DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated February 26, 2024, claims 1-6 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the two first charging and discharging parking spaces" in line 2. Claim 1 only includes “a first charging and discharging parking space” which indicates a single space. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the two second charging and discharging parking spaces" in line 6. Claim 1 only includes “a second charging and discharging parking space” which indicates a single space. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the four first charging and discharging parking spaces" in line 2. Claim 1 only includes “a first charging and discharging parking space” which indicates a single space. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the four second charging and discharging parking spaces" in line 5. Claim 1 only includes “a first charging and discharging parking space” which indicates a single space. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 5-6 are rejected at least due to their dependency from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Labell US20220055491A1 in view of Reinschke US20130307477A1 and Woods et al. US20240017628A1
Regarding claim 1. Labell discloses a charging and discharging facility (10) (FIG. 7) comprising:
a first level section (L2) in which a first charging parking space (vehicle parking spot) is located for charging a battery mounted on a vehicle (200) (FIG. 7);
a second level section (L3), which is a floor directly above the first level section (FIG. 7) arranged such that a second charging parking space (vehicle parking spot) for charging a battery mounted on the vehicle (200) is located directly above the first charging and discharging parking space (FIG. 7).
a power supply device located between the first level section and the second level section and connected to the outside world by a power cable (charging system (120) is arranged at a ceiling of the charging system (100));
wherein in the first charging parking space (CL), a first charging connection member (140) that is chargeable with a vehicle-side connection (FIG. 3) for charging the battery of a parked vehicle is attached to the end of a first charging cable (142) that is connected to the power converter device and extends from a ceiling of the first level section (¶49 – cable 142 is connected to battery 220 of the vehicle 200 for charging) ;
Labell does not explicitly disclose discharging; the power supply device is a converter; and in the second charging and discharging parking space, a second charging and discharging connection member that is chargeable and dischargeable with a vehicle-side connection for charging and discharging the battery of the parked vehicle is attached to the end of a second charging and discharging cable that is connected to the power converter device and extends from a floor of the second level section.
Reinschke discloses a power converter device (charging post 100) located between the first level section and the second level section and connected to the outside world by a power cable (120) (FIG. 1A/1B discloses the charging post being arranged in the ground and FIG. 3 illustrates the charging post being arranged in the ceiling);
wherein in the first charging and discharging parking space (FIG. 3), a first charging connection member (121) that is chargeable with a vehicle-side connection for charging and discharging the battery of a parked vehicle (20) is attached to the end of a first charging and discharging cable (120) that is connected to the power converter device (100) and extends from a ceiling (60) of the first level section (¶75 – charging post provided in the ceiling 60); and
in the second charging and discharging parking space (FIGS 1A/B), a second charging and discharging connection member (121) that is chargeable with a vehicle-side connection for charging and discharging the battery of the parked vehicle (20) is attached to the end of a charging cable that is connected to the power converter device (100) and extends from a floor (40) of the second level section (¶69 – charging post is located in a hollow space below).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the charging station to be arranged in a ceiling as taught by Reinshcke, such that the charging station may be available through the floor of the parking garage or the ceiling of the parking garage of Labell in order to provide an accessible space in public spaces and provide ease of safety and maintenance (Reinschke; ¶9)
The combination of Labell and Reinschke does not explicitly teach discharging and a second charging and discharging cable that is connected to the power converter device.
Woods discloses charging stations for one or more vehicles configured for receiving and/or delivering the electrical energy from and/or to more than one vehicle simultaneously, thus teaching charging and discharging of a single charging stations to multiple vehicles (¶18).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide an additional charging cable to a converter to nearby vehicles as taught by Woods, including between floors as per the arrangement of Reinschke, in order to allow multiple vehicles to be serviced simultaneously and reduce the number of charging stations needed (Woods; ¶18).
Regarding claim 2. Labell discloses the two first charging parking spaces arranged to allow parking of two vehicles side-by-side in the front-back direction are located in the first level section (FIG. 9 illustrates any of the levels arrangement where the vehicles are parked side by side);
the two second charging parking spaces arranged to allow parking of two vehicles side-by-side in the front-back direction are located in the second level section such that the two first charging parking spaces are aligned with the two first charging and discharging parking spaces (FIG. 9 illustrates any of the levels arrangement where the vehicles are parked side by side, because each of the levels is the same, the parking spaces are aligned);
the first charging cable (142) is arranged to extend from the ceiling (FIGS. 1/3) between the two first charging parking spaces (FIGS. 1 illustrates the charger being arranged between vehicles; ¶28 – charging system 100 includes an overhead moving system 110; ¶45 – drive control signals overhead moving system 110 to move and position the connector 140, thus, the charging system is arranged to extend between two parking spaces) ; and
the second charging and discharging cable is arranged to extend from the floor between the two second charging and discharging parking spaces (FIGS. 1 illustrates the charger being arranged between vehicles; ¶28 – charging system 100 includes an overhead moving system 110; ¶45 – drive control signals overhead moving system 110 to move the and position the connector 140, thus, the charging system is arranged to extend between two parking spaces).
Labell does not explicitly disclose discharging.
Woods discloses charging stations for one or more vehicles configured for receiving and/or delivering the electrical energy from and/or to more than one vehicle (¶18).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide an additional charging cable to a converter to nearby vehicles as taught by Woods, including between floors as per the arrangement of Reinschke, in order to allow multiple vehicles to be serviced simultaneously and reduce the number of charging stations needed (Woods; ¶18).
Regarding claim 3. Labell discloses that the four first charging parking spaces arranged in two rows and two columns are arranged in the first level section (FIG. 9 illustrates vehicles having two rows and two columns);
the four second charging parking spaces arranged in two rows and two columns are arranged in the second level section so as to be aligned with the four first charging parking spaces (FIG. 9 illustrates vehicles having two rows and two columns, because each of the levels is the same, the parking spaces are aligned);
the first charging cable (142)is arranged to extend from the center ceiling(FIGS. 1/3) of the four first charging parking spaces (FIGS. 1 illustrates the charger being arranged between vehicles; ¶28 – charging system 100 includes an overhead moving system 110; ¶45 – drive control signals overhead moving system 110 to move and position the connector 140, thus, the charging system is arranged to extend between parking spaces); and
the second charging cable is arranged to extend from the floor in the center of the four second charging parking spaces (FIGS. 1 illustrates the charger being arranged between vehicles; ¶28 – charging system 100 includes an overhead moving system 110; ¶45 – drive control signals overhead moving system 110 to move the and position the connector 140, thus, the charging system is arranged to extend between two parking spaces).
Labell does not explicitly disclose discharging.
Woods discloses charging stations for one or more vehicles configured for receiving and/or delivering the electrical energy from and/or to more than one vehicle (¶18).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide an additional charging cable to a converter to nearby vehicles as taught by Woods, including between floors as per the arrangement of Reinschke, in order to allow multiple vehicles to be serviced simultaneously and reduce the number of charging stations needed (Woods; ¶18).
Regarding claim 4. Labell discloses a charging hierarchical sections, consisting of the first level section and the second level section, are arranged in a plurality of planar or three-dimensional arrays (FIG. 7/9 – each section is arranged identically, thus, L2 and L3 comprises sections that are arranged in arrays).
Labell does not explicitly disclose discharging.
Woods discloses charging stations for one or more vehicles configured for receiving and/or delivering the electrical energy from and/or to more than one vehicle (¶18).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide an additional charging cable to a converter to nearby vehicles as taught by Woods, including between floors as per the arrangement of Reinschke, in order to allow multiple vehicles to be serviced simultaneously and reduce the number of charging stations needed (Woods; ¶18).
Regarding claim 5. Labell discloses a charging hierarchical sections, consisting of the first level section and the second level section, are arranged in a plurality of planar or three-dimensional arrays (FIG. 7/9 – each section is arranged identically, thus, L2 and L3 comprises sections that are arranged in arrays).
Regarding claim 6. Labell discloses a charging hierarchical sections, consisting of the first level section and the second level section, are arranged in a plurality of planar or three-dimensional arrays (FIG. 7/9 – each section is arranged identically, thus, L2 and L3 comprises sections that are arranged in arrays).
Labell does not explicitly disclose discharging.
Woods discloses charging stations for one or more vehicles configured for receiving and/or delivering the electrical energy from and/or to more than one vehicle (¶18).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide an additional charging cable to a converter to nearby vehicles as taught by Woods, including between floors as per the arrangement of Reinschke, in order to allow multiple vehicles to be serviced simultaneously and reduce the number of charging stations needed (Woods; ¶18).
Related Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hudson US20230023690A1 discloses a multilevel parking structure with charging for each vehicle on the different levels.
Conclusion
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859