DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “interfering light formation part”, in claims 1, 6; “detection part”, in claims 1, 6; “fixed reflection part”, in claims 1, 6, 11, 15;”movable reflection part”, in claims 1, 6, 11, 15; “a moving part”, in claims 1, 6, 15; “a first reflection surface”, in claims 1, 6, 11, 15; “a second reflection surface”, in claims 1, 6, 11, 15; “a third reflection surface”, in claims 1, 6, 11, 15; “a fourth reflection surface”, in claims 1, 6, 11, 15; “an incident parallel light formation part”, in claims 2, 12; “a light collection part”, in claims 2, 8, 12, 17; “a light-traveling direction change member”, in claims 4, 14; “incident part”, in claims 6, 15; “outgoing part”, in claims 6, 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 11-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mortada et al. (US 2014/0192365 A1 included in IDS on 02/25/2024), hereafter Mortada.
Regarding claim 1, Mortada teaches a spectroscopic analysis device (Figs. 1, 17A-B, 18, [0010]) comprising:
a light supply part (Fig. 17A element 110) ;
an interfering light formation part (Fig. 14 element 10) that forms interfering light (Fig. 14 elements 34 + 36) from supplied light (Fig. 14 element 20) supplied from the light supply part (Fig. 17 element 110), [0072, 0074], ; and
a detection part (Fig. 14 element 610) that detects light intensity of the interfering light formed by the interfering light formation part, [0073, 0076], (as shown in Figs. 24A-C)
wherein the interfering light formation part (10) includes
a fixed reflection part (Fig. 14 element 60) whose movement is fixed, [0041],
a movable reflection part (Fig. 14 element 50) provided to be movable along a base plane (as shown in Fig. 14 indicated by the vector of element 50) parallel to an optical axis of the supplied light supplied from the light supply part, ( as shown in annotated Fig. 14 below a portion of the light 20 supplied by element 110 {fig. 17}, is parallel to an optical axis as it reflected from element 38a), and
a moving part (MEMS actuator), that moves and fixes the movable reflection part (50) along the base plane, [0073]
the fixed reflection part (Fig. 14 element 60) includes
a first reflection surface (as shown in annotated Fig. 14) that reflects the supplied light (Fig. 14 element 20) supplied from the light supply part, (as shown in annotated Fig. 14 below) and
a second reflection surface (as shown in annotated Fig. 14) provided to be plane-symmetrical with the first reflection surface with respect to the base plane and to be orthogonal to the first reflection surface, (as shown in annotated Fig. 14 first and second reflecting surface are plane symmetrical to the base plane indicated in annotated fig. 14), and
the movable reflection part (Fig. 14 element 50) includes
a third reflection surface and a fourth reflection surface (annotated Fig. 14 indicate the third and fourth reflection surface) parallel to the first reflection surface and the second reflection surface of the fixed reflection part (Fig. 14 element 60), respectively, (as shown in annotated fig. 14, the third and fourth reflection surfaces are respectively parallel to the first and the second surface, “first to third and second to fourth”, [0072-0074]).
Regarding claim 2, Mortada teaches spectroscopic analysis device according to claim 1.
Mortada further teaches wherein the interfering light formation part includes: an incident parallel light formation part that collimates the supplied light supplied from the light supply part as parallel light; and/or a light collection part (Fig. 14 element 70, [0073]) that collects light, [0068] reflected at the second reflection surface of the fixed reflection part (light beam 36 is reflected from the first and second reflection surface) and the fourth reflection surface of the movable reflection part (light beam 34 is reflected from the third and fourth reflection surface) and causes the collected light to enter the detection part (Fig. 14 element 610), [0068, 0074]).
Regarding claim 3, Mortada teaches spectroscopic analysis device according to claim 2.
Mortada further teaches wherein the light supply part has a diffraction grating, the incident parallel light formation part includes a lens having a focal point at a position of the diffraction grating, and/or the light collection part (Fig. 14 element 70) includes a lens (Fig. 6 element 70A, “convex lens”, [0058]) having a focal point at a position of a detection surface of the detection part, (Figs. 6 and 14 element 610), [0058, 0073]).
Regarding claim 4, Mortada teaches spectroscopic analysis device according to claim 2.
Mortada further teaches wherein the light collection part (Fig. 14 element 70) includes a light-traveling direction change member (Fig. 6 element 70A “parabolic mirror”, [0058]) that changes a traveling direction of light reflected at the second reflection surface of the fixed reflection part and the fourth reflection surface of the movable reflection part, (the light beam 36 reflected from the first and second reflection surface and light beam 34 reflected from the third and fourth reflection surface change direction as interacting with element 70a as shown in Fig. 6, [0058, 0073]).
Regarding claim 11, Mortada teaches an interfering light formation mechanism (Figs. 14, 17A-B and 18) that forms an interference image by dividing incident supplied light, [0010], the interfering light formation mechanism (Fig. 14 element 10) comprising:
a fixed reflection part (Fig. 1 element 60) whose movement is fixed, [0041]; and
a movable reflection part (Fig. 14 element 50) provided to be movable relative to the fixed reflection part (60) in parallel to a base plane, (as shown in annotated Fig. 14 above), wherein
the fixed reflection part (60) includes
a first reflection surface (as shown in annotated Fig. 14) that reflects the supplied light (Fig. 14 element 20) and
a second reflection surface (as shown in annotated Fig. 14) provided to be plane-symmetrical with the first reflection surface with respect to the base plane and to be orthogonal to the first reflection surface, (as shown in annotated Fig. 14 first and second reflecting surface are plane symmetrical to the base plane indicated in annotated fig. 14), and
the movable reflection part (50) includes
a third reflection surface and a fourth reflection surface (annotated Fig. 14 indicate the third and fourth reflection surface) parallel to the first reflection surface and the second reflection surface of the fixed reflection part (Fig. 14 element 60), respectively, (as shown in annotated fig. 14, the third and fourth reflection surfaces are respectively parallel to the first and the second surface, “first to third and second to fourth”, [0072-0074]).
Regarding claim 12, Mortada teaches the interfering light formation mechanism according to claim 11.
Mortada further teaches comprising: an incident parallel light formation part that collimates the supplied light supplied from the light supply part as parallel light; and/or a light collection part (Fig. 14 element 70, [0073]) that collects light, [0068] reflected at the second reflection surface of the fixed reflection part (light beam 36 is reflected from the first and second reflection surface) and the fourth reflection surface of the movable reflection part (light beam 34 is reflected from the third and fourth reflection surface).
Regarding claim 14, Mortada teaches the interfering light formation mechanism according to claim 12.
Mortada further teaches wherein the light collection part includes a light-traveling direction change member (Fig. 6 element 70A “parabolic mirror”, [0058]) that changes a traveling direction of light reflected at the second reflection surface of the fixed reflection part and the fourth reflection surface of the movable reflection part, (the light beam 36 reflected from the first and second reflection surface and light beam 34 reflected from the third and fourth reflection surface change direction as interacting with element 70a as shown in Fig. 6, [0058, 0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mortada, in view of Han et al. (US 2019/0285475 A1, included in IDS on 02/25/2024), hereafter Han.
Regarding claim 5, Mortada teaches spectroscopic analysis device according to claim 4.
Mortada further teaches wherein the light collection part (Fig. 14 element 70) includes a lens (Fig. 6 element 70A, “convex lens”, [0058]) having a focal point at a position of the detection surface of the detection part (Figs. 6 and 14 element 610), [0058, 0073]), and the light-traveling direction change member is a reflecting mirror, (Fig. 6 element 70A “parabolic mirror”, [0058]).
Mortada fail to teach the light-traveling direction change member is a reflecting mirror having a reflection surface that reflects light collected by the lens, the reflecting mirror being provided between the lens and the detection surface of the detection part.
However, Han related to interferometric devices and thus from the same field of endeavor teaches the light-traveling direction change member (Fig. 2 element 215) is a reflecting mirror having a reflection surface that reflects light collected by the lens (212 + 214, [0068, 0073], the reflecting mirror being provided between the lens (212 + 214) and the detection surface of the detection part, ( Fig. 2 element 216), (as shown in Fig. 2, [0057]).
Therefore, it would been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Mortada by including the light-traveling direction change member is a reflecting mirror having a reflection surface that reflects light collected by the lens, the reflecting mirror being provided between the lens and the detection surface of the detection part (as taught by Han) for several advantages such as: the lenses allow to expand the light beam to fill the required field of view or focus the light for better image formation on the detector thus increase the accuracy of the device. Also mirrors allow to control the path of light thus arranging optical components compactly as reducing the size of the device.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mortada, in view of Ishimura et al. (US 2015/0268097 A1), hereafter Ishimura.
Regarding claim 13, Mortada teaches the interfering light formation mechanism according to claim 12.
Mortada fail to teach wherein the incident parallel light formation part includes a diffraction grating to be irradiated with the supplied light and a lens having a focal point at a position of the diffraction grating.
However, Ishimaru related to optical measuring devices and thus from the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the incident parallel light formation part (Fig. 11 element 11) includes a diffraction grating (Fig. 11 element 22) to be irradiated with the supplied light and a lens (Fig. 11 element 21) having a focal point at a position of the diffraction grating, [0076-0077].
Therefore, it would been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Mortada by wherein the incident parallel light formation part includes a diffraction grating to be irradiated with the supplied light and a lens having a focal point at a position of the diffraction grating (as taught by Ishimaru) for several advantages such as: transmissive diffraction grating having a sawtooth diffraction plane allow to provide a periodic phase difference thus concentrates most of the diffracted light into a specific, desired diffraction order that increase the efficiency of the device, ([0077], Ishimura).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 and 15-18 are allowed.
Regarding Claim 6, the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest or render obvious “A spectroscopic analysis device comprising: a light supply part; an interfering light formation part that forms interfering light using entirety of supplied light supplied from the light supply part; and a detection part that detects light intensity of the interfering light formed by the interfering light formation part, wherein the interfering light formation part includes a first reflection part and a second reflection part having reflection surfaces facing each other, the second reflection part includes a fixed reflection part whose movement is fixed with respect to the first reflection part, a movable reflection part provided to be movable with respect to the first reflection part along a base plane orthogonal to an optical axis of the supplied light, and a moving part that moves and fixes the movable reflection part along the base plane, the first reflection part includes: an incident part that has one incident reflection surface that reflects the supplied light supplied from the light supply part and uses the one incident reflection surface to allow entirety of the supplied light to be incident on the second reflection part as incident light that is parallel light; and an outgoing part that has an outgoing reflection surface provided plane-symmetrically with the incident reflection surface of the incident part with respect to a symmetry plane parallel to the base plane and emits reflected light supplied from the second reflection part as interfering reflected light toward the detection part, the fixed reflection part and the movable reflective part of the second reflection part are provided so as to face the one incident reflection surface of the first reflection part, the fixed reflection part of the second reflection part includes a first reflection surface and a second reflection surface provided plane-symmetrically with respect to the symmetry plane, the first reflection surface is provided so as to face the incident reflection surface of the incident part of the first reflection part and to allow a part of the incident light to be incident thereon and reflect the incident light so that the incident light becomes first reflected light whose optical axis is parallel to the optical axis of the supplied light, the second reflection surface is provided so as to face the outgoing reflection surface of the outgoing part of the first reflection part and to allow the first reflected light to be incident thereon and reflect the first reflected light so that the first reflected light becomes second reflected light whose optical axis forms an angle with the base plane, the angle being same as an angle formed between the optical axis of the incident light and the symmetry plane, the movable reflection part of the second reflection part includes a third reflection surface and a fourth reflection surface parallel to the first reflection surface and the second reflection surface of the fixed reflection part, respectively, the third reflection surface is provided so as to face the incident surface of the incident part of the first reflection part and to allow a part of the incident light to be incident thereon and reflect the incident light so that the incident light becomes third reflected light whose optical axis is parallel to the optical axis of the supplied light, and the fourth reflection surface is provided so as to face the outgoing reflection surface of the outgoing part of the first reflection part and to allow the third reflected light to be incident thereon and reflect the third reflected light so that the third reflected light becomes fourth reflected light whose optical axis forms an angle with the base plane, the angle being same as an angle formed between the optical axis of the incident light and the symmetry plane”, in the combination required by the claim.
Regarding Claims 7-10 are directly/indirectly dependent on claim 6 and are allowable based on their dependencies.
Regarding Claims 15, the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest or render obvious “An interfering light formation mechanism that forms interfering light using entirety of incident supplied light, the interfering light formation mechanism comprising a first reflection part and a second reflection part having reflection surfaces facing each other, wherein the second reflection part includes a fixed reflection part whose movement is fixed with respect to the first reflection part, a movable reflection part provided to be movable with respect to the first reflection part along a base plane orthogonal to an optical axis of the supplied light, and a moving part that moves and fixes the movable reflection part along the base plane, the first reflection part has an incident part that has one incident reflection surface that reflects the incident supplied light and uses the one incident reflection surface to allow entirety of the supplied light to be incident on the second reflection part as incident light that is parallel light, and an outgoing part that has an outgoing reflection surface provided plane-symmetrically with the incident reflection surface of the incident part with respect to a symmetry plane parallel to the base plane and emits reflected light supplied from the second reflection part as interfering reflected light, the fixed reflection part and the movable reflection part of the second reflection part are provided so as to face the one incident reflection surface of the first reflection part, the fixed reflection part of the second reflection part includes a first reflection surface and a second reflection surface provided plane-symmetrically with respect to the symmetry plane, the first reflection surface is provided so as to face the incident reflection surface of the incident part of the first reflection part and to allow a part of the incident light to be incident thereon and reflect the incident light so that the incident light becomes first reflected light whose optical axis is parallel to the optical axis of the supplied light, the second reflection surface is provided so as to face the outgoing reflection surface of the outgoing part of the first reflection part and to allow the first reflected light to be incident thereon and reflect the first reflected light so that the first reflected light becomes second reflected light whose optical axis forms an angle with the base plane, the angle being same as an angle formed between the optical axis of the incident light and the symmetry plane, the movable reflection part of the second reflection part includes a third reflection surface and a fourth reflection surface parallel to the first reflection surface and the second reflection surface of the fixed reflection part, respectively, the third reflection surface is provided so as to face the incident surface of the first reflection part and to allow a part of the incident light to be incident thereon and reflect the incident light so that the incident light becomes third reflected light whose optical axis is parallel to the optical axis of the supplied light, and the fourth reflection surface is provided so as to face the outgoing reflection surface of the first reflection part and to allow the third reflected light to be incident thereon and reflect the third reflected light so that the third reflected light becomes fourth reflected light whose optical axis forms an angle with the symmetry plane, the angle being same as an angle formed between the optical axis of the incident light and the symmetry plane.”, in the combination required by the claim.
Regarding Claims 16-18 are directly/indirectly dependent on claim 15 and are allowable based on their dependencies.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Susuki et al. (US 2018/0120156 A1) discloses an interference optical system that include a second movable mirror, a second fixed mirror, and an optical block and constitutes a Michelson interference optical system. Detection light is incident on the second interference optical system through a detection light incident portion, and interference light of the detection light is emitted from the second interference optical system through a detection light emitting portion 9. The detection light is, for example, a laser beam and is output from a laser light source such as a semiconductor laser prepared outside the optical module. The detection light incident portion and the detection light emitting portion are, for example, optical fibers and are fixed to the frame.
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/CARLOS PEREZ-GUZMAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2877