also be made elastic (Hofmuller, [0013] [0023], [0029]).
Furthermore, modified Frolov teaches wherein said pre-defined layout provides to said Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh a capability to dynamically stretch or dynamically compress in response to mechanical forces while generally maintaining physical connectivity and electrical connectivity to electricity-generating regions of said flexible PV cell (Frolov, Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 6A-6B, 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact).
Regarding claim 4 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 3, and wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh has a pre-defined layout of zig-zag metal wires (Frolov, [0111], Figs. 25-26 see: stretchable parts 2502 of wire mesh 2501 having a “zig-zag” metal wire shape);
wherein said pre-defined layout provides to said Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh a capability to dynamically stretch or dynamically compress in response to mechanical forces while generally maintaining physical connectivity and electrical connectivity to electricity-generating regions of said flexible PV cell (Frolov, Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 6A-6B, 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact).
Regarding claim 5 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 3, wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh has a pre-defined layout of sinusoid or wavy metal wires (Frolov, [0111], Figs. 25-26 see: stretchable parts 2502 of wire mesh 2501 having a “wavy” or “sinusoid” metal wire shape);
wherein said pre-defined layout provides to said Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh a capability to dynamically stretch or dynamically compress in response to mechanical forces while generally maintaining physical connectivity and electrical connectivity to electricity-generating regions of said flexible PV cell (Frolov, Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 6A-6B, 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact).
Regarding claim 6 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 3, and Frolov further discloses wherein at least some wire segments of said stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh are capable of expanding their length or increasing their curvature in response to mechanical forces that are applied to said flexible PV cell, while maintaining physical connection and electrical connection to electricity-generating regions of said flexible PV cell (Frolov, Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 6A-6B, 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact).
Regarding claim 7 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 6, wherein at least some wire segments of said stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh are capable of shortening their length or decreasing their curvature in response to mechanical forces that are applied to said flexible PV cell, while maintaining physical connection and electrical connection to electricity-generating regions of said flexible PV cell (Frolov, Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 6A-6B, 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact).
Regarding claims 11 and 12 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is non-detachably part of a Flexible Polymeric Support Foil, which supports both (i) the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh and (ii) the flexible PV cell ([0110], [0077]-[0078], [0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0092], [0096], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, see: stretchable carrier 400 supporting solar cells 602, 702 and conductive interconnects (conductive foils) and formed of polymer film(s)).
Frolov teaches at para [0139] that such stretchable carriers can have embedded conductors, but in the alternative where it’s not clear that Frolov explicitly discloses wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is non-detachably embedded onto or at least partly within the Flexible Polymeric Support Foil.
Further regarding claims 11-12 Hofmuller teaches interconnectors for solar cells comprising a Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh non-detachably embedded onto or at least partly within the Flexible Polymeric Support Foil (Hofmuller, [0013], [0029] Fig. 3 see: interconnector 31 as a metal cloth of wires woven together and embedded in polymer moulding 35 EVA). Hofmuller teaches such an embedded fabric structure is elastic and flexible from the addition of the EVA (Hofmuller, [0029]).
Hofmuller and Frolov are combinable as they are both concerned with mesh wire interconnectors for solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the flexible PV device of Frolov in view of Hofmuller such that the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh of Frolov is non-detachably embedded onto or at least partly within the Flexible Polymeric Support Foil of Frolov as taught by Hofmuller (Hofmuller, [0013], [0029] Fig. 3 see: interconnector 31 as a metal cloth of wires woven together and embedded in polymer moulding 35 EVA) as Hofmuller teaches such an embedded fabric structure is elastic and flexible from the addition of the EVA (Hofmuller, [0029]).
Regarding claims 18 and 19 Frolov discloses a method of producing a flexible Photovoltaic (PV) device, the method comprising:
producing a flexible PV cell, configured to generate electricity from light ([0046]-[0054], [0088]-[0089], [0094]-[0096], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: providing PV cell(s) 202, PV cell(s) 602, PV cells 702, PV cells 2602 formed of thin-film and flexible materials);
producing a stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh, and attaching it to a surface of said flexible PV cell ([0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], [0096], [0111], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: placing back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 on stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive alternatively see electrically conductive stretchable parts 4042-4045 can directly couple to electrical conductors of the PV cells 7021-7024 (Fig. 7) alternatively stretchable carrier can be constructed entirely using wires, meshes (wire mesh 2501, Fig. 25) such as copper wire with PV cells electrically connected thereto (PV cells 2602 on carrier 2600 Fig. 26));
wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is configured to collect and aggregate PV-generated electricity from said flexible PV cell; wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is capable of stretching or compressing in response to mechanical forces that are applied to said flexible PV cell, while generally maintaining physical connectivity and electrical connectivity to electricity-generating regions of said PV cell (Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact);
wherein the method comprises:
attaching the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh, to a particular surface of said PV cell (Frolov, [0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], [0096], [0111], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 on stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive alternatively see electrically conductive stretchable parts 4042-4045 can directly couple to electrical conductors of the PV cells 7021-7024 (Fig. 7)).
Regarding claims 18-19 Frolov discloses wherein producing the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh comprises:
non-detachably forming said stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh onto a Flexible Polymeric Support Foil, which supports both (i) the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh and (ii) the flexible PV cell (Frolov, [0110], [0077]-[0078], [0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0092], [0096], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, see: stretchable carrier 400 supporting solar cells 602, 702 and conductive interconnects (conductive foils) and formed of polymer film(s)).
Frolov teaches at para [0139] that such stretchable carriers can have embedded conductors, but in the alternative where it’s not clear that Frolov explicitly discloses wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is non-detachably embedded onto or at least partly within the Flexible Polymeric Support Foil.
Frolov does not explicitly disclose that the particular surface is penetrated, partially but not entirely, by non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from said particular surface towards an opposite surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell; wherein said non-transcending trenches provide on said particular surface segments separated one from the other by thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches; and wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell; filling said non-transcending trenches, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell.
Albalak teaches solar cells with a surface penetrated partially but not entirely, by a plurality of non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from the second surface towards the first surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell, such that said second surface comprises segments separated one from the other by thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches (Albalak, Abstract, [00179] see: silicon solar cell having craters that penetrate at least 50 percent but not more than 99 percent of the thickness of the silicon wafer); wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell (Albalak, Abstract, [0176] [00179] see: said particular depth of each crater contributes to reduction of mechanical breakability of said PV cell array and provides flexibility).
Albalak and Frolov are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Frolov in view of Albalak such that second surface of Frolov is penetrated, partially but not entirely, by a plurality of non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from the second surface towards the first surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell, such that said second surface comprises segments separated one from the other by thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches as in Albalak (Albalak, Abstract, [00179] see: silicon solar cell having craters that penetrate at least 50 percent but not more than 99 percent of the thickness of the silicon wafer) as Albalak teaches wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell (Albalak, Abstract, [0176] [00179] see: said particular depth of each crater contributes to reduction of mechanical breakability of said PV cell array and provides flexibility).
Further regarding the claims 18-19 Albalak teaches wherein said non-transcending trenches are filled, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell ([0183]-[0184] see: the top or bottom craters can further include a filler material which contributes to reduction of mechanical breakability).
Further regarding the claims 18-19 Hofmuller teaches interconnectors for solar cells comprising a Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh non-detachably embedded onto or at least partly within the Flexible Polymeric Support Foil (Hofmuller, [0013], [0029] Fig. 3 see: interconnector 31 as a metal cloth of wires woven together and embedded in polymer moulding 35 EVA). Hofmuller teaches such an embedded fabric structure is elastic and flexible from the addition of the EVA (Hofmuller, [0029]).
Hofmuller and Frolov are combinable as they are both concerned with mesh wire interconnectors for solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Frolov in view of Hofmuller such that the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh of Frolov is non-detachably embedded onto or at least partly within the Flexible Polymeric Support Foil of Frolov as taught by Hofmuller (Hofmuller, [0013], [0029] Fig. 3 see: interconnector 31 as a metal cloth of wires woven together and embedded in polymer moulding 35 EVA) as Hofmuller teaches such an embedded fabric structure is elastic and flexible from the addition of the EVA (Hofmuller, [0029]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 9 of the response filed 09 June 2026 that “there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation in Frolov et al. to replace the grooved conductor arrangement with a patterned mesh overlay attached to a surface of the cell. On the contrary, such a modification would depart from the structural concept of Frolov et al. and would undermine the mechanical integration that Frolov et al. seek to achieve” which has been fully considered but is not found persuasive.
As recited in the above rejections of claim 1, Frolov discloses in Figs. 25-26 and paras [0111], [0120] the stretchable carrier can be constructed entirely using wires, meshes (wire mesh 2501, Fig. 25) such as copper wire with PV cells electrically connected thereto (PV cells 2602 on carrier 2600 Fig. 26). As such applicant’s arguments to this point are not found persuasive.
Applicant further argues on page 10 of the response filed 09 June 2026 that “Frolov et al. specifically disclose thin film solar cells (see, for example, paras. [0049], [0050]), which are inherently flexible (see, for example,
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thin-film_solarcell) and therefore irrelevant with regard to the cells of the present invention, which are based on trenched silicon cell technology, using conventional crystalline silicon cells, as specified in claim 1 as currently amended. One of ordinary skill in the art would receive no motivation to modify the cell of Frolov et al., which is already flexible, by incorporation of trenches for the purpose of providing flexibility”.
Applicant’s arguments to the combination of Frolov and Nishi above have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. Frolov discloses the flexible PV cell can comprise a crystalline silicon body an alternative to the thin-film materials recited ([0060], [0184] see: stretchable PV device can be formed of crystalline silicon and as the device is stretchable it’s considered flexible) does not disclose the specific type of flexibility which such a stretchable PV device having a crystalline silicon body is capable of performing. Nishi teaches forming the claimed plurality of non-transcending trenches tin a crystalline silicon cell provides such flexibility along multiple axes allowing for a cell that is both flexible like thin-film materials but provides the higher power generation of crystalline cells (Nishi, Abstract, [0004]-[0009], [0011] see Figs. 1 and 5 where silicon semiconductor substrate 1 is divided into sub regions by non-transcending nicks/notches 5 in rows and columns (Fig. 5) allowing curvature in mutually orthogonal directions). Thus in the silence of Frolov, one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found motivation to combine Frolov and Nishi to provide the crystalline cells of Frolov with the flexibility of Nishi to allow curvature in mutually orthogonal directions while maintaining the higher power generation of crystalline cells relative to thin-film cells. As such applicant’s arguments to this point are not found persuasive.
Applicant further argues on page 10 of the response filed 09 June 2026 that “Nishi does not teach or suggest that the cuts penetrate from a second surface towards a first surface into between 50 percent and 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of the flexible PV cell, such that the second surface comprises segments separated one from the other by rows and columns of thin regions, as required by claim 1 as currently amended, but instead forms elongated regions extending across the wafer. The wafer remains largely continuous between the cuts, which act as parallel hinge lines permitting bending primarily in one direction. Nishi explicitly states that the objective of the invention is to obtain a flexible crystalline solar cell (Abstract). The linear cuts are introduced to allow the substrate to bend without severing the electrodes. In clear contrast, the present claims further require structural features that provide mechanical resilience through a plurality of non-transcending trenches distributed in rows and columns across the wafer and filled with resilient material. Accordingly, an article produced according to Nishi is bendable only in one direction, whereas an article produced according to the current invention can be curved or bent or folded in any direction relative to the cuts or segments, as discussed in para. [0081] of the specification as published.”
Applicant’s arguments to Nishi above have been fully considered but are not found persuasive as recited in the above rejection, Nishi illustrates the plurality of non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from the second surface towards the first surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell such that said second surface comprises segments separated one from the other by rows and columns of thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches (Nishi, Abstract, [0007]-[0009], Figs. 1-5 see: silicon semiconductor substrate 1 divided into sub regions by non-transcending nicks/notches 5 in rows and columns (Fig. 5) illustrated with a depth within the range of 50 to 99 percent of the thickness of the substrate 1). Contrary to applicant’s assertion, Nishi discloses in Fig. 5 and para [0011] where the crystalline substrate is segmented into rows and columns by orthogonal nicks/notches 5 that allow curvature in mutually orthogonal directions. As such applicant’s arguments to this point are not found persuasive.
Applicant further argues on pages 10-11 of the response filed 09 June 2026 that “With regard to CHU, the cited prior art discloses in Fig. 1B a semiconductor assembly module comprising multiple semiconductor units on a substrate. CHU teaches trenches or grooves that are used to define or separate regions within a photovoltaic structure. Such structures are configured to provide segmentation or isolation between regions of the semiconductor and would be understood by one or ordinary skill in the art to be fully transcending. In clear contrast, the present claims require non-transcending gaps that penetrate only 50% to 99% of the thickness of the semiconductor wafer and explicitly do not reach the opposite surface, thereby leaving an intact and continuous semiconductor layer (1%-50% of the thickness) that remains non-penetrated. Accordingly, unlike the cited reference, the presently claimed structure does not divide the semiconductor wafer into separate regions, but instead maintains structural continuity across the wafer while introducing controlled flexibility.”
Applicant’s arguments to CHU above have been fully considered but are not found persuasive as recited in the above rejection, the cited embodiment of CHU (Fig. 1B) includes non-transcending gaps (gap-B region) that leave an intact and continuous semiconductor layer. See para [0087] of CHU which recites “Multiple gap-B regions are formed inside the Type-B semiconductor assembly module 10b and edge gap regions are formed surround the edge of the Type-B semiconductor assembly module 10b; Please note that a portion of semiconductor layer is not etched and remained in gap-B region. The semiconductor units are connected via the remaining semiconductor layer for Type B semiconductor assembly module 10a”. Thus one having ordinary skill in the art would understand the gaps B of CHU to not be fully transcending and applicant’s arguments to this point are not found persuasive.
Applicant further argues regarding the prior art of Masuda on pages 11-12 of the response filed 09 June 2026 that “Masuda et al. does not teach or suggest the functional purpose of the grooves, namely that the non-transcending craters provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to the solar cell. The grooves of Masuda et al. are disclosed in the context of cell geometry and electrical configuration, not as a mechanical stress-relief mechanism. Masuda et al. relies on bending conventional cells, which inherently places the semiconductor material under mechanical stress. Accordingly, the disclosure by Masuda et al. of grooves of a particular depth does not teach or suggest the claimed non-transcending craters as recited, nor does it disclose or render obvious the claimed flexibility and mechanical resilience of the PV cell. Accordingly, claim 17 is patentable over Frolov et al. in view of Masuda et aL.”
Applicant’s arguments to Masuda above have been fully considered but are not found persuasive as the grooves of Masuda allow easier bending of the semiconductor material along an axis (para [0044], see Fig. 9) so that in can for example conform to the curvature of a vehicle roof as the thinner segments allow greater flexibility thus improved mechanical resilience compared to a conventional semiconductor wafer without the grooves which would be more prone to breaking or cracking. Further, bending any article places it under tension and compression stresses, the grooves in Masuda reduce the force required to bend or flex the article at those points. Additionally, as CHU further modified the grooves to include an organic or inorganic filler material with air gap voids that provide a damper effect to absorb and dissipate vibration shock waves ([0098], [0110]-[0111], [0118], [0120] Figs. 7B and 9B see: semiconductor unit 11 with gap regions B filled with organic or inorganic flowable material 16 including voids or air gaps 17) further provides mechanical resilience to the PV cell. As such, applicant’s arguments to this point are not found persuasive.
Applicant’s further arguments and remarks to the claims are considered moot as they depend form the arguments and remarks rebutted above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726