DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications, PCT/IL2019/051416 and PCT/IL2021/050217 and US app No. 17/353,867 and US provisional app No. 63/088,535 fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
Specifically the recited application fails to provide an enabling disclosure or any disclosure for the entire scope of the limitations of dependent claims 2-12, and 18-19.
Therefore, the recited Applications PCT/IL2019/051416 and PCT/IL2021/050217 and US app No. 17/353,867 and US provisional app No. 63/088,535 do not provide an enabling disclosure of the entire scope of the subject matter of claims 2-12, and 18-19.
Therefore, the recited Applications PCT/IL2019/051416 and PCT/IL2021/050217 and US app No. 17/353,867 and US provisional app No. 63/088,535 do not provide an enabling disclosure of the entire scope of the subject matter of claims 2-12, and 18-19 and as such these claims are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application.
As recited in MPEP 201.11:Any claim in a continuation-in-part application which is directed solely to subject matter adequately disclosed under 35 U.S.C. 112 in the parent nonprovisional application is entitled to the benefit of the filing date of the parent nonprovisional application. However, if a claim in a continuation-in-part application recites a feature which was not disclosed or adequately supported by a proper disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 112 in the parent nonprovisional application, but which was first introduced or adequately supported in the continuation-in-part application, such a claim is entitled only to the filing date of the continuation-in-part application; In re Chu, 66 F.3d 292, 36 USPQ2d 1089 (Fed. Cir. 1995); Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994); In re Van Lagenhoven, 458 F.2d 132, 136, 173 USPQ 426, 429 (CCPA 1972); and Chromalloy American Corp. v. Alloy Surfaces Co., Inc., 339 F. Supp. 859, 874, 173 USPQ 295, 306 (D. Del. 1972).
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12, 17-19 and 21 as amended are presently under consideration as set forth in applicant’s response filed 16 February 2026. Claims 13-16 and 20 remain cancelled.
Upon further search and consideration of applicant’s new and newly amended claims, new prior art was uncovered and the prior art rejection of record is updated in view of applicant’s amendments to the claims to show where the limitations are taught, disclosed or made obvious.
Applicant’s arguments and remarks where applicable are addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a… Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh that is attached to a surface of said flexible PV cell” but later recites “wherein the.. Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is attached to a first surface of said flexible PV cell” where it’s unclear if the recited “a surface of said flexible PV cell” and “a first surface of said flexible PV cell” are the same surface or mean to define different surfaces for attachment of the Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh. As such the scope of claim 1 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claims 2-12 are also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 1.
Claim 17 recites “producing a… Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh, and attaching it to a surface of said flexible PV cell” but later recites “attaching the.. Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh, to a particular surface of said PV cell” where it’s unclear if the recited “a surface of said flexible PV cell” and “a particular surface of said PV cell” are the same surface or mean to define different surfaces for attachment of the Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh. As such the scope of claim 17 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claims 18-19 are also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frolov et al (US 2010/0233843), and further in view of Nishi (JP H07312434A, reference made to attached English machine translation) and in further view of CHU et al (US 2017/0365755).
Regarding claim 1 Frolov discloses a flexible Photovoltaic (PV) device, comprising:
a flexible PV cell, configured to generate electricity from light ([0046]-[0054], [0088]-[0089], [0094]-[0096], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: PV cell(s) 202, PV cell(s) 602, PV cells 702, PV cells 2602 formed of thin-film and flexible materials);
a stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh, that is attached to a surface of said flexible PV cell, and that is configured to collect and aggregate PV-generated electricity from said flexible PV cell ([0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], [0096], [0111], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 on stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive alternatively see electrically conductive stretchable parts 4042-4045 can directly couple to electrical conductors of the PV cells 7021-7024 (Fig. 7) alternatively stretchable carrier can be constructed entirely using wires, meshes (wire mesh 2501, Fig. 25) such as copper wire with PV cells electrically connected thereto (PV cells 2602 on carrier 2600 Fig. 26));
wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is capable of stretching or compressing in response to mechanical forces that are applied to said flexible PV cell, while generally maintaining physical connectivity and electrical connectivity to electricity-generating regions of said PV cell (Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact);
wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh foil is attached to a first surface of said flexible PV cell that is opposite to a second surface of that PV cell (Frolov, [0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], [0096], [0111], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 on stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive alternatively see electrically conductive stretchable parts 4042-4045 can directly couple to electrical conductors of the PV cells 7021-7024 (Fig. 7)).
Frolov does not explicitly disclose where that second surface is penetrated, partially but not entirely, by a plurality of non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from the second surface towards the first surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell, such that said second surface comprises segments separated one from the other by thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches; wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell or wherein said non-transcending trenches are filled, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell.
Nishi teaches a solar cell which is flexible and penetrated, partially but not entirely, by a plurality of non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from the second surface towards the first surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell such that said second surface comprises segments separated one from the other by thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches (Nishi, Abstract, [0007]-[0009], Figs. 1-5 see: silicon semiconductor substrate 1 divided into sub regions by non-transcending nicks/notches 5 illustrated with a depth within the range of 50 to 99 percent of the thickness of the substrate 1) wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell (Nishi, Abstract, [0006], [0009], Fig. 3 see: nicks/notches 5 allow bending or flexing of semiconductor substrate 1 and thus improve mechanical resilience).
Nishi and Frolov are combinable as they are directed to the field of solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of Frolov in view of Nishi such that the solar cell is penetrated, partially but not entirely, by a plurality of non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from the second surface towards the first surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell such that said second surface comprises segments separated one from the other by thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches as in Nishi (Nishi, Abstract, [0007]-[0009], Figs. 1-5 see: silicon semiconductor substrate 1 divided into sub regions by non-transcending nicks/notches 5 illustrated with a depth within the range of 50 to 99 percent of the thickness of the substrate 1) wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell as in Nishi (Nishi, Abstract, [0006], [0009], Fig. 3 see: nicks/notches 5 allow bending or flexing of semiconductor substrate 1 and thus improve mechanical resilience) to provide the solar cell with increased flexibility allowing it to conform to curved surfaces and substrates as in Nishi (Nishi, Abstract, [0006], [0009], Fig. 3 see: nicks/notches 5 allow bending or flexing of semiconductor substrate 1)
Modified Frolov does not explicitly disclose wherein said non-transcending trenches are filled, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell.
CHU teaches such grooved semiconductor wafers can further include an organic or inorganic filler material with air gap voids that provide a damper effect to absorb and dissipate vibration shock waves ([0098], [0110]-[0111], [0118], [0120] Figs. 7B and 9B see: semiconductor unit 11 with gap regions B filled with organic or inorganic flowable material 16 including voids or air gaps 17). Chu further teaches this can be applied to flexible solar cells (para [0122]).
CHU and modified Frolov are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of flexible solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of modified Frolov in view of CHU such that said non-transcending trenches are filled, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell as in CHU (Figs. 7B and 9B) as CHU teaches this allows the grooves/gaps with filler material and voids to provide a damper effect to absorb and dissipate vibration shock waves (CHU, [0098], [0110]-[0111], [0118], [0120] Figs. 7B and 9B see: semiconductor unit 11 with gap regions B filled with organic or inorganic flowable material 16 including voids or air gaps 17).
Regarding claim 2 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 1, wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is configured, by having a pre-defined layout of patterned metal wires, to withstand mechanical shocks that are applied to said flexible PV cell ([0111], [0120], Figs. 25-26 see: stretchable carrier can be constructed entirely using wires, meshes (wire mesh 2501, Fig. 25) such as copper wire with PV cells electrically connected thereto (PV cells 2602 on carrier 2600 Fig. 26).
Regarding claim 8 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 1, wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is a thin metal sheet that is intentionally wrinkled and non-smooth ([0077]-[0078] Figs. 6A-6B see: stretchable parts 4042-4045 having a corrugated (wrinkled) shape and formed of a metal foil), and has a three-dimensional layout of crumples and wrinkles on its surface that touches the flexible PV device ([0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], Figs. 6A-6B, see: back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 contacting stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive); wherein said three-dimensional layout of crumples and wrinkles on said surface of said metal sheet, provides to said Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh a capability to dynamically stretch or dynamically compress in response to mechanical forces while generally maintaining physical connectivity and electrical connectivity to electricity-generating regions of said flexible PV cell (Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 6A-6B, see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact).
Regarding claim 9 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 8, wherein the stretchable and compressible metal Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh further connects, mechanically and electrically, two or more neighboring and flexible solar cells, which together form a flexible solar module ([0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0092], Figs. 3 and 6A-6B see: PV cell 602 can be a plurality of PV cells interconnected on said carrier).
Regarding claim 10 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 8, wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is formed of one or more of: tin, aluminum, copper, silver, copper covered or coated by tin, a single metal, an alloy of two or more metals, a combination of two or more metals ([0110] see: stretchable carrier constructed of a metal foil such as copper, aluminum).
Claims 3-7, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frolov et al (US 2010/0233843), in view of Nishi (JP H07312434A, reference made to attached English machine translation) in view of CHU et al (US 2017/0365755) as applied to claims 1-2, and 8-10 above, and further in view of Hofmuller et al (US 2009/0266579).
Regarding claim 3 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 2, and although Frolov teaches grid and mesh stretchable structures (Figs. 25-26) Frolov does not explicitly disclose wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh has a pre-defined layout of knitted metal wires that are knitted and/or woven and/or looped with each other.
Hofmuller however teaches interconnectors for solar cells comprising a Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh having a pre-defined layout of knitted metal wires that are knitted and/or woven and/or looped with each other (Hofmuller, [0013], [0026], [0029]-[0030] Figs. 1-4 see: interconnector 11 as a metal cloth of wires woven together). Hofmuller teaches such a fabric structure as the ability to react flexible on thermal influences and thus minimizes mechanical loads onto the connection areas of the solar elements in situations of thermal stresses and can also be made elastic (Hofmuller, [0013] [0023], [0029]).
Hofmuller and Frolov are combinable as they are both concerned with mesh wire interconnectors for solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the flexible PV device of Frolov in view of Hofmuller such that the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh of Frolov has a pre-defined layout of knitted metal wires that are knitted and/or woven and/or looped with each other as in Hofmuller (Hofmuller, [0013], [0026], [0029]-[0030] Figs. 1-4 see: interconnector 11 as a metal cloth of wires woven together) as Hofmuller teaches such a fabric structure as the ability to react flexible on thermal influences and thus minimizes mechanical loads onto the connection areas of the solar elements in situations of thermal stresses and can also be made elastic (Hofmuller, [0013] [0023], [0029]).
Furthermore, modified Frolov teaches wherein said pre-defined layout provides to said Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh a capability to dynamically stretch or dynamically compress in response to mechanical forces while generally maintaining physical connectivity and electrical connectivity to electricity-generating regions of said flexible PV cell (Frolov, Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 6A-6B, 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact).
Regarding claim 4 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 3, and wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh has a pre-defined layout of zig-zag metal wires (Frolov, [0111], Figs. 25-26 see: stretchable parts 2502 of wire mesh 2501 having a “zig-zag” metal wire shape);
wherein said pre-defined layout provides to said Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh a capability to dynamically stretch or dynamically compress in response to mechanical forces while generally maintaining physical connectivity and electrical connectivity to electricity-generating regions of said flexible PV cell (Frolov, Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 6A-6B, 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact).
Regarding claim 5 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 3, wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh has a pre-defined layout of sinusoid or wavy metal wires (Frolov, [0111], Figs. 25-26 see: stretchable parts 2502 of wire mesh 2501 having a “wavy” or “sinusoid” metal wire shape);
wherein said pre-defined layout provides to said Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh a capability to dynamically stretch or dynamically compress in response to mechanical forces while generally maintaining physical connectivity and electrical connectivity to electricity-generating regions of said flexible PV cell (Frolov, Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 6A-6B, 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact).
Regarding claim 6 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 3, and Frolov further discloses wherein at least some wire segments of said stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh are capable of expanding their length or increasing their curvature in response to mechanical forces that are applied to said flexible PV cell, while maintaining physical connection and electrical connection to electricity-generating regions of said flexible PV cell (Frolov, Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 6A-6B, 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact).
Regarding claim 7 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 6, wherein at least some wire segments of said stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh are capable of shortening their length or decreasing their curvature in response to mechanical forces that are applied to said flexible PV cell, while maintaining physical connection and electrical connection to electricity-generating regions of said flexible PV cell (Frolov, Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 6A-6B, 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact).
Regarding claims 11 and 12 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 1, wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is non-detachably part of a Flexible Polymeric Support Foil, which supports both (i) the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh and (ii) the flexible PV cell ([0110], [0077]-[0078], [0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0092], [0096], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, see: stretchable carrier 400 supporting solar cells 602, 702 and conductive interconnects (conductive foils) and formed of polymer film(s)).
Frolov teaches at para [0139] that such stretchable carriers can have embedded conductors, but in the alternative where it’s not clear that Frolov explicitly discloses wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is non-detachably embedded onto or at least partly within the Flexible Polymeric Support Foil, Hofmuller teaches interconnectors for solar cells comprising a Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh non-detachably embedded onto or at least partly within the Flexible Polymeric Support Foil (Hofmuller, [0013], [0029] Fig. 3 see: interconnector 31 as a metal cloth of wires woven together and embedded in polymer moulding 35 EVA). Hofmuller teaches such an embedded fabric structure is elastic and flexible from the addition of the EVA (Hofmuller, [0029]).
Hofmuller and Frolov are combinable as they are both concerned with mesh wire interconnectors for solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the flexible PV device of Frolov in view of Hofmuller such that the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh of Frolov is non-detachably embedded onto or at least partly within the Flexible Polymeric Support Foil of Frolov as taught by Hofmuller (Hofmuller, [0013], [0029] Fig. 3 see: interconnector 31 as a metal cloth of wires woven together and embedded in polymer moulding 35 EVA) as Hofmuller teaches such an embedded fabric structure is elastic and flexible from the addition of the EVA (Hofmuller, [0029]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frolov et al (US 2010/0233843), and further in view of Masuda et al (US 2014/0305504) and in further view of CHU et al (US 2017/0365755).
Regarding claim 17 Frolov discloses a method of producing a flexible Photovoltaic (PV) device, the method comprising:
producing a flexible PV cell, configured to generate electricity from light ([0046]-[0054], [0088]-[0089], [0094]-[0096], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: providing PV cell(s) 202, PV cell(s) 602, PV cells 702, PV cells 2602 formed of thin-film and flexible materials);
producing a stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh, and attaching it to a surface of said flexible PV cell ([0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], [0096], [0111], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: placing back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 on stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive alternatively see electrically conductive stretchable parts 4042-4045 can directly couple to electrical conductors of the PV cells 7021-7024 (Fig. 7) alternatively stretchable carrier can be constructed entirely using wires, meshes (wire mesh 2501, Fig. 25) such as copper wire with PV cells electrically connected thereto (PV cells 2602 on carrier 2600 Fig. 26));
wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is configured to collect and aggregate PV-generated electricity from said flexible PV cell; wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is capable of stretching or compressing in response to mechanical forces that are applied to said flexible PV cell, while generally maintaining physical connectivity and electrical connectivity to electricity-generating regions of said PV cell (Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact);
wherein the method comprises:
attaching the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh, to a particular surface of said PV cell (Frolov, [0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], [0096], [0111], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 on stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive alternatively see electrically conductive stretchable parts 4042-4045 can directly couple to electrical conductors of the PV cells 7021-7024 (Fig. 7)).
Frolov does not explicitly disclose that the particular surface is penetrated, partially but not entirely, by non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from said particular surface towards an opposite surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell; wherein said non-transcending trenches provide on said particular surface segments separated one from the other by thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches; and wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell; filling said non-transcending trenches, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell.
Masuda discloses a flexible solar cell comprising a particular surface penetrated, partially but not entirely, by non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from said particular surface towards an opposite surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell ([0027], [0029], Fig. 2 see: grooves 7 with a depth t of about 100 µm in a 150 µm thick silicon power generation layer 1); wherein said non-transcending trenches provide on said particular surface segments separated one from the other by thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches ([0028] Fig. 2 see: grooves 7 separate the layer 1 into equal volume regions 1a); and wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell ([0044], Fig. 9 see: grooves allowing deformation of the wafer allowing it to conform to the curved shape of a vehicle surface).
Masuda and Frolov are combinable as they are both concerned with solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Frolov in view of Masuda such that the solar cell of Frolov comprises a particular surface penetrated, partially but not entirely, by non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from said particular surface towards an opposite surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell as in Masuda ([0027], [0029], Fig. 2 see: grooves 7 with a depth t of about 100 µm in a 150 µm thick silicon power generation layer 1); wherein said non-transcending trenches provide on said particular surface segments separated one from the other by thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches as in Masuda ([0028] Fig. 2 see: grooves 7 separate the layer 1 into equal volume regions 1a); and wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell as in Masuda ([0044], Fig. 9 see: grooves allowing deformation of the wafer allowing it to conform to the curved shape of a vehicle surface) as Masuda teaches this allows the solar cell to conformed to the curved shape of a mounting surface (para [0049] and Fig. 9).
Modified Frolov does not explicitly disclose wherein said non-transcending trenches are filled, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell.
CHU teaches such grooved semiconductor wafers can further include an organic or inorganic filler material with air gap voids that provide a damper effect to absorb and dissipate vibration shock waves ([0098], [0110]-[0111], [0118], [0120] Figs. 7B and 9B see: semiconductor unit 11 with gap regions B filled with organic or inorganic flowable material 16 including voids or air gaps 17). Chu further teaches this can be applied to flexible solar cells (para [0122]).
CHU and modified Frolov are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of flexible solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of modified Frolov in view of CHU such that said non-transcending trenches are filled, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell as in CHU (Figs. 7B and 9B) as CHU teaches this allows the grooves/gaps with filler material and voids to provide a damper effect to absorb and dissipate vibration shock waves (CHU, [0098], [0110]-[0111], [0118], [0120] Figs. 7B and 9B see: semiconductor unit 11 with gap regions B filled with organic or inorganic flowable material 16 including voids or air gaps 17).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frolov et al (US 2010/0233843), in view of Masuda et al (US 2014/0305504) in view of CHU et al (US 2017/0365755) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Hofmuller et al (US 2009/0266579).
Regarding claims 18 and 19 modified Frolov discloses the method of claim 17, wherein producing the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh comprises:
non-detachably forming said stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh onto a Flexible Polymeric Support Foil, which supports both (i) the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh and (ii) the flexible PV cell (Frolov, [0110], [0077]-[0078], [0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0092], [0096], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, see: stretchable carrier 400 supporting solar cells 602, 702 and conductive interconnects (conductive foils) and formed of polymer film(s)).
Frolov teaches at para [0139] that such stretchable carriers can have embedded conductors, but in the alternative where it’s not clear that Frolov explicitly discloses wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is non-detachably embedded onto or at least partly within the Flexible Polymeric Support Foil, Hofmuller teaches interconnectors for solar cells comprising a Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh non-detachably embedded onto or at least partly within the Flexible Polymeric Support Foil (Hofmuller, [0013], [0029] Fig. 3 see: interconnector 31 as a metal cloth of wires woven together and embedded in polymer moulding 35 EVA). Hofmuller teaches such an embedded fabric structure is elastic and flexible from the addition of the EVA (Hofmuller, [0029]).
Hofmuller and Frolov are combinable as they are both concerned with mesh wire interconnectors for solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Frolov in view of Hofmuller such that the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh of Frolov is non-detachably embedded onto or at least partly within the Flexible Polymeric Support Foil of Frolov as taught by Hofmuller (Hofmuller, [0013], [0029] Fig. 3 see: interconnector 31 as a metal cloth of wires woven together and embedded in polymer moulding 35 EVA) as Hofmuller teaches such an embedded fabric structure is elastic and flexible from the addition of the EVA (Hofmuller, [0029]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda et al (US 2014/0305504) in view of Frolov et al (US 2010/0233843) and in further view of CHU et al (US 2017/0365755).
Regarding claim 21 Masuda discloses a flexible photovoltaic device, comprising:
a flexible photovoltaic cell, configured to generate electricity from light ([0044], Fig. 9 see: solar cell 10 provided with flexibility from grooves (7)),
comprising a silicon bulk ([0027] Fig. 2 see: power generating layer 1 formed from n-type monocrystalline semiconductor substrate of Si),
and further comprising an electricity collector that is configured to collect electric current or electric voltage that were generated by said silicon bulk via a photovoltaic effect ([0030] Fig. 2 see: takeout electrodes 9 for connection with other solar cells or devices);
wherein a first surface of the flexible photovoltaic cell is penetrated, partially but not entirely, by non-transcending trenches that penetrate into between 50 percent to 99 percent of a total depth of the silicon bulk of the flexible photovoltaic cell ([0029], Fig. 2 see: grooves 7 with a depth t of about 100 µm in a 150 µm thick power generation layer 1);
wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible photovoltaic cell (para [0044] and Fig. 9 see: grooves 7 allowing deformation and thus providing flexibility and mechanical resilience);
wherein said non-transcending trenches are filled, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible photovoltaic cell (paras [0044]-[0045] and Fig. 9 see: insulating films 7a of resin films provided within grooves 7).
Masuda does not explicitly disclose wherein the electricity collector is one of: (i) a metal foil that has stretching capability and compressing capability, (ii) an electrical conductor mesh that has stretching capability and compressing capability.
Frolov teaches an electricity collector for a solar cell that is one of (i) a metal foil that has stretching capability and compressing capability, (ii) an electrical conductor mesh that has stretching capability and compressing capability (Frolov, [0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], [0096], [0111], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 on stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive alternatively see electrically conductive stretchable parts 4042-4045 can directly couple to electrical conductors of the PV cells 7021-7024 (Fig. 7) alternatively stretchable carrier can be constructed entirely using wires, meshes (wire mesh 2501, Fig. 25) such as copper wire with PV cells electrically connected thereto (PV cells 2602 on carrier 2600 Fig. 26))). Frolov teaches these stretchable and compressible electrical conductors are provided to overcome the prior art issues of PV cells becoming damaged or breaking when subjected to forces causing elongation or compression (Frolov, [0010]-[0011]).
Frolov and Masuda are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of flexible solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the flexible PV device of Masuda in view of Frolov such that the electricity collector of Matsuda is one of: (i) a metal foil that has stretching capability and compressing capability, (ii) an electrical conductor mesh that has stretching capability and compressing capability as taught by Frolov ([0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], [0096], [0111], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 on stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive alternatively see electrically conductive stretchable parts 4042-4045 can directly couple to electrical conductors of the PV cells 7021-7024 (Fig. 7) alternatively stretchable carrier can be constructed entirely using wires, meshes (wire mesh 2501, Fig. 25) such as copper wire with PV cells electrically connected thereto (PV cells 2602 on carrier 2600 Fig. 26))) as Frolov teaches these stretchable and compressible electrical conductors are provided to overcome the prior art issues of PV cells becoming damaged or breaking when subjected to forces causing elongation or compression (Frolov, [0010]-[0011]).
Furthermore, in the alternative where it’s unclear that the filler material of Matsuda provides additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible photovoltaic cell, CHU teaches such grooved semiconductor wafers can further include an organic or inorganic filler material with air gap voids that provide a damper effect to absorb and dissipate vibration shock waves ([0098], [0110]-[0111], [0118], [0120] Figs. 7B and 9B see: semiconductor unit 11 with gap regions B filled with organic or inorganic flowable material 16 including voids or air gaps 17). Chu further teaches this can be applied to flexible solar cells (para [0122]).
CHU and modified Frolov are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of flexible solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of modified Masuda in view of CHU such that said non-transcending trenches are filled, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell as in CHU (Figs. 7B and 9B) as CHU teaches this allows the grooves/gaps with filler material and voids to provide a damper effect to absorb and dissipate vibration shock waves (CHU, [0098], [0110]-[0111], [0118], [0120] Figs. 7B and 9B see: semiconductor unit 11 with gap regions B filled with organic or inorganic flowable material 16 including voids or air gaps 17).
Claims 2 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frolov et al (US 2010/0233843) and further in view of Albalak et al (WO 2020/136653A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 8-10 Frolov discloses a flexible Photovoltaic (PV) device, comprising:
a flexible PV cell, configured to generate electricity from light ([0046]-[0054], [0088]-[0089], [0094]-[0096], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: PV cell(s) 202, PV cell(s) 602, PV cells 702, PV cells 2602 formed of thin-film and flexible materials);
a stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh, that is attached to a surface of said flexible PV cell, and that is configured to collect and aggregate PV-generated electricity from said flexible PV cell ([0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], [0096], [0111], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 on stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive alternatively see electrically conductive stretchable parts 4042-4045 can directly couple to electrical conductors of the PV cells 7021-7024 (Fig. 7) alternatively stretchable carrier can be constructed entirely using wires, meshes (wire mesh 2501, Fig. 25) such as copper wire with PV cells electrically connected thereto (PV cells 2602 on carrier 2600 Fig. 26));
wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is capable of stretching or compressing in response to mechanical forces that are applied to said flexible PV cell, while generally maintaining physical connectivity and electrical connectivity to electricity-generating regions of said PV cell (Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact);
wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh foil is attached to a first surface of said flexible PV cell that is opposite to a second surface of that PV cell (Frolov, [0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], [0096], [0111], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 on stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive alternatively see electrically conductive stretchable parts 4042-4045 can directly couple to electrical conductors of the PV cells 7021-7024 (Fig. 7)).
Regarding claim 2 Frolov discloses wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is configured, by having a pre-defined layout of patterned metal wires, to withstand mechanical shocks that are applied to said flexible PV cell ([0111], [0120], Figs. 25-26 see: stretchable carrier can be constructed entirely using wires, meshes (wire mesh 2501, Fig. 25) such as copper wire with PV cells electrically connected thereto (PV cells 2602 on carrier 2600 Fig. 26).
Regarding claim 8 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 1, wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is a thin metal sheet that is intentionally wrinkled and non-smooth ([0077]-[0078] Figs. 6A-6B see: stretchable parts 4042-4045 having a corrugated (wrinkled) shape and formed of a metal foil), and has a three-dimensional layout of crumples and wrinkles on its surface that touches the flexible PV device ([0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], Figs. 6A-6B, see: back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 contacting stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive); wherein said three-dimensional layout of crumples and wrinkles on said surface of said metal sheet, provides to said Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh a capability to dynamically stretch or dynamically compress in response to mechanical forces while generally maintaining physical connectivity and electrical connectivity to electricity-generating regions of said flexible PV cell (Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 6A-6B, see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact).
Regarding claim 9 Frolov discloses wherein the stretchable and compressible metal Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh further connects, mechanically and electrically, two or more neighboring and flexible solar cells, which together form a flexible solar module ([0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0092], Figs. 3 and 6A-6B see: PV cell 602 can be a plurality of PV cells interconnected on said carrier).
Regarding claim 10 Frolov discloses wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is formed of one or more of: tin, aluminum, copper, silver, copper covered or coated by tin, a single metal, an alloy of two or more metals, a combination of two or more metals ([0110] see: stretchable carrier constructed of a metal foil such as copper, aluminum).
Regarding claims 2 and 8-10 Frolov does not explicitly disclose where that second surface is penetrated, partially but not entirely, by a plurality of non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from the second surface towards the first surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell, such that said second surface comprises segments separated one from the other by thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches; wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell or wherein said non-transcending trenches are filled, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell.
Albalak teaches solar cells with a surface penetrated partially but not entirely, by a plurality of non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from the second surface towards the first surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell, such that said second surface comprises segments separated one from the other by thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches (Albalak, Abstract, [00179] see: silicon solar cell having craters that penetrate at least 50 percent but not more than 99 percent of the thickness of the silicon wafer); wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell (Albalak, Abstract, [0176] [00179] see: said particular depth of each crater contributes to reduction of mechanical breakability of said PV cell array and provides flexibility).
Albalak and Frolov are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Frolov in view of Albalak such that second surface of Frolov is penetrated, partially but not entirely, by a plurality of non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from the second surface towards the first surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell, such that said second surface comprises segments separated one from the other by thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches as in Albalak (Albalak, Abstract, [00179] see: silicon solar cell having craters that penetrate at least 50 percent but not more than 99 percent of the thickness of the silicon wafer) as Albalak teaches wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell (Albalak, Abstract, [0176] [00179] see: said particular depth of each crater contributes to reduction of mechanical breakability of said PV cell array and provides flexibility).
Further regarding the claims 2 and 8-10 Albalak teaches wherein said non-transcending trenches are filled, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell ([0183]-[0184] see: the top or bottom craters can further include a filler material which contributes to reduction of mechanical breakability).
Claims 3-7, 11-12, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frolov et al (US 2010/0233843) in view of Albalak et al (WO 2020/136653A1) as applied to claims 2, and 8-10 above, and further in view of Hofmuller et al (US 2009/0266579).
Regarding claim 3 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 2, and although Frolov teaches grid and mesh stretchable structures (Figs. 25-26) Frolov does not explicitly disclose wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh has a pre-defined layout of knitted metal wires that are knitted and/or woven and/or looped with each other.
Hofmuller however teaches interconnectors for solar cells comprising a Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh having a pre-defined layout of knitted metal wires that are knitted and/or woven and/or looped with each other (Hofmuller, [0013], [0026], [0029]-[0030] Figs. 1-4 see: interconnector 11 as a metal cloth of wires woven together). Hofmuller teaches such a fabric structure as the ability to react flexible on thermal influences and thus minimizes mechanical loads onto the connection areas of the solar elements in situations of thermal stresses and can also be made elastic (Hofmuller, [0013] [0023], [0029]).
Hofmuller and Frolov are combinable as they are both concerned with mesh wire interconnectors for solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the flexible PV device of Frolov in view of Hofmuller such that the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh of Frolov has a pre-defined layout of knitted metal wires that are knitted and/or woven and/or looped with each other as in Hofmuller (Hofmuller, [0013], [0026], [0029]-[0030] Figs. 1-4 see: interconnector 11 as a metal cloth of wires woven together) as Hofmuller teaches such a fabric structure as the ability to react flexible on thermal influences and thus minimizes mechanical loads onto the connection areas of the solar elements in situations of thermal stresses and can also be made elastic (Hofmuller, [0013] [0023], [0029]).
Furthermore, modified Frolov teaches wherein said pre-defined layout provides to said Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh a capability to dynamically stretch or dynamically compress in response to mechanical forces while generally maintaining physical connectivity and electrical connectivity to electricity-generating regions of said flexible PV cell (Frolov, Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 6A-6B, 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact).
Regarding claim 4 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 3, and wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh has a pre-defined layout of zig-zag metal wires (Frolov, [0111], Figs. 25-26 see: stretchable parts 2502 of wire mesh 2501 having a “zig-zag” metal wire shape);
wherein said pre-defined layout provides to said Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh a capability to dynamically stretch or dynamically compress in response to mechanical forces while generally maintaining physical connectivity and electrical connectivity to electricity-generating regions of said flexible PV cell (Frolov, Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 6A-6B, 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact).
Regarding claim 5 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 3, wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh has a pre-defined layout of sinusoid or wavy metal wires (Frolov, [0111], Figs. 25-26 see: stretchable parts 2502 of wire mesh 2501 having a “wavy” or “sinusoid” metal wire shape);
wherein said pre-defined layout provides to said Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh a capability to dynamically stretch or dynamically compress in response to mechanical forces while generally maintaining physical connectivity and electrical connectivity to electricity-generating regions of said flexible PV cell (Frolov, Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 6A-6B, 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact).
Regarding claim 6 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 3, and Frolov further discloses wherein at least some wire segments of said stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh are capable of expanding their length or increasing their curvature in response to mechanical forces that are applied to said flexible PV cell, while maintaining physical connection and electrical connection to electricity-generating regions of said flexible PV cell (Frolov, Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 6A-6B, 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact).
Regarding claim 7 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device according to claim 6, wherein at least some wire segments of said stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh are capable of shortening their length or decreasing their curvature in response to mechanical forces that are applied to said flexible PV cell, while maintaining physical connection and electrical connection to electricity-generating regions of said flexible PV cell (Frolov, Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 6A-6B, 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact).
Regarding claims 11-12 a flexible Photovoltaic (PV) device, comprising:
a flexible PV cell, configured to generate electricity from light ([0046]-[0054], [0088]-[0089], [0094]-[0096], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: PV cell(s) 202, PV cell(s) 602, PV cells 702, PV cells 2602 formed of thin-film and flexible materials);
a stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh, that is attached to a surface of said flexible PV cell, and that is configured to collect and aggregate PV-generated electricity from said flexible PV cell ([0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], [0096], [0111], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 on stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive alternatively see electrically conductive stretchable parts 4042-4045 can directly couple to electrical conductors of the PV cells 7021-7024 (Fig. 7) alternatively stretchable carrier can be constructed entirely using wires, meshes (wire mesh 2501, Fig. 25) such as copper wire with PV cells electrically connected thereto (PV cells 2602 on carrier 2600 Fig. 26));
wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is capable of stretching or compressing in response to mechanical forces that are applied to said flexible PV cell, while generally maintaining physical connectivity and electrical connectivity to electricity-generating regions of said PV cell (Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact);
wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh foil is attached to a first surface of said flexible PV cell that is opposite to a second surface of that PV cell (Frolov, [0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], [0096], [0111], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 on stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive alternatively see electrically conductive stretchable parts 4042-4045 can directly couple to electrical conductors of the PV cells 7021-7024 (Fig. 7)).
Regarding claims 11 and 12 modified Frolov discloses the flexible PV device wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is non-detachably part of a Flexible Polymeric Support Foil, which supports both (i) the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh and (ii) the flexible PV cell ([0110], [0077]-[0078], [0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0092], [0096], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, see: stretchable carrier 400 supporting solar cells 602, 702 and conductive interconnects (conductive foils) and formed of polymer film(s)).
Frolov teaches at para [0139] that such stretchable carriers can have embedded conductors, but in the alternative where it’s not clear that Frolov explicitly discloses wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is non-detachably embedded onto or at least partly within the Flexible Polymeric Support Foil.
Regarding claims 11-12 Frolov does not explicitly disclose where that second surface is penetrated, partially but not entirely, by a plurality of non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from the second surface towards the first surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell, such that said second surface comprises segments separated one from the other by thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches; wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell or wherein said non-transcending trenches are filled, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell.
Albalak teaches solar cells with a surface penetrated partially but not entirely, by a plurality of non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from the second surface towards the first surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell, such that said second surface comprises segments separated one from the other by thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches (Albalak, Abstract, [00179] see: silicon solar cell having craters that penetrate at least 50 percent but not more than 99 percent of the thickness of the silicon wafer); wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell (Albalak, Abstract, [0176] [00179] see: said particular depth of each crater contributes to reduction of mechanical breakability of said PV cell array and provides flexibility).
Albalak and Frolov are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Frolov in view of Albalak such that second surface of Frolov is penetrated, partially but not entirely, by a plurality of non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from the second surface towards the first surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell, such that said second surface comprises segments separated one from the other by thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches as in Albalak (Albalak, Abstract, [00179] see: silicon solar cell having craters that penetrate at least 50 percent but not more than 99 percent of the thickness of the silicon wafer) as Albalak teaches wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell (Albalak, Abstract, [0176] [00179] see: said particular depth of each crater contributes to reduction of mechanical breakability of said PV cell array and provides flexibility).
Further regarding the claims 11-12 Albalak teaches wherein said non-transcending trenches are filled, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell ([0183]-[0184] see: the top or bottom craters can further include a filler material which contributes to reduction of mechanical breakability).
Further regarding claims 11-12 Hofmuller teaches interconnectors for solar cells comprising a Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh non-detachably embedded onto or at least partly within the Flexible Polymeric Support Foil (Hofmuller, [0013], [0029] Fig. 3 see: interconnector 31 as a metal cloth of wires woven together and embedded in polymer moulding 35 EVA). Hofmuller teaches such an embedded fabric structure is elastic and flexible from the addition of the EVA (Hofmuller, [0029]).
Hofmuller and Frolov are combinable as they are both concerned with mesh wire interconnectors for solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the flexible PV device of Frolov in view of Hofmuller such that the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh of Frolov is non-detachably embedded onto or at least partly within the Flexible Polymeric Support Foil of Frolov as taught by Hofmuller (Hofmuller, [0013], [0029] Fig. 3 see: interconnector 31 as a metal cloth of wires woven together and embedded in polymer moulding 35 EVA) as Hofmuller teaches such an embedded fabric structure is elastic and flexible from the addition of the EVA (Hofmuller, [0029]).
Regarding claims 18 and 19 Frolov discloses a method of producing a flexible Photovoltaic (PV) device, the method comprising:
producing a flexible PV cell, configured to generate electricity from light ([0046]-[0054], [0088]-[0089], [0094]-[0096], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: providing PV cell(s) 202, PV cell(s) 602, PV cells 702, PV cells 2602 formed of thin-film and flexible materials);
producing a stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh, and attaching it to a surface of said flexible PV cell ([0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], [0096], [0111], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: placing back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 on stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive alternatively see electrically conductive stretchable parts 4042-4045 can directly couple to electrical conductors of the PV cells 7021-7024 (Fig. 7) alternatively stretchable carrier can be constructed entirely using wires, meshes (wire mesh 2501, Fig. 25) such as copper wire with PV cells electrically connected thereto (PV cells 2602 on carrier 2600 Fig. 26));
wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is configured to collect and aggregate PV-generated electricity from said flexible PV cell; wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is capable of stretching or compressing in response to mechanical forces that are applied to said flexible PV cell, while generally maintaining physical connectivity and electrical connectivity to electricity-generating regions of said PV cell (Abstract, [0040]-[0041], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: stretchable carrier which is conductive or includes the conductive portions is stretchable and compressible over a dimension (length, width height) in response to mechanical forces and stress and still maintain contact);
wherein the method comprises:
attaching the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh, to a particular surface of said PV cell (Frolov, [0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], [0096], [0111], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 on stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive alternatively see electrically conductive stretchable parts 4042-4045 can directly couple to electrical conductors of the PV cells 7021-7024 (Fig. 7)).
Regarding claims 18-19 Frolov discloses wherein producing the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh comprises:
non-detachably forming said stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh onto a Flexible Polymeric Support Foil, which supports both (i) the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh and (ii) the flexible PV cell (Frolov, [0110], [0077]-[0078], [0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0092], [0096], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, see: stretchable carrier 400 supporting solar cells 602, 702 and conductive interconnects (conductive foils) and formed of polymer film(s)).
Frolov teaches at para [0139] that such stretchable carriers can have embedded conductors, but in the alternative where it’s not clear that Frolov explicitly discloses wherein the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh is non-detachably embedded onto or at least partly within the Flexible Polymeric Support Foil.
Frolov does not explicitly disclose that the particular surface is penetrated, partially but not entirely, by non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from said particular surface towards an opposite surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell; wherein said non-transcending trenches provide on said particular surface segments separated one from the other by thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches; and wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell; filling said non-transcending trenches, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell.
Albalak teaches solar cells with a surface penetrated partially but not entirely, by a plurality of non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from the second surface towards the first surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell, such that said second surface comprises segments separated one from the other by thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches (Albalak, Abstract, [00179] see: silicon solar cell having craters that penetrate at least 50 percent but not more than 99 percent of the thickness of the silicon wafer); wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell (Albalak, Abstract, [0176] [00179] see: said particular depth of each crater contributes to reduction of mechanical breakability of said PV cell array and provides flexibility).
Albalak and Frolov are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Frolov in view of Albalak such that second surface of Frolov is penetrated, partially but not entirely, by a plurality of non-transcending trenches that penetrate only from the second surface towards the first surface into between 50 to 99 percent of a total depth of a silicon bulk of said flexible PV cell, such that said second surface comprises segments separated one from the other by thin regions comprising said non-transcending trenches as in Albalak (Albalak, Abstract, [00179] see: silicon solar cell having craters that penetrate at least 50 percent but not more than 99 percent of the thickness of the silicon wafer) as Albalak teaches wherein said non-transcending trenches provide flexibility and mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell (Albalak, Abstract, [0176] [00179] see: said particular depth of each crater contributes to reduction of mechanical breakability of said PV cell array and provides flexibility).
Further regarding the claims 18-19 Albalak teaches wherein said non-transcending trenches are filled, partially or entirely, with one or more filler materials that provide additional flexibility and additional mechanical resilience to said flexible PV cell ([0183]-[0184] see: the top or bottom craters can further include a filler material which contributes to reduction of mechanical breakability).
Further regarding the claims 18-19 Hofmuller teaches interconnectors for solar cells comprising a Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh non-detachably embedded onto or at least partly within the Flexible Polymeric Support Foil (Hofmuller, [0013], [0029] Fig. 3 see: interconnector 31 as a metal cloth of wires woven together and embedded in polymer moulding 35 EVA). Hofmuller teaches such an embedded fabric structure is elastic and flexible from the addition of the EVA (Hofmuller, [0029]).
Hofmuller and Frolov are combinable as they are both concerned with mesh wire interconnectors for solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Frolov in view of Hofmuller such that the stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh of Frolov is non-detachably embedded onto or at least partly within the Flexible Polymeric Support Foil of Frolov as taught by Hofmuller (Hofmuller, [0013], [0029] Fig. 3 see: interconnector 31 as a metal cloth of wires woven together and embedded in polymer moulding 35 EVA) as Hofmuller teaches such an embedded fabric structure is elastic and flexible from the addition of the EVA (Hofmuller, [0029]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As noted above under the Priority section, the recited application fails to provide an enabling disclosure or any disclosure for the entire scope of the limitations of dependent claims 2-12 and 18-19.
Therefore, the recited PCT/IL2019/051416 and PCT/IL2021/050217 and US app No. 17/353,867 and US provisional app No. 63/088,535 do not provide an enabling disclosure of the entire scope of the subject matter of claims 2-12, and 18-19 and as such these claims are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application and the rejection of these claims under Frolov et al (US 2010/0233843) in view of Albalak et al (WO 2020/136653A1) and Hofmuller et al (US 2009/0266579) are maintained.
As recited in MPEP 201.11:Any claim in a continuation-in-part application which is directed solely to subject matter adequately disclosed under 35 U.S.C. 112 in the parent nonprovisional application is entitled to the benefit of the filing date of the parent nonprovisional application. However, if a claim in a continuation-in-part application recites a feature which was not disclosed or adequately supported by a proper disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 112 in the parent nonprovisional application, but which was first introduced or adequately supported in the continuation-in-part application, such a claim is entitled only to the filing date of the continuation-in-part application; In re Chu, 66 F.3d 292, 36 USPQ2d 1089 (Fed. Cir. 1995); Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994); In re Van Lagenhoven, 458 F.2d 132, 136, 173 USPQ 426, 429 (CCPA 1972); and Chromalloy American Corp. v. Alloy Surfaces Co., Inc., 339 F. Supp. 859, 874, 173 USPQ 295, 306 (D. Del. 1972).
Applicant further argues on page 9 of the response dated 16 February 2026 that:
Frolov et al. disclose locating conductors within grooves formed in the substrate rather than providing wires as a patterned mesh overlay (see, for example, para. [0049] and Fig. 2A). The grooves mechanically support the conductors and form part of the overall stretchable architecture.
A person skilled in the art, reading Frolov et al. as a whole, would understand that the groove- based configuration contributes to the structural integrity and mechanical reliability of the device. The recessed placement of the conductors cooperates with the substrate structure and deformation mechanism.
There is therefore no teaching, suggestion, or motivation in Frolov et al. to replace the grooved conductor arrangement with a patterned mesh overlay attached to a surface of the cell. On the contrary, such a modification would depart from the structural concept of Frolov et al. and would undermine the mechanical integration that Frolov et al. seek to achieve.
Applicant’s arguments to Frolov above have been fully considered but are not found persuasive as they are not directed to a prior art rejection of record or any motivation to combine the art within the present prior art rejections.
Frolov was never modified in the manner suggested by applicant. Frolov in fact relied upon to teach the claimed a stretchable and compressible Patterned Metal Wiring Mesh ([0081]-[0082], [0089]-[0090], [0092], [0096], [0111], [0120], Figs. 2A-2B, 6A-6B, 7A-7B, and 25-26 see: back-contact layer 212 of PV cell 602 on stretchable parts 4042-4045 (Fig. 6) which can be electrically conductive alternatively see electrically conductive stretchable parts 4042-4045 can directly couple to electrical conductors of the PV cells 7021-7024 (Fig. 7) alternatively stretchable carrier can be constructed entirely using wires, meshes (wire mesh 2501, Fig. 25). As such, applicant’s arguments to this limitation are moot.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12, 17-19 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726