DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to applicant's communication filed on 02/25/2024, wherein:
Claim 1-3 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 102235107 B1) in view of Carreon et al. (US 20140191707 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a device for holding an electrical device (Fig. 1-4) comprising;
a. a base structure (Fig. 1-4 disclose charging body 100 including an upper case 110, a lower case 120, a front case 130, and a rear case 140),
b. a first side rib structure associated with said base structure (Fig. 1 – left side cover 210),
c. a second side rib structure also associated with said base structure (Fig. 1 – right side cover 220),
d. where at least one of said first and second side ribs are adjustable and lockable relative to one other (Fig. 1, Fig. 7-8, Page 4 ln 1-22 disclose the left and right side cover can be adjusted relative to each other and lockable in a slide guide),
e. and an electrical plug clamp (Fig. 7 element 420).
However, the reference is silent on details about (1) the electrical plug clamp which is adjustable in position relative to said at least one adjustable side rib structures, where devices of varying sizes with electrical receptacles in various positions may be accommodated.
Carreon discloses an electrical plug clamp which is adjustable in position relative to base structure, where devices of varying sizes with electrical receptacles in various positions may be accommodated (Fig. 4 and ¶0034 – “Because the connector housing 200 sits along the track 350, the housing connector 200 is free to move laterally along the track, as indicated by arrow 405. The grooves 362 also interlock with the grooved track 220 to allow the connector housing 200 to lock into various positions when laterally adjusted. The notch 222 of the connector housing 200 locks with the grooves 362 so that the connector housing 200 may be laterally adjusted, but will not shift unintentionally”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Choi to incorporate the capability of adjusting position of charging port from Carreon because doing so would applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to increase the adaptability of charging cradle in adapting various type of devices. The combined teaching would address the limitation (1) since Carreon teaching provide the charging port to be adjustable relative to the base structure of charging device which makes it adjustable relative to the side ribs structures.
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses a device for holding an electronic device comprising;
a. a base structure (Fig. 1-4 disclose charging body 100 including an upper case 110, a lower case 120, a front case 130, and a rear case 140),
b. at least a first side rib structure associated with said base structure (Fig. 1 – left side cover 210),
c. an electrical plug clamp (Fig. 7 element 420).
However, the reference is silent on details about (2) where said electrical plug clamp is adjustable and lockable in a position relative to said at least one rib structure so said electronic devices of varying sizes with electrical receptacles in various positions may be accommodated.
Carreon discloses an electrical plug clamp which is adjustable in position relative to base structure, where devices of varying sizes with electrical receptacles in various positions may be accommodated (Fig. 4 and ¶0034 – “Because the connector housing 200 sits along the track 350, the housing connector 200 is free to move laterally along the track, as indicated by arrow 405. The grooves 362 also interlock with the grooved track 220 to allow the connector housing 200 to lock into various positions when laterally adjusted. The notch 222 of the connector housing 200 locks with the grooves 362 so that the connector housing 200 may be laterally adjusted, but will not shift unintentionally”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Choi to incorporate the capability of adjusting position of charging port from Carreon because doing so would applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to increase the adaptability of charging cradle in adapting various type of devices. The combined teaching would address the limitation (2) since Carreon teaching provide the charging port to be adjustable relative to the base structure of charging device which makes it adjustable relative to the side ribs structures.
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses a method for holding an electrical device (Fig. 13 discloses holding electrical device 700 using charging cradle) comprising;
a. utilizing a device with at least a first rib structure (Fig. 1 and Fig. 13 discloses utilizing cradle device including at least a first rib structure such as left/right side cover 210 or 220),
b. aligning a separate electronic device with said rib structure (Fig. 13 discloses device 700 is aligned using rib structure),
However, the reference is silent on details about (3) adjusting an electrical plug clamp which is associated with said rib structure and adjustable in position relative to said electronic device, and locking said plug clamp into a fixed position.
Carreon discloses adjusting an electrical plug clamp which is associated with said rib structure and adjustable in position relative to said electronic device, and locking said plug clamp into a fixed position (Fig. 4 and ¶0034 – “Because the connector housing 200 sits along the track 350, the housing connector 200 is free to move laterally along the track, as indicated by arrow 405. The grooves 362 also interlock with the grooved track 220 to allow the connector housing 200 to lock into various positions when laterally adjusted. The notch 222 of the connector housing 200 locks with the grooves 362 so that the connector housing 200 may be laterally adjusted, but will not shift unintentionally”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Choi to incorporate the capability of adjusting position of charging port from Carreon because doing so would applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to increase the adaptability of charging cradle in adapting various type of devices.
Contact Information
/DUNG HONG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643